تداعيات وباء كورونا على الاتحاد الأوروبي ومستقبله

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 19 مايو 2020

باتت أوروبا البؤرة العالمية لوباء فيروس كورونا المستجد (كوفيد-19) منذ بداية شهر أبريل الماضي، ورغم الارتفاع المتسارع في حالات الإصابات والوفيات خلال شهري فبراير ومارس في إيطاليا التي كانت أول الدول الأوروبية وأكثرها تضرراً بالوباء بل وتسجيل إيطاليا أعلى نسبة إصابات في العالم آنذاك، إلا أن استجابة الاتحاد الأوروبي اتَّسمت بالبطء الشديد، وبدت مؤسسات الاتحاد باديء الأمر غير مدركة لحجم الخطر الذي يتهدد الدول الأعضاء به، ووصفت الاستجابة الأولية للاتحاد بالارتباك مما عرضه لانتقادات شديدة من الدول الأكثر تضرراً مثل إيطاليا واسبانيا، وحذَّر الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون من انهيار الاتحاد الأوروبي كمشروع سياسي في حال لم يتخذ الاتحاد خطوات جدية في دعم اقتصادات الدول المنكوبة.

وبينما منعت ألمانيا في البداية تصدير أي معدات طبية خارج حدودها بما في ذلك إلى دول الاتحاد واستولت جمهورية التشيك على شحنة من معدات الحماية الطبية المصدرة من الصين إلى إيطاليا، سارعت الدول الأوروبية إلى إغلاق حدودها المحلية بما اعتبر تقويضاً لمبادئ أساسية قام عليها الاتحاد مثل حرية الحركة للبضائع والأفراد، ورغم وجود سند قانوني استندت عليه الدول الأوروبية لاتخاذ هذا الإجراء، إلا أنها تعرضت للانتقاد الحاد لقيامها بذلك بسبب أن قراراتها اتخذت بصورة فردية وحمائية دون وجود لأدنى تنسيق أو تشاور مع الاتحاد ومؤسساته؛ وفي ظل كل هذا التشقق في جدار الوحدة الأوروبية، كان الجيش الروسي ينقل إلى إيطاليا المعدات الطبية، شأنه في ذلك شأن الطائرات الصينية التي هبطت في إيطاليا حاملة شحن المساعدات العاجلة من تلك المعدات، ووصول وفود الأطباء الكوبيين الذين سارعوا لتلبية الاستغاثة الإيطالية التي لم تلق استجابة أوروبياً آنذاك.

الاستجابة الأولية للاتحاد الأوروبي

رغم اعتراف الاتحاد الأوروبي بالخطأ في التعامل مع الحالة الإيطالية وتقديم اعتذار رسمي من رئيسة المفوضية الأوروبية أورسولا فون دير لاين عن "خذلان" الاتحاد الأوروبي لإيطاليا، إلا أن الاتحاد لم يتوصل إلى الاتفاق على خطة الدعم الاقتصادي لمواجهة أزمة كورونا إلا في العاشر من أبريل الماضي برغم أن بداية ذلك الشهر شهدت وصول كل من ألمانيا وإيطاليا وإسبانيا وفرنسا وبلجيكا إلى ذروة معدل الإصابات اليومية فيها.

ولم يتوصل الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى خطة الدعم الاقتصادي هذه، والتي تقدر بحوالي 7 إلى 8 بالمئة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للاتحاد، إلا بعد عشرات المناقشات التي رأى مراقبون أنها أضاعت وقتاً ثميناً على الدول المتضررة لتلافي مزيد من الأضرار التي تعرضت لها اقتصاداتها.

وتمثلت الخلافات حول خطة الدعم الاقتصادي بدايةً حول ما يعرف باسم "سندات الكورونا"، وهي عبارة عن آلية للضمان المشترك من قبل دول الاتحاد لسندات الدين التي قد تحتاج إلى اصدارها الحكومات المتضررة اقتصادياً من الأزمة، وهو ما يعرف بالديون المتبادلة بين دول منطقة اليورو، حيث رفضت ألمانيا وهولندا ودول أخرى في شمال أوروبا في البداية مطالبات إيطالية وإسبانية وبرتغالية بالسماح لها بالاقتراض عبر إصدار سندات كورونا، ويُعزى هذا الخلاف إلى:

  • افتقار الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى سياسة مالية موحدة.
  • الأزمات المالية المتكررة والإصلاحات المؤسسية المتعثرة.
  • آثار أزمة الديون السيادية من عامي 2011 -2012 حيث لم يحسم الجدل لغاية الآن بين الدول الإعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي حول ما إذا كان الأولى هو تجميع الديون أو إصلاح الاقتصادات المتعثرة أولاً.

يمكن تقسيم تعثُّر استجابة الاتحاد الأوروبي الأولية لمواجهة أزمة كورونا إلى ثلاثة مستويات:

المستوى المالي النقدي: حيث لا يزال الاتحاد الأوروبي يعاني من عدم وجود سياسة نقدية موحدة؛ فمنطقة اليورو نفسها أنشئت على أسس ضعيفة بسبب الفشل في إنشاء اتحاد مالي يؤسس لسياسة نقدية واحدة، وبسبب الوسائل غير الكفؤة في إدارة الأزمات، إضافة إلى الاستهانة بمعايير الانضمام إلى العملة الموحدة. وأدت هذه المشاكل البنيوية والفنية إلى حلول غير فعالة وغير مكتملة في أزمات مالية سابقة واجهها الاتحاد مثل الأزمة المالية العالمية 2007-2008، وأزمة الديون السيادية 2011-2012.

وقد انعكس عدم وجود آليات وسياسات نقدية واضحة على سبل معالجة الصدمات الاقتصادية الناتجة عن أزمة كورونا في الدول الأوروبية، مما أنتج مزيجاً غير مستقر من الاجراءات المتضاربة في بعض الأحيان بين مؤسسات الاتحاد وبين حكومات الدول الأعضاء. فعلى سبيل المثال، في الوقت الذي يسعى البنك المركزي الأوروبي لتثبيت سوق الديون الأوروبية، لم تلتزم الدول الأكثر تضرراً اقتصادياً واستمرت في إصدار ديونها الخاصة كإجراءات عاجلة قصيرة الأمد وكحلول سريعة لمواجهة الضغوط المتزايدة عليها.

المستوى المؤسساتي: يواجه الاتحاد الأوروبي منذ نشأته مشكلة في آليات اتخاذ قراراته والجدل القائم حول اتخاذ القرارات الحاسمة بالأغلبية أم بالإجماع، ورغم توسع صلاحيات مؤسسات الاتحاد الأوروبي في اعتماد آلية اتخاذ القرارات بالأغلبية بدلاً من الإجماع، إلا أن الصدام بين التكنوقراط داخل مؤسسات الاتحاد وبين السياسيين من حكومات الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد برز بشكل واضح خلال أزمة الديون السيادية في 2011-2012، وعاد للظهور بنفس القوة خلال مناقشة سبل مواجهة الاتحاد لأزمة وباء كورونا؛ فالاتحاد ومؤسساته ومسؤولوه لديهم آليات تُمكِّنهم من اتخاذ قرارات بموجب السلطة الممنوحة إليهم من الدول الأعضاء في هذه الدول، لكن هذه الآليات نفسها تحتاج إلى موافقة الدول الأعضاء حتى تصبح فعالة.

المستوى السياسي: خلال الأزمة الحالية بدا واضحاً أن الدول الأعضاء ترددت بين إظهار التضامن مع الوحدة الأوروبية وبين الضغوط السياسية الداخلية التي تواجهها بسبب المواقف المختلفة لشعوبها من أزمة كورونا خلال الأشهر الثلاث الأولى على الأقل من الأزمة، حيث نتجت هذه المواقف المتباينة بسبب الآثار المتباينة للأزمة على المستويين الصحي والاقتصادي لهذه الدول، والتي تفاقمت داخلها الضغوط السياسية، على خلفية موجة الشعبوية والتشكيك بالاتحاد الأوروبي التي تقودها جماعات وأحزاب اليمين المتطرف التي شهدت السنوات الخمس الأخيرة تنامي تأثيرها في أوروبا.

الخطة الأوروبية الحالية لمواجهة أزمة وباء كورونا المستجد

تضمنت خطة الاتحاد الأوروبي للاستجابة لأزمة وباء كورونا المستجد العناصر الأساسية التالية:

أ) الحد من انتشار الفيروس، وشمل ذلك:

  • إغلاق مؤقت لحدود الاتحاد الأوروبي الخارجية.
  • فرض قيود على السفر غير الضروري إلى دول الاتحاد.
  • إدارة الحدود بين دول الاتحاد الأوروبي وخلق ممرات خاصة للبضائع الضرورية.
  • تقييم انتشار المرض بين سكان دول الاتحاد الأوروبي عن طريق المركز الأوروبي لمكافحة الأمراض.
  • عقد اجتماعات تنسيقية أسبوعية تضم خبراء وممثلين عن مؤسسات الاتحاد الأوروبي وعن حكومات الدول الأعضاء فيه، بحيث تتم هذه الاجتماعات عبر آلية ما يعرف بـ "الاستجابة السياسية المتكاملة للأزمات في الاتحاد الأوروبي" IPCR، وهي عبارة عن آلية معتمدة لدى المجلس الأوروبي تختص بتقديم الاستشارات والتحليلات فيما يتعلق بالأزمات الكبرى.

ب) ضمان توفير المعدات الطبية، ويشمل ذلك:

  • التأمين المشترك للمعدات الطبية اللازمة لمواجهة وباء كورونا المستجد، بما في ذلك معدات الحماية للطواقم الطبية وأجهزة التنفس الاصطناعي، واختبارات الكشف عن وجود الفيروس.
  • تنظيم وقوننة تصدير المستلزمات الطبية الأساسية من الاتحاد الأوروبي.
  • تحفيز وزيادة صناعة وإنتاج المعدات الطبية داخل دول الاتحاد.
  • اعتماد آلية الحماية المدنية لسكان الاتحاد الأوروبي، بما في ذلك توزيع وإيصال الفرق الطبية والمعدات للبلدان التي تحتاجها، وإنشاء احتياطي أوروبي مشترك للمعدات الطبية الطارئة، وتنسيق جهود الدعم من خلال مركز مركز تنسيق الاستجابة الطارئة.

ج) خطة شبكة الأمان الأوروبية المالية بـ 540 مليار يورو لدعم الاقتصاد وقطاع الأعمال ومكافحة البطالة:

تخصص الخطة المالية حزم دعم للدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد والشركات والعمالة الأوروبية، وقد أقرت مجموعة اليورو خطة شبكة الأمان وأيدها قادة دول الاتحاد الأوروبي، ويشمل ذلك:

  • إنشاء هيئة مؤقتة تسمى هيئة الدعم المؤقت لتخفيف مخاطر البطالة في الحالات الطارئة ويطلق عليها اختصاراً اسم SURE، بميزانية تبلغ مائة مليار يورو، وتهدف إلى مساعدة العمالة الأوروبية للمحافظة على وظائفهم خلال أزمة وباء كورونا المستجد، بحيث تعمل هيئة SURE كخط دفاع ثانٍ على المدى القصير لحماية هذه العمالة من مخاطر فقدان الدخل. وقد أنشئت هذه الهيئة بموجب اتفاقية سياسية توصل إليها سفراء الاتحاد الأوروبي في 15 مايو الجاري، وسيكون بإمكان دول الاتحاد التقدُّم بطلب قروض من هذه الهيئة المؤقتة لمواجهة الآثار الاقتصادية والاجتماعية السلبية الناتجة عن الأزمة، خاصة الزيادات المالية المفاجئة والحادة في النفقات العامة في بعض القطاعات. وتتلخص آلية عمل هيئة SURE بتقديم القروض لتغطية البرامج الحكومية قصيرة الأمد التي أعلنتها الدول الأعضاء لدعم أصحاب الاعمال الحرة والموظفين بهدف المحافظة على القدرة الانتاجية والكفاءات البشرية العاملة في السوق الأوروبية، ولتجنيب هذه السوق مخاطر عدم الاستقرار طويلة الأمد التي قد تنتج عن تسريح الموظفين.
  • تخصيص 200 مليار يورو لإنشاء الصندوق الأوروبي لضمان القروض المقدمة للشركات عبر بنك الاستثمار الأوروبي.
  • تخصيص 240 مليار يورو لوكالة دعم الاستقرار الأوروبي، وهي إحدى وكالات الاتحاد الأوروبي المتخصصة بتقديم الدعم المالي للدول الأعضاء في منطقة اليورو في حال تعرضت أي منها لأخطار مالية تهدد استقرار منطقة اليورو.

د) تخصيص الدعم المالي للبحث العلمي، ويشمل ذلك:

  • رصد 220 مليون يورو لدعم البحوث المتعلقة بإيجاد لقاح وعلاجات لمرض فيروس كورونا.
  • إنشاء منصة بيانات مشتركة خاصة للبحوث المتعلقة بوباء فيروس كورونا المستجد.
  • رصد 164 مليون يورو لدعم الشركات المتوسطة والصغيرة وقطاع الأعمال الريادية للمساعدة في إيجاد الحلول المبتكرة لمواجهة الوباء.

هـ) مساعدة مواطني الاتحاد الأوروبي العالقين في الخارج.

و) مكافحة نشر المعلومات الخاطئة حول الوباء.

الآثار المتوقعة لأزمة وباء كورونا على مستقبل الاتحاد الأوروبي

تمثل جائحة فيروس كورونا المستجد اختباراً حقيقياً لمفهوم الاتحاد الأوروبي كتكتل دولي وأكبر اتحاد اقتصادي من نوعه في العالم، ومع ارتباك المشهد الأوروبي والآثار الشديدة الناجمة عن الأزمة، والتي أدت إلى خسارات بشرية واقتصادية فادحة للغاية في دول الاتحاد، ظهرت عدة توقعات بشأن مستقبل الاتحاد الأوروبي من أبرزها:

السيناريو الأول: انهيار الاتحاد وتفككه تدريجياً

قد تساهم الخسائر التي خلفتها الأزمة وتأخر الاتحاد الأوروبي في الاستجابة التي كانت مأمولة منه في إذكاء دعوات الانفصال عنه، خاصة بعد أن تلقى الاتحاد ضربة عنيفة - رغم أنه استطاع لغاية الآن امتصاص آثارها - بانفصال بريطانيا عنه أو ما يعرف بالبريكست، إلا أن ما برز خلال أزمة كورونا من مسارعة الدول إلى الاجراءات الحمائية دون التفكير في التنسيق الأوروبي كأولوية، وتمسُّك مؤسسات الاتحاد والدول الفاعلة فيه بالبيروقراطية الإجرائية التي عرقلت الاستجابة لاستغاثات الدول الأشد تضرراً، وما كشفته الأزمة أيضاً عن وجود خلل عميق في آليات الاستجابة السريعة وإدارة الأزمات في الاتحاد، إضافة إلى الضغوط المتزايدة من المجموعات المتشككة في جدوى الاتحاد وأحزاب اليمين المتطرف؛ جميعها عوامل قد تؤدي إلى بلورة الدعوات المحلية في بعض الدول الأعضاء لإجراء استفتاءات للانفصال عن الاتحاد، وفي حال نجحت إحدى هذه الدول بذلك - إيطاليا على سبيل المثال - فمن المتوقع أن يؤدي خروج دولة ثانية من الاتحاد بعد بريطانيا إلى ضربة شديدة لعملة اليورو الموحدة وإلى زعزعة أكبر في الثقة بالاتحاد، وهو ما قد يؤدي إلى تفككه تدريجياً في نهاية المطاف.

السيناريو الثاني: تماسك الاتحاد الأوروبي واستفادته من الأزمة لتقوية حضوره

تسهم أزمة كورونا في إدراك أنه لا يمكن لأي دولة أن تواجه الأزمات عابرة الحدود بمفردها، وقد أظهرت هذه الأزمة مدى حاجة أقوى الاقتصادات العالمية والإقليمية إلى نوع من أنواع التعاون الدولي. وقد تمثل أزمة كورونا فرصة حقيقية للاتحاد الأوروبي لاقناع المتشككين فيه بضرورة وجوده كمظلة آمنة في مثل هذه الأزمات، إلا أن ذلك يعتمد على عدة عوامل من بينها:

  • فعالية خطة الاتحاد الأوروبي الحالية في مواجهة الأزمة والتخفيف من آثارها.
  • إظهار الاتحاد الأوروبي مرونة أكبر في حال تطور أزمة وباء كورونا المستجد أو في حال تعرض المنطقة إلى موجات أخرى متوقعة من الوباء.
  • توافق الاتحاد الأوروبي سريعاً دون المرور بالخلافات السابقة على خطة للخروج من الأزمة وإنعاش الاقتصاد، بحيث تنال رضى جميع الدول، وتتضمن آليات فنية ومالية فعالة لإنقاذ الاقتصادات المتأثرة وإعادة بناء القطاعات الصحية الأوروبية.
  • مدى استفادة الاتحاد الأوروبي من الأزمة الحالية لاجراء إصلاحات عميقة في هيكليته وسياساته، وخاصة السياسات النقدية الموحدة.

السيناريو الثالث: المعالجة الآنية للأزمة واستمرار التعثُّر والتصحيح في الاستجابة

ويعتبر السيناريو الأكثر ترجيحاً، ويتمثل في استمرار اعتماد الاتحاد الأوروبي على تشريعاته وآلياته المؤسساتية الحالية، واستغراق وقت أطول لابتكار حلول وآليات مختلفة والارتكان أكثر إلى الحلول المُجرَّبة، مع اجراء إصلاحات تدريجية بحسب الدروس المستفادة من الأزمة لتصحيح الخطط والمسار، غير أن هذا السيناريو سيعتمد بشكل كبير على القناعات السياسية للدول الأعضاء بجدوى الاتحاد، ومن المتوقع أن تعتمد هذه القناعات بصورة مباشرة على خطة الانعاش والخروج من الأزمة أكثر من اعتمادها على خطة الاستجابة لها، فمن المتوقع أن لا تثير الدول المتضررة من أزمة كورونا مسألة الخروج من الاتحاد الأوروبي في حال قُدِّمت لها خطة انعاش اقتصادي مُجدية تحقق مصلحتها في ذلك، إذ تدرك هذه الدول أنها لن تستطيع مواجهة آثار الأزمة بعد انتهائها بمفردها.

وتبقى تداعيات أزمة كورونا على مستقبل الاتحاد الأوروبي مرهونة أيضاً بتطورات أزمة الوباء نفسه، من حيث احتمالية تعرُّض القارة والعالم بأسره لموجات جديدة من الوباء أو اكتشاف علاج أو لقاح يتمكَّن من إنهاء حالة الارتباك التي يشهدها العالم نتيجة هذه الأزمة، وإعادة الحياة إلى طبيعتها، كما سيبقى الاقتصاد الأوروبي أيضاً متأثراً بالمنحى الذي سيأخذه الاقتصاد العالمي بعد انتهاء الأزمة.

سيناريوهات

The Impact of Coronavirus Pandemic on the EU and its Future

EPC | 19 May 2020

Europe has become the global epicentre of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) epidemic since the end of April 2020. Despite the accelerating increase in infections and deaths in February and March in Italy, which was the first and most affected European country by the virus, and even the country with the then highest number of infections globally, the response of the European Union (EU) was extremely slow. At first, EU institutions seemed unaware of the size of the danger threatening its member states. The initial response of the EU was described as awkward, which brought it under severe criticism by the most affected countries such as Italy and Spain. French President Emmanuel Macron warned of the collapse of the EU as a political project if it does not take serious steps to support the economies of the afflicted countries.

While Germany initially banned the export of any medical equipment outside its borders, including to EU countries, and the Czech Republic seized a shipment of protective equipment exported from China to Italy, EU countries rushed to close their local borders in what was considered an undermining of EU basic principles such as the free movement of goods and individuals. Despite the existence of a legal basis that the EU countries used to justify their action, they came under severe criticism for doing that since their decisions were taken unilaterally, protectionist and devoid of any coordination or consultation with the EU and its institutions. Against these fissures in the wall of European unity, the Russian army had been transporting medical equipment to Italy, Chinese planes had been landing in Italy with loads of urgent medical aid, and Cuban doctors had been arriving after rushing to respond to the Italian distress call that did not receive a European response at the time.

Initial EU response

Although the mistake in dealing with the Italian case was admitted by the EU and an official apology was offered by the President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen because the EU “disappointed” Italy, the EU did not reach an agreement on the economic support plan to counter the coronavirus crisis except on 10 April 2020, although the beginning of that month marked the peak of daily infections in Germany, Italy, Spain, France and Belgium.

The EU did not approve the relevant economic support plan, estimated at nearly 7-8 percent of the EU’s GDP, except after dozens of discussions which were, according to observers, a waste of precious time for the affected countries to avoid further damage to their economies.

Differences about the economic support plan focused initially on the so-called “corona bonds”, a joint guarantee mechanism by EU countries for the debt bonds that the governments economically affected by the crisis may need to issue, or what is known as the mutual debts of the euro zone countries. At first, Germany, the Netherlands and other countries in northern Europe rejected demands by Italy, Spain and Portugal to be allowed to borrow by issuing corona bonds. This disagreement is attributed to the following:

  • Absence of a unified EU financial policy.
  • Frequent financial crises and faltering institutional reforms.
  • Effects of the 2011-2012 sovereign debt crisis where the controversy has not been resolved among EU member states over whether priority should be given to consolidating the debts or reforming faltering economies.

The initial faltering EU response to the coronavirus crisis could be divided into three levels:

Financial and monetary level: the EU continues to suffer from the absence of a unified monetary policy. The euro zone itself was established on weak foundations due to the failure to establish a financial union that would develop a single monetary policy and the inefficient methods of crisis management, in addition to the inadequate observance of the criteria to join the single currency. These structural and technical problems led to ineffective and incomplete solutions in earlier financial crises experienced by the EU such as the 2007-2008 global financial crisis and the 2011-2012 sovereign debt crisis.

The absence of clear monetary mechanisms and policies was reflected on the means of handling the economic shocks resulting from the coronavirus crisis in European countries. This led to an unstable mix of sometimes conflicting measures between the EU institutions and the governments of member states. For instance, while the European Central Bank seeks to fix the European debt market, the states more economically affected did not comply and continued to issue their private debts as urgent short-term measures and rapid solutions to counter the mounting pressures they face.

Institutional level: since its inception, the EU has been facing a problem in its decision-making mechanisms and the controversy over taking critical decisions by majority vote or consensus. However, the clash between technocrats within the EU institutions and politicians of EU member state governments emerged clearly during the 2011-2012 sovereign debt crisis. It re-appeared as vigorously during the debate over the EU means to counter the coronavirus epidemic crisis. The EU and its institutions and officials have at their disposal mechanisms that enable them to take decisions under the powers conferred on them by member states in those states. However, those mechanisms themselves need the approval of member states to become effective.

Political level: during the current crisis, it was clear that member states hesitated between showing solidarity with the EU and the domestic political pressures they face due to the different attitudes of their peoples towards the coronavirus crisis, at least during its first three months. Those varying attitudes emerged as a result of the varying effects of the crisis at both the health and economic levels in those countries which came under increasing political pressures in light of the wave of populism and skepticism about the EU led by far-right groups and parties whose influence in Europe has been growing in the last five years.

Current EU plan to counter the novel coronavirus epidemic crisis

The EU plan to respond to the novel coronavirus epidemic crisis included the following main components:

a) Limiting the spread of the virus, including:

  • Temporary closure of the EU’s external borders.
  • Introducing restrictions on non-essential travel to EU countries.
  • Managing borders among EU countries and creating “green lanes” for essential goods.
  • Assessing disease spread among the population of EU countries through the European Centre for Disease Control (ECDC).
  • Holding weekly coordination meetings that bring together experts and representatives of EU institutions and governments of EU member states through the so-called EU Integrated Political Crisis Response (IPCR), which is a mechanism endorsed by the European Council (EC) with a mandate to offer consultations and analyses with respect to major crises.

b) Ensuring provision of medical equipment, including:

  • Joint procurement of medical equipment needed to counter the novel coronavirus epidemic, including protective gear for medical teams, ventilators and testing kits for the virus.
  • Regulating exports of key medical supplies from the EU.
  • Stimulating and increasing the manufacture and production of medical equipment within EU countries.
  • Adopting the EU civil protection mechanism, including deployment of medical teams and delivery of supplies to countries in need, building a new common European reserve of emergency medical equipment, and coordinating support efforts through the Emergency Response Coordination Centre.

c) European safety network financial plan worth 540 billion euros to support the economy and the business sector and fight unemployment:

The financial plan allocates support packages to EU member states and European businesses and workers. The safety network plan was approved by the euro group and endorsed by the leaders of EU member states. It includes the following:

  • Establishing the temporary scheme Support to Mitigate Unemployment Risks in an Emergency (SURE) with a budget of 100 billion dollars with the aim of helping EU workers maintain their jobs during the novel coronavirus epidemic crisis. SURE would serve as a second defence line in the short term to protect those workers from the risk of losing their income. The instrument was established based on a political agreement reached between EU ambassadors on 15 May 2020. EU member states will be able to request loans from this temporary instrument to counter the negative economic and social effects resulting from the crisis, particularly the sudden and severe financial increases in public expenditure in some sectors. In short, the SURE instrument offers loans to cover short-term government programmes that were announced by member states to support self-employed persons and staff with the aim of maintaining productivity and human competencies working in the European market and protecting that market from the long-term risks of instability which may result from staff layoff.
  • Allocating 200 billion euros to establish the Pan-European Guarantee Fund to guarantee loans given to companies by the European Investment Bank.
  • Allocating 240 billion euros to the European Stability Mechanism which is an EU agency specialized in offering financial support to member states in the euro zone in case any of them is exposed to financial threats that endanger the stability of the euro zone.

d) Allocating financial support for scientific research, including:

  • Allocating 220 million euros for supporting research related to developing vaccines and treatments for the coronavirus disease.
  • Building a joint data platform for research on the novel coronavirus epidemic.
  • Allocating 164 million euros to support small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and the entrepreneurial sector to help find innovative solutions to counter the epidemic.

e) Helping EU citizens stranded abroad.

f) Fighting disinformation on the epidemic.

The expected impact of the coronavirus epidemic crisis on the future of the EU

The novel coronavirus pandemic constitutes a real test of the concept of the EU as an international bloc and the world’s largest economic union of its kind. With the embarrassment of the EU and the severe impact of the crisis, leading to enormous human and economic losses in EU countries, several expectations have emerged regarding the future of the EU, mainly:

First scenario: the gradual collapse and disintegration of the EU

The losses sustained as a result of the crisis and the EU delay in the response that was expected from it may contribute to stepping up calls for separation from it, especially after the EU received a severe blow, although it has thus far managed to absorb its impact, with the separation of the UK from it (what is known as Brexit). However, the crisis has revealed factors such as the prompt resort by countries to protectionist measures without considering coordination with the EU as a priority, adherence by EU institutions and EU influential states to bureaucratic procedures that hindered response to the distress calls of the most affected countries, the deep imbalance revealed by the crisis in the EU rapid response and crisis management mechanisms, and the increasing pressures by groups doubtful of the feasibility of the EU and by far-right parties, all of which might lead to intensifying local calls in some member states to hold referendums for separation from the EU. If this is successful in one country, Italy for example, the exit of a second country from the EU after the UK would be expected to deal a severe blow to the single currency, i.e. the euro, and further shake trust in the EU, which might eventually lead to its gradual disintegration.

Second scenario: consolidation of the EU and benefitting by the EU from the crisis to enhance its presence

The coronavirus crisis has contributed to recognizing that no single country can counter cross-border crises alone. This crisis has demonstrated the extent of the need by the strongest global and regional economies for some kind of international cooperation. The coronavirus crisis may constitute a real opportunity for the EU to convince those in doubt about it of the necessity of its existence as a safe umbrella in such crises. However, this depends on several factors, including:

  • The effectiveness of the current EU plan in countering the crisis and alleviating its impact.
  • Demonstration by the EU of more flexibility in case the novel coronavirus epidemic crisis develops or in case the region is exposed to other expected waves of the epidemic.
  • Rapid EU consensus without passing again through earlier differences on a plan to exit the crisis and revive the economy that would be found satisfactory by all countries and include effective technical and financial mechanisms to save the affected economies and rebuild the European health sectors.
  • The extent of EU benefit from the current crisis to implement deep reforms in its structure and policies, especially the single monetary policies.

Third scenario: interim handling of the crisis and continued faltering and rectification in the response

This is the most likely scenario. It is based on the continued reliance by the EU on its current legislation and institutional mechanisms, spending longer time in developing different solutions and mechanisms and relying more on already tried solutions while implementing gradual reforms according to the lessons learned from the crisis to rectify plans and paths. However, this scenario will greatly depend on the political convictions of member states regarding the feasibility of the EU. Those convictions are expected to depend directly more on the plan for recovery and exiting the crisis than on the plan to respond to it. The countries affected by the coronavirus crisis are not expected to raise the issue of exiting the EU in case they are provided with a feasible economic recovery plan that meets their interest in this respect. Those countries are aware that they cannot counter the impact of the crisis alone once it is over.

The implications of the coronavirus crisis for the future of the EU remain contingent on the developments of the epidemic crisis itself in terms of the likely exposure by the continent and the whole world to new waves of the epidemic or the discovery of a treatment or vaccine that could end the state of awkwardness experienced by the world as a result of this crisis and return life to normal. The EU economy will continue to be affected by the direction to be taken by the global economy after the crisis is over.

Latest Scenarios