لبنان بعد انفجار مرفأ بيروت: مسارات التحرُّك الدولي والخيارات السياسية المستقبلية

محمد قواص | 11 أغسطس 2020

أحدث الانفجار الذي وَقَع في مرفأ بيروت في 4 أغسطس الجاري، صدمةً محلية في لبنان، ولدى كافة عواصم العالم، على نحو أحدث ما يُشبه "انقلاباً دولياً عاماً" في كيفية مقاربة الملف اللبناني، وتسبَّب في حدوث زلزالٍ سياسي داخلي، بدءاً بالتحرك العنيف للشارع اللبناني المناهِض للطبقة الحاكمة بمجملها، ومروراً باستقالة حكومة حسان دياب في 10 من الشهر نفسه، وانتهاءً بطرح الخيارات والسيناريوهات المتعددة التي تنتظر لبنان خلال الأيام والأسابيع المقبلة، على طاولة البحث.

كارثة المرفأ: تواطؤ الفساد وسلاح حزب الله

تمثل كارثة انفجار 2750 طناً من مادة نيترات الأمونيوم كانت مُخزَّنة في أحد عنابر مرفأ بيروت (العنبر رقم 12)، واجهةً لحالة الفساد والتسيُّب التي تنخر المؤسسات الحكومية اللبنانية على مدى العقود التي تلت نهاية الحرب الأهلية (1990). كما يعكس الغموض الذي أحاط بقضية وصول هذه الشحنة من المواد القابلة للانفجار وظروف تخزينها منذ عام 2014، تواطؤ منظومة الفساد مع الأمر الواقع الذي يفرضه حزب الله على الدولة ومؤسساتها، لا سيما في واقع هيمنة الحزب على مرفأ ومطار بيروت ومنافذ البلد الشرعية وغير الشرعية.

وتطرح قضية الكارثة التي ألمت بالعاصمة اللبنانية خطورة تحالف السلاح والفساد على نحو سبب ما يشبه الإبادة لمدينة مثل بيروت، كما تطرح خطورة خيارات حزب الله وخططه على أمن اللبنانيين، كما على أمن المنطقة والبحر المتوسط. واللافت هو تصاعد المطالبة من داخل لبنان بإجراء تحقيق دولي أو عربي للكشف عن ملابسات الحدث، خصوصاً أن رئيس الجمهورية ميشال عون لم يستبعد أن يكون العمل عدواناً وليس مجرد حادث مأساوي غير مقصود.

وتأتي كارثة بيروت لتضاف إلى أزمة اقتصادية مالية نقدية غير مسبوقة أججت غضب الحراك الشعبي المندلع بمستويات متفاوتة منذ 17 أكتوبر 2019. ويساهم تفاقم الوضع المعيشي والسياسي والأمني في تضخم الضغط الداخلي لتغيير المنظومة السياسية الحاكمة، بحيث باتت المطالب هذه المرة تتجاوز مسألة إجراء انتخابيات مبكرة وتشكيل حكومة كفاءات غير سياسية، إلى المطالبة بإجراء انتخابات رئاسية مبكرة تُنهي عهد الرئيس الحالي ميشال عون.

زيارة ماكرون و"إنهاء" القطيعة الدولية مع لبنان

تمثل الزيارة التي قام بها الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون إلى بيروت بعد يومين من حدوث الكارثة مفترقاً جذرياً في السُّبل التي تعامل بها المجتمع الدولي مع ملف لبنان. وفيما كرَّس ماكرون في زيارته رمزية سياسية تُعبِّر عن العلاقات التاريخية الخاصة التي لطالما أولتها فرنسا إلى لبنان، إلا أن هدف الزيارة تجاوز بعدها الإنساني التضامني إلى بعد سياسي قد يؤسس لتحول جديد في مسار لبنان ومصيره من خلال الوقائع التالية:

1. تُفصِح زيارة ماكرون عن حملهِ خريطة طريق سياسية لإخراج البلد من نكبته الحالية ومن دوامة الأزمات التي تعصف به قبل ذلك. والظاهر أن تحرُّك ماكرون قد حظي بموافقة الرئيس الأميركي دونالد ترامب الذي قادت إدارته سياسة متشددة حيال بيروت تطالب الحكومة اللبنانية بإجراء إصلاحات جذرية داخل البنية الاقتصادية اللبنانية، بما في ذلك مكافحة الفساد وإقفال المعابر غير الشرعية وسيطرة الدولة على منافذ البلاد الشرعية والتقيد التام بالمعايير التي يفرضها صندوق النقد الدولي قبل الإفراج عن أي مساعدات مالية للبنان.

2. تُفصِح زيارة الرئيس الفرنسي عن سعيه لإقناع واشنطن بفك العزلة عن الشعب اللبناني بمناسبة هذه الكارثة، مقابل العمل على إقناع الساسة في لبنان بالانخراط في تحولات داخلية وإيجاد "عقد سياسي جديد"، باعتبار أن سياسة الضغط الأمريكية الحالية قد أنتجت مفاعيل عكسية في الداخل اللبناني، وعزَّزت وضع حزب الله بدلاً من أن تُقوِّضه.

3. يُفصِح تدفق المساعدات العربية والدولية باتجاه لبنان عن مقاربة يُراد منها منع الانهيار النهائي والكارثي للبلد الذي يستضيف أيضاً 1.5 مليون لاجئ سوري، دون أن يعني ذلك إعادة الوصل السياسي مع الدولة اللبنانية ورموزها بانتظار حدوث تغيير جدي في متن الأداء الحكومي وفي وجوه الحاكمين.

التحرُّك الدولي في لبنان بين الإنساني والسياسي

كانت السرعة التي تمكَّنت بها فرنسا، بشخص رئيسها، من عقد مؤتمر طارئ لمساعدة لبنان في 9 أغسطس، بحضور الرئيس ترامب ومشاركة 36 مسؤولًا من رؤساء وملوك ورؤساء حكومات ووزراء خارجية ومديري مؤسسات مالية دولية، تطوراً لافتاً. وكان من اللافت أيضاً إعلان ماكرون أن المبلغ الذي تم جمعه (حوالي 298 مليون دولار) هو بداية، والتأكيد على أن الأمم المتحدة ووكالاتها والمنظمات غير الحكومية هي التي ستتولى إدارة هذه المساعدات، ما أعاد الإعلان ضمناً عن عدم ثقة المجتمع الدولي بالدولة اللبنانية، وما نفى ما ذهب إليه الرئيس اللبناني ميشال عون من أن الكارثة هي "فرصة" لعودة الوصل الدولي (السياسي) مع لبنان.

وفيما تحدث بعض الإحصاءات عن حاجة لبنان إلى مساهمة دولية هائلة لإعادة إعمار بيروت ومرفئها (5-7 مليارات دولار)، فإن الدول المانحة لن تُقدِمَ على أي إنخراط جدي في مشاريع إعادة الإعمار قبل التأكد من حدوث تغيير حكومي يرضى به اللبنانيون، على نحو يعيد ثقة المجتمع الدولي، كما يوفر أرضية لاستقرار سياسي وأمني يمكن على أساسها إطلاق ورشة دولية لإعادة الإعمار.

آفاق المشهد السياسي اللبناني بعد زيارة ماكرون

ظهر من أداء الرئيس الفرنسي أثناء زيارته لبيروت مجموعة من العلامات التي يمكن أن تكون مؤشرات لمستقبل الحياة السياسية في لبنان. ويمكن إيجاز تلك العلامات بالنقاط التالية:

  • تأييده للحراك الشعبي ودعم مطالبه وتصريحه بغياب الثقة بين الشعب وسلطته.
  • استجابته لطلب الأهالي الذين التقاهم في بيروت بالتأكيد على أن المساعدات الدولية لن تصل إلى الدولة اللبنانية، بل سيتم تقديمها إلى المتضررين مباشرة، بما أظهر اتهاماً فرنسياً ودولياً بعجز المنظومة السياسية وضرورات تغييرها.
  • حديثه عن "عقد سياسي جديد"، وبالتالي دفعه باتجاه تغيير في الطريقة التي تدار بها الدولة اللبنانية بين المكونات السياسية اللبنانية.
  • تأكيده عدم دعوته كرئيس فرنسي لتغيير دستوري، معتبراً أن أمراً كهذا يُحدده اللبنانيون، بما يجعل دوره، ودور المجتمع الدولي من ورائه، محفزاً للتغيير وليس فارضاً له.
  • اجتماعه مع الرؤساء الثلاثة، ميشال عون ونبيه بري وحسان دياب، جاء بروتوكولياً، فيما أن اجتماعه مع قادة الأحزاب السياسية الأساسية في لبنان، بما في ذلك حزب الله، كان الأكثر توضيحاً للوجهات التي تدفع بها فرنسا لبنان والآفاق التي يعرضها المجتمع الدولي.
  • توجيه ماكرون اللوم إلى حدٍ وُصف بـ "التأنيب" إلى كل الطبقة السياسية، موالاة ومعارضة، مشاركين في الحكومة الحالية (المستقيلة) أو في الحكومات السابقة، مُناشداً الجميع الاتفاق على صيغة حكم جديدة والتوافق على تشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية.
  • لم يُشِر ماكرون أبداً إلى مسؤولية حزب الله وسلاحه وسلوكه في لبنان والمنطقة، وأعاد الأزمة إلى منظومة الفساد التي يتشارك بها الجميع. وقد وجَّه ماكرون الدعوة إلى حزب الله لحضور اجتماع قادة التيارات السياسية الكبرى، ولم يُمانِع من أن يمثل الحزب محمد رعد، رئيس كتلة حزب الله البرلمانية، وهو أحد قيادات الحزب المدرجين على لوائح العقوبات الأميركية.
  • شدَّد ماكرون على تشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية بصفتها أولوية على اقتراح الذهاب إلى انتخابات تشريعية مبكرة التي اعتبرها ضرورة، لكن إجراءها قد يستغرق وقتاً فيما معالجة الأزمة تحتاج إلى خيارات قصيرة الأجل.

الخيارات المستقبلية

1. خيار حكومة الوحدة الوطنية

يستطيع المراقب أن يستنتج بسهولة أن التطورات السياسية منذ زيارة ماكرون لا تبتعد عن العلامات التي أوحى بها الرئيس الفرنسي في لبنان، وأول هذه التطورات هو استقالة حكومة حسان دياب بما يُفسِح المجال للبحث في حكومة بديلة. وفيما يُشدِّد الشارع اللبناني على ضرورة رحيل الطبقة السياسية برمتها من خلال تشكيل حكومة مستقلة، يذهب بعض السيناريوهات المطروحة إلى أن الاتساق مع مقترح ماكرون بتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية، يقود إلى طاقم حكومي يكون برئاسة سعد الحريري زعيم تيار المستقبل، علماً أن الأخير كان قد اشترط قبل ذلك للقبول بهذا المنصب تشكيل حكومة خبراء مستقلة عن كل الطبقة السياسية، أو تشكيل حكومة سياسية لا يكون جبران باسيل، رئيس التيار الوطني الحر وصهر الرئيس عون، داخلها. وسبق لحزب الله أن رفض شروط الحريري التي تحرمه من نفوذ مباشر داخل الحكومة من جهة، وتنال من جهة أخرى من حليفه المسيحي الذي كان مخلصاً له منذ "ورقة التفاهم" المبرمة بين حسن نصر الله وميشال عون عام 2006.

وما زال من المبكر التأكيد عما إذا كانت الظروف السياسية التي يمر بها البلد منذ أشهر، وتداعيات كارثة مرفأ بيروت الأخيرة، وما تلاها من تحرك للمجتمع الدولي، قد أحدثت تحولات من شأنها تنازل الفرقاء عن شروطهم لإنتاج حكومة الوحدة الوطنية.

2. خيار الحكومة "المستقلة" أو "المُحايدة"

إذا كانت حكومة دياب قد مثّلت تجربة فاشلة في قيام حكومة مستقلة، إن لثبوت عدم استقلاليتها وخضوعها لسلطة تحالف الثنائية الشيعية والتيار العوني أو لثبوت عدم قدرة أية حكومة مستقلة على العمل داخل دولة عميقة تسيطر عليها القوى السياسية منذ نهاية الحرب الأهلية، فإنه سيكون صعباً تخيُّل الاهتداء إلى تجربة جديدة في هذا الصدد. وفيما يُطرَح من جديد اسم السفير نواف سلّام لتأليف حكومة مستقلة أو "محايدة"، وهو أمرٌ قد يروقُ للشارع اللبناني وللمجتمع الدولي، فإن رفض تولّيه هذه المهمة جاءَ من طرفِ حزب الله كرد فعل على مواقف الرجل من الحزب، والتي اعتبرها الحزب مُتماهيةً مع الأجندات الخارجية. وقد تعرَّض الرجل لحملة مركزة داخل بيئة حزب الله على نحو سيجعل القبول به مُجدداً هزيمة مدوّية للحزب. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا الخيار قد لا يكون مُستبعداً، طالما أن المصادر الإعلامية القريبة من الحزب قد سَرَّبت أن جبران باسيل حليف الحزب هو الذي يُعيد ترشيح سلام، علماً أن باسيل نفسه هو مَنْ رشَّح دياب قبل ذلك.

ومع أنه قد يكون مُستبَعداً خلال المدى القريب قيام حكومة مستقلة في لبنان بشكل كامل، بسبب رفض حزب الله في هذه الظروف التخلي عن نفوذه داخل أي حكومة وعدم استعداده تقديم الأمر دون مقابل سياسي وازن، إلا أن خيار "سلّام" قد يكون وارداً لتشكيل حكومة سياسية-تقنية، خصوصاً أنه مُقرَّب من الحريري، ما قد يُطمئن الحزب إلى أن سياسة الحكومة لن تكون معادية ولن تخرج عن رؤية الحريري في ربط النزاع مع الحزب بانتظار جلاء التطورات الدولية والإقليمية المتعلقة بإيران.

3. خيار الانتخابات المبكرة

تدعو خيارات أخرى إلى تشكيل الحكومة البديلة بعد إجراء انتخابات تشريعية مبكرة. وكان هذا الخيار قد طُرِحَ بعد انفجار الحراك الشعبي في لبنان قبل أشهر، إلا أنه قوبل برفض قاطع من قبل الثنائية الشيعية (حركة أمل وحزب الله) وتيار رئيس الجمهورية ميشال عون. وقد حاول رئيس الحكومة المستقيل حسان دياب إبعاد شبح الاستقالة عن حكومته من خلال الإعلان عن عزمه تقديم اقتراح لإجراء انتخابات نيابية مبكرة، إلا أن دعوة بري إلى جلسة برلمانية لمُساءَلة الحكومة، كشفت عن غضب زعيم حركة أمل وحزب الله ورئيس الجمهورية من مبادرة دياب بشأن انتخابات لا يريدونها. وتدور إشكالية إجراء الانتخابيات حول فرضيتين:

الأولى، أن الأمر يحتاج إلى قانون انتخابي جديد يأتي بديلاً عن القانون الذي وُضِع على مقاس التيار الوطني الحر برئاسة جبران باسيل ولمصلحة الثنائية الشيعية حتى لا تكون نتائج الانتخابات شبيهة بالمشهد البرلماني الحالي ونِسَب الأغلبية داخله (تميل حالياً لصالح حزب الله وحلفائه). ويَستبعِد المراقبون إنجاز ذلك سريعاً حتى لو تأكد فرضاً أن كافة الفرقاء وافقوا على إجراء الانتخابات.

الفرضية الثانية، إجراء الانتخابات هذه وفق القانون الحالي على مساوئه. ويعتبر المدافعون عن هذا الخيار أن الرأي العام اللبناني قد تغيَّر بشكل كبير منذ الانتخابات الأخيرة، وأن المشهد البرلماني الجديد سيتبدَّل بالنسب والوجوه حتى في ظل القانون الحالي.

4. خيار المؤتمر التأسيسي

يجري نقاشٌ آخر ليس بعيداً عن أجواء تحالف حزب الله وتيار رئيس الجمهورية مُستفيداً من دعوة ماكرون إلى "عقد سياسي جديد". وكان أمين عام حزب الله قد دعا منذ سنوات إلى مؤتمر تأسيسي لإعادة صياغة دستور لبنان، وبالتالي تغيير منظومة الحكم وإنهاء العمل باتفاق الطائف المعمول به منذ ثلاثة عقود. وقد فُهِمَ من هذه الدعوة أن هناك نزوعاً نحو إقامة نظام يقوم على المُثالَثة بين السنة والشيعة والمسيحيين بدل نظام المُناصَفة بين المسلمين والمسيحيين المعمول به حالياً. وقد توقَّف نصر الله عن إثارة الموضوع بسبب حساسيته الشديدة حتى لدى حلفاء الحزب.

ولمَّح عون مؤخراً إلى ضرورات التغيير في المنظومة السياسية اللبنانية، فيما جاءت زيارة ماكرون لتدفع بهذا الاتجاه، ما قد يحمِل حزب الله الذي حظي باعتراف كامل من قبل الرئيس الفرنسي مقارنة بمواقف بريطانيا وألمانيا والولايات المتحدة التي تعتبر الحزب منظمة إرهابية، إلى البناء على الموقف الفرنسي لتدشين ورشة دستورية تتيح له توسيع نفوذه دستورياً داخل النظام السياسي اللبناني.

وفيما ينظُر تحالف الثنائية الشيعية والتيار الوطني الحر بعين القلق للدعوات لإجراء انتخابات تشريعية مبكرة، فإن الدفع باتجاه التغيير الدستوري يسبب قلقاً بالمقابل لتيارات سياسية ما زالت تدافع بقوة عن اتفاق الطائف وعن فكرة المُناصَفة بين المسلمين والمسيحيين.

ومع ذلك، يجب الانتباه إلى أن لبنان، وبسبب كارثة بيروت وما خلفته من تداعيات، بات أولويةً داخل سلم الاهتمام الدولي المتعلق في المنطقة على النحو الذي يُفسِّر كثافة الاهتمام الدولي بالشؤون اللبنانية. وعلى هذا، فإن اللبنانيين قد لا يتمتعون بترف التدلُّل القديم، وإن عليهم الاستجابة لأجندات كبرى تُحضِّر المنطقة برمتها لتحولات فارِقة ومحورية. ومن الجدير مراقبة ما استجد حديثاً في ملف النزاع الحدودي بين لبنان وإسرائيل، سواء من خلال الإعلان اللافت لبرّي (حليف حزب الله) عن قرب التوصل إلى اتفاق، أو عبر إرسال واشنطن ديفيد هيل وكيل وزارة الخارجية الأميركية الأسبوع المقبل إلى المنطقة لبحث هذا الملف، ويؤشر ذلك إلى أن لبنان دخل في مرحلة التسويات والمقايضات التي ستملي شروطها على كل الطبقة السياسية في البلاد.

سيناريوهات

Lebanon After the Beirut Port Explosion: International Action Paths and Future Political Options

Mohamad Kawas | 11 Aug 2020

The explosion that occurred in the port of Beirut on 4 August 2020 has caused a local shock in Lebanon and in all capitals of the world in a manner that resembles a "general international revolution" in how to approach the Lebanese file. It has also caused an internal political earthquake, from the violent movement of the Lebanese street that is opposed to the ruling class as a whole, to the resignation of Hassan Diab's government on 10 August 2020 and the putting forward for discussion of the various options and scenarios that await Lebanon in the coming days and weeks.

The Port Disaster: the Collusion of Corruption and Hezbollah's Weapons

The disaster of the explosion of 2,750 tons of ammonium nitrate, which were stored in one of the warehouses of the Beirut port (warehouse No. 12), reflects the state of corruption and laxity that has been plaguing Lebanese government institutions over the decades that followed the end of the Civil War (1990). The ambiguity surrounding the issue of the arrival of this shipment of explosive materials and their storage conditions since 2014 also reflects the collusion of the corruption system with the de facto situation imposed by Hezbollah on the state and its institutions, especially in view of Hezbollah’s domination of Beirut's port and airport and the country's legal and illegal border crossings.

The disaster that has befallen the Lebanese capital raises the issue of the danger of the alliance of arms and corruption in a manner that caused what looked like the annihilation of a city like Beirut. It also raises the danger of Hezbollah's options and plans for the security of the Lebanese, as well as the security of the region and the Mediterranean. What is striking is the rising demands from within Lebanon to conduct an international or Arab investigation to reveal the circumstances of the incident, especially that President Michel Aoun did not rule out that the act could be aggression and not just an unintended tragic accident.

The Beirut disaster adds to an unprecedented economic, financial, and monetary crisis that has fueled the anger of the popular movement that has raged at varying levels since 17 October 2019. The exacerbation of the living, political and security conditions contributes to increasing internal pressure to change the ruling political system. This time, the demands go beyond the issue of holding early elections and the formation of a government of non-political competencies to the demand for early presidential elections to end the term of current President Michel Aoun.

Macron's visit and "ending" the international boycott of Lebanon

The visit by French President Emmanuel Macron to Beirut two days after the disaster marks a fundamental turning point in the ways in which the international community has dealt with the Lebanon file. While Macron established in his visit a political symbolism that expresses the special historical relations that France has always maintained with Lebanon, the goal of the visit went beyond its humanitarian and solidarity dimension to a political dimension that may establish a new shift in Lebanon's path and destiny through the following facts:

1. Macron's visit reveals that he was carrying a political road map to extricate the country from its current plight and the cycle of crises that beset it before that. It seems that Macron's move had gained the approval of US President Donald Trump whose administration has been pursuing a hard-line policy towards Beirut, demanding that the Lebanese government undertake fundamental reforms within the Lebanese economic structure, including combating corruption, closing illegal crossings, state control over the country's legal crossings, and full compliance with the standards imposed by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) before releasing any financial aid to Lebanon.

2. The visit of the French President reveals his endeavor to persuade Washington to end the isolation of the Lebanese people on the occasion of this disaster in exchange for working to persuade the politicians in Lebanon to engage in internal transformations and create a "new political contract", given that the current US pressure policy has had adverse effects inside Lebanon and strengthened Hezbollah's position instead of undermining it.

3. The influx of Arab and international aid towards Lebanon reveals an approach that is intended to prevent the final and catastrophic collapse of the country that also hosts 1.5 million Syrian refugees, without this meaning re-establishing the political engagement with the Lebanese state and its symbols, pending a serious change in the government’s performance and in the faces of the rulers.

The international action in Lebanon: humanitarian versus political

The speed with which France, in the person of its president, was able to hold an emergency conference to aid Lebanon on 9 August 2020, with attendance of President Trump and the participation of 36 officials, including presidents, kings, heads of government, foreign ministers, and directors of international financial institutions, a remarkable development. Also remarkable was the announcement by Macron that the amount collected (nearly 298 million dollars) was a start, and the assertion that the United Nations (UN), its agencies and non-governmental organizations will manage this aid. This implicitly reiterated the international community’s lack of confidence in the Lebanese state and denied the assertion by Lebanese President Michel Aoun that the disaster is an "opportunity" for the return of the international (political) engagement with Lebanon.

While some statistics talked about Lebanon's need for a huge international contribution to rebuild Beirut and its port (5-7 billion dollars), donor countries will not get seriously involved in any reconstruction projects before making sure that a government change that satisfies the Lebanese has taken place, in a way that restores the confidence of the international community and also provides a basis for political and security stability on the basis of which an international reconstruction workshop can be launched.

Prospects for the Lebanese political scene after Macron's visit

The performance of the French President during his visit to Beirut has revealed a number of signs that could be indicators of the future of the political life in Lebanon. These signs can be summarized in the following points:

  • His support for the popular movement and its demands, and his indication of the absence of trust between the people and its authority.
  • His response to the request of the inhabitants he met in Beirut by affirming that international aid will not reach the Lebanese state, but rather will be directly provided to those affected, which demonstrated a French and international accusation of the political system of impotence and the need to change it.
  • His talk of a "new political contract", and thus his drive towards a change in the way the Lebanese state is run between the Lebanese political components.
  • His assertion that, as a French president, he is not calling for a constitutional change, considering that such a matter would be determined by the Lebanese, which renders his role and, by extension, the role of the international community, a catalyst for change and not an imposer of it.
  • His meeting with the three presidents, Michel Aoun, Nabih Berri and Hassan Diab, came as a matter of protocol, while his meeting with the leaders of the main political parties in Lebanon, including Hezbollah, was more revealing of the directions in which France is pushing Lebanon and the prospects presented by the international community.
  • Macron directed the blame, to the extent described as "reprimand", to the entire political class, loyalists and opposition, participants in the current (resigned) government or in previous governments, calling on everyone to agree on a new ruling formula and agree to form a national unity government.
  • Macron never mentioned the responsibility of Hezbollah or its weapons and behavior in Lebanon and the region. He attributed the crisis to the system of corruption in which everyone is involved in. Macron invited Hezbollah to attend the meeting of the leaders of the major political currents, and did not object to Hezbollah being represented by Mohammad Raad, head of Hezbollah’s parliamentary bloc, who is one of Hezbollah’s leaders featuring on the US sanctions list.
  • Macron stressed the formation of a national unity government as a priority compared to the proposition of holding early legislative elections, which he considered a necessity, although its implementation may take time while dealing with the crisis needs short-term options.

Future options

1. The option of a national unity government

An observer can easily conclude that the political developments since Macron's visit do not deviate from the signs that the French President has suggested in Lebanon. The first of those developments is the resignation of Hassan Diab's government, which paves the way for the discussion of an alternative government. While the Lebanese street stresses the necessity of the departure of the entire political class through the formation of an independent government, some of the scenarios put forward indicate that consistency with Macron's proposal of forming a national unity government leads to a government team headed by Saad Hariri, leader of the Future Movement, given that Hariri had previously indicated that he would accept this position under the condition of the formation of a government of experts that is independent of the entire political class, or the formation of a political government that does not include Gebran Bassil, leader of the Free Patriotic Movement and President Aoun's son-in-law. Hezbollah had previously rejected Hariri's conditions that deprive it of direct influence within the government on the one hand, and on the other hand undermine its Christian ally, who was loyal to Hezbollah since the "understanding paper" concluded between Hassan Nasrallah and Michel Aoun in 2006.

It is still too early to confirm whether the political conditions that the country has been going through for months, the repercussions of the recent Beirut port disaster, and the subsequent actions by the international community, have caused transformations that would lead the protagonists to give up their conditions to produce a national unity government.

2. The option of an "independent" or "neutral" government

while the Diab government constituted a failed experiment in establishing an independent government, whether because of its evident lack of independence and subservience to the authority of the alliance between the Shiite Duo and the Aounist Movement, or because it is evident that no independent government had been capable of operating within a deep state dominated by political powers since the end of the Civil War, it would be difficult to imagine finding a new experience in this regard. While the name of Ambassador Nawaf Salam is proposed again to form an independent or "neutral" government, which may appeal to the Lebanese street and the international community, the rejection that Salam assume this task came from Hezbollah as a reaction to Salam's stances on Hezbollah, which Hezbollah considered to be aligned with foreign agendas. Salam came under an intensive campaign within the Hezbollah environment in a manner that would make accepting him again a resounding defeat for Hezbollah. However, this option may not be excluded, considering that the media sources close to Hezbollah have leaked that Gebran Bassil, Hezbollah’s ally, is the one who is re-nominating Salam, given that Basil himself was the one who nominated Diab before.

While it is unlikely that a fully independent government would be established in Lebanon in the near term due to Hezbollah’s refusal in these circumstances to relinquish its influence within any government and its unwillingness to take this step without a significant political return, the Salam option may be plausible to form a political-technical government, especially that he is close to Hariri. This may reassure Hezbollah that the government's policy would not be hostile and would not go beyond Hariri's vision of dispute settlement with Hezbollah pending the clarification of international and regional developments related to Iran.

3. The option of early elections

Other options call for the formation of the alternative government after holding early legislative elections. This option had been put forward after the outbreak of the popular movement in Lebanon months ago, but it was met with categorical rejection by the Shiite Duo (Amal Movement and Hezbollah) and the movement of President Michel Aoun. The resigned Prime Minister Hassan Diab tried to ward off the spectre of resignation from his government by announcing his intention to submit a proposal to hold early parliamentary elections. However, Berri's call for a parliamentary session to hold the government accountable revealed the anger of the leader of the Amal Movement, Hezbollah and the President of the Republic at Diab’s initiative regarding elections that they did not want. The problem of holding the elections revolves around two assumptions:

The first is that the matter needs a new electoral law that would be an alternative to the law that was tailored to the Free Patriotic Movement headed by Gebran Bassil and in the interest of the Shiite Duo, so that the election results would not be similar to the current parliamentary scene and the majority proportions within it (currently leaning in favour of Hezbollah and its allies). According to observers, this is unlikely to materialize quickly, even if it is assumed that all the protagonists agreed to holding the elections.

The second assumption is to hold those elections under the current law despite its disadvantages. Advocates of this option believe that the Lebanese public opinion has changed dramatically since the last elections, and that the new parliamentary scene would change in terms of proportions and faces even under the current law.

4. The Founding Conference option

Another discussion is taking place not far from the atmosphere of the alliance between Hezbollah and the President of the Republic, taking advantage of Macron's call for a “new political contract”. Years ago, the Secretary-General of Hezbollah had called for a founding conference to redraft the Constitution of Lebanon, thus changing the system of government and ending the implementation of the Taif Accord, which has been in force for three decades. It was understood from this call that there is a tendency towards establishing a tripartite system between Sunnis, Shiites and Christians, instead of the system of parity between Muslims and Christians in force today. Nasrallah stopped raising the issue due to its extreme sensitivity even among Hezbollah allies.

Aoun recently hinted at the necessities of change in the Lebanese political system, while Macron's visit contributed to pushing in this direction. This may drive Hezbollah, which had the full recognition of the French President as opposed to the positions of Britain, Germany and the United States which consider Hezbollah a terrorist organization, to build on the French position to launch a constitutional workshop that allows Hezbollah to constitutionally expand its influence within the Lebanese political system.

While the alliance of the Shiite Duo and the Free Patriotic Movement view with concern the calls for early legislative elections, the drive to bring about constitutional change causes concern among political movements that continue to strongly advocate the Taif Accord and the idea of ​​parity between Muslims and Christians.

Nevertheless, it must be noted that due to the Beirut disaster and its repercussions, Lebanon has become a priority among issues of international interest related to the region, which explains the intensity of international interest in Lebanese affairs. As such, the Lebanese may not enjoy the luxury of old indulgence and must respond to major agendas that prepare the entire region for drastic and pivotal shifts. Recent developments in the issue of the border dispute between Lebanon and Israel are worth monitoring, both in terms of the remarkable announcement by Berri (Hezbollah's ally) that an agreement will soon be reached, and Washington’s despatch of David Hale, the US Undersecretary of State, to the region next week to discuss this issue. This indicates that Lebanon has entered a stage of settlements and bargains whose conditions would be dictated on the entire political class in the country.

Latest Scenarios