عودة المسار التفاوضي الليبي: المحفِّزات والتحديات

بلال عبدالله | 14 سبتمبر 2020

عقب التوافق بين رئيس المجلس الرئاسي فايز السراج ورئيس مجلس النواب عقيلة صالح على وقف إطلاق النار، شهد الصراع الليبي خطوة إضافية على طريق العودة لمسار التسوية السلمية، وإعادة الاعتبار للحل السياسي على حساب الحل العسكري، بعد إعلان الأطراف المجتمعة في بوزنيقة المغربية عن التوافق على معايير شغْل المناصب السيادية، وتوزيعها بين أقاليم ليبيا التاريخية الثلاثة.

على الرغم من أهمية التقدُّم المحدود على صعيد استئناف المسار التفاوضي في بوزنيقة ومونترو والقاهرة، وما يعكسه من عودة قدر من الثقة بين الفرقاء الليبيين، إلا أن هناك العديد من القضايا الإشكالية، التي تمثل تحديات حقيقية أمام إمكانية اجتراح توافق حقيقي، يمكن الالتزام به، حول خارطة طريق تقود نحو تسوية نهائية للصراع.

مُحفِّزات التوافق الراهن

تجدر الإشارة ابتداءً إلى أن ما جرى التوافق عليه في بوزنيقة لا يبتعد عن مُمكنات التوافق التي تعكسها خبرة السنوات الماضية فيما يتعلق بجولات الحوار بين الفرقاء الليبيين؛ فمن ناحية أولى، شهدت جولات الحوار السابقة بين مجلسيّ النواب والدولة توافق مبدأي على إعادة تشكيل المجلس الرئاسي، وفصل رئاسة المجلس الرئاسي عن رئاسة الحكومة الموحدة التي سيجري التوافق عليها؛ كما أن التوزيع الجهوي للمناصب على أساس الأقاليم التاريخية الثلاثة، برقة وطرابلس وفزان، يعد مسألة محل إجماع تقريباً، وفق ما أظهرته جولات تفاوضية سابقة بين الفرقاء الليبيين.

على صعيد آخر، فإن مشاركة أنصار نظام القذافي في اللقاء التشاوري المنعقد بمدينة مونترو السويسرية، وما تبعه من بادرة تعيين محمد عمر بعيو رئيساً للهيئة الليبية للإعلام التي استحدثها السراج، يأتي تجسيداً لتوجه دولي سائد منذ تولي المبعوث الأممي السابق غسان سلامة مهام منصبه قبل نحو ثلاثة سنوات، حيث إن أحد أبرز ملامح الرؤية الأممية للحل منذ ذلك الحين يتمثل في إدماج أنصار النظام السابق بوصفهم مكوّناً رئيساً في أي تسوية نهائية للصراع.

بخلاف تلك الخطوط العريضة المشتركة بين التقدم الذي تم إحرازه في المسار التفاوضي الراهن وبين الجولات السابقة، يبدو المسار الحالي أكثر حظاً في توسيع نطاق "الحد الأدنى" من التوافق بين الفرقاء الليبيين، دون أن يعني ذلك ضرورة تتويج هذا المسار بالتوصل إلى صيغة مستقرة للتسوية. ويمكن الإشارة إلى عدد من العوامل التي تضافرت سوياً، لتشكّل في مجملها بيئة محفزة على التوافق بين مختلف الأطراف الليبية، وذلك على النحو التالي:

1. الدور الأمريكي النشط في رعاية ودعم الجولة التفاوضية الحالية، وذلك لتحقيق عدة أهداف؛ أبرزها تحجيم النفوذ الروسي المتنامي في ليبيا؛ والسيطرة على الاضطرابات التي أثارها التدخل التركي في الصراع، وتداعياته على العلاقة بين دول شرق المتوسط؛ وتحييد ورقة النفط بوصفها تمثل جوهر الصراع الليبي؛ وأخيراً فإن تحقيق اختراق على صعيد التسوية سيفيد الرئيس ترامب مع قرب انعقاد الانتخابات الرئاسية، لاسيما وأن الصراع الليبي كان أحد الملفات التي يجري توظيفها دعائياً في انتخابات 2012 و2016، على خلفية مقتل السفير الأمريكي في بنغازي قبل ثمان سنوات.

2. يلتقي التوجه الأمريكي الراهن مع رغبة القاهرة في تحقيق عدة أهداف؛ الأول، ضمان وحدة الأراضي الليبية، بحيث لا يُفضي العودة لنظام الأقاليم الثلاثة إلى دعم سيناريوهات التقسيم، وهو ما يتحقق في اتخاذ مدينة سرت مقراً للسلطتين التشريعية والتنفيذية فيما تبقى من المرحلة الانتقالية، وفق ما يتم التباحث حوله خلال المفاوضات الجارية. والثاني، الرغبة في الحفاظ على المصالح المصرية في ليبيا، وعدم التنازل عن الخط الأحمر المعلن، من دون الاضطرار إلى التورط في تدخل عسكري مباشر، وهو ما يتحقق من خلال الدور الأمريكي، وما يمثله من ضمانة لكبح الاندفاع التركي في ليبيا. والهدف الثالث يتمثل في الحد من عسكرة الصراع، بما يجعل الأرضية المشتركة للتعاون المصري الروسي في ليبيا تتم على أرضية الاستثمار المشترك في ورقة أنصار النظام السابق وإدماجهم في العملية السياسية، بدلاً من التنافس المستتر حول السيطرة على المؤسسة العسكرية شرق البلاد، في حال استمرار الطابع المسلح للصراع.

3. على الصعيد المحلي يمكن الإشارة إلى كلفة الحل العسكري باعتباره أحد الدوافع الرئيسة للمرونة التي يُبديها الفرقاء الليبيين، وعدم رغبة قبائل المنطقة الشرقية في انتقال المواجهات المسلحة إلى داخل أراضيها، لاسيما مع حساسية هذه القبائل للخسائر في العنصر البشري.

من ناحية أخرى، يمكن الإشارة إلى الضغوط التي تمثلها الفاعليات الاحتجاجية، والتي امتدت مؤخراً إلى مدن شرق البلاد، على خلفية تردّي الأوضاع المعيشية، وهي الاحتجاجات التي لا يُستبعَد توظيفها في الضغط على الأطراف المسيطرة في المنطقة الشرقية لتليين موقفها إزاء القضايا الخلافية. وتجدر الإشارة هنا إلى بوادر استجابة للمطالب الأمريكية بإعادة تشغيل المنشآت النفطية.

كما أن القبول بالتوصل لصيغة جديدة من التوافق يعد بمثابة تجديد لشرعية الأطراف المسيطرة على السلطة شرق وغرب البلاد، في ظل تزايد حالة الاحتقان الشعبي من جهة، وارتفاع حدة الانتقادات والاتهامات المتكررة الموجهة من قبل المسؤولين الأمميين من جهة أخرى. وهنا يُشار إلى قيام الاتحاد الأوروبي خلال الأسبوع الثاني من سبتمبر برفع اسم المستشار عقيلة صالح من على قائمة العقوبات، بالإضافة إلى نوري بوسهمين رئيس المؤتمر الوطني السابق، وخليفة الغويل رئيس ما كان يعرف بحكومة الانقاذ.

تحديات نجاح التسوية

في مقابل العوامل المشار إليها، والتي تعمل محفِّزات نحو بلوغ آفاق أبعد على طريق التسوية قياساً بالسنوات الماضية، غير أن هناك العديد من العوامل التي ستمثل تحديات كبرى، يصعب تصوُّر التغلب عليها مجتمعة، سواء فيما يتعلق بالجولة التفاوضية الحالية، والأكثر أهمية فيما يتعلق بالالتزام بما سيجري التعهد بتنفيذه خلال الثمانية عشر شهراً المتفق عليها قبل إجراء الانتخابات الرئاسية والبرلمانية. ويمكن الإشارة إلى أبرز هذه التحديات على النحو الآتي:

1. تعددية الفاعلين في الصراع الليبي، وهو التحدي الأبرز والذي أشار إليه مساعد وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ديفيد شينكير خلال هذا الشهر، مُرجِّحاً أن يتسبب ذلك في مزيد من الصعوبات، ومؤكداً أن هدف الولايات المتحدة خلال الجولة الحالية هو "تحقيق مكاسب صغيرة على الأرض".

واللافت للنظر، في هذا السياق، التشديد الظاهر في التصريحات والبيانات، سواء الصادرة عن البعثة الأممية ورئيستها بالإنابة الأمريكية ستيفاني ويليامز، أو السفارة الأمريكية في طرابلس، على أهمية منع التدخلات الخارجية، وأن المسار التفاوضي الحالي يهدف إلى إعادة المسألة الليبية إلى أيدي الليبيين دون غيرهم. وعلى هذا الأساس يمكن تفسير حالة الترقب والصمت التي يتحلى بها أغلب الأطراف الخارجية إزاء اللقاءات الجارية والقضايا الإشكالية محل التفاوض، والإلتزام بحد أدنى من الاشتباك العلني مع مجمل هذه التطورات حتى الآن.

هذا التحسّب من قبل الأطراف الخارجية، والمواكبة الظاهرية للرغبة الأمريكية في الحد من أثر التدخلات الخارجية على سير العملية التفاوضية، لا يعكس طبيعة الصراع وحقيقة الأوزان النسبية لمختلف اللاعبين الخارجيين، لاسيما وأن الدور الأمريكي الحالي في رعاية المفاوضات من شأنه تحجيم النفوذين التركي والروسي في آنٍ معاً.

على صعيد آخر، هناك التنافس بين الأدوار الاقليمية، حيث تجدر الإشارة على وجه الخصوص إلى الحساسية الجزائرية التقليدية إزاء الدورين المصري والمغربي على السواء؛ وعند النظر إلى مجريات المسار التفاوضي الحالي، يتضح أن إطلاق هذا المسار، منذ الاعلان المزدوج من السراج وصالح عن الدعوة لوقف إطلاق النار 20 أغسطس الماضي، كان ثمار تنسيق مشترك بين القاهرة وواشنطن، كما أن المغرب هي من احتضنت أولى جولات هذا الحوار، فيما يطلق عليه البعض إعلامياً "الصخيرات 2". وفي هذا السياق، يُشار إلى إعلان وزير الخارجية الجزائري صبري بوقادوم، في الإسبوع الثاني من سبتمبر، عزم بلاده، بالتنسيق مع تونس، استضافة حوار بين الفرقاء الليبيين، فيما قد يخلق تضارباً بين الجهود الدولية الراعية للتفاوض.

2. كثرة الخلافات المستحكمة التي يصعب بناء توافق بشأنها، وعلى رأس هذه القضايا تأتي المسائل ذات الجوانب الأمنية والعسكرية، ومستقبل الميليشيات المسلحة، وآليات تفكيكها أو إعادة إدماج أفرادها ضمن المؤسستين العسكرية والشرطية، خاصة في ضوء تغلغل بعض هذه الميليشيات داخل المؤسسات المدنية، لاسيما ذات الطابع الاقتصادي والمالي، عبر تعيين أشخاص موالين داخل مجالس إدارات هذه المؤسسات، وارتباط دور هذه الميليشيات بشبكات واسعة من المنتفعين.

وهناك أيضاً الخلافات المستحكمة حول حدود الدور المسموح به للإسلاميين، والقبول بوجود السلاح في أيدي جماعات ذات توجهات متشددة، فضلاً عن أن بعض قادة هذه الميليشيات تم إدراجهم على قوائم الإرهاب أممياً وأمريكياً، في الوقت الذي يحمل فيه هؤلاء رتب عسكرية رسمية تابعة لحكومة الوفاق، ويرتبطون بتحالفات سياسية وثيقة داخل المدن والقبائل المنتمين إليها. ومع وجود قطاع كبير من المتضررين المحتملين حاملي السلاح، وارتباطهم بشبكات دعم وانتفاع على نطاق واسع في الداخل والخارج، يسهل تصور احتمالات التعطيل المرتفعة لتنفيذ أي إلتزامات يتم التوافق عليها، فضلاً عن الصعوبة المسبقة للتوصل إلى توافقات مبدأية حول هذه المسائل بين الفاعلين الرسميين أنفسهم.

وهنا تجدر الإشارة إلى الدعاوي المتكررة للتظاهر أمام المجلس الرئاسي، والتي تبناها قادة ميليشيات في غرب ليبيا، مثل الدعوات المتكررة المعترضة على تعيين أحد رموز نظام القذافي على رأس الهيئة الليبية للإعلام، أو الدعوة للتظاهر التي تبناها قائد لواء الصمود، صلاح بادي المدرج على قائمة العقوبات من قبل مجلس الأمن، احتجاجاً على تعيين القيادي الميليشياوي عماد الطرابلسي نائباً لرئيس المخابرات. إضافة إلى اعتراضات متكررة من قبل أعضاء من مجلس الدولة واعتراضات متوقعة ستصدر عن مختلف الجهات، عند الانتقال لمرحلة تسمية شاغلي المناصب في الحكومة الموحدة، وهي الاعتراضات التي قد تتسع وتتزايد بشكل سيؤثر على الأرجح على إمكانية تحقيق تقدم كبير للوصول إلى وضع توافق يحقق الاستقرار.

خلاصة

  • تُشير مجريات الجولة التفاوضية الراهنة لتسوية الصراع الليبي إلى تزايد احتمالات إحراز تقدم نسبي، قياساً بالجولات الماضية؛ ويعود ذلك بالأساس إلى الانخراط الأمريكي النَّشط في رعاية المفاوضات، مع تنحية بقية الفاعلين الدوليين جانباً؛ فضلاً عن التوازن والجمود العسكري بين معسكريّ الصراع، والتداعيات الوخيمة المتوقعة في حالة نشوب مواجهات مسلحة جديدة، في ضوء تزايد احتمالات نشوب مواجهة عسكرية بين الأطراف الإقليمية الدعمة لطرفي الصراع.
  • من غير المتوقع أن يستمر التزام اللاعبين الخارجيين بعدم التدخل الكثيف في مجريات العملية التفاوضية، وحالة الهدوء الراهنة قد تدوم على الأكثر إلى حين انتهاء الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية، واستكشاف توجهات الإدارة الجديدة. كما أن تضارب مصالح وحسابات الأطراف الخارجية، حتى داخل المعسكر الواحد، سيتيح هامش واسع من المناورة بالنسبة للأطراف الليبية.
  • من المرجح أن تأتي الإجراءات التعطيلية بالأساس من قبل الأطراف المحلية، لاسيما اللاعبين غير الرسميين من ميليشيات وقوى قبلية، على أن فاعلية هذه التحركات ستكون مرهونة بوجود دعم غير معلن من قبل اللاعبين الخارجيين في الصراع.

سيناريوهات

Resumption of the Negotiating Track in Libya: Catalysts and Challenges

Bilal Abdullah | 14 Sep 2020

Following the ceasefire agreement reached between Fayez al-Sarraj, Chair of the Presidential Council, and Aguila Saleh, President of the House of Representatives, the conflict in Libya has come one step closer to a peaceful settlement in which politics, rather than military action, is once again seen as the solution. This comes after a meeting in Bouznika, Morocco, at which the two sides announced that they had come to an agreement on the criteria required for holding a leadership position in Libya, and that these positions would be distributed among Libya’s three historical regions.

Some important, albeit limited, progress has been made following the resumption of negotiations in Bouznika, Montreux and Cairo, which demonstrates a restored degree of confidence between the various Libyan stakeholders. Despite this, there are real obstacles to reaching an agreement which can actually be adhered to and which would lead to a final settlement of the conflict.

Catalysts of the current agreement

The agreement reached in Bouznika does not stray far from the possibilities discussed during the previous rounds of negotiations between the various Libyan stakeholders that have taken place over the past several years. Previous negotiations between the House of Representatives and the High Council of State resulted in an agreement in principle to reorganize the Presidential Council and separate its presidency from that of a future unified government. Previous rounds also saw almost unanimous agreement on a proposal to distribute key positions between the country’s three historical regions: Cyrenaica, Tripolatania, and Fezzan.

Furthermore, the participation of Gaddafi regime supporters in the Montreux consultations and the subsequent appointment of Muhammad Umr Ba’ayu as President of the Libyan Media Association – created by al-Sarraj – reflects the universal approach which has prevailed ever since former UN envoy for Libya, Ghassan Salamé, was appointed three years ago. One of the most prominent features of the UN approach is to achieve the integration of supporters of the former regime as a key component of any final settlement.

Apart from these broad commonalities between what has been achieved in current and previous negotiation rounds, the current negotiations seem more likely to lead to consensus beyond the minimum level thus far achieved. There are a number of factors which, when combined, have created an environment more conducive to agreement among the various Libyan parties; however, this does not necessarily mean that current negotiations will lead to a stable settlement. These factors are as follows:

1. The USA has actively sponsored the current negotiations in order to achieve several of its own objectives, the most notable being to curb Russia’s growing influence in Libya. Other objectives include containing the unrest provoked by Turkey’s intervention in the conflict and mitigating the consequences for relations between countries of the eastern Mediterranean, as well as solving the oil problem, considered by the USA to be at the core of the conflict. Finally, with US presidential elections approaching, a breakthrough on the settlement would benefit President Trump: the conflict in Libya was one of the topics used as propaganda in the 2012 and 2016 elections, on the back of the 2012 killing of the US Ambassador to Libya in Benghazi.

2. The current US approach aligns with several of Cairo's objectives in this conflict. The first is the desire to ensure the unity of Libyan territory, so that the return to a three-region system does not lead to support for partition. Using the three-region system, Sirte has therefore been designated the seat of legislative and executive power for the remainder of the transition period, as discussed during the current round of negotiations. Second is the desire to protect Egyptian interests in Libya and prevent Egypt’s self-declared “red line” from being conceded without the need for direct military intervention. The US intervention is helping to achieve this, with its guarantee to curb the Turkish push in Libya. Egypt’s third objective is to prevent the further militarization of the conflict, thereby allowing it to work with Russia to jointly invest in supporters of the former regime and integrate them into the political process, as an alternative to continuing their hidden rivalry for military control in the east of the country if the armed aspect of the conflict persists.

3. At the local level, the cost of a military solution can be cited as one of the main drivers of the flexibility shown by Libyan stakeholders. Being particularly sensitive to human losses, tribes in the east of the country are unwilling to see armed confrontations move into their territory.

The protests that have recently spread to cities in the east of the country are also a factor. Set against a backdrop of deteriorating living conditions, these demonstrations may yet be used to exert pressure on the parties controlling the east with a view to softening their stances on controversial issues. There are also signs that steps are being taken to respond to US demands to reopen oil facilities.

Moreover, by agreeing to draft a new formula for consensus, ruling parties in the east and west of the country have gained a renewed legitimacy, despite rising popular tensions and the increasing severity of criticisms and accusations by security officials. As evidence of this new legitimacy, in the second week of September the European Union removed Chancellor Aguila Saleh from the sanctions list, as well as former General National Congress President Nuri Abusahmain and Khalifa al-Ghweil, President of the former National Salvation Government.

Obstacles to a successful settlement

Although numerous factors have come together to create an environment more conducive to reaching a settlement than in previous years, many major challenges remain. It is difficult to envisage all of these challenges being overcome either in the current negotiating round or, more importantly, during the implementation of commitments in the 18 months prior to the agreed presidential and parliamentary elections. Below is a list of the most pertinent challenges:

1. The plurality of actors in the Libyan conflict – which US Assistant Secretary of Near Eastern Affairs David Schenker described this month as the conflict’s biggest challenge – is likely to cause more difficulties. Schenker stressed that the goal of the US during current negotiations is to “make small gains on the ground.”

In this context, it is remarkable that in statements made by both Stephanie Williams, the UN mission’s Acting Special Representative, and the US Embassy in Tripoli, the apparent emphasis is on the importance of preventing foreign interference and the fact that current negotiations aim to return the Libyan issue to Libyan hands entirely. This may explain the silent anticipation displayed by most external parties concerning the ongoing negotiations and their minimal public engagement with all developments to date.

However, neither this response by external parties nor the apparent desire of the USA to prevent foreign interference in the negotiation process reflects the nature of the conflict or the true relative power of the various external actors, especially since the current US sponsorship of the negotiations simultaneously reduces both Russian and Turkish influence.

Countries in the region are also competing for regional influence; Algeria, in particular, is traditionally very sensitive to the roles played by both Egypt and Morocco in the region. It is clear that ever since the twofold call for a ceasefire from al-Sarraj and Saleh on August 20, developments in the current negotiations have been the product of joint coordination between Cairo and Washington. Similarly, the fact that Morocco was the country to host the first rounds of dialogue has led to the media dubbing the new potential agreement “Skhirat 2.” In this context, in the second week of September Algerian Foreign Minister Sabri Boukadoum announced that his country, in coordination with Tunisia, would host a dialogue between the Libyan stakeholders. This could create conflict between international parties sponsoring the negotiations.

2. The second challenge is the existence of several protracted issues which are proving difficult to reach agreement on. In the past, official actors have had difficulties in reaching a preliminary agreement on these issues, the most important of which concern security, the military, and the future of the armed militias. Agreement is yet to be reached as to whether the armed militias should be dismantled or should have their members re-integrated into the country’s military and police institutions, which becomes more pertinent in light of the fact that some militias are infiltrating civil institutions, particularly economic and financial institutions, by recruiting loyalists from within the governing bodies of these institutions and connecting themselves to a wide network of profiteers.

Protracted disputes also persist over the limits on the permissible role of Islamists and the accepted presence of weapons in the hands of extremist groups. Some militia leaders are on UN and US terrorist lists, yet hold official military ranks with the Government of National Accord and have close political alliances within their cities and tribes. Many potential aggrieved parties are armed and linked to large internal and external support networks. As such, it is easy to imagine that any agreed obligations may be disrupted.

Furthermore, militia leaders in western Libya have repeatedly called for demonstrations in front of the Presidential Council. There have also been repeated calls to oppose the appointment of a figure from the Gaddafi regime as head of the Libyan Media Association. Additionally, the leader of the Sumud Brigade, Salah Badi, who is on the UN Security Council sanctions list, has called for demonstrations against the appointment of militia leader Emad al-Trabulsi as Deputy Head of Intelligence. In addition to repeated objections from members of the High Council of State, objections from other actors are expected to arise once the appointment of individuals to positions within the unified government begins. The potential intensification of these objections will likely affect the possibility of achieving substantial progress towards a stable settlement.

Conclusion

  • The current round of negotiations to achieve a settlement on the Libyan conflict seems likely to see greater progress compared to previous rounds. This is mainly due to active US involvement in sponsoring the negotiations, with the rest of the international actors stepping aside. In addition, considering the increased possibility of new confrontations between regional parties from both camps, a military stalemate has formed between the two sides of the conflict, since dire consequences are expected in the event that new armed confrontations break out.
  • External actors are not expected to continue to refrain from interfering heavily in the negotiation process. Their current silence may last at most until the end of the US presidential elections, by which point the direction of the new US administration will become apparent. Moreover, the conflicting interests and calculations of the external actors, even within the same camp, will provide ample room for maneuver for the Libyan parties.
  • Disruption is likely to come mainly from local actors, particularly informal militias and tribal forces. However, the effectiveness of these efforts will depend on the presence of undeclared support from external actors.

Latest Scenarios