التمدُّد التركي في المنطقة: المُحرِّكات والقيود والآفاق

أحمد دياب | 10 نوفمبر 2020

يُظهِر العديد من المؤشرات أن تركيا تعتزم مواصلة تمدُّدها في المنطقة، وأن هذا التمدُّد بات جزءاً من عقيدتها السياسية والاستراتيجية لترسيخ النفوذ الإقليمي، في ظل حكومة حزب العدالة والتنمية، ذات الميول الإسلامية، بقيادة رجب طيب أردوغان. وتُلقي هذه الورقة الضوء على حوافز ومحركات التوجُّه التركي نحو زيادة التمدُّد الإقليمي، والقيود والتحديات التي تواجهه، ونتائجه وآفاقه المستقبلية المحتملة. 

صُعود عقيدة تركية تدخُّلية جديدة: الحوافز والمُحرِّكات

خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية قامت تركيا بشن ثلاث عمليات توغُّل عسكرية في سوريا، وأرسلت إمدادات ومقاتلين إلى ليبيا، ونشرت قواتها البحرية في شرق المتوسط لتأكيد مزاعمها بشأن حقوقها في المنطقة، ووسَّعت عملياتها العسكرية ضد مُسلَّحي حزب العمال الكردستاني شمال العراق، وأرسلت تعزيزات عسكرية إلى آخر معاقل المعارضة السورية في إدلب، وأخيراً، قَدَّمت مساعدات عسكرية وعناصر مرتزقة سوريين لدعم أذربيجان في حربها ضد أرمينيا من أجل استعادة إقليم ناغورني قره باغ. ولدى تركيا اليوم وجود عسكري مباشر في قطر والصومال وأفغانستان، وقوات لحفظ السلام في البلقان، ويعتبر وجودها العسكري العالمي في الوقت الحالي الأكبر منذ أيام الإمبراطورية العثمانية.

ويعد اعتماد تركيا على القوة العسكرية لتأمين مصالحها حجر الزاوية لعقيدة سياستها الخارجية الجديدة التي تتطور منذ عام 2015. وتُشكِّك العقيدة الجديدة في جدوى العمل المشترك مع القوى الإقليمية والدولية التقليدية، وتدفع تركيا نحو التحرك بشكل أُحادي حين يقتضي الأمر. وقد انبثقت هذه العقيدة الجديدة من متغيرات دولية وإقليمية وداخلية عدة، أهمها:

1. أيديولوجية "العثمانية الجديدة"

مع وصول حزب "العدالة والتنمية" بزعامة رجب طيب أردوغان للحكم في تركيا عام 2002، تبنَّى قادة ومفكرو الحزب منهجاً يقوم على ضرورة إحياء دور تركيا الإسلامي الذي تعرَّض للتجاهل والإهمال منذ عهد مؤسس تركيا الحديثة مصطفى كمال أتاتورك. ومنذ أكثر من عقد، أدرك أردوغان ومنظرو حزبه السياسي أن باب الاتحاد الأوروبي قد بات موصداً أمام كل ما قدمته تركيا العلمانية، ولا بديل أمام نخبة حزب العدالة والتنمية سوى الظهير الإقليمي "العربي/الإسلامي" الذي يُحقِّق حلم التمدُّد واستعادة زخم الدور التركي، ويعيد لها مكانتها المفقودة، وبعضاً من هيبتها التي فُقِدَت على أعتاب الاتحاد الأوروبي.

وفي أواخر أغسطس 2020، نشر النائب السابق بالبرلمان التركي عن حزب "العدالة والتنمية" الحاكم متين جلونك، خريطة لـ"تركيا الكبرى"، تعود إلى عهد السلاجقة، وتضم مساحات واسعة من شمال اليونان وجزر بحر إيجة الشرقية، ونصف بلغاريا، وقبرص، وأرمينيا في مجملها، ومناطق واسعة من جورجيا والعراق وسوريا. وشهدت تركيا في الفترة الأخيرة تصاعداً في الحديث حول ما يُسمَّى "الوطن الأزرق"، وهو مشروع تحدَّث عنه الجيش التركي ووزير الدفاع خلوصي أكار، مراراً، يقوم على فرض تركيا سيطرتها في البحار المحيطة بها (شرق البحر المتوسط، وبحر إيجة، والبحر الأسود).

2. استراتيجية ملء الفراغ الاستراتيجي في المنطقة

على خلفية انشغال الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي بمواجهة تبعات الأزمات الاقتصادية المتلاحقة وصولاً إلى جائحة كورونا الحالية، أصبحت مشاركتهما في الشؤون الدولية أكثر تركيزاً على القضايا محل اهتمام الرأي العام الداخلي، ومثَّل ذلك فرصة لا تُعوَّض لدول تحتل الصف الثاني في مراتب القوة العالمية، مثل تركيا، لكي تتقدم وتحصل على مكانة متقدمة في بنية النظام العالمي الراهن، باعتبار أن رفع مكانة تركيا في الخارج، وعلى خلاف القوى الغربية، يمثل رافعة لتشتيت الاهتمام بالمشاكل الداخلية المتراكمة لصالح قضايا وأزمات السياسة الخارجية.

وتكشف مواقف الرئيس أردوغان المتوالية أن هناك تغييراً أوسع في السياسة الخارجية التركية مدفوعاً بفقدان الثقة في الدبلوماسية الدولية ورغبة أكبر في الانخراط بشكل مباشر في النزاعات الإقليمية بهدف اكتساب الأهمية والتأثير، عبر انتهاج سياسة خارجية استباقية تقوم على أساس استخدام القوة العسكرية الوقائية خارج حدود تركيا، وملء الفراغ الاستراتيجي في المنطقة، والذي خلَّفه انسحاب أمريكا منها، ضمن خطوات عدة تندرج في ما يراه الرئيس التركي سعياً مشروعاً لبلاده من أجل نيل "المكانة التي تستحقها في النظام العالمي".

3. تحالف أردوغان مع القوميين

بدأت العقيدة التركية الجديدة تتشكل عام 2015، حين فقد حزب العدالة والتنمية الأغلبية البرلمانية لأول مرة منذ عقد كامل بسبب تنامي التأييد لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الموالي للأكراد. وفي سبيل استعادة أغلبية الحزب الحاكم، شكَّل أردوغان تحالفاً مع القوميين الأتراك من اليمين واليسار على حد سواء. وقد أيده القوميون حين استأنف المعركة ضد المسلحين الأكراد. ورغم الاختلافات الأيديولوجية، يؤيد كلٌّ من حزب الحركة القومية اليميني والقوميون الجدد اليساريون المقاربة الأمنية المتشددة في التعامل مع المشكلة الكردية. كما يعطون الأولوية للأمن القومي في الداخل والخارج، ويتبنَّون وجهات نظر معادية للغرب بشدة.

وبدعم من القوميين قام أردوغان بتحويل نظام البلاد من برلماني إلى رئاسي يمنحه سلطات واسعة. وصار تحالفه مع القوميين وتوطيد سلطاته العامل المحرك الرئيس لسياسة تركيا الخارجية. وساعد استعراض العضلات التركية في مناطق أخرى من العالم حزب العدالة والتنمية المتحالف مع القوميين في الاحتفاظ بالتفوق في استطلاعات الرأي رغم انخفاض قيمة العملة التركية (الليرة)، الذي تسبب في تفاقم التداعيات الاقتصادية لجائحة كورونا.

4. فشل الانقلاب وعسكرة السياسة الخارجية

لعبت محاولة الانقلاب الفاشلة عام 2016 دوراً رئيساً في تعبيد الطريق أمام عسكرة السياسة الخارجية التركية، ومهَّدت الطريق أمام توطيد السلطة وتركيزها في يد أردوغان. ومن خلال حملات التطهير المتواصلة، قام الرئيس التركي بإفراغ المؤسسات وتهميش وزارة الخارجية وقيادات الجيش التي رفضت في السابق الاستجابة لدعواته إلى شن عمليات عسكرية في بلدان مجاورة. وقفز الانفاق الدفاعي للبلاد بنسبة 17% منذ بداية العام 2020 ليصل إلى 7 مليارات دولار، أي ما يعادل قُرابة 5% من إجمالي الإنفاق في الموازنة التركية السنوية. والملاحظ أن الميزانية العسكرية لتركيا زادت بما يقارب 90% على مدار العشر سنوات الأخيرة؛ ما يدل على أن الحملات العسكرية الخارجية تمثل أولوية لأردوغان ونظامه.

5. الأطماع الاقتصادية (النفط والغاز)

 تتمثل نقطة الضعف الرئيسة للاقتصاد التركي في واردات الطاقة، والتي بلغت أكثر من 40 مليار دولار عام 2018، إذ تحتاج تركيا بشكل مُلِحٍ إلى النفط والغاز. وهي ثاني بلد بعد الصين في استيراد الغاز، إذ تستورد تقريباً 99% من حاجتها لهذا المورد، ولا يمكن مقارنة احتياج وتعطش تركيا لموارد الطاقة سوى بالتعطُّش المماثل لألمانيا واليابان قبيل الحرب العالمية الثانية، والذي كان من بين الأسباب الأساسية في إقدامهما على التوسُّع خارج حدودهما الوطنية.

التحديات والقيود

مع أن استراتيجية التمدد التركي في المنطقة ما زالت تمثل إحدى ركائز سياسة حكومة أردوغان في تعاطيها مع الشأن الإقليمي ولا تظهر مؤشرات أن تركيا قد تتراجع عنها في المدى القريب، إلا أن هذه الاستراتيجية تواجه بشكل متزايد العديد من التحديات والقيود التي تؤثر في قدرتها على تحقيق المكاسب المرجوة خلال المدى المنظور، ومن أهمها:

1. أفول "النموذج التركي" بوصفه مصدر جَذْبٍ في المنطقة

في أعقاب ما يسمى ثورات الربيع العربي، بدا "النموذج التركي" في ذروة صعوده؛ فدولة تركية قوية وديمقراطية ومُزدهرة في الداخل كانت قادرة على كسب المزيد من النفوذ في الخارج، لكن الوضع في الشرق الأوسط بعد مرور عشر سنوات يبدو مختلفاً الآن، وأهلية تركيا الديمقراطية تبدو مختلفة أيضاً. فعقب فوز انتخابي كبير في العام 2018، سارعَ الرئيس أردوغان إلى تحويل نظام برلماني عمره يناهز القرن إلى نظام رئاسي مركزي للغاية. وأدّت الانتخابات البلدية التي جرت على صعيد البلاد بأسرها في ربيع 2019، والتي تحولت إلى استفتاء لحكم أردوغان، إلى تعرُّض حزب الرئيس لهزائم بارزة، من بينها الهزائم في أنقرة وإسطنبول.

واليوم تحتل تركيا في مؤشر الديمقراطية المرتبة 110 من بين 167 دولة، بينما تحتل في معدل الاستقرار السياسي طبقاً لمقياس كوفمان (الذي يعطي +2.5 للدول الأعلى استقراراً، و-2.5 للأدنى استقراراً) ما قيمته -1.34، وبهذا فهي تحتل المرتبة 175 من بين 195 دولة في هذا المؤشر، ما يعكس قوة انخراطها في الأزمات الحدودية مع سوريا ودموية صراعها مع الأكراد، لاسيما أكراد تركيا الذين يصل عددهم حوالي 15 مليون نسمة. أما في مؤشر عدالة توزيع الدخل فتحتل تركيا مكانة تقع بين المقبول والضعيف بمعدل 41.9، وكل ذلك يعني أن تمدُّدها الإقليمي الراهن لا يتكئ على بنية داخلية موازية لحجم هذا التمدد.

2. تردّي الأوضاع الاقتصادية

يتَّفق العديد من مُحللي الاقتصاد والخبراء العسكريين والأمنيين على أن ورقة الاقتصاد ستكون السبب الرئيس في تراجع حُلم/مشروع الرئيس التركي وانكماشه في غياب القدرة على تمويل هذا المشروع الطموح، والإنفاق على الحجم الكبير المطلوب من التسليح، وتقديم الرعاية لأتباع هذا المشروع ومناصريه، وذلك بالتوازي مع استمرار تدني الليرة التركية، والتي فقدت نحو ثلث قيمتها منذ العام 2018، فضلاً عن العجز المتنامي في الميزان التجاري، والذي وصل في أغسطس 2020 إلى 4.631 مليار دولار. وتركيا حالياً من الدول الـست الأكثر ديوناً في العالم، إذ وصل دينها الخارجي إلى نحو 431 مليار دولار في نهاية مارس 2020. والأهم أن حجم الدخل الوطني المقدر بنحو 800 مليار دولار أخذ يتَعرَّض للتراجع، بحيث أصبحت قيمته قرابة النصف حسب قيمة العملة التركية، وهو مسار خطر قد يُفضي إلى خروج تركيا من مجموعة الدول العشرين.  

3. بروز تحالفات إقليمية لـ"احتواء" التمدُّد التركي

أدى نهْج تركيا المتشدد وسياستها الخارجية المتقلبة إلى ظهور تعارضات وصدامات مع معظم اللاعبين الإقليميين الأساسيين، وخلق منافسة إقليمية جديدة في كلٍّ من شرق البحر المتوسط ​​ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، وأصبح هناك شبه اتفاق غير مكتوب بين دول الإقليم وبعض الدول الأوروبية الرئيسة على الوقوف صفاً واحداً ضد أطماع الرئيس أردوغان وسياساته الجامحة.

فقد كثَّفت مصر واليونان وقبرص وإسرائيل التعاون الاستراتيجي في العديد من المبادرات، لاسيما استخراج احتياطيات الغاز في شرق البحر المتوسط والإعلان عن منتدى غاز شرق المتوسط، وتم تهميش أنقرة وتجاهلها تماماً في هذه العملية. ومن جانبها، قدمت فرنسا الدعم لمبادرة شرق البحر المتوسط ​​للطاقة، كما أن دولة الإمارات قدمت دعماً ضمنيَّاً لهذا المسعى. ورأى رئيس جهاز الموساد الإسرائيلي، يوسي كوهين، أثناء اجتماعه مع نظرائه في مصر والسعودية والإمارات، أن القوة الإيرانية تعد هشة، معتبراً أن التهديد الحقيقي يأتي من تركيا (صحيفة "التايمز" البريطانية، 18 أغسطس 2020).

وعززت الولايات المتحدة مؤخراً قواعدها العسكرية في اليونان، ودعت مراراً تركيا إلى ضبط النفس بشأن نزاعاتها البحرية مع اليونان، مُلوحةً بالتدخل في التوترات في شرق البحر المتوسط، على نحو لا يُرضي السياسة التركية هناك. وبعد اندلاع الصراع في إقليم ناغورني قره باغ بين أذربيجان (المدعومة تركياً) وأرمينيا، شهدت تركيا تقارباً سريعاً بين الولايات المتحدة وفرنسا وروسيا هدفه كبح الدعم التركي القوي لأذربيجان، بما في ذلك تعهُّدات المساعدة العسكرية.

النتائج والآفاق المحتملة

بتحليل الوضع الظاهر الراهن للتمدُّد التركي في المنطقة، يمكن ملاحظة الآتي:

  • أن تركيا، ومنذ بداية تدخلها واحتلالها العسكري المباشر للأراضي السورية في إطار عملية "درع الفرات" 2016 وحتى العام الحالي، أي بعد 4 سنوات تقريباً، لم تُحقّق الكثير في هذا المجال، فضلاً عن اضطرار تركيا إلى الإنفاق على "المناطق الآمنة" التي فرضتها بقوة السلاح، وتوفير تمويلات ضخمة لإدارة أزمة اللاجئين، وهي الورقة التي تريد الإمساك بها لتوظيفها في التفاوض والحصول على وضع مريح في سوريا. وفي ليبيا، تجري المتغيرات في اتجاه آخر بعيدٍ عن قبضة تركيا، رغم الاتفاقيات مع حكومة فايز السراج، وخاصة فيما تعلق بالقواعد العسكرية واستفادة أنقرة من اتفاقيات تدريب القوات الأمنية التابعة لحكومة الوفاق، واتفاقيات أخرى في مجالات الكهرباء والبنية التحتية ومع البنك المركزي (تقدر قيمتها بنحو 18 مليار دولار). ويُمثِّل وقف التقدم التركي على خط سرت-الجفرة والمفاوضات الليبية المستجدة تراجعاً للدور التركي الهجومي في هذا الجزء المهم من المنطقة. وفي شرق المتوسط، قبالة اليونان وقبرص، أخذت أنقرة تناور وتتراجع تحت ضغوط التغيُّر في الموقف الأمريكي والتلويح الأوروبي الصريح بفرض عقوبات على تركيا.
  • أن التركيز التدريجي للسلطة في يد الرئيس أردوغان لم يُقلِّل من أولوية الدبلوماسية فحسب، وإنما قاد البلاد إلى خوض صراعات واشتباكات عديدة، وبمستويات مُتباينة الشدة، مع جيرانها وشركائها الدوليين الرئيسيين، ويبقى تمدُّدها الزائد في المنطقة مصدر قلق وتحدٍّ لِصُنَّاع القرار الإقليميين الحريصين على ترسيخ الاستقرار فيها، باعتبار أن الاستراتيجية التركية الهجومية ترتب عليها مخاطر وتداعيات سلبية عدة، وفي أكثر من ساحة إقليمية.
  • أن التمدُّد التركي الزائد في المنطقة، وبفعل ما خلقه من عداوات وصدامات مع معظم دول الجوار، وإفراطه في الاعتماد على القوة العسكرية لإدارة النفوذ الإقليمي، سيكون له على المدى المنظور تداعيات سلبية وربما كبيرة على الأمن القومي التركي، في حال لم تحصل مراجعة سريعة لتلك السياسات، إذ لم تنجح استراتيجية التمدد التركية حتى الآن في نيل الكثير من المكاسب الجيوسياسية الجوهرية. كما فشلت في تحقيق عوائد اقتصادية ملموسة، إذ لم تضمن بعد وضع يدها على موارد حيوية يمكن استثمارها سريعاً في مناطق التدخل. وفي حال استمر عَجْز أنقرة عن تحصيل مزايا راهنة لتدخلاتها، فإن ذلك سيجعلها عاجزة عن تمويل عشرات الآلاف من المرتزقة السائبين، ما قد يُهدد بخروج هؤلاء عن السيطرة وتحوُّلهم إلى مجموعات قتالية تحت الطلب، وربما تكون تركيا في زمنٍ لاحقٍ أحد أهدافهم الانتقامية.
  • مع أن بعض المحللين يُجادلون بأن التمدد التركي الزائد في المنطقة يعكس طموحاً استراتيجياً مشروعاً (من ناحية المنظور البراغماتي)، إلا أن ركائز تحقيق هذا المشروع لا تتوازى مع مساحة الطموح التركي، وهو ما يعني أن تركيا ستضطر لاحقاً لإعادة النظر في حدود طموحها الإقليمي باتجاه تقليصه لتتوازى المكاسب المحتملة مع المخاطر المؤكدة، الأمر الذي ينطوي على احتمال حصول تحولات تركية داخلية تُرافِق ذلك خلال المدين القصير والمتوسط، من قبيل:
  1. فضّ تحالف حزب "العدالة والتنمية" الحاكم ذي الخلفية الإسلامية، مع حزب "الحركة القومية" بقيادة دولت بهتشلي.
  2. غياب أردوغان عن مسرح السياسة التركية؛ إما بخسارة حزب "العدالة والتنمية" في الانتخابات المقررة عام 2023، أو في الانتخابات المبكرة كما تدعو حالياً المعارضة التركية.
  3. إمكانية حدوث تطورات أو متغيرات عرضية أو مرضية مُفاجِئة تحُول بين أردوغان وممارسة دوره القيادي في السياسة التركية، وتُعرِّض تركيا لأزمة قيادة عميقة تشغلها عن مواصلة تدخلاتها الإقليمية وفق الوتيرة الحالية.
  • نظراً لكون الاستراتيجية الإقليمية التركية الحالية تندرج في إطار الاستراتيجية الهجومية، وتعتمد فيها بشكل مفرط على القوة العسكرية للدفاع عن مصالحها وتدخلاتها في دول المنطقة، فإن الخبراء يرجحون إمكانية تعرُّضها لخطر "الاستنزاف" طبقاً لنظرية المؤرخ البريطاني بول كينيدي حول "التمدُّد الزائد"، والتي عرضها في كتابه الشهير "نشوء وسقوط القوى العظمى" (الصادر في عام 1987)، على النحو الذي حصل سابقاً مع العديد من القوى الكبرى، ومن بينها الدولة العثمانية ذاتها، والتي يحاول أردوغان إعادة إحيائها مرة أخرى، إذ تحوَّلت في آخر أطوارها إلى "رجل أوروبا المريض" قبل سقوطها النهائي عام 1922.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

  • يبدو أن تركيا تعتزم مواصلة تمدُّدها في المنطقة، والذي بات جزءاً من عقيدتها السياسية والاستراتيجية لترسيخ النفوذ الإقليمي، في ظل رئاسة رجب طيب أردوغان. ويعد اعتماد تركيا على القوة العسكرية لتأمين مصالحها حجر الزاوية لعقيدة سياستها الخارجية الجديدة التي تُشكِّك في جدوى العمل المشترك مع القوى الإقليمية والدولية التقليدية، وتدفع تركيا نحو التحرك بشكل أُحادي حين يقتضي الأمر.
  • لم تنجح استراتيجية التمدد التركية بعد في نيل الكثير من المكاسب الجيوسياسية الجوهرية. وفشلت في تحقيق عوائد اقتصادية ملموسة، إذ لم تضمن بعد وضع يدها على موارد حيوية يمكن استثمارها سريعاً في مناطق التدخل. وفي حال استمر عَجْز أنقرة عن تحصيل مزايا راهنة لتدخلاتها، فإن ذلك سيجعلها عاجزة عن تمويل عشرات الآلاف من المرتزقة المارقين، ما قد يُهدد بخروج هؤلاء عن السيطرة وتحوُّلهم إلى مجموعات قتالية تحت الطلب.
  • لا تتوازى ركائز تحقيق مشروع التمدد التركي في المنطقة مع مساحة طموح القيادة التركية، وهو ما يعني أن تركيا قد تضطر لاحقاً لإعادة النظر في حدود طموحها الإقليمي باتجاه تقليصه لتتوازى المكاسب المحتملة مع المخاطر المؤكدة، ما يطرح احتمالاً بحصول تحولات تركية داخلية موازية، من قبيل: فضّ تحالف حزب "العدالة والتنمية" الحاكم ذي الخلفية الإسلامية، مع حزب "الحركة القومية" بقيادة دولت بهتشلي؛ وغياب أردوغان عن مسرح السياسة التركية؛ إما بخسارة حزب "العدالة والتنمية" في الانتخابات المقبلة؛ أو نتيجة حدوث متغيرات عرضية أو مرضية مُفاجِئة تحُول بين أردوغان وممارسة دوره القيادي في السياسة التركية، وتُعرِّض تركيا لأزمة قيادة عميقة تشغلها عن مواصلة تدخلاتها الإقليمية وفق الوتيرة الحالية.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Turkish Expansion in the Region: Motives, Restrictions and Prospects

​Ahmed Diab | 10 Nov 2020

Numerous indicators show that Turkey intends to continue its expansion in the region and that this expansion has become part of Turkey’s political and strategic doctrine to consolidate regional influence under the Islamist-leaning Justice and Development Party (AKP) government led by Recep Tayyip Erdogan. This paper sheds light on the incentives and drivers of the Turkish trend towards increasing regional expansion, the constraints and challenges facing it, and its potential consequences and future prospects.

The rise of a new interventionist Turkish doctrine: incentives and drivers

During the past few years, Turkey launched three military incursions into Syria, sent supplies and fighters to Libya, deployed its naval forces in the Eastern Mediterranean to assert its claims about its rights in the region, expanded its military operations against the militants of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) in northern Iraq, sent military reinforcements to the last strongholds of the Syrian opposition in Idlib, and, finally, provided military aid and Syrian mercenaries to support Azerbaijan in its war against Armenia to regain the Nagorno Karabakh region. Today, Turkey has a direct military presence in Qatar, Somalia and Afghanistan, and peace-keeping forces in the Balkans. Its global military presence is at present the largest since the days of the Ottoman Empire.

Turkey's reliance on military force to secure its interests constitutes the cornerstone of its new foreign policy doctrine, which has been developing since 2015. The new doctrine questions the viability of joint action with the traditional regional and international powers, and drives Turkey towards acting unilaterally as required. This new doctrine has emerged as a result of several international, regional and internal developments, the most important of which are the following:

1. The "Neo-Ottoman" ideology

With the arrival of the AKP, led by Recep Tayyip Erdogan, to power in Turkey in 2002, the AKP leaders and intellectuals adopted an approach based on the need to revive Turkey's Islamic role, which had been ignored and neglected since the era of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, the founder of modern Turkey. More than a decade ago, Erdogan and his political party’s theorists realised that the door to the European Union (EU) has become closed to everything that was offered by secular Turkey, and that there is no alternative for the AKP's elite except for the Arab/Islamic regional backer that would realise the dream of expansion and retrieving the momentum of the Turkish role, and restore Turkey’s lost status and some of its undermined prestige at the EU threshold.

In late August 2020, the former representative in the Turkish Parliament for the ruling AKP Metin Külünk published a map of "Greater Turkey", dating back to the Seljuk era, and extending to large areas of northern Greece and the eastern Aegean islands, half of Bulgaria, Cyprus, the whole of Armenia, and large areas of Georgia, Iraq and Syria. Recently, Turkey has witnessed an escalation in the talk about the so-called "Blue Homeland", a project that has been repeatedly talked about by the Turkish army and Defence Minister Hulusi Akar, whereby Turkey would establish its control over the surrounding seas (the Eastern Mediterranean and the Aegean and Black Seas).

2. The strategy of filling the strategic vacuum in the region

Against the background of the preoccupation of the US and the EU with facing the consequences of the successive economic crises leading to the current coronavirus pandemic, their participation in international affairs has become more focused on issues of concern to the domestic public opinion. This has constituted an irreplaceable opportunity for countries occupying the second row in the ranks of global power, such as Turkey, to advance and obtain an advanced position in the structure of the current world order, considering that raising Turkey's position abroad, unlike Western powers, constitutes a lever to distract attention away from the accumulated internal problems in favour of foreign policy issues and crises.

President Erdogan's successive positions reveal that there is a broader change in Turkish foreign policy driven by a loss of confidence in international diplomacy and a greater desire to engage directly in regional conflicts with the aim of gaining importance and influence, by adopting a proactive foreign policy based on the use of preventive military force outside Turkey's borders and filling the strategic vacuum in the region, which was created by the US withdrawal therefrom, within the framework of several steps that fall into what the Turkish President sees as his country’s legitimate pursuit in order to obtain "the status it deserves in the world order".

3. Erdogan's alliance with the nationalists

The new Turkish doctrine began to take shape in 2015, when the AKP lost its parliamentary majority for the first time in a decade due to the growing support for the pro-Kurdish Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP). In order to regain the majority of the ruling party, Erdogan forged an alliance with the Turkish nationalists from the right and left alike. The nationalists supported him when he resumed the battle against the Kurdish militants. Despite the ideological differences, both the right-wing Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) and the left-wing neo-nationalists support the hard-line security approach to the Kurdish problem. They also prioritise national security at home and abroad, and espouse strongly anti-Western views.

With the support of the nationalists, Erdogan transformed the country's system from a parliamentary system to a presidential one that grants him broad powers. His alliance with the nationalists and the consolidation of his powers became the main driver of Turkey's foreign policy. The display of Turkish force in other regions of the world helped the AKP, which is allied with the nationalists, to maintain superiority in opinion polls despite the devaluation of the Turkish currency (the lira), which has exacerbated the economic repercussions of the coronavirus pandemic.

4. The failure of the coup and the militarisation of foreign policy

The failed coup attempt in 2016 played a major role in paving the way for the militarisation of the Turkish foreign policy, and paved the way for the consolidation and concentration of power in Erdogan's hands. Through the continuous cleansing campaigns, the Turkish President emptied the institutions and marginalised the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and army commanders who had previously refused to respond to his calls for launching military operations in neighbouring countries. The country's defence spending has jumped by 17 percent since the beginning of 2020, reaching 7 billion dollars, equivalent to nearly 5 percent of the total spending in the annual Turkish budget. Interestingly, Turkey's military budget has increased by nearly 90 percent over the last ten years, which indicates that foreign military campaigns are a priority for Erdogan and his regime.

5. Economic ambitions (oil and gas)

The main weakness of the Turkish economy lies in the energy imports, which reached more than 40 billion dollars in 2018. Turkey urgently needs oil and gas, and is the second largest importer of gas after China. It imports nearly 99 percent of its needs of this resource. Turkey’s need and thirst for energy resources can only be compared to the similar thirst of Germany and Japan before World War II, which had been among the main reasons for their tendency to expand beyond their national borders.

Challenges and limitations

While the Turkish expansion strategy in the region continues to be one of the policy pillars of Erdogan's government in dealing with the regional affairs and there are no indications that Turkey may give it up in the short term, this strategy is increasingly facing a number of challenges and constraints that affect its capability to achieve the desired gains in the foreseeable future. The most important of those challenges and constraints are the following:

1. The decline of the "Turkish model" as a source of appeal in the region

In the wake of the so-called Arab Spring revolutions, the "Turkish model" appeared at the height of its ascendancy. A Turkish state that is strong, democratic and prosperous at home would have been capable of gaining more influence abroad. However, the situation in the Middle East ten years later looks different now. Turkey's democratic eligibility also looks different. After a major electoral victory in 2018, President Erdogan quickly transformed a century-old parliamentary system into a highly centralised presidential system. The municipal elections that took place across the country in the spring of 2019, turning into a referendum on Erdogan's rule, resulted in the President's party suffering significant defeats, including the defeats in Ankara and Istanbul.

Today, Turkey ranks 110th in the Democracy Index out of 167 countries. On the other hand, it has scored -1.34 on the Political Stability Index according to the Kaufmann scale (which allocates +2.5 to the most stable, and -2.5 to the least stable countries). Thus, Turkey ranks 175th out of 195 countries on this index, which reflects the strength of its involvement in the border crises with Syria and the bloody nature of its conflict with the Kurds, especially Turkey's Kurds who number nearly 15 million people. As for the Equal Distribution of Income Index (Gini index), Turkey occupies a place between “acceptable” and “weak” with a rate of 41.9. All this indicates that Turkey’s current regional expansion does not lean on an internal structure that is commensurate with the size of that expansion.

2. The deteriorating economic conditions

Many economic analysts and military and security experts agree that the economy card shall be the main reason for the decline and contraction of the Turkish President’s dream/project in the absence of the capability to finance this ambitious project, spend on the large volume required for armament, and provide care to the followers and supporters of this project, in parallel with the continued decline in the Turkish lira, which has lost nearly a third of its value since 2018, in addition to the growing deficit in the trade balance, which in August 2020 reached 4.631 billion dollars. Turkey is currently one of the world’s six most indebted countries, as its external debt reached nearly 431 billion dollars at the end of March 2020. More importantly, the size of the national income, estimated at 800 billion dollars, is declining, so that its value has declined by nearly half according to the value of the Turkish currency. This is a risky path that could lead to Turkey's exit from the Group of Twenty (G20).

3. The emergence of regional alliances to "contain" the Turkish expansion

Turkey's hard-line approach and volatile foreign policy have led to the emergence of conflicts and clashes with most of the main regional players, and the creation of new regional competition in both the Eastern Mediterranean and the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. There is now an almost unwritten agreement between the countries of the region and some major European countries to stand together against President Erdogan's ambitions and unbridled policies.

Egypt, Greece, Cyprus and Israel have intensified strategic cooperation in many initiatives, especially the extraction of gas reserves in the Eastern Mediterranean and the announcement of the Eastern Mediterranean Gas Forum (EMGF). Ankara has been completely marginalised and ignored in this process. For its part, France has provided support to the Eastern Mediterranean Energy Initiative, and the UAE has also provided tacit support for this endeavour. During his meeting with his counterparts in Egypt, Saudi Arabia and the UAE, the head of the Israeli Mossad Yossi Cohen suggested that the Iranian force is fragile, considering that the real threat comes from Turkey (the British newspaper The Times, 18 August 2020).

The US has recently strengthened its military bases in Greece, and has repeatedly called on Turkey to exercise restraint over its maritime disputes with Greece, threatening to intervene in the tensions in the Eastern Mediterranean in a way that would not satisfy Turkish policy there. After the outbreak of the conflict in the Nagorno Karabakh region between Azerbaijan (backed by Turkey) and Armenia, Turkey witnessed a rapid rapprochement between the US, France and Russia aimed at curbing the strong Turkish support for Azerbaijan, including pledges of military aid.

Potential consequences and prospects

By analysing the current apparent situation of the Turkish expansion in the region, the following remarks can be made:

  • Since the beginning of its intervention in and direct military occupation of Syrian territories within the framework of Operation Euphrates Shield in 2016 and until 2020, that is almost 4 years later, Turkey has not achieved much in this field. In addition, Turkey was forced to spend on the "safe zones" it imposed by the force of arms and provide huge funds to manage the refugee crisis, which is the card that Turkey wants to seize to employ it in the negotiations and obtain a comfortable position in Syria. In Libya, developments are proceeding in another direction away from Turkey's grip, despite the agreements made with the Fayez al-Sarraj government, especially with regard to military bases and Ankara's benefitting from the agreements for training the security forces of the Government of National Accord (GNA) and other agreements in the fields of electricity and infrastructure and with the Central Bank (estimated at nearly 18 billion dollars). Stopping the Turkish advance on the Sirte-Jufra line and the renewed Libyan negotiations constitute a decline in Turkey's aggressive role in this important part of the region. In the Eastern Mediterranean, off the coasts of Greece and Cyprus, Ankara kept manoeuvring and backing down under the pressure of the changing US position and the explicit European threat to impose sanctions on Turkey.
  • Turkey’s increased expansion in the region, as a result of the hostilities and clashes it created with most of the neighbouring countries, and its overreliance on military force to manage the regional influence, would have negative and potentially significant repercussions on the Turkish national security in the foreseeable future in case there is no quick review of those policies. So far, the Turkish expansion strategy has not succeeded in achieving many fundamental geopolitical gains. It has also failed to achieve tangible economic returns, as it has not yet guaranteed its control of vital resources that can quickly be invested in the areas of intervention. In case of Ankara’s continued failure to obtain current advantages from its interventions, it would be incapable of financing tens of thousands of unrestrained mercenaries, with the threat that they may get out of control and turn into combat groups on demand. Turkey may later be one of their retaliatory goals.
  • The gradual concentration of power in the hands of President Erdogan has not only reduced the priority of diplomacy, but has also led the country to get involved in numerous conflicts and clashes, at varying levels of intensity, with its main international neighbours and partners. Turkey’s increased expansion in the region continues to be a source of concern and challenge for regional decision makers who are keen to consolidate stability therein, given that the Turkish aggressive strategy entailed several negative risks and repercussions, and in more than one regional arena.
  • While some analysts argue that the increased Turkish expansion in the region reflects a legitimate strategic ambition (from a pragmatic perspective), the pillars of achieving this project do not correspond to the space of the Turkish ambition. This means that Turkey will subsequently have to reduce its regional ambition so that the potential gains would correspond to the proven risks, which implies the possibility of accompanying internal Turkish transformations during the short and medium terms, including the following:
  • Breaking the alliance between the ruling AKP, which has an Islamist background, and the MHP, led by Devlet Bahceli.
  • Erdogan’s disappearance from the Turkish political scene, either through the AKP’s loss in the elections scheduled for 2023, or in the early elections currently called for by the Turkish opposition.
  • The possibility of sudden accidental or health developments or changes that would prevent Erdogan from exercising his leadership role in Turkish politics, and expose Turkey to a deep leadership crisis that would distract it from pursuing its regional interventions at the current pace.
  • Given that the current Turkish regional strategy falls within the framework of the aggressive strategy, whereby Turkey relies excessively on military force to defend its interests and interventions in the countries of the region, experts suggest that Turkey may be exposed to the risk of "exhaustion" according to the theory of the British historian Paul Kennedy on "imperial overstretch", which he presented in his famous book "The Rise and Fall of the Great Powers" (published in 1987), as happened previously with many major powers, including the Ottoman Empire itself, which Erdogan is trying to revive, having turned in its last phase into the "sick man of Europe" before its final fall in 1922.

Conclusion

  • Apparently, Turkey intends to continue its regional expansion which has become part of its political and strategic doctrine to consolidate regional influence, under the presidency of Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Turkey's reliance on military force to secure its interests constitutes the cornerstone of its new foreign policy doctrine which questions the feasibility of joint action with traditional regional and international powers and drives Turkey towards acting unilaterally when necessary.
  • Turkey’s expansion strategy has not yet succeeded in achieving many substantial geopolitical gains. Indeed, it has failed to achieve tangible economic returns as it has not yet guaranteed its control of vital resources that can be quickly invested in the areas of intervention. In the event of Ankara’s continued failure to collect current advantages from its interventions, it would be incapable of financing tens of thousands of unrestrained mercenaries, with the threat that they may get out of control and turn into combat groups on demand.
  • The pillars of achieving the Turkish expansion project in the region do not correspond with the ambition of the Turkish leadership. This means that Turkey may subsequently be forced to reduce the limits of its regional ambition so that the potential gains would match the confirmed risks. This raises the possibility of parallel internal Turkish transformations, such as the dissolution of the alliance between the ruling AKP, which has an Islamist background, and the MHP, led by Devlet Bahceli, and Erdogan’s disappearance from the Turkish political scene, either by the AKP’s loss in the upcoming elections or as a result of sudden accidental or health changes that would prevent him from exercising his leadership role in Turkish politics and expose Turkey to a deep leadership crisis that would distract it from pursuing its regional interventions at the current pace.

Latest Featured Topics