إعلان مغادرة فايز السراج للسلطة في ليبيا: السيناريوهات المحتملة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 19 أكتوبر 2020

أعلن فايز السراج، رئيس المجلس الرئاسي ورئيس حكومة الوفاق في طرابلس الليبية، في منتصف سبتمبر الفائِت، عزمه الاستقالة من منصبه بنهاية شهر أكتوبر الجاري كحدٍّ أقصى، على أمل أن تكون لجنة الحوار قد توافقت على تسمية رئيس حكومة جديد وتشكيل مجلس رئاسي آخر. وقد أتى ذلك عقب أيام قليلة من قيام الحكومة المؤقتة، ومقرها مدينة البيضاء شرق البلاد، بتقديم استقالتها إلى رئيس مجلس النواب المستشار عقيلة صالح. ويأتي التزامن النسبي بين الحدثين، مع استمرار كل حكومة في تسيير العمل في نطاق سيطرتها بشكل مؤقت، ليؤكد على توقف تنفيذ الاستقالة على مصير المباحثات الجارية على المسارين السياسي والعسكري، ومدى إمكانية بناء أرضية مشتركة من التوافق على تدشين فترة انتقالية جديدة تشهد إنهاء الانقسام القائم، والتحضير لعمل انتخابات رئاسية وبرلمانية وفق قاعدة دستورية يتم التوافق بشأنها.

على صعيد آخر، وعلى الرغم مما يبدو من مشروطية للاستقالة بنجاح المسار التفاوضي الراهن، إلا أن إشارة السراج، في خطاب الاستقالة، إلى الظروف غير الطبيعية التي كانت تعمل فيها حكومته، والضغوط التي كانت تتعرض لها بشكل يومي، ربما يوسع من دائرة الاحتمالات بشأن استقالته، على وقع الصراعات الداخلية التي يشهدها المعسكر الداعم للوفاق؛ وقد أتى تصريح الناطق باسم الحكومة التركية إبراهيم كالن ليؤكد هذا الملمح، حين أعرب أثناء زيارة السراج لأنقرة في 4 أكتوبر الجاري عن أن قرار استقالة السراج يأتي إثر وجود بعض القضايا الخلافية في ليبيا، وأن العلاقات التركية الليبية ليست قائمة على الأشخاص. وبالنظر إلى التصريحات المتكررة، والصادرة عن أنقرة، بخصوص عدم علم تركيا بنية الاستقالة بشكل مسبق، وعن "امتعاض" أردوغان من هذا القرار، فإن ذلك يمثل تأكيداً إضافياً على أن الاستقالة تعكس جزئياً الانقسامات الداخلية بين الأطراف المحلية المنضوية تحت مظلة الوفاق، وبما قد يمثل مصدر قلق للداعمين الخارجيين للوفاق.

تستعرض هذه الورقة السيناريوهات المحتملة التي ترتبط بقرار استقالة السراج، سواء تم تنفيذ هذا القرار أو تم التراجع عنه، والديناميات الحاكمة لكل سيناريو.

دوافع إعلان الاستقالة

ثمة العديد من الدوافع التي دفعت السراج إلى الإعلان عن نيته لمغادرة السلطة، بعض هذه الدوافع تتعلق بتطورات عملية التسوية، والبعض الآخر يتعلق بتطورات العلاقة بين أطراف معسكر غرب ليبيا، وأخيراً الضغوط الناجمة عن تزايد الاحتقان الشعبي لدى المواطنين.

  • بالنسبة لعملية التسوية، فالمتغير الأهم والمؤثر على الجولة الحالية من المباحثات هو الدعم الكثيف والرعاية شبه المباشرة التي تبديها الولايات المتحدة لعملية التفاوض، وهو ما يعزز من فرص نجاح المباحثات الجارية في إحراز تطور جوهري على طريق التسوية، بما يقطع مع الترتيبات السائدة وملامح المشهد الراهن للصراع، بما في ذلك وجود السراج على رأس السلطة المعترف بها دولياً. وعلى هذا الأساس يمكن النظر إلى قرار مغادرة السلطة على أنه نتاج عدد من العوامل؛ الأول، وجود ضغوط أمريكية تجاه السراج لدفعه نحو هذا القرار، كجزء من تهيئة البيئة السياسية للأوضاع الجديدة؛ والثاني، رغبة السراج نفسه في تجنب أي مسؤولية عن أي إخفاق قد تشهده المفاوضات ويؤدي إلى استمرار الانقسام القائم؛ والثالث، التقدُّم المطّرد في لقاءات بوزنيقة المغربية، وما ينجم عنها من توافقات حول كثير من القضايا الخلافية التي كان يصعب حلحلتها منذ سنوات، لاسيما المتعلقة بالمناصب السيادية وآليات اختيار شاغليها، بشكل ينهي الانقسام القائم في عمل تلك المؤسسات، حيث تجدر الإشارة إلى إعلان الأطراف المتفاوضة، خلال الجولة الثانية من التفاوض والمنعقدة في الأسبوع الأول من أكتوبر الجاري، بخصوص التوصل إلى توافق شامل حول هذه النقطة.
  • على صعيد آخر، يأتي تأثير التطورات داخل معسكر الوفاق لتمثل عامل ضغط إضافي على إمكانية بقائه في السلطة؛ فمن ناحية أولى، لم يعد الوضع الأمني في العاصمة مرهوناً بسيطرة المليشيات الطرابلسية، التي كانت، على ما بينها من تنافس وصراعات، قادرة على توفير بيئة أمنية مستقرة نسبياً بالنسبة لعمل مؤسسات الحكومة، وهو الوضع الذي تغير بفعل تطورات حرب طرابلس، بشكل أفضى إلى عودة الصراع على العاصمة بين مليشيات كامل المنطقة الغربية، وبالأخص تلك التابعة لمدن مصراتة والزنتان والزاوية. ومن ناحية ثانية، فإن التدخل التركي في ليبيا قد غير من التوازنات، ليس فقط بين تلك المدن والمليشيات المحسوبة على الوفاق، لكن أيضاً بين القيادات السياسية المشاركة في السلطة، وهو ما أدى إلى زيادة نفوذ شخصيات منافسة طالما تم طرحها كبديل للسراج على رأس الحكومة، وبالأخص وزير الداخلية فتحي باشاغا، الذي يعد من أكثر قيادات الوفاق موثوقية لدى أنقرة، أو حتى محاولة أحمد معيتيق للاستفادة من تضارب الحسابات لدى الأطراف الخارجية والداخلية، لطرح نفسه كبديل للسراج، لاسيما على رأس المجلس الرئاسي. 
  • هذه التطورات داخل معسكر الوفاق أفضت إلى صعوبة إحكام السيطرة على المليشيات المسلحة العاملة في العاصمة، والتي تزايد عدد الاشتباكات المسلحة الواقعة بين بعضها البعض خلال الأسابيع الماضية؛ ومن ناحية أخرى تزايد مستوى التضارب على مستوى صنع القرار بين السراج وبين قيادات المجلس الرئاسي والحكومة. مع ذلك فإن هذه البيئة غير المشجعة على الاستمرار في المنصب قد تكون أحد عوامل التمسك به من قبل بعض الحلفاء، في ضوء صعوبة بناء توافق جديد داخل نفس المعسكر، لاسيما بالنسبة للأطراف التي قد لا تكون متحمسة لنجاح المفاوضات الجارية، مثل تركيا. فعلى الرغم من وجود قيادات أقرب لها من السراج، مثل باشاغا، إلا أن التصريحات الصادرة عن أنقرة تظهر عدم حماسها لهذا القرار؛ وعلى الرغم من أن هذه التصريحات قد تكون متعمدة بغرض التمويه وتضليل الخصوم بشأن حقيقة الحسابات التركية، إلا أنه لا يمكن استبعاد دقة هذه التصريحات في تعبيرها عن الرؤية التركية، من زاوية النظر إلى تعويل تركيا على فشل المفاوضات، وصعوبة صوغ معادلة سياسية جديدة في العاصمة في ضوء حدة التنافسات داخل هذا المعسكر، ما يجعل بقاء السراج هو أقل الخيارات كلفة بالنسبة لأنقرة خلال المرحلة الراهنة.
  • أخيراً، يمكن الإشارة إلى الاحتجاجات الشعبية المتكررة في مدن المنطقة الغربية، على خلفية تردِّي الوضع المعيشي وتدهور الأداء الخدمي للحكومة، وهو التدهور المتوقع استمراره على المدى القصير، سواء في ضوء الصعوبات الاقتصادية المرتبطة بوقف تصدير النفط أو على خلفية امتداد الانقسام الداخلي إلى مفاصل عمل الحكومة، وهو ما يجعل المؤسسات الخدمية أحد أدوات الضغط المتبادل، ليس فقط بين الأطراف الرئيسة للصراع داخل المعسكر، ولكن أيضاً على المستويات المحلية الأدنى؛ ومن ثمَّ فمن المرجح استمرار تلك الاحتجاجات خلال المرحلة المقبلة.

السيناريوهات المحتملة

1. سيناريو الاستقالة وتشكيل حكومة موحدة

يتمثل هذا السيناريو في تحقيق ما وعد به السراج من ترك السلطة، وفي توقيت مطابق أو مقارب للموعد المحدد بنهاية أكتوبر الجاري، وفق نفس الشرط الذي قدَّمه، والخاص بتوافق ممثلي طرفي النزاع على تشكيل حكومة موحدة ومجلس رئاسي جديد.

يتوقف تحقق هذا السيناريو على توافر عدد من الشروط؛ من بينها نجاح الولايات المتحدة في إدارة المرحلة الراهنة وتهيئة بيئة التفاوض، بما يضمن كبح تأثير الأطراف الخارجية المناوئة لهذا المسار، والتي تدفع نحو عرقلة الجهود الأممية، سواء عبر إثارة بعض الصعوبات بشأن القضايا محل التفاوض، أو عبر تحفيز عودة المواجهات المسلحة. كما يتطلب تحقيق السيناريو نجاح طرفي التفاوض في المسار العسكري، الممثل في لجنة 5+5 في التوصل إلى توافق سريع بشأن ملف تأمين مدينة سِرت كمقرّ لعمل الحكومة الموحدة. وقد يساعد على تحقيق التوافق اللازم على المسارين السياسي والعسكري تجدد الاحتجاجات الشعبية في مدن شرق وغرب البلاد، لما تمثله من ضغوط داخلية على الشخصيات الرئيسة الفاعلة داخل المعسكرين، ما يدفعهم نحو مزيد من المرونة.

وينبع في هذا السياق عددٌ من القيود التي قد تعيق تحقيق هذا السيناريو، وهي تلك الصعوبات التقليدية المتوقعة بخصوص عملية التفاوض؛ فمن ناحية أولى، قد تأتي العرقلة من قبل بعض الأطراف الليبية المشاركة في المباحثات، لاسيما في ظل تمسُّك البعثة الأممية بقاعدة عدم تطرق المباحثات لمسألة تسمية شاغلي المناصب الجديدة، واقتصار الأمر على التوصل لمعايير وآليات الاختيار[1]. ومن ناحية ثانية، هناك العرقلة المتوقعة في المسار العسكري، في ظل رفض قوى غرب ليبيا إسناد أي منصب عسكري لحفتر، مقابل وجود مؤشرات على تحشيدات عسكرية تتم من قبل قوات حفتر وعناصر مجموعة فاجنر الروسية خلال الأسبوع الأول من أكتوبر الجاري، في منطقة الشويرف الواقعة على مشارف المنطقة الغربية، فضلاً عن تكثيف الوجود في قاعدتي الجفرة وبراك الشاطئ وسط البلاد، وكل ذلك ينذر بالانزلاق إلى مواجهات عسكرية جديدة قد تطيح بالعملية التفاوضية برمتها.

ويبدو هذا السيناريو وارد الحدوث، لاسيما مع سير العملية التفاوضية بشكل جيد، وإحراز تقدم مطرد في بعض الملفات التي طالما كانت محل خلاف. كما تجدر الإشارة إلى الإصرار الأمريكي على إنجاح هذا المسار، وهو ما أكد عليه وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو، الذي نوَّه خلال زيارته إلى روما نهاية سبتمبر الفائت على أن بلاده ستستخدم جميع الأدوات المتاحة في ترسانتها الدبلوماسية لإنجاح المسار التفاوضي. لكن في المقابل يظل الاختبار الحقيقي مرتبطاً بنتائج مباحثات لجنة 5+5، وإمكانية تحقيق تقدم في الملفات العسكرية والأمنية، والحفاظ على وقف إطلاق النار قائماً خلال الفترة الحالية.

2. سيناريو الاستقالة واستمرار الانقسام

مفاد هذا السيناريو هو استقالة السراج، لكن من دون تشكيل حكومة موحدة، ومع استمرار الانقسام القائم بين شرق البلاد وغربها. وقد تكون الاستقالة على هذا النحو مقتصرة على رئاسة الحكومة فقط، مع بقائه على رأس المجلس الرئاسي. وسواء استقال السراج من أحد المنصبين أو كلاهما، فسوف يهدف هذا الإجراء إلى تجديد شرعية السلطات الحاكمة في طرابلس من جهة، ومن جهة أخرى ترجمة التغير في التوازنات بين الأطراف الداخلية والخارجية الداعمة للوفاق.

وتتمثل أبرز شروط السيناريو في صعوبة حدوث توافق في المسارين التفاوضيين السياسي والعسكري، لاسيما مع الصعوبات الموضوعية المرتبطة بنقل مقر الحكومة إلى مدينة سِرت، ومتطلبات تأمين المدينة عبر قوات مشتركة يصعب التوافق بشأنها. كما قد يدفع باتجاه هذا السيناريو عودة الموجة الاحتجاجية بشكل أكثر حدة إلى المنطقة الغربية، سواء بسبب استمرار التردي المعيشي وتراجع أداء الحكومة في القطاعات الخدمية، أو بسبب تفاقم الانقسام بين المكونات السياسية والأمنية لحكومة الوفاق، وسعيها إلى مزيد من التأزيم بهدف الدفع نحو إجراء تغيير حكومي.

يمثل عدم وجود مظلة شرعية تبرر إحداث تغيير في تركيبة المجلس الرئاسي وإعادة تشكيله، في ضوء استمرار الانقسام والانسحابات العديدة القائمة منذ سنوات. قيوداً على تحقق هذا السيناريو، كما أن أية تغييرات في رئاسة حكومة الوفاق قد لا تنهي الانقسام القائم بين مراكز القوى الرئيسة في معسكر غرب ليبيا وما يرتبط به من اشتباكات مسلحة أحياناً. وأخيراً، فمن الصعب أن تدفع واشنطن هذا المعسكر إلى تجديد شرعية النخبة الحاكمة إذا ما بقت الأوضاع الأمنية والسياسية على ما هي عليه حالياً.

وهذا السيناريو يبدو مستبعداً في ضوء صعوبة بناء توافق مُرضي داخل هذا المعسكر، وما يمثله هذا الخيار من إقرار دولي باستمرار الانقسام القائم، فضلاً عن إدامة الأوضاع الأمنية المختلة في المنطقة الغربية بشكل عام وفي العاصمة طرابلس بشكل خاص. غير أنه في حالة زيادة تأزيم الأوضاع داخل هذا المعسكر، وعجز السراج عن احتواء تلك الأزمات، فقد يضطر لترك رئاسة الحكومة لصالح شخصية مدعومة من قبل واشنطن وأنقرة، لاسيما وأن الحكومة قد شهدت على مدار السنوات الماضية تعديلات جزئية في تشكيلها، من خلال تغييرات وزارية عدة، وهو ما يمكن تكراره على صعيد رئاسة الحكومة، في ضوء المطالبات المتكررة لفصلها عن رئاسة المجلس الرئاسي

3. سيناريو البقاء واستمرار وقف إطلاق النار

يعد هذا السيناريو بمثابة امتداد للوضع القائم منذ وقف إطلاق النار، من دون تحقيق تقدم جوهري على صعيد التسوية السلمية وإنهاء الانقسام.

ويتمثل الشرط الرئيس لتحققه في عدم إقدام طرفي النزاع على تقديم تنازلات مهمة لتحقيق تسوية مؤقتة، وذلك إما على خلفية رغبة القيادات السياسية والعسكرية المتصدرة للمشهد في الحفاظ على امتيازاتها ومكتسباتها، ومقاومة هذه الأطراف للتوجه الأممي الساعي إلى استبعادهم من المشهد بوصفهم جزءاً من المشكلة، أو على خلفية وجود خلافات موضوعية أكثر عمقاً بشأن تمثيل مصالح المكونات الاجتماعية الرئيسة، من مدن وقبائل ومليشيات، تبرز أيضاً في هذا الإطار الرغبة الأمريكية والمصرية في عدم حدوث مواجهات مسلحة؛ وكذلك عزوف بعض قبائل المنطقة الشرقية عن الزج بأبنائها في حروب جديدة، وميل قيادات هذه القبائل نحو انتهاج الوسائل غير العسكرية في تحقيق مصالحها.

في المقابل فإن وجود رغبة دولية في إعادة صياغة المشهد السياسي، والتخلص من الطبقة السياسية المسيطرة، وخلق بيئة سياسية وعسكرية قادرة على التعاون في الملفات الحيوية المتعلقة بالنفط ومكافحة الإرهاب ومنع الهجرة غير النظامية تمثل كلها قيوداً على تحقق هذا السيناريو.

ومن أهم فرص تحقق هذا السيناريو إتاحة المجال نحو استمرار وتفاقم الانقسامات داخل معسكر الوفاق، ولكن بدرجة أقل حدة من التي قد تتحقق في السيناريو السابق في خروج السراج من المشهد وإعادة هيكلة التوازنات داخل المعسكر؛ مع تأمين الحد الأدنى من المكاسب المتحققة بالفعل؛ وتجنب التكلفة السياسية والمالية الناجمة عن تجدد المواجهات المسلحة.

ويمكن القول بأن هذا السيناريو وارد الحدوث على المدى القصير، لاسيما مع العقبات المتوقعة عند انعقاد لجنة 5+5 المعنية بالقضايا ذات الطبيعة العسكرية والأمنية، وهو ما قد يؤدي بدوره إلى تعطيل تنفيذ ما تم التوافق بشأنه بين مجلسيّ النواب والدولة في بوزنيقة المغربية، حول اختيار شاغلي المناصب السيادية، وخطوات تشكيل حكومة موحدة، وآليات إنهاء المرحلة الانتقالية. كما يعد هذا السيناريو الأقل كلفة والأكثر ترجيحاً، مقارنة بالسيناريو السابق، في حالة فشل المسار التفاوضي الحالي في اجتراح تسوية جديدة. وفي حالة حدوث ذلك، فليس من المستبعد أن يتطور هذا السيناريو على المدى المتوسط إلى سيناريو التصعيد العسكري.

4. سيناريو البقاء والتصعيد العسكري

فحوى هذا السيناريو هو عدم إقدام السراج على مغادرة السلطة؛ مع العودة مجدداً للمواجهات العسكرية بين معسكري شرق البلاد وغربها، والأطراف الخارجية الداعمة لهما.

ويتوقف تحقُّق السيناريو على فشل المفاوضات الراهنة، على ألا يرتبط ذلك بالضرورة بعجز الوفود المشاركة في المباحثات عن التوصل إلى اتفاق حول القضايا الخلافية، ولكن على الأغلب سيرتبط ذلك بقطع الطريق على استمرار المسار التفاوضي، من خلال الدفع نحو عودة المواجهات المسلحة مرة أخرى. ومن الوارد أن تأتي المبادرة بحدوث التصعيد من قبل أي من الطرفين؛ فبالنسبة لمعسكر الوفاق، فإن اتساع رقعة المواجهات المسلحة الناجمة عن الخلافات الداخلية قد تدفع بعض الأطراف داخل هذا المعسكر، أو داعميهم الخارجيين، نحو إطلاق مغامرات عسكرية، على غرار السيطرة على سِرت، وذلك بغرض إعادة التركيز على التناقضات مع معسكر شرق البلاد، وتجميد التناحرات داخل هذا المعسكر، والعمل على خلق شرعية عسكرية جديدة لأحد الأطراف الطامحة لخلافة السراج.

في المقابل ثمة دوافع أقوى لدى معسكر شرق البلاد، وتحديداً لدى المشير حفتر مدعوماً من روسيا، للدفع نحو هذا السيناريو، وذلك على خلفية عدة اعتبارات؛ الأول، ما يمثله الدعم الأمريكي المكثف لعملية التسوية من رغبة في قطع الطريق على تنامي النفوذ الروسي في ليبيا، ومن ثم وجود مصلحة لدى موسكو من وراء إفشال المسار الحالي؛ والثاني، رغبة حفتر في الحفاظ على مكانته المركزية في تمثيل مصالح شرق البلاد، وهو ما لا يتحقق بشكل كامل في ضوء التطورات الراهنة؛ والثالث، رغبة حفتر في استغلال حالة التشرذم والاقتتال بين أطراف معسكر غرب ليبيا في استعادة المناطق التي فقدها على خلفية الاضطرار لسحب قواته من غرب البلاد منذ مايو الماضي.

تأتي القيود الرئيسة التي تحول دون تحقق هذا السيناريو من عدة جوانب؛ الأول، غياب المصلحة الرئيسة لدى مليشيات غرب ليبيا في الذهاب نحو إشعال الحرب حول سِرت، إلا في حالة البدء الفعلي في تنفيذ قرار نقل مقر الحكومة من طرابلس إلى سِرت، وخلاف ذلك تعد المكاسب الرئيسة لهذه المليشيات مرتبطة باستمرار أو تعظيم السيطرة على مناطق العاصمة وما حولها؛ والثاني، قيام تركيا بسحب العديد من المقاتلين الأجانب من ليبيا باتجاه أذربيجان، واستمرار القتال على جبهة ناغورني قره باغ، مع اتخاذ أنقرة عدة إجراءات تهدف إلى التهدئة في نزاعات شرق المتوسط بشكل عام. والأمر الثالث، تبلور توجه واضح لدى القاهرة، وبالتوافق مع واشنطن، لرفض خيارات التصعيد العسكري في ليبيا، لاسيما مع وجود مصلحة مشتركة تتمثل في رغبة البلدين في منع تنامي النفوذين العسكريين الروسي والتركي في ليبيا. والقيد الرابع، تنامي مؤشرات التوتر بين حفتر وبين بعض القيادات القبلية والسياسية في المنطقة الشرقية، وصعوبة قيام قبائل برقة بتكرار الرهان على الحسم العسكري للصراع على العاصمة، نظراً للتكلفة البشرية والسياسية المرتبطة بتلك المعارك، وما أظهرته تجربة عملية طوفان الكرامة من صعوبة الحسم العسكري لهذا الصراع، لاسيما في ضوء التوازنات الدولية المعقدة التي تحول دون ذلك.

ويظل هذا السيناريو غير مُستبعد الحدوث، حيث تفيد بيانات متكررة صادرة عن غرفة عمليات سرت-الجفرة، التابعة لحكومة الوفاق، خلال الأسبوع الأول من أكتوبر الجاري، إلى قيام قوات حفتر والقوات التابعة لموسكو باستمرار التحشيدات العسكرية وإيفاد المقاتلين الأجانب في قواعد القرضابية والجفرة وبراك الشاطئ، والتقدم نحو منطقة الشويرف على حدود المنطقة الغربية.

غير أنه من الأرجح ألا يستمر هذا السيناريو في التطور بالشكل الذي يجعله المسار الوحيد الذي يفرض نفسه؛ حيث من المتوقع أن يتم تنفيذه بشكل جزئي لأغراض تفاوضية، أو على الأقل سيخضع الأطراف التي تدفع باتجاه هذا السيناريو لضغوط عدة، بما يؤدي إلى كبح حدوث التصعيد.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

  • تأتي استقالة فايز السراج بالتزامن مع استقالة الحكومة المؤقتة، وعلى خلفية حدوث تقدم في مباحثات التسوية الهادفة لإنهاء الانقسام خلال ما تبقى من الفترة الانتقالية، لتظل مسألة مغادرة السلطة مرهونة بشكل أساسي بتنفيذ ما سيتم التوافق عليه، وكنتيجة طبيعية لتشكيل حكومة موحدة ومجلس رئاسي جديد. ويأتي هذا القرار أيضاً على خلفية تزايد الضغوط الواقعة عليه بفعل الانقسامات والتناحرات المستمرة داخل معسكر غرب ليبيا، والتي يصعب عليه احتواؤها في ضوء التوازنات المعقدة بين أطراف هذا الصراع من مليشيات ومدن وتيارات سياسية.
  •  تتمثل السيناريوهات المحتملة في أربعة مسارات رئيسة؛ الأول، مغادرة السلطة لصالح تشكيل حكومة موحدة؛ والثاني، مغادرة السلطة على وقع الضغوط داخل معسكر غرب ليبيا، لكن مع استمرار الانقسام القائم؛ ويتمثل الثالث يتمثل في البقاء في السلطة على خلفية استمرار الانقسام وفشل المفاوضات ولكن مع استمرار الوضع الراهن من وقف إطلاق للنار؛ والرابع، البقاء مع اندلاع المواجهات المسلحة مجدداً.

هامش

[1]  لا يزال الحديث عن أسماء وترشيحات يدور في إطار التكهنات، من دون وجود تفاوض فعلي حول الأسماء المرشحة، وذلك في ضوء عدم البدء في التفاوض حول الأسماء المرشحة. وهنا تجدر الإشارة إلى إصرار البعثة الأممية على الفصل بين مرحلة التفاوض على المعايير وآليات اختيار شاغلي المناصب، وهي المرحلة التي تم الانتهاء منها وتنتظر تصديق مجلسي النواب والدولة عليها بشكل نهائي، وبين مرحلة التفاوض حول الأسماء المرشحة. ومن ناحية أخرى ثمة تسريبات بشأن وجود توجه لدى الأطراف الدولية الداعمة للمفاوضات، لإعطاء الأولوية لوجوه جديدة من قيادات الصف الثاني، والتشديد على عدم قبول استمرار القيادات الحالية في في المشهد، بوصفهم سبباً رئيساً للتأزيم القائم منذ سنوات.

 

سيناريوهات

The Announcement of Fayez al-Sarraj Resignation: Likely Scenarios in Libya

EPC | 19 Oct 2020

In mid-September 2020, Fayez al-Sarraj, Chair of the Presidential Council and Prime Minister of the Government of National Accord (GNA) in Tripoli, announced his intention to resign from his post before the end of October at the latest, in the hope that the Dialogue Committee would, by then, have appointed a new prime minister and Presidential Council. This came a few days after the interim government, based in the eastern city of Al-Bayda, also tendered its resignation to the president of the House of Representatives, Aguila Saleh Issa. The timing of these two events, and the continuation of each government’s activities within the scope of its temporary control, is a sign of progress in the current discussions on both the political and military tracks. It also provides a space in which to build common ground with a view to launching a new transitional period, during which existing divisions could be overcome and preparations could be made for holding presidential and parliamentary elections, in accordance with agreed constitutional provisions.

Although his resignation appears conditional on the success of the current negotiations, in his resignation speech al-Sarraj suggested that the abnormal circumstances in which his government was operating and the pressures to which it was subject on a daily basis may have been behind his decision to resign, given the internal conflicts within the pro-GNA camp. As if in confirmation, during Al-Sarraj’s visit to Ankara on October 4, Turkey’s government spokesperson İbrahim Kalın said that al-Sarraj’s decision to resign was the result of disagreements on certain issues with other parties in Libya and that Turkey’s relationship with the country was not tied to specific figures. Given Ankara’s insistence that it had no prior knowledge of the planned resignation, and Erdoğan apparent “regret” at the decision, it appears that al-Sarraj’s resignation was indeed, at least in part, the result of internal divisions between the various local parties involved in the GNA, which may be a source of concern for its international backers.

This paper will examine the possible reasons behind al-Sarraj’s decision to resign, the likelihood that he will leave his post, and the possible scenarios.

Reasons for al-Sarraj’s resignation

Al-Sarraj’s decision was motivated by various factors, including the progress of the settlement process, developments in the relationships between the various parties involved in western Libya’s GNA, and increasing pressure as a result of popular protests.

  • With regard to the settlement process, the intense support and almost direct oversight exercised by the USA has been a deciding factor in increasing the likelihood of achieving fundamental progress and overturning the status quo, which includes, among other things, al-Sarraj’s position at the head of the internationally recognized government. Al-Sarraj’s decision to leave office can therefore be seen as product of various factors: first, the US pressure aimed at pushing al-Sarraj’s towards such a decision in order to lay the ground work for political change; second, al-Sarraj’s own desire to avoid being held liable for the failure of negotiations, which would lead to the continuation of existing east–west divisions; and third, the steady progress that has been made in the talks held in the Moroccan city of Bouznika. Through these talks, consensus has been achieved on a number of controversial issues, in particular mechanisms for deciding appointments to sovereign positions in a manner that puts an end to existing divisions within such institutions; during the second round of negotiations held in early October, the negotiating parties announced that full consensus had been reached on this point.
  • Developments within the GNA have also made it harder for al-Sarraj to remain in power. While the security situation in the capital is no longer hostage to the control of local militias, despite their rivalries and conflicts these militias were able to provide a relatively stable security environment in which government institutions could operate. As the conflict over Tripoli has changed, so has the security situation, with militias from the entire Western region of Libya competing over the city, especially those affiliated with the cities of Misrata, Al-Zintan, and Al-Zawiyah. Furthermore, Turkish intervention in Libya has upset the balance of power not only among the cities and militias affiliated with the GNA, but also among its political leaders. Rival figures have gained influence, presenting themselves as alternatives to al-Sarraj, in particular Interior Minister Fathi Bashagha, whom Ankara sees as one of the most reliable leaders within the GNA. Deputy Prime Minister Ahmed Maiteeq has also attempted to take advantage of the disagreements between domestic and international parties to present himself as an alternative to al-Sarraj, especially for the position of Chair of the Presidential Council.

These developments within the GNA have made it difficult to control the armed militias operating in the capital, which have been involved in a growing number of clashes in recent weeks. Al-Sarraj has also been increasingly at odds with the other leaders of the Presidential Council and the GNA with regard to decision-making. Nonetheless, the hostility of the current environment towards al-Sarraj remaining in power could in fact drive some allies to increase their support for him, given the difficulty of reaching consensus on a new prime minister, especially among parties – such as Turkey – that are less optimistic about the success of the current negotiations. Despite being closer to other GNA leaders such as Bashagha, Ankara has shown little enthusiasm for al-Sarraj’s resignation. While this may be a deliberate attempt to mislead opponents regarding its true intentions, it could yet be true; al-Sarraj is the least costly option for Ankara at this stage, given its reliance on the failure of the negotiations and on the difficulty of the GNA overcoming its intense internal rivalries.

  • The last possible factor is the frequent popular protests that have occurred in Libya’s western cities in response to deteriorating living standards and government services, a trend that is expected to continue in the short term as a result of both the economic difficulties caused by the halt in oil exports and the extensive internal divisions within the government. Service-providing institutions have therefore become one of the tools of mutual pressure, not only between the main parties to the internal conflicts, but also at the local level. These protests are therefore likely to continue.

Possible scenarios

1. Al-Sarraj resigns and a new unified government is formed

Al-Sarraj could fulfil his promise and leave power by or around his declared deadline of the end of October, provided that the conflicting parties within the GNA reach an agreement on a new unified government and Presidential Council.

This will depend on a number of conditions, including the USA’s success in managing the current situation and fostering a positive negotiating environment, while at the same time curbing the influence of international parties that are attempting to obstruct international efforts in that regard by complicating the issues under discussion or promoting armed conflict. This scenario is also dependent on whether the 5+5 Joint Military Commission is able to reach a rapid consensus on the proposal to make Sirte the seat of the unified government. The return of popular protests in cities in eastern and western Libya may help achieve the necessary consensus in both the military and political tracks; in the face of mounting internal pressure, the leaders from both camps will likely be more willing to show flexibility.

The obstacles to this scenario are the same as those usually experienced during negotiations. First, some domestic parties participating in the negotiations may present an obstruction, especially as the United Nations Support Mission in Libya (UNSMIL) is keen to uphold the rule that the negotiations should discuss only the criteria and mechanisms for selecting candidates for positions of office, and must not discuss the actual nominations themselves.[1] Second, the forces of western Libya have refused to grant Khalifa Haftar a military position, following indications in early October that Haftar’s forces and members of the Russian Wagner Group were increasing their presence in the Al-Shuwatrif area on the edge of the western region and at Al-Jufrah and Brak al-Shati military bases in central Libya. This threatens to lead to new military confrontations that could spell the end of the entire negotiating process.

This scenario appears likely, especially as negotiations are progressing well and steady progress is being made on issues that have long been sources of disagreement. The USA is a strong supporter of the scenario, as confirmed by US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo who, during his visit to Rome in late September, stated that his country would use all the tools in its diplomatic arsenal to ensure success in the negotiations. This outcome will nonetheless remain dependent on whether the 5+5 committee can achieve an agreement, whether progress can be made on several military and security issues, and whether the ceasefire can be maintained.

2. Al-Sarraj resigns, but divisions persist

Al-Sarraj may resign before a unified government is formed or the east–west divisions overcome. In this case, al-Sarraj may resign only from his role as prime minister, while continuing to chair the Presidential Council. Whether al-Sarraj resigns from one or both his current positions, his resignation will represent an attempt to renew the legitimacy of the ruling authorities in Tripoli and to ensure that changes in the balance of power between domestic and foreign pro-GNA parties are represented in the government.

For this to happen, consensus must be reached on both the military and political tracks; this will be difficult to achieve, however, especially given the objective difficulties of relocating the government headquarters to Sirte and the necessary – yet contentious – joint security arrangements that will be required. The likelihood of the scenario may increase if another wave of protests sweeps western Libya, whether in response to continuing deterioration in living conditions and government services or because of the increasing divisions between the political and security components of the GNA, which are seeking further escalation in the protests as a means of pushing for government change.

The lack of legitimacy required to justify restructuring the Presidential Council, given the continued divisions and numerous withdrawals that have occurred over the years, may pose an obstacle to this scenario, however, and any changes in the GNA leadership may do little to end the existing divisions and occasional armed clashes between the main centers of power in western Libya. It will also be difficult for Washington to encourage western Libya’s various powers to renew the current leadership’s legitimacy if the existing political and security conditions continue.

This scenario appears unlikely, given the difficulty of achieving satisfactory consensus among the western camp. This option would also require the international community to accept the continuation of divisions in Libya and persistence of poor security conditions in the western region in general and in Tripoli in particular. Nonetheless, in the event that the situation in the western camp deteriorates further and al-Sarraj is unable to contain the crisis, he may be forced to stand down as prime minister to make room for a replacement that is supported by Washington and Ankara. The GNA has seen several changes to its ministerial posts in recent years; the same could happen to the post of prime minister, given the repeated calls for its separation from the role of Chair of the Presidential Council.

3. Al-Sarraj does not step down and the ceasefire remains in place

The status quo in place since the introduction of the ceasefire could continue, with no substantive progress having been made towards achieving a peace settlement or ending the country’s divisions.

This may occur if the parties to the conflict refuse to make the concessions required to allow for a temporary settlement, either because the political and military leaders are keen to preserve their own positions of power and are resistant to international attempts to exclude them, or because of more serious disagreements on how to ensure that the interests of the main social groups, including the country’s various cities, tribes, and militias, are represented. The desire of the USA and Egypt to avoid further armed conflict will also be influential. Likewise, some tribes in the eastern regions may be reluctant to send their sons off to fight new wars, and their leaders may be more likely to pursue non-military methods of protecting the interests.

Nonetheless, there is also a significant international desire to reformulate Libya’s political scene, remove the dominant political class, and foster a political and military environment capable of ensuring cooperation on vital issues related to oil production, counterterrorism, and irregular migration.

This scenario will become significantly more likely if divisions within the GNA continue to widen (albeit to a lesser degree than under the previous scenario), as this would allow the parties involved to secure the minimal gains already made and avoid paying the political and financial cost of renewed armed conflict.

This scenario is likely to occur in the short term, especially given the expected challenges related to military and security issues that the 5+5 committee will have to overcome. This could lead to the implementation of arrangements agreed upon between the House of Representatives and the State in Bouznika relating to the selection of sovereign officeholders, the formation of a unified government, and the mechanisms for ending the transitional period. If the current negotiations fail to reach a settlement, this scenario would also be less costly and, therefore, more likely than the previous scenario. In that event, military tensions could escalate in the medium term.

4. Al-Sarraj does not resign, and military tensions escalate

Al-Sarraj could remain in power, while eastern and western forces clash militarily once more, supported by international backers.

This could occur if agreement cannot be reached on how to proceed with the negotiations – rather than the failure to reach consensus on contentious issues – with one or both sides pushing for a return to armed confrontation. Among the GNA, a rise in armed clashes resulting from internal conflicts could push domestic groups or their international backers to launch new military operations, similar to the operation to seize control of Sirte conducted in June, with the aim of turning attention back to disagreements with the eastern camp and putting a temporary halt to internal conflicts. This could also be used as a means of achieving new military legitimacy for al-Sarraj’s aspiring successors.

The eastern camp, in particular Russian-backed Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar, also has its own strong motivations for pushing for a return to armed conflict. As the USA is providing intense support for the negotiations process is a means of preventing the growth of Russian influence in Libya, it is in Moscow’s interest to derail the process. Haftar is also keen to preserve his position as the main representative of eastern interests, which he is struggling to do in light of current developments. He is also keen to take advantage of the fragmentation within the GNA to regain control over western areas lost when his forces were forced to withdraw back in May.

There are several main obstacles to this scenario, however. Western Libya’s militias have no real interest in going to war over Sirte, unless the decision to move the government headquarters to the city is actually implemented: they are therefore currently more focused on maintaining and expanding their control over areas of Tripoli and its environs. In addition, Turkey has withdrawn many of its fighters from Libya for redeployment in the continued conflict over Azerbaijan’s Nagorno-Karabakh region. In general, Turkey is currently more concerned with various measures to calm conflicts in the eastern Mediterranean. Furthermore, it has become clear that both Egypt and the USA have come to an agreement to reject further military escalation in Libya, especially as both countries are keen to prevent Russia and Turkey from increasing their military influence. Lastly, there are indications that tensions are growing between Haftar and certain tribal and political leaders in eastern Libya. Tribes from the eastern region of Cyrenaica (Barca in Arabic) are also reluctant to be drawn again into military conflict over Tripoli, given the high human and political costs and the lessons learned from the Libyan National Army’s Operation Flood of Dignity, especially given the complex balance between the international powers keen to prevent a return to conflict.

This scenario is not unlikely, given that, in early October, the GNA’s Sirte–Al-Jufrah Operations Room issued repeated statements indicating that Haftar’s forces and Russian-affiliated forces were continuing to build their military presence and dispatch foreign fighters to military bases in Al-Qardabiyah, Al-Jufrah, and Brak al-Shati and towards the Al-Shuwayrif area on the border of the western region.

While conflict is unlikely to become the only option, it will probably be used as leverage during negotiations, and the parties pushing for conflict are likely to be pressured into backing down.

Conclusion

  • Fayez al-Sarraj’s resignation coincided with that of the interim government, at a time when progress is being made in the settlement talks aimed at ending the divisions seen in the country before the end of the transitional period. The question of whether al-Sarraj will actually leave power will depend on whether the agreed measures are implemented and whether a unified government and a new Presidential Council can be formed. Al-Sarraj is also facing increasing pressure as a result of the ongoing divisions and rivalries within the western camp, which he has struggled to contain given the complex balances between the various cities, militias, and political groups involved in the conflict.
  • There are four possible scenarios: al-Sarraj leaves power and a unified government is formed; al-Sarraj leaves power owing to internal pressures from within the western camp, but the east–west division remains; al-Sarraj remains in power, divisions continue, and the negotiations fail, but the status quo established under the ceasefire persists; and al-Sarraj remains in power and armed conflicts break out once more.

Endnotes

[1] While speculations have been discussed, negotiations on the nominations have not yet begun. UNSMIL is continuing to insist on keeping a clear separation between the negotiations on the criteria and mechanisms for selecting new appointments – the proposals for which are currently awaiting final approval by the House of Representatives – and the negotiations on the nominations themselves. Sources indicate that the international parties supporting the negotiations would like to see new faces from among the GNA’s second row leaders to replace those currently in power, as they have been the main cause of tension in recent years.

 

Latest Scenarios