اليمن في مواجهة كورونا: تحديات الوباء وتداعياته على مسار الصراع

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 04 أبريل 2020

لم تُسجَّل في اليمن حتى الآن أي حالة إصابة بفيروس كورونا المستجد، لكن دخول الفيروس إلى البلاد ليس إلا مسألة وقت على الأرجح، وإذا حدَثَ ذلك فمن المتوقع أن ينتشر بصورة واسعة وكارثية. ولهذا الوباء تداعياته المتوقعة على المشهد السياسي، وهناك من يرى أنه يُقدِّم فرصة لوقف القتال في البلاد، ويبدو أن الأمم المتحدة تتحرَّك على هذا الأساس.

تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على وضع اليمن في مواجهة كورونا، وتستكشف تداعيات هذا الوباء على المشهد السياسي ومستقبل الجهود الأممية التي تحاول استغلال الفرصة التي يُقدِّمها لوقف القتال المستمر منذ أكثر من خمس سنوات.

خلفية

بالرغم من تأكيد ممثل منظمة الصحة العالمية في آخر إحاطة معلوماتية على عدم تسجيل أي إصابة بفيروس كورونا المستجد في اليمن، إلا أن خطر تفشي الفيروس في البلاد لا يزال قائماً، وقد اتخذت الحكومة الشرعية وجماعة "أنصار الله" (الحوثيين)، وبصورة غير متماثلة، كثيراً من الإجراءات الوقائية التي اعتمدتها بقية دول العالم[1]. وفي موازاة ذلك تم تأمين التجهيزات والإمدادات الطبية، واُتُخِذ العديد من الاستعدادات لمواجهة الفيروس[2].

مع ذلك، لا يمكن القول إن الوضع بات تحت السيطرة. ووفقاً للخبراء والجهات المعنية، فما تم اتخاذه من استعدادات وإجراءات وقائية حتى الآن يظل غير كاف لمنع دخول الفيروس إلى البلاد، فضلاً عن مواجهته حال دخوله. ويتوقع هؤلاء أن ينتهي دخول الفيروس بانفجار هائل في حالات الإصابة والعدوى، ووصفت منظمة الصحة العالمية فرضية تفشي الفيروس في اليمن بالكارثة، أما الأسباب فأهمها:

  1. الانتقال السريع والصامت للفيروس.
  2. معاناة السكان من نقص الغذاء والدواء والمياه النظيفة.
  3. ضعف نظام الرعاية الصحية، فالقطاع الصحي لا يستطيع في وضعه الحالي تقديم خدماته والقيام بوظائفه العادية، فضلاً عن تقديم خدمات نوعية تتطلبها الوقاية من الوباء والسيطرة عليه، فهذا القطاع الذي كان ضعيفاً قبل الحرب فقد أكثر من 50% من طاقته التشغيلية بسببها، وبالإضافة إلى البنية التحتية المتهالكة والمحدودة[3]، هناك نقص في أعداد العاملين من الأطباء والكوادر التمريضية، واعتبر بيان صادر عن فريق الخبراء البارزين الدوليين بشأن اليمن والمشكَّل من الأمم المتحدة أن من المستحيل تطبيق إجراءات التباعد الاجتماعي والجسدي والعزل الذاتي في المرافق الصحية المكتظة أصلاً.
  4. تواضع الإمكانات المالية المتاحة أو التي يمكن تسخيرها لمواجهة الوباء.
  5. وهناك عوامل سياسية وإدارية، تتمثل في انقسام السلطة والإدارة السيئة للبلاد، وحتى الآن، مثلاً، لم يتعامل طرفا الصراع بما تقتضيه مسؤوليتهما، فعلى الرغم من أن مواجهة الوباء تستلزم العمل المشترك والتنسيق بينهما، إلا أنه، باستثناء الحماس الإعلامي الذي أبدياه في هذه القضية، ما من مؤشر حتى اللحظة على أي تنسيق. وهناك الحرب التي تهدر الإمكانات المتاحة، وتعيق أداء المرافق الصحية لوظائفها، وتسبَّبت ولا تزال في حركة نزوح كبيرة، ويُقدَّر أن 3.3 مليون يعيشون في مخيمات تتفشَّى فيها الأمراض وستكون بيئة مثالية لانتشار الفيروس.
  6. عوامل اجتماعية، مثل قلة وعي المجتمع بمخاطر الفيروس، وحالة اللامبالاة العامة، وفي اليمن يعيش معظم السكان في المناطق الريفية، ويَصْعُب توقُّع حصول التزام واسع بأي تعليمات. وفي مثال مبكر، لم تلتزم عدد من المساجد في مناطق الشرعية بقرار تعليق الصلاة فيها، ولم يلتزم عدد من مدراء مكاتب وزارة الأوقاف في المحافظات بإنفاذ هذا القرار، ما اضطر الوزير إلى إصدار قرار بإيقافهم عن العمل.

وبالإجمال، فاليمن بأوضاعه الحالية يشكل بيئة مثالية لتفشي الوباء، وهذا يتأكَّد من كونه يُعَد اليوم حاضنة لبعض الأوبئة كحمى الضنك والكوليرا التي عانت البلاد من أكبر تفشٍّ لها في العالم عام 2018، وأودت بحياة الآلاف.

التداعيات السياسية: هل يوقف "كورونا" الحرب؟

لهذا الوباء تأثيره في مسار الصراع، وهو تأثير يتأسَّس على تداعياته الناجزة والمتوقَّعة على الصعيد الدولي والإقليمي والمحلي، وعلى وجه الخصوص على تداعياته على الاقتصاد وعلى الأوضاع الإنسانية في البلاد.

فمن المتوقع أن يشهد الوضع الاقتصادي، المتدهور أصلاً بسبب الحرب، المزيد من التدهور[4]، وأن يلحق الركود والاضطراب الأسواق والحركة التجارية، وترتفع الأسعار وتنخفض قيمة العملة الوطنية، وأن تتراجع الإيرادات الحكومية. وهناك عوامل أخرى ستُفاقِم من هذه النتائج كانخفاض أسعار النفط الذي تُمثِّل مبيعاته، برغم محدوديتها، جزءاً مهماً من إيرادات الحكومة.

ويُتوقَّع أن تتفاقم الأزمة الإنسانية الطاحنة التي يعيشها اليمن، فعدا عن الأعداد الكبيرة المتوقَّعة من الإصابات بالفيروس، بدأ هذا الوباء بإعاقة العمليات الإغاثية التي يعتمد عليها جزء كبير من السكان اليوم. ولأنها تعتمد بصورة شبه كاملة على الخارج في استيراد الغذاء، هناك مخاوف من أن تشهد البلاد أزمة غذائية نتيجة ارتفاع أسعار الغذاء وكلفة استيراده، خصوصاً إذا مضى المصدِّرون في تقييد البيع ومضى المستوردون في شراء ما هو أكثر من احتياجاتهم. وقد بدأت الأسعار العالمية لبعض السلع الرئيسية كالأرز والسكر بالارتفاع فعلاً.

كورونا باعتباره عاملاً كابحاً/ مُؤجِّجاً للصراع

يحمل هذا الوباء بعض الفرص الكابحة للصراع، فسيناريو انتشار الفيروس في اليمن يثير كثيراً من المخاوف من حدوث كارثة صحية ومن تحوُّل البلاد إلى بؤرة خطيرة للوباء، وهو ما يُفترَض أن يضع الكثير من الضغوط على أطراف الصراع. وبنتائجه على الأوضاع الاقتصادية والإنسانية فهذا الوباء يفرض أعباءً أخلاقية ومالية على هؤلاء وعلى المجتمع الدولي أيضاً. وسينتهي الأمر خصوصاً بضغوط كبيرة على موارد أطراف الصراع، وبزيادة الضغوط الدولية الواقعة عليها. وثمة فرصة نظرية أن يحد انتشار الفيروس من عدد المقاتلين في الجبهات ومن قدراتهم على الحركة والقتال.

وفي المقابل، ينطوي وباء كورونا على فرص ومحفزات مُؤجِّجة للصراع، فالحوثيون، وعلى سبيل المثال، يرون في انشغال العالم بمواجهة الوباء فرصة لتحقيق إنجازات عسكرية خاطفة على الأرض، وهذا واضح في تنفيذ قواتهم زحوفات واسعة خلال الأيام الماضية وفي تكرار هجماتهم الصاروخية على مارب والمملكة العربية السعودية. وعدا ذلك فهذا الوباء يعطيهم فرصة لابتزاز المنظمات الإنسانية والإغاثية وتقييد أنشطتها، والحصول بالتالي على مزيد من الموارد. ويُلاحَظ أيضاً أن الحوثيين يحاولون، وإن بصورة خجولة، استغلال مخاوف الشارع لاستقطاب المزيد من المقاتلين بحجة أن الجبهات هي المكان الأكثر أمناً لتجنُّب الإصابة بالفيروس، كما يقومون بِحَثِّ الناس على الالتحاق بجبهات القتال بحجة أن الموت فيها أشرف من الموت في المنازل بسبب الفيروس، والأهم بحجة أن كورونا حرب بيولوجية أمريكية ينبغي مواجهتها.

ويرى الكثيرون أن ظهور كورونا ومخاوف انتشاره في البلاد يعطي فرصة مثالية لوقف القتال والدخول في هدنة، ولحلحلة بعض الملفات المهمة المرتبطة بالصراع، إذ يُفترَض بالخطر الذي يُمثِّله هذا الوباء أن يدفع الحكومة والحوثيين - خصوصاً أنهما، كما يَفترِض هؤلاء، قد أصبحا مُرھَقین من الحرب - باتجاه التعاون الذي سيكون خطوة أولى باتجاه بناء الثقة ستُشجِّع بدورها على خطوات أخرى تنتهي بخدمة مسار السلام.

لكن، وبالرغم من كل شيء، لا يبدو أن طرفي الصراع يتشاركان الوعي بخطورة هذا الوباء على البلاد ومستقبلها، ولا يدركان أهمية الفرص التي يُقدِّمها لإنهاء الصراع وإحلال السلام، وهذا يظهر في تعاملهما المسيَّس مع هذه القضية وفي موقفهما المتردِّد من إطلاق الأسرى والمعتقلين، والأهم في موقفهما الملتبس والمراوغ من الجهود الأممية لوقف القتال. 

التعامل المُسيَّس

هناك تسييس واضح في تعامل طرفي الصراع مع الأزمة. فالحوثيون استنسخوا خطاب إيران ومحورها، واعتبروا فيروس كورونا صناعة ومؤامرة أمريكية. جاء ذلك على لسان زعيم الجماعة الذي أضاف أن دخول كورونا إلى البلاد سيتم التعامل معه "كعمل عدائي". وحمَّل مهدي المشاط، رئيس سلطة الأمر الواقع الحوثية في صنعاء، ما أسماها "دول العدوان وعلى رأسها أمريكا" المسؤولية عن أن أيِّ تسلُّل محتمل للفيروس إلى اليمن، واتَّهم التحالف بعرقلة الإجراءات التي اتخذوها والمتمثلة بإغلاق كافة المنافذ لمنع انتشار الفيروس، وادّعى أن السعودية تقوم بترحيل اليمنيين بهدف الضغط على المنافذ الحدودية لتسهيل دخول الفيروس إلى اليمن. ووجد طرفا الصراع المحليين في ما يحصل فرصة لتبادُل الاتهامات بالتسبُّب بتعريض البلاد إلى خطر هذا الوباء، وبالتكتُّم عن حالات إصابة بالفيروس في مناطق سيطرتهما[5].

ملف الأسرى والمعتقلين 

أثار انتشار الفيروس كوباء عالمي والمخاوف من دخوله اليمن قضية الأسرى والمعتقلين لدى طرفي الصراع المُقدَّر عددهم بحوالي ستة عشر ألفاً، وتزايدت مطالب المنظمات الحقوقية والإنسانية وضغوطها من أجل إطلاق سراحهم، فقد حذَّر المبعوث الدولي، مثلاً، من تفشي كورونا في أوساطهم وطالَب باتخاذ جميع التدابير لتسريع الإفراج عنهم تجنُّباً لانتشار الفيروس.

وأبدى طرفا الصراع تجاوباً متفاوتاً مع هذه الدعوات والضغوط؛ فأعلنت الحكومة، في تصريح لوزير خارجيتها، عن استعدادها لإطلاق سراح الأسرى، ودعت إلى تنفيذ ما تم الاتفاق عليه مؤخراً في الأردن دون مماطلة. أما الحوثيون فأعلنوا تشكيل لجنة للنظر في أوضاع "السجناء" ووضع خطة للإفراج عن المعسرين منهم وعن سجناء الرأي من غير المحكوم عليهم ومن غير الموقوفين على ذمة قضايا جنائية، ولكنهم تجنَّبوا الحديث عن أسرى الحرب من المقاتلين.

وعدا عن بُعْدِه الإنساني والأخلاقي، فموضوع إطلاق سراح الأسرى والمعتقلين كان سيمثل خدمة لجهود السلام وخطوة مهمة باتجاه بناء الثقة بين طرفي الصراع. لكن برغم الوعود والتعهدات، لم يقم أي طرف حتى الآن بإطلاق أيٍّ من الأسرى والمعتقلين. وما من مُؤشِّر على أن أياً منهما بصدد إجراءات فعلية باتجاه إطلاق جميع من في سجونه. فحتى الاتفاق الموقَّع بين الطرفين في فبراير الماضي في عمّان لإطلاق جزء من الأسرى لم يجد طريقه للتنفيذ حتى اللحظة.

الجهود الأممية لوقف القتال 

تتحرَّك الأمم المتحدة بشكلٍ يوحي بأنها تؤمن فعلاً بأن ثمة فرصة لوقف القتال، فقد وجَّه الأمين العام في 23 مارس 2020 دعوة لأطراف الصراع للتوقُّف الفوري عن الأعمال العدائية، "والتركيز على التوصُّل إلى تسوية سياسية عن طريق التفاوض". وهي دعوة ما برح المبعوث الأممي يُكرِّرها. ومن جهته، دعا الاتحاد الأوروبي أطراف الصراع للتعاون مع الدعوات الأممية لوقف إطلاق النار، وقال متحدث الشؤون الخارجية والسياسة الأمنية إن الاتحاد يتوقع من الأطراف الانخراط بشكل بنَّاء مع المبعوث الأممي لوضع الآليات الملائمة لبناء الثقة لتحقيق تلك الغاية.

وبدورهم، أعلن الحوثيون والحكومة الشرعية والمجلس الانتقالي الجنوبي وقوات "المقاومة الوطنية" في الساحل الغربي ترحيبهم بدعوة وقف إطلاق النار. وفي بيان صدر عنها أكدت الحكومة أن "الوضع في اليمن سياسياً واقتصادياً وصحياً يستلزم إيقاف كافة أشكال التصعيد والوقوف ضمن الجهد العالمي لمواجهة الوباء"، وأعلن التحالف العربي، على لسان المتحدث باسم القوات المشتركة، دعمه للجهود الأممية وتأييده لقرار الحكومة اليمنية. وجاء ترحيب الحوثيين على لسان رئيس المجلس السياسي الأعلى، مهدي المشاط، الذي أكد على الاستعداد التام "للانفتاح على كل الجهود والمبادرات".

ودعا المبعوث الأممي في 27 مارس 2020 الأطراف المعنية إلى عقد اجتماع عاجل لمناقشة التزاماتهم التي أعلنوها بوقف إطلاق النار، ويأمل المبعوث الأممي التوصُّل في هذا الاجتماع إلى اتفاق يضمن وقف إطلاق نار شامل، وسيحاول تأمين تعاون الطرفين لوضع خطة تشمل تدابير لبناء الثقة. ويأمل مسؤولو الأمم المتحدة ويعملون على استخدام أي خطة للهدنة والبناء عليها للوصول إلى تدشين عملية سياسية ومباحثات سلام تنهي الصراع. 

غير أن النجاح في وقف القتال وفقاً لدعوة الأمين العام يظل مُستَبعَداً في ظل المواقف والسياسات التي يبديها طرفا الصراع، وخصوصاً الحوثيين، فهذا النجاح يقتضي حسن النية واستعداد الفرقاء لتقديم بعض التنازلات التي طالما رفضوها وتملَّصوا منها في السابق، وهو ما لا يبدو أنه سوف يحدث؛ فترحيبهم بدعوة الأمم المتحدة وموافقتهم على وقف القتال قد لا تتجاوز المناورة والاستهلاك الإعلامي.

فبالنسبة للحكومة التي لديها مخاوفها من استغلال الحوثيين أيّ هدنة جديدة للتخطيط لاقتحام مدينة مارب، فيبدو أنها وصلت لقناعة بأنهم لن يلتزموا بشيء، ولذلك فهي تعرف أن قبولها لن يلزمها بشيء في نهاية الأمر، ولعل هذا ما جعلها تسارع إلى الترحيب بدعوة المبعوث لعقد اجتماع لبحث خطوات وقف القتال، وهي الدعوة التي لم يصدر عن الحوثيين شيء بشأن تلبيتها أو رفضها حتى اللحظة. 

أما الحوثيون فلهم شروطهم للتهدئة وللدخول في حوار، كوقف العمليات العسكرية ووقف الرقابة على الموانئ وفتح مطار صنعاء، ودفع الرواتب[6]. وعلى الرغم من تصريحاتهم المُرحّبة بدعوات وقف إطلاق النار، إلا أنهم لا زالوا يُصعِّدون في الميدان، فعملياتهم العسكرية لم تتوقف بل زادت كثافة واتساعاً، فقد نفَّذوا بعد إعلان ترحيبهم بالدعوة الأممية هجمات واسعة في كلٍّ من مارب والجوف وشنوا هجوماً بالصواريخ البالستية والطائرات المسيرة قالوا إنه الأكبر على أراضي السعودية ومصالحها. وفيما يُظهِر التصميم على التصعيد، هدَّد زعيم الحوثيين في خطاب له في 27 مارس بجاهزية جماعته لمفاجآت لم تكن في حسبان قوات التحالف، ودعا أنصاره للاستمرار في دعم "الانتصارات" ومواصلتها.  

ويُمثِّل استمرار الحوثيين في تصعيدهم العسكري تهديداً للفرصة المتاحة اليوم وإحباطاً للجهود الأممية، حتى إن المبعوث الدولي نفسه وصف هذا التصعيد بالمثير للجزع والمخيِّب للآمال. وليس ذلك وحسب، فهناك احتمالات حقيقية أن يقود هذا التصعيد إلى انفجار الوضع العسكري على نحو واسع.

وإجمالاً، لا يوجد مُؤشِّر على نجاح الدعوة والجهود الأممية في استغلال وباء كورونا لوقف القتال في اليمن. إن إعطاء الأمل لهذه الدعوة وتلك المساعي ما زال يشترط تحركاً ودعماً دولياً قوياً، وممارسة ضغوط قوية على أطراف الصراع، أما نجاحها فليس متوقعاً دون موافقة ودعم الرعاة الإقليميين للصراع، ومع أنه من المرجَّح أن یجد غوتیریش ومبعوثه تجاوباً من دول تحالف دعم الشرعية إلا أن العقدة ستظل في موقف طهران، فمن الواضح أنها تربط التفاعُل مع دعوة الأمين العام بتحقُّق تلك الشروط التي ما برح الحوثيون يطرحونها[7].

الخلاصة

لم تُسجَّل حتى الآن في اليمن أي حالة إصابة بفيروس كورونا المستجد، ولكن ما زال خطر دخول الفيروس إلى البلاد قائماً. وفي ظروف البلاد الراهنة من المتوقع أن ينتشر الفيروس بصورة كارثية حال دخوله إليها. ومع أن ظهور هذا الوباء بدا وكأنه قد يُمثِّل فرصة لوقف القتال حاولت الأمم المتحدة اقتناصها، إلا أن المؤشرات تقول إن النجاح في إيقاف القتال ليس مرجحاً دون تدخُّلٍ دوليٍّ قوي.

_____

[1] أهمها: ضبط ومراقبة منافذ الدخول إلى البلاد؛ تعليق الرحلات الجوية؛ إقامة محاجر صحية؛ تنفيذ حملات رش وقائي؛ إيقاف الدراسة؛ إغلاق صالات الأفراح وبعض الأسواق المزدحمة والاستراحات والمطاعم؛ تقليص ساعات العمل؛ نقل أسواق بيع القات إلى مناطق مفتوحة.

[2] حيث تم تأمين محاليل الفحوصات، والكاميرات الحرارية، وتدريب الكوادر الطبية، وتشكيل فرق استجابة سريعة في المديريات، ورفع جاهزية غرف عمليات الطوارئ، ودعوة الأطباء والفنيين وخبراء الصحة وكل من له علاقة إلى التطوع استعداداً لمواجهة كورونا.

[3] على سبيل المثال، هناك فقط مختبران بإمكانهما إجراء فحوصات للفيروس، وتعمل منظمة الصحة العالمية على فتح مختبر ثالث وعلى ضمان وجود مستشفى للعزل في كل محافظة، وفي مواجهة العجز في المواد والأجهزة الطبية عملت المنظمة بتمويل من السعودية والإمارات على تسيير جسر جوي لمساعدة اليمن بما يحتاجه.

[4] أعلن صندوق النقد الدولي، في 24 مارس، أن عديد البلدان ستعاني بسبب تفشِّي فيروس كورونا تراجعاً كبيراً في النمو الاقتصادي هذا العام؛ وأن الدول التي تمزقها الحروب بالذات، كاليمن، ستواجه صعوبات جمة.

[5] تتَّهِم الشرعية ومؤيدوها الحوثيين بالتكتم عن حالات إصابة بكورونا، وبأنهم من سيدخل الفيروس إلى اليمن عن طريق خبراء الحرس الثوري. وفي المقابل، اتَّهم زعيم الجماعة الحوثية تحالفَ الشرعية بالتكتم على انتشار الفيروس في بعض مناطق سيطرتهم، وزَعَمَ أن مصادره تؤكد انتشار الوباء في جبهة ميدي على الساحل الغربي بأعداد كبيرة.

[6] طُرحت هذه الشروط على المبعوث الأممي من قبل القيادي في الجماعة محمد علي الحوثي، الذي اشترط أيضاً إجراء حوار مباشر مع دول التحالف قبل الحوار مع الحكومة. (وكالة "سبأ" التابعة للحوثيين، 24 مارس 2020).

[7] وعلى سبيل المثال، صرَّح المتحدث باسم الخارجية الإيرانية، عباس موسوي، في 27 مارس 2020، أن بلاده تُرحِّب وتدعم مقترح الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، ولكنها ترى أنه "لو ترافق مع إجراءات عملية من قبل التحالف في هذا المجال ورفع الحصار عن هذا البلد، يمكنه أن يشكل إجراء مهماً للحيلولة دون موت الآلاف من الأبرياء وخطوة أساسية لفتح نافذة أمام إرساء السلام والاستقرار".

 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Yemen Confronts Coronavirus: Challenges in Combating the Epidemic and the Impact on the Conflict

EPC | 04 Apr 2020

While no cases of coronavirus have been recorded yet in Yemen, it is only a matter of time before the virus reaches the country, at which point it is expected to spread widely and catastrophically. Such an epidemic is also expected to have political repercussions, with some parties, such as the United Nations, seeing it as an opportunity to bring an end to the conflict in the country.

This paper examines how coronavirus is expected to impact Yemen, in particular its effect on the political scene and the attempts by the international community to use it as an opportunity to put an end to the five-year-long conflict in the country.

Background

Although, at the most recent briefing, the representative of the World Health Organization (WHO) confirmed that no cases of coronavirus had yet been recorded in Yemen, there remains a risk that the virus will spread to the country. The legitimate authorities and the Houthis have, asymmetrically, taken many of the preventive measures adopted by other countries around the world[1]. They have also secured medical equipment and supplies, and have made numerous preparations to confront the virus[2].

Nonetheless, it cannot be said the situation is entirely under control. According to experts and the authorities, the preparations and preventive measures taken thus far are not sufficient to prevent the virus from entering the country or to combat it once it has arrived. They predict that, if the virus reaches Yemen, it will lead to a massive explosion in the number of infections — on a disastrous scale, according to the WHO — owing to the following factors:

  1. Rapid, silent disease transmission.
  2. The shortage of food, medicine, and clean water.
  3. The weakness of the healthcare system, given that, in its current state, the health sector cannot even provide a normal level of service, never mind providing specific services to prevent and control an epidemic. Even before the war, the health sector was weak; it has since lost a further 50% of its operating capacity. The infrastructure is old and inadequate[3], and there is a shortage of physicians and nursing staff. The UN Panel of Experts on Yemen has stated that it will be impossible to implement social and physical distancing and self-isolation measures in the country’s already overcrowded healthcare facilities.
  4. The lack of financial resources available, or capable of being mobilized, to combat the epidemic.
  5. Political and administrative factors, such as the division of power and poor governance. Thus far, for example, the two parties to the conflict have shirked their responsibilities. Although confronting the epidemic will require joint action and coordination, there have not yet been any signs, with the exception of enthusiastic statements to the media, that either party is coordinating with the other. The war in Yemen is wasting available potential and impeding the work of healthcare facilities, and it continues to cause large-scale displacement. Some 3.3 million individuals are estimated to live in unsanitary camps in the country, which would be an ideal environment to allow the disease to spread.
  6. Social factors, such as the lack of community awareness regarding the dangers of the virus and the general state of apathy. As the majority of the population lives in rural areas, it is unlikely that they will all adhere to any instructions given. For example, numerous mosques in government-held areas did not follow the order to suspend prayers, and the directors of various branches of the Ministry of Awqaf across the governorates failed to implement the decision, as a result of which the Ministry was obliged to issue closure orders.

In its current state, therefore, Yemen is the ideal environment for an epidemic, as supported by the fact that it is currently considered an incubator for various other epidemics, such as dengue fever and cholera. In 2018, Yemen suffered the world’s largest outbreak of cholera, which claimed thousands of lives.

Political repercussions: will coronavirus put an end to the war?

The epidemic will likely have an impact on the conflict, given the existing and expected repercussions at the local, regional, and international levels, and in particular given its potential impact on the economy and the humanitarian situation in Yemen.

Already weakened as a result of the war, the economic situation is only expected to deteriorate further[4]. Recession and turmoil are expected to affect commercial markets and movements, leading to price rises, a drop in the value of the currency, and a decline in government revenues. Other factors will exacerbate the situation, such as the fall in oil prices, sales of which, although limited, remain an important part of government revenue in Yemen.

The severe humanitarian crisis in Yemen is also expected to worsen. Apart from the expected large number of infections, an epidemic would hinder relief operations, on which a large proportion of the population depends. As Yemen relies almost entirely on food imports, there are fears that the country will experience a food crisis as a result of high food prices and import costs, particularly if exporters restrict sales and importers purchase more than they need. Global prices for some major commodities, such as rice and sugar, have already begun to rise.

Coronavirus as a brake/trigger for conflict

A coronavirus epidemic in Yemen has the potential to curb the conflict. Many people are concerned that Yemen may experience a serious epidemic and subsequent health disaster, which would put significant pressure on both parties to the conflict. They, along with the international community, will have a moral and financial burden to bear, given the economic and humanitarian repercussions of such an epidemic. In particular, an epidemic would place significant pressure on the resources of both parties to the conflict and would lead the international community to increase the pressure placed on them. It is also theoretically possible that the spread of the virus will limit the number of fighters on the ground and will hinder their ability to move around and engage in combat.

It is possible, however, that an epidemic would further fuel the conflict. The Houthis, for example, see the global preoccupation with confronting the pandemic as an opportunity to make rapid military gains on the ground. In recent days, Houthi forces have made widespread advances and have conducted numerous missile attacks against Ma’rib and Saudi Arabia. Moreover, the epidemic provides them with an opportunity to blackmail humanitarian and relief organizations, restrict their activities, and thus obtain more resources. The Houthis are also attempting, albeit coyly, to exploit public fears to recruit fighters, on the pretext that the battlefront is the best place to avoid contracting the virus and that it is more honorable to die in combat than to die of the disease at home. Most notably, they are also promoting the belief that coronavirus is an American biological weapon that must be overcome.

Nonetheless, many people feel that the potential for a coronavirus epidemic in the country and the fears of such an epidemic provide a perfect opportunity to put an end to the fighting, establish a truce, and resolve important issues related to the conflict. The threat of an epidemic is expected to push the government and the Houthis towards cooperation, particularly as both parties claim to have tired of the conflict. Such cooperation would be the first step in building confidence, which could ultimately lead to a peaceful resolution.

Despite all these considerations, however, the parties to the conflict do not seem to share any awareness of the impact that such an epidemic could have on the country and its future, nor do they realize what an opportunity the situation presents to put an end to the conflict and to bring peace. This is apparent in their politicized approach to the issue, their reluctance to release prisoners and detainees, and, most importantly, their ambiguous and evasive stance on international efforts to stop the fighting.

Politicized engagement

Both sides to the conflict have handled the situation in a highly politicized manner. The Houthis have echoed Iran’s rhetoric and promoted the conspiracy that the coronavirus is an American plot. The group’s leader himself expressed this belief, adding that the arrival of coronavirus in Yemen would be treated “as a hostile act”. Mahdi al-Mashat, head of the de facto Houthi authority in Sana’a, has said that he will hold what he refers to as “the countries of aggression, primarily America” responsible if the virus enters Yemen, and has accused the coalition of obstructing Houthi measures to close all ports to prevent the spread of the virus. He has also claimed that Saudi Arabia is deporting Yemeni nationals in order to place pressure on border crossings and increase the likelihood that the virus will enter the country. The domestic parties to the conflict have used the opportunity to accuse one another of exposing the country to the dangers of an epidemic and of covering up cases of infection in the areas under one other’s control[5].

Prisoners and detainees 

In light of the global pandemic and the potential spread of coronavirus in Yemen, humanitarian and human rights organizations have increased the pressure on both parties to the conflict to release the estimated 16,000 prisoners and detainees currently in custody. The UN Special Envoy for Yemen, among others, has warned about the potential spread of coronavirus among prisoners and detainees and has called for measures to be taken to facilitate their release order to prevent the virus from spreading.

The parties to the conflict have shown a mixed response to this pressure. In a statement, the Minister of Foreign Affairs announced that the government was willing to release prisoners, and called for the implementation without delay of the deal reached recently in Jordan. For their part, the Houthis have announced the formation of a committee to examine the conditions in which “prisoners” are kept and to develop a plan for the release of insolvent prisoners and prisoners of conscience who have not yet been sentenced or who are not being held in connection with criminal offences. They have made no mention of prisoners held for fighting in the conflict, however.

Aside from the humanitarian and moral aspects, the release of prisoners and detainees would serve peace efforts and would be an important step in building confidence between the parties to the conflict. Despite the promises and pledges made, however, neither party has yet released any prisoners or detainees, nor is there any indication that either party is taking any real steps to release their prisoners. Despite signing an agreement in Amman in February 2020 regarding the release of certain prisoners, neither party has yet implemented any part of the agreement.

International efforts to stop the fighting

The United Nations appears to believe that there is a genuine chance to put an end to the conflict in Yemen. On March 23, the Secretary-General called on the parties to the conflict to immediately cease all hostilities and to focus on achieving “a negotiated political settlement”. The UN special envoy has echoed this sentiment. For its part, the European Union has called on the parties to the conflict to heed international calls for a ceasefire. The High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy has said that the EU expects the parties to engage constructively with the UN special envoy in order to put in place the confidence-building mechanisms required to achieve that goal.

The Houthis, the legitimate government, the Southern Transitional Council, and the anti-Houthi forces on the west coast have all welcomed the call for a ceasefire. In a statement, the government asserted that, “given the political, economic, and health situation in Yemen, we need to put an end to all forms of escalation and to join global efforts to confront the epidemic.” Through a spokesperson, the Arab coalition announced its support for international efforts and for the government’s decision. Mahdi Al-Mashat, President of the Houthi Supreme Political Council, also welcomed international efforts, stressing that the Houthis were fully ready to “open up to all efforts and initiatives”.

On March 27, the UN special envoy called on the parties concerned to hold an urgent meeting to discuss their declared commitment to implement a ceasefire, in the hope that such a meeting will lead to a comprehensive ceasefire agreement. The envoy is attempting to secure the cooperation of all parties to develop a plan that includes confidence-building measures. UN officials hope to be able to use such a plan as a basis from which to launch a political process and peace talks to put an end to the conflict.

It remains unlikely that a ceasefire will be reached, however, given the positions and policies announced by both parties, in particular the Houthis. A ceasefire would require an expression of goodwill and the willingness to make concessions that both parties have long refused to make, which is unlikely to happen. The parties’ statements welcoming the Secretary-General’s call and agreeing to put an end to the fighting may therefore be no more than another form of media manipulation.

The government, meanwhile, is afraid that the Houthis will use any new truce as an opportunity to storm Ma’rib city. It appears convinced that the Houthis will never commit to anything; consequently, even if it were to agree to certain measures, it would not ultimately be bound by them. This may be why the government was swift to welcome the special envoy’s invitation to hold a meeting to discuss steps to end the fighting, whereas the Houthis have not yet given any indication of whether they will accept or reject the invitation.

The Houthis have a number of conditions of their own that must be met before they will cease combat and engage in dialogue, namely that the government must stop all military operations, end its control over the ports, reopen Sana’a airport, and pay salaries[6]. Despite welcoming the calls for a ceasefire, the Houthis have continued to escalate both the intensity and the breadth of their military activities. Right after publically welcoming the international appeals for a ceasefire, they carried out large-scale attacks against Ma’rib and Al-Jawf, in addition to claiming to have carried out ballistic missile and drone attacks primarily against Saudi territories and interests. Having demonstrated their determination to escalate the conflict, the Houthi leader, in a speech on March 27, stated that the group was prepared to carry out a series of surprises for which the coalition forces would not be prepared, and called on his supporters to continue supporting such “victories”.

The Houthis’ continued escalation of military activities threatens to undermine current opportunities and international efforts, to the extent that even the special envoy has described these activities as alarming and disappointing. Furthermore, there is a real possibility that such escalation will lead to large-scale military conflict.

On the whole, there are no indications that international appeals and efforts to use the potential coronavirus epidemic in Yemen to put an end to the conflict are having any success. Significant international support and continued firm pressure on all parties to the conflict is required if success is to be achieved, and yet it is unlikely without the approval and support of regional sponsors of the conflict. While UN Secretary-General António Guterres and his special envoy will likely manage to gain the support of the coalition States that support the government, Tehran will continue to hold all the cards, and it is clear that Iran wishes to make engagement on the matter of a ceasefire conditional on the demands set forth by the Houthis[7].

Conclusion

Although no cases of coronavirus have yet been recorded in Yemen, it is still possible that the virus will reach the country. Given current conditions in the country, the virus is expected to spread catastrophically if it arrives. Although the United Nations is attempting to use the potential epidemic as an opportunity to stop the fighting, indications suggest that such efforts are unlikely to be successful without strong international intervention.

_____

[1] Key steps taken thus far include: controlling entry points into the country; suspending flights; setting up quarantines; conducting preventive spraying; closing schools and universities; closing wedding venues and certain busy markets, leisure venues, and restaurants; reducing working hours; and moving khat markets to open areas.

[2] Measures have been taken to introduce testing, install thermal cameras, provide training for medical personnel, establish rapid response teams in the districts, increase the readiness of emergency rooms, and invite doctors, technicians, health experts, and all other related professions to volunteer their services in preparation for combating the virus.

[3] There are only two laboratories capable of conducting testing, for example. The WHO is taking steps to open a third laboratory and to ensure that there is a quarantine hospital in each district. In addition, with funding from Saudi Arabia and the UAE, the WHO is airlifting medical products and devices into the country to overcome shortages.

[4] On March 24, the International Monetary Fund announced that many countries will suffer a significant decline in economic growth later in 2020 as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, and that countries ravaged by war, such as Yemen, will face particular difficulties.

[5] The government and its supporters have accused the Houthis of covering up cases and of exposing the country to the virus by receiving members of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard. The leader of the Houthis, meanwhile, has accused the coalition of covering up infections in certain areas under its control, and has said that his sources have confirmed that the virus has spread widely throughout Midi region on the western coast.

[6] These conditions were presented to the UN special envoy by the leader of the group, Mohammed Ali al-Houthi, who also demanded direct dialogue with the States involved in the coalition before the Houthis will engage in dialogue with the government (pro-Houthi news agency Saba’, March 24, 2020).

[7] On March 27, 2020, the spokesperson for the Iranian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Abbas Mousavi, stated that, while his country welcomed and supported the Secretary-General’s proposal, it believed that “if [the proposal] is accompanied by practical steps taken by the coalition in this regard and by the lifting of the siege against Yemen, it could be an important step in preventing the deaths of thousands of innocents and in paving the way for peace and stability.”

 

Latest Featured Topics