أزمة الليرة التركية: جدوى الحلول التقليدية وغير التقليدية

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 17 مايو 2020

انفجرت الأزمة المالية في تركيا لأسباب تراكمية قديمة قبل بروز جائحة كورونا؛ إذ إن الآثار السلبية للجائحة العالمية ستبدأ في الظهور خلال هذا الصيف في تركيا، لكن الجائحة هدمت الآمال والخطط الحكومية لتعافي الاقتصاد ولو نسبياً خلال هذا العام.

تبحث هذه الورقة في أسباب أزمة الليرة التركية الحالية، والحلول المتاحة أمام الحكومة التركية لتجاوزها أو إدارتها لفترة أطول.

سياسة اقتصادية بدأت عام 2002 مع حزب العدالة والتنمية

اعتمد حزبُ العدالة والتنمية منذ وصوله إلى الحكم في نوفمبر 2002 استراتيجيةً اقتصادية تقوم على دعم النمو من خلال الاقتراض المحلي، ودعم قطاعات الخدمات والإنشاءات، وتمويل العجز في ميزان التجارة الخارجية والنمو من خلال الاقتراض الخارجي. هذه الاستراتيجية التي كان يفترض أن تكون "مؤقتة" وأن يتم تعديل أجزاء مهمة منها تخفف الاعتماد على الاقتراض من الخارج، استمرت حتى الآن دون إدخال الإصلاحات الجوهرية المطلوبة عليها. وواجهت تركيا أول إنذار حقيقي تجاه هذه الاستراتيجية عام 2011 مع بدء تراجع سعر الليرة التركية حينها، بسبب تضخم الديون الخارجية، لكن ما أنقذ تركيا حينها كانت الظروف الاقتصادية الدولية مجدداً، حيث عمدت البنوك المركزية الكبرى في العالم إلى خفض سعر الفائدة حتى الصفر، واتجهت إلى التوسع المالي، مما وفر سيولةً من العملة الأجنبية في الأسواق أسعفت تركيا حينها، وساعدتها على الاستمرار في نهجها الاقتصادي الخاطئ، من خلال إعادة تدوير الديون الخارجية.

لكنْ اعتباراً من عام 2011 بدأت العملة التركية تهتز، وتصبح أكثر حساسية للتطورات الاقتصادية والسياسية التركية والدولية، وأصبح سعر الليرة مرهوناً بتوافر التمويل الأجنبي لإعادة تدوير الديون، وينخفض سعرها في أي وقت تجد فيه الحكومة صعوبةً في تأمين النقد الأجنبي والتمويل الخارجي لأي سبب كان. وكأكبر شاهد على ذلك هوت الليرة التركية صيف عام 2018 إلى 7.24 ليرة مقابل الدولار الأمريكي بسبب أزمة احتجاز أنقرة للراهب الأمريكي برونسون، وتهديد الرئيس الأمريكي ترامب بتدمير الاقتصاد التركي، ما انعكس فعلياً على وقف التمويل الأجنبي لتركيا، وأدى إلى انهيار سعر الليرة.

حينها استطاع البنك المركزي التركي، بعد هدوء الأزمة سياسياً مع واشنطن، إعادة سعر الليرة التركية إلى 5.15 ليرة للدولار خلال 4 أشهر، من خلال رفع سعر الفائدة بشكل قياسي إلى 24% على الليرة التركية. لكنّ استمرار الخلافات مع واشنطن عام 2019، وتدخلات الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان المباشرة في سياسات البنك المركزي وضغطه من أجل خفض سعر الفائدة، كاد أن يؤدي إلى أزمة ليرة جديدة لولا تدخل البنك المركزي التركي من جديد بخطوة غير مسبوقة ومزعجة لكل المستثمرين الأجانب، حيث منع عن طريق قناة التبادل المالي SWAP المستثمرين الأجانب من الوصول إلى الليرة التركية، وهي خطوة وإن أنقذت الليرة التركية حينها من ضربة جديدة، إلا أنها أفقدت المستثمرين الأجانب الثقةَ في "نزاهة" تركيا في تعاملاتها المالية مع المستثمرين.

سياسة اقتصادية غير واقعية بثمن مرتفع منذ 2019

وفي عام 2019 وضعت حكومة الرئيس أردوغان، وصهره وزير المالية برات البيرق، خطةً اقتصادية تقوم على خفض سعر الفائدة وخفض التضخم معاً، ودفع النمو الاقتصادي إلى 5%، وخفض العجز في ميزان التجارة الخارجية، والحفاظ على سعر الليرة التركية عند 6 ليرات مقابل الدولار، وهي وعود أجمع جميع المحللين الاقتصاديين على استحالة تحقيقها في تركيا، وخصوصاً مع تدهور سياسات تركيا الخارجية وعلاقاتها مع واشنطن والعالم العربي والاتحاد الأوروبي، وتراجُع فرص حصولها على قروض أو تمويل أو استثمار خارجي بسبب هذه السياسات. وتدفع تركيا اليوم ثمناً باهظاً لهذه السياسة الاقتصادية غير الواقعية.

وفعلياً بدأ البنك المركزي في يوليو 2019 بخفض سعر الفائدة تدريجياً، من 24% حتى وصلت إلى 8.50% في مطلع مايو 2020، وذلك بالأمر المباشر من الرئيس أردوغان، بعد أن فقد البنك المركزي استقلاليته تماماً، وتم ضخ قروض مخفَّضة الفائدة بالليرة التركية من البنوك الحكومية من أجل دعم النمو والمشاريع الجديدة وإنقاذ المشاريع التي قاربت على الإفلاس. وحاولت الحكومة التدخل والتلاعب في أرقام التضخم لإظهارها بأرقام أقل من تلك الحقيقية.

ومع استمرار تدهور الوضع الاقتصادي في تركيا، وتراجُع الاستثمارات الخارجية والتمويل الأجنبي بسبب تراجع الثقة في حكومة الرئيس أردوغان وسياساته الخارجية، اضطُر البنك المركزي التركي للتدخل شهرياً لدعم الليرة التركية وتثبيت سعرها مقابل الدولار، لدرجة أنه اضطر لصرف ما مجموعه 65.7 مليار دولار من احتياطاته بالنقد الأجنبي منذ يناير 2019 وحتى مارس 2020، لدعم الليرة في السوق المحلية وتثبيت سعرها عند 6 ليرات للدولار. وقد أدى ذلك إلى تراجع احتياطات البنك المركزي التركي بشكل خطير وغير مسبوق. وتعتمد الحكومة التركية والبنك المركزي على عدم الشفافية للتغطية على هذه الحقيقة التي يمكن للمحللين الماليين حسابها. وأكبر دليل على هذا التراجع الخطير، هو فقدان البنك المركزي مؤخراً (خلال شهر مايو تحديداً) قدرته السابقة على التدخل وضخ الدولار في الأسواق لحماية سعر الليرة، كما كان يفعل في السابق، مما هوى بسعر الليرة بشكل متسارع إلى 7.24 ليرة للدولار مجدداً.

ويمكن حالياً إعلان فشل السياسة الاقتصادية التي وضعتها حكومة الرئيس أردوغان عام 2019، والتي ستكلف تركيا الدخولَ في أزمة تمويل قوية تُضاف إلى أزمتها الاقتصادية والركود الذي بدأ منذ عام 2018. وكل هذا يأتي في وقت جائحة كورونا التي قضت على ما بقي من آمال لدى الحكومة في دفع النمو ولو على حساب المدخرات الأجنبية. وقد باءت بالفشل جميع محاولات الحكومة التركية للحصول على تمويل أو استثمار أجنبي تحمي به سعر الليرة، أو تسد به العجز في ميزان التجارة الخارجية. وأصبحت الحكومة والسوق المالية التركية والقطاع الخاص كلها في مواجهة مستقبل غامض وخطير يعتمد على الخطوات التي ستخطوها الحكومة التركية للخروج من هذا المأزق بأسرع ما يمكن خلال الأسابيع القادمة حتى شهر يوليو، حيث من المتوقع أن ينفجر الوضع المالي مع حاجة العديد من الشركات التركية إلى النقد الأجنبي لدفع ديونها الخارجية المستحقة لهذا العام، والمقدرة بنحو 170 مليار دولار. وفي حال بقي الوضع على ما هو عليه دون حل، فإن الليرة التركية ستشهد تدهوراً كبيراً خلال صيف هذا العام يصعب تخمين حجمه، لكنه سيحوّل تركيا إلى حالة جديدة أشبه بما عاشته الأرجنتين سابقاً.

الحلول التقليدية المطروحة

اعتادت تركيا على أربع حلول تقليدية في مثل هذه الأزمات، لكن جميع هذه الحلول تواجه عقبات سياسية وعملياتية تحول دون تطبيقها حالياً. وفيما يلي مناقشة لهذه الحلول:

الأول، رفع سعر الفائدة: هو أحد أهم الحلول التقليدية من أجل إنقاذ سعر الليرة التركية، لكن وبسبب التوجه الأيديولوجي للرئيس أردوغان ووزير المالية البيرق الذي يصر على أن رفع سعر الفائدة سيعرقل الخطط الاقتصادية في تركيا لدفع النمو، فإن التوجه لهذا الحل غير مطروح حالياً على الأقل، لأنه سيعني اعترافاً بفشل الخطة الاقتصادية التي تم وضعها عام 2019، واعترافاً بفشل النظرية الاقتصادية التي وضعها أردوغان شخصياً، والقائلة بأنه يمكن خفض سعر الفائدة والتضخم معاً في تركيا.

الثاني، سحب الليرة التركية من السوق من خلال البنك المركزي بالتدريج، من أجل تقليل العرض وزيادة سعرها، لكن هذا الحل أيضاً يبدو غير ممكن مع تركيز الحكومة على إنقاذ الشركات ودفع النمو من خلال تقديم قروض مخفَّضة الفائدة عبر البنوك الحكومية، وتخصيص 100 مليار ليرة كتعويضات عن خسائر التجار خلال الإغلاق في فترة جائحة كورونا. ومع أنه تم رفع المبلغ إلى 200 مليار بعد ذلك، لكن المحللين الاقتصاديين يقولون إن ما تم إنفاقه حتى الآن لا يتجاوز 20 مليار فقط بسبب عجز الحكومة المالي، وأن الأموال التي تم تقديمها تم طبعها دون مقابل من قبل البنك المركزي.

الثالث، بيع المزيد من احتياطات البنك المركزي من الدولار، فقد قال وزير المالية برات البيرق في لقائه مع المستثمرين الأجانب في الأسبوع الأول من شهر مايو الحالي، إن لدى البنك المركزي احتياطاً من النقد الأجنبي، لكنه لم يذكر أي أرقام، علماً بأن أرقام البنك المركزي التركي تشير إلى أن مجموع احتياطاته الحالية من نقد أجنبي وذهب -خلال شهر مايو 2020- تبلغ قرابة 86 مليار دولار. لكننا نعلم أن 59 مليار دولار منها هي أموال للبنوك التركية موجودة كوديعة إجبارية في البنك المركزي، ولا يحق للبنك المركزي التصرف فيها لأنها ليست ملكه. وعليه فإن الاحتياطي الحقيقي والخالص من النقد الأجنبي لدى البنك المركزي التركي يبلغ 27 مليار دولار فقط، وهذه جميعها جاءت من اتفاقات تبادل SWAP  مع حكومات وبنوك أجنبية مطلوب سدادها خلال هذا العام، وعليه فإنه في حال أخرجنا مجموع الأموال من النقد الأجنبي التي يجب أن يعيدها البنك المركزي عند انتهاء اتفاقيات SWAP هذا العام، فإننا نجد أن الاحتياطي الحقيقي للنقد الأجنبي في البنك المركزي يساوي -2 مليار دولار (ناقص 2 مليار دولار)؛ وعليه فإن قدرة البنك المركزي على طرح المزيد من العملة الصعبة في السوق لحماية سعر الليرة باتت ضعيفة جداً. وهنا بدأت الحكومة التركية بالضغط على البنوك الخاصة والأجنبية العاملة في تركيا من أجل مساعدتها في الحصول على قروض واستثمارات أجنبية، أو إيداع المزيد من ودائع زبائنها من النقد الأجنبي في البنك المركزي، وقد هددت هيئة تنظيم عمل البنوك التركية البنوكَ الخاصة العاملة في تركيا بعقوبات مالية كبيرة (تصل إلى 500 مليون ليرة) للبنوك التي لا تتعاون مع البنك المركزي التركي. وخطوة الضغط هذه قد تأتي بنتائج محدودة وقصيرة الأجل، لكنها تزيد من فجوة الثقة بين البنوك الأجنبية والحكومة التركية.

وللمفارقة، ولتوضيح التخبط الحاصل في إدارة الاقتصاد التركي، فرضت هيئة تنظيم عمل البنوك –التي تخضع أيضاً لأوامر الرئيس أردوغان على الرغم من إعلانها الاستقلال في قراراتها- عقوبةً على ثلاثة بنوك أجنبية تتمثل بحرمانها من التعامل مع البنوك التركية، وهذه البنوك هي CitiBank الأمريكي، وUBS السويسري، وBNP PARIPAS الفرنسي. وقد جاء هذا القرار صبيحة يوم 8 مايو الماضي، علماً بأن وزير المالية برات البيرق كان على موعد لعقد اجتماع عبر الإنترنت مع عشرات ممثلي البنوك الأجنبية والمستثمرين الأجانب لدعوتهم إلى الاستثمار في تركيا، أو عقد صفقات SWAP مع البنك المركزي، وكان من بين المدعوين ممثلون عن هذه البنوك الثلاثة التي تم فرض العقوبات عليها صباح ذلك اليوم.  

الرابع، اللجوء إلى صندوق النقد الدولي، وهي خطوة تلجأ إليها الكثير من الدول التي في وضع تركيا الحالي، لكن السياسة الأيديولوجية للرئيس أردوغان جعلت هذا الأمر في غاية الصعوبة مع رفضه المطلق لهذه الخطوة، لأنها ستشكل اعترافاً بفشل كل سياساته الاقتصادية وسياسات حزبه الذي يفخر بأنه سدد جميع ديون تركيا للصندوق وأنهى جميع التعاملات معه. كما أن توتر العلاقات بين أنقرة وواشنطن يجعل أمر حصول تركيا على اتفاق Stand by مع الصندوق –حتى لو وافق أردوغان– أمراً صعباً لأن واشنطن لديها الحق في رفض أي اتفاق يُقْدم عليه الصندوق لكونها الشريك المؤسس الكبير في هذا الصندوق. وحتى لو لجأت تركيا إلى الصندوق لطلب الدعم العاجل بسبب جائحة كورونا (وهو دعم عاجل لا تستطيع واشنطن عرقلته)، فإن هذا الدعم سيكون محدوداً (ما بين 3.2 و9.5 مليار دولار فقط)، وحتى الآن لم تقْدم تركيا على التقدم بمثل هذا الطلب. وبالنظر إلى أن مجموع الديون التركية بلغ عام 2019 نحو 437 مليار دولار، وما يستحق منه الدفع خلال هذا العام يبلغ 169 مليار دولار، حصة القطاع الخاص منها 71 مليار دولار، فإن تركيا بحاجة إلى تمويل أو قرض بمبلغ أكبر بكثير مما يمكن أن تحصل عليه من صندوق النقد الدولي بحجة جائحة كورونا؛ إذ تحتاج تركيا إلى قرض بقيمة 60-80 مليار دولار من أجل الخروج من أزمتها الحالية.

 الحلول غير التقليدية المطروحة

ترفض حكومة الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان أي حل اقتصادي للأزمة الحالية قد يُضر بالنمو أو يرفع أسعار الفائدة على الليرة التركية، كما ترفض اللجوء إلى صندوق النقد الدولي، ولكن من الواضح أن عدم الاستقرار المالي والاقتصادي في تركيا سيؤثر في الاستقرار السياسي فيها. ومن أجل الخروج من الأزمة الحالية تعتقد حكومة الرئيس أردوغان بأن عليها أن تقوم بأمرين أساسيين هما: الخروج سريعاً من أي إغلاق اقتصادي بسبب جائحة كورونا مهما كان الثمن صحياً واجتماعياً، وإيجاد تمويل خارجي ولو محدود يؤجل أو يمنع وقوع انهيار كبير في العملة التركية خلال الأشهر الستة المقبلة؛ أي أن الحكومة تبحث عن حلول مؤقتة وليس جذرية، لأن الرئيس أردوغان ما زال مؤمناً بقدرته على إعادة إحياء الاقتصاد التركي ودفع النمو من جديد، وأن ما حال دون تحقيق ذلك هو دخول أزمة كورونا على الخط، وهو يعتبرها أزمةً عابرة يمكن تجاوز آثارها من خلال اختصار زمن الإغلاق الاقتصادي، وإيجاد تمويل خارجي يحمي العملة التركية إلى حين عودة عجلة الاقتصاد للدوران من جديد خلال فترة يعتقد أردوغان بأنها لن تطول أكثر من 6 أشهر أو على أبعد تقدير نهاية العام الجاري.

والواقع أن جميع الحلول غير التقليدية التي سيتم شرحها هنا تعتمد بالأساس على الحصول على دعم من واشنطن ولندن، لذا فإن الرئيس أردوغان مضطر لتحسين علاقات بلاده مع الغرب عموماً، ومع واشنطن تحديداً في المرحلة الحالية. ومن اللافت للنظر هنا تحجج السلطات التركية بجائحة كورونا من أجل عدم تفعيل صواريخ "إس400" الروسية خلال شهر أبريل الماضي، على عكس ما وعد به الرئيس أردوغان ووزير الدفاع خلوصي أكار سابقاً، وهي خطوة مهمة لاسترضاء الكونغرس الأمريكي والبيت الأبيض. أما الحلول غير التقليدية فهي:

أولاً، عقد اتفاقية SWAP مع مجلس الاحتياط الفدرالي الأمريكي، أو أحد البنوك المركزية للدول الصناعية الكبرى؛ إذ يمكن لاتفاقية من هذا النوع بقيمة 10 مليارات دولار، أن توفر للبنك المركزي التركي دعمَ سعر الليرة التركية خلال الأشهر الستة المقبلة، إلى حين الخروج من تداعيات أزمة كورونا –كما يعتقد الرئيس أردوغان وفق حساباته الخاصة- لكنها لن تحل أزمة الاقتصاد التركي ولا أزمة الديون الخارجية. وقد أكد مسؤولون في مجلس الاحتياط الفدرالي الأمريكي أن تركيا ليست من بين الدول المدرجة على قائمة SWAP مع المجلس، في حين تسعى انقرة إلى إقناع البنوك المركزية، في اليابان وألمانيا وبريطانيا، بتوقيع اتفاقية SWAP مع تركيا، لكن يبدو تحقيق ذلك صعباً في ظل وجود فيتو أمريكي. وكانت تركيا مؤخراً قد وقعت اتفاقيتي SWAP مع الصين بقيمة مليار دولار عام 2019، ومع قطر بقيمة 5 مليارات دولار عام 2018، لكنها فشلت في توسيع هذه الاتفاقيات أو زيادة أرقامها. كما حصلت تركيا على "وديعة صفرية" بقيمة 4 مليارات دولار من حكومة الوفاق الليبية بداية العام الجاري، وسيكون صعباً الحصول على مبلغ مشابه من الحكومة الليبية قريباً مجدداً.

ثانياً، تغيير قواعد اللعبة المالية والاستثمارات في تركيا؛ وهو خيار مؤلم وصعب، حيث سيكون على الحكومة التركية فرض قوانين جديدة تمنع خروج الدولار من تركيا أو تحويله إلى الخارج، أو فرض ضرائب كبيرة على المستثمرين الأجانب لإجبارهم على عدم سحب ودائعهم واستثماراتهم (منذ بداية العام وحتى نهاية أبريل الماضي خرج من تركيا نحو 7 مليارات دولار من الاستثمارات الأجنبية). وتستطيع الهيئة المنظمة لعمل البنوك والبنك المركزي فرضَ هذه القواعد الجديدة والقوانين، لكن ذلك سيُضر بسمعة تركيا الاقتصادية دولياً، ويزيد من أزمة الثقة بينها وبين المؤسسات المالية والاقتصادية في الخارج.

ثالثاً، الاستفادة من الصندوق السيادي التركي الذي أسسه أردوغان عام 2016 ووضع في تصرف الصندوق معظم الشركات التركية الوطنية أو ما بقي بيد الحكومة من أسهمها. ولا يخضع هذا الصندوق لأي جهة رقابية في تركيا أو خارجها، لذا فإنه بإمكان الرئيس أردوغان وحكومته الحصول على قرض أجنبي بفائدة عالية مقابل رهن إحدى الشركات الحكومية التابعة للصندوق أو خصخصة هذه الشركة أو بيعها، إلا أن عملية الخصخصة أو البيع تأخذ وقتاً طويلاً وتضطر أردوغان للكشف عنها، بينما الحصول على قرض أجنبي مقابل وضع إحدى هذه الشركات كضامن أو رهن أمر يمكن فعله بسرية، لكنه أيضاً سيكون مكلفاً جداً ويحتاج أيضاً إلى ضوء أخضر من واشنطن بسبب فقدان الكثير من البنوك والمؤسسات المالية الأجنبية الثقة في تصرفات حكومة الرئيس أردوغان.

وكما ذكرنا فإن خطط الرئيس أردوغان تقوم على محاولة عبور الأزمة الراهنة التي يعتبرها مؤقتة لمدة ستة أشهر، ويعقد الأمل على عودة النمو في تركيا، وعودة الاستثمارات الخارجية من جديد، بعد خفض البنوك العالمية والمركزية الكبرى أسعار الفائدة إلى صفر، وبحث المستثمرين عن دول جديدة للاستثمار فيها. وسيحاول أردوغان جذب هذه الاستثمارات والأموال من جديد من خلال الإسراع في "تطبيع" الوضع الاقتصادي في تركيا وإنهاء الإغلاق، والادعاء بأن تركيا تغلبت تماماً على أزمة كورونا وعاد الاقتصاد فيها للحركة من جديد لتشجيع المستثمرين الأجانب على العودة إلى تركيا من جديد.

الخلاصة

في حال عدم إيجاد الحكومة التركية حلاً لأزمة الليرة والتمويل الخارجي قريباً (في غضون شهرين تقريباً)، فإن الليرة التركية ستواجه أزمةً جديدة قد تهوي بسعرها إلى 8.5 ليرة للدولار. وفي حال استمر الوضع على هذه الحال، فإن هذا سيؤدي إلى إفلاس عدد أكبر من الشركات التي لن تستطيع سداد ديونها الخارجية بسبب هذا السعر للدولار والركود الاقتصادي وجائحة كورونا، الأمر الذي سيزيد من أزمة البطالة التي تجاوزت نسبتها قبل أزمة كورونا 14%.

وهذا الوضع سيكون له انعكاسات سلبية على البنوك التي زادت فيها نسبة القروض غير المسددة، كما سيكون له انعكاسات قوية على الوضع السياسي واستقرار الحكومة. لذا فإن الحكومة التركية تبدو مضطرة لتقديم تنازلات دبلوماسية في السياسة الخارجية، خصوصاً في علاقاتها مع واشنطن ولندن من أجل إيجاد حل لأزمتها الاقتصادية الحالية.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Turkey’s Lira Crisis: Feasibility of Traditional and Non-traditional Solutions

EPC | 17 May 2020

The financial crisis broke out in Turkey for cumulative reasons even before the emergence of the coronavirus pandemic. While the negative effects of the global pandemic will emerge during this summer in Turkey, the pandemic has destroyed government hopes and plans for economic recovery, albeit relatively, this year.

This paper looks into the reasons for the current Turkish lira crisis and the solutions available to the government to overcome it or manage it for a longer period.

An economic policy that started in 2002 with the AKP

Since its arrival in 2002, the Justice and Development Party (AKP) adopted an economic strategy based on supporting growth through local borrowing, supporting the services and construction sectors, and financing the deficit in the foreign trade balance and growth through external borrowing. This strategy, which was supposed to be “temporary” and whose important parts were to be adjusted to ease reliance on external borrowing, continued to this day without the implementation of the necessary substantive reforms thereon. Turkey faced the first real warning with regard to this strategy in 2011 with the start of the decline in the then Turkish lira value due to inflated foreign debts. However, what saved Turkey then again were the international economic conditions. Major central banks in the world cut interest rates to zero and moved towards financial expansion. This provided liquidity of foreign currencies in markets that rescued Turkey then and helped it proceed with its faulty economic approach by recycling foreign debts.

However, starting from 2011, the Turkish currency started to shake, becoming more sensitive to Turkish and international economic and political developments. The lira’s value became contingent on the availability of foreign finance to recycle debts, and its price began to fall whenever the government had difficulty in securing foreign exchange and external funding for any reason. This was glaringly attested by the fall of the Turkish lira value in the summer of 2018 to 7.24 liras per US dollar due to the arrest by Ankara of US pastor Brunson and the threat by US President Trump to destroy the Turkish economy, which practically led to a halt of foreign funding to Turkey and the collapse of the lira price.

At that time, the Turkish Central Bank managed, after the crisis calmed down politically with Washington, to restore the price of the Turkish lira to 5.15 liras per dollar within four months, through raising Turkish lira interest rate to a record 24 percent. However, the continued disagreements with Washington in 2019 and the direct interference by President Recep Tayyip Erdogan in Central Bank policies and the pressure he put for reducing the interest rate almost led to a new lira crisis had it not been for the renewed intervention by the Turkish Central Bank in an unprecedented and disturbing step for all foreign investors when it prevented, through the financial exchange channel SWAP, foreign investors from accessing the Turkish lira. Although it then  saved the Turkish lira from a new blow, this step led to a loss of confidence by foreign investors in Turkey’s “integrity” in its financial dealings with investors.

An unrealistic, high-cost economic policy since 2019

In 2019, an economic plan was developed by the government of President Erdogan and his son-in-law Finance Minister Berat Albayrak, based on reducing both interest rates and inflation, driving economic growth to 5 percent, reducing the foreign trade balance deficit, and maintaining the value of the Turkish lira at 6 liras per dollar. These were promises that all economic analysts agreed were impossible to keep in Turkey, especially with the deterioration of Turkey’s foreign policies and its relations with Washington, the Arab World and the EU, and its dwindling chances of obtaining loans, funding or foreign investment because of those policies. Today, Turkey pays an extremely high price for this unrealistic economic policy.

Practically, the Central Bank started in July 2019 to gradually reduce interest rate, from 24 percent to reach 8.50 percent beginning of May 2020. This was done based on direct orders from President Erdogan as the Central Bank completely lost its independence. Low-interest loans in Turkish liras were pumped from government banks to support growth and new projects and save projects nearing bankruptcy. The government sought to interfere and manipulate inflation figures to show them lower than they really are.

With the continued deterioration in the economic situation in Turkey and the decline in foreign investments and foreign funding due to the decline in confidence in President Erdogan’s government and foreign policies, the Turkish Central Bank had to interfere monthly to support the Turkish lira and fix its price against the dollar. It even had to dispose of a total of 65.7 billion dollars from its foreign exchange reserves between January 2019 and March 2020 to support the lira in the local market and fix its price at 6 liras per dollar. This led to a serious and unprecedented decline in the reserves of the Turkish Central Bank. The Turkish government and the Central Bank rely on non-transparency to cover up this truth that the financial analysts can calculate. The greatest evidence of this serious decline is the recent loss by the Central Bank (in May 2020 specifically) of its previous capability to interfere and pump dollars into the market to protect the value of the lira as it used to do. This again led to an accelerated collapse in the value of the lira to 7.24 liras per dollar.

Currently, the failure of the economic policy developed by President Erdogan in 2019 can be announced. That policy would drive Turkey to a severe funding crisis in addition to its economic crisis and the recession that had started in 2018. All this coincides with the coronavirus epidemic which ended any hope the government still had to drive growth, albeit at the expense of foreign savings. All attempts by the Turkish government have failed to access funding or foreign investment to protect the lira value or close the deficit in the foreign trade balance. Now, the government, the Turkish financial market and the private sector all face an uncertain and serious future depending on the steps that will be taken by the government to come out of this crisis as soon as possible in the coming weeks till July when the financial situation is expected to explode with the need by many Turkish companies for foreign exchange to repay their foreign debts due this year, estimated at nearly 170 billion dollars. In case the situation remains unsolved, the Turkish lira will experience a significant deterioration in the summer of this year the size of which cannot be guessed but which will transform Turkey into a new state similar to what was experienced earlier by Argentina.

Traditional solutions put forward

Turkey has been used to four traditional solutions in similar crises. However, all those solutions face political and operational obstacles that prevent their implementation currently. Those solutions are discussed below:

First, raising the interest rate: this is one of the most important traditional solutions for saving the price of the Turkish lira. However, due to the ideological orientation of President Erdogan and Finance Minister Albayrak who insists that raising interest rate will hinder Turkey’s economic plans to drive growth, this solution is not under consideration, currently at least, because it would amount to a recognition of the failure of the economic plan developed in 2019 and a recognition of the failure of the economic theory developed by Erdogan himself that it is possible to reduce interest rate and inflation together in Turkey.

Second, gradual withdrawal of the Turkish lira from the market by the Central Bank for reducing supply of the lira and raising its price. However, this solution also seems impossible with the focus by the government on saving companies and driving growth by offering low-interest loans through government banks and allocating 100 billion liras in compensation for losses of tradesmen as a result of the lockdown during the coronavirus pandemic period. While the amount was subsequently raised to 200 billion liras, economic analysts say that what has been spent so far does not exceed 20 billion liras because of the government’s financial deficit, and that the funds offered have been printed by the Central Bank without value.

Third, selling more of the Central Bank dollar reserves: Minister of Finance Berat Albayrak said in a meeting with foreign investors in the first week of May 2020 that the Central Bank has a foreign exchange reserve, but he did not provide any figures, given that Central Bank figures indicate that its current total reserves of foreign exchange and gold in May 2020 are nearly 86 billion dollars, although it is known that of these, 59 billion dollars belong to Turkish banks as mandatory deposits in the Central Bank, and the Central Bank cannot use them because they do not belong to it. Therefore, the Turkish Central Bank’s real net foreign exchange reserve is 27 billion dollars only, all of which came through SWAP agreements with governments and foreign banks that have to be re-paid within this year. Therefore, upon deducting the total foreign exchange that has to be repaid by the Central Bank upon completion of the SWAP agreements this year, the Central Bank’s real foreign exchange reserve would be equal to -2 billion dollars. Thus, the Central Bank’s capability to offer more hard currency in the market to protect the lira value has weakened considerably. So, the Turkish government has started to put pressure on private and foreign banks operating in Turkey to help it obtain loans and foreign investments or deposit more of their customers’ foreign exchange deposits with the Central Bank. The Turkish Banking Regulation and Supervision Agency (BDDK) has threatened private banks operating in Turkey with large financial sanctions (reaching 500 million liras) for banks that do not cooperate with the Turkish Central Bank. While this pressure step could have limited and short-term results, it will widen the confidence gap between foreign banks and the Turkish government. 

Ironically, and to demonstrate the confusion characterizing the management of the Turkish economy, the Turkish Banking Regulation and Supervision Agency, which also reports to President Erdogan although it purports independence in its decisions, imposed sanctions on three foreign banks, namely US Citibank, Swiss UBS and French BNP Paribas, by banning them from dealing with Turkish banks. This decision came in the morning of 8 May 2020, given that Finance Minister Berat Albayrak had an appointment to hold an online meeting with dozens of foreign bank representatives and foreign investors to invite them to invest in Turkey or strike SWAP deals with the Central Bank, and that the invitees included representatives of three banks that came under sanctions that morning.

Fourth, resorting to the International Monetary Fund (IMF): this is a step that is resorted to by many of the countries in Turkey’s current position. However, this has become extremely difficult in light of President Erdogan’s ideological policy and his adamant rejection of this step as it constitutes a recognition of the failure of all his economic policies and of those of his party that boasts about having repaid all of Turkey’s debts to the IMF and ended all dealings with it. Furthermore, due to the tension in relations between Ankara and Washington, it would be difficult for Turkey to strike a stand-by arrangement with the IMF, even with Erdogan’s approval, because Washington has the right to veto any agreement to be signed by the IMF, being its largest founding partner. Even if Turkey resorts to the IMF to request urgent support due to the coronavirus pandemic (an urgent support that Washington cannot obstruct), that support would be limited (between 3.2 and 9.5 billion dollars only). So far, Turkey has not taken steps to apply for such support. Considering that Turkey’s total debts in 2019 reached nearly 437 billion dollars, of which 169 billion dollars are due this year, including a private-sector share of 71 billion dollars, the funding or loan needed by Turkey far exceeds what it can get from the IMF on the pretext of the coronavirus pandemic. In fact, Turkey needs a loan of 60-80 billion dollars to come out of its current crisis.

Non-traditional solutions put forward

The government of President Recep Tayyip Erdogan rejects any economic solution to the current crisis that would harm growth or raise interest rates on the Turkish lira. It also rejects resorting to the IMF. However, the lack of financial and economic stability in Turkey will obviously affect its political structure. In order to come out of the current crisis, the government of President Erdogan believes that it has to take two important steps: promptly come out of any economic lockdown due to the coronavirus pandemic regardless of the health or social cost, and finding external funding, albeit limited, to delay or prevent a major collapse in the Turkish currency over the next six months. That is, the government is looking for temporary rather than radical solutions as President Erdogan still believes that he can revive the Turkish economy and drive growth once more and that this was only prevented by the advent of the coronavirus crisis. He views the situation as an incidental crisis whose effects can be overcome by cutting short the economic lockdown period and finding external funding that protects the Turkish currency pending the re-activation of the economy within a period that Erdogan believes will not exceed six months or the end of this year at the latest.

In fact, all the non-traditional solutions that will be explained here depend mainly on obtaining support from Washington and London. That is why President Erdogan has to improve his country’s relations with the West, in general, and with Washington, in particular, at the current stage. Interestingly, the Turkish authorities referred to the coronavirus pandemic as a pretext for not activating the Russian S-400 missiles last April, unlike earlier promises by President Erdogan and Defence Minister Hulusi Akar. This is an important step to appease the US Congress and the White House. The non-traditional solutions are as follows:

First, striking a SWAP agreement with the US Federal Reserve (the Fed) or one of the central banks of major industrial countries: such an agreement worth 10 billion dollars could provide the Turkish Central Bank with support for the Turkish lira value over the next six months, pending exit from the implications of the coronavirus crisis ‒ as believed by Erdogan according to his own calculations ‒ although this would not solve the crisis of the Turkish economy or the foreign debt crisis. Fed officials have confirmed that Turkey is not one of the countries included in the Fed SWAP list. On the other hand, Turkey seeks to convince central banks in Japan, Germany and the UK to sign SWAP agreements with Turkey, although this seems to be difficult under a US veto. Turkey had recently signed two SWAP agreements, one with China for one billion dollars in 2019, and the other with Qatar for 5 billion dollars in 2018, but it failed to expand or increase the value of those agreements. Turkey also received a “zero deposit” worth 4 billion dollars from the Libyan Accord Government at the beginning of this year. It would be difficult to obtain again a similar amount from the Libyan government soon.

Second, changing the rules of the financial game and investments in Turkey: this is a painful and difficult option as the Turkish government will have to impose new laws preventing the exit of the dollar from Turkey or transferring it abroad, or impose substantial taxes on foreign investors to force them to refrain from withdrawing their deposits or investments (from the beginning of the year till the end of last April, nearly 7 billion dollars of foreign investments exited Turkey). Both the Turkish Banking Regulation and Supervision Agency and the Central Bank can impose these new rules and laws, although this will harm Turkey’s economic reputation internationally and aggravate its confidence crisis with the financial and economic institutions abroad.

Third, benefitting from the Turkish Sovereign Fund that was established by Erdogan in 2016 and has at its disposal most Turkish national companies or what remains of their shares in the government’s possession. The Fund is not accountable to any regulatory authority inside or outside Turkey. Therefore, President Erdogan and his government can obtain a high-interest foreign loan by using any of the Fund’s government companies as collateral, privatizing that company or selling it. However, the privatization or sale processes take a long time and will have to be disclosed by Erdogan. On the other hand, a foreign loan can be obtained secretly by using one of those companies as guarantor or collateral. This also would be extremely costly and would need green light from Washington due to the loss of confidence by many banks and financial institutions in the actions of President Erdogan’s government.

As was mentioned earlier, President Erdogan’s plans are based on seeking to overcome the current crisis which he considers temporary for six months. He hopes for the return of growth in Turkey and the return of foreign investments once again after the cut by major global and central banks of interest rates to zero and the search by investors for new countries to invest in. Erdogan will seek to attract those investments and funds once again by rushing to “normalize” economic conditions in Turkey and end the lockdown, claiming that Turkey has completely overcome the coronavirus crisis and that its economy has recovered to encourage foreign investors to return to Turkey.

Conclusion

In case the Turkish government does not find a solution to the lira and foreign funding crisis soon (within almost two months), the Turkish lira will face a new crisis that could lead to the collapse of its value to 8.5 liras per dollar. If the current situation persists without change, more companies will go bankrupt after failing to repay their foreign debts because of this dollar price, economic recession and the coronavirus pandemic. This would aggravate the crisis of unemployment which exceeded 14 percent before the coronavirus crisis.

This situation will have negative implications for banks whose non-performing loans (NPL) have increased. It will also have significant implications for the political situation and the government’s stability. Thus, the it appears that the Turkish government will have to offer diplomatic concessions in foreign policy, particularly in its relations with Washington and London, to find a solution to its current economic crisis.

Latest Featured Topics