العقوبات الأمريكية على إيران: الحدود والآفاق

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 02 فبراير 2020

أعلن كل من وزير الخارجية الأمريكي، مايك بومبيو، ووزير الخزانة، ستيفن منوشين، حزمة جديدة من العقوبات على إيران. وطالت الموجة الجديدة من العقوبات الأمريكية قطاع المنتجات الفولاذية، وأكبر الشركات في هذا المجال، إلى جانب بعض الشخصيات من قادة القطاع الأمني والعسكري. ويترافق إعلان الحُزَم الجديدة من العقوبات، مع موجة جديدة من الجدل السياسي في واشنطن حول جدوى العقوبات على إيران، وما إذا كانت العقوبات قادرة بالفعل على تحقيق هدفها الرئيس، وهو إخضاع إيران للعودة إلى طاولة الحوار من خلال كسر ظهر الاقتصاد في هذا البلد، وتفاقم مستويات السخط الشعبي بحيث تجبر النظام على الكف عن تعنته.

ويمكن القول إن جوهر الصراع بات يتعلق بالتصورات؛ فالرأي العام الأمريكي يريد أن يطمئن أن حملة الضغوط الأمريكية على إيران ليس لها أي كُلف على الاقتصاد الأمريكي، وعلى مصالح الأمن القومي. بينما تُعدّ تصورات الجماهير الإيرانية مُهمة جداً، لأنها العامل الوحيد الذي يهتم به النظام الإيراني، ولا يريد أن تُحشد هذه الجماهير ضده. ولمواصلة تعزيز التصوّرات حول نجاح هذه الحملة، يتعيّن على البيت الأبيض الحفاظ على الزخم عندما يتعلّق الأمر بفرض عقوبات جديدة.

في الحديث عن جدوى العقوبات

قبل الحديث عن جدوى العقوبات، يتبادر إلى الذهن سؤال متربط حول ما إذا كانت العقوبات قد وصلت العقوبات إلى حدها النهائي، وهل استنفدت الإدارة الأمريكية كل أوراقها في استراتيجية الحد الأقصى من الضغط؟ إذ يبدو السؤال ذو أهمية في ظل صمود الاقتصاد الإيراني مقابل كل موجات العقوبات التي فرضت عليه حتى الآن، خصوصًا وأن الولايات المتحدة قامت بفرض عقوبات متكررة على مجالات كانت قد فرضت عليها عقوبات في مراحل سابقة؛ مما قد يوحي بأن الإدارة الأمريكية لم تجد مزيداً من المجالات لفرض عقوبات إضافية.

ويمكن القول إن كلًا من السؤالين المطروحين حول جدوى العقوبات، والمدى الذي وصلت إليه، مرتبطان معًا بحيث يحيل كل منهما إلى الآخر، ولا يمكن العثور على إجابة واضحة لكل منهما دون الثاني. هذا في حين يتعلق السؤال الثالث المترتب على هذين السؤالين، بالبحث عن المجالات الأخرى التي يمكن فرض عقوبات عليها، والتي شكّلت حتى الآن، ثغرات ومنافذ يتنفس الاقتصاد الإيراني من خلالها، وتحول دون انهياره.

استطاعت إيران رغم كل العقوبات التي فُرضَت على اقتصادها، والتي طالت أهم القطاعات (طالت العقوبات حتى الآن قطاعات النفط والسيارات والقطاع المصرفي والنقد والذهب، وأجزاء من القطاع البتروكيماوي إلى جانب عقوبات شخصية مفروضة على العشرات من رموز النظام الإيراني) أن تحافظ على توازن تجاري إيجابي في العام 2018. وحافظت في عام 2019 كذلك على توازن إيجابي طفيف، رغم التوازن السلبي الذي عانت منه على مرّ الأشهر الستة الأخيرة من العام. ورغم أن التوازن الإيجابي لم يترك لإيران مجالًا لادّخار العملة الصعبة، لكنه مع ذلك، حال دون انهيار الاقتصاد، كما حال دون العودة بشكل كارثي إلى مصادر نقدية سيادية لدفع المستحقات، ودعم المشاريع العمرانية والدعم النقدي. ويقود ما سبق إلى عدة استنتاجات:

  1. ركزت الإدارة الأمريكية في عقوباتها على القطاعات السيادية، وتركت هامشًا من القطاعات التجارية التي تعمل فيها العديد من الشركات التي تنتمي إلى الحكومة؛ مثل قطاع الطعام، وقطاع المنتجات البتروكيماوية، وقطاع الطاقة. ومعظم التركيز كان على القطاع النفطي الذي أظهرت الأرقام أن التركيز عليه كان له أثرٌ قويٌ تمثل في هبوط مبيعات النفط الإيرانية إلى مستويات قياسية. أما القطاعات السيادية الأخرى، مثل قطاع السيارات، فاستطاع أن يستعيد جزءا من عافيته رغم كل الأزمات التي شهدها، والتي بلغت به مستوى إفلاس المئات من الشركات العاملة، وتسريح عشرات الآلاف من العمال؛ إذ تشير الأرقام إلى ارتفاع حجم إنتاج السيارات في إيران بعد مسيرة هبوط استمرت عدة أشهر، قبل أن يتأقلم القطاع مع حالة العقوبات.
  2. حاولت الإدارة الأمريكية التحكم في القطاعات الأخرى، وخفض مستوياتها من خلال وضع عقبات على طريق التعاون المصرفي؛ ما يمكن أن يسمى غشاوة عقوبات، شملت كل القطاعات. لكن هذه الغشاوة لم تكن كافية لخنق الاقتصاد الإيراني، والحيلولة دون تعامله مع جهات خارج البلد. وبحسب مصادر في غرفة التجارة الإيرانية، فإن العقوبات لم تعمل على قطع التجارة الإيرانية، وإنما عملت على رفع كلفة هذه التجارة، وانخفاض أرباحها، نتيجة عاملين أساسيين هما "اضطرار الناشطين فيه لبيع بضائعهم بأسعار أقل"، و"ارتفاع كلفة عودة أثمان هذه البضائع إلى الاقتصاد الإيراني" نتيجة العقوبات على القطاع المصرفي الإيراني، ومحاولة التحايل على هذه العقوبات (وهي الحالة نفسها التي تحدث عنها مسؤولون إيرانيون سابقا، مؤكدين أن العقوبات حملتهم كلفة إضافية بلغت نحو 15 في المائة لنقل الأموال إلى إيران).

ومع ذلك، لا يمكن الحديث عن عدم جدوى العقوبات، ليس على القطاع النفطي الذي وصل إلى الحضيض فحسب، وإنما على صعيد القطاعات السيادية الأخرى التي تواجه مشاكل بسبب العقوبات، وعلى صعيد التجارة؛ إذ تشير الأرقام إلى ارتفاع وتيرة التهرب عن إعادة العملة الناجمة عن الصادرات إلى الاقتصاد الإيراني (أشارت وزارة الاقتصاد في بيان لها في أكتوبر 2019 إلى عودة 45 في المائة من العملة الناجمة عن الصادرات إلى إيران)؛ لكن يمكن استنتاج ثلاثة نقاط من ذلك:

  1. لم تعمل العقوبات المفروضة على الاقتصاد على قطع التبادل التجاري مع إيران، بمقدار ما عملت على رفع كلفة التجارة مع العالم.
  2. ثمة احتمال بأن تتأقلم قطاعات مختلفة من الاقتصاد الإيراني مع حالة العقوبات، رغم انخفاض معدلات أرباحها.
  3. تترك العقوبات المفروضة في صيغتها الحالية ثغرات ومنافذ يتنفس منها الاقتصاد الإيراني. وحتى إن كانت تعمل على انهياره على المدى البعيد، فإن هذا الانهيار سيكون بطيئًا؛ ما يعني احتمال صمود النظام الإيراني لفترة أطول قبل أن يضطر إلى الرضوخ لخيار العودة إلى المفاوضات وفق الإملاءات الأمريكية.

كيف يمكن ترشيد نظام العقوبات، وإنضاجه؟

يعاني نظام العقوبات المفروضة على إيران، رغم صلابته، من عدة ثغرات، من الضروري الانتباه إليها، والعمل على معالجتها، من أجل أن تؤدي العقوبات أثرها الحقيقي، متمثلاً في إعادة إيران إلى طاولة المفاوضات، وتراجعها عن مواقفها الراهنة. وتتمثل أهم المحاور الضرورية لما يمكن تسميته بترشيد العقوبات، وإنضاجها في المحاور التالية:

1. محور سدّ الثغرات؛ تعاني العقوبات الأمريكية من عدة ثغرات، يمكن العمل على إغلاقها ليؤدي ذلك إلى إكمال نظامها. وعلى هذا الصعيد، فإن من أهم الثغرات هي التي تعاني منها العقوبات تتعلق بالنظام المصرفي الإيراني؛ إذ لا تعمل العقوبات على وقف التعامل التجاري والنقدي بين إيران والعالم، بمقدار ما تعمل على تضييق مجاله، وذلك بسبب تواجد بنوك صغيرة ومتوسطة تمارس التعاون مع إيران رغم العقوبات، وبسبب استخدام إيران لنظام الصرافة بديلًا عن القطاع البنكي، وذلك رغم التكلفة الإضافية التي يحملها هذا النظام البديل لإيران. ويمكن أن تلعب آلية FATF والأنظمة التي تناهض التبادل النقدي والمالي مع إيران، دورًا كبيرًا في سد هذه الثغرة، خاصة في ظل رفض طهران إقرار قوانين الشفافية المصرفية لمناهضة غسيل الأموال ودعم الإرهاب، وانتهاء كثير من حالات التعاون المصرفي بين جهات إيرانية، وبنوك وشركات صيرفة خارج إيران. وكان هناك محاولة من عدة جهات متنفذة في منظمة FATF خلال الفترة الماضية لمنح طهران فرصًا متتالية، رغم تعللها في إقرار القوانين الضرورية بهذا الصدد؛ مما يوحي بمحاولات ترك هذه الثغرة مفتوحة.

2. استخدام العراق كمتنفس؛ تظهر ملاحظة السلوك الإيراني عن كثب، ثغرة واسعة أخرى في جدار العقوبات، تتمثل في الدور الذي يؤديه العراق بوصفه منفذًا يحاول الاقتصاد الإيراني أن يبقى على قيد الحياة من خلال التنفس عبره؛ فقد أظهرت الأرقام الصادرة عن مصادر رسمية إيرانية أن التجارة بين البلدين وصل في العام 2018 مستوى 12 مليار دولار، ليحتل العراق المرتبة الثانية بعد الصين ضمن قائمة الشركاء التجاريين لإيران، وسط تطلعات بأن يبلغ التبادل التجاري بين البلدين 20 مليار دولار في غضون عامين. وتكمن أهمية هذا المستوى من التبادل التجاري بين البلدين في أن الصادرات إلى العراق تشكل نحو 87 في المائة من مجموع التبادل التجاري بين البلدين مما يعني أن العراق مصدر لنحو 22 في المائة من العملة الصعبة الناجمة عن الصادرات، في ظل احتمال بأن يصبح مصدر 45 في المائة من هذه العملة الصعبة، لو بلغ التبادل التجاري بين البلدين 20 مليار دولار. وإذا كان السلوك الأمريكي حتى الآن متساهلًا مع العراق من خلال منحه إعفاءات من العقوبات في التبادل التجاري مع إيران، فإن هذه الإعفاءات كانت ثغرة ساعدت بشكل أساسي في صمود النظام الإيراني. ويمكن ملاحظة مثل هذه الثغرات في التبادل التجاري بين إيران وبلدان أخرى، مما يعني أن سدّ هذه الثغرات يمكنه أن يسهم بشكل كبير في كسر الصمود الإيراني.

3. محور تدويل العقوبات؛ تعاني العقوبات الأمريكية من واقع كونها عقوبات منفردة من الإدارة الأمريكية؛ ما يعطي للإيرانيين مجالاً من المناورة بغية التمرد والتحايل على هذه العقوبات قدر الإمكان. ومن هذا المنطلق فإن العمل على تدويل العقوبات ستكون له نتائج على صعيد رفع تأثيرها، وجعلها ذات فاعلية أكبر. ويمكن اعتبار الضغوط الأمريكية على الاتحاد الأوروبي للانسحاب من الاتفاق النووي (والذي بموجبه تم إلغاء العديد من العقوبات المفروضة بموجب قرارات أممية) في اتجاه تدويل العقوبات. وبإمكان الإدارة الأمريكية الضغط على موقف الثلاثي الأوروبي بالانسحاب عبر موقف بريطانيا الذي يتسم بتماهي أكبر مع الموقف الأمريكي؛ كما أن الولايات المتحدة ستسعى لاستخدام آلياتها للضغط الاقتصادي على الاتحاد الأوروبي للضغط بدوره على الثلاثي الأوروبي بغية تغيير موقفه من الاتفاق النووي، وبغية التخلي عن آلياته الداعمة للاقتصاد الإيراني مثل آلية التبادل النقدي "إنستكس".

ورغم بعض المواقف المتقاربة مع وجهة النظر الأمريكية هذه، مثل قرار تطبيق آلية الزناد التي يعتبرها البعض بداية لنهاية الاتفاق النووي، إلا أن ثمة مواقف أوروبية يمكن اعتبارها عائقًا في طريق المخطط الأمريكي، على رأسها الموقف الألماني الذي لا يزال يدعم الاتفاق النووي من منطلق كونه الملف الذي أتاح لألمانيا أن تخترق جدران مجلس الأمن، وإن عاد الملف إلى مجلس الأمن، فإن ذلك يعني أن ألمانيا ستخسر إحدى بواباتها الرئيسة لاختراق جدران هذا المجلس. إلا أن العمل على إخراج الاتحاد الأوروبي من الاتفاق النووي عبر تطبيق آلية الزناد باعتباره أهم طريق لإعادة العقوبات الدولية على إيران، وتدويل العقوبات يمكن أن يدفع مشروع الضغط على إيران وإعادتها إلى طاولة حوار شامل إلى الأمام.

4. محور المجالات الجديدة؛ ورغم فاعليته إلى حد كبير حتى الآن، إلا نظام العقوبات الأمريكية ترك خارج مظلته مجالات اقتصادية مهمة تعتبر من أهم البوابات الاقتصادية لإيران، كما أنه بحاجة إلى أن يغطي مجالات جديدة تفكر الحكومة الإيرانية في الاستناد إليها بديلا عن الموارد النفطية، ومن أهم هذه القطاعات:

  1. قطاع بيع الكهرباء والإيرادات الناجمة عنه؛ يعتبر هذا القطاع من ضمن الموارد الأساسية للاقتصاد الإيراني التي تجاهلها نظام العقوبات. وعلى الرغم من توزيع الكهرباء التي تصدرها إيران إلى عدة بلدان، إلا أن العراق يتمتع بحصة الأسد من هذه الصادرات؛ إذ بلغت إيرادات الحكومة من هذا المجال نحو 3.5 مليار دولار، بينما يقدر مشروع الموازنة العامة للعام المقبل أن الحكومة تستهدف الحصول على 4 مليارات دولار من تصدير الكهرباء إلى العراق. وستؤدي تغطية العقوبات لهذا المجال إلى حرمان إيران من جزء كبير من الإيرادات التي يعول عليها؛ خصوصا وأنها تكتسب أهمية من منطلق سهولة نقل الأموال من العراق إلى إيران مقارنة بالحالات الأخرى.
  2. قطاع الغاز؛ يشكل الغاز أحد الحقول المهمة التي لم يشملها نظام العقوبات بشكل فعال، وهو أحد أهم مصادر إيران من العملة الصعبة، وستكون إيراداته منها في موازنة العام المقبل عند مستوى 3.45 مليار دولار. وعلى الرغم من أن نظام العقوبات يتضمن بنودا تضع شركات إيرانية ناشطة في مجال استخراج الغاز وبيعه تحت مظلة العقوبات، لكنّ إيران استطاعت حتى الآن الالتفاف على هذا النظام، وبيع الغاز في الأسواق الإقليمية والعالمية؛ وستستمر في ذلك؛ ما يعطيها مجالا للتنفس والصمود أمام العقوبات، إلا إذا شملت العقوبات بشكل واضح قطاع الغاز الإيراني.
  3. قطاع الوقود؛ يعدُّ الوقود أحد الموارد المهمة التي تعول الحكومة على إيراداتها وفق مشروع الموازنة العامة للعام المقبل؛ إذ يضع هذا المشروع ضمن صلاحيات الحكومة تصدير نحو 20 مليون لتر يوميًا من البنزين ناجمة عن انخفاض الاستهلاك نتيجة ارتفاع الأسعار؛ وستكون أفغانستان وباكستان والعراق من بين البلدان المرشحة لاستقبال هذا الحجم من الوقود الذي تشير مصادر حكومية أنه يقدم إيرادات أقصاها 4 مليار دولار للحكومة في قطاع لم تشمله العقوبات.

السيناريوهات

السيناريو الأول: مواصلة العقوبات الأمريكية وصمود إيران: ويفترض هذا السيناريو أن تواصل العقوبات مسيرتها الراهنة؛ حيث ستحاول الإدارة الأمريكية ضبط العقوبات التي تم فرضها حتى الآن، وقد تضيف إليها أسماء ومجالات لا يمكن وصفها بالحيوية، دون أن تتجاوز ذلك إلى حقول جديدة، وبذلك سيكون النظام الإيراني تحت وطأة عقوبات ثقيلة جدًا، لكنها ليست مميتة، ولا تعمل على انهياره، بل وفي رؤية متفائلة قد تمنحه إمكانية الصمود لفترة أطول، وبالتالي يظل قرار العودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات مستبعدًا أو ضعيف الاحتمال. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا السيناريو يبدو مستبعدًا في ظل التأكيد الأمريكي المتكرر على ضرورة جلوس إيران على طاولة الحوار، وفي ظل الخطوات الجديدة للثلاثي الأوروبي، ومنها قرار تفعيل آليات الزناد؛ مما يرفع احتمال عودة الملف الإيراني إلى مجلس الأمن، إلا أنه سيكون واردا فقط في حال تصور رغبة أمريكية ودولية في استمرار الوضع بشكل عام، والوضع الإيراني بوجه خاص على ما هو عليه، حيث تتنصل إيران عن جزء كبير من مشروعها للتوسع الإقليمي، ومن برنامجها للصواريخ الباليستية مع فرض حدود كبيرة على برنامجها النووي دون التوصل إلى أي حلول جذرية في هذه الملفات الثلاث.

السيناريو الثاني: فرض عقوبات جديدة، وعودة إيران إلى الحوار: ويفترض هذا السيناريو أن تقوم الولايات المتحدة بفرض عقوبات مكملة جديدة، وسد الثغرات من أجل ترشيد العقوبات، ورفعها إلى مستوىً سيجبر إيران على الرضوخ للحوار، وتشير آخر المؤشرات أن هذا ما يحدث حالياً. وفي هذه الحالة ستقوم الإدارة الأمريكية بفرض عقوبات على مجالات سيادية، يمكن التأكد من وقف تدفقها بشكل كامل، مثل فرض عقوبات على بيع الوقود، وعقوبات على قطاع الغاز السائل، كما تقوم بالسعي نحو سد ثغرات مفتعلة على رأسها الثغرة العراقية قدر الإمكان، وثغرة الـ (FATF).

وفي حال تطبيق هذه العملية التي يمكن تسميتها "ترشيد العقوبات"، فإن الاقتصاد الإيراني سيتجه بسرعة أكبر نحو الانهيار، نتيجة التوازن السلبي في التبادل التجاري، وانخفاض نسبة العملة الصعبة في الأسواق، لتأمين حاجاتها؛ ما يؤدي بدوره إلى ارتفاع سعر الدولار، وانخفاض العملة بيد الحكومة، لتوفير البضائع الأساسية للمجتمع من جهة ثانية؛ ما يؤدي إلى تضخم كبير في الأسعار. وبالنتيجة ستزداد حدة السخط الاجتماعي؛ ليؤدي بدوره إلى ضغط على النظام السياسي، واضطراره للقبول بحل سياسي. كما من المفترض أن ترتفع نسبة الخلافات داخل الأجهزة الرسمية، وتغليب لغة التعامل مع الجانب الأمريكي، ودخول مفاوضات معها؛ إلا أن ذلك سيكون صعبًا جداً في ظل رفض خامنئي الصريح للمفاوضات مع الجانب الأمريكي.

السيناريو الثالث: فرض عقوبات جديدة ورفض إيران للحوار المباشر مع الولايات المتحدة: ينطلق هذا السيناريو من نفس النقطة التي ينطلق منها السيناريو الثاني؛ إذ يفترض استمرارا للعقوبات وتطبيقا لعملية إكمالها وترشيده، إلا أنه يفترض أن ذلك لن يؤدي إلى حوار شامل مع الولايات المتحدة، وإنما سيؤدي إلى بدء النظام الإيراني حوارات منفصلة (يمكن أن تكون جادة فيها كما يمكن أن تقوم بها من أجل شراء الوقت) مع الجانب الأوروبي، ومع الأطراف العربية بغية التوصل إلى اتفاقيات لتطمين العالم بشأن برنامجها النووي، واتفاقيات مع الأطراف العربية بشأن القضايا الإقليمية.

وعلى الرغم من أن الرغبة الإيرانية متمثلة في تأكيد القائد الأعلى الإيراني على أن إيران جاهزة للحوار إلا مع الولايات المتحدة، وفي تأكيد وزير الخارجية الإيراني على أن إيران جاهزة لبدء حوار إقليمي مع جيرانها الخليجيين، تصب في هذا الاتجاه، إلا أن هذا السيناريو سيظل مستبعداً إلى حدود بعيدة، إذا أخذنا بعين الاعتبار عدة نقاط، منها: أولاً، قد لا يؤدي اتفاق مع الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى إنهاء العقوبات الأمريكية؛ وثانياً، أن ثمة خلافاً كبيراً داخل الخط الأوروبي نفسه حول جدوى التعامل مع إيران بمعزل عن الولايات المتحدة، خصوصاً في ظل الدعوات البريطانية الصريحة إلى استبدال الاتفاق النووي باتفاق ترمب؛ وثالثاً، عدم رغبة الدول الخليجية في دخول مفاوضات إقليمية مع إيران مستقلة عن رؤية المفاوضات الشاملة مع هذه الدولة.

 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

US Sanctions on Iran: Limits and Prospects

EPC | 02 Feb 2020

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and Treasury Secretary Stephen Mnuchin announced a new package of sanctions against Iran. The new wave of sanctions affected the steel products sector, and the largest companies in this field, along with some security and military leaders. The announcement of the new packages of sanctions coincides with a new wave of political debate in Washington about the feasibility of the sanctions on Iran, and whether these sanctions are actually capable of achieving their main goal, which is forcing Iran to a come back to the dialogue table by breaking the backbone of this country’s, and exacerbating levels of popular discontent to force the Iranian regime stop its intransigence.

It can be said that the core of the conflict is now related to perceptions. The American public opinion wants to be reassured that the American pressure campaign against Iran has no cost on the American economy and the national security interests; whereas the perceptions of the Iranian masses are very important, because they represent the only factor that the Iranian regime cares about. The regime does not want these masses to be mobilized against it. To further enhance perceptions about the success of this campaign, the White House should maintain momentum when it comes to imposing new sanctions.

Talking about Sanctions Feasibility

Before talking about the feasibility of the sanctions, a relevant question comes to mind about whether the sanctions have reached their final limits and has the US administration exhausted all its cards in the strategy of maximum pressure? As the question seems important in light of the steadfastness of the Iranian economy in face of all the waves of sanctions imposed on it so far,  especially since the United States imposed repeated sanctions on areas that had been sanctioned in previous stages; which may suggest that the American administration did not find any more areas to impose additional penalties.

It can be said that each of the two questions raised about the feasibility of the sanctions, and to what extent they have reached, are closely associated and they refer to each other. So, it is not possible to find a clear answer for each of them without the other. This is while the third question resulting from these two questions relates to searching for other areas where sanctions can be imposed which have so far formed loopholes and outlets through which the Iranian economy breathes and ward off its collapse.

Despite all the sanctions imposed on its economy, which affected the most vital sectors (the sanctions have so far affected the oil, auto, banking, monetary and gold sectors, and parts of the petrochemical sector, along with personal sanctions imposed on dozens of symbols of the Iranian regime), Iran was able to maintain a positive trade balance in 2018. In 2019, it also maintained a slight positive balance, despite the negative balance that it suffered over the last six months of the year. Although the positive balance did not leave Iran with a room to save hard currency, yet it has protected the economy from breaking down and prevented a catastrophic return to sovereign sources of cash to pay the dues, fund urban projects and secure monetary support. The abovementioned points leads to several conclusions:

1. In imposing sanctions, the US administration focused on the sovereign sectors, and left a margin of the commercial sectors in which many companies belonging to the government operate, such as the food sector, the petrochemical products, and the energy sector. Much of the focus was on the oil sector, whose figures showed that the focus on it had yielded a strong impact, as Iranian oil sales went down to record levels. As for the other sovereign sectors, such as the auto sector, it was able to recover part of his health despite all the crises it has passed through which brought it to the level of the bankruptcy of hundreds of operating companies and the layoffs of tens of thousands of workers. The figures indicate that the volume of car production in Iran has increased after a decline lasted for several months, before the sector adjusted itself to the sanctions situation.

2. The American administration attempted to control other sectors and reduce their levels by placing obstacles on the path of banking cooperation; what might be called a mist of sanctions, which covered all sectors. But this blurring was not enough to strangle the Iranian economy and prevent it from dealing with destinations outside the country. According to sources in the Iranian Chamber of Commerce, the sanctions did not cut off the Iranian trade, but rather increased the cost of this trade and lower its profits, as a result of two main factors: "the activists are forced to sell their goods at lower prices", and "the high cost of returning the prices of these goods to the Iranian economy "as a result of the sanctions on the Iranian banking sector, and the attempt to circumvent these sanctions (which is the same situation that Iranian officials have spoken about previously, confirming that the sanctions carried them an additional cost of about 15 percent to transfer money back to Iran).

However, it is not possible to talk about the uselessness of sanctions, not only on the oil sector that has reached rock bottom, but also at the level of other sovereign sectors facing problems due to the sanctions including the level of trade. Figures indicate the high pace of evading the return of the currency resulting from the exports to the Iranian economy. Iranian  Ministry of Economy indicated in a statement in October 2019 that 45 percent of the currency resulting from exports to Iran is returning. Anyhow, three points can be concluded from this:

A.The sanctions imposed on the economy did not cut trade with Iran, in as much as they raised the cost of the country’s trade with the world.

B. There is a possibility that different sectors of the Iranian economy will adapt themselves to the state of sanctions, despite the low rates of their profits.

C. The sanctions imposed in their current formula leave the loopholes and outlets through which the Iranian economy can breathe. Even if they are working to collapse it in the long run, this breakdown will be slow, which means that the Iranian regime may hold out for a longer period before having to succumb to the option of returning to negotiations in accordance with the American dictates.

How can the sanctions system be rationalized and matured?

The sanctions system imposed on Iran, despite its rigidity, suffers from several loopholes , which are necessary to be attended and addressed in order for the sanctions to yield a real impact, represented in returning Iran to the negotiating table, and retracting it from its current positions. The most important pivots of what can be called rationalization of sanctions and their maturity are the following:

1. Bridging the loopholes: US sanctions system suffer from several gaps, which can be closed to lead to the completion of its system. In this regard, one of the most important loopholes the sanctions suffer from is related to the Iranian banking system. The sanctions do not stop commercial and monetary transactions between Iran and the world, insofar as they work to narrow its scope. This is because of the existence of small and medium banks that  cooperate with Iran despite the sanctions. And also because Iran uses the exchange system as an alternative to the banking sector, despite the additional cost that this alternative system carries to Iran. The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) mechanism and the systems that oppose monetary and financial exchanges with Iran can play a major role in filling this gap. This can work, especially in light of Tehran's refusal to pass banking transparency laws to counter money laundering and support to terrorism as well as the termination of many cases of banking cooperation between Iranian entities and banks and exchange companies outside Iran. There was an attempt by several influential parties in the FATF organization during the last period to give Tehran successive opportunities, despite its reasoning for approving the necessary laws in this regard, which implies attempts to leave this gap open.

2. Using Iraq as an outlet: Observing Iranian behavior closely reveals another wide gap in the sanctions’ wall shows. It is the role played by Iraq being an outlet that the Iranian economy tries to survive by breathing through it. Figures released by Iranian official sources have shown that trade between the two countries reached amounted to $12 billion in 2018, ranking Iraq second after China in the list of Iran’s trade partners, amidst aspirations that trade exchange between the two countries will reach $20 billion within two years. The importance of this level of trade exchange between the two countries lies in the fact that exports to Iraq constitute about 87% of the total trade exchange between the two countries, which means that Iraq is a source of about 22% of the hard currency resulting from exports, with the possibility that it will become a source of 45% of this hard currency, in case the trade exchange between the two countries reaches $20 billion. And if the American behavior has so far been lenient with Iraq by granting exemptions from sanctions in trade with Iran, these exemptions were a loophole that mainly helped in the resilience of the Iranian regime. Such gaps in trade between Iran and other countries can be observed, which means that bridging these gaps can contribute significantly to breaking the Iranian resilience.

3. Internationalizing Sanctions: American sanctions suffer from the fact that they are unilateral sanctions by the American administration, which gives the Iranians a room for maneuver in order to rebel against and circumvent these sanctions as much as possible. From this standpoint, the work to internationalize sanctions will yield results in terms of increasing their impact and making them more effective. The US pressures on the European Union to withdraw from the nuclear agreement (according to which many of the imposed sanctions have been eliminated by UN resolutions) can be seen a step in the direction of internationalizing sanctions. The American administration can pressure on the position of the European Trio for withdrawing via Britain's position, which is more identical with the American position. The United States will seek to use its mechanisms of economic pressure on the European Union to pressure in turn on the European Trio in order to change its position regarding the nuclear agreement, with the aim of abandoning its supportive mechanisms to the Iranian economy such as the mechanism of the Instrument in Support of Trade Exchanges (INSTEX).

Despite some positions that are close to this American viewpoint, such as the decision to implement the “Trigger” mechanism which some consider mechanism the beginning of the end of the nuclear agreement, there are European positions that can be considered an obstacle in the way of the American scheme. On top of them is the German position that still supports the nuclear agreement in terms of being the file which allowed Germany to penetrate the walls of the Security Council, and if the file returned to the Security Council, this means that Germany will lose one of its main gates to penetrate the walls of this Council. However, working to get the European Union out of the nuclear agreement by applying the Trigger mechanism being the most important way to restore international sanctions on Iran and to the internationalization of sanctions could push the project of pressure on Iran and bring it back to the table of a comprehensive dialogue forward.

4. New domains: Despite its effectiveness to a large extent so far, the US sanctions system has left outside its umbrella vital economic areas that are considered one of the most important economic gates for Iran. The system also needs to cover new areas that the Iranian government is thinking of relying on as an alternative to oil resources. Among the most important of these sectors are:

A. The sector of selling electricity and its revenues: This sector is among the main resources of the Iranian economy that the US sanctions regime has ignored. Despite the distribution of electricity exported by Iran to several countries, Iraq enjoys the lion's share of these exports bringing to the Iranian government revenues around $3.5 billion. The draft general budget for the next year estimates that the government aims to obtain $4 billion from exporting electricity to Iraq. In case that the sanctions cover this area will deprive Iran of a large part of the reliable revenues, especially as it is gaining importance in terms of the easiness of transferring funds from Iraq to Iran compared to other situation.

B. Gas sector: Gas is one of the important fields that the sanctions regime has not effectively covered. Besides, it is one of Iran's most important sources of hard currency and its revenues from gas sales in next year's budget is estimated at $ 3.45 billion. Although the sanctions system includes provisions that place Iranian companies active in the field of extracting gas and selling it under the umbrella of sanctions but Iran has so far managed to circumvent this system and sell gas in regional and global markets. It will continue to do so, giving it a room to breathe and withstand the sanctions unless the sanctions clearly include the Iranian gas sector.

C. The fuel sector: Fuel is one of the important resources that the Iranian government relies on its revenues according to the draft general budget for the coming year, as this draft budget plan places within the powers of the government the exportation of about 20 million liters per day of gasoline resulting from low consumption due to high prices. Afghanistan, Pakistan and Iraq will be among the countries to receive this quantity fuel. Government sources indicate that this will provide maximum revenue of $ 4 billion to the government in a sector not covered by the sanctions.

The Scenarios

First scenario: continuation of US American sanctions and steadfastness of Iran: This scenario assumes that the sanctions continue their current course, as the American administration will try to control the sanctions that have been imposed so far, and may add to them names and fields that cannot be described as vital, without exceeding that to new fields. Thus, the Iranian regime will be under very heavy sanctions, but it is not lethal, and it is not working to break down this regime. Rather and in an optimistic view, it may grant it the ability to stand for a longer period. Therefore, the decision to return to the negotiating table remains unlikely or very unlikely. Although this scenario seems unlikely to happen given the repeated American assertion of the need for Iran to sit at the dialogue table and in light of the new steps of the European trio including the decision to activate the trigger mechanisms which raises the possibility of the return of the Iranian file to the Security Council, it will only come to the surface if an American and international desire is envisaged to keep the situation in general and the Iranian situation in particular as they are, where Iran renounces a large part of its project for regional expansion, and from its ballistic missile program with imposing large limits on its nuclear program without reaching any radical solutions to these three files.

Second scenario: imposing new sanctions, Iran's return to dialogue: This scenario assumes that the United States impose new complementary sanctions, fill gaps in order to rationalize the sanctions, and raise them to a level that will force Iran to surrender  to dialogue. The latest indications show that this is what is happening now. In this case, the US administration will impose sanctions on sovereign areas that one can make sure to stop its flow completely, such as imposing sanctions on fuel sales, the liquid gas sector, as well as seeking to bridge artificial holes on top of which is the Iraqi gap as possible, and that of the  (FATF) .

In the event that this process, which can be called "rationalization of sanctions," is applied, the Iranian economy will move more quickly towards collapse, as a result of the negative balance in trade and the low level of hard currency in the markets, to secure its needs. This, in turn, would lead to a rise in the price of the dollar, and to a decrease in the currency in the hand of the government to provide basic commodities to society leading eventually to a large  inflation in prices. As a result, severity of social discontent will increase, leading to pressure on the political system, and forcing it to accept a political solution. It is also assumed that the percentage of disagreements within the official departments will rise, and that the language of dealing with the American side and entering negotiation with it will prevail. However, this will be very difficult in light of Khamenei's explicit rejection of negotiations with the American side.

Third scenario: imposing new sanctions, Iran's refusal of direct dialogue with the US: This scenario starts with the same point from which the second scenario starts as it assumes to continue the sanctions and implement the process of completing and rationalizing them, but it is assumed that this will not lead to a comprehensive dialogue with the United States. Rather It will lead to the start of separate dialogues by the Iranian regime (which can be serious in them or may start them to buy time) with the European side, and with the Arab parties in order to reach agreements to reassure the world about its nuclear program, in addition to agreements with Arab parties on regional issues.

Although the Iranian desire represented in the Iranian Supreme Leader's assertion that Iran is ready for dialogue except with the United States and in the Iranian Foreign Minister's assertion that Iran is ready to start a regional dialogue with its Gulf neighbors is moving in this direction, yet this scenario will remain so far unlikely to happen especially if we take into account several points including : first, an agreement with the European Union may not lead to an end to US sanctions; second, there is a great disagreement within the European attitude itself about the feasibility of dealing with Iran in isolation from the United States, especially in light of the explicit British calls to replace the nuclear agreement with Trump’s accord, and third, the Gulf states’ unwillingness to enter regional negotiations with Iran independent of seeing comprehensive negotiations with this country.

 

Latest Featured Topics