مشروع "المَشرِق الجديد": الفُرص والتحديات والمسارات المحتملة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 07 سبتمبر 2020

يُعد مشروع "المشرق الجديد" الذي طرحه رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي، حدثاً نوعياً في واقع المنطقة التي تشهد انقسامات وتجاذبات بين الأطراف المختلفة، وهو ما يؤشر إلى طبيعة التحديات التي تواجه المشروع والصعوبات التي قد تعترض مساره. ورغم العنوان الاقتصادي للمشروع إلا أنه ينطوي على أبعاد سياسية واستراتيجية، لكن السؤال المطروح هو: هل أطرافه قادرة، أو عندها الرغبة والإرادة، في تحويل المشروع إلى مشروع جيوسياسي قادر على إثبات حضوره في معادلات المنطقة وتوازناتها؟

تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على المشروع المشار إليه، وتوضح فرصه والتحديات التي تواجهه والمسارات المتوقعة له.

طبيعة المشروع

يقوم مشروع "المشرق الجديد" على أساس الربط بين مصر التي تمثل كتلة سكانية كبيرة، والتي لديها خبرات في العديد من المجالات، ولديها موقعها على البحر المتوسط، والعراق الذي يمتلك موارد نفطية كبيرة، والأردن الذي يملك مزايا اقتصادية جيدة. ويركّز المشروع على التعاون الاقتصادي وتعزيز الجوانب الاستثمارية والتجارية بين البلدان الثلاثة في خطة ستكون تدفقات رأس المال والتكنولوجيا فيها أكثر حرية، ويُتوقَّع أن يشجع الدول الأخرى على ضخ استثمارات جديدة في المنطقة.

ويجري بناء التحالف على تفاهمات اقتصادية بين الدول الثلاث التي يبلغ الناتج المحلي لها معاً نحو 570 مليار دولار، بحسب بيانات البنك الدولي. فالمشروع سبق أن طرحه رئيس الحكومة العراقية السابق عادل عبد المهدي، وعقدت الدول الثلاث قمتين سابقتين: الأولى في القاهرة في 25 مارس 2019 بمشاركة الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، والملك عبد الله الثاني بن الحسين، ورئيس الوزراء العراقي (السابق) عادل عبد المهدى. والقمة الثانية عقدت في 22 سبتمبر الماضي على هامش اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في نيويورك، وضمت الرئيس المصري والملك الأردني والرئيس العراقي برهم صالح.

حملت القمة الأخيرة التي عقدت في عمّان في 25 أغسطس الماضي مؤشراً على جدية البلدان الثلاث على السير قدماً بالتحالف، وذلك من خلال إنشاء سكرتاريا دائمة للتنسيق حول ملفات التعاون الثلاثي، إذ ستكون مهمة السكرتارية تنفيذ ومتابعة ما جرى الاتفاق عليه بين البلدان الثلاثة، وذلك في محاولة لتجنُّب فشل التجارب العربية السابقة التي لم يستطع القائمون عليها نقلها من البيانات والتمنيات إلى التطبيق العملي. وسيكون مقرها في السنة الأولى عمّان لتنتقل في كل عام تباعاً بين عواصم الدول الثلاث.

يرتكز التحالف على عناصر تكاملية، هي النفط والطاقة والنقل وتجارة السلع والعمالة، حيث سيُمدّ خط أنبوب نفطي من ميناء البصرة جنوب العراق وصولاً إلى ميناء العقبة في الأردن ومن ثم إلى مصر. وبينما يحصل الأردن على النفط العراقي بسعر أقل من سعر السوق الدولي، فضلاً عن رسوم العبور، تستفيد مصر من عملية تكرير جزء من النفط العراقي على أراضيها، في حين يستورد العراق الكهرباء من مصر، كما يمكنه الاستفادة من الخبرات المصرية في عملية إعادة الإعمار، وستتم الاستفادة من إمكانيات الأردن في مجال النقل نظراً لامتلاكه قدرات كبيرة في هذا المجال، إضافة إلى تصدير السلع من الأردن ومصر إلى العراق.

أهداف المشروع وتوقيته وسياقاته

أ. الأهداف

  • الاستفادة من المزايا الاقتصادية والجغرافية التي تتمتع بها الدول الأعضاء، وتشبيك المصالح الاقتصادية بالشكل الذي يعود بالنفع على اقتصاديات البلدان الأعضاء.
  • نقل الفعالية الاقتصادية للعراق إلى البحر الأحمر والبحر المتوسط، بعيداً من الخليج العربي ومضيق هرمز الواقعين تحت سيطرة إيران؛ الأمر الذي يعزز أوراق القوة العراقية مقابل إيران.
  • تطوير التنسيق السياسي والأمني بين الدول الأعضاء على نحو يخدم أهداف كل طرف.

ب. التوقيت والسياق

ينطوي توقيت طرح المشروع على دلالات عديدة:

  • محاولة لاختراق حالة الهشاشة التي تمر بها المنطقة العربية وجعلتها ساحة صراع وتنافس للقوى الإقليمية والدولية؛ فالمشروع قد يشكل نواةً لتجمع عربي أكبر ويستفيد من الطاقات العربية لتغيير المعادلات والأوزان في صراعات المنطقة عبر المساهمة في إعادة إنتاج التضامن العربي.
  • يأتي المشروع في ذروة الانقسام الطائفي في المنطقة والتداعيات السلبية التي أفرزها، فمن شأن المشروع كسر حلقة الصراع السني-الشيعي التي صبغت مخرجات السياسات الإقليمية في العقد الأخير، في وقت تشهد المجتمعات الشرق أوسطية تململاً من الصراعات الطائفية لصالح البحث عن حلول اقتصادية وسياسية للأزمات التي تعيشها شعوب المنطقة.
  • يتزامن طرح المشروع مع ارتفاع وتيرة التوتر بين الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وإيران، وانفتاح عربي على إسرائيل يتمثل بالاتفاق الإماراتي-الإسرائيلي، ومن شأن هذه التحوّلات إعطاء التحالف زخماً سياسياً إضافياً عبر حصوله على دعم عربي-أمريكي.

ج. التداخلات الإقليمية لدول المشروع

تتداخل الأطراف المنخرطة في هذا المشروع بعلاقات ثنائية تتضارب مع توجهات بعضها البعض، والقيم السياسية التي تحكم علاقاتها الإقليمية، فإلى أي مدى سيؤثر ذلك على التحالف وإمكانية تطويره واستمراره؟ وإلى أي حد تستطيع أطرافه إدارة شبكة العلاقات، القديمة والجديدة، والحفاظ على التوازن في هذه العلاقات؟

  • يرتبط العراق بعلاقات شبه استراتيجية مع إيران، وتنامت هذه العلاقات بدرجة كبيرة في ظل وجود نخبة سياسية حاكمة، في المستويين التشريعي والتنفيذي، فضلاً عن علاقات متشعبة مع الأحزاب العراقية وميليشياتها العسكرية، في حين تبدو العلاقات بين كلٍّ من الأردن ومصر مع إيران فاترة، رغم وجود تمثيل دبلوماسي بين هذه الأطراف.
  • ترتبط مصر والأردن باتفاق سلام مع إسرائيل، في حين تسعى بعض الجهات العراقية إلى ربط العراق بمحور "الممانعة" وتعتبر نفسها في حالة حرب مع إسرائيل نتيجة استهداف ميليشياتها في سوريا وفي مناطق غرب العراق.
  • ترتبط الأطراف جميعها مع التحالف السعودي-الإماراتي بعلاقات تتراوح بين التحالف، كحال مصر والأردن، والتنسيق، مثل العراق نتيجة لوجود توجه اماراتي سعودي يقضي باحتواء العراق في الإطار العربي وتخفيف الهيمنة الإيرانية عليه.

المرجح أن تعمل أطراف المشروع على تحييد علاقاتها التحالفية عن التعقيدات السياسية للمنطقة، والواضح من خلال البيان الختامي تنبُّه هذه الأطراف لتعقُّد شبكة العلاقات في المنطقة، وتحديداً فيما يخص العراق، الذي أكد رئيس حكومته، مصطفى الكاظمي، على ضرورة الابتعاد عن سياسات المحاور، فيما بدا أنها رسالة إلى إيران مفادها أن التحالف غير موجَّه ضدها.

التحديات والفُرص أمام المشروع

يرتبط مشروع "المشرق الجديد" بواقع المنطقة وظروفها وتطوراتها، ومن المؤكد أنه سيتأثر بدرجة كبيرة بهذا الواقع، وسيكون للإرادة السياسية لأطرافه دورٌ مهم في مواجهة التحديات، مثلما سيكون لهم دور في تعظيم فرصه في التطور والريادة.

أ. التحديات

رغم أهمية مواقع وأدوار مصر والأردن في هذا المشروع، إلا أن بوصلة التحديات تتجه إلى العراق بدرجة أساسية، ويرتبط نجاح المشروع بقدرة العراق على الوفاء بالتزاماته تجاهه. وبرغم الحماس الذي يبديه رئيس الوزراء مصطفى الكاظمي للمشروع والمشروع عموماً، إلا أن ذلك لا يُخفي حقيقة وجود انقسام عراقي بين مؤيد للتحالف مع إيران ومؤيد لعودة العراق إلى إطاره العربي، وتميل الكفّة لمصلحة مؤيدي إيران، لذا فمن المرجح أن يواجه الكاظمي جملة من التحديات، أهمها ما يأتي:

  • احتمال عدم قدرة العراق على الحصول على تصديق البرلمان على التفاهمات التي تم التوصل إليها في قمة عمّان بين العراق والأردن ومصر، وقد سارع عضو لجنة العلاقات الخارجية في البرلمان العراقي عامر الفايز، وهو نائب عن كتلة "الفتح" القريبة من إيران بقيادة هادي العامري، إلى التقليل من أهمية قمة عمّان، قائلاً إنه "لا يمكن الالتزام بأي تعهد خلال القمة الثلاثية ما لم تتم المصادقة عليه" في البرلمان.
  • الخشية من إدراج التحالف في خانة اصطفاف العراق في لعبة المحاور الإقليمية، ورغم أن الكاظمي أكد في لقائه بالحكومة، بعد عودته من القمة الثلاثية، على "إبعاد العراق عن سياسة المحاور"، والتأكيد على أن التحالف يركز على الجانب الاقتصادي بالدرجة الأساسية، إلا أنه من غير المستبعد لجوء أنصار إيران في البرلمان والكتل الحزبية إلى تفعيل هذا التمسك بهذا المبدأ من أجل رفض التحالف.
  • قد تساهم العلاقات المتوترة بين الكاظمي والميليشيات العراقية القريبة من إيران، التي تتهمه بالضلوع في عملية اغتيال قائد الحشد الشعبي أبو مهدي المهندس وقائد فيلق القدس في الحرس الثوري الإيراني قاسم سليماني، والتي رفضت نتائج زيارته للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، في عدم التزام العراق بمخرجات قمة عمّان، لما لها من تأثير على مصالح إيران في العراق.
  • التحدي الأخطر الذي يواجه المشروع يكمن في مساعي بعض الأطراف الإقليمية والدولية المتضررة من التحالف بتحريك أدواتها في العراق لعرقلة مسار المشروع، ولا يقتصر الأمر على إيران، فهناك أيضاً تركيا التي ستنظر إلى التحالف من منظار العداء مع مصر وترفض منح مصر موطئ قدم في العراق، وروسيا التي ستتعاطى مع التحالف بوصفه "صناعة أمريكية".
  • الأزمة المالية والاقتصادية التي تشهدها الدول الثلاث، سيما العراق الذي يمثل المرتكز الرئيس للمشروع؛ ما يقلص أو يؤخر خطط الاستثمارات المشتركة أو حتى خطة مَد أنبوب النفط.

ب. فُرص نجاح المشروع

ثمّة مؤشرات على إمكانية نجاح المشروع تتمثل بالآتي:

  • امتلاك العراق، باعتباره الطرف الذي يرتبط به نجاح التحالف، الفرصةَ للتخلص من الهيمنة الإيرانية، في ظل وجود حراك شعبي يطالب بالإصلاح وإزاحة وكلاء إيران عن دوائر التأثير في الحكم، في الوقت الذي تمّر فيه إيران بظروف صعبة نتيجة التململ الشعبي وتحديات وباء كورونا، الأمر الذي يمنح العراق فرصة للتحرك نحو التخلص من واقع التبعية الذي فرضته إيران.
  • وجود دعم أمريكي واضح للمشروع؛ إذ يشكل المشروع جزءاً من استراتيجية محاصرة إيران وتفكيك هيمنتها على العراق، وترغب الإدارة الأمريكية في تحويل العراق باتجاه مصر والأردن، وقد ضغطت إدارة ترمب على الكاظمي خلال زيارته الأخيرة من أجل الإسراع في مشروع ربط شبكة الكهرباء بمصر والأردن.
  • توقُّع حصول المشروع على احتضان عربي وخاصة من قبل دول الخليج، على اعتبار أن التحالف يشكّل رافداً مهماً في تدعيم الموقف العربي في مواجهة اختراقات القوى الإقليمية، وخاصة أن العراق والأردن يرتبطان جغرافياً بدول الخليج، وتحصين أمنهما مسألة مهمة للدول الخليجية.
  • وجود رأي عام عربي مؤيد للمشروع، وتحديداً في الدول الثلاث الأعضاء في التحالف، كما ستساهم الفوائد المتوقعة للتحالف، وخاصة على المستوى الاقتصادي، بمنح التحالف الزخم اللازم للتطور والاستمرار.

الرابحون والخاسرون من قيام المشروع

أ. الرابحون

  • أعضاء المشروع (مصر والعراق والأردن): نظراً للعوائد المتوقعة من التحالف، وحاجة الأطراف الثلاثة إلى العوائد الاقتصادية الناتجة عن المشاريع المزمع تنفيذها، كما أن التحالف سيقوّي أوراق الدول الثلاث، سياسياً وأمنياً.
  • الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية: التي كان لها دور واضح في الدفع في ولادة هذا التحالف، الذي سيعزز أوراقها في مواجهة الزحف الروسي والصيني على المنطقة، كما سيمثل ضربة مهمة للمشروع الإيراني في أهم مفاصله، العراق.
  • الإمارات والسعودية: كون التحالف العربي بين الدول الثلاث يخصم من مساحات تأثير وهيمنة المنافسين الإقليميين، تركيا وإيران، ويقوي أوراقهما في المواجه الإقليمية مع هذين الطرفين.

ب. الخاسرون

  • إيران: تأتي إيران في مقدمة الخاسرين، ذلك أن التحالف يقرّب العراق بشكل مباشر من المنظومة العربية ومحاولة إيجاد تكتل عربي جديد يمكن للعراق من خلاله أن يكون أكثر فاعلية داخل المنظومة العربية، الأمر الذي سينتج عنه سحب إحدى ركائز مشروعها الاستراتيجي الايراني في الشرق الأوسط وإحداث فجوة كبيرة في استراتيجيتها الإقليمية. بالإضافة لذلك يهدد التحالف بخسارة إيران للسوق العراقية التي تعتبر المنفذ التصديري الوحيد لمنتجاتها؛ إذ يبلغ حجم صادرات العراق من إيران نحو 12 مليار دولار، والميزان التجاري يميل لصالحها مئة بالمئة. لذا من غير المرجح ان تسلم إيران بخسارة نفوذها في العراق، وستوحي لوكلائها هناك أن التحالف يندرج في إطار مؤامرة خليجية-أمريكية، وستستخدم كل الطرق لعرقلة مسارات التحالف بما فيها زعزعة استقرار العراق.
  • تركيا: لا تريد تركيا وجود كتلة عربية قوية، باقتصاد وجيش قويين، لتأثير ذلك على مصالحها المباشرة؛ فلتركيا مصالح مهمة في العراق، حيث يبلغ معدل التجارة بين البلدين أكثر من 20 مليار دولار، كما يصدر العراق جزءاً من نفطه عبر ميناء جيهان التركي، ولا ترغب تركيا في وجود بدائل عربية للعراق. ومن جهة ثانية، يصب هذا التحالف في مصلحة خصوم تركيا العرب، وخاصة مصر والإمارات والسعودية، ويقوي أوراقهم في المواجهة مع تركيا.
  • قطر: يعارض التحالف مصالح قطر التي باتت مرتبطة بشكل كبير بالمصالح التركية في المنطقة، وتسعى إلى إضعاف الدور المصري، وحرمان منافسيها الخليجيين، الإمارات والسعودية، من أي مكاسب سياسية وأمنية.
  • روسيا والصين: إذ طالما شكّل العراق أحد مراكز النفوذ الروسية التقليدية في المنطقة، وبدأت روسيا بمد نفوذها إلى العراق في السنوات الأخيرة، تجهيزاً لخروج أمريكي محتمل من المنطقة. أما الصين فإن العراق يقع في قلب مصالحها في المنطقة، وخاصة مشروع "الحزام والطريق" بالإضافة إلى رغبتها في الحصول على حصص من عملية إعادة الإعمار للمدن العراقية والبنية التحتية. ويشكّل الحضور الأمريكي في التحالف الوليد، سواء من حيث دعمه أو قرب أطرافه من المصالح والسياسات الأمريكية في المنطقة، ضربةً للمخططات الروسية والصينية بشأن العراق.

المسارات المتوقعة للمشروع

ينطوي المشروع على بُعد جيوسياسي من شأنه تغيير التوازنات الإقليمية القائمة وفرض معادلات جديدة مخالفة للسياق الذي سارت عليه المنطقة منذ بداية القرن الحالي، وهو بداية تاريخ انهيار النظام العربي وتراجع مكانته وتأثيره في التفاعلات الجارية في المنطقة. وترجع أهمية المشروع للأسباب التالية:

  • خلق تكتل عربي قادر على إيجاد توازن موضوعي في المنطقة، وإصلاح الخلل الحاصل في ميزان القوى لصالح الأطراف الإقليمية، إيران وتركيا، التي باتت مشاريعهما تهدد الأمن العربي.
  • إعادة القوّة للجيوبوليتيك العربي الذي يمتلك مزايا استراتيجية مهمة، دون القدرة على توظيفها في سياق المنافسة والصراع مع تركيا وإيران؛ فالعراق يحتل مرتبة متدنية في علاقاته مع هذين الطرفين، كما أن الفوضى التي تسببها تركيا وإيران في العراق تجد صداها في ضعف الأمن القومي لبلدان الجوار العربي. لكن السؤال المهم: هل سيجري تفعيل البعد الاستراتيجي في التحالف العربي؟ وهل لدى مصر، وهي الطرف الأقوى في التحالف، الإرادة والرغبة في السير بمشروع التحالف لتحقيق العوائد الاستراتيجية المأمولة منه؟

كان لافتاً للنظر أن البيان الختامي لقمة عمّان الثلاثية لم يأت على ذكر "المشرق الجديد"، وركز البيان على مفردات "التنسيق" و"التعاون" و"التكامل"، الأمر الذي أثار التساؤل عما إذا كانت الأطراف قد صرفت النظر عن هذا المشروع، أو أنها تعمَّدت التركيز على الصيغة الاقتصادية وعدم تحميل المشروع أبعاداً سياسية وأمنية لا يبدو أن أطرافه يملكون الاستعداد للسير بها بشكل مباشر في هذه المرحلة. 

لكن، ثمّة مؤشرات عديدة على عدم وجود رغبة مصرية في إعطاء المشروع بعداً سياسياً والاقتصار على أبعاده الاقتصادية، لأن مصر غير معنية في حسابها على طرف محدد، وترغب في المناورة بين مختلف الأحلاف والتجمعات. كما أن مصفوفة تفضيلات مصر الحالية لا تعطي أهمية لاستنهاض منطقة المشرق العربي وإعادة تشكيل موازين القوى الإقليمية، في الوقت الذي ينصب تركيزها بدرجة كبيرة على قضايا سد النهضة والصراع الليبي، وبذلك فإن مصر مهتمة حالياً بالعوائد الاقتصادية التي قد تعود عليها من العراق.

ورغم حماس الأردن للمشروع، في إطار سعيه لتقوية موقفه الاستراتيجي، الذي أثرت عليه المتغيرات الإقليمية وخفّضت فعاليته في الملفات السورية والفلسطينية والعراقية، إلا أن مشكلة الأردن تكمن بالدرجة الأولى مع الإدارة الأمريكية التي لديها مصلحة في إضعاف فعاليته لصالح مشروعها للسلام في المنطقة.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

تتوقف طبيعة مسارات المشروع على الإرادة السياسية لأطرافه، وخاصة قدرة رئيس الحكومة العراقية مصطفى الكاظمي على تطويع العقبات الكثيرة التي ستضعها إيران أمامه، وهو أمر يحتاج إلى تغيرات جذرية داخلية على أكثر من مستوى قد تظهر نتائجها في الانتخابات العراقية المبكرة، التي دعا لها الكاظمي في يونيو 2021. كما سيكون للدور المصري أثر مهم في تحشيد الدول العربية خلف المشروع ونقله من مجال المنافع الاقتصادية المحدودة إلى الجانب الجيوسياسي بما يغيّر معادلات القوّة في المنطقة، وهذا يتوقف على التوجهات المصرية في المرحلة المقبلة.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

عودة نشاط "داعش" في سوريا: الدوافع والتداعيات

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 19 نوفمبر 2020

النزاع المائي بين إثيوبيا ومصر وخيارات تسويته

نور الدين بيدُكان | 15 نوفمبر 2020

The “New Levant” Project: Likely Opportunities, Challenges and Trajectories

EPC | 07 Sep 2020

The "New Levant (Mashreq)" project, proposed by Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi, is a qualitative event in the reality of the region that has been witnessing divisions and tensions between the various parties. This indicates the nature of the challenges facing the project and the difficulties that may block its path. Despite its economic title, the project entails political and strategic dimensions. However, the question being raised is: do its parties have the capability, desire and will to transform the project into a geopolitical project that is capable of proving its presence in the region's equations and balances?

This paper sheds light on the aforementioned project, and clarifies its opportunities, challenges and expected paths.

The nature of the project

The "New Levant” project is based on linking Egypt which constitutes a large population and has its expertise in many fields and location on the Mediterranean, with Iraq which has large oil resources, and Jordan which has good economic advantages. The project focuses on economic cooperation and the promotion of investment and trade aspects between the three countries, in a plan in which there would be more freedom of capital and technology flows, and is expected to encourage other countries to inject new investments into the region.

The alliance is being built on economic understandings between the three countries, which have a combined GDP of nearly 570 billion dollars, according to World Bank data. The project was previously proposed by former Iraqi Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi, and the three countries held two previous summits: the first in Cairo on 25 March 2019 with the participation of President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, King Abdullah II bin al-Hussein, and (former) Iraqi Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi; and the second on 22 September 2019, on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) meeting in New York, and brought together the Egyptian President, the King of Jordan and the Iraqi President Barham Salih.

The recent summit, which was held in Amman on 25 August 2020, bore an indication of the seriousness of the three countries in advancing the alliance, through the establishment of a permanent secretariat for coordination on the tripartite cooperation files. The task of the secretariat would be to implement and follow up on what was agreed upon between the three countries, in an attempt to avoid the failure of previous Arab experiences whose protagonists failed to transfer them from the stage of statements and wishes into practical application. In the first year, the secretariat would be located in Amman. It would successively move each year between the capitals of the three countries.

The alliance focuses on complementary elements, namely oil, energy, transport, commodity trade and labour. An oil pipeline would be extended from Basra port in southern Iraq to the Aqaba port in Jordan and onward to Egypt. While Jordan would get Iraqi oil at a price lower than the international market price, in addition to the transit fees, Egypt would benefit from the process of refining part of the Iraqi oil on its territory. On the other hand, Iraq would import electricity from Egypt, and it could also benefit from Egyptian expertise in the reconstruction process. Jordan's potential in the field of transport would be tapped, considering its large capabilities in this field. Goods would also be exported from Jordan and Egypt to Iraq.

Project goals, timing, and contexts

A. Objectives

  • Benefitting from the economic and geographical advantages of the member states, and networking the economic interests in a manner that would benefit the economies of the member countries.
  • Transferring Iraq’s economic activity to the Red Sea and the Mediterranean, away from the Arabian Gulf and the Strait of Hormuz, which are under Iran's control. This would strengthen the Iraqi power cards against Iran.
  • Developing political and security coordination among member states in a manner that would serve the goals of each party.

B. Timing and context

The timing of putting forward the project has several implications:

  • It constitutes an attempt to penetrate the state of fragility in the Arab region that has made it an arena of conflict and competition for regional and international powers. The project may constitute the nucleus of a larger Arab grouping and benefit from Arab capacities to change the equations and weights in the region’s conflicts by contributing to the reproduction of Arab solidarity.
  • The project comes at the height of the sectarian divide in the region and the negative repercussions it has produced. The project would break the cycle of the Sunni-Shiite conflict that has characterized the outcomes of regional policies in the last decade, even as Middle Eastern societies are experiencing restlessness from sectarian conflicts in favour of searching for economic and political solutions to the crises experienced by the peoples of the region.
  • The launch of the project coincides with the increase in tension between the US and Iran, and an Arab openness to Israel represented by the UAE-Israeli agreement. These shifts would give the alliance additional political impetus by obtaining Arab-US support.

C. Regional overlaps of the project’s countries

The parties involved in this project have bilateral relations that conflict with one another's orientations and the political values ​​that govern their regional relations. Therefore, to what extent would this affect the alliance and the possibility of its development and survival? To what extent can its parties manage the network of old and new relations and maintain a balance in those relationships?

  • Iraq is linked by quasi-strategic relations to Iran. Those relations have grown considerably in light of the presence of a ruling political elite at both the legislative and executive levels, in addition to sprawling relations with the Iraqi parties and their military militias. On the other hand, the relations of Jordan and Egypt with Iran appear tepid, despite the existence of diplomatic representation between those parties.
  • While Egypt and Jordan have a peace agreement with Israel, some Iraqi quarters seek to link Iraq to the axis of "resistance" and consider themselves at war with Israel as a result of the targeting of their militias in Syria and the western regions of Iraq.
  • All parties have relations with the Saudi-UAE alliance ranging between alliance, as in the case of Egypt and Jordan, and coordination, as in the case of Iraq as a result of the existence of a UAE-Saudi approach that aims to include Iraq within the Arab framework and reduce Iranian hegemony over it.

The parties to the project are likely to seek to separate their alliance relations from the political complexities of the region. It is clear from the final communiqué that those parties are aware of the complexity of the network of relations in the region, specifically with regard to Iraq, whose Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi stressed the need to move away from the policies of the axes. This seemed to be a message to Iran that the alliance is not directed against it.

Challenges and opportunities before the project

The "New Levant" project is linked to the reality, circumstances and developments of the region. It will certainly be greatly affected by this reality. The political will of its parties will have an important role in facing challenges, even as they will have a role in maximizing its opportunities for development and leadership.

      A. Challenges

Despite the importance of the locations and roles of Egypt and Jordan in this project, the compass of the challenges is mainly directed towards Iraq. The success of the project is linked to Iraq’s ability to fulfill its obligations towards it. Despite the enthusiasm shown by Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi for the project in general, this does not hide the fact that there is an Iraqi division between supporters of the alliance with Iran and supporters of Iraq’s return to its Arab framework, with the scale tilting in favour of Iran's supporters. So, Kadhimi is likely to face a number of challenges, the most important of which are the following:

  • The possibility that Iraq would not be capable of obtaining Parliament’s ratification of the understandings reached at the Amman Summit between Iraq, Jordan and Egypt. Amer al-Fayez, a member of the Foreign Relations Committee in the Iraqi Parliament, who is a deputy from the pro-Iran Fatah Bloc led by Hadi al-Amiri, was quick to downplay the Amman Summit, saying that "no commitment can be made during the tripartite summit unless it is ratified" in Parliament.
  • Fear that the alliance would be interpreted as Iraq’s inclusion in the game of regional axes. While Kadhimi stressed in his meeting with the government, after his return from the tripartite summit, that Iraq should be kept away from the policy of the axes, asserting that the alliance focuses mainly on the economic side, it is not unlikely that Iran's supporters in Parliament and the partisan blocs would resort to activating this adherence to this principle in order to reject the alliance.
  • The tense relations between Kadhimi and the pro-Iran Iraqi militias, which accuse him of involvement in the assassination of the deputy chairman of the Popular Mobilisation Committee (PMC) Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis, and the commander of the Quds Force of the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC) Qasem Soleimani, and which rejected the results of his US visit, may contribute to Iraq's failure to comply with the outcomes of the Amman Summit, considering its impact on Iran's interests in Iraq.
  • The most serious challenge facing the project lies in the efforts of some regional and international parties affected by the alliance to activate their tools in Iraq to obstruct the course of the project. This is not limited to Iran; Turkey would also view the alliance through the perspective of hostility with Egypt and refuse to give Egypt a foothold in Iraq; and Russia would deal with the alliance as a "US product."
  • The financial and economic crisis in the three countries, especially Iraq which is the main pillar of the project. This would reduce or delay joint investment plans or even the plan to extend the oil pipeline.

B. Chances of the success of the project

There are indications of the project's potential for success, as follows:

  • As the party to which the success of the alliance is linked, Iraq has the opportunity to get rid of Iranian hegemony, in light of the existence of a popular movement calling for reform and the removal of Iran's proxies from the circles of influence in government, even as Iran is going through difficult conditions as a result of the popular discontent and the challenges of the coronavirus epidemic. This provides Iraq with an opportunity to proceed towards getting rid of the reality of dependency imposed by Iran.
  • The existence of a clear US support for the project which forms part of the strategy to besiege Iran and dismantle its hegemony over Iraq. The US administration desires to turn Iraq towards Egypt and Jordan. The Trump administration has pressured Kadhimi during his recent visit to accelerate the project to connect the electricity grid to Egypt and Jordan.
  • The expectation that the project would receive an Arab support, especially by the Gulf states, given that the alliance constitutes an important tributary in strengthening the Arab position in the face of the penetration of regional powers, especially that Iraq and Jordan are geographically linked to the Gulf countries, and that fortifying the security of both countries is an important issue for the Gulf countries.
  • The existence of an Arab public opinion in support of the project, specifically in the three member states of the alliance. The expected benefits of the alliance, especially at the economic level, would also give the alliance the necessary momentum for development and survival.

Winners and losers from establishing the project

A. The winners

  • Members of the project (Egypt, Iraq and Jordan), in view of the expected returns on the alliance, and the need of the three parties for economic returns on the projects to be executed. Besides, the alliance would strengthen the cards of the three countries at both the political and security levels.
  • The US, which had a clear role in pushing for the birth of this alliance that would strengthen its cards in the face of the Russian and Chinese encroachment on the region. The alliance would also constitute an important blow to the Iranian project at its most important leg, namely Iraq.
  • The UAE and Saudi Arabia, considering that the Arab alliance between the three countries would reduce the areas of influence and dominance of regional competitors, namely Turkey and Iran, and strengthen the cards of the UAE and Saudi Arabia in the regional confrontation with those two parties.

B. The losers

  • Iran is at the forefront of the losers because the alliance brings Iraq directly closer to the Arab system and the attempt to find a new Arab bloc through which Iraq could be more effective within the Arab system. This would result in the withdrawal of one of the pillars of Iran’s strategic project in the Middle East and creating a big gap in its regional strategy. In addition, the alliance threatens Iran with losing the Iraqi market which is the only export outlet for Iran’s products. The volume of Iraqi exports from Iran is nearly 12 billion dollars, and the trade balance tilts in Iran’s favour by 100 percent. Therefore, Iran is unlikely to accept the loss of its influence in Iraq, and would suggest to its proxies there that the alliance is part of a Gulf-US conspiracy. It would use all methods to obstruct the alliance's paths, including destabilising Iraq.
  • Turkey does not want a strong Arab bloc, with a strong economy and army, as this would affect its direct interests. Turkey has important interests in Iraq where the trade volume between the two countries is more than 20 billion dollars. Iraq also exports part of its oil through the Turkish port of Ceyhan, and Turkey does not want Arab alternatives for Iraq. On the other hand, this alliance is in the interest of Turkey's Arab opponents, especially Egypt, the UAE and Saudi Arabia, and strengthens their cards in the confrontation with Turkey.
  • Qatar: the alliance opposes the interests of Qatar which has become closely linked to Turkish interests in the region and seeks to weaken the Egyptian role and deprive its Gulf rivals, the UAE and Saudi Arabia, of any political and security gains.
  • Russia and China: Iraq has long been one of the traditional Russian centres of influence in the region. Russia has begun to extend its influence to Iraq in recent years, in preparation for a possible US exit from the region. As for China, Iraq is at the heart of its interests in the region, especially the Belt and Road project, in addition to its desire to obtain shares of the reconstruction of Iraqi cities and the infrastructure. The US presence in the nascent alliance, both in terms of its support or the proximity of its parties to US interests and policies in the region, constitutes a blow to Russian and Chinese schemes regarding Iraq.

Expected paths of the project

The project includes a geopolitical dimension that would change the existing regional balances and impose new equations contrary to the context followed by the region since the beginning of the current century which marks the beginning of the history of the collapse of the Arab system and the decline of its status and influence in the ongoing interactions in the region. The importance of the project is attributable to the following reasons:

  • Creating an Arab bloc capable of creating an objective balance in the region and fixing the imbalance in the balance of power in favour of the regional parties, namely Iran and Turkey, whose projects have come to threaten Arab security.
  • Restoring power to Arab geopolitics which possess important strategic advantages without being able to employ them in the context of competition and conflict with Turkey and Iran. Iraq ranks low in its relations with those two parties. Besides, the chaos caused by Turkey and Iran in Iraq finds its echo in the weak national security of the neighbouring Arab countries. However, the important question is: would the strategic dimension be activated in the Arab alliance? Does Egypt, which is the strongest party in the alliance, have the will and desire to pursue the alliance project to achieve the desired strategic returns?

It was remarkable that the final communiqué of the Amman tripartite summit did not mention the "New Levant". The communiqué focused on terms such as "coordination", "cooperation" and "integration". This raised the question of whether the parties have given up this project, or they have deliberately focused on the economic formula without conferring on the project political and security dimensions which the parties do not seem willing to pursue directly at this stage.

However, there are many indications of an Egyptian unwillingness to give the project a political dimension, limiting it to its economic dimensions because Egypt is not interested in counting on a specific party, and wants to manoeuvre between the various alliances and groupings. Moreover, Egypt's current matrix of preferences does not give importance to reviving the Arab Mashreq region and reshaping the regional balance of power, even as its focus is largely on the issues of the Renaissance Dam and the Libyan conflict. Thus, Egypt is currently interested in the economic returns that may accrue to it from Iraq.

Despite Jordan's enthusiasm for the project, in the context of its efforts to strengthen its strategic position which was affected by regional changes and whose effectiveness was reduced in the Syrian, Palestinian and Iraqi files, Jordan's problem lies in the first place with the US administration which has an interest in weakening its effectiveness in favour of the US peace project in the region.

Conclusion

The nature of the project’s paths depends on the political will of its parties, especially the capability of the Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi to accommodate the many obstacles that Iran will put in front of him. This requires radical internal changes at more than one level, the results of which may appear in the early Iraqi elections which was called for by Kadhimi in June 2021. The Egyptian role would also have an important impact on mobilising Arab countries behind the project and moving it from the field of limited economic benefits to the geopolitical side. This would change the power equations in the region, depending on the Egyptian orientations in the next phase.

Latest Featured Topics