مشاركة حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي في الانتخابات البرلمانية الأردنية: الدلالات والسيناريوهات المحتملة

شرين محمد | 30 سبتمبر 2020

أعلن حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي في الأردن (الذراع السياسي لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين) في 21 سبتمبر 2020، مشاركته في الانتخابات البرلمانية المقرر عقدها في 10 نوفمبر المقبل، وفقاً لبيان صادر عنه تلاه نائب الأمين العام وائل السقا. وتُحلِّل هذه الورقة دلالات مشاركة حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي في الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة، والتحديات التي يواجهها سواء من داخله أو في البيئة المحيطة به، والسيناريوهات المحتملة لتكتيكات الحزب خلال المرحلة المقبلة.

خلفية موجزة عن قانون الانتخابات الأردني

تُجرى الانتخابات البرلمانية الأردنية لعام 2020 وفقاً لنظام "القوائم النسبية المفتوحة" في الدوائر الانتخابية، بحيث يختار الناخب قائمة انتخابية ثم يختار من يشاء من المرشحين داخل تلك القائمة. ويشترط في تشكيل القائمة ألا يقل العدد فيها عن ثلاثة مترشحين، ولا يسمح بالترشح الفردي في الانتخابات، ويحق للنساء التنافس على 15 مقعد، بواقع مقعد واحد لكل محافظة وفقاً لما يعرف بالكوتا النسائية، أو التمييز الإيجابي. ومن ثمَّ، يتألف مجلس النواب من 130 مقعداً (115 للدوائر الانتخابية، و15 مقعداً للكوتا النسائية). وتستمر فعاليته لمدة أربع سنوات[1].

ويبلغ عدد الدوائر الانتخابية في المحافظات الأردنية ما يلي: العاصمة (خمس دوائر)، أربد (أربع دوائر)، البلقاء (دائرة واحدة)، الكرك (دائرة واحدة)، معان (دائرة واحدة)، الزرقاء (دائرتان)، المفرق (دائرة واحدة)، الطفيلة (دائرة واحدة)، مادبا (دائرة واحدة)، جرش (دائرة واحدة)، عجلون (دائرة واحدة)، العقبة (دائرة واحدة)، بدو الشمال (دائرة واحدة)، بدو الوسط (دائرة واحدة)، بدو الجنوب (دائرة واحدة). وتعامل كل دائرة من دوائر البادية الثلاث (الشمالية والوسطى والجنوبية) معاملة المحافظة[2]. فبعد عودة الحياة الديمقراطية إلى الأردن في عام 1989، جرى استحداث نظام الكتلة بموجب قانون الانتخاب لمجلس النواب رقم 22 لسنة 1986، بحيث يستطيع الناخب اختيار من يريد من المرشحين بحسب العدد المطلوب لكل دائرة. ثم حدث تحوُّل إلى نظام الصوت الواحد (بحيث يمنح الناخب صوتاً واحداً فقط، بغض النظر عن عدد المقاعد المخصص للدائرة الانتخابية التي يقترع فيها) وفقاً لقانون الانتخاب المعدل رقم 15 لعام 1993. [3] واستمر الأخذ بنظام الصوت الواحد حتى انتخابات عام 2010. [4]

وعلى إثر التعديلات الدستورية لعام 2011، صدر قانون الانتخاب لمجلس النواب رقم 25 لعام 2012، والذي أخذ بالنظام الانتخابي المختلط (نظام الانتخابات المتوازي)، بحيث يتم تقسيم المملكة إلى الدوائر الانتخابية المحلية والدائرة الانتخابية العامة (قائمة نسبية مغلقة)، ويُدلي الناخب بصوتين: صوت للدائرة الانتخابية المحلية، وصوت للدائرة الانتخابية العامة. وفي عام 2016، صدر قانون الانتخاب لمجلس النواب رقم 6 لعام 2016 وتعديلاته، والذي تبنَّى لأول مرة في تاريخ النظام السياسي الأردني نظام التمثيل النسبي[5].

غير أن نظام القائمة النسبية المُطبَّق حالياً أثار مطالبات بتعديله، إذ أسهم في إضعاف تمثيل الأحزاب السياسية وزيادة فرص المستقلين والمنتمين للعشائر، وخاصة في المناطق الريفية[6]. وقد طالب الداعين إلى تعديل هذا النظام بزيادة عدد المقاعد البرلمانية، واعتماد النظام الانتخابي المختلط الذي يقوم على الجمع بين نظام التمثيل النسبي ونظام الدوائر الفردية، وأن يتم تقسيم الدوائر الانتخابية إلى الدوائر الانتخابية الكبيرة على مستوى المحافظات ومناطق البدو والدوائر الانتخابية الصغيرة على مستوى التقسيمات الإدارية داخل المحافظات ومناطق البدو. إلا أن السلطات الرسمية لم تستجب لهذه الدعوات، وبالتالي سوف تُجرى الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة في 10 نوفمبر المقبل، وفقاً لمرسوم ملكي صادر في 29 يوليو الماضي (2020)[7].

دلالات مشاركة جبهة العمل الإسلامي في الانتخابات البرلمانية

  • ترجيح كفة جناح المشاركة (الحمائم) على حساب تيار المقاطعة (الصقور) في ظل جدل استمر لعدة أشهر، تخوفاً من تراجع الدور السياسي وتآكل الحضور المجتمعي ورغبة في تجاوز الانقسام والتفكك الداخلي[8]، وهو ما يعكس إدراك قادة وكوادر الحزب لتكلفة المقاطعة التي سبق أن طبقها في دورتين انتخابيتين في عامي 2010 و2013، أو ما أسماه بيان الحزب بـ"الانسحاب من المعركة والهروب من المسؤولية"[9].
  • سعي الحزب للتهدئة مع نظام الحكم بعد توترات على إثر منح الحكومة ترخيصاً لجمعية تحمل اسم "جمعية الإخوان المسلمين" في عام 2015 وضمَّت العشرات من المفصولين من الجماعة الأم، وإصدار محكمة التمييز (أعلى مرجع قضائي) حكماً بحلِّ الجماعة في 16 يوليو 2020، وذلك لعدم قيامها بتصويب أوضاعها القانونية[10]. وتبعاً لهذا، فإن "جماعة الإخوان" تعد مُنحلَّة منذ عام 1953، وأن "جمعية جماعة الإخوان" المؤسسة قبل 5 سنوات ليست خَلَفَاً لتلك الجماعة. وجاء الحكم ليُلغي قرار محكمة الاستئناف الصادر في نوفمبر 2019، الذي قضى بأن جماعة الاخوان مُنحلَّة والجمعية المرخصة حلت مكانها، وتعود القضية إلى عام 2015 بعد أن رفعت الجمعية المنشقة دعوى قضائية ضد أعضاء المكتب التنفيذي للجماعة آنذاك، باعتبارهم يضعون أيديهم على أموال وعقارات مسجلة بأسمائهم الشخصية، في الوقت الذي تعود ملكيتها للجمعية المرخصة[11]، واعتبرت المحكمة أن جمعية 2015 لا تشكل بموجب القرار الصادر عنها خلفاً قانونياً لجمعية 1946. وفي هذا السياق، تأزمت العلاقة بين الإخوان المسلمين والدولة، واتهمت الجماعة الدولة الأردنية بمحاولة شق الجماعة. [12]
  • توفير قنوات وسيطة مؤسسية مع الدولة عبر النواب الممثلين في المجلس النيابي، عبر سعي الحزب لاستغلال حاجة السلطات الرسمية إليه لمنع عودة الحراك الشعبي مرة أخرى، بحيث برر مشاركته لتفعيل دور السلطة التشريعية والدفاع عن توسيع مساحة الحريات العامة خلال المرحلة المقبلة[13].   

تحديات التمثيل في البرلمان المقبل

هناك حزمة من التحديات سوف تواجه حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي في مسار مشاركته في الانتخابات البرلمانية، ومنها:

1. تدفقات المصادر التمويلية، أو اشتراطات التمويل حيث تجرى الانتخابات وفقاً لنظام تمويل الأحزاب الجديد لسنة 2019 وتعليماته التنفيذية لسنة 2020، وكلاهما وسَّع اشتراطات الحصول على التمويل، وفرض رقابة مشددة على أوجه الإنفاق والصرف، في محاولة لمأسسة تمثيل الأحزاب في القوائم الانتخابية وظهورها بتكتلات واضحة تحمل أسماء أحزابها، ولاحقاً تحت قبة البرلمان[14].

2. مواصلة الضغوط الأمنية لثني أعضاء الحزب عن المشاركة في تحالفات انتخابية "موسَّعة" حتى يكون تمثيلهم محدوداً. فقد حذر الأمين العام للحزب، مراد العضايلة، خلال المؤتمر الصحافي الذي أعلن عن مشاركة الحزب في الانتخابات من "استمرار ممارسات الحكومة والقبضة الأمنية تجاه أعضاء الحزب ومُنتسِبيه والمتحالفين معه، والضغط عليهم، لثنيهم عن الدخول في كتل الحزب الانتخابية"[15].

3. مناوئة التيارات المدنية للتوجهات الحاكمة للتيارات الإسلامية على النحو الذي تجسَّد في رفض قطاع من الأحزاب السياسية (القومية واليسارية) التحالف مع حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي في الانتخابات الأخيرة. بخلاف الخصومة التي تجمع الحزب بأحزاب تتسم بقربها من مؤسسة الحكم، وأعلنت مشاركتها في الانتخابات المقبلة[16].

4. السياقات الإقليمية الضاغِطَة، إذ عانى العديد من الدول في الإقليم من صعود التيارات الإسلامية إلى السلطة، بعد حراك 2011، في ظل محاولتها المستمرة للتمكن من مفاصل الدولة وليس مجرد هياكل السلطة، وهو ما تشير إليه حالات مصر وتونس وليبيا واليمن، فضلاً عن الإعلاء من الروابط الإقليمية "الإسلامية" على حساب "الانتماءات الوطنية"[17]، بل إن الملاذات الآمنة للإخوان في الإقليم أضحت مهددة، والأكثر من ذلك أن الأعوام القليلة الماضية أوضحت جلياً تصدُّع مقاربة الشراكة بين نظام الحكم وجماعة الإخوان المسلمين، لا سيما في ظل تطلُّعهم لقطف ثمار الحراك الثوري العربي[18].

السيناريوهات المحتملة لتكتيكات الحزب المستقبلية

السيناريو الأول: الترشُّح المنفرد أو استمرار التحالف السابق. ويقوم هذا السيناريو على ترشح أعضاء الحزب بمفردهم أو اشتراك الحزب ضمن ائتلاف "التحالف الوطني للإصلاح" الذي شارك ضمن مظلته في انتخابات 2016 بعد مقاطعته للانتخابات التي أجريت عامي 2010 و2013، ويضم قيادات من الحركة الإسلامية. وتبعاً لذلك، لا يتوقع فوز أعضاء الحزب بعدد مقاعد يتجاوز المقاعد التي حصل عليها في انتخابات 2016، وهي 15 مقعداً من إجمالي 130 بنسبة 11,5 في المائة[19]. ويرى مؤيدو هذا السيناريو أن مِنْ مصلحة الدولة الأردنية أن يكون هناك صوت معارض للسياسات الرسمية داخل مجلس النواب المقبل، لإظهار أن ثمة تمثيلاً لأطراف وتيارات سياسية مختلفة[20].

السيناريو الثاني: محاولة توسيع دائرة الائتلاف وخاصة مع القوى العشائرية والمناطقية، بحيث لا يُرشِّح حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي مرشحين باسمه، بل يحاول الانخراط مع مرشحين أخرين لزيادة عدد المقاعد التي يحصل عليها الحزب في المجلس التاسع عشر من ناحية، وإعادة بناء شرعيته السياسية عبر التركيز على قضايا الحريات العامة ومكافحة الفساد من ناحية أخرى. [21] غير أن الضغط الأمني على بعض التيارات قد يكون عائقاً أمام محاولة الحزب الدخول في ائتلاف مع قوى سياسية ومجتمعية أخرى.

السيناريو الثالث: بقاء وضع حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي، بشكل مؤقت نتيجة لاحتمال تأجيل الانتخابات البرلمانية، وهو ما كان سبباً لتأجيل إعلان المشاركة من جانب الحزب في حال ازدياد تفشِّي وباء "كوفيد-19"، وفقاً لأسوأ سيناريو محتمل، مما يعزز بقاء وضع إخوان الأردن على حاله[22]. غير أن السيناريو الأخير قد يكون مُستبعَداً في ظل إصرار السلطات الأردنية على تجاوز أزمة "كوفيد-19" والتعافي من أزمات الاقتصاد الضاغِطَة، فضلاً عن مواجهة تحديات متعددة تتطلب تعزيز الشراكة الوطنية[23].

خلاصة

بموازنة السيناريوهات الثلاثة المحتملة أعلاه، يبدو أن الأول هو الأكثر ترجيحاً، نظراً لتراجع قوة حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي وشعبيته في الشارع في المرحلة الحالية، لاعتبارات متعددة، أولها الأزمة التنظيمية التي يعاني منها خلال السنوات العشر الماضية بعد الانشقاقات داخله، وثانيها فجوة المصالح المشتركة مع غيره من القوى السياسية وافتقاده النسبي للحاضنة المجتمعية، على نحو يؤثر على القوة التصويتية له في 10 نوفمبر المقبل. وثالثها، إمكانية حصول تفتُّت للأصوات لصالح أحزاب قريبة من مؤسسة الحكم. وهنا، من المحتمل أن يتحول الوجود الإخواني في البرلمان الأردني، من طموحٍ لخلق كتلة مؤثرة تستطيع إنجاز قوانين وتشريعات وتمريرها، إلى مجرد محاولة إخوانية تسعى إلى تجنُّب الوقوع في فخ العزلة، محلياً وإقليمياً.

الهوامش

[1] أنظر: "بالتفاصيل: الدوائر الانتخابية وعدد النواب لكل دائرة"، سواليف الأردني، 23 مايو 2016. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/3lceyL9

[2] لمزيد من التفصيل حول قانون الانتخابات الأردني وتوزيع الدوائر الانتخابية، أنظر الموقع الإلكتروني لمجلس النواب الأردني على الرابط: http://www.representatives.jo/?q

[3] ناصر شديد، "الأردن يبقي على نظام الصوت الواحد في الانتخابات"، بي بي سي عربي، 20 مايو 2010. على الرابط: https://www.bbc.com/arabic/middleeast/2010/05/100519_jordan_elx_tc2

[4] صالح عبدالرزاق فالح الخوالدة، "النظام الانتخابي في الأردن لعام 2016: دراسة تحليلية"، المجلة الجزائرية للأمن الإنساني (الجزائر: جامعة باتنة)، العدد الثالث، 2017.

[5] رعد عبدالكريم العواملة، "دور قوانين الانتخابات في تمثيل الأحزاب السياسية في المجالس النيابية في الأردن بعد مرحلة التحول الديمقراطي (1989-2016)"، مجلة دراسات للعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية، (الأردن: الجامعة الأردنية)، المجلد 47، العدد 1، 2020. متاحة على الرابط: https://journals.ju.edu.jo/DirasatHum/article/download/104250/11198

[6] ماجد الأمير، "قانون انتخاب جديد لمجلس النواب أفضل من (الحل أو التمديد)"، الرأي الأردنية، 15 فبراير 2020. على الرابط: http://alrai.com/article/10523870

[7] "الأردن: مرسوم ملكي بإجراء انتخابات عامة في 10 نوفمبر"، فرانس 24، 29 يوليو 2020. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/2GeYuZX

[8] طارق النعيمات، " تفكك الإخوان المستمر في الأردن"، مركز كارنيجي للسلام الدولي، 19 أكتوبر 2018. على الرابط: https://carnegieendowment.org/publications/77538

[9] "حسابات الربح والخسارة تقود إخوان الأردن للمشاركة في الانتخابات"، العرب، 22 سبتمبر 2020. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/2ELcU3j

[10] "القضاء الأردني يقرر حل جماعة "الإخوان المسلمون" بسبب "عدم قيامها بتصويب أوضاعها القانونية""، فرانس 24، 16 يوليو 2020. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/3mYebFD

[11] "إخوان الأردن" تؤكد شروعها بالفصل التدريجي بين "الجماعة والحزب" وتعود للانتخابات بعد المقاطعة"، سي" إن إن عربي، 14 يونيو 2020. على الرابط: https://arabic.cnn.com/middleeast/2016/06/15/jordan-muslim-brotherhood-elections

[12] "حل إخوان الأردن: تراجع شعبي وخسائر سياسية ممتدة لانتخابات 2020"، العين الإخبارية، 25 يوليو 2020. على الرابط:  https://al-ain.com/article/solution-jordan-brotherhood-losses-elections

[13] نضال منصور، ""الإخوان المسلمون" لا يحرقون مراكبهم مع السلطة في الأردن"، الحرة، 24 سبتمبر 2020. على الرابط: https://arbne.ws/3idZ07G

[14] "تحديات المناخ السياسي" واشتراطات التمويل تواجه الأحزاب بالانتخابات المقبلة"، الغد الأردنية، 12" أغسطس 2020. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/3cKkQOW

[15] "أمين جبهة العمل الأردنية: القبضة الأمنية على الحياة السياسية وراء تراجع العمل الحزبي"، إخوان أونلاين، 21 يوليو 2020. على الرابط: https://ikhwanonline.com/article/240555

[16] "ماذا تشكل مشاركة "الإخوان" في الانتخابات التشريعية الأردنية؟"، فرانس 24، 15 سبتمبر 2016. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/3mXpTQG

[17] "سياقات محلية وإقليمية تضيق الخناق على إخوان الأردن"، العرب، 17 أغسطس 2020. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/2SaYpsJ

[18] نضال منصور، "هل يدفع الإخوان المسلمين في الأردن ثمن تعجلهم بقطف ثمار الربيع العربي؟"، الحرة، 30 يوليو 2020. على الرابط: https://www.alhurra.com/different-angle/2020/07/30

[19] كيريك سويل، "أهم نتائج الانتخابات النيابية في الأردن"، صدى، مركز كارنيجي للسلام الدولي، 30 سبتمبر 2016. على الرابط: https://carnegie-mec.org/sada/64750

[20] "الانتخابات التشريعية الأردنية: قانون جديد ومشاركة للإخوان المسلمين بعد مقاطعة طويلة"، فرانس 24، 19 سبتمبر 2020. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/33KMCIf

[21] "نائب أردني: مشاركة الإخوان في الانتخابات حق مشروع وسن القوانين الجديدة وفقاً للدستور"، وكالة الأنباء الروسية (سبوتنيك)، 22 سبتمبر 2020. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/33gcfAA

[22] راكز الزعارير، "تفاقم كورونا وتأجيل الانتخابات النيابية"، الغد الأردنية، 22 أغسطس 2020. على الرابط: https://bit.ly/3kZJazk

[23] مروان المعشر، "من هم المعارضون في الأردن؟"، ديوان، مركز كارنيجي للشرق الأوسط، 13 يوليو 2020. على الرابط: https://carnegie-mec.org/diwan/82281

 

سيناريوهات

Participation of Islamic Action Front in Jordan’s Parliamentary Elections: Significance and Likely Scenarios

Shereen Mohammed | 30 Sep 2020

 

On 21 September 2020, the Islamic Action Front (IAF, Jabhat al-Amal al-Islami) party in Jordan (the political arm of the Muslim Brotherhood) announced its participation in the parliamentary elections scheduled to be held on 10 November 2020, according to an IAF statement that was read by the IAF Deputy Secretary-General Wael al-Sakka. This paper analyses the implications of the IAF’s participation in the upcoming parliamentary elections, the challenges it faces, both from within it and in the surrounding environment, and the possible scenarios for the IAF’s tactics during the next phase.

A brief background on the Jordanian election law

The 2020 Jordanian parliamentary elections will be conducted according to a system of "open proportional lists" in electoral districts, whereby the voter would choose an electoral list and then choose whoever he/she wants from among the candidates within that list. In forming the list, the number of candidates should not be less than three. Individual candidacy is not permitted in the elections. Women are entitled to compete for 15 seats, one seat per governorate, according to what is known as the women’s quota, or positive discrimination. Hence, the House of Representatives (HoR) comprises 130 seats (115 for the electoral districts and 15 for the women’s quota) and would serve for a term of four years.[1]

The number of electoral districts in the Jordanian governorates is as follows: the Capital (five districts), Irbid (four districts), Al-Balqa (one district), Al-Karak (one district), Ma’an (one district), Zarqa (two districts), Mafraq (one district), Tafilah (one district), Madaba (one district), Jerash (one district), Ajloun (one district), Aqaba (one district), the North Badiya (one district), the Central Badiya (one district), the South Badiya (one district) ). Each of the three Badia (desert, countryside) districts (North, Central, and South) is treated as a governorate.[2] After the return of democratic life to Jordan in 1989, the bloc system was introduced according to the Law on the Election to the House of Representatives No. 22 of 1986, so that the voter can choose whoever he wants from among the candidates according to the number required for each district. A shift was subsequently introduced into the one-vote system (whereby the voter casts only one vote, regardless of the number of seats allocated to the electoral district in which he/she votes) in accordance with the amended Election Law No. 15 of 1993.[3] The one-vote system continued to be applied until the 2010 elections.[4]

Following the constitutional amendments of 2011, the Law on the Election to the House of Representatives No. 25 of 2012 was enacted, introducing the mixed electoral system (parallel election system), so that the Kingdom would be divided into local and general electoral districts (closed proportional list). The voter would cast two votes: one for the local electoral district, and the other for the general electoral district. In 2016, the Law on the Election to the House of Representatives No. 6 of 2016 and its amendments was enacted, adopting the proportional representation system for the first time in the history of the Jordanian political system.[5]

However, the proportional list system currently in effect has prompted calls for its amendment, as it contributed to weakening political party representation and increasing the chances of the independents and tribesmen, especially in rural areas.[6] Advocates of amending this system demanded that the number of parliamentary seats be increased, a mixed electoral system be adopted that is based on a combination of the proportional representation system and the individual-constituency system, and the electoral districts be divided into large constituencies at the level of the governorates and badia regions and small constituencies at the level of the administrative divisions within the governorates and badia regions. However, the official authorities did not respond to those calls. Therefore, the upcoming parliamentary elections will be held on 10 November 2020, according to a Royal Decree issued on 29 July 2020.[7]

Significance of the participation of the IAF in the parliamentary elections

  • Tipping the balance in favour of the participation wing (doves) at the expense of the boycott trend (the hawks) in light of an argument that lasted for several months, for fear of a decline in the IAF’s political role and the erosion of its community presence, and with a view to overcoming internal division and disintegration.[8] This reflects the awareness by the IAF leaders and staff of the cost of the boycott that had previously been applied in two election rounds in 2010 and 2013, or what was referred to in the IAF statement as “withdrawal from the battle and a derogation of responsibility”.[9]
  • The IAF’s endeavour to de-escalate with the regime after tensions as a result of the licence granted by the government in 2015 to an association called the Muslim Brotherhood Association, which brought together dozens of dismissed people from the parent group, and the ruling made by the Court of Cassation (the highest judicial authority) on 16 July 2020 to dissolve the group because it failed to rectify its legal status.[10] Accordingly, the Brotherhood is considered a dissolved group since 1953, and the Brotherhood Association which was established five years ago is not a successor to that group. The ruling came to repeal the decision by the Court of Appeal issued in November 2019, which ruled that the Brotherhood group was dissolved and that the licensed Association replaced it. The case goes back to 2015 after the dissident association filed a lawsuit against the members of the group’s executive office at the time, considering that they hold under their personal names money and real estate that belong to the licensed association.[11] The Court considered that, according to its decision,  the 2015 association does not constitute a legal successor to the 1946 association. In this context, the relationship between the Muslim Brotherhood and the state exacerbated, and the group accused the Jordanian state of trying to split the group.[12]
  • Providing institutional intermediary channels with the state through the Members of Parliament (MPs) represented in the HoR, based on the IAF’s endeavour to exploit the need by the official authorities to prevent the return of the popular movement. The IAF justified its participation by the need to activate the role of the legislative authority and defend the expansion of public freedoms during the phase ahead.[13]

Challenges of representation in the next parliament

There are a set of challenges that will face the IAF in the course of its participation in the parliamentary elections, including:

1. Funding source flows, or financing requirements, considering that the elections will be held in accordance with the new party financing system for the year 2019 and its executive regulations for the year 2020, both of which have expanded the requirements for obtaining funding and imposed tight control over aspects of spending, in an attempt to institutionalise party representation on the electoral lists and their emergence in clear blocs that bear the names of the respective parties, and subsequently inside Parliament.[14]

2. Continued security pressures to discourage the IAF members from participating in "expanded" electoral alliances so that their representation would remain limited. During the press conference announcing the IAF’s participation in the elections, the IAF’s Secretary-General Murad al-Adaileh warned against “the continued practices of the government and the security grip against the IAF members and its affiliates and allies, and pressure put on them to dissuade them from joining the IAF’s electoral blocs”.[15]

3. The opposition by the civil currents to the ruling trends of the Islamic currents, as reflected in the rejection by a sector of the political parties (nationalist and leftist) of allying themselves with the IAF in the last elections, in addition to the rivalry between the IAF and parties that are characterised by their proximity to the governing establishment that announced their participation in the upcoming elections.[16]

4. Pressing regional contexts. Many countries in the region have suffered from the rise of Islamic currents to power after the 2011 movement in light of the latter’s continuous endeavour to get hold of the state and not just the power structures. This is demonstrated by the cases of Egypt, Tunisia, Libya, and Yemen. In addition, "Islamic" regional ties are favoured to "national affiliations".[17] Indeed, the Brotherhood’s safe havens in the region have become under threat. What is more, the past few years have made clear the chasm in the partnership approach between the regime and the Muslim Brotherhood group, especially in light of the group’s aspiration to reap the fruits of the Arab revolutionary movement.[18]

Likely scenarios for future IAF tactics

First scenario: individual running or continuation of the previous alliance. In this scenario, the IAF’s members would run individually or the IAF would join the National Alliance for Reform (NAR) coalition, under which it participated in the 2016 elections after boycotting the elections that were held in 2010 and 2013. The Coalition brings together leaders from the Islamic Movement. Accordingly, IAF members are not expected to win more than the seats they won in the 2016 elections, namely 15 out of a total of 130 seats, or 11.5 percent.[19] Supporters of this scenario believe that it is in the interest of the Jordanian state to have an opposition voice to the official policies within the next parliament, to show that there is representation of different political parties and trends.[20]

Second scenario: attempting to expand the coalition circle, especially with tribal and regional actors, so that the IAF would not nominate candidates in its name, but rather seek to join other candidates to increase the number of seats that the IAF gets in the nineteenth HoR on the one hand, and rebuild its political legitimacy by focusing on issues of public freedoms and fighting corruption on the other hand.[21] However, security pressure on some currents may be an obstacle to the IAF’ attempt to join a coalition with other political and community actors.

Third scenario: the status of the IAF remains unchanged temporarily due to the possibility of postponing the parliamentary elections. This was the reason for delaying the announcement of the IAF’s participation in the event of an increase in the spread of the Covid-19 epidemic, according to the worst possible scenario, which strengthens the likelihood that the status of the Jordanian Brotherhood would remain the same.[22] However, the last scenario may be unlikely in light of insistence by the Jordanian authorities on overcoming the Covid-19 crisis and recovering from the depressing economic crises, as well as facing multiple challenges that require strengthening the national partnership.[23]

Conclusion

On balancing the three likely scenarios above, it seems that the first is the most plausible, given the lack of strength of the IAF in the street at the current stage. This is due to various considerations: first, the organisational crisis that the IAF has been experiencing over the past ten years after the splits within its ranks; second, the gap of common interests with the other political actors and the relative lack by the IAF of a community sponsor in a way that would affect its voting power on 10 November 2020; and third, the possibility of a vote fragmentation in favour of parties close to the governing establishment. In this case, the Muslim Brotherhood’s presence in the Jordanian Parliament may turn from an ambition to create an influential bloc that can develop and pass laws and legislation to a mere Brotherhood attempt that seeks to avoid falling into the trap of isolation, both locally and regionally.

References

[1] See: “In detail: electoral districts and the number of representatives for each district”, Jordanian sawaleif, 23 May 2016. Available at: https://bit.ly/3lceyL9

[2] For more details on the Jordanian electoral law and the distribution of electoral districts, see the website of the Jordanian House of Representatives at: http://www.representatives.jo/?q

[3] Naser Shadid, “Jordan maintains the one-vote system in the elections”, BBC Arabic, 20 May 2010. Available at: https://www.bbc.com/arabic/middleeast/2010/05/100519_jordan_elx_tc2

[4] Saleh Abdul Razzak Faleh al-Khawaldeh, “The electoral System in Jordan in 2016: Analytical study”, The Algerian Review of Human Security, Algeria: University of Batna), Issue No. 3, 2017.

[5] Ra’ad Abdel Kareem al-Awamleh, “The Role of Election Laws in Representing Political Parties in Jordanian Parliament Councils Following The Democratic Transformation (1989-2016)”, Dirasat: Human and Social Sciences (University of Jordan), Volume 47, Issue 1, 2020. Available at: https://journals.ju.edu.jo/DirasatHum/article/download/104250/11198

[6] Majid al-Amir, “A new election law for the House of Representatives better than (dissolution or extension)”, al-Rai Newspaper, 15 February 2020. Available at: http://alrai.com/article/10523870

[7] “Jordan: A Royal Decree to hold general elections on 10 November”, france24, 29 July 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/2GeYuZX

[8] Tareq al-Naimat, “The Continued Fragmentation of the Jordanian Brotherhood”, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, 19 October 2018. Available at: https://carnegieendowment.org/sada/77531

[9] “Considerations of gain and loss accounts lead the Jordanian Brotherhood to participate in the elections”, alarab, 22 September 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/2ELcU3j

[10] “The Jordanian judiciary decides to dissolve the ‘Muslim Brotherhood’ group due to its ‘failure to rectify its legal status”, france24, 16 July 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/3mYebFD

[11] “‘Jordan’s Brotherhood’ confirms its initiation of gradual separation between ‘the Group and the Party’ and returns to the elections after the boycott”, Arabic CNN, 15 June 2020. Available at: https://arabic.cnn.com/middleeast/2016/06/15/jordan-muslim-brotherhood-elections

[12] “Dissolution of ‘Jordan’s Brotherhood’: popular decline and political losses extended to the 2020 elections”, al-ain, 25 July 2020. Available at: https://al-ain.com/article/solution-jordan-brotherhood-losses-elections

[13] Nidal Mansour, “The ‘Muslim Brotherhood’ does not burn its bridges with the authority in Jordan”, alhurra, 24 September 2020. Available at: https://arbne.ws/3idZ07G

[14] “’Challenges of the political climate’ and financing requirements face the parties in the upcoming elections”, Jordanian alghad, 12 August 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/3cKkQOW

[15] “Secretary of the Jordanian ‘Action Front’: The security grip on political life is behind the decline in party work”, Ikhwan online, 21 July 2020. Available at: https://ikhwanonline.com/article/240555

[16] “What does the Brotherhood’s participation in the Jordanian legislative elections stand for?”, france24, 15 September 2016. Available at: https://bit.ly/3mXpTQG

[17] “Local and regional contexts besiege the brothers of Jordan”, alarab, 17 August 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/2SaYpsJ

[18] Nidal Mansour, “Will the Muslim Brotherhood in Jordan pay the price for their rush to reap the fruits of the Arab Spring?”, alhurra, 30 July 2020. Available at: https://www.alhurra.com/different-angle/2020/07/30

[19] Kirk H. Sowell, “Takeaways From Jordan’s Elections”, Sada, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, 30 September 2016. Available at: https://carnegieendowment.org/sada/64749

[20] “Jordanian Legislative Elections: A New Law and Participation by the Muslim Brotherhood after a Long Boycott”, france24, 19 September 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/33KMCIf

[21] “Jordanian MP: The Brotherhood’s participation in the elections is a legitimate right and the enactment of new laws in accordance with the Constitution”, Arabic Sputnik, 22 September 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/33gcfAA

[22] Rakiz al-Zareer, “Worsening of coronavirus epidemic and postponement of parliamentary elections”, Jordanian Al-Ghad, 22 August 2020. Available at: https://bit.ly/3kZJazk

[23] Marwan Muasher, “Who are the opponents in Jordan?”, Diwan, Carnegie Middle East Center, 13 July 2020. Available at: https://carnegie-mec.org/diwan/82281

 

Latest Scenarios