فُرَص نجاح اتفاق "أوبك بلس" الأخير في ضبط الأسعار

شريف أبو الفضل | 29 ديسمبر 2020

بعد محادثات استمرت عدة أيام بين الأعضاء، اتفقت منظمة الدول المصدرة للنفط (أوبك) بقيادة المملكة العربية السعودية، والدول المتحالفة معها من خارج المنظمة بقيادة روسيا، فيما يُعرف بتحالف (أوبك+)، في 3 ديسمبر 2020، على رفع إمدادات الخام للدول الـ 23 المشاركة في التحالف بمقدار نصف مليون برميل يومياً بدءاً من يناير المقبل، عوضاً عما كان مقرراً في الاتفاق الذي توافقت عليه أطراف التحالف في 12 أبريل الماضي بزيادة الإنتاج بمقدار حوالي مليوني برميل يومياً منذ بداية العام 2021، ليصبح إجمالي حجم الخفض في الإنتاج النفطي 7.5 مليون برميل يومياً نزولاً من 7.7 مليون برميل يومياً، بموجب اتفاق أبريل الماضي.

ورغم أن الخطوة مثَّلت دعماً إيجابياً لأسواق النفط، إذ شهدت الأيام التالية للاتفاق ارتفاع سعر الخام بمستوى أكثر من خمسين دولاراً للبرميل، ونسبة زيادة تقدر بـ2%، إلا أن هذا التفاؤل ظلَّ محفوفاً بالحذر نتيجة لما تشهده الأسواق من هشاشة بسبب ضبابية التوقعات حول مستقبل عودة النشاط الاقتصادي، وهو الأمر الذي له بالغ الأثر على الطلب العالمي على النفط، بالإضافة لمخاوف من زيادة المعروض النفطي سواء من قبل الدول المستثناة من تخفيض الإنتاج مثل إيران وفنزويلا بسبب العقوبات، أو ليبيا بسبب الاضطرابات التي تعاني منها، أو زيادة الإنتاج من قبل مُنتجي النفط الصخري في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، بشكل يشكل تحدياً أمام استقرار الأسعار ويجعل قرارات الدول المصدر للنفط تتوقف دائماً على أوضاع السوق وتخضع للتقييمات والمراجعات المستمرة.

أبعاد الاتفاق

يأتي الاتفاق الأخير الذي عقد في بداية ديسمبر الجاري ضمن محاولات الدول المصدرة للنفط سواء من داخل منظمة أوبك أو من خارجها لإحداث توازن السوق وضبط الأسعار، في ظل العجز الهيكلي الذي أصاب الطلب على النفط نتيجة للإغلاقات الجزئية والكلية للاقتصادات على مستوى العالم بسبب تفشي فيروس كورونا، وعرقلة حركة الطيران والنقل والتجارة، الأمر الذي دفع بمستويات الطلب العالمي إلى حوالي 90 مليون برميل نزولاً من مستوى 100 مليون برميل أواخر عام 2019، وهي المحاولات التي بدأت مع الاتفاق الذي عقد بين أوبك والمستقلين من خارجها بقيادة روسيا في 12 أبريل الماضي، بعد تعثُّر الاتفاق على خفوضات جديدة في 6 مارس الماضي نتيجة خلافات فنية وسياسية، وهو ما تبعه قيام كبار المنتجين بإغراق الأسواق بالخام في إطار ما عُرِفَ بحرب "الحصص السوقية"، والتي أدت إلى تدهور حاد في أسعار النفط وفقدان خام برنت أكثر من ثلث قيمته ليصل لمستوى أقل من 30 دولاراً للبرميل، في استدعاء لسيناريو تدهور الأسعار في نهاية 2015، والذي أفضى إلى تشكيل تحالف أوبك + لإحداث توازن السوق وضبط الأسعار.

تم الاتفاق بين السعودية وروسيا، بعد تدخل الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب لتسوية الأزمة بين كبار مُنتجي النفط، وإحداث توازن في السوق النفطية وضبط الأسعار التي وصلت لمستويات متدنية تُهدد صناعة النفط الصخري الواعدة في الولايات المتحدة، ونتج عن ذلك اتفاق أبريل بين أعضاء تحالف أوبك + الذي أقر تخفيضات في إنتاج النفط بنحو 9.7 ملايين برميل يومياً في شهري مايو ويونيو 2020، وهو ما يعادل نحو ثلاثة أضعاف المستوى المقترح في 6 مارس الماضي عند 3.6 ملايين برميل يومياً. وبعد ذلك، ستتوخى (أوبك+) مع تحسُّن مستوى الطلب العالمي خفض الإنتاج تدريجياً بنحو مليوني برميل إلى 7.7 ملايين برميل يومياً حتى نهاية العام، ثم إلى 5.8 ملايين برميل يومياً من يناير 2021 إلى أبريل 2022.

ويمثل الاتفاق الأخير تعديلاً لما تم الاتفاق عليه في أبريل بين أعضاء تحالف أوبك +؛ فبدلاً من خفض الإنتاج لمستوى 5.8 مليون برميل يومياً، كما كان مفترضاً في اتفاق أبريل، تم الاتفاق على الخفض بمقدار 7.2 مليون برميل نزولاً من 7.5 مليون برميل يومياً، وهو الأمر الذي يُفسَّر بما تم على أرض الواقع من تراجع في مستويات الطلب وفقدان قدرة الاقتصادات على الانتعاش السريع نتيجة لاستمرار تفشي فيروس كورونا، ودخول بعض الدول في موجات متتالية من الجائحة، ما قيَّد من التفاؤل بشأن التحسُّن في أسعار النفط، واستقر بها عند مستويات من 40 - 50 دولاراً للبرميل.

كما اتفق أعضاء تحالف أوبك + على جعل اجتماع دول المجموعة لتقرير مستوى الإنتاج شهرياً، وأن تكون الزيادة أو الخفض في الإنتاج بناءً على ما يشهده السوق من تطورات في حدود 500 ألف برميل يومياً. ويرى محللو أسواق النفط أن ذلك يهدف إلى: أولاً؛ إضفاء المزيد من المرونة والاستجابة السريعة للتطورات، بحيث لا يتم انتظار الاجتماع نصف السنوي لأوبك +، وثانياً؛ اتباع النهج التدريجي في زيادة الإنتاج وخفضه بناء على تطورات السوق.

وقد مثَّل الاتفاق الأخير حلاً وسطاً لأطرافه، إذ اُعتبر مُرضياً للراغبين في عدم الإخلال بتوازن السوق والحفاظ على ما تم اكتسابه من تحسُّن في الأسعار، إذ استردّ الخام أكثر من 150% من قيمته عند مقارنة بسعره الحالي، وهو حوالي 50 دولاراً للبرميل، مع مستوى حوالي 20 دولاراً في أبريل الماضي. وفي الوقت ذاته، يمثل الاتفاق تلبية لرغبة بعض الأعضاء في زيادة الإنتاج للحفاظ على الحصة السوقية، والتي تمثل هاجساً لدى بعض منتجي النفط، لا سيما الكبار منهم، بشكل يوازي الحرص على تحسُّن الأسعار وربما أكثر. وستقوم المجموعة بعد ذلك بمراجعة شهرية، وإقرار ما إذا كانت ستستمر في الزيادة التدريجية في الإنتاج، أم ستتوقف عن ذلك، وهو أمر يفترض أن يُحدَّد وفقاً لظروف السوق السائدة.

المحفزات والتحديات التي تواجه الاتفاق

سيواجه الاتفاق الأخير لتحالف أوبك + عدداً من المحفزات والتحديات التي تشكل العوامل الحاكمة لحركة أسواق وأسعار النفط خلال الفترة المقبلة.

ومن المحفِّزات التي قد تدفع في اتجاه توازن السوق وتحسُّن الأسعار:

  • تداول الأنباء بشأن توفُّر لقاحات لفيروس كورونا، وإعلان بعض الدول خططها لشراء اللقاح وبدء تداوله بين المواطنين، الأمر الذي يعني فك بعض القيود المفروضة على الأنشطة الاقتصادية، وتنشيط حركة الأسواق والتجارة والنقل، ومن ثمَّ معالجة الخلل الهيكلي الذي أصاب الطلب على النفط منذ بداية الجائحة.
  • في حين زادت الإغلاقات في الغرب، بسبب عودة انتشار فيروس كورونا، في إطار ما وُصِفَ بـ "موجة ثانية للجائحة"، فإن الوضع مختلف بالنسبة للدول الآسيوية (كثيفة الاستهلاك للطاقة)، فالطلب على النفط في هذه الدول يرتفع، إذ تشير وكالة "بلومبيرغ" إلى تعافي الصين اقتصادياً إلى حد كبير، وأن الأمر ينحو في ذات الاتجاه في دولٍ كالهند واليابان وكوريا الجنوبية، ودللت الوكالة الأمريكية على ذلك بالاحتفالات بعيد الأنوار في الهند، وارتفاع حركة السفر والتنقل في الصين في الأسبوع الذهبي لزيارة الأقارب عبر الدولة.
  • خُطط التحفيز الاقتصادي التي اتخذتها كبرى دول العالم، ففي قمة الاتحاد الأوروبي التي عُقدت يومي 10 و11 ديسمبر الجاري، تم الاتفاق على ما يسمى بصندوق التعافي الأوروبي. وتبلغ قيمة الصندوق 750 مليار يورو (نحو 900 مليار دولار)، سيتم توزيع 390 مليار يورو منها في شكل منح و360 مليار في شكل قروض. ومن المقدر أن تستفيد بلدان جنوب أوروبا كإيطاليا وإسبانيا واليونان أكثر من غيرها باعتبارها الأكثر تضرراً من الجائحة. ورفعت الحكومة اليابانية، من ناحيتها، توقعاتها للنمو الاقتصادي للعام المالي المقبل بفضل حزمة التحفيز الأخيرة التي تهدف إلى تسريع الانتعاش بعد الأضرار التي أحدثتها الجائحة. وأظهر أحدث تقدير صادر عن مكتب مجلس الوزراء، منتصف ديسمبر الجاري، أنه من المتوقع أن ينمو الاقتصاد بنسبة 4% بالقيمة الحقيقية المعدلة للأسعار في السنة المالية المقبلة التي تبدأ في أبريل 2021. وفي الولايات المتحدة أقرَّ الكونجرس، حزمة إغاثة مرتبطة بفيروس كورونا بقيمة 892 مليار دولار، وينصّ المشروع على دفع 600 دولار مباشرة لمعظم الأمريكيين وأطفالهم؛ ويستبعد من يزيد دخلهم على 100 ألف دولار، وكذلك المهاجرين غير الشرعيين.
  • وفقاً للعديد من التقديرات، فإن الطلب على البنزين والديزل قد تعافي بنسبة حوالي 90% مقارنة بمستويات ما قبل الوباء، ما يدلل على أن الطلب على القطاع النفطي قد يتسم بعدم المرونة بالنسبة لبعض أنواع الوقود.

وعلى الجانب الآخر، ثمة تحديات تعمل في اتجاه معاكس، وتدفع إلى ركود الأسواق وتراجُع الأسعار، الأمر الذي يسبب عجزاً في موازنات الدول المعتمدة على الصادرات النفطية، فضلاً عن كونه يمثل تهديداً لصناعة النفط ذاتها، ومن بين أبرز تلك العوامل:

  • عودة بعض الدول لاتخاذ إجراءات الإغلاق الاقتصادي، بسبب عودة وباء كورونا بشكل واسع، والحديث عن سلالة جديدة للفيروس في بريطانيا، ووقف حركة النقل والتجارة والسفر، بعد أن كانت شهدت بعض الانفراجة في الربعين الثالث والرابع من العام 2020، الأمر الذي سيكون له بالغ الأثر على الطلب على النفط على الأقل في الربع الأول من العام 2021. وترى "وكالة فيتش" للتنصيف الائتماني، أن الطلب سيظل ضعيفاً حتى النصف الثاني من العام المقبل على الأقل، في ظل الانتشار السريع للفيروس في موجته الثانية، فضلاً عن أن تداول اللقاح، لاسيما بالنسبة للدول النامية، لن يكون بالسرعة المطلوبة لتعافي الأسواق. وتشير توقعات الوكالة الدولية للطاقة إلى أن الطلب العالمي على النفط الخام سيبلغ نحو 97.1 مليون برميل يومياً في عام 2021، بزيادة تُقدَّر بـ5.8 مليون برميل يومياً مقارنة بعام 2020، ورغم هذا التحسُّن لكنه يبدو أقل من المستوى البالغ 100.1 مليون برميل يومياً في عام 2019. 
  • الهواجس المتصلة بإمكانية إقدام مُنتجي النفط الصخري في الولايات المتحدة على ضخ المزيد من النفط في الأسواق، الأمر الذي يمثل تحدياً أمام أي تطور في أسعار النفط، مهما بلغ حجم الامتثال للتخفيضات المقررة من أوبك وحلفائها، لاسيما في ظل الظروف الحالية، وضعف الطلب على النفط.
  • التخوُّف من تخارج بعض الدول من التخفضيات الطوعية لها بموجب اتفاق تحالف أوبك+ في أبريل الماضي، مثل النرويج التي تبلغ تخفيضاتها 300 ألف برميل، والعراق الذي يطالب برفع الإمدادات، وغيرهما من الدول التي قد تهدد بتفكك التحالف في حال استمر الطلب منخفضاً على النفط، وبالتالي عدم تحسُّن الأسعار، وهو ما قد يدفع باتجاه حرب الحصص السوقية التي اندلعت مع بداية انتشار الجائحة في مارس الماضي.
  • تحاول بعض الدول ذات الموقف الخاص من الخفوضات التي أقرها تحالف أوبك+، من العودة بقوة إلى أسواق النفط، مثل ليبيا، والتي تم التوصل فيها إلى اتفاق بين طرفي النزاع على فك القيود المفروضة على إنتاج النفط وتصديره، وتسعى للعودة إلى مستوى إنتاج ما قبل اندلاع الأزمة في 2011. فضلاً عن مطالبة نيجيريا لمنظمة أوبك بإعادة النظر في تحديد حصص النفط الخاصة بها، لأسباب تتعلق بحاجتها لضخ مزيد من النفط لدعم الاقتصاد وتشييد البنية التحتية.
  • تَرقُّب أسواق النفط لموقف الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة (إدارة الرئيس المنتخب جو بايدن) من العودة للاتفاق النووي مع إيران، وهو ما يُفترض أن يستتبعه، تخفيف للعقوبات الصارمة المفروضة على إيران في قطاعها النفطي وإغراقها الأسواق بمليوني برميل نفط.

خلاصة وتوقعات

في ضوء التوقعات المتضاربة بشأن اتجاه أسواق وأسعار النفط خلال الفترة المقبلة، نتيجة استمرار حالة عدم اليقين التي يعيشها الاقتصاد العالمي حالياً، يمكن القول إن اتجاه الأسعار يتشكل بناء على المعطيات التي سيفرضها الواقع، وبناء على غلبة عوامل تنشيط الأسواق أو ركودها، أو التوازن فيما بين تلك العوامل.

ووفقاً للترجيحات، فعلى الرغم من زيادة الإنتاج في يناير المقبل بمقدار 500 ألف برميل يومياً، إلا أن الأسواق تستطيع الحفاظ على توازنها من خلال امتصاص فائض المعروض والحد من تراكم مخزونات الخام في الدول المستهلكة الرئيسة على نحو سوف يدعم أسعار الخام، وهو ما سيسمح بزيادة تدريجية في الأسعار خلال العام المقبل.

وإجمالاً، يُرجَّح امتثال أعضاء أوبك+ ببنود الاتفاق الجديد، والخفوضات المقررة، دون الإقدام على أي خطوات تُغرِق الأسواق وتؤدي إلى هبوط بالأسعار، في تكرار لحالات سابقة في العام الجاري أو أعوام سابقة؛ فالمصلحة تقتضي أن يلتزم الجميع بالرفع التدريجي للإنتاج، لضمان وجود توازن نسبي للأسعار، وتفادياً لحدوث تخمة في المعروض، وبما يحفظ الأسعار في حدودها المقبولة نسبياً عند 40 إلى 50 دولاراً للبرميل حتى نهاية الربع الأول من العام 2021 على الأقل.

سيناريوهات

Chances for the Recent “OPEC+” Agreement in Succeeding to Control Prices

Sherif Abou El-Fadl | 29 Dec 2020

After several days of talks between members, the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) led by the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA), and its allies from outside OPEC led by Russia, in what is known as the OPEC+ coalition, agreed on 3 December 2020 to raise the crude supplies of the 23 countries participating in the coalition by half a million barrels per day starting from January 2021, instead of what was planned in the agreement reached by the coalition parties on 12 April 2020, namely to increase production by nearly two million barrels per day starting from the beginning of 2021, bringing the total size of the reduction in oil production to 7.5 million barrels per day, down from 7.7 million barrels per day, according to the agreement of April 2020.

While the move constituted a positive support for the oil markets, given that the days following the agreement witnessed an increase in the price of crude to reach more than fifty dollars a barrel, at an estimated increase of 2 percent, this optimism remained fraught with caution due to the market's fragility as a result of the blurry expectations about the future of the revival of economic activity, which has a major impact on global demand for oil, in addition to fears either of an increase in oil supply by countries excluded from the production cuts, such as Iran and Venezuela, due to sanctions, and Libya, due to the turmoil it is experiencing, or of increased production by shale oil producers in the US, in a way that would pose a challenge to price stability and make decisions of oil-exporting countries always dependent on market conditions and subject to continuous evaluations and reviews.

Dimensions of the agreement

The recent agreement, which was reached at the beginning of December 2020, is part of the attempts by the oil-exporting countries, whether from within or outside OPEC, to bring about market balance and control prices, in the light of the structural deficit that hit oil demand as a result of partial and total lockdowns of economies worldwide due to the outbreak of the coronavirus, and the disruption of air traffic, transport and trade, which pushed global demand levels to nearly 90 million barrels per day, down from the level of 100 million barrels per day in late 2019. Those attempts began with the agreement between OPEC and non-OPEC independent producers led by Russia on 12 April 2020, after the agreement on new cuts faltered on 6 March 2020 as a result of technical and political disagreements. Subsequently, major producers flooded the markets with crude in the context of what was known as the "market share" war, which led to a sharp deterioration in oil prices and the loss by Brent crude of more than a third of its value to reach a level below 30 dollars a barrel, which was reminiscent of the price deterioration scenario at the end of 2015, which led to the formation of the OPEC+ coalition to bring about market equilibrium and control prices.

An agreement was reached between the KSA and Russia, after the intervention of US President Donald Trump to settle the crisis between major oil producers, create a balance in the oil market and control prices that had reached low levels that threaten the promising shale oil industry in the US. This resulted in the April 2020 agreement between members of the OPEC+ coalition, which approved cuts in oil production by nearly 9.7 million barrels per day in May and June 2020, which is equivalent to nearly three times the level proposed on 6 March 2020, of 3.6 million barrels per day. Afterwards, with the improvement in global demand, OPEC+ would envisage gradually reducing production by nearly 2 million barrels to 7.7 million barrels per day until the end of 2020, and then to 5.8 million barrels per day from January 2021 to April 2022.

The recent agreement constitutes an amendment to what was agreed upon in April 2020 between members of the OPEC+ coalition. Instead of reducing production to the level of 5.8 million barrels per day, as was supposed in the April 2020 agreement, it was agreed to reduce production by 7.2 million barrels, down from 7.5 million barrels per day. This is explained by the developments on the ground in terms of the decline in demand levels and the loss by the economies of the capability of rapid recovery as a result of the continuing spread of the coronavirus and the experience by some countries of successive waves of the pandemic, limiting the optimism about the improvement in oil prices, which stabilised at the levels of 40-50 dollars per barrel.

The members of the OPEC+ coalition also agreed that the meeting of the group’s countries to decide the level of production be held monthly, and that the increase or decrease in production based on the developments witnessed by the market be in the range of 500 thousand barrels per day. Oil market analysts believe that this aims to: first: show more flexibility and quick response to developments, so that the biannual meeting of OPEC+ would not be awaited; and secondly, adopt a gradual approach to increasing and reducing production based on market developments.

The recent agreement constituted a compromise solution for its parties, as it was considered satisfactory to those wishing not to disturb the market balance and to maintain the improvement gained in prices, given that crude oil recovered more than 150 percent of its value when its current price, which is nearly 50 dollars a barrel, is compared to the level of nearly 20 dollars in April 2020. At the same time, the agreement constitutes a response to the desire of some members to increase production to preserve the market share, which is a concern for some oil producers, especially the big ones, in a manner that is parallel to the desire to improve prices, perhaps even more important. Subsequently, the group would carry out monthly reviews and decide whether to continue with the gradual increase in production or stop it, which is supposed to be determined according to the prevailing market conditions.

Catalysts and challenges facing the agreement

The recent agreement of the OPEC+ coalition will face a number of catalysts and challenges that constitute the factors governing the movement of oil markets and prices during the period ahead.

The catalysts that may drive in the direction of market equilibrium and price improvement include the following:

  • Circulating news about the availability of coronavirus vaccines, and the announcement by some countries of their plans to buy the vaccine and start administering it to citizens, which means loosening some of the restrictions imposed on economic activities, stimulating the movement of markets, trade and transport, and subsequently addressing the structural imbalance that affected oil demand since the beginning of the pandemic.
  • While lockdowns have increased in the West due to the resurgence of the coronavirus in the context of what has been described as a "second wave of the pandemic", the situation is different for (energy-intensive) Asian countries, given that demand for oil in those countries is on the rise. Bloomberg has indicated that China has economically recovered to a large extent, and that conditions are developing in the same direction in countries such as India, Japan and South Korea. According to the US agency, this is evidenced by the celebrations of the Festival of Lights in India, and the increase in travel and mobility in China during the Golden Week to visit relatives across the country.
  • The economic stimulus plans developed by the world's largest countries. At the European Union (EU) summit that was held on 10-11 December 2020, the so-called European Recovery Fund (ERF) was agreed upon. The ERF is worth 750 billion euros (nearly 900 billion dollars), of which 390 billion euros will be distributed in grants and 360 billion in loans. It is estimated that southern European countries such as Italy, Spain and Greece will benefit the most, as they are the most affected by the pandemic. For its part, the Japanese government has raised its forecast for economic growth for the next fiscal year, thanks to the recent stimulus package aimed at accelerating the recovery after the damage caused by the pandemic. The latest estimate that was issued by the Cabinet Office in mid-December 2020 showed that the economy is expected to grow by 4 percent in real terms, adjusted for prices, in the next fiscal year that begins in April 2021. In the US, Congress approved a coronavirus relief package worth 892 billion dollars. The bill provides for the direct payment of 600 dollars to most Americans and their children. It excludes those with annual incomes exceeding 100,000 dollars, as well as illegal immigrants.
  • According to many estimates, the demand for gasoline and diesel has recovered by nearly 90 percent compared to pre-epidemic levels, which indicates that demand for the oil sector may be characterised by inflexibility with respect to some types of fuels.

On the other hand, there are challenges that work in the opposite direction, pushing towards market stagnation and decline in prices, which causes a deficit in the budgets of countries dependent on oil exports, in addition to being a threat to the oil industry itself. The most prominent of those factors are the following:

  • The return of some countries to taking economic lockdown measures due to the widespread resurgence of the coronavirus epidemic, talk about a new strain of the virus in Britain, and the disruption of transport, trade and travel, after they had witnessed a relaxation in the third and fourth quarters of 2020. This would have a great impact on the demand for oil at least in the first quarter of 2021. Fitch Ratings believes that demand will remain weak at least until the second half of 2021 in the light of the rapid spread of the virus in its second wave, in addition to the fact that administration of the vaccine, especially for developing countries, will not be fast enough for markets to recover. The International Energy Agency (IEA) forecasts indicate that global demand for crude oil will reach nearly 97.1 million barrels per day in 2021, an estimated increase of 5.8 million barrels per day compared to 2020. Despite this improvement, demand appears to be less than the 2019 level of 100.1 million barrels per day.
  • Concerns related to the possible tendency by shale oil producers in the US to pump more oil into the market, which poses a challenge to any development in oil prices, regardless of the size of compliance with the reductions scheduled by OPEC and its allies, especially in the light of the current circumstances and weak oil demand.
  • Fear that some countries may give up their voluntary cuts under the April 2020 OPEC+ coalition agreement, such as Norway whose cuts amount to 300,000 barrels per day, Iraq which calls for an increase in supplies, and other countries that may threaten to break up the coalition if the demand for oil remains low, thus preventing an improvement in prices. This could drive towards the market share war that broke out with the outbreak of the pandemic in March 2020.
  • Some countries with a special position on the cuts approved by the OPEC+ coalition are trying to forcefully return to the oil markets, such as Libya where an agreement was reached between the two parties to the conflict to lift the restrictions imposed on oil production and export, and seek to return to the production level that preceded the outbreak of the crisis in 2011. In addition, Nigeria demands that OPEC reconsider setting its oil quotas for reasons related to its need to pump more oil to support the economy and build the infrastructure.
  • In addition to the above, oil markets are anticipating the position of the new US administration (the administration of President-elect Joe Biden) on the return to the nuclear agreement with Iran, which is supposed to entail easing the strict sanctions imposed on Iran’s oil sector and Iran’s flooding of the market with two million barrels of oil per day.

Conclusion and expectations

In the light of the conflicting expectations regarding the direction of oil markets and prices during the period ahead as a result of the continuing uncertainty that is currently being experienced by the global economy, it can be said that the price trend is formed based on the data imposed by the actual situation, and based on the dominance of market activation or stagnation factors, or the balance between those factors.

According to probabilities, despite the increase in production in January 2021 by 500 thousand barrels per day, the markets can maintain their balance by absorbing the surplus supply and reducing the accumulation of crude stocks in the main consuming countries in a way that would support crude prices, which would allow a gradual increase in prices during 2021.

In general, the OPEC+ members are likely to comply with the terms of the new agreement and the planned cuts, without taking any steps that would flood the markets and lead to a drop in prices, in a repeat of previous cases in 2020 or earlier years. It would be in everybody’s interest to remain committed to a gradual increase in production to ensure a relative balance of prices and avoid oversupply. This would maintain prices within their relatively acceptable limits of 40 to 50 dollars per barrel until at least the end of the first quarter of 2021.

Latest Scenarios