تصعيد الحوثيين العسكري في مارب: الدوافع والتَّداعيات والسيناريوهات

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 28 فبراير 2021

يشُنّ الحوثيون هجوماً ضارياً على محافظة مارب النفطية، آخر معاقل الحكومة المعترف بها دولياً في شمال البلاد، منذ مطلع الأسبوع الثاني من فبراير الجاري، في تصعيدٍ هو الأكبر ويأتي مباشرةً بعد إعلان الولايات المتحدة شطبهم من قوائم المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية، وبالتزامن مع حراك دبلوماسي بقيادة واشنطن ودعوات أوروبية أممية متكررة لوقف التصعيد العسكري والذهاب نحو حل سياسي شامل للأزمة اليمنية.

وهذه الورقة تُسلِّط الضوء على أهم دوافع هجوم الحوثيين على مارب، والرسائل التي تودّ الجماعة إيصالها للمجتمع الدَّولي ولخصومها وحلفائها على السَّواء، وتستكشف تداعيات هذا التصعيد على الأزمة اليمنية ومسار السلام، وسيناريوهاته المحتملة.

الدَّوافِع

تسعى جماعة الحوثي من وراء هجومها الكبير على مارب في هذا التوقيت إلى تحقيق بعض الأهداف وإرسال بعض الرسائل على النحو الآتي:

  • استثمار المناخات المُتغيِّرة في المواقف الغربية وتحفيزها على إثبات حُسن النَّوايا؛ فبرغم ترحيب جماعة الحوثي بالتُّوجُّه المُعلَن للإدارة الجديدة في الولايات المتحدة بشأن دعم جهود السلام وإنهاء الحرب في اليمن، لاسيما وقف دعْمها لحملة التحالف العربي العسكرية وشطب الجماعة من قائمة الإرهاب، وأيضاً ترحيبها بالموقف الأوروبي الأخير الصَّادر في 11 فبراير الجاري، إلاَّ أنَّ جماعة الحوثي من خلال تكرار تأكيدها على أنَّه "لا معنى لأي تصريحات مهما كانت إيجابية"، دون خطوات عملية على الأرض (بحسب تغريدة للناطق الرسمي للجماعة، محمد عبدالسلام في تويتر، في 13 فبراير 2021)، لا تُشكِّك في جِدِّية تلك المواقف فحسب، وإنما أيضاً تستحثُّها لممارسة مزيد من الضغوط على التحالف العربي، وتشترط لإثبات حُسن النَّوايا أن تُثمِر المواقف والتَّحرُّكات الغربية بدَفع المملكة العربية السعودية وحلفائها إلى المبادرة أولاً وإعلان وقف الغارات الجوية وفك الحصار المفروض عليها، بما في ذلك رفع الحظر عن مطار صنعاء الدولي أمام الرحلات التجارية، وإلغاء القيود على دخول سفن المشتقات النفطية، فضلاً عن إجراءات بناء الثقة الأخرى كصرف مرتبات الموظفين وغيرها، والتي برغم كونها نفس الاشتراطات التي تضمَّنتها خُطَّة الحوثيين الشاملة للحل المقدَّمة للمبعوث الأممي مارتن غريفيث العام الماضي، إلاَّ أنَّ هناك ارتفاعاً واضحاً في سقف مطالبهم؛ فهم يضغطون عسكرياً في مأرب وباتجاه السعودية في استعراض واضح للقوة، ليس فقط لأنَّهم يعتقدون أن إظهار أي بوادر إيجابية من جهتهم سيُساء تقديره على نحوٍ يُضعِف موقفهم في أي مفاوضات مقبلة، أو لتعزيز مكاسبهم استباقاً لتلك المفاوضات، بل أيضاً للتَّلويح بأنَّهم باتوا في وضعٍ مُريح يستطيعون معه وَضْع شروط التفاوض، وليسوا في عجلة من أمرهم إن لم يتم القبول باشتراطاتهم.
  • توجيه رسائل للتحالف العربي بقيادة السعودية مفادها أنَّه ليس وارداً في حسابات الجماعة تقديم تنازلات من أي نوع، وأنَّها ماضية في تعزيز نفوذها والتَّوسُّع داخل البلاد، لاسيما باتِّجاه مارب، لما لها من أهمية خاصة لدى السعودية. وفضلاً عن انعكاسات تصعيد الحوثيين وتنامي نفوذهم شمالاً على أمن المملكة، يُشير تكثيفهم للهجمات عليها بالطيران المُسيَّر والصواريخ الباليستية، بالتزامن مع استئناف هجومهم على مارب، إلى أنَّهم يهدفون إلى الضغط على الرياض لجعلها أكثر تَحمُّساً لخطة وقف إطلاق النار، لكن الأهم أنَّهم أكثر إصراراً على تحقيق هدف استراتيجي في حربهم معها، وهو تحييد طيرانها عن إسناد القوات الحكومية ورجال القبائل المناهضين لهم، خاصةً أنَّه يلعب دوراً كبيراً في وقف زُحوفات المقاتلين الحوثيين للسيطرة على المدينة النفطية.
  • تقديم تطمينات للحليف الإيراني وما يُسمَّى "محور الممانعة"؛ إذ يذهب بعض المراقبين إلى أنَّ الأجندة الإيرانية هي الدافع الأول وراء تصعيد جماعة الحوثي، لاسيما في هذا التوقيت الذي يشهد حراكاً دبلوماسياً غربياً وتجاوباً ودعماً خليجياً لوقف الحرب والتوصُّل لتسوية سياسية شاملة، تُراعي الحد الأدنى من تطلُّعات اليمنيين وبالتشاور مع مختلف الأطراف الفاعلة. فبدلاً من التَّفاعُل الإيجابي المسؤول والمبشِّر مع دعوات السلام، ينجرّ قادة جماعة الحوثي للاستمرار في لعب دور "الوكيل"، ذلك أنَّ هذا الظَّرف الذي فيه قد تفترق المصالح (في حال قبولهم بالسلام بمَعزَل عن ملفات إيران الشائكة) يُمثِّل امتحاناً وفرصة ليبرهن الحوثيون لطهران تقديمهم أولوياتها ومشروعها الأوسع على حساب مصالحهم وطموحاتهم المحدودة، فضلاً عن مصالح الشعب اليمني. وممَّا يُدلِّل على ذلك حِرْصُ قادة الحوثيين على التَّناغُم مع منطِق السفير الإيراني المُعيَّن مؤخراً لدى الجماعة، حسن إيرلو، والذي اعتبر أنَّ التَّغيُّر الجديد في السياسة الأمريكية بشأن الأزمة اليمنية "سببه سعي الولايات المتحدة لفرض وجود عسكري، وحضور سياسي بشكل مباشر" في اليمن. وعلى سبيل المثال، فقد أكَّد وزير الخارجية في حكومة الحوثيين غير المعترف بها، هشام شرف، لدى لقائه بإيرلو في 13 فبراير الجاري، على استمرار جماعته في تصعيدها، قائلاً إنَّ "صنعاء قادرة وجاهزة على استخدام ما لديها من قدرات لجعل موانئ ومطارات عواصم تحالف العدوان تُقاسي جزءاً من تبعات المعاناة التي يعيشها الشعب اليمني"، بحسب تعبيره.
  • تضييق الخناق على خصوم الجماعة المحليِّين في الحكومة الشرعية وحلفائها؛ فبالنَّظر للأهمية التي تكتسبها مارب كآخر معاقل الشَّرعية في الشمال ومركز ثقل عسكري واجتماعي لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين في اليمن (حزب الإصلاح)، ومُنطلق لتهديد صنعاء؛ فإن تصعيد الحوثيين العسكري باتجاهها يستنفد طاقات خصومهم ويُرهِق مجهودهم الحربي، حيث تُرجِّح تقديرات الحوثيين أن خصومهم باتوا في حالة ضَعف واضحة، وبالإمكان سَلْبهم أهم أوراق قوَّتهم. ومن شأن سيطرة الحوثيين على مارب (في حال تمَّت) توجيه ضربة قاصمة لحكومة الرئيس هادي وتحالفاتها، فضلاً عن كونها تُتيح للحوثيين تحسين شروطهم التفاوضية وفرض إملاءاتهم على أي صيغة للحل السياسي، وتُمكِّنُهُم كذلك من وضع يدهم على جزء مهم من نفط وغاز البلاد.
  • استثمار الحماسة الداخلية لتحقيق مكاسب على الأرض؛ فالحوثيون يُفسِّرون التحول في السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية بشأن الأزمة اليمنية على أنَّه رغبة لعودة "شرطي العالم" لِلِعب دور أكبر في المنطقة من بوابة اليمن، وتحت ذريعة لعب دور "مشكوك فيه" وهو الوسيط المحايد لدعم الجهود السياسية وإنهاء الحرب في هذا البلد. وبالنسبة لهم، فقد مثَّل موقف واشنطن اعترافاً منها بفشل سياساتها السابقة كطرفٍ رئيسٍ داعمٍ ومشارك في الحرب ضدهم، وكذلك إقراراً منها باستحالة تجاوزهم وضرورة التَّحاور معهم، ويُرجِعُون ذلك إلى قدرتهم على الصمود وفرض أنفسهم كسلطة أمر واقع في شمال اليمن. كما أنهم يرون في ترحيب خصومهم في التحالف العربي والحكومة الشرعية بدعوات السلام، نغمة ضعف وتسليم ورغبة في الخروج من مأزق الحرب. الأمر الذي تُسوِّقُه الجماعة على أنَّه انتصار لها، وتعمل من خلاله على تضخيم حماسة مقاتليها، وتراهُن على اندفاعتهم لتعزيز مكاسبها وحسم الأمور لصالحها خصوصاً في مارب.

التداعيات

يُهدِّد هذا التصعيد الحوثي بتقويض جهود السلام ووأد الحراك الدبلوماسي الذي تبلور مؤخراً بقيادة واشنطن؛ فهو يجعل ملف الحرب في اليمن رهيناً للتجاذبات الإقليمية أكثر من أي وقت مضى، كما أنَّه يُفاقِم حالة انعدام الثقة بين أطراف الصراع اليمني، إذ يشير فشل جولة المحادثات بشأن تبادل الأسرى التي احتضنتها العاصمة الأردنيّة عمّان مؤخراً (في الفترة بين 24 يناير وحتى 21 فبراير 2021) برعاية أممية إلى حالة من الانسداد الشامل في جهود التهدئة التي تسعى الأمم المتّحدة إلى إرسائها أملاً في إفساح المجال أمام مسار السلام. مع ذلك، تظل هناك فرصة لأن يدفع هذا التصعيد بالمجتمع الدولي لتكثيف ضغوطه على أطراف الصراع لاسيما جماعة الحوثي، بما ذلك التوجُّه نحو بلورة خطة للحل الشامل وفرضها عبر مجلس الأمن الدولي.

وعلى الصعيد العسكري، هناك من يرى في هجوم الحوثيين على مارب مؤشراً على سعيهم لاستكمال رسم الحدود الشَّطريّة وبسط سيطرتهم على شمال اليمن (في حدوده ما قبل عام 1990). لكن المؤكد، أنَّ الحوثيين، في حال تمكنَّوا من إسقاط مارب، سيغيرون ديناميكية الصِّراع بأكمله، وبرغم أن هذا أكثر قيمة بالنسبة لهم من أي تسوية سياسية يمكنهم الحصول عليها حالياً، فإنهم على الأرجح لن يتوقفوا عند هذا الحد، ولن يقبلوا بالانخراط في عملية سلام شاملة وخطة مصالحة وطنية طويلة الأمد، فضلاً عن القبول بتحجيم نفوذهم، دون هزيمة عسكرية كبيرة تلحق بهم، ولو بعد حين. وميدانياً، قد ينسحب التصعيد العسكري في جبهات مارب على الجبهات الأخرى، لاسيما جبهات الجنوب والساحل الغربي، كما سيُضاعِف الحوثيون هجماتهم على المملكة العربية السعودية، ما يعني أن الحرب قد تشتعل أكثر ممَّا كانت عليه في العامين الماضيين.

علاوة على ما سبق، يتسبَّب هذا التصعيد في الكثير من القلق الأمني للمواطنين ويعوق تنقلات المسافرين ويعرقل مرور التجارة بين المحافظة والمحافظات المجاورة لاسيما صنعاء، وبالتالي يُفاقم الأزمات الاقتصادية والوضع المعيشي المتدهور في البلاد.

وعلى الصعيد الإنساني والاجتماعي، يضع هذا التصعيد حياة أكثر من مليوني نسمة على المحك، وينذر بحدوث موجة نزوح قد تكون الأكبر منذ تفجر النزاع في اليمن، لاسيما أن مارب تضم عشرات المخيمات، وشكَّلت ملاذاً لمئات الآلاف من النازحين الذين شرَّدهم الحوثيون من المناطق التي أخضعوها لسلطتهم في السابق. فضلاً عن العراقيل والتحديات التي يضعها التصعيد أمام المنظمات الإنسانية وفرق الإغاثة العاملة هناك. وغير ذلك، من المتوقَّع أن يُفاقم التصعيد الراهن حالة التفتت في النسيج الاجتماعي، وعلى سبيل المثال، يسعى الحوثيون إلى خلخلة تماسُك قبائل طوق مارب من خلال شراء ولاءات البعض وتجييشها ضد بعضها الآخر المناهض للحوثيين، ما يُهدد بنسف الاستقرار النسبي الذي حظيت به المحافظة خلال السنوات الماضية.

السيناريوهات المحتملة

حتى الآن، هناك سيناريوهان محتملان للتصعيد العسكري في مارب، أحدهما حَسْم الحوثيين المعركة لصالحهم، والثاني استمرار التصعيد مع تفاوُت وتيرته من وقتٍ لآخر ومن دون إحداث تغيير حاسم في خريطة السيطرة، وهو سيناريو المراوحة.

1. حَسْم الحوثيين المعركة لصالحهم. ويَفترِض هذا السيناريو أن من شأن الدوافع والمحفزات السابق ذكرها إذكاء الحماسة لدى الحوثيين للاستمرار بنفس الزخم في هجومهم على مارب. بل إنَّ النزعة الإيرانية لربط الصراع اليمني بملفاتها المتعثرة قد تكون وحدها كفيلة بجعل الحوثيين يرفعون وتيرة تصعيدهم ويُلقون بكامل ثقلهم في محاولة لحسم المعركة لصالحهم. ويمكن أن يتحقَّق سيناريو كهذا في حالاتٍ منها ضعف الخطط الدفاعية لمناهضي الحوثيين، وقدرة الأخيرين على إحداث اختلالات في صفوف خصومهم أو الاستفادة منها ومفاقمتها، بما في ذلك توجيه ضربات قوية لمراكز قيادة عملياتهم وتكتلاتهم، وقطع خطوط الإمداد الرئيسة عنهم جنوبي مارب أو شمالها الشرقي، وتوقُّف الإسناد الجوي من قِبَل قوات التحالف.

2. المراوحة. ويَفترِض هذا السيناريو استمرار التصعيد مع تفاوُت وتيرته من وقتٍ لآخر دون إحداث تغيير حقيقي في خريطة السيطرة على الأرض. وتحقُّق هذا السيناريو يقتضي تماسُك خصوم جماعة الحوثي واستماتتهم في الدفاع عن المدينة، وتكثيف الطيران السعودي ضرباته الجوية، والمراهنة على عنصر الوقت لاستنزاف مقاتلي الجماعة واستنفاد معنوياتهم وكبح اندفاعتهم. وبالرغم من الدوافع الكبيرة والتَّطور الحاصل في استراتيجية الحوثيين الهجومية إلَّا أنَّ خياراتهم قد تكون في تراجُع وتواجه نفس العراقيل السابقة، ويُفسِّر ذلك لجوءهم إلى أسلوب الترغيب للقبائل وأفراد الجيش والسكان في مارب، عبر طرح جملة تعهُّدات وضمانات كـ "العفو عنهم وعدم ملاحقتهم أو المساس بأملاكهم ومصالحهم، والإبقاء على وظائفهم، وتمكينهم من إدارة شؤون المحافظة، وتخصيص نسبة 70% من عائدات [منشأة] صافر [النفطية] لصالحها".

وإجمالاً، تشير المعطيات المتوافرة إلى أن فرص تحقُّق السيناريو الثاني هي الأعلى في المدى القريب. فعلى الرغم من أهمية الحسم العسكري في معركة مارب، لكونها فاصلة ومصيرية بالنسبة لكل الأطراف، إلاَّ أن ذلك هو نفسه ما قد يؤخِّر الحسم عسكرياً فيها ويجعله في المرتبة الثانية، لاسيما أن المعركة تأتي على وقع حراك دبلوماسي دولي وفي إطار الترتيبات السياسية التي تقودها الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة على المستويين اليمني والإقليمي، حتى وإن عنى ذلك أنَّها ستأخذ وقتاً أطول قبل إنضاج أي تفاهمات حول اليمن.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

  • يضغط الحوثيون عسكرياً على محافظة مارب في استعراض واضح للقوة، بعد إعلان الولايات المتحدة شطبهم من قوائم المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية، وبالتزامن مع حراك دبلوماسي بقيادة واشنطن، ودعوات أوروبية أممية متكررة لوقف التصعيد العسكري والذهاب نحو حل سياسي شامل للأزمة اليمنية. ويأتي هذا التصعيد العسكري الحوثي ليس فقط لأنَّهم يعتقدون أن إظهار أي بوادر إيجابية من جهتهم سيُساء تقديره على نحوٍ يُضعِف موقفهم في أي مفاوضات مقبلة، أو لتعزيز مكاسبهم استباقاً لتلك المفاوضات، بل أيضاً للتَّلويح بأنَّهم باتوا في وضعٍ مُريح يستطيعون معه وَضْع شروط التفاوض، وليسوا في عجلة من أمرهم إن لم يتم القبول باشتراطاتهم.
  • ويُوجّه الحوثيون رسائل للتحالف العربي بقيادة المملكة العربية السعودية مفادها أنَّه ليس وارداً في حساباتهم تقديم تنازلات من أي نوع، وبأنَّهم ماضون في تعزيز نفوذهم والتَّوسُّع داخل البلاد. ومن جهة أخرى يُقدِّم الحوثيون بالهجوم على مارب تطمينات للحليف الإيراني؛ فبدلاً من التَّفاعُل الإيجابي المسؤول والمبشِّر مع دعوات السلام، ينجرّ قادة جماعة الحوثي للاستمرار في لعب دور "الوكيل"، ذلك أنَّ هذا الظَّرف الذي فيه قد تفترق المصالح يُمثِّل امتحاناً وفرصة ليبرهن الحوثيون لطهران تقديمهم أولوياتها ومشروعها الأوسع على حساب اليمن ومصالحه.
  • وحتى الآن، هناك سيناريوهان محتملان للتصعيد العسكري في مارب، أحدهما حَسْم الحوثيين المعركة لصالحهم، والثاني استمرار التصعيد مع تفاوُت وتيرته من وقتٍ لآخر ومن دون إحداث تغيير حاسم في خريطة السيطرة، وهو سيناريو المراوحة. وتشير المعطيات المتوافرة إلى أن فرص تحقُّق السيناريو الثاني هي الأعلى في المدى القريب.

سيناريوهات

مستقبل المرحلة الانتقالية في تشاد

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 26 يوليو 2021

التصعيد الروسي في إدلب: الأسباب والاحتمالات

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 15 يوليو 2021

Houthis Military Escalation in Marib: Motivations, Consequences and Scenarios

EPC | 28 Feb 2021

The Houthis have launched a ferocious attack on the oil province of Marib, the last stronghold of the internationally-recognised government in the north of the country since the beginning of the second week of February 2021, in an escalation that is the largest and that comes immediately after the US announced their removal from the lists of foreign terrorist organisations, and in conjunction with a Washington-led diplomatic mobility and repeated European and United Nations (UN) calls to stop the military escalation and move towards a comprehensive political solution to the Yemeni crisis.

This paper sheds light on the most important motives for the Houthi attack on Marib, and the messages that the group wishes to convey to the international community and its opponents and allies alike, and explores the repercussions of this escalation for the Yemeni crisis and the peace process, and possible scenarios.

The Motives

The Houthi group is seeking from its major attack on Marib at this timing to achieve some goals and send some messages as follows:

  • Benefitting from changing climates in Western attitudes and motivating them to demonstrate good intentions. While the Houthi group has welcomed the announced approach of the new US administration regarding support for peace efforts and an end to the war in Yemen, especially stopping its support for the Arab Coalition’s military campaign and removing the group from the list of terrorism, and has also welcomed the recent European position that was announced on 11 February 2021, the Houthi group, through its repeated assertion that “no statements, no matter how positive they are, would be meaningful without practical steps on the ground” (according to a tweet by the group’s official spokesman Mohammad Abdul Salam on Twitter on 13 February 2021), not only questions the seriousness of those positions, but also urges them to exert more pressure on the Arab Coalition, and sets as a condition for proving good intentions that Western stances and moves lead to pushing the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) and its allies to take the initiative first and declare the end of the air strikes and lifting the blockade imposed on the group, including lifting the ban on commercial flights to Sanaa International Airport and the abolition of restrictions on the entry of ships of oil derivatives, as well as other confidence-building measures such as disbursing salaries of employees and others. While these demands are the same conditions that were included in the comprehensive Houthi plan for a solution that was presented to the UN envoy Martin Griffiths in 2020, there is a clear rise in the ceiling of those demands. The Houthis are pressing militarily in Marib and towards the KSA in a clear show of force, not only because they believe that showing any positive signs on their part would be misjudged in a way that weakens their position in any future negotiations, or to consolidate their gains in advance of those negotiations, but also to hint that they are in a comfortable position whereby they can set the conditions for negotiation, and that they are not in a hurry if their conditions are not accepted.
  • Sending messages to the Saudi-led Arab Coalition that the group has no intention of making concessions of any kind, and that it is continuing to consolidate its influence and expand inside the country, especially in the direction of Marib because of its special importance to the KSA. In addition to the repercussions of the Houthis' escalation and growing influence in the north for the security of the KSA, their intensification of attacks on it with drones and ballistic missiles, in conjunction with the resumption of their attack on Marib, indicates that they aim to pressure Riyadh to make it more enthusiastic about the ceasefire plan. More importantly, however, they are more determined to achieve a strategic goal in their war with the KSA, which is to prevent its air force from supporting government forces and anti-Houthi tribesmen, especially that the KSA air force plays a major role in stopping the advance of Houthi fighters to control the oil city.
  • Providing assurances to the Iranian ally and the so-called "Resistance Axis". Some observers say that the Iranian agenda is the first motive behind the escalation by the Houthi group, especially at this time when there is a Western diplomatic movement and Gulf response and support to stop the war and reach a comprehensive political settlement that takes into account the minimum aspirations of Yemenis and in consultation with the various actors. Rather than interacting positively, responsibly and promisingly with the calls for peace, the leaders of the Houthi group are dragged towards continuing to play the role of "proxy", given that the present circumstance in which interests may diverge (if the Houthis accept peace in isolation from Iran's thorny issues) constitutes a test and an opportunity for the Houthis to prove to Tehran that they have favoured its priorities and its broader project at the expense of their limited interests and ambitions, as well as the interests of the Yemeni people. This is evidenced by the Houthi leaders’ keenness to identify with the logic of the recently appointed Iranian ambassador to the group Hassan Erlo who considered that the new change in US policy on the Yemeni crisis “is attributable to the US endeavour to impose a military presence and a direct political presence” in Yemen. For example, the Minister of Foreign Affairs in the unrecognised Houthi government Hisham Sharaf, upon his meeting with Erlo on 13 February 2021, affirmed that his group shall continue with its escalation, saying that “Sanaa is able and ready to use its capabilities to make the ports and airports of the capitals of the aggression coalition experience part of the consequences of the suffering endured by the Yemeni people”, as he put it.
  • Clamping down on the group's local opponents in the legitimate government and its allies. Considering the importance of Marib as the last stonghold of the Legitimacy in the north, a military and social centre of gravity for the Muslim Brotherhood in Yemen (the Islah (Reform) Party), and a springboard for threatening Sanaa, the Houthi military escalation towards Marib depletes the capacities of their opponents and exhausts their war effort. The Houthis' estimates suggest that their opponents have become in a clear state of weakness, and that it is possible to strip them of the most important cards of their strength. The Houthi’s control of Marib (if it does happen) would deal a devastating blow to President Hadi’s government and its alliances, in addition to allowing the Houthis to improve their negotiating terms and impose their dictates on any form of political solution, enabling them also to lay their hands on an important part of the country's oil and gas.
  • Benefiting from domestic enthusiasm to make gains on the ground. The Houthis interpret the shift in US foreign policy regarding the Yemeni crisis as a desire for the return of the "World’s Policeman" to play a greater role in the region from the gate of Yemen, under the pretext of playing a "questionable" role, which is the neutral mediator to support political efforts and end the war in this country. For them, Washington's position constitutes an admission of the failure of its previous policies as a main supporter and participant in the war against the Houthis, as well as a recognition by it of the impossibility of bypassing them and of the need to negotiate with them. They attribute this to their capability to show resilience and to impose themselves as a de facto authority in North Yemen. They also see the welcoming of calls for peace by their opponents in the Arab Coalition and the legitimate government as a tone of weakness, surrender, and a desire to get out of the dilemma of war. This is marketed by the group as a victory for it, through which it works to amplify the enthusiasm of its fighters, and bets on their drive to consolidate its gains and settle matters in its favour, especially in Marib.

The repercussions

This Houthi escalation threatens to undermine peace efforts and the Washington-led diplomatic movement that has emerged recently. It makes the issue of the war in Yemen contingent on the regional tensions more than ever before. It also exacerbates the lack of trust between the parties to the Yemeni conflict. The failure of the round of talks on the exchange of prisoners that was recently hosted in the Jordanian capital Amman (between 24 January and 21 February 2021) under the auspices of the UN indicates that there is a state of total blockage in the de-escalation efforts that the UN is seeking to establish in the hope of clearing the way for the peace process. Nevertheless, there remains an opportunity for this escalation to push the international community to intensify its pressure on the parties to the conflict, especially the Houthi group, including moving towards developing a plan for a comprehensive solution and imposing it through the UN Security Council (UNSC).

At the military level, some opinions view the Houthis’ attack on Marib as an indication of their efforts to complete the demarcation of the separatist borders and to extend their control over northern Yemen (in its borders before 1990). However, what is certain is that if the Houthis manage to take control of Marib, they will change the dynamics of the entire conflict. While this is more valuable to them than any political settlement they can currently obtain, they will likely not stop there, nor will they accept engaging in a comprehensive peace process and a long-term national reconciliation plan, in addition to accepting to limit their influence, without a major military defeat inflicted on them, even after a while. On the ground, the military escalation on the Marib fronts may extend to the other fronts, especially the southern and western coast fronts. The Houthis will also double their attacks on the KSA, which means that the war may flare up more than it was in the past two years.

In addition to the above, this escalation causes a lot of security concern to the citizens, impedes the movement of travellers and impedes the passage of trade between the governorate and the neighbouring governorates, especially Sanaa, and thus exacerbates the economic crises and the deteriorating living situation in the country.

At the humanitarian and social level, this escalation endangers the lives of more than two million people, and threatens the occurrence of a wave of displacement that may be the largest since the outbreak of the conflict in Yemen, especially that Marib houses dozens of camps and has constituted a haven for hundreds of thousands of displaced people who were displaced by the Houthis from the areas that the Houthis have subjected to their control in the past, in addition to the obstacles and challenges that the escalation poses to the humanitarian organisations and relief teams working there. Besides, the current escalation is expected to exacerbate the state of fragmentation in the social fabric. For example, the Houthis seek to disrupt the cohesion of the tribes in the areas surrounding Marib by buying the loyalties of some and mobilising them against the others which are opposed to the Houthis. This threatens to undermine the relative stability that the governorate has enjoyed over the past years.

Possible scenarios

So far, there are two possible scenarios for the military escalation in Marib, one of which is the Houthi’s decisive win of the battle, and the second is the continuation of the escalation with a varying pace from time to time and without bringing about a decisive change in the control map, that is the stalemate scenario.

1. The Houthis decide the battle in their favour. This scenario assumes that the aforementioned motives and incentives would fuel the enthusiasm of the Houthis to continue with the same momentum in their attack on Marib. Indeed, Iran’s tendency to link the Yemeni conflict to its faltering files may by itself be capable of making the Houthis raise the pace of their escalation and throw their full weight in an attempt to resolve the battle in their favour. Such a scenario could materialise in cases including the weakness of the defence plans of the Houthi opponents, and the ability of the Houthis to create imbalances in the ranks of their opponents or take advantage of them and exacerbate them, including inflicting heavy strikes on the command centres of their operations and formations, cutting off their main supply lines in the south or north-east of Marib, and the disruption of air support by coalition forces.

2. The stalemate. This scenario assumes the continuation of the escalation, with varying paces from time to time, without bringing about a real change in the map of control on the ground. The materialisation of this scenario requires the cohesion of the opponents of the Houthi group and their desperate defence of the city, the intensification by the Saudi air force of its strikes, and the bet on the time element to exhaust the group's fighters, deplete their morale and curb their drive. Despite the great motives and the development of the Houthis’ offensive strategy, their options may be regressing and facing the same previous obstacles. This explains their resort to the method of enticing tribes, army personnel, and residents of Marib, by offering a set of undertakings and guarantees such as “pardoning them and not prosecuting them or prejudicing their properties and interests, maintaining their jobs, enabling them to manage the affairs of the province, and allocating 70 percent of the net proceeds of Safer to its benefit”.

Overall, the available data indicate that the chances that the second scenario would materialise are higher in the near term. Despite the importance of the military settlement of the Battle of Marib, given that it is decisive and vital for all parties, this is exactly what may delay the military settlement therein and make it come second, especially that the battle comes against the backdrop of an international diplomatic movement and within the framework of the political arrangements led by the new US administration at the Yemeni and regional levels, even if this means that it would take longer before any understandings about Yemen mature.

Conclusion

  • The Houthis are putting pressure on Marib Governorate in a clear show of force, after the US announced their removal from the lists of foreign terrorist organisations, and in conjunction with a Washington-led diplomatic movement and repeated European and UN calls to stop the military escalation and proceed towards a comprehensive political solution to the Yemeni crisis. This military escalation by the Houthis comes not only because they believe that showing any positive signs on their part would be misjudged in a way that would weaken their position in any future negotiations, or to enhance their gains in advance of those negotiations, but also to hint that they have become in a comfortable position whereby they can set the conditions for negotiation, and are not in a hurry if their conditions are not accepted.
  • The Houthis are sending messages to the Saudi-led Arab Coalition to the effect that they do not have the intention to make concessions of any kind, and that they are continuing to consolidate their influence and expand inside the country. On the other hand, by attacking Marib, the Houthis provide assurances to the Iranian ally. Rather than interacting positively, responsibly and promisingly with calls for peace, the leaders of the Houthi group are being dragged into continuing to play the role of "proxy", given that this circumstance in which interests may diverge constitutes a test and an opportunity for the Houthis to demonstrate to Tehran that they favour its priorities and its broader project at the expense of Yemen and its interests.
  • So far, there are two possible scenarios for the military escalation in Marib, one of which is the Houthi’s settlement of the battle in their favour, and the second is the continuation of the escalation with a varying pace from time to time and without bringing about a decisive change in the map of control, that is the stalemate scenario. The available data indicate that the second scenario has more chances of materialising in the near term.

Latest Scenarios