­­هل سيتم حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي في تركيا؟

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 11 أبريل 2021

رفع المدعي العام التركي دعوىً قضائية إلى المحكمة الدستورية في 17 مارس 2021، سعياً لحظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، مُتهماً إياه بدعم الإرهاب وبصلات مع حزب العمال الكردستاني المصنف إرهابياً في تركيا، وتضمنت لائحة الاتهام اتهامات من قبيل أن الحزب "من خلال أفعال وتصريحات أعضائه" حاول "تدمير الوحدة التي لا تنفصم للدولة والأمة التركية"، وادعاءات من قبيل أن "الحزب لم يقف مع تركيا ومصالحها في أي قضية محلية أو دولية".

وأثارت هذه الدعوى جدلاً سياسياً بين الأحزاب والتيارات السياسية في تركيا، خصوصاً أنها تأتي في ظل مرحلة صعبة تمر بها تركيا على الصعد الداخلية والخارجية. كما أن هذه الخطوة تأتي بعد سلسلة من الإجراءات التصعيدية التي اعتمدتها الحكومة التركية ضد الحزب وأعضائه منذ نوفمبر 2016، وهو ما يؤشر إلى رغبة واضحة للتحالف الحاكم في تركيا لإعادة هندسة الحياة السياسية في تركيا في الإطار الذي يفكك تحالف المعارضة، الذي يشكل حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي أحد أركانه، كما أنها تأتي كخطوة استباقية للاستحقاقات الانتخابية المقبلة، ما يطرح بدوره الكثير من التساؤلات حول المستقبل الذي ينتظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي في تركيا، ومدى انعكاس حظره المحتمل على المشهد السياسي التركي.

الاستقطاب السياسي الراهن في تركيا

تشهد الساحةُ السياسية التركية استقطاباً سياسياً حاداً، بدأت ملامح هذا الاستقطاب تتشكل بصورة واضحة منذ الانتخابات العامة في 24 يونيو 2018، عندما انقسمت الساحة السياسية التركية بين تحالفين رئيسيَن هما: التحالف الحاكم، والمسمى تحالف الجماهير، الذي يتشكل أساساً من حزب العدالة والتنمية وحزب الحركة القومية؛ وتحالف المعارضة، المسمى تحالف الشعب، الذي يتشكل أساساً من حزب الشعب الجمهوري وحزب الخير وحزب السعادة وحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي.

تعززت هذه الانقسامات في الانتخابات المحلية التي أجريت في 31 مارس 2019، والتي شهدت خسارة التحالف الحاكم للبلديات الكبرى، وهي إسطنبول وأنقرة وأزمير، إلى جانب بلديات أخرى صغيرة، ونتج عن ذلك حالة عدم استقرار سياسي واقتصادي بدأت تمر بها تركيا. وترافق مع ذلك أيضاً بروز ظاهرة الانقسامات الداخلية بين قيادات حزب العدالة والتنمية، حيث تشهد الساحة السياسية التركية اليوم أحزاب وُلدت من رحم العدالة والتنمية، وبدأت أكثر قرباً من تحالف المعارضة، مثل حزب المستقبل الذي يقوده رئيس الوزراء السابق أحمد داود أوغلو، وحزب الديمقراطية والتقدم الذي يقوده وزير الاقتصاد السابق علي باباجان.

أخذت التطورات السياسية والاقتصادية والأمنية التي تشهدها الساحة التركية، تنعكس سلباً على شعبية حزب العدالة والتنمية، والتحالف الحاكم الذي يقوده، في مقابل صعود شعبية قوى المعارضة، وهو ما دفع الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان إلى الإعلان مؤخراً عن رغبته في إجراء تعديلات جديدة على النظام الانتخابي والدستور التركي، وهو ما يؤشر إلى حجم التعقيد الذي تشهده الساحة التركية.

وبعد أن كان أردوغان رافضاً لحظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، رغم إلحاح حليفه حزب الحركة القومية على هذه الخطوة، دفع أردوغان أخيراً المدعي العام الذي عيّنه قبل بضعة أشهر إلى رفع دعوى لحظر الحزب، وتُظهر هذه الخطوة إلى أي مدى يكافح حزب العدالة والتنمية من أجل البقاء في الحكم، في ظل تمترس المعارضة ضده، والأزمة الاقتصادية التي تعانيها البلاد، والانشقاقات الحزبية، والإخفاق في إدارة ملف جائحة كورونا، وتصاعد التوترات مع الولايات المتحدة، ومع الاتحاد الأوروبي في شرق المتوسط.

وعلى هذا الأساس قد تشكل محاولة حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي الوسيلة الأخيرة لضرب المعارضة وضمان الفوز في الانتخابات المقبلة، ففي استطلاع أجراه مركز الأبحاث التركي الأوراسي في أكتوبر الماضي، قال 32.5% فقط من الناخبين إنهم سيدعمون حزب العدالة والتنمية إذا أجريت الانتخابات على الفور، وهو أدنى مستوى على الإطلاق، في حين زاد التأييد لحزب الشعب الجمهوري إلى 28%،[1] وهو ما يجعل التحالف الحاكم يواجه معركة شاقة في الاستحقاقات المقبلة.

الأطراف التي تقف خلف محاولات حظر الحزب ودوافعها

بدايةً لابد من الإشارة إلى أن دعوات حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، تصاعدت بشكل كبير بعد فشل العملية العسكرية التركية في شمال العراق في شهر فبراير 2021، والتي أدت إلى مقتل 13 أسيراً تركياً كانوا محتجزين لدى حزب العمال الكردستاني في جبال غارا، على بعد 35 كيلومتراً من الحدود التركية داخل الأراضي العراقية، بالإضافة إلى مقتل ثلاثة ضباط أتراك شاركوا في العملية، في حدثٍ أنتج تداعيات سياسية كبيرة داخل تركيا.[2] وعلى إثر ذلك، طالب زعيم حزب الحركة القومية في تركيا دولت بهجلي، حليف الرئيس أردوغان، بأن تُبذل جهود جادة لحظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي.

ورغم قيام المحكمة الدستورية بإصدار إعلان قضائي في 31 مارس 2021، أعادت بموجبه قضية حظر الحزب إلى المدعي العام التركي، لعدم توافر كافة الأدلة في لائحة الاتهام الخاصة بحظر الحزب، ومطالبته باستكمال النواقص القانونية، إلا أن هناك إصراراً واضحاً على إعادة القضية إلى المحكمة الدستورية مرة أخرى، وهو ما برز واضحاً في تصريحات زعيم حزب الحركة القومية بعد إعلان المحكمة الدستورية، وتهديده بإغلاق المحكمة والحزب معاً.

فضلاً عن ذلك، أشارت صحيفة "حرييت" التركية القريبة من التحالف الحاكم، أن قرار المحكمة الدستورية بإعادة لائحة الاتهام ضد حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي إلى مكتب المدعي العام، لا يعني رفض قضية الحظر المرفوعة ضد الحزب، وأضافت أنه من المتوقع أن يُكمل مكتب المدعي العام العيوب الإجرائية في الدعوى، ويرفع قضية الحظر مرة أخرى، وتحديداً في مسألة إدراج الأدلة التي توضح العلاقة بين بعض أعضاء حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، والأفعال الإجرامية في لائحة الاتهام، من أجل حسم القضية.[3]

ولابد من الإشارة هنا إلى أن الأطراف التي تقف خلف محاولات حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، هي: حزب العدالة والتنمية بقيادة الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان، وحزب الحركة القومية بقيادة دولت بهجلي، وحزب الوطن بقيادة دوغو بيرينجك، وحزب الاتحاد الكبير بقيادة مصطفى دستيجي. وبعيداً عن الدوافع المعلنة في لائحة الاتهام التي قدمها الادعاء العام التركي في قضية حظر الحزب، تتلخص الدوافع الحقيقية لهذه الأطراف في النقاط الآتية:

  1. إعادة هندسة الحياة السياسية التركية بالشكل الذي يخدم حظوظ التحالف الحاكم في الانتخابات المقبلة، فعرقلة دخول الحزب الكردي في الانتخابات القادمة يؤدي إلى حصد التحالف الحكومي المزيد من الأصوات في مناطق جنوب شرقي تركيا، حيث الغالبية الكردية.
  2. تفكيك تحالف المعارضة الذي يقوده حزب الشعب الجمهوري، وتحديداً من خلال إبعاد حزب الخير ذي التوجهات القومية عن هذا التحالف.
  3. دفْع الناخبين الأكراد إلى مقاطعة الانتخابات، ما يصبّ في مصلحة التحالف الحاكم، باعتبار أن الأخير لم يتمكن من الفوز بأغلبية مطلقة منذ الانتخابات البرلمانية لعام 2015 بسبب صوت الناخب الكردي الذي كان يتوجه إلى تحالف المعارضة.
  4. محاولة حزب الحركة القومية وضع حزب العدالة والتنمية في مسار موقفه، وقطع الطريق أمام تحالفات بديلة، من خلال اتخاذ مسار أكثر راديكالية حيال الخصوم.[4]
  5. ضمان أردوغان دعم حزب الحركة القومية لترشحه لولاية ثانية في انتخابات عام 2023، رغم وجود خلاف دستوري وقانوني حول إمكانية ترشح أردوغان من جديد، بسبب وجود رأي قانوني يؤكد أن أردوغان سيكون قد أنْهى ولايتين رئاسيتين بحلول عام 2023، ما يمنعه للترشح من جديد، إلا في حال قررت أغلبية نواب البرلمان (وهي متوافرة لدى التحالف الحاكم) حلّ البرلمان واللجوء إلى انتخابات مبكرة قبل ستة أشهر على الأقل من موعد الانتخابات المقرر في يونيو 2023.
  6. تعزيز الخلافات الداخلية التي يمر بها حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، عبر دفع قيادات كردية قريبة من التحالف الحاكم ومواقفه السياسية إلى تولي قيادة الحزب عبر حظر قيادات الحزب الحالي، حيث تظهر اليوم قيادات جديدة بدأت تنتقد مواقف قيادات الحزب وتدعم مواقف التحالف الحاكم، منها النائب السابق عن حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي عن ولاية ديار بكر أحمد التان، وأيهان بيلكان رئيس بلدية ولاية قارص السابق.

ولابد من الإشارة هنا إلى إن الحكومة التركية طردت خلال الفترة الماضية، وتحديداً منذ انتخابات 31 مارس 2019، خمسين رئيس بلدية تابعاً لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، وعيّنت بدلاً منهم رؤساء بلديات قريبين منها، إلى جانب اعتقال أكثر من 7000 عضواً من أعضاء الحزب بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب، ودفع البرلمان إلى التعجيل في النظر في إسقاط الحصانة والنيابة عن عدد من نواب حزب الشعوب الديمقراطية الكردي، بسبب تصريحات أدلوا بها قبل ست سنوات رفضت العملية العسكرية التي قام بها الجيش التركي في جنوب شرقي تركيا ضد مسلحين أكراد اعتصموا في مدينة ديار بكر، علماً أن الحزب يشغل 55 مقعداً في البرلمان المؤلف من 600 عضو.[5]

التحديات التي تواجه مساعي حظر الحزب

تبرز العديد من التحديات التي تواجه مساعي التحالف الحاكم لحظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، أهمها:

  1. هناك تحديات قانونية-دستورية تواجه عملية حظر الأحزاب السياسية في تركيا، خصوصاً بعد التعديلات الدستورية التي أدخلها حزب العدالة والتنمية في الدستور التركي عام 2010، وتحديداً في مدى صلاحية السلطة القضائية في حظر الأحزاب،[6] وذلك من أجل منع تكرار حادثة محاولة حظره عام 2007، عبر ما عُرف آنذاك بالمذكرة الإلكترونية التي وجهتها رئاسة أركان الجيش إلى المحكمة الدستورية، مطالبةً بحظر حزب العدالة والتنمية بتهمة تهديد علمانية الدولة، إلا أن الحزب تجاوز هذه الحادثة بفارق صوت واحد في المحكمة الدستورية.
  2. تحدي إدارة العلاقة بين حزب العدالة والتنمية وحليفه السياسي حزب الحركة القومية، ففي الوقت الذي يظهر فيه حزب الحركة القومية تشدداً واضحاً في قضية حظر الحزب، يتردد بعض أعضاء حزب العدالة والتنمية في دعم قضية الحظر بشكل علني، والاكتفاء بالدعم الضمني عبر الرئيس أردوغان، ولذلك فإن عدم دعم جهود حظر الحزب الكردي قد تجعل مستقبل التحالف الحاكم أمام مشهد مجهول.
  3. تحدي إدارة العلاقة مع قوى المعارضة، التي بدأت تُصور جهود حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي على أنه محاولة من التحالف الحاكم، لصرف النظر عن المشاكل الحقيقية التي تواجهها تركيا، وأهمها المشكلة الاقتصادية المتصاعدة.
  4. تحدي إدارة العلاقة مع البيئة الخارجية لتركيا، وتحديداً الاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة، اللتين اعتبرتا أن محاولات حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي ستؤدي إلى "مزيد من تقويض الديمقراطية" في تركيا.
  5. تحدّي إدارة العلاقة مع منظمات حقوق الإنسان التي بدت رافضة لهذا التوجه، وهو ما اتضح بعد يومين من رفع دعوى حظر حزب، حيث اعتقلت السلطات التركية أوزتورك توركدوغان، رئيس أكبر جمعية لحقوق الإنسان في تركيا.[7]

تؤشر محاولة حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي إلى حجم التحدي الحقيقي الذي يواجه التحالف الحاكم في تركيا، خصوصاً أن هذه هي المرة التاسعة التي يتم فيها حظر حزب سياسي ممثل للأكراد في تركيا، والتي بدأت منذ 7 يونيو 1990، عندما تم حظر حزب العمل الشعبي الكردي، وهو ما يؤشر بدوره إلى عدم تمكن النظام السياسي في تركيا من إيجاد صيغة نهائية لإدارة العلاقة مع الأكراد، فعادةً ما تصطدم هذه الصيغ بعودة النظام السياسي سريعاً إلى الأداة العسكرية، أو الحظر السياسي، إلا أن ما يميز المحاولة الأخيرة أنها أشمل وأوسع من حيث الدوافع والأهداف.

التداعيات المحتملة على السياسة الداخلية التركية

من المحتمل أن تُفرز عملية حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي العديدَ من التداعيات المؤثرة على الساحة السياسية التركية، والتي يمكن إجمال أهمها على النحو الآتي:

  1. إمكانية توظيف "القضاء" كأداة في تصفية المعارضة السياسية في تركيا، وبخاصة أن المحكمة الدستورية، التي تعد أعلى هيئة قضائية في تركيا، أصبحت بموجب التعديلات الدستورية عام 2017 تتألف من 15 عضواً، ثلاثة أعضاء يتم تعيينهم من قبل البرلمان و12 عضواً من قبل الرئيس أردوغان، وهو ما يؤشر لمدى التحدي الذي تواجهه قوى المعارضة في هذا الإطار، في إمكانية توسيع استخدام الرئيس أردوغان لهذه الصلاحيات مستقبلاً.
  2. ترافق عملية حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي مع توجه التحالف الحاكم إلى تشريع قوانين جديدة من شأنها وضع مدة زمنية يُمنع من خلالها أعضاء الحزب المحظور من ممارسة العمل السياسي بشكل كامل، بل حتى منع إمكانية تشكيل أحزاب جديدة من قبل أعضاء الحزب المحظور، وهي ظاهرة جديدة قد تُقيد حرية العمل السياسي في تركيا مستقبلاً.
  3. توضح الجهود المبذولة لحظر الحزب خشية كبيرة لدى أطراف قوى المعارضة، بأن يمتد هذا التوجه إلى حظر أحزاب أخرى في الساحة السياسية التركية، خصوصاً أن حزب العدالة والتنمية بدأ بتحريك ملفات فساد وغيرها تخص قيادات وأحزاب تركية معارضة، من ضمنها رئيس الوزراء السابق أحمد داود أوغلو.
  4. هناك رفض متنامٍ في مناطق جنوب شرقي تركيا لحزب العدالة والتنمية وزعيمه الرئيس أردوغان، بعد أن كانت بيئة انتخابية داعمة له حتى الانتخابات الرئاسية عام 2010، ولذلك فإن حظر الحزب قد يحوّل هذه البيئة إلى بيئة عدم استقرار سياسي وأمني، وهو ما أشرت إليه عملية تحول احتفال أكراد أتراك بعيد النوروز في 21 مارس 2021، إلى استعراض انتخابي لتحدي محاولات حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي.
  5. يعزز النهج الذي يعتمده التحالف الحاكم حيال قوى المعارضة، وتحديداً حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، استمرار نهج الإقصاء في الداخل التركي، وهو نهج بدأ واضحاً منذ الانقلاب العسكري الفاشل في 15 يوليو 2016، بدءاً من احتواء العسكر والقضاء وصولاً اليوم إلى مجال السياسة، وهو نهج قد يتصاعد في المستقبل القريب.
  6. صعود القومية التركية المتشددة كمبدأ حاكم لمواجهة قوى المعارضة، وهو ما بدأ واضحاً في المؤتمر السابع لحزب العدالة والتنمية في 25 مارس 2021، الذي شهد تحولاً لحزب العدالة والتنمية من حزب "إسلامي محافظ"، إلى حزب "إسلامي تركي" متلون بألوان حزب الحركة القومية المتشدد، وهو ما يوحي بتحولات جديدة قد تشهدها الساحة السياسية التركية مستقبلاً على مستوى توجهات الأحزاب وسلوكياتها السياسية.

السيناريوهات المحتملة

تُطرح في هذا السياق العديد من السيناريوهات التي تنتظر مستقبل حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي في الحياة السياسية التركية، وذلك على النحو الآتي:

أولاً، سيناريو عدم حظر الحزب مع محاسبته جزئياً. يفترض هذا السيناريو أن تكون هناك محاسبة جزئية للحزب، دون إقصائه عن الساحة السياسية التركية بالكامل، وأن يتم اقتصار الحظر على الشخصيات والأعضاء المتهمين بقضايا الإرهاب دون أن يشمل الآخرين. وبدأ بعض قيادات حزب العدالة والتنمية طرح هذا السيناريو، كحل توفيقي بين تحالفهم مع حزب الحركة القومية من جهة، وخشيتهم من خسارة الحزب لأصوات الأكراد المتدينين في مناطق جنوب شرقي تركيا من جهة أخرى. كما أنه وفقاً للفقرة الأولى من المادة 69 من الدستور التركي يجوز للمحكمة الدستورية، التي ستنظر في قضية الحظر، أن تقرر حرمان الحزب السياسي من مساعدة الدولة جزئياً أو كلياً، بدلاً من الحظر الكامل والدائم، إلا إنه بالمجمل لا يزال هذا الخيار بعيداً عن متناول الخطاب الرسمي للتحالف الحاكم، كما أن الرئيس أردوغان يبدو حتى اللحظة متماهياً مع حليفه حزب الحركة القومية المطالب بالحظر الكامل.

ثانياً: سيناريو حظر الحزب وإغلاقه بالكامل. يفترض هذا السيناريو أن يتم حظر الحزب بالكامل، وهو خيار يبدو أكثر قرباً من الخيارات السابقة، وذلك عطفاً على الإصرار الواضح الذي يُبديه التحالف الحاكم، وتحديداً حزب الحركة القومية، الذي يُعتبر الركيزة التي يستند عليها الرئيس أردوغان اليوم في دعم إجراءاته وسياساته، كما أن عملية حظر الحزب تأتي في سياق استراتيجية واضحة بدأ يعتمدها التحالف الحاكم من أجل إعادة هندسة الحياة السياسية التركية، وهو ما يجعل من خيار حظر الحزب ضرورةً مهمة للحفاظ على الأغلبية البرلمانية للتحالف الحاكم، في حالة خوض استحقاقات انتخابية مقبلة.

ثالثاً: سيناريو حل الحزب لنفسه. يفترض هذا السيناريو أن يحل الحزب نفسه، كإجراء احترازي يسبق أي تحرك قضائي حياله، ومن ملامح هذا السيناريو الاجتماعات المتكررة التي بدأت قيادات حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي بعقدها مع مجالس إدارته، اعتباراً من نهاية عطلة عيد النوروز، لتحديد الاستراتيجية الواجب اتباعها في حال حظر الحزب، وتقييم أن خيارات "إنشاء حزب جديد، أو الانتقال إلى أحد الأحزاب القائمة، أو حل الحزب أو الترشح المستقل"، قد تكون من أجندة العمليات المقبلة. إلا أن هناك خشية واضحة لدى قادة الحزب من أن يعني حل الحزب اعترافاً واضحاً بالتهم المقدمة ضده، كما أن الفقرة الثالثة من المادة 69 من الدستور التركي تحظر أيضاً تشكيل أي حزب جديد من قبل أعضاء الحزب المحظور.

خلاصات واستنتاجات

تُواجه البيئة السياسية التركية تعقيداً كبيراً، وذلك بفعل انسداد أفق الحل السياسي للكثير من القضايا الداخلية والخارجية، والتي انعكست بدورها على الجوانب الاقتصادية والاجتماعية التي تعيشها تركيا اليوم، وما يزيد من خطورة هذا التعقيد وصول حالة الاستقطاب بين التحالف الحاكم وتحالف المعارضة إلى مستويات خطيرة. وتأتي قضية حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي كتجسيد سياسي واضح لهذه العملية، عبر توظيف التحالف الحاكم للقضاء، كإحدى أدوات المواجهة السياسية مع قوى المعارضة.

وفي هذا الإطار يواجه حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي وضعاً سياسياً صعباً، في ظل إصرار التحالف الحاكم على إقصائه من الساحة السياسية، أو حتى احتوائه جزئياً، من أجل أهداف عدة أهمها تفكيك قوى المعارضة، وبعثرة الكتلة التصويتية الكردية في جنوب شرقي تركيا، وخلق مجال مشروع لإدامة العمليات العسكرية ضد حزب العمال الكردستاني، وهو ما يؤشر إلى أن حالة التصعيد السياسي ضد حزب الشعوب وقوى المعارضة، ستكون العنوان الأبرز لتحركات التحالف الحاكم في الفترة المقبلة.

وعليه يمكن القول إن عملية حظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، أصبحت اليوم قضية مركزية للتحالف الحاكم؛ فالشيء المهم بالنسبة للتحالف هو أن يكون قادراً على البقاء في السلطة لمدة أربع سنوات أخرى، أو حتى أكثر.

المراجع

[1] Liz Cookman, Rdogan’s Last-Ditch Power Play, Foreign Policy, 9 Mar 2021. https://bit.ly/39CuRgC

[2] "فَشَل عملية غارا العسكرية التركية في شمال العراق: المواقف والتداعيات"، مركز الإمارات للسياسات، 14 مارس 2021. https://bit.ly/3rJmAh2

[3] Abdulkadir Selvi, Anayasa Mahkemesi’nin HDP kararı ne anlama geliyor, Hurriyet, 1 Nisan 2021. https://bit.ly/31GzfqC

[4] هل تسعى الحكومة التركية لحظر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي؟، موقع DW عربي، 27 مارس 2021. https://bit.ly/2OeRvo3

[5] Ragip Soylu, Turkey: Chief prosecutor files lawsuit to close pro-Kurdish HDP party, Middle East Eye, 17 Mar 2021. https://bit.ly/3wis320

[6] انظر الفصل الرابع الخاص بالحقوق والواجبات السياسية من الدستور التركي لعام 1982 وتعديلاته في العام 2011، ص 26-27. https://bit.ly/39WRUTR

[7] تركيا.. توقيف عشرات القادة بحزب الشعوب ومدير أكبر منظمة حقوقية، موقع DW عربي، 19 مارس 2021. https://bit.ly/3dqjXfc

 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Will Turkey Ban the Kurdish Peoples’ Democratic Party?

EPC | 11 Apr 2021

A Turkish prosecutor filed a case with the constitutional court on March 17, 2021 demanding the closure of the Kurdish Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP), accusing it of colluding with the banned Kurdish militant movement, the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK), which is designated a terrorist organization in Turkey.

HDP had attempted "to destroy the inseparable unity of the Turkish state and the nation through the actions and statements of its members." The party is also accused of “not standing by Turkey and its interests on any domestic or international issue.”

This case has caused a debate among political parties and movements in Turkey, especially that it comes in a difficult period of time in which the country is going through at the domestic and external levels. This step follows an escalation by the Turkish government against HDP and its members since Nov. 2016. This is indicative of a clear desire by the ruling alliance in Turkey to re-engineer the political life in the country to dismantle the alliance of the opposition, which HDP is one of its pillars. It is also a preemptive step before the upcoming parliamentary elections. This raises many questions about the future awaiting HDP in Turkey and the implications of its potential ban on the political landscape in the country.

The current political polarization in Turkey

The Turkish political landscape is going through a sharp political polarization. The features of this polarization have been taken shape since the general elections of June 24, 2018. Turkey’s political landscape was divided into two major alliances: the ruling alliance, or the People’s Alliance, which is essentially made of the Justice and Development Party (AKP) and the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP), and the opposition alliance, or the Nation Alliance, which essentially consists of four opposition parties, namely the Republican People's Party (CHP), the Good Party (IYI), the Felicity Party (SP), and HDP.

These divisions were enhanced during local elections of March 31, 2019 in which the ruling alliance lost major municipalities - Istanbul, Ankara and Izmir in addition to other small municipalities. This has led to political and economic instability in the country, accompanied by internal divisions among AKP leadership. New political parties were established by former AKP leaders who seem closer to the opposition alliance such as the Future Party led by former Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu and the Democracy and Progress Party (DEVA) led by former Minister of Economy Ali Babacan.

Political, economic and security developments in Turkey have started to negatively impact AKP popularity and its ruling alliance. In contrast, the popularity of opposition factions has increased. This has forced Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan to propose new amendments to Turkey’s constitution and election system, which shows the large extent of complications in Turkey’s political landscape.

Although the Turkish president was against the idea of banning HDP, despite the insistence of his ally MHP in this regard, Erdogan has finally asked a Turkish prosecutor - whom he has appointed only a few months ago – to file a case against the party. This step shows the extent of AKP struggle to stay in power in light of growing opposition to its rule, the ongoing economic crisis, divisions in AKP ranks, failures in managing the Coronavirus crisis, and the growing tension with the US and with the European Union in the Eastern Mediterranean.

That said, the attempt to ban HDP might be the last tool to strike against the opposition and secure victory in next elections. In a poll conducted by the Turkish Center for Eurasian Strategic Studies “Avrasya” last October, only 32.5 percent of voters said they would support the AKP if elections were held immediately, an all-time low, while support for the CHP had increased to 28 percent,1 which puts the ruling alliance in face of an uphill battle in the next national elections.

Parties, motivations behind efforts to ban HDP

Calls to ban HDP have sharply increased in the wake of the botched Turkish military operation in February 2021 in Northern Iraq, in which 13 Turkish prisoners - who were held by PKK in the Gara mountains - were killed in addition to 3 Turkish officers taking part in the operation meant to free them. This incident has produced huge political repercussions inside Turkey2 such as a demand by Erdogan’s ally, Devlet Bahçeli, Chairman of MHP, to make serious efforts to ban HDP.

The Constitutional Court has ruled on March 31, 2021 to send back the case filed by the prosecutor's office to ban HDP due to procedural omissions. However, there is a clear resolve to send the case back to the Constitutional Court once again. This was evident in statements by Bahçeli after the court’s ruling and his threats to shut down both the court and HDP.

In addition, Turkish newspaper, Hurriyet, which is close to the ruling alliance, pointed out that the Constitutional Court’s ruling to send back the case against HDP to the prosecutor's office does not mean rejection of the case to ban the party. The newspaper added that it is expected that the prosecutor’s office will complete the procedural faults in the case and send it back to the court, especially including evidence that shows the relationship between HDP members and the criminal actions in the indictment to resolve the issue.3

It is worth mentioning that parties that stand behind efforts to ban HDP include AKP led by Erdogan, MHP led by Bahçeli, the Patriotic Party led by Doğu Perinçek, and the Great Unity Party led by Mustafa Destici. Besides the motives included in the indictment presented by the Turkish prosecution in the case to ban HDP, the real motives of these parties can be summarized in the following:

  1. Reengineering Turkey’s political life in a way that serves the chances of the ruling alliance in the upcoming elections. They aim to prevent the Kurdish party from taking part in these elections because this would give the ruling alliance more votes in Turkey's mainly Kurdish southeast.
  2. Dismantling the opposition alliance led by CHP, especially by distancing the nationalist-oriented IYI Party from this alliance.
  3. Driving Kurdish voters to boycott elections, which serves the interests of the ruling alliance because the latter was not able to win a decisive majority since the 2015 parliamentary elections due to Kurdish votes that used to go to the opposition alliance.
  4. An attempt by MHP to make AKP adopt its position and prevent the establishment of alternative alliances by adopting a more radical stands against adversaries.4
  5. An attempt by the Turkish President to secure the support of MHP in his bid to run for a second term in 2023 elections despite a constitutional and legal dispute over such an attempt by Erdogan. There is a legal opinion that says Erdogan would finish two presidential terms by 2023, which prevents him from running once again unless a majority in the parliament (which the ruling alliance enjoys) to dissolve the parliament and go for early elections at least 6 months before election date in June 2023.
  6. Enhancing internal disputes within HDP by pushing Kurdish leaders close to the ruling alliance and its political positions to take control of the party’s leadership by banning the current leadership of HDP. New HDP leaders have started to criticize the stands of the party leadership and support the positions of the ruling alliance such as Diyarbakir MP Ahmet Altan and Ayhan Bilgen, the former mayor of Kars.

   It is worth mentioning that over the past two years, especially since March 31, 2019 elections, the Turkish government has cracked down on the party, dismissing 50 HDP mayors from office, and detaining more than 7,000 of its members on terrorism charges. Turkey’s parliament moved to end immunity and membership of a number of HDP representatives because of statements they made 6 years ago in which they rejected an operation by Turkish army in the southeast of the country against Kurdish militants taking refuge in Diyarbakir. HDP has 55 seats in the 600-member parliament.5

Challenges facing Turkey’s moves to ban the party

Following are some of the prominent challenges that hinder the ruling alliance’s pursuit to ban HDP:

  1. There are some legal and constitutional challenges that hinder any attempt to ban political parties in Turkey, particularly constitutional amendments introduced by Turkey’s ruling AKP in 2010, and specifically those related to the powers of the judiciary regarding the ban of political parties.6 Those changes to the constitution were enacted to prevent the recurrence of the attempt made by the army to ban AKP itself in 2007, which was then known as E- memorandum that was submitted to the constitutional court by the General Staff calling for the banning of AKP on charges of threatening the country’s secular system. The party, however, won the case in the constitutional court by a single vote.
  2. The challenge posed by the relationship between AKP and its alliance partner, MHP. While the latter obviously adopts a tough stance regarding the ban of the pro-Kurdish party, some of AKP members seem to be reluctant to openly support such move and suffice with their implicit support through President Erdogan. As such, the failure to support the decision of banning the HDP will probably make the future of the ruling alliance uncertain. 
  3. The challenge posed by the relationship between AKP and opposition forces as the latter started to portray the current efforts to ban HDP as an attempt by the ruling alliance to distract people from the real problems facing Turkey notably aggravating economic challenges.
  4. The challenge posed by the relationship between Turkey and foreign powers, particularly with the European Union and the United States. Both powers have already warned Ankara that the attempt to ban HDP will “further undermine” democracy in Turkey.
  5. The challenge posed by the relationship between Turkey and human rights organizations that apparently rejected this move. That was evident two days after top Turkish prosecutor filed a case with the constitutional court to close the pro-Kurdish party, and when Turkey's biggest Human Rights Association (IHD) co-chairman Ozturk Turkdogan was arrested by police.7

The attempt to ban HDP is indicative of the size of challenge facing the ruling alliance in Turkey, given the fact that this is the ninth time in which the government has tried to ban a political party representing the ethnic Kurds in the country since 7 July 1990. It is also indicative of the failure of the political system in Turkey to come up with a final formula to manage relations with Kurds. All previous formulas have ended by a quick return of Turkey’s political system to the military tool or political ban. However, what characterizes the last attempt by the government to deal with the Kurds is the fact that it is broader in terms of incentives and goals.

Potential repercussions on Turkey’s domestic policy

It is likely that the attempt to ban HDP will lead to significant consequences for Turkey’s political landscape which can be summed up as follows:

  1. The potential employment of the judiciary as a tool to purge opponents in the country, particularly with the fact that the constitutional court based on the constitutional amendments of 2017- which is considered to be the top judiciary body in Turkey- now is composed of 15 members, 3 of which are appointed by the parliament and the remaining 12 members are appointed by President Erdogan. This is an indicator of the mounting challenge facing opposition groups with the possibility of the President expanding his powers in the future in this regard.
  2. The decision to ban HDP came in conjunction with the government’s pursuit to enact new regulations that set a specific period of time during which members of the banned party are totally prohibited from engaging in political action or even forming new political parties. This in itself is a new move that can hinder political activity in Turkey in the future.
  3. The government’s attempt to close the pro-Kurdish party gave rise to concerns among opposition forces that this policy may target and ban other political parties on Turkey’s political scene. This is particularly true as Turkey’s ruling AKP has started to open a number of corruption files in which some opposition leaders are involved including former Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu.
  4. There is a growing rejection of AKP and its leader President Erdogan in the Southeast of Turkey after the region was an electoral stronghold for the ruling party during Presidential elections in 2010. Therefore, the move to ban HDP can undermine political stability and security in that region. To support this point, I have already pointed out that the celebrations of Nowruz by some ethnic Kurds in the southeast on 21 March 2012 have turned into an electoral rally challenging the government’s pursuit to ban HDP.
  5. The ruling alliance’s approach towards opposition forces in Turkey, particularly towards HDP highlights the state’s exclusivist policy inside Turkey which has become increasingly apparent since the failed military coup on 15 July, 2016. It has started by widening crackdown on the military and the judiciary and today is extended to political opponents. This approach is expected to escalate in the near future.
  6. The rise of Turkish extremist nationalism as a governing principle to confront opposition forces. That trend was obvious in AKP 7th Ordinary Grand Congress on 25 March 2012, which witnessed the ruling party turning from a “conservative Islamic” party into a “Turkish Islamic” one raising the flags of the extremist nationalistic movement. Consequently, this may suggest that Turkey’s political scene may see new shifts in the future in terms of the orientations and conduct of political parties. 

Potential scenarios

We can suggest the following scenarios for the future of HDP in Turkey’s political landscape:

First scenario:  HDP is not banned but partially punished. This scenario envisages that the pro-Kurdish party is to be partially punished but not totally excluded from Turkey’s political scene. According to this scenario, the ban will be only on the party’s members and figures accused of terrorist crimes, not on everybody. Some AKP leaders have already suggested this choice to compromise with their alliance partner, MHP, on the one hand, and avoid losing the votes of religious ethnic Kurds in the Southeast of the country, on the other. Moreover, in line with paragraph 1 of the 69th article of the Constitution of the Republic of Turkey, the constitutional court that will handle the ban case can decide to deprive HDP of the state’s assistance partially or totally instead of totally and permanently banning the party. All in all, however, this choice was not largely raised in the official discourse of the ruling alliance. Furthermore, President Erdogan seems to be in full support of the official attitude of his alliance partner, MHP, that advocates a total ban on HDP.

Second scenario: HDP is banned and totally closed. This scenario envisages that HDP will be totally banned as this choice seems to be more probable than the previous one. This is surely due to the strong determination has already been shown by the ruling alliance, particularly MHP that acts as a lever through which President Erdogan can support his policies. Additionally, the banning process comes within the context of a clear strategy the ruling alliance has started to draw on for the sake of reengineering Turkish politics. This perhaps makes the ban on HDP as an urgent need to preserve the parliamentary majority of the ruling alliance in any future elections.

Third scenario: HDP disbands itself. This scenario envisages that HDP disbands itself as a precaution against any legal move may be taken by the government against it. Among the strong signs of this potential scenario are the frequent meetings that have been held by HDP leadership since the end of Nowruz holiday to define a necessary strategy to follow in case the party is banned. Moreover, these meetings aimed to assess alternative options including forming a new political party, moving to one of existing parties, disbanding the party, and running for next elections by party members as independent candidates. However, HDP leaders are concerned that the disband of the party can be simply interpreted as a clear confession to the charges filed against the party. Additionally, paragraph 3 of the 69th article of the Constitution of Turkey prohibits the formation of any new political party by the members of any banned party.

Conclusions

Turkey’s political environment appears to be extremely complicated as several internal and foreign political issues have proved very difficult to solve. This, in turn, has had a negative impact on economic and societal domains in Turkey today. What makes the already complicated situation even more difficult is the high level of political polarization in the country between the ruling alliance and the opposition alliance. The attempt to ban HDP came to clearly manifest this reality through the employment of the judiciary by the ruling alliance as a tool to confront opposition forces.

Under such circumstances, HDP is facing a difficult situation with the insistence of the ruling alliance to exclude it from Turkey’s political scene, or partially contain it. This move is designed to achieve several objectives, notably dismantling opposition forces, dividing Kurdish votes in the Southeast of Turkey, and creating a legitimate project for sustaining military operations against PKK. This is an indicator that political escalation against HDP and opposition forces will characterize the moves of the ruling alliance in the coming period.

As such, it can be said that the ban on pro-Kurdish HDP has become now a central issue for those in power in the country. What really matters to the ruling alliance is its ability to stay in power for another 4-year term or even more.

Endnotes

[1] Liz Cookman, Erdogan’s Last-Ditch Power Play, Foreign Policy, 9 Mar 2021. https://bit.ly/39CuRgC

[2] ”The failure of Turkish Gara military operation in Northern Iraq: Positions and consequences”, Emirates Policy Center, 14 March, 2021. https://bit.ly/3rJmAh2

[3] Abdulkadir Selvi, Anayasa Mahkemesi’nin HDP kararı ne anlama geliyor, Hurriyet, 1 Nisan 2021. https://bit.ly/31GzfqC

[4] Will the Turkish government seek to ban HDP? DW Arabic, 27 March 2021. https://bit.ly/2OeRvo3

[5] Ragip Soylu, Turkey: Chief prosecutor files lawsuit to close pro-Kurdish HDP party, Middle East Eye, 17 Mar 2021. https://bit.ly/3wis320

[6] Look chapter 4 on political rights and obligations in Turkey’s constitution for the year 1982 and its amendements in 2011, p 26-27. https://bit.ly/39WRUTR

[7] Turkey....scores of HDP leaders  along with Turkey's biggest Human Rights Association (IHD) co-chairman are arrested, DW Arabic, 19 March 2021. https://bit.ly/3dqjXfc

Latest Featured Topics