أزمة الاحتجاجات في بيلاروسيا والسيناريوهات المحتملة

باسم راشد | 06 سبتمبر 2020

ازدادت الأوضاع الداخلية في بيلاروسيا اضطراباً منذ الإعلان عن فوز الرئيس الحالي ألكسندر لوكاشينكو (65 عاماً) بولاية سادسة في الانتخابات الرئاسية في 11 أغسطس الماضي؛ إذ تبع ذلك الإعلان احتجاجات غاضبة جابت شوارع العاصمة مينسك، وانتقل صداها إلى عدة مدن أخرى، رافضةً نتائج الانتخابات، التي وصفتها بالمزوَّرة، وطالب المُحتجُّون الرئيس لوكاشينكو بالرحيل عن السلطة وإنهاء حكمه السلطوي لبيلاروسيا.

السياق الداخلي للأزمة

أُجريت الانتخابات الرئاسية البيلاروسية في سياق سياسي غير ديمقراطي، وشهدت مساعي للتضييق على المنافسين منذ بدايتها حتى إعلان النتائج وما لحقها من احتجاجات، وقد انعكس ذلك في عدة أمور:

  • غياب التنافسية؛ فلم تُسجِّل لجنة الانتخابات في بيلاروسيا سوى 5 مرشحين فقط، وتم استبعاد "فيكتور باباريكو"، وهو مصرفي اُعتقل في شهر يونيو 2020، بسبب قضية جنائية رفعت ضده، كما اُستبعد أيضاً "فاليري تسيبكالو"، وهو سفير سابق، بعد إلغاء توقيعات على التماس يقدم له الدعم. وكان يُنظر للمرشحيْن على نطاق واسع على أنهما أوفر المرشحين المتبقين حظاً في الفوز على لوكاشينكو. هذا بالإضافة إلى رفض تسجيل المرشح السابق لانتخابات 2010 "نيكولاي ستاتكيفيتش"، باعتبار أن له سجلاً إجرامياً، والمقصود بذلك تزعمه لمظاهرات المعارضة عام 2010.
  • التضييق على المرشَّحين المُسجَّلين: كانت المرشحة المعارضة سفيتلانا تيخنوفسكيا (37 عاماً) أبرز المنافسين للوكاشينكو، وخاضت الانتخابات بدلاً من زوجها المدوِّن المُعتقَل سيرغي تيكانوفسكي، الذي لم يتمكن من توقيع وثائق ترشحه لأنه كان تحت الاعتقال الإداري. وهي نفسها تعرَّضت للاعتقال ثم أفرج عنها عشية الانتخابات الرئاسية لإضعاف فرص فوزها.
  • قَمْع الاحتجاجات قبل الانتخابات؛ إذ اعتقلت الشرطة البيلاروسية المئات من المتظاهرين في مسعى لقمع الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة قبل إجراء الانتخابات، وجرى إخضاعهم للتحقيقات والتعذيب في بعض الأحيان، بحسب بعض المزاعم.

في هذا المناخ السياسي، أُجريت الانتخابات الرئاسية التي حصد فيها لوكاشينكو 80.23% من الأصوات، فيما حصلت منافسته الأهم "تيخانوفسكايا" على 9.9% من الأصوات، وقد اتهمت تيخنوفسكيا الرئيس لوكاشينكو بتزوير نتائج الانتخابات لصالحه، وسرعان ما هربت من البلاد إلى ليتوانيا في أعقاب إعلان النتائج النهائية خوفاً من تعرُّضها للاعتقال، مما قاد إلى سلسلة من المظاهرات المنتظمة المطالبة برحيل لوكاشينكو، وعلى إثرها قُتِلَ بعض المتظاهرين واعتقل الآلاف حتى الآن. وقد دفع اتساع رقعة المظاهرات وزيادة حدتها إلى تهديد لوكاشينكو باستخدام الجيش للدفاع عن سلطته.

وبرغم المواجهة الشُرَطَية العنيفة للمتظاهرين إلا أنه يتم تنظيم مظاهرات كل أحد بالآلاف في العاصمة مينسك، فضلاً عن احتجاجات يومية أصغر حجماً في عدة مدن بخلاف العاصمة لتعبِّر عن استمرار الرفض للوكاشينكو وعدم التراجع عن مطلب إسقاط النظام، بل إن هناك دعوات بين المتظاهرين لتصعيد الأمور ومواصلة الضغط على النظام البيلاروسي، بالامتناع عن دفع الضرائب مثلاً.

دوافع الاحتجاجات

لم تكن الانتخابات الرئاسية الأخيرة هي السبب الرئيس للاحتجاجات ضد نظام لوكاشينكو بقدر ما كانت كاشفة - كما يقول بعض المراقبين - عن مثالب نظام حكمه، وعجزه عن تحقيق طموحات مواطني بلاده في حياة أفضل، ومعبِّرة في الوقت ذاته عن ضيق هؤلاء مما آلت إليه الأوضاع السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية في بيلاروسيا. لذلك اشترك معظم فئات الشعب البيلاروسي في هذه المظاهرات، بداية من الطلاب وحتى الطبقة الوسطى الذين قبلوا لسنوات طويلة القيود المفروضة على دكتاتورية لوكاشينكو مقابل خدمات عامة لائقة وحياة مريحة بمعايير أوروبا الشرقية.

وقد حفَّزت هذه الاضطرابات مجموعة من الأسباب؛ منها ما هو متراكم منذ سنوات، ومنها نتج عن أزمات ناشئة مثل تفشي وباء "كوفيد-19"؛ وتتمثل أبرز هذه الدوافع:

  • الحكم الاستبدادي الطويل؛ إذ يحكم لوكاشينكو بيلاروسيا منذ استقلالها عام 1994، أي منذ 26 عاما، ويُتَّهم بكونه آخر ديكتاتور في أوروبا، إذ يسيطر على القنوات الإعلامية الرئيسة ويسجن المعارضين ويهمِّش الأصوات المستقلة، ويُضيِّق على حرية الرأي، كما يُتَّهم بانتهاك حقوق الإنسان ليس للمعارضين فحسب، بل للمواطنين العاديين أيضاً.
  • تغييب المعارضة السياسية؛ فعلى المستوى السياسي، لا تحظى المعارضة في بيلاروسيا بأي فرصة؛ فعلى سبيل المثال لم تحصل الأحزاب المعارضة على أية مقاعد برلمانية في انتخابات نوفمبر 2019؛ التي أسفرت عن فوز الأحزاب الموالية للرئيس بجميع مقاعد مجلس النواب وعددها 110 مقاعد، نتيجة عمليات تزوير واسعة كما وصفتها الأحزاب المعارضة، وكذلك منظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا التي تراقب الانتخابات البيلاروسية.
  • تراجُع الأوضاع الاقتصادية والاجتماعية؛ خاصة بعد فترة الكساد الكبيرة التي شهدتها بيلاروسيا منذ عام 2014، ولم تحقق مؤشرات إيجابية أولية سوى في 2017. وبرغم قيام الحكومة ببعض الإصلاحات الاقتصادية مثل تسهيلات ممارسة الأعمال التجارية، لكن من غير المتوقع أن تُرسي مثل هذه التدابير أسس نمو اقتصادي مستقر، وفقاً لخبراء الاقتصاد.
  • الاستجابة الحكومية السيئة لأزمة "كوفيد-19"؛ فمنذ ظهور الفيروس وتفشيه في العالم لم تتخذ بيلاروسيا إجراءات وتدابير ملموسة لمواجهته مثل الإغلاق أو تشديد إجراءات التباعد الاجتماعي وغيره من التدابير المعتادة، بل إن لوكاشينكو قلَّل من أهمية الوباء ونصح المواطنين بشرب الفودكا واستخدام حمامات البخار لمحاربة المرض. ونتيجة لذلك انتشر الفيروس في بيلاروسيا بشكل ملحوظ؛ حيث أُصيب ما يقرب من 70 ألف شخص وحوالي 600 حالة وفاة من إجمالي 9.5 مليون نسمة في بيلاروسيا.

التفاعل الدولي

حظيت التطورات السياسية الأخيرة في بيلاروسيا باهتمام عالمي ملحوظ، لذا يمكن رصد التفاعل الدولي في اتجاهين أساسيين:

الاتجاه الأول، داعم للمظاهرات السلمية ورافض للتجاوزات التي حدثت في الانتخابات الرئاسية. ويقود هذا الاتجاه الاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة اللذين قاما بما يأتي:

  • أعرب قادة الاتحاد الأوروبي عن احتجاجهم على استخدام شرطة مكافحة الشغب البيلاروسية خراطيم المياه وقنابل الصوت لمواجهة الحشود التي تتهم السلطات بتزوير نتائج الانتخابات؛ إذ أكد ممثل السياسة الخارجية للاتحاد الأوروبي جوزيف بوريل أن هناك "عنف دولة غير مقبول ضد المحتجين السلميين".
  • وافق الاتحاد الأوروبي في 28 أغسطس 2020 على فرض عقوبات على 20 مسؤولاً رفيعاً في بيلاروسيا، من بينهم الرئيس لوكاشينكو، تحت ذريعة تورطهم في تزوير الانتخابات الرئاسية وحملات فرض النظام واستخدام العنف ضد المتظاهرين.
  • أعلن كلٌ من إستونيا وليتوانيا ولاتفيا في أول سبتمبر الجاري حظر دخول 30 مسؤولاً بيلاروسياً لأراضيهم، من بينهم الرئيس لوكاشينكو، وتعد هذه العقوبات هي الأولى ضد مينسك إثر التطورات الأخيرة.
  • وصف وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو، الحالة التى تعيشها بيلاروسيا بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية الأخيرة، بأنها "مأساة"، مؤكداً "أن الانتخابات في بيلاروسيا لم تكن عادلة أو حرة"، ومُتعهداً بأن تدعم واشنطن "القوى الديمقراطية" فى البلاد.
  • عبَّر الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب عن "قلقه الشديد" بشأن الأوضاع في بيلاروسيا، وحثَّ الحكومة البيلاروسية على "احترام الحق في التجمع السلمي والامتناع عن استخدام القوة"، كما أعلن أنه سيتحدث مع روسيا بشأن الوضع في بيلاروسيا، واصفا احتجاجات مواطنيها بالسلمية.

أما الاتجاه الثاني، فتدعم فيه روسيا بقوة حليفها الرئيس البيلاروسي؛ وتعتمد على استراتيجية سياسية ذات عنصرين، هما:

  1. الدعم الكامل للرئيس لوكاشينكو، سواء من الناحية الأمنية أو السياسية؛ إذ أعلن الرئيس بوتين في 16 أغسطس الماضي استعداد موسكو تقديم مساعدات عسكرية لضمان أمن بيلاروسيا في حال تعرُّضها لتهديدات عسكرية خارجية (علماً بأن لدى روسيا 3 قواعد عسكرية في بيلاروسيا). كما أعلن في 27 أغسطس تشكيل قوة احتياطية أمنية لمساعدة بيلاروسيا، للتدخل إذا لزم الأمر في حالة وقوع أعمال شغب وسرقة ونهب.
  2. رفض التدخل الخارجي في الشؤون الداخلية لبيلاروسيا؛ إذ حذَّرت روسيا أكثر من مرة الدول الأوروبية والولايات المتحدة من التدخل بأي شكل من الأشكال في شؤون بيلاروسيا، بما في ذلك الدعم العلني للمظاهرات المناهضة للحكومة.

سيناريوهات محتملة

من واقع التطورات على أرض الواقع، من غير المحتمل أن يتراجع المتظاهرون عن مطالبهم برحيل لوكاشينكو، وفي المقابل لا يُبدي الأخير استعداداً للتخلي عن السلطة. إلا أن الموقف في بيلاروسيا يزداد تعقيداً مع تزايد حالة الاستقطاب من الخارج والداخل، واستقالة بعض الموالين للرئيس سواء في الإعلام أو السلك الدبلوماسي، حيث استقال سفيران حتى الآن. ويضع هذا الوضع بيلاروسيا أمام عدة سيناريوهات مُمكِنَة:

السيناريو الأول: استقالة الرئيس لوكاشينكو من منصبه بشكل طوعي استجابة لضغط المتظاهرين وتشكيل حكومة جديدة ومن ثم انتخابات جديدة، على أن يتم تشكيل مجلس لإدارة الدولة يضم رموزاً من المعارضة لحين تعديل الدستور وإجراء الانتخابات. ولن يحدث ذلك السيناريو إلا باتفاق مُسبق مع جميع الأطراف الفاعلة وفي مقدمتها روسيا والاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة والرئيس لوكاشينكو نفسه.

السيناريو الثاني: انحياز الجيش والشرطة للمتظاهرين والتدخل لإزاحة الرئيس من منصبه بالقوة، وفى هذه الحالة سيتم تشكيل حكومة جديدة وإجراء انتخابات جديدة أيضاً بشكل مشابه للسيناريو الأوكراني. ويُهدد هذا السيناريو احتمال تدخل روسيا لإنقاذ لوكاشينكو إذا رفضت قوات الأمن تنفيذ أوامره.

السيناريو الثالث: قَمْع الحراك الاحتجاجي وبقاء الرئيس لوكاشينكو فى السلطة بمساعدة روسية، وفى هذه الحالة سيظل لوكاشينكو أسيراً لموسكو التي ربما تفرض عليه اتفاقاً اتحادياً أو شبه اتحادي، ليتحوَّل حينها من رئيس دولة مستقلة ذات سيادة إلى أشبه بحاكم إقليم داخل روسيا، كما أنه سيبقى محاصراً في الوقت ذاته من الاتحاد الأوروبى، ويعتمد بشكل أكبر على المساعدات الروسية.

خلاصة

من غير المرجح أن يتم تنفيذ أي سيناريو من السيناريوهات السابقة بمعزل عن مصالح الأطراف الخارجية الفاعلة في الأزمة، خصوصاً روسيا والاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة. لكن إزاحة لوكاشينكو من منصبه يعد أكثر الاحتمالات ترجيحاُ في الفترة المقبلة، بيد أن هذا السيناريو لن يتحقق إلا بتنسيق مسبق وواضح مع الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين الذي لن يسمح مطلقاً بتكرار السيناريو الأوكراني في بيلاروسيا، فضلاً عن تخوفه من احتمالية انتشار عدوى مينسك إلى دول أخرى مثل طاجيكستان وتركمنستان وكازاخستان، بل وروسيا نفسها. وتجدر الإشارة هنا أن الاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة يتواصلان بشكل مستمر مع الرئيس بوتين لاحتواء الأزمة، وإيجاد مخرج مناسب لها دون الإضرار بمصالح أي طرف، وهذا يعني أن سيناريو خروج لوكاشينكو من السلطة يظل الأقرب للتحقق.

من ناحية أخرى، فبرغم ما يبدو عليه لوكاشينكو من صلابة ظاهرية وإصرار على الاحتفاظ بمنصبه، إلا أنه فى واقع الأمر يتفاوض حول مستقبله مع المحيطين به، وبعض اللاعبين من الخارج، وفقاً لبعض المحللين. ومن ثمَّ، يظل مصير بيلاروسيا السياسي مرهوناً بالتطورات على أرض الواقع، وما قد تؤول إليه اتفاقات الفاعلين الخارجيين، وحدود الضغط الذي يمكن ممارسته على لوكاشينكو من جانب روسيا.

سيناريوهات

Protests’ Crisis in Belarus and the Likely Scenarios

​Bassem Rashed | 06 Sep 2020

The internal turmoil in Belarus has exacerbated since the announcement that the 65-year-old incumbent president Alexander Lukashenko has won a sixth term in the presidential elections on 11 August 2020. The announcement was followed by angry protests that roamed the streets of the capital Minsk, and whose repercussions spread to several other cities, rejecting the results of the elections, which were described as rigged. The protesters called on President Lukashenko to leave office and end his authoritarian rule of Belarus.

The internal context of the crisis

The Belarusian presidential elections were held in a non-democratic political context, witnessing efforts to clamp down on competitors from their inception until the announcement of the results and the subsequent protests. This was reflected in several manifestations:

  • Lack of competitiveness. The electoral commission in Belarus registered only 5 candidates. Victor Babariko, a banker who was arrested in June 2020 due to a criminal case against him, was disqualified. Valery Tzipkalo, a former ambassador, was also excluded after the signatures of a petition submitted in his support was annulled. Both candidates were widely seen as the two remaining favorites to beat Lukashenko. In addition, the registration of the former candidate for the 2010 elections Nikolai (Mikola) Statkevich was refused on the grounds that he has a criminal record, in reference to his leadership of the opposition demonstrations in 2010.
  • Restriction on registered candidates: opposition candidate 37-year-old Svetlana Tikhnovskaya was Lukashenko's most prominent rival. She ran in the elections in place of her detained blogger husband Sergey Tikhanovsky who was unable to sign his candidacy documents because he was under administrative detention. Her campaign chief was arrested and released on the eve of the presidential elections to weaken her chances of winning.
  • Suppression of protests prior to the elections. Belarusian police arrested hundreds of demonstrators in an effort to quell anti-government protests before the elections. According to some allegations, they were subjected to investigations and at times torture.

In this political climate, the presidential elections were held where Lukashenko won 80.23 percent of the vote, while his most important rival Tikhanovskaya got 9.9 percent. Tikhnovskaya accused President Lukashenko of rigging the election results in his favour. She soon fled the country to Lithuania in the wake of the announcement of the final results for fear of being arrested. This led to a series of regular demonstrations demanding the departure of Lukashenko, in the aftermath of which some demonstrators were killed and thousands arrested so far. As the demonstrations became more widespread and more intense, Lukashenko threatened to use the army to defend his power.

Despite the violent police confrontation with the demonstrators, demonstrations are being organized every Sunday by the thousands in the capital Minsk, as well as daily smaller protests in several cities other than the capital to express the continued rejection of Lukashenko and the determination not to back down from the demand to overthrow the regime. There are even calls among the demonstrators for escalation and continuing to pressure the Belarusian regime, for example by refraining from paying taxes.

Motives for the protests

Rather than being the main cause of the protests against Lukashenko's regime, the recent presidential elections revealed – according to some observers – the flaws of his regime and his failure to achieve the aspirations of his country’s citizens for a better life. At the same time, they constituted an expression of the distress of those citizens over the political, economic and social conditions in Belarus. That is why most categories of the Belarusian people participated in those demonstrations, from students to members of the middle class who for many years had accepted the restrictions imposed by Lukashenko's dictatorship in exchange for the provision of decent public services and a comfortable life by Eastern European standards.

Those disorders were motivated by a host of causes. While some of them have accumulated for years, others have resulted from emerging crises such as the outbreak of the Covid-19 epidemic. The most prominent of those motives are as follows:

  • Long authoritarian rule: Lukashenko has been ruling Belarus since its independence in 1994, that is for 26 years. He is accused of being Europe’s last dictator as he controls the main media channels, imprisons dissidents, marginalises independent voices, and limits freedom of opinion. He is also accused of violating the human rights of not just opponents but ordinary citizens as well.
  • Elimination of political opposition: at the political level, the opposition in Belarus does not get any opportunity. For example, the opposition parties did not obtain any parliamentary seats in the November 2019 elections which resulted in the assumption by parties loyal to the President of all of the 110 seats in the House of Representatives, as a result of widespread fraud, as described by the opposition parties as well as the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OECD) which monitors the Belarusian elections.
  • Decline in economic and social conditions, especially after the long recession experienced by Belarus since 2014 where no initial positive indicators were recorded except in 2017. While the government has implemented some economic reforms such as granting concessions for doing business, according to economists, such measures are not expected to lay the foundations of a stable economic growth.
  • Poor government response to the Covid-19 crisis. Since the emergence of the virus and its spread in the world, Belarus has not taken concrete measures and actions to confront it, such as lockdowns or tightening social distancing measures and other usual measures. Instead, Lukashenko even downplayed the epidemic and advised citizens to drink vodka and use saunas to fight the disease. As a result, the virus has spread significantly in Belarus. Nearly 70,000 citizens were infected and nearly 600 people died out of Belarus’ total population of 9.5 million people.

International interaction

The recent political developments in Belarus have received remarkable global attention. Accordingly, international interaction can be monitored in two main directions:

The first trend supports the peaceful demonstrations and rejects the violations that occurred in the presidential elections. This trend is led by the European Union (EU) and the US, both of which have taken the following steps:

  • EU leaders have denounced the use of water cannons and stun grenades by the Belarusian riot police to confront the crowds which accuse the authorities of rigging the election results. The EU foreign policy representative Joseph Borrell emphasised that there is "unacceptable state violence against peaceful protesters".
  • On 28 August 2020, the EU agreed to impose sanctions on 20 high-ranking officials in Belarus, including President Lukashenko, on the pretext of their involvement in the rigging of the presidential elections, campaigns to impose order, and the use of violence against the demonstrators.
  • On 1 September 2020, Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia announced that 30 Belarusian officials were banned from entering their territories, including President Lukashenko. Those sanctions are the first against Minsk following the recent developments.
  • US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo described the situation in Belarus after the last presidential elections as a "tragedy", stressing that the election in Belarus was “not free and fair”, and pledging that Washington would support the "democratic forces" in the country.
  • US President Donald Trump said that he is “deeply concerned” about the situation in Belarus. He urged the Belarusian government to “respect the right to peaceably assemble and to refrain from use of force”. He also announced that he would speak with Russia about the situation in Belarus, describing the protests of its citizens as peaceful.

In the second trend, Russia strongly supports its ally the Belarusian president. It relies on a twofold political strategy, namely:

1. Offering full support for President Lukashenko at both the security and political levels. On 16 August 2020, President Putin announced Moscow's readiness to provide military aid to ensure the security of Belarus in the event that it faces foreign military threats (given that Russia has 3 military bases in Belarus). On 27 August 2020, he also announced the formation of a reserve security force to assist Belarus by intervening if necessary in the event of riots, theft and looting.

2. Rejection of outside interference in the internal affairs of Belarus. On more than one occasion, Russia warned European countries and the US against interfering in any way in Belarus’s affairs, including public support for anti-government demonstrations.

Possible scenarios

Given the developments on the ground, demonstrators are unlikely to back down from their demands for Lukashenko's departure. On the other hand, the latter is not willing to give up power. However, the situation in Belarus is getting more complicated with the increasing state of polarisation both abroad and at home and the resignation of some of the president’s loyalists from both the media and the diplomatic corps, given that two ambassadors have so far resigned. This situation puts Belarus in front of several possible scenarios:

First scenario: President Lukashenko voluntarily resigns from office in response to the pressure by the demonstrators, a new government is formed, and subsequently new elections are held, provided that a council would be formed to run the country that includes symbols of the opposition until the constitution is amended and elections are held. This scenario would not materialise without prior agreement with all the actors, especially Russia, the EU, the US, and President Lukashenko himself.

Second scenario: the army and police side with the demonstrators and intervene to remove the President from office by force, in which case a new government would be formed and new elections would also be held similar to the Ukrainian scenario. This scenario is threatened with the possibility that Russia would intervene to rescue Lukashenko if the security forces refuse to obey his orders.

Third scenario: the protest movement is suppressed and President Lukashenko remains in power with Russian help. In that case, Lukashenko would remain a prisoner of Moscow which may impose on him a federal or quasi-federal agreement, so that he would turn from the head of an independent and sovereign state to more of a regional governor inside Russia. At the same time, he would also remain besieged by the EU and rely more on Russian aid.

Conclusion

None of the above scenarios is likely to materialise in isolation from the interests of external actors in the crisis, especially Russia, the EU and the US, although removing Lukashenko from office is the most likely possibility in the coming period. However, this scenario would only materialise based on prior and clear coordination with Russian President Vladimir Putin who would never allow a repetition of the Ukrainian scenario in Belarus. In addition, Putin would fear the possibility of spread of the Minsk contagion to other countries such as Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, and indeed Russia itself. In this context, it should be noted that the EU and the US are in continuous contact with President Putin to contain the crisis and find an appropriate solution thereto without harming the interests of any party. This means that the scenario of Lukashenko's exit from power remains the closest to materialisation.

On the other hand, despite Lukashenko’s apparent toughness and determination to retain his position, according to some analysts, he is in fact negotiating about his future with those around him and some outside players. Hence, the political fate of Belarus remains dependent on developments on the ground, the consequences of agreements of external actors, and the limits of pressure that can be exerted on Lukashenko by Russia.

Latest Scenarios