معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية: الانعكاسات الإقليمية والاستراتيجية المتوقَّعة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 16 سبتمبر 2020

شكَّل التوقيعُ الرسمي على معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية في البيت الأبيض، في 15 سبتمبر 2020، "لحظةً تاريخيةً فارِقة"، بحسب وصف الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب الذي رعت إدارته الوصول إلى هذه المعاهدة. وسوف تبدأ وفقاً لذلك علاقاتٌ دبلوماسية كاملة بين أبوظبي وتل أبيب، وستنخرط وفود إماراتية وإسرائيلية مشتركة في توقيع اتفاقيات ثنائية في مجالات الاستثمار والسياحة والاتصالات والتكنولوجيا والطيران المدني والموانئ والرعاية الصحية والبيئة.

وهذه أول معاهدة سلام عربية مع إسرائيل برعاية أمريكية منذ زهاء 25 عاماً، أي منذ توقيع الأردن على معاهدة "وادي عَرَبَة" في 1994، وتُمثِّل تتويجاً لمسار طويل من التقارب بين الجانبين العربي والإسرائيلي، بدأ منذ إبرام اتفاق أوسلو بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين في 1993، وما تلاها من خطوات للتقارب بين الجانبين العربي والإسرائيلي، برزت أهم ملامحها في تبادل فتح دول خليجية مثل قطر وسلطنة عُمان مكاتب تجارية مع إسرائيل في تسعينيات القرن الماضي، وفتح المملكة المغربية مع إسرائيل مكاتب اتصال متبادلة في كلٍّ من الرباط وتل أبيب في أواخر عام 1994، فضلاً عن توجُّه موريتانيا إلى تطبيع كامل للعلاقات الدبلوماسية مع الجانب الإسرائيلي وتبادل السفراء بين الدولتين في أواخر 1999، لكن هذا المسار التقاربي تعطَّل بفعل تعثُّر محادثات كامب ديفيد بين الجانبين الفلسطيني والإسرائيلي عام 2000 وما تلاه من تطورات.  

الانعكاسات المتوقعة للمعاهدة على القضية الفلسطينية وعملية السلام

يمكن قراءة انعكاسات معاهدة السلام بين الجانبين الإماراتي والإسرائيلي وفقاً للمعطيات الآتية:

  • رغم أن المعاهدة تُمثل بداية لعلاقات ثنائية بين كل من الإمارات واسرائيل، إلا أن المطلب الإماراتي الرئيس لإبرام المعاهدة تمثَّل في وقف ضم الأراضي الفلسطينية، والذي يأتي دعماً للموقفين العربي والدولي المبني على أساس حل الدولتين وإقامة دولة فلسطينية عاصمتها القدس الشرقية.
  • أكدت الإمارات أن دورها يتمثل في إنعاش فرص السلام والتمهيد لها، لكنها شددت على أن الطرفين الفلسطيني والإسرائيلي هما المعنيَّان بإحياء عملية السلام، أي أن الإمارات لم تطرح نفسها بديلاً من الفلسطينيين بل لا تزال على موقفها الداعم لعدالة المطالب الفلسطينية في إقامة دولة مستقلة وعاصمتها القدس الشرقية.
  • ستُشكل معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية إزاحة للعبء الأمني والاستراتيجي الذي كان من الممكن أن يُعاني منه كل من الأردن ومصر فيما لو ضمَّت إسرائيل مزيداً من الأراضي الفلسطينية.
  • نجحت معاهدة السلام بين الإمارات وإسرائيل في إعادة تفكير صانع القرار الأمريكي بضرورة وجود أطراف عربية فاعلة في عملية السلام، بعد أن جنحت الإدارة الأمريكية في الفترة الأخيرة إلى تهميش الدور العربي والمضي باتفاقيات منفردة مع إسرائيل في قضية تعد محور الاهتمام العربي، وهي القضية الفلسطينية.

آفاق ما بعد المعاهدة: تشكُّل بيئة تعاونية واستراتيجية جديدة في المنطقة

وفق الكثير من الآراء، مثَّلت معاهدة السلام المبرمة بين دولة الإمارات وإسرائيل "تحولاً استراتيجياً" في مسار العلاقات العربية-الإسرائيلية. وتداعيات هذه المعاهدة سوف تتجاوز مسار العلاقات الثنائية بين البلدين، لتشمل الواقع الاستراتيجي في إقليم الشرق الأوسط ككل. ويمكن الإشارة إلى أبرز الدلالات والتداعيات الاستراتيجية المتوقعة لهذه المعاهدة، على النحو الآتي:

1. صعود تيار "الاستقرار الإقليمي"

تمثل هذه المعاهدة انتصاراً لتيار موجود في إقليم الشرق الأوسط منذ فترة طويلة، يذهب إلى أن توسيع وتعميق حجم المعاملات بين أطراف الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي يمثلان المدخل الأهم لتحقيق الاستقرار في الإقليم، وتراجع فرص الصدام بين أطرافه. ويستند هذا التيار إلى مقولات العديد من نظريات العلاقات الدولية، وعلى رأسها نظرية الاتصال لكارل دويتش، ومقولات النظريتين الوظيفية والوظيفية الجديدة. وجوهر هذه النظريات أنه كلما زاد حجم المعاملات بين الوحدات السياسية في إقليم ما زادت فرص بناء الثقة بين النخب السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية، سواء النخب الرسمية أو غير الرسمية، وزادت أيضاً فُرَص تشكيل مصالح مشتركة بين هذه النخب، خاصة في مجال الاقتصاد السياسي، الأمر الذي يؤدي على المدى البعيد إلى تشكيل جماعات مؤيدة للاستقرار في علاقات الأطراف، ومن ثمَّ استقرار الإقليم بشكل عام.

كما يستند هذا التيار أيضاً إلى الخبرات التاريخية في بعض الأقاليم، وعلى رأسها إقليم جنوب شرقي آسيا الذي استطاع تحييد الصراعات والنزاعات الحدودية العديدة بين وحداته السياسية لمصلحة التركيز على قضايا التنمية والتعاون الاقتصادي، ما أدى في التحليل الأخير إلى خلق مصالح ضخمة مشتركة بين دول المنطقة، أسهمت في النهاية في تحجيم فرص الصراع العسكري وبناء تجارب تنموية ناجحة. وتوقيع معاهدة السلام بين الإمارات وإسرائيل سيُمثِّل فرصة مهمة لهذا التيار للدفاع عن مقولاته مرة أخرى، خاصة بالنظر إلى الثقل الاقتصادي لدولة الإمارات في المنطقة.

2. زيادة الارتباط بين الإقليم الخليجي و"مركز" الشرق الأوسط

من المتوقع أن تُسهِم هذه المعاهدة في تعميق الارتباط بين منطقة الخليج العربي وقلب إقليم الشرق الأوسط، الأمر الذي سيؤدي إلى تعميق التفاعل بين المكونات الفرعية المختلفة للإقليم. وتاريخياً، تمتعت منطقة الخليج العربي بدرجة من الخصوصية والابتعاد نسبياً عن صراعات "منطقة المركز"، وفي مقدمتها الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي. وقد أسهمت عوامل عديدة في تكريس هذه الخصوصية، من بينها طبيعة الأنظمة السياسية والاقتصادية في منطقة الخليج، وتباين ترتيب أولوية التهديدات الرئيسة، حيث احتل التهديد الإيراني أولوية كبيرة بالنسبة لمنطقة الخليج العربي مقارنةً بأولوية أنماط أخرى من التهديدات في "منطقة المركز".

وسوف تساعد معاهدة السلام بين الإمارات وإسرائيل بلا شك في تعميق حالة الارتباط بين منطقة الخليج و"منطقة المركز" العربي/الشرق أوسطي، كنتيجة مباشرة لزيادة حجم التفاعل والمعاملات السياسية والاقتصادية بين طرفي المعاهدة؛ وتزداد فرص هذا التحول في حالة التحاق دول أخرى في منطقة الخليج بهذا الاتجاه، لاسيما بعد انضمام مملكة البحرين إلى قاطرة السلام. ومع أن هناك معاملات تاريخية ضخمة بين دولة الإمارات وعدد من دول "المركز" (بعضها كان طرفاً مباشراً في الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي)، إلا أن التدشين لمرحلة من التفاعل الكثيف بين الإمارات وإسرائيل سيُعمِّق بلا شك من حجم التفاعل والارتباط الخليجي مع منطقة المركز لعوامل تتعلق بخصوصية إسرائيل، باعتبارها طرفاً رئيساً في الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي، فضلاً عما تفتحه هذه المعاهدة من آفاق للتعاون السياسي والأمني بين الجانبين، الأمر الذي سيُعطي قضية الأمن الإقليمي بشكل عام، والصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي والقضية الفلسطينية بشكل خاص، ثقلاً أكبر على الأجندة الأمنية لدولة الإمارات ومنطقة الخليج العربي، لتتحول إلى أطراف مهمة في إدارة هذا الصراع وتسهيل مسارات تسويته بصورة عادلة.

3. التداعيات على المحاور الاستراتيجية الإقليمية

من المتوقع أن يترتب على هذه المعاهدة تداعيات مهمة فيما يتعلق بالمحاور الاستراتيجية بالإقليم. ويمكن الإشارة هنا إلى نتيجتين مهمتين على هذا المستوى. الأولى، أن المعاهدة سوف تسهم في تقوية ما عُرف تاريخياً بـ"محور الاعتدال" في المنطقة، والذي يضم إضافةً إلى دولة الإمارات كلاً من مصر والمملكة العربية السعودية والأردن، في مواجهة محور آخر راديكالي ضمَّ بالأساس قطر وعدد من الدول غير العربية إلى جانب بعض التنظيمات والفواعل "من دون الدولة". والفرز بين هذين المحورين تم عبر سنوات ممتدة بناء على مواقف أطرافه من عدد من القضايا المهمة في الإقليم، كان من بينها الموقف من الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي، حيث ظل هناك خلاف بين الجانبين حول آليات إدارة هذا الصراع؛ فبينما مال محور الاعتدال إلى منح اعتبار أكبر لآليات التفاوض والحوار المباشر، مال المحور المقابل إلى الاعتماد على آليات راديكالية بما فيها التنظيمات العنيفة "من دون الدولة".

وبهذا المعنى، يمكن القول إن التحاق دولة الإمارات بالدول ذات العلاقات "الطبيعية" مع إسرائيل سوف يُسهم في تقوية "محور الاعتدال" بشكل عام، وموقف دول هذا المحور بشأن طريقة إدارة الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي بشكل خاص، في مواجهة المحور الراديكالي، خاصة مع التزايد المحتمل لدور دولة الإمارات في مجال إدارة الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي بعد توقيع معاهدة السلام مع إسرائيل.

والثانية، من المتوقع أن تؤدي المعاهدة إلى زيادة فرص التعاون والتنسيق الإماراتي-الإسرائيلي فيما يتعلق بالتهديد الإيراني، سواء لجهة خصوصية هذا التهديد بالنسبة لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بشكل عام، ولدولة الإمارات بشكل خاص، لا سيما في ضوء احتلال إيران لجزر تابعة للسيادة الإماراتية، أو لجهة الأولوية التي أعطتها إسرائيل للتهديد الإيراني خلال السنوات الأخيرة. والتنسيق الخليجي-الإسرائيلي فيما يتعلق بالتهديد الإيراني سيُسهم أيضاً في تعميق الاعتماد الأمني المتبادل بين منطقة الخليج ومنطقة "المركز"، بالنظر إلى خصوصية هذا "التهديد" بالنسبة للطرفين، الأمر الذي يزيد من مساحة التوافق الأمني الخليجي-الإسرائيلي.

4. تدشين مسارات جديدة للتعاون الاقتصادي والفني الإقليمي

إن معاهدة السلام بين دولة الإمارات وإسرائيل يُمكن أن تؤسس لعلاقات قوية بين الجانبين في مجالات نوعية مثل الاقتصاد والتجارة، والطب والصحة، والتكنولوجيا بشكل عام، وتكنولوجيا الاتصالات والمعلومات بشكل خاص، فضلاً عن التعاون في مجال الموانئ البحرية. ويساعد في ذلك عدد من العوامل، أهمها:

  • أن دولة الإمارات ليست طرفاً مباشراً في الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي، رغم دعمها القوي وغير المشروط للحقوق الفلسطينية. وغياب الحدود المباشرة بين الجانبين يُقلِّل من درجة الحساسية في تطوير علاقاتهما في هذه المجالات.
  • طبيعة دولة الإمارات بوصفها دولة "كوزموبوليتانية" (دولة تقوم على احترام التنوع والتعدد الثقافي والديني، والقدرة على استيعاب هذا التنوع والاستفادة منه). فهذه الطبيعة "الكوزموبوليتانية" الفريدة في المنطقة توفر أساساً للانفتاح من ناحية، وتراجع فرص مقاومة التعاون القطاعي بين الإمارات وإسرائيل، من ناحية أخرى.
  • غياب التنظيمات الدينية المتطرفة والعنيفة داخل دولة الإمارات، وهو عامل إضافي مهم يساهم في تسهيل التعاون القطاعي بين دولة الإمارات وإسرائيل. فقد أسهم وجود هذه التنظيمات في العديد من الدول العربية الأخرى في قطع الطريق على هذا التعاون طوال العقود السابقة، بسبب نجاح هذه التنظيمات في تديين الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي.
  • صعود قائمة التهديدات غير التقليدية، الأمر الذي يخلق فرص واسعة للتعاون بين الجانبين. وتمثل جائحة "كوفيد-19" نموذجاً مهماً في هذا المجال، إضافةً إلى تحديات أخرى مثل التغيُّر المناخي. ويساعد على ذلك أيضاً الخبرة الإسرائيلية المهمة في عدد من هذه المجالات. 

وإضافةً إلى فرص التعاون الثنائي، هناك فرص مهمة للتعاون الثلاثي أو الجماعي بين الإمارات وإسرائيل وأطراف أخرى من خارج العالم العربي، مثل الصين والهند وغيرهما. وتزداد فرص هذا التعاون على خلفية العلاقات القوية لدولة الإمارات مع هذه الدول في المجالات الاقتصادية والفنية، خاصة مجال الطاقة والطاقة المتجددة، حيث يمكن هنا مد التعاون الثنائي ليغطي قائمة واسعة من المجالات، من خلال آلية "المشروعات المشتركة"، سواء على مستوى الاستثمارات أو الأنشطة البحثية.

فُرَص تعزيز المصالح الإماراتية والعربية مع الولايات المتحدة

في الوقت الذي تُحقق معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية مصالح متبادلة لطرفيها المباشرين وكذلك للإدارة الأمريكية الحالية، وللقضية الفلسطينية ولأمن واستقرار منطقة الشرق الأوسط وإمكانية فتح آفاق جديدة للتعاون الإقليمي على مسارات مختلفة، فإنها في الوقت نفسه تمنح دولة الإمارات والدول العربية المؤيدة لمسار السلام فرصة لتعزيز مصالحهما داخل الولايات المتحدة، القوة العظمى الأهم في عالم اليوم، وذلك على النحو الآتي:

1. تسريع عمليات حصول الإمارات على أسلحة أمريكية متقدمة. فعادة ما تتطلب عملية شراء أسلحة أمريكية ما بين ست إلى ثماني سنوات، فضلاً عن أنها تتطلب موافقة الكونجرس الأمريكي، ناهيك عن احتمالات أن تتراجع عنها الإدارة الأمريكية المقبلة في حال خسارة ترامب الانتخابات الرئاسية التي ستجري في 3 نوفمبر المقبل، وعلى الرغم من التزام الولايات المتحدة بالتفوق العسكري النوعي لإسرائيل في منطقة الشرق الأوسط للحفاظ على أمنها، إلا أن هذا الالتزام يتم التراجع عنه إذا كانت الدولة التي ستحصل على أسلحة أمريكية تربطها اتفاقية سلام مع تل أبيب. وفي أعقاب توقيع مصر والأردن على معاهدات سلام مع إسرائيل، تمكنتا من الحصول على أسلحة أمريكية متقدمة، في ظل عدم مُعارضة المشرعين الأمريكيين من الحزبين الجمهوري والديمقراطي بمجلسي النواب والشيوخ لصفقات التسلح الأمريكية للدولتين.

2. زيادة الدعم الحزبي لتوطيد العلاقات الأمريكية-الإماراتية. إذ ستزيد الاتفاقية الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية من قوة التحالف بين الولايات المتحدة والإمارات، مما يحدُّ من فرص إحداث تغيير فيه بتغيُّر الإدارات الأمريكية، حيث سيزداد الدعم الأمريكي من الحزبين الديمقراطي والجمهوري لتعزيز وتوطيد العلاقات بين الحليفين، إلى جانب تمييز الإمارات عن غيرها من حلفاء واشنطن الإقليميين الذين أصبحوا هدافاً لانتقادات المشرعين الأمريكيين. 

3. لعب الإمارات والقوى العربية دوراً مؤثراً في عملية السلام الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية. فبتعزيز معاهدة السلام التواصل مع إسرائيل على مستويات عدة، ستسمح المعاهدة الجديدة للقوى العربية بزيادة نفوذها داخل الولايات المتحدة للمساعدة في التخفيف من ممارسات الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، والانخراط مباشرة في عملية السلام بدلاً من الاكتفاء بدور هامشي في عملية السلام الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية.

4. مراعاة المصالح واعتبارات الأمن القومي في حال نجاح المرشح الديمقراطي جو بايدن في الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة، لا سيما مع توقعات بتولي مسؤولين سابقين بإدارة باراك أوباما ومن تفاوضوا مع إيران على الاتفاق النووي السابق مناصب عليا بالإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة، وتصاعد المؤشرات على عودة الولايات المتحدة إلى الاتفاق النووي السابق الذي تشترك إسرائيل والدول الخليجية والعربية في اعتباره ضعيفاً وغير فعَّال، حيث إن الاتفاقية الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية ستدفع الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة إلى أن تأخذ في الاعتبار بشكل أفضل مصالح الحلفاء الأمريكيين في المنطقة.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

  • مثَّلت معاهدة السلام المبرمة بين دولة الإمارات وإسرائيل تحولاً استراتيجياً في مسار العلاقات العربية-الإسرائيلية. ومن المرجَّح أن تتجاوز تداعيات هذه المعاهدة المسار الثنائي للعلاقات بين البلدين، لتؤثر على الواقع الاستراتيجي في الإقليم العربي/الشرق الأوسطي ككل. ويتوقَّع أن تُساعِد (أي المعاهدة) في تعميق حالة الارتباط بين منطقة الخليج العربي و"منطقة المركز" العربي/الشرق أوسطي، نظراً لزيادة حجم التفاعل والمعاملات السياسية والاقتصادية بين طرفي المعاهدة، وقد يترتب عليها تداعيات مهمة فيما يتعلق بالمحاور الاستراتيجية بالإقليم؛ فهي ستُسهِم في تقوية "محور الاعتدال" في المنطقة، والذي يضم إضافةً إلى دولة الإمارات كلاً من المملكة العربية السعودية ومصر والأردن، في مواجهة محور آخر راديكالي يضم قطر وتركيا وإيران إلى جانب بعض التنظيمات والفواعل "من دون الدولة"، وستدعم موقف دول محور الاعتدال بشأن طريقة إدارة الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي بشكل خاص، في مواجهة المحور الراديكالي، خاصة مع التزايد المحتمل لدور دولة الإمارات في مجال إدارة الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي بعد توقيع معاهدة السلام مع إسرائيل.
  • وفي الوقت الذي تُحقِّق معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية مصالح متبادلة لطرفيها المباشرين وكذلك للإدارة الأمريكية الحالية، فإنها تمنح دولة الإمارات والدول العربية المؤيدة لمسار السلام فرصة لتعزيز مصالحها داخل الولايات المتحدة، من خلال: تسريع عمليات حصول الإمارات على أسلحة أمريكية مُتقدِّمة، كطائرات إف-35 المتطورة، وزيادة دعم الأوساط الحزبية في الولايات المتحدة لتوطيد العلاقات الأمريكية-الإماراتية، كما ستسمح للقوى العربية بزيادة نفوذها داخل الولايات المتحدة على نحوٍ يتيح لها إمكانية الانخراط المباشرة في عملية السلام الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية بدلاً من الاكتفاء بدور هامشي فيها، علاوةً على إمكانية مراعاة المصالح الوطنية واعتبارات الأمن القومي في حال نجاح المرشح الديمقراطي جو بايدن في انتخابات نوفمبر المقبل.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

The Emirati-Israeli Peace Treaty: Potential Regional and Strategic Implications

EPC | 16 Sep 2020

The formal signing of the UAE-Israel peace treaty at the White House on 15 September 2020 marked a "historic moment", according to the description of US President Donald Trump, whose administration sponsored reaching this treaty. Accordingly, full diplomatic relations would begin between Abu Dhabi and Tel Aviv, and joint UAE and Israeli delegations would be involved in signing bilateral agreements in the fields of investment, tourism, communications, technology, civil aviation, health care and the environment.

This is the first US-sponsored Arab-Israeli peace treaty in nearly 25 years, that is, since Jordan signed the Wadi Araba treaty in 1994. It constitutes the culmination of a long path of rapprochement between the Arab and Israeli sides, which began since the conclusion of the Oslo Agreement between the Palestinians and the Israelis in 1993 and the following steps for rapprochement between the Arab and Israeli sides, the most important features of which emerged in the reciprocal opening of commercial offices between Gulf countries such as Qatar and the Sultanate of Oman and Israel in the 1990s, and the reciprocal opening by the Kingdom of Morocco and Israel of liaison offices in Rabat and Tel Aviv in late 1994, as well as Mauritania’s tendency to fully normalize diplomatic relations with the Israeli side and the exchange of ambassadors between the two countries in late 1999. However, this rapprochement path was disrupted by the faltering Camp David talks between the Palestinian and Israeli sides in 2000 and the subsequent developments.

Expected repercussions of the treaty for the Palestinian cause and the peace process

The implications of the peace treaty between the UAE and Israel can be read according to the following facts:

  • While the treaty marks the beginning of bilateral relations between the UAE and Israel, the main UAE demand for concluding the treaty was the cessation of the annexation of Palestinian territories, which comes in support of the Arab and international positions based on the two-state solution and the establishment of a Palestinian state with East Jerusalem as its capital.
  • The UAE affirmed that its role is to revive peace opportunities and pave the way for them. However, it stressed that the Palestinian and Israeli parties are the ones concerned with reviving the peace process, meaning that the UAE has not presented itself as an alternative to the Palestinians. Rather, the UAE continues to adhere to its position in support of the just Palestinian demand for the establishment of an independent state with East Jerusalem as its capital.
  • The UAE-Israeli peace treaty would remove the security and strategic burden that Jordan and Egypt could have suffered from if Israel had annexed more Palestinian territories.
  • The peace treaty between the UAE and Israel has managed to convince the US decision-maker of the need for the presence of Arab actors in the peace process, after the US administration had lately tended to marginalise the Arab role and proceed with unilateral agreements with Israel on an issue that is the focus of Arab attention, namely the Palestinian cause.

Post-treaty prospects: the emergence of a new collaborative and strategic environment in the region

According to the opinions of many, the peace treaty concluded between the UAE and Israel constitutes a "strategic shift" in the course of Arab-Israeli relations. The repercussions of this treaty would go beyond the course of bilateral relations between the two countries to influence the strategic reality in the Middle East as a whole. The most prominent expected strategic repercussions and implications of this treaty could be indicated as follows:

1. The rise of the "regional stability" trend

This treaty constitutes a victory for a trend that has existed in the Middle East for a long time. That trend advocates that expanding and deepening the extent of interactions between the parties to the Arab-Israeli conflict constitute the most important gateway to achieving stability in the region and reducing the chances of a clash between its parties. It is based on the arguments of many theories of international relations, mainly the Communication Theory of Karl Deutsch, and the arguments of both the functional and neo-functional theories. The essence of those theories is that the greater the volume of interactions between the political units in a given region, the greater the opportunities for building confidence between both the formal and informal political, economic and social elites, and the greater also the opportunities of forming common interests between those elites, especially in the field of political economy. This would lead in the long term to the formation of groups that advocate stability in the relations of the parties, and therefore stability in the region in general.

This trend also draws on historical experiences in some regions, especially Southeast Asia, which managed to neutralise the numerous conflicts and border disputes between its political units in favour of focusing on development and economic cooperation issues. In the ultimate analysis, this led to the creation of huge common interests among the countries of the region, which eventually contributed to limiting the opportunities for military conflict and building successful development experiences. The signing of the peace treaty between the UAE and Israel would constitute an important opportunity for this trend to once again advocate its arguments, especially given the economic weight of the UAE in the region.

2. Increasing the association between the Gulf region and the Middle East "centre"

This treaty is expected to contribute to deepening the association between the Arabian Gulf region and the heart of the Middle East. This would deepen the interaction between the various sub-components of the region. Historically, the Arabian Gulf region has enjoyed a degree of specificity and was relatively distant from the conflicts of the "centre region", predominantly the Arab-Israeli conflict. Many factors have contributed to perpetuating this specificity, including the nature of the political and economic systems in the Gulf region, and the variation in the priority order of the main threats. The Iranian threat has had a high priority for the Arabian Gulf region compared to the priority of other patterns of threat in the "centre region."

The peace treaty between the UAE and Israel would undoubtedly contribute to deepening the state of association between the Arabian Gulf region and the Arab/Middle Eastern "centre region", as a direct outcome of the increase in the volume of interaction and political and economic dealings between the two parties to the treaty. The chances of this transformation would become even greater if other countries in the Gulf region joined this direction, especially after the Kingdom of Bahrain joined the peace locomotive. While there are huge historical dealings between the UAE and a number of "centre" countries (some of which were direct parties to the Arab-Israeli conflict), the inauguration of a phase of intensive interaction between the UAE and Israel would undoubtedly deepen the volume of the Gulf's interaction and association with the centre region due to factors related to the peculiarity of Israel, as a principal party to the Arab-Israeli conflict, in addition to the horizons that would be opened by this treaty for political and security cooperation between the two sides. This would attach more weight to the issue of regional security in general, and the Arab-Israeli conflict and the Palestinian cause in particular, on the security agenda of the UAE and the Arabian Gulf region, turning them into important parties in managing this conflict and facilitating the paths of its settlement in a fair way.

3. Implications for the regional strategic axes

This treaty is expected to have important repercussions regarding the strategic axes in the region. in this connection, reference could be made to two important outcomes. First, the treaty would contribute to strengthening what has historically been known as the "axis of moderation" in the region which – in addition to the UAE – brings together Egypt, Saudi Arabia and Jordan, as opposed to another radical axis that mainly brings together Qatar and a number of non-Arab countries as well as some organisations and "sub-state" actors. The separation between those two axes took place over long years based on the positions of their respective parties on a number of important issues in the region, including the position on the Arab-Israeli conflict, given that a disagreement persists between the two sides over the mechanisms of managing that conflict. While the axis of moderation tended to give greater consideration to mechanisms of negotiation and direct dialogue, the opposite axis tended to rely on radical mechanisms, including violent, "sub-state" organisations.

In this sense, it could be asserted that the UAE’s accession to the countries that maintain "normal" relations with Israel would contribute to strengthening the "axis of moderation" in general, and the position of the countries of this axis regarding the way to manage the Arab-Israeli conflict in particular, in the face of the radical axis, especially with the potential increase in the role of the UAE in the field of managing the Arab-Israeli conflict after the signing of the peace treaty with Israel.

Second, the treaty is expected to increase the opportunities for UAE-Israeli cooperation and coordination with regard to the Iranian threat, both in terms of the specificity of this threat for countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) in general, and for the UAE in particular, especially in light of Iran's occupation of islands belonging to UAE sovereignty, and the priority given by Israel to the Iranian threat in recent years. The Gulf-Israeli coordination with regard to the Iranian threat would also contribute to deepening the security interdependence between the Gulf region and the "centre" region, given the specificity of this "threat" for both sides, which would increase the scope of ​​the Gulf-Israeli security consensus.

4. Launching new paths for regional economic and technical cooperation

The peace treaty between the UAE and Israel could establish strong relations between the two sides in qualitative areas such as the economy, trade, medicine, health, and technology in general, and information and communications technology (ICT) in particular, as well as cooperation in the field of seaports. This would be facilitated by a number of factors, mainly:

  • The UAE is not a direct party to the Arab-Israeli conflict, despite its strong and unconditional support for Palestinian rights. The absence of common borders between the two sides reduces the degree of sensitivity in developing their relations in those areas.
  • The nature of the UAE as a "cosmopolitan" country (a country that is founded on respect for cultural and religious diversity and pluralism, and the capability to accommodate this diversity and benefit from it). This unique "cosmopolitan" nature in the region provides a basis for openness on the one hand, and a decline in the opportunities of resistance to sectoral cooperation between the UAE and Israel, on the other hand.
  • The absence of extremist and violent religious organisations in the UAE, which is an important additional factor that contributes to facilitating sectoral cooperation between the UAE and Israel. The presence of those organisations in many other Arab countries has contributed to blocking this cooperation over the past decades, due to the success of those organisations in the religionisation of the Arab-Israeli conflict.
  • The increase in the number of non-traditional threats, which creates wide opportunities for cooperation between the two sides. The Covid-19 pandemic constitutes an important model in this field, in addition to other challenges such as climate change. This is also facilitated by the important Israeli experience in a number of those areas.

In addition to the opportunities of bilateral cooperation, there are important opportunities for tripartite or collective cooperation between the UAE, Israel and other parties from outside the Arab world, such as China, India, and others. The opportunities of this cooperation increase against the background of the UAE's strong relations with those countries in the economic and technical fields, especially the field of energy and renewable energy. In this connection, bilateral cooperation could be extended to cover a wide list of fields, through the mechanism of "joint projects", both at the level of investments and research activities.

Opportunities to advance UAE and Arab interests with the US

While the UAE-Israel peace treaty would achieve the mutual interests of its two direct parties as well as of the current US administration, the Palestinian cause, the security and stability of the Middle East, and the possibility of opening new horizons for regional cooperation on various tracks, it would also provide the UAE and the Arab states that support the peace track with an opportunity to advance their interests within the US, the most important superpower in today's world, as follows:

1. Accelerating the UAE's acquisition of advanced US weapons. The process of buying US weapons usually requires between six and eight years. In addition, it requires the approval of the US Congress, given that the next US administration could backtrack on it in the event that Trump loses the presidential elections that will be held on 3 November 2020. Despite the US commitment to ensuring Israel’s qualitative military superiority in the Middle East to preserve its security, that commitment is waived if the country that will acquire the US weapons has a peace agreement with Tel Aviv. After Egypt and Jordan signed peace treaties with Israel, they were able to acquire advanced US weapons in light of the non-opposition by US lawmakers from the Republican and Democratic parties in both the House of Representatives and the Senate to the US arms deals with the two countries.

2. Increasing partisan support for the consolidation of US-UAE relations. The UAE-Israeli agreement would increase the strength of the alliance between the US and the UAE, which would limit the chances of introducing a change to it with the change of US administrations. US support from both the Democratic and Republican parties would increase for strengthening and consolidating relations between the two allies. In addition, the UAE would be distinguished from Washington’s other regional allies who have become the targets of criticism by US lawmakers.

3. The UAE and the Arab powers would play an influential role in the Palestinian-Israeli peace process. By strengthening communication with Israel at several levels, the peace treaty would enable the Arab powers to increase their influence within the US to help reduce the practices of the Israeli occupation, and to directly engage in the peace process instead of settling for a marginal role in the Palestinian-Israeli peace process.

4. Taking into account the interests and national security considerations in the event that the Democratic candidate Joe Biden wins in the 2020 presidential elections, especially in view of the expectations that former officials in the Barack Obama administration and those who negotiated with Iran on the previous nuclear deal would assume high-ranking positions in the new US administration, and mounting indications that the US would return to the previous nuclear agreement which is jointly considered by Israel and the Gulf and Arab states as weak and ineffective. The UAE-Israeli agreement would drive the new US administration to attaching more importance to the interests of the US allies in the region.

Conclusion

  • The peace treaty concluded between the UAE and Israel constitutes a strategic shift in the course of Arab-Israeli relations. The repercussions of this treaty are likely to go beyond the bilateral track of relations between the two countries so that it would affect the strategic reality in the Arab/Middle East region as a whole. The treaty is expected to help deepen the state of association between the Arabian Gulf region and the Arab/Middle Eastern "centre" region, given the increase in the volume of political and economic interaction and dealings between the two parties to the treaty. It may also have important repercussions with regard to the strategic axes in the region, considering that it would contribute to strengthening the "axis of moderation" in the region which brings together – in addition to the UAE – the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Jordan, in the face of another radical axis that brings together Qatar, Turkey and Iran, along with some organisations and sub-state actors. The treaty would also support the position of the countries of the axis of moderation on the way to manage the Arab-Israeli conflict in particular, in the face of the radical axis, especially with the potential increase in the role of the UAE in the field of managing the Arab-Israeli conflict after the signing the peace treaty with Israel.
  • While the UAE-Israel peace treaty would achieve the mutual interests of its two direct parties as well as of the current US administration, it would provide the UAE and the Arab states that support the peace track with an opportunity to advance their interests within the US, through accelerating the acquisition by the UAE of advanced US weapons such as the advanced F-35 fighters, and increase the support by US partisan circles for strengthening the US-UAE relations. It would also allow Arab powers to increase their influence in the US in a way that would allow them to directly engage in the Palestinian-Israeli peace process instead of settling for a marginal role therein, in addition to the possibility of taking into account national interests and national security considerations in the event that Democratic candidate Joe Biden wins the November 2020 elections.

Latest Featured Topics