تجدُّد الصراع الأذربيجاني-الأرمني حول ناغورني قره باغ: الأبعاد الجيوسياسية والسيناريوهات المحتملة

أحمد دياب | 04 أكتوبر 2020

في 27 سبتمبر 2020، وبعد فترة وقف إطلاق نار غير حاسم استمرت نحو ثلاثة عقود، اندلعت مواجهات عسكرية بين أرمينيا وأذربيجان عبر وابلٍ من القصف المدفعي تخللها نشر للدروع الثقيلة على طول خط التماس الفاصل بين الدولتين حول إقليم ناغورني قره باغ المتنازع عليه والمناطق المجاورة لها، وتحوَّلت سريعاً إلى صراع عسكري محتدم بين الدولتين، وهو ما عزز المخاوف من حصول تداعيات محتملة مُزعزعة للاستقرار في منطقة القوقاز.

الأبعاد والمحركات الداخلية لتجدُّد الصراع

1. الأزمة السياسية في أذربيجان

أدى الانكماش الاقتصادي في أذربيجان بسبب تراجع أسعار النفط والغاز عالمياً، والإحباط من الحكم الاستبدادي للرئيس إلهام علييف إلى تغذية السخط الشعبي. وقد أسفرت الانتخابات البرلمانية المبكرة في باكو هذا العام عن صعود نخبة جديدة أصغر سناً وإزاحة "الحرس القديم" المحنك والمخضرم سياسياً، ويُعتقَد أنها تعكس تحولًا إلى استراتيجية جديدة تعتمد على قوة السلاح أكثر من الاعتماد على الحوار الدبلوماسي. وقد تصاعدت الدعوات الشعبية المطالبة بشن الحرب ضد أرمينيا، واقتحم محتجون مبنى البرلمان في باكو مطالبين بالقتال ضد يريفان. وباعتبارها الطرف الخاسر في الحرب الأولى، وجهت باكو دعوات علنية لعودة ناغورني قره باغ لحشد الدعم القومي.

2. الأزمة الاقتصادية في أرمينيا

حسب بعض المراقبين، تهدف القيادة الأرمينية الحالية إلى تصعيد الموقف على خلفية المشاكل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي تزداد تدهوراً بسبب انتشار وباء فيروس كورونا المستجد في أرمينيا، وأدائها غير الكفء، وصرف الانتباه عن المشاكل الداخلية في البلاد. وتشعر حكومة رئيس الوزراء نيكول باشينيان - التي وصلت إلى السلطة وسط انتفاضة شعبية في عام 2018 عارضتها روسيا إلى حد كبير - بالقلق بشأن ما تعتبره دعم موسكو المتناقض بشكل متزايد للحفاظ على الوضع الراهن. وعلى الرغم من بعض المؤشرات الأولية التي افترضت أنه سيكون أكثر انفتاحاً على حلٍّ تفاوضي، فقد اتخذ باشينيان موقفاً أكثر تشدداً، بما في ذلك الدعوة إلى دمج إقليم ناغورني قره باغ رسمياً في أرمينيا.

الأبعاد والمحركات الإقليمية

1. فشل مجموعة "مينسك" في تسوية الصراع

تشكلت مجموعة "مينسك"، التابعة لمنظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا، والمكونة من روسيا وفرنسا والولايات المتحدة، في عام 1994، بهدف التوصل إلى وقف شامل لإطلاق النار بين الأطراف لتحقيق تسوية دائمة بين الدولتين، لكن حتى وقف إطلاق النار الجزئي الذي توسطت فيه مجموعة "مينسك" جرى خرقه من قبل الجانبين على مدى العقود الثلاثة الماضية. ويبدو أن جمود أعمال المجموعة وعدم بحث حلٍ دائمٍ وشامل للأزمة، كانا من ضمن الأسباب المباشرة لاندلاع القتال المتكرر بين الطرفين، حيث تتهم الحكومة الأذربيجانية مجموعة مينسك بدعم أرمينيا "المسيحية"، وتعتقد باكو أن يريفان لديها جماعات ضغط قوية في الولايات المتحدة وروسيا وفرنسا، وأنه كان لهذه الجماعات تأثيرها الخاص في هذا الإطار.

2. المنافسة الإقليمية بين روسيا وإيران وتركيا

 تاريخياً، كانت منطقة جنوب القوقاز منطقة صراع بين القوى الكبرى. وعلى مر القرون، خاضت الإمبراطوريات الفارسية والعثمانية والروسية حروباً بعضها ضد بعض من أجل غزو المنطقة والسيطرة عليها.

وحالياً، أدى انخراط تركيا المباشر في ناغورني قره باغ إلى زيادة المخاطر ليس فقط في جنوب القوقاز، ولكن في جميع أنحاء المناطق التي توجد فيها خلافات بين أنقرة وموسكو. وبالفعل، يدعم البلدان الأطراف المتصارعة في الصراعين الليبي والسوري، ولديهما طموحات غير متوافقة في البلقان وأوكرانيا. ومن المحتمل أن ترى أنقرة تورطها في ناغورني قره باغ جزئياً كورقة مساومة ليس فقط في القوقاز، ولكن في تنافسها الأوسع مع موسكو. ويشير تورُّط مرتزقة تركمان وأرمن اُستقدِموا من سوريا إلى أن نزاع ناغورني قره باغ قد لا يظل محصوراً هذه المرة في جنوب القوقاز.

وعلى الرغم من أن إيران تتمتع بعلاقات حسن الجوار مع كلٍّ من أرمينيا وأذربيجان، فقد اتهمتها أذربيجان بالوقوف إلى جانب أرمينيا في الماضي، ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى موقف باكو المؤيد للناتو وعلاقاتها الحميمة مع إسرائيل. وتشعر كلٌّ من روسيا وإيران بالقلق من أن تصبح أذربيجان موقعاً متقدماً لحلف الناتو في بحر قزوين مستقبلاً، لا سيما إذا تمكَّنت من هزيمة جارتها أرمينيا والسيطرة على الأراضي الخاضعة لها. وكانت موسكو قد أجرت في يوليو 2020 مناورة عسكرية مكثفة في منطقتي بحر قزوين والبحر الأسود بمشاركة البحرية الصينية والإيرانية، مما أرسل إشارة واضحة للغرب بأنها لا تزال تعتبر القوقاز مجال نفوذها الطبيعي.

3. دور مشاريع النقل وخطوط أنابيب الطاقة في تفجير الصراع

أثارت حقيقة أن أرمينيا هاجمت أذربيجان في مدينة توفوز في 12 يوليو 2020، بعيداً عن منطقة الصراع الرئيسة في منطقة ناغورني قره باغ تساؤلات حول نوايا أرمينيا، حيث تمر خطوط أنابيب الطاقة الاستراتيجية الأذربيجانية الثلاثة "باكو - سوبسا" و"باكو - تبليسي - جيهان" و"باكو - تبيليسي – أرضروم" إلى أوروبا عبر تركيا وجورجيا. وتقع توفوز أيضاً ضمن خط سكة حديد "باكو - تبيليسي - كارس" الجديد الذي يربط بين جورجيا وأذربيجان المواليتين للغرب وأوروبا عبر تركيا.

إن توقيت الصراع الجديد، الذي يتزامن مع التشغيل الوشيك لأنابيب الطاقة التي طال انتظارها، والتي تمتد من أذربيجان الغنية بالغاز إلى أوروبا عبر جورجيا، يمنحه بُعداً دولياً ناتجاً عن تداعيات جيو-اقتصادية وجيوسياسية. وتهدف خطوط الأنابيب، التي تتجاوز روسيا وإيران، إلى تقليل اعتماد أوروبا في مجال الطاقة على موسكو في ضوء العقوبات الأمريكية على روسيا بسبب خط أنابيب الغاز نورد ستريم 2 إلى ألمانيا.

وتنتشر التكهنات بأن الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين، غير الراضي بالفعل عن التدخل الأمريكي والأوروبي المتصوَّر في بيلاروسيا، ردَّ بالضرب عبر أرمينيا التي يمكنها أن تقصف بسهولة البنية التحتية الحيوية لمنطقة توفوز، حيث تنتقل أكثر من 80% من الطاقة الأذربيجانية. وهناك أيضاً تصميم روسي على جعل الولايات المتحدة تدفع ثمن معارضة نورد ستريم 2.

السيناريوهات المحتملة

1. سيناريو قبرص الثانية

صرَّح رئيس وزراء أرمينيا نيكول باشينيان بأن أرمينيا تدرس إمكانية الاعتراف باستقلال ناغورني قره باغ، لكن الاعتراف باستقلال جمهورية ناغورني قره باغ ستترتب عليه عواقب عدة أهمها:

فأولاً، إذا اعترفت أرمينيا باستقلال جمهورية ناغورني قره باغ (المعلنة من جانب واحد ولا تحظى بأي اعتراف دولي)، فإنها ستغادر تلقائياً مجموعة مينسك للتسوية. وفي شكل عام، فإن صيغة المفاوضات بأكملها حول قره باغ ستنهار. فإما ينبغي إنشاء صيغة جديدة، أو الاعتراف بأنه لا بديل عن الحرب. لذلك، لم تعترف أرمينيا بقره باغ من قبل، من أجل الحفاظ على عملية التفاوض الرسمية.

وثانياً، إذا لم تكتف أرمينيا بالاعتراف بجمهورية ناغورني قره باغ، بل جعلتها أيضا جزءاً من الدولة الأرمينية، فستظهر مشكلة مع منظمة معاهدة الأمن الجماعي. ومن غير المرجح أن يعترف شركاء أرمينيا بناغورني قره باغ جزءاً من أراضي منظمة معاهدة الأمن الجماعي. ومن المحتمل أن تضطر أرمينيا إلى مغادرة المنظمة حينئذٍ.

2. سيناريو "النموذج السوري"

في 30 سبتمبر 2020، طرح وزير الخارجية التركي مولود تشاووش أوغلو فكرة تسوية نزاع قره باغ على "الطريقة السورية"، من خلال إنشاء "ممرات آمنة" وتسيير "دوريات مشتركة" في مناطق الترسيم المقترح لخطوط الفصل بين القوات. وفي المقابل، يرى عددٌ من الخبراء العسكريين أن قاعدة غيومري العسكرية الروسية في أرمينيا (والتي تضم حوالي 5 آلاف عنصر) يمكن أن تلعب دور قاعدة حميميم في سوريا، وتصبح الضامن لبدء حوار سلمي حول حل الصراع في قره باغ.

إلا أن "النموذج السوري" للتسوية، الذي تحاول تركيا نقله من إدلب إلى قره باغ، أظهر عدم قدرة أنقرة على الوفاء بالتزاماتها. ومن ناحية ثانية، ترى موسكو أن أنقرة ليس لها الحق السياسي أو الأخلاقي في مطالبة الجانب الأرميني بسحب قواته من "الأراضي المحتلة" الأذربيجانية، نظراً لأن القيادة التركية لا تُسهِّل بأي شكل من الأشكال عودة جميع الأراضي السورية، بما في ذلك شمال غرب البلاد، إلى سلطة دمشق "الشرعية"، رغم أن ذلك كان أحد الشروط الرئيسة للاتفاقات الروسية التركية التي تم التوصل إليها في مطلع مارس 2020.

3. سيناريو كوسوفو

من الناحية الافتراضية، يمكن أن تصبح ناغورني قره باغ جيباً آخر يتمتع بالحكم الذاتي على غرار ناخيتشيفان، الواقعة بين أرمينيا وشمال غرب إيران. كانت ناختشيفان جزءاً من إيران حتى معاهدة تركمانشاي في عام 1828 التي منحتها لروسيا بعد الهزيمة العسكرية لإيران. وكانت الولايات المتحدة قدمت مقترحاً في هذا الإطار، وعلى الرغم من رفضه من كلا البلدين يبدو المقترح واقعياً إلى حدٍّ كبير، ويقضي المقترح باعتراف أذربيجان باستقلال إقليم ناغورني قره باغ مقابل استعادتها لأقاليمها الست الأُخرى المحتلة خارج قره باغ، مع تنازل آذربيجان عن ممر لاشين بما يسمح بوجود اتصالٍ جغرافي بين ناغورني قره باغ وأرمينيا، وتنازُل أرمينيا عن ممرٍ يسمح باتصال إقليم ناخيتشيفان مع الأراضي الأذرية.

لكنْ من غير الواضح ما إذا كان أرمن قره باغ المحليون، الذين يتطلعون أكثر إلى نموذج كوسوفو في البلقان في تطلعاتهم الحالية للاستقلال التام عن أذربيجان، سيوافقون على إعادة فرض سيطرة باكو عليهم. وحتى الآن، لم يعترف أحد في المجتمع الدولي بما في ذلك إيران بالجهود الشبيهة بكوسوفو للأرمن في ناغورني قره باغ، مما أدى إلى نتيجة واحدة، وهي: يجب تغيير الوضع الراهن غير المستقر عاجلاً أم آجلاً، ولا يمكن أن يتحقق ذلك إلا من خلال الجهود الدولية المنسقة مثل إرسال قوة حفظ سلام مفقودة حتى الآن.

4. سيناريو "اللا حرب واللا سِلْم"

من بين أهم السيناريوهات التي تُطرَح حول مآلات هذا الصراع، استمرار وضع "اللا حرب واللا سِلْم"، أي أنه لن يكون هناك تغيير جذري للنزاع في الأجل المنظور؛

فمن ناحية أولي، أصبحت ناغورني قره باغ قضية وطنية مهمة في كلا البلدين، وبالتالي فإن فشل الحكومات في هذا الصراع يمكن أن يؤدي إلى سقوطها.

ومن ناحية ثانية، يبدو أن لا أرمينيا ولا أذربيجان لديهما الإرادة لمواصلة حرب طويلة الأمد، حيث يواجه البلدان وضعاً اقتصادياً غير مُواتٍ بسبب معاناتهما من وباء كورونا وأزمات أخرى.

ومن ناحية ثالثة، لا يوجد ميل لدى الأطراف الإقليمية والدولية، باستثناء تركيا، لمواصلة هذا الصراع؛ فالأمريكيون منخرطون ومنشغلون في الانتخابات ومعمعة القضايا الداخلية، ولا يريدون أن يصبح هذا الصراع قضية جديدة في الانتخابات، كما يُحجِم الأوروبيون عن تصعيد الصراع بسبب المشاكل الاقتصادية الناجمة عن وباء كورونا واحتمال تعطيل تدفق الطاقة من أذربيجان إلى أوروبا. وأخيراً، فإن موسكو لا تهتم بتوسيع أو إطالة أمد النزاع، مما قد يُجبرها على اتخاذ قرارات صعبة حول مدى التزامها بأرمينيا وتخصيص موارد إضافية لجنوب القوقاز في وقت تشارك بالفعل على جبهات أخرى متعددة.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

برغم محورية الدورين التركي والروسي في الوصول لتسوية للنزاع بين أذربيجان وأرمينيا، لكن هذا لا يعني تجاهل محورية أدوار أخري، لاسيما الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا. وفي هذا السياق، فإن الطريق الوحيد للوصول إلى تسوية في جنوب القوقاز هو عَبْر التفاوض، بما يتماشى مع قرارات الأمم المتحدة الأربعة بشأن ناغورني قره باغ واقتراح السلام لمجموعة مينسك.

وهذه القرارات تُطالِب باستعادة سيادة باكو على ناغورني قره باغ، واحترام حقوق الأرمن الذين يسكنون في الأراضي المتنازع عليها، وعودة أعداد كبيرة من اللاجئين، وإنشاء ممر بري إلى أرمينيا، وهو ما يجعل سيناريو "كوسوفو" هو الأكثر احتمالاً لمستقبل التسوية بين أذربيجان وأرمينيا على المدى المنظور.

سيناريوهات

The Resumption of Conflict between Azerbaijan and Armenia over Nagorno-Karabakh: Geopolitical Dimensions and Likely Scenarios

​Ahmed Diab | 04 Oct 2020

On 27 September 2020, after an inconclusive ceasefire period that lasted nearly three decades, military confrontations erupted between Armenia and Azerbaijan through a barrage of artillery shelling, during which heavy armour was deployed along the confrontation line separating the two countries regarding the disputed Nagorno-Karabakh region and its neighboring areas. The confrontations quickly turned into an escalating military conflict between the two countries, which reinforced fears of potential destabilising repercussions in the Caucasus.

Internal dimensions and drivers of the renewed conflict

1. The political crisis in Azerbaijan

The economic downturn in Azerbaijan due to declining global oil and gas prices and frustration with the authoritarian rule of President Ilham Aliyev have fuelled popular discontent. The early parliamentary elections in Baku in 2020 resulted in the rise of a new, younger elite and the removal of the politically seasoned and veteran "old guard". The elections are believed to reflect a shift to a new strategy that relies more on the power of arms than on diplomatic dialogue. Popular calls for waging war against Armenia increased, and protesters stormed the Parliament building in Baku, demanding to fight against Yerevan. As the losing party in the first war, Baku made public calls for the return of Nagorno-Karabakh to mobilise national support.

2. The economic crisis in Armenia

According to some observers, the current Armenian leadership aims at escalating the situation against the background of the socio-economic problems that are getting worse due to the spread of the novel coronavirus epidemic in Armenia and its inefficient performance, and at diverting attention from the country’s internal problems. Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan's government – which came to power amid a popular uprising in 2018 that was largely opposed by Russia – is concerned about what it views as Moscow's increasingly ambivalent support to maintain the status quo. Despite some initial indications assuming that he would be more open to a negotiated solution, Pashinyan took a more hard-line stance, including calling for the formal integration of the Nagorno-Karabakh region into Armenia.

Regional dimensions and drivers

1. Failure of the Minsk Group to settle the conflict

The Minsk Group, affiliated with the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) and comprising Russia, France and the US, was formed in 1994 with the aim of reaching a comprehensive ceasefire between the parties to achieve a permanent settlement between the two countries. However, even the partial ceasefire brokered by the Minsk Group has been broken by both sides over the past three decades. The stalemate of the Group’s work and the failure to discuss a permanent and comprehensive solution to the crisis seem to have been among the direct causes of the outbreak of repeated fighting between the two sides where the Azerbaijani government accuses the Minsk Group of supporting "Christian" Armenia. Baku believes that Yerevan has strong lobbying groups in the US, Russia and France, and that those groups had their own influence in this regard.

2. Regional competition between Russia, Iran and Turkey

Historically, the South Caucasus has been an area of ​​conflict between major powers. Over the centuries, the Persian, Ottoman and Russian empires fought against each other in wars to conquer and dominate the region.

Currently, Turkey's direct involvement in Nagorno-Karabakh has increased the stakes not only in the South Caucasus, but throughout the regions where there are differences between Ankara and Moscow. Indeed, the two countries support the conflicting parties in the Libyan and Syrian conflicts, and have incompatible ambitions in the Balkans and Ukraine. Ankara is likely to view its involvement in Nagorno-Karabakh in part as a bargaining card not only in the Caucasus, but in its broader rivalry with Moscow. The involvement of Turkmen and Armenian mercenaries brought over from Syria indicates that the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict may not remain confined this time to the southern Caucasus.

While Iran enjoys good neighbourly relations with both Armenia and Azerbaijan, the latter has accused it of siding with Armenia in the past. This is partly due to Baku's pro-NATO stance and its intimate relations with Israel. Both Russia and Iran are concerned that Azerbaijan may become an outpost of NATO in the Caspian Sea in the future, especially if it manages to defeat its neighbour Armenia and control the territories under Armenian control. In July 2020, Moscow conducted a large-scale military exercise in the Caspian and Black Sea regions with the participation of the Chinese and Iranian navies, sending a clear signal to the West that Moscow continues to consider the Caucasus as its natural sphere of influence.

3. The role of transport projects and energy pipelines in triggering the conflict

The fact that Armenia attacked Azerbaijan in the city of Tovuz on 12 July 2020, far from the main conflict zone in the Nagorno-Karabakh region, raised questions about Armenia's intentions, considering that Tovuz is located in the area where the three strategic Azerbaijani energy pipelines (Baku-Supsa, Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan, and Baku-Tbilisi-Erzurum) pass to Europe via Turkey and Georgia. Tovuz is also located within the new Baku-Tbilisi-Kars railway line, which connects pro-Western Georgia and Azerbaijan with Europe via Turkey.

The timing of the new conflict, which coincides with the imminent operation of the long-awaited energy pipelines stretching from gas-rich Azerbaijan to Europe via Georgia, gives it an international dimension that stems from geoeconomic and geopolitical implications. Bypassing Russia and Iran, the pipelines aim at reducing Europe's energy dependence on Moscow in light of US sanctions on Russia over the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline to Germany.

Speculation is rife that Russian President Vladimir Putin, already dissatisfied with the perceived US and European intervention in Belarus, hit back through Armenia, which could easily bomb vital infrastructure in the Tovuz region, where more than 80 percent of Azerbaijani energy is transferred. There is also a Russian determination to have the US pay the price for opposing Nord Stream 2.

Likely scenarios

1. Second Cyprus scenario

The Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan stated that Armenia is studying the possibility of recognising the independence of Nagorno-Karabakh. However, recognition of the independence of the Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh would have several consequences, the most important of which are the following:

First, if Armenia recognises the independence of the Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh (which is unilaterally declared and has not received any international recognition), it would automatically leave the Minsk Group for settlement. In general, the entire formula for negotiations over Karabakh would collapse. Either a new formula would have to be established, or war would have to be recognized as the only alternative. Therefore, Armenia did not recognise Karabakh before in order to maintain the formal negotiation process.

Second, if Armenia not only recognises the Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh, but also makes it part of the Armenian state, a problem would arise with the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO). Armenia's partners are unlikely to recognise Nagorno-Karabakh as part of the CSTO territories. Armenia may then have to leave the Organization.

2. The "Syrian model" scenario

On 30 September 2020, the Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu put forward the idea of ​​settling the Karabakh conflict the "Syrian way", i.e. by establishing "safe corridors" and conducting "joint patrols" in the areas of the proposed lines of demarcation separating the forces. On the other hand, a number of military experts believe that the Russian Gyumri military base in Armenia (which houses nearly 5,000 personnel) can play the role of the Hmeimim Base in Syria, becoming the guarantor for initiating a peaceful dialogue on resolving the conflict in Karabakh.

However, the "Syrian model" of the settlement, which Turkey is trying to transfer from Idlib to Karabakh, demonstrated Ankara's inability to fulfill its obligations. On the other hand, Moscow believes that Ankara does not have the political or moral right to demand that the Armenian side withdraw its forces from the Azerbaijani "occupied territories", given that the Turkish leadership does not facilitate in any way the return of all Syrian territories, including the northwest of the country, to the "legitimate" Damascus authority, although that was one of the main conditions of the Russian-Turkish agreements that were reached in early March 2020.

3. The Kosovo Scenario

Hypothetically, Nagorno-Karabakh could become another autonomous enclave similar to Nakhchivan, which is located between Armenia and northwestern Iran. Nakhchivan was part of Iran until the Treaty of Turkmenchay in 1828, whereby it was ceded to Russia after the military defeat of Iran. The US had submitted a proposal in this context which, despite being rejected by both countries, appears to be very realistic. The proposal provides for Azerbaijan's recognition of the independence of the Nagorno-Karabakh region in exchange for Azerbaijan's restoration of its other six occupied territories outside Karabakh, with Azerbaijan ceding the Lachin Corridor which permits the establishment of a geographical connection between Nagorno-Karabakh and Armenia, and Armenia ceding a corridor that allows the Nakhchivan province to connect with the Azerbaijani territories.

However, it is unclear whether the local Armenians of Karabakh, who aspire more to the example of Kosovo in the Balkans in their current aspirations for complete independence from Azerbaijan, would agree to Baku’s control being re-imposed on them. So far, none in the international community, including Iran, has recognized the Kosovo-like efforts of the Armenians in Nagorno-Karabakh. This has led to a single result, namely: the current unstable status quo must sooner or later be changed, and this can only be achieved through coordinated international efforts, such as sending a peacekeeping force which is yet missing.

4. The "No War and No Peace" scenario

Among the most important scenarios that are put forward with regard to the outcome of this conflict is the continuation of the current "no war and no peace" situation, meaning that there would be no radical change in the conflict in the foreseeable future.

On the one hand, Nagorno-Karabakh has become an important national issue in both countries. Therefore, the failure of governments in this conflict could lead to their downfall.

On the other hand, it appears that neither Armenia nor Azerbaijan has the will to continue a long-term war, considering that the two countries face an unfavourable economic situation due to their suffering from the coronavirus epidemic and other crises.

On a third front, with the exception of Turkey, the regional and international actors do not have a tendency to continue this conflict. Americans are involved in and preoccupied with the elections and internal issues, and do not want this conflict to become a new issue in the elections. Europeans are reluctant to escalate the conflict because of the economic problems caused by the coronavirus epidemic and the possibility of disrupting energy flow from Azerbaijan to Europe. Finally, Moscow has no interest in expanding or prolonging the conflict, which could force it to make difficult decisions about the extent of its commitment to Armenia and allocate additional resources to the southern Caucasus even as it is already involved on multiple other fronts.

Conclusion

While the Turkish and Russian roles are central for reaching a settlement of the conflict between Azerbaijan and Armenia, this does not mean ignoring the centrality of other roles, especially those of the US and Europe. In this context, the only way to reach a settlement in the Southern Caucasus is through negotiation, in line with the four United Nations resolutions on Nagorno-Karabakh and the Minsk Group peace proposal.

Those decisions demand the restoration of Baku’s sovereignty over Nagorno-Karabakh, respect for the rights of Armenians who live in the disputed territories, the return of large numbers of refugees, and the establishment of a land corridor to Armenia. This renders the Kosovo scenario the most plausible for the prospective settlement between Azerbaijan and Armenia in the foreseeable future.

Latest Scenarios