توقعات المشهد الإيراني في عام 2020

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 05 فبراير 2020

من المرجح أن تشهد إيران خلال العامين المقبلين، ظروفاً سياسية واقتصادية صعبة؛ فهي تنتظر محطة انتخابات برلمانية في 2020، تتخللها احتمالات عودة الاحتجاجات. وستمرّ البلاد في انتقال سياسي من روحاني إلى رئيس آخر في 2021، وتتزايد احتمالات حدوث انتقال سياسي على مستوى القائد الأعلى. وترزح إيران تحت عقوبات أمريكية متشددة، وأزمة اقتصادية مستفحلة؛ مما يُحفِّز الصراعات الداخلية على السلطة والموارد. وبالنظر إلى خصوصية العلاقات الإيرانية-الأمريكية، فإن الفترة المتبقية من ولاية الرئيس ترمب تُعدُّ فترة مخاض وانتظار تترك أثرها على تشكيل الملامح الرئيسة لأية عملية سياسية مُقبِلَة في إيران.

التحولات المؤثرة في "خريطة توزيع القوة" في إيران خلال 2020

1. استمرار توسُّع دور الحرس الثوري؛ تشير مجمل التطورات المهمة في خريطة توزيع القوة الداخلية إلى رغبة الحرس الثوري بمزيد من التوسُّع، والتحول نحو الدولة العميقة، وهي العملية الجوهرية على الصعيد السياسي الإيراني؛ ما يعني إفراغ بعض المؤسسات الدستورية، مثل الحكومة، من صلاحياتها، وإخراج بعض الملفات من يدها. ويمكن توقُّع حدوث تطور في نظام الحكم في إيران تحت وطأة الدعوة إلى تقليص صلاحيات بعض المؤسسات، مثل الرئاسة، والبرلمان، لصالح مؤسسات أخرى لا تستمدّ شرعيتها من الانتخابات، مثل: "مجمع تشخيص مصلحة النظام"، و"المجلس الأعلى للأمن القومي".

2. الانتخابات البرلمانية: أظهرت التحضيرات الجارية للانتخابات البرلمانية المقررة في 21 فبراير 2020 اتجاه التيار المحافظ إلى الهيمنة على معظم مقاعد البرلمان المقبل. وفي ظل إعلان رئيس المجلس الحالي علي لاريجاني عدم نيته الترشح للانتخابات المقبلة، تتزايد حظوظ محمد باقر قاليباف في الوصول إلى منصب رئيس البرلمان؛ ما يمثل تطورًا مهمًا آخر في سياق استراتيجية التوسع الممنهج للحرس الثوري في خريطة توزيع القوة الداخلية.

3. الانتخابات الرئاسية الإيرانية؛ من المستبعد جدًا أن يجد مرشح مقرب من توجهات روحاني سبيله إلى سدة الحكم في ظل العزوف الكبير عن الحكومة الراهنة. وقد يكون ضمن خطة الحرس المستقبلية الهيمنة بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر على منصب رئاسة الجمهورية، والسلطة التنفيذية في انتخابات 2021. لكنّ الحديث - حتى الآن - يدور حول تصعيد وجه تكنوقراطي مُحافِظ لقيادة الحكومة في المرحلة المقبلة. 

4. التنافس على خلافة خامنئي؛ تُظهِر تحركات الأوساط السياسية في إيران أن المنافسة على منصب القائد الأعلى بدأت تحتدم. وتنحصر مظاهر هذا التنافس داخل الخط المحافظ، وتظهر على شكل تحالفات ضمنية أخذت تتشكل في ظل التنافس بين المؤسسات الدستورية. وستكون العملية السياسية خلال الفترة المقبلة كلّها تحت مظلة التنافس على الخلافة.

معالم الحالة الاجتماعية في إيران خلال 2020

تفاقمت التحديات الاجتماعية في ظل العقوبات الأمريكية. وترتبط معظم التحديات الاجتماعية بانتشار الفقر، والدوافع الاقتصادية. ويتوقع الخبراء أن تستمرّ الحالة خلال العام 2020. لكن نمطًا آخر من الاحتجاجات ظهر مع مطلع العام 2020، بدوافع سياسية مدنية، على خلفية إسقاط الدفاع الجوي الإيراني طائرة ركاب مدنية.

وشهد عام 2019، تطورًا لافتًا على صعيد التحرك السياسي، والاجتماعي في إيران، تمثل في رفع شعارات ترفض الانتماء للتيارين السياسيين الأساسيين (التيار الإصلاحي والتيار المحافظ)؛ ما يعني انهيار المرجعيات السياسية التي تتحكم في الرأي العام، وتستطيع توجيهه. وظهور مرجعيات جديدة خارجة عن هيمنة الثنائي السياسي التقليدي. ولهذا التطور انعكاسات مستقبلية سيكون من المحتمل جدًا مشاهدة بعض آثارها خلال 2020؛ حيث تتعمق النزعة الراديكالية بشكل أكبر في مختلف الطبقات والخطوط الاجتماعية، ومن المحتمل أن نشهد محاولات لرأب الصدع بين الراديكاليات الأربع القائمة حاليًا (الاقتصادية والعرقية والدينية والسياسية)، وذلك بهدف تنسيق جهود القوى المعارضة للنظام، وتحسين فاعلية الحركات الاحتجاجية.

سيناريوهات العملية السياسية الداخلية في 2020

السيناريو الأول: إعادة تصعيد التيار الإصلاحي؛ ويفترض هذا السيناريو توجه النظام نحو تكرار تجربة انتخابات عام 1997 التي تمخض عنها صعود التيار الإصلاحي، متجلياً في تسلم الرئيس الإصلاحي محمد خاتمي سدة الحكم ما بين 1997 و2004. وحتى يكون تكرار مثل هذا السيناريو ممكناً، لا بدّ من لجوء جهات في التيار المحافظ إلى التحالف مع الإصلاحيين، وتقاسم السلطة معهم.

السيناريو الثاني: حكم العسكر المباشر؛ ويفترض تولّي الحرس الثوري السلطة التنفيذية، سواء بشكل مباشر عن طريق مجلس حكم عسكري ثوري، أو غير مباشر عن طريق إيصال أحد الجنرالات المتقاعدين إلى كرسي الرئاسة، وإدارة الحكومة عن بعد. ويمكن اعتبار هذا الصعود تتويجًا للتطور الطبيعي لمؤسسة الحرس من مؤسسة عسكرية بحتة إلى دولة عميقة.

السيناريو الثالث: تصعيد التكنوقراط؛ ويفترض هذا السيناريو أن يلجأ النظام إلى تصعيد أحد وجوه التكنوقراط المقربين من التيار المحافظ، ويدعمه في الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة، بما يضمن إيصاله إلى منصب رئاسة الجمهورية. وليبدأ بعدها الرئيس الجديد انفتاحًا جزئيًا على الغرب من أجل اقتطاف بعض الثمار الاقتصادية.

التحولات السياسية الخارجية المؤثرة في المشهد الداخلي الإيراني

1. الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية؛ تفضل غالبية القيادات الإيرانية خسارة الرئيس دونالد ترمب السباق الرئاسي المقبل. ويسود اعتقاد في أوساط النظام بأن تغيير الإدارة الأمريكية الحالية، سيؤدي إلى انفراجة في العلاقات الإيرانية-الأمريكية، ويخفف الضغوط عن إيران. وهو ما يدفع النظام باتجاه تأجيل البتّ في العديد من القضايا إلى ما بعد الانتخابات الأمريكية. وهذا هو ما قاد إلى انتهاج سياسة الصبر الاستراتيجي في مواجهة الضغوط الأمريكية الحالية.

2. احتمالات تصاعد التوتر بين إيران والولايات المتحدة؛ شهدت المنطقة في نهاية عام 2019 وبداية 2020 تصعيداً أمنياً، وعسكرياً خطيراً بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران، وصل ذروته بعملية اغتيال قائد فيلق القدس، قاسم سليماني، وانسحاب إيران رسمياً من الاتفاق النووي. وهذه الحالة قد تتكرر لأسباب مختلفة.

3. مستقبل الاتفاق النووي؛ تواصل إيران خلال عام 2020 خطواتها للانسحاب التدريجي من الاتفاق النووي لوقف حملة "الضغوط القصوى" الأمريكية، وإرغام واشنطن على العودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات. لكنّ إدارة ترمب لا تُبدي أي مؤشر على رغبتها بالعودة إلى الاتفاق. وبات من الواضح أن واشنطن ترغب بالتفاوض مع طهران في مسار منفصل، خارج إطار الاتفاق النووي.

سيناريوهات التوجهات الدولية للنظام الإيراني

السيناريو الأول: الانفتاح على الغرب؛ ويفترض هذا السيناريو أن النظام السياسي في إيران سيُقرِّر تذويب الثلوج بينه وبين الدول الغربية، ومنها الولايات المتحدة عبر القيام بحوار شامل. وتدعم جهات في الحكومة الإيرانية حدوث هذا السيناريو، كما تدعمه عدة تيارات سياسية ذات تأثيرات متفاوتة لكنها في المجمل ضعيفة نسبياً. ويعتقد هؤلاء بأن الانفتاح على الغرب، والدخول في حوار شامل معه، هو المفتاح الرئيس لحل الكثير من الأزمات التي تعاني منها البلاد، وبخاصة الأزمة الاقتصادية. وفي إطار هذا الانفتاح، يمكن أن نضع تصريحات شخصيات بارزة في الحكومة الإيرانية حول إمكانية رأب الصدع مع الجيران، والاستعداد للحوار مع الدول الغربية حول بعض الملفات الإقليمية مثل اليمن، والإصرار على إقرار القوانين الخاصة بمجموعة العمل المالي الدولية (FATF).

السيناريو الثاني: الانفتاح على الشرق؛ تُبيّن التجربة التاريخية للسلوك الرسمي الإيراني أن النظام يتجه في ظل العقوبات نحو تعزيز علاقاته مع الشرق الروسي-الصيني. وتسعى مؤسسات الثورة إلى الحصول على "ضمانات بقاء" من القوى الشرقية في ظل الضغوط التي يتعرض لها النظام على الجبهة الغربية. وإذا كانت الصين هي المستند الرئيس لإيران خلال العقوبات السابقة، فإن روسيا تبدو اليوم هي الفاعل الدولي الرئيس الذي يستند إليه النظام الإيراني للاحتماء.

السيناريو الثالث: التريُّث حتى الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية في نوفمبر 2020؛ ويمكن العثور على مثل هذا التوجه في تصريحات مسؤولين إيرانيين من داخل الحكومة وخارجها، أشاروا عدة مرات إلى ضرورة الصمود بوجه العقوبات حتى نهاية فترة رئاسة الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب. وبطبيعة الحال، تتوقع هذه الأوساط بأن الرئيس الديمقراطي المُقبِل المفترض سيُبدي مرونة أكبر تجاه الملف الإيراني. وفي ظل هذا السيناريو، فإن كل الملفات العالقة ستبقى مفتوحة، ولكن معلقة، من دون حلول واقعية خلال الفترة الانتقالية. وحتى انتهاء فترة رئاسة ترمب، ستتواصل المحاولات الإيرانية للبقاء على قيد الحياة، عبر العثور على متنفّسات من دول الجوار.

توقعات الاقتصاد الإيراني في 2020

عانت إيران في 2019، من أكبر موجة ركود في تاريخها المعاصر، ويمكن توقع استمرار هذا الركود خلال 2020. وتؤكد مصادر أن نحو 20 في المائة من الوحدات الإنتاجية، والمصانع في إيران أفلست تمامًا، بسبب موجة الركود، فيما يذهب بعض التوقعات إلى أن العام الإيراني الجاري 2020 سيشهد تفاقماً؛ إذ من المتوقع حسب صندوق النقد الدولي أن ينكمش الاقتصاد الإيراني 5.5 في المائة.

واستندت الحكومة في موازنة العام المالي الإيراني المقبل إلى أرقام غير واقعية، مثل بيع أصول وشركات حكومية بقيمة 50 ألف مليار، وتوزيع سندات وأوراق استقراض بقيمة 80 ألف مليار تومان. وربما تسهم القرارات الحكومية برفع أسعار المشتقات النفطية، وتقليص الاجتماعي في زيادة التضخم. ويرجح أن يتواصل تأثير العقوبات على زوايا الاقتصاد الإيراني بشكل مضطرد خلال العام المالي الإيراني المقبل الذي يبدأ في مارس 2020.

وتظهر أرقامٌ صادرةٌ عن مراكز دولية، أن الاقتصاد الإيراني لن يشهد تحسنًا في العام 2020. أما التضخم، فسيكون فوق مستوى الثلاثينيات، مستقرًا عند 31 في المائة في أفضل الحالات، بينما يُظهر جدول ارتفاع التضخم السنوي أنه سيكون أعلى من ذلك. هذا في حين أن حصة إيران من الاقتصاد العالمي ستنخفض نحو 8 في المائة، ويجرب حجم الإنتاج المحلي الإيراني انكماشاً بنحو 10 في المائة. وسيشهد العام المقبل نمواً أكبر في معدلات البطالة التي سترتفع إلى مستوى قياسي، لتستقر عند 15.6 في المائة؛ مما يعني أن نحو 1.5 حتى 1.8 مليون عامل يفقدون وظائفهم خلال 2020.

توقعات الإنتاج، والصادرات النفطية الإيرانية في 2020

لن تقف آثار العقوبات على القطاع النفطي عند حد الصادرات، وإنما ستتجاوزها لتؤثر في مجموع الإنتاج، وفي الاستهلاك الداخلي للمنتجات النفطية؛ ما يترتب عليه تداعيات مهمة في 2020. وبينما خططت الحكومة لبيع نحو مليون برميل من النفط يوميًا في مشروع موازنة العام المقبل، تشير التوقعات إلى عدم إمكانية تحقيق ذلك؛ ما يفتح الباب أمام عجز كبير، يقدره نواب في البرلمان بنحو 25 في المائة خلال العام 2020.

وعلى صعيد إنتاج النفط، يمكن استخلاص السيناريوهات التالية:

السيناريو الأول: استمرار انخفاض إنتاج النفط الإيراني؛ ويفترض أن يواصل الإنتاج الإيراني انخفاضه تحت وطأة انخفاض الصادرات، والافتقاد للتقنيات، والقوة الاستيعابية اللازمة. ويتصور هذا السيناريو تأرجح الإنتاج الإيراني بين 1.8 و1.5 مليون برميل. ووفق هذه السيناريو، ستتوجه إيران نحو التركيز على استخراج النفط من الحقول المشتركة، وهو ما يعرضها للاحتكاك مع البلدان التي تتمتع بعلاقات إيجابية معها، كما تتوجه نحو رفع أسعار النفط للاستهلاك الداخلي، من أجل التغطية على العجز الناجم عن توقف الصادرات وانخفاض الإنتاج وارتفاع كلفة الاستخراج؛ وهو ما يجعل الاقتصاد مُرشَّحاً لمزيد من الأزمات، ومعدلات أعلى من التضخم.

السيناريو الثاني: ارتفاع مبيعات النفط؛ ويفترض أن تستطيع إيران خلال العام المقبل أن تحقق ارتفاعًا ملحوظًا في مبيعات النفط. وهم ما يبدو أن الحكومة خططت للموازنة العامة بناء عليه، ويفترض بلوغ مبيعات النفط الخام نحو 700 ألف برميل، منها 250 ألف برميل تُباع للقطاع الخاص داخل إيران، أو للجهات التي تدين لها الحكومة تعويضًا عن الديون. وإذا افترضنا ذلك، وهو احتمال بعيد جدًا في حال استمرت العقوبات، فإن إيران تستطيع أن تحافظ على مستويات بين 2.1 و2.4 مليون برميل من الإنتاج النفطي اليومي. وحتى في حال انطلاق مسار سياسي للتخفيف من العقوبات، فإن تطبيقه سيتطلب مهلة زمنية تتجاوز العام المقبل.

السيناريو الثالث: السيناريو الوسطي؛ ويفترض أن الإنتاج الإيراني سيظل قرب 1.9 مليون برميل. ووفق هذا السيناريو، تستطيع إيران المحافظة على نحو 150 ألف برميل من الصادرات اليومية كحد أدنى، كما تستطيع توسيع طاقتها الاستيعابية من خلال رفع القوة التشغيلية في المحطات الكهربائية، وفي منصات التكرير. وعلى الرغم من أنها ستستفيد وفق هذا السيناريو من إيراداتها الناجمة عن بيع البنزين والكهرباء للدول المجاورة، فإنها ستضطر إلى رفع أسعار الطاقة والمحروقات، كما ستضطر إلى رفع أسعار النفط المقدم للشركات البتروكيماوية، ومحطات إنتاج الطاقة؛ وهو ما يعني ارتفاعاً في معدلات التضخم، واحتمال حدوث انهيارات ملحوظة في أسهم الشركات البتروكيماوية.

 

سيناريوهات

Iranian Scene Expectations for 2020

EPC | 05 Feb 2020

Over the next two years, Iran is likely to see harsh political and economic conditions; it is awaiting a parliamentary election station in 2020, punctuated by the prospect of a return to protests. The country will undergo a political transition from Rouhani to another president in 2021, and the likelihoods of a having a political transition at the level of the supreme leader are increasing. Iran is reeling under tough US sanctions and a deepening economic crisis, which spurs internal conflicts over power and resources. Given the peculiarity of Iranian-American relations, the remainder of President Trump's term is a period of labor and awaiting that leaves its impact on shaping the main features of any future political process in Iran.

Shifts affecting "power distribution map" in Iran during 2020

1. Continued expansion of the Revolutionary Guards’ role: The significant developments in the map of the distribution of internal power indicate the Revolutionary Guards’ desire for further expansion, and a shift towards the deep state, which is the core process at the Iranian political level. This means emptying some of the constitutional institutions, such as the government, from its powers and taking some files out of its hand. A development in the government system in Iran can be expected under the heavy weight of calling to reduce the powers of some institutions, such as the presidency and parliament, in favor of other institutions that do not derive their legitimacy from the elections, such as: "the Expediency Council" and "the Supreme National Security Council."

2. Parliamentary elections: The ongoing preparations for the parliamentary elections scheduled for February 21, 2020 showed the tendency of the conservative movement to dominate most of the seats in the next parliament. In light of the announcement of the current Council Speaker Ali Larijani that he does not intend to run in the upcoming elections, Mohammed Baqir Qalibaf is increasingly likely to gain the position of Parliament Speaker, which represents another important development in the context of the strategy of the systematic expansion of the Revolutionary Guards in the map of the distribution of internal power.

3. Iranian presidential elections: It is highly unlikely that a candidate close to Rouhani's orientations will find his way to power in light of the great reluctance of the current government. It may be within the Revolutionary Guard’s future plan to directly or indirectly dominate the presidency and the executive authority in the 2021 elections. But the ongoing talking - so far - is about escalating a conservative, technocratic face of the government leadership in the next stage.

4. Competition for Khamenei's succession: The movements of political circles in Iran show that competition for the position of the supreme leader is heating up. The manifestations of this competition are confined within the conservative current and come to surface in the form of tacit alliances that are taking shape in light of the competition between constitutional institutions. As such, the political process will be during the entire coming period under the umbrella of competition for succession.

 Milestones of the social situation in Iran during 2020

Social challenges exacerbated in light US sanctions. Most of the social challenges are associated with widespread poverty and other economic drivers. Experts expect that this situation will continue during the year 2020. But another pattern of protests emerged with the turn of 2020 driven by civil political motives, against the background of the Iranian air defense shooting down a civilian passenger plane.

The year 2019 witnessed a remarkable development in the political and social movement in Iran. It was represented in raising slogans that refused to belong to the two main political currents (the reformist and conservative currents). The means the breakdown of political references that control public opinion and can direct it and the emergence of new references outside the hegemony of the traditional political duo. This development has future repercussions, and it will be very likely to see some of their effects during 2020, as the radical tendency is deepening  more across the various classes and social lines. Besides, we are likely to witness attempts to heal the rift between the four existing radicals (economic, ethnic, religious and political), with the aim of coordinating the efforts of the forces opposing the regime, and improving the effectiveness of protest movements.

Scenarios of the Internal Political Process in 2020

First Scenario: Re-escalation of Reformist Trend: This scenario assumes the regime’s tendency to repeat the experience of the 1997 elections that resulted in the rise of the reformist movement, as demonstrated by the reformist President Mohammad Khatami’s assumption of power between 1997 and 2004. In order for the repetition of such a scenario to be possible , it is necessary for parties in the conservative movement to resort to an alliance with the reformists, and to share power with them.

Second Scenario: Direct Military Rule; This scenario assumes the Revolutionary Guards take over the executive power either directly through a revolutionary military government council, or indirectly through bringing a retired general to the presidential seat, and a remote government administration. This ascension can be considered the culmination of the natural development of the revolutionary Guard Foundation from a purely military establishment to a deep state.

Third Scenario: Escalation of Technocrats: This scenario assumes that the regime resort to escalating one of the faces of the technocrats close to the conservative current, and supports him  in the upcoming presidential elections, to ensure bringing to the presidency post. Then the new president will begin a partial opening to the West in order to harvest some economic fruits.

External political transformations impacting internal scene in Iran

1. The American Presidential Election: Most Iranian leaders prefer losing President Donald Trump to the next presidential race. There is a belief in the circles of the Iranian regime that changing the current American administration will lead to a breakthrough in Iranian-American relations and ease pressure on Iran. This is what is pushing the regime to postpone taking decision on many issues until after the American elections. This is what has led to a the policy of strategic patience in the face of the current US pressures.

2. Possibilities of escalating tensions between Iran and the United States: At the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020, the region witnessed a serious security and military escalation between the United States and Iran, culminating in the assassination of Al-Quds Force commander, Qassem Soleimani, and Iran's formal withdrawal from the nuclear agreement. This situation may be repeated for various reasons.

3. Future of the Nuclear Agreement; During the year 2020, Iran continues its steps to gradually walk out of the nuclear agreement to stop the American campaign of "maximum pressure" and force Washington to return to the negotiating table. But the Trump administration is showing no sign of wanting to return to the agreement. It became clear that Washington was willing to negotiate with Tehran on a separate track, outside the framework of the nuclear agreement.

Scenarios of the international trends for the Iranian regime

 First Scenario: Opening to the West: This scenario assumes that the political system in Iran will decide to defrost the snow between it and the Western countries, including the United States, through a comprehensive dialogue. Some parties in the Iranian government support this scenario, as do several political trends with varying effects, but overall they are relatively weak. They believe that opening up to the West and engaging in a comprehensive dialogue with it is the main key to resolving many of the country's crises, especially the economic crisis. In the context of this openness, we can place statements by prominent figures in the Iranian government about the possibility of healing the rift with neighbors, getting ready for dialogue with the Western countries on some regional issues such as Yemen, and insisting on passing the laws of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF).

Second Scenario: opening up to the east; the historical experience of Iranian official behavior shows that, under sanctions, the regime is moving toward strengthening its relations with the Russian-Chinese east. The institutions of the revolution are seeking to obtain "survival guarantees" from the eastern powers in light of the pressures on the regime on the western front. If China was the main pillar for Iran during the previous sanctions, then Russia appears today to be the main international actor on which the Iranian regime is taking refuge.

Third Scenario: Waiting until US presidential elections in November 2020: Such a trend can be found in statements by Iranian officials from inside and outside the government, who have indicated several times that it is necessary to withstand sanctions until the end of the US President Donald Trump's term. Of course, these circles expect that the presumed future Democratic President will show more flexibility towards the Iranian file. In this scenario, all outstanding issues will remain open but pending without realistic solutions during the transition period. And until the end of Trump's presidency, Iranian attempts to stay alive will continue, by finding breaths from neighboring countries.

 Iranian economic outlook in 2020

In 2019, Iran suffered from the largest wave of recession in its contemporary history, and this recession can be expected to continue during 2020. Sources confirm that about 20 per cent of the production units and factories in Iran are completely bankrupt due to this recession, while some expectations go to the current Iranian year 2020 which will get worse, as according to the International Monetary Fund, the Iranian economy is expected to shrink by 5.5 percent.

In the budget of the next Iranian fiscal year, the government relied on unrealistic figures, such as the sale of government companies and assets worth of 50 thousand billion, and the distribution of bonds and loans documents worth of 80 thousand billion tomans. Government decisions to raise the prices of oil derivatives and reduce social costs may increase inflation. The impact of sanctions on components of the Iranian economy is likely to continue to grow steadily during the next Iranian fiscal year beginning in March 2020.

Figures released by international centers show that the Iranian economy will not improve in 2020. As for inflation, it will be above the level of the thirties, stable at 31 percent at best, while the annual high inflation schedule shows that it will be higher. This is while Iran's share of the global economy will drop by about 8 percent, and the size of Iran's domestic product will experience a contraction of about 10 percent. Next year, unemployment rate which will rise to a record level, to stand at 15.6 per cent. This means that around 1.5 to 1.8 million workers lose their jobs during 2020.

Production expectations, Iranian oil exports in 2020

The effects of sanctions on the oil sector will not stop at the limit of exports, but will go beyond them to affect the total production and the internal consumption of oil products, which entails important consequences in 2020. While the government plans to sell about one million barrels of oil per day according to next year’s draft budget, projections indicate that this cannot be achieved, which opens the door to a large deficit, estimated by parliamentarians at 25 percent during the year 2020.

In terms of oil production, the following scenarios can be drawn:

The first scenario: the continued decline in Iranian oil production; it assumes that Iranian production will continues to decline under the heavy weight of low exports, a lack of technologies, and the necessary absorptive strength. This scenario envisions Iranian production fluctuating between 1.8 and 1.5 million barrels. Iran will move towards focusing on extracting oil from the common fields, which exposes it to friction with countries with which it has positive relations. It will also head for raising oil prices for internal consumption, in order to cover the deficit caused by the stoppage of exports, low production and high cost of extraction. This makes the economy a prone to more crises and higher inflation rates.

The second scenario: a rise in oil sales; it assumes that Iran can achieve a remarkable increase in oil sales during the next year. This is what government seems to have counted on when drafting the next year’s general budget. It is assumed that crude oil sales reach about 700,000 barrels, of which 250,000 barrels are sold to the private sector inside Iran, or to those to whom the government owes compensation for debts. Assuming this, which is a very remote possibility in the event that sanctions persist, Iran can maintain levels ranging 2.1- 2.4 million barrels of daily oil production. Even if a political pathway to ease sanctions is launched, its implementation of this will require a deadline beyond the next year.

The third scenario: the middle scenario; it assumes that Iranian oil production will remain near 1.9 million barrels. In this scenario, Iran can maintain about 150,000 barrels of daily exports as a minimum, and it can expand its absorptive capacity by raising the operating strength in power plants and in refineries. Although, according to this scenario, it will benefit from its revenues resulting from the sale of gasoline and electricity to neighboring countries, it will have to raise energy and fuel prices as well as the prices of oil provided to petrochemical companies and power plants, which means an increase in inflation, and the possibility of the occurrence of noticeable collapses in the shares of petrochemical companies.

 

Latest Scenarios