التوتر الروسي التركي في شمال غرب سوريا: أسبابه واحتمالاته

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 13 فبراير 2020

تتعرض العلاقات الروسية التركية لاختبار قاسٍ، حيث يهدد التوتر المتصاعد بينهما في إدلب وأرياف حلب بتقويض التعاون والتنسيق بين الطرفين على أكثر من جبهة في سوريا، فقد أحدثت التطورات العسكرية الأخيرة تحولاً خطيراً في قواعد الاشتباك بين الطرفين، وفتحت الباب أمام احتمالات حقيقية لجر الطرفين إلى اشتباكات مباشرة. وينطلق الطرفان من مواقف متناقضة في تبرير تصرفاتهما، حيث تعتبر تركيا أن الهجوم السوري المدعوم من قبل روسيا على إدلب وأرياف حلب يدفع نحو مليون سوري إلى حدود تركيا بما يهدد الأمن القومي التركي، في الوقت الذي تتمسك فيه روسيا بتطبيق اتفاق سوتشي الذي يُلزم تركيا بتفكيك التنظيمات المتطرفة، فضلاً عن عدم التزام تركيا بتسليم الطرق الدولية لنظام الأسد.

تسلط هذه الورقة الضوء على التطورات العسكرية الحاصلة في إدلب وأرياف حلب، ومدى تأثيرها في مشهد الصراع السوري، واستشراف مآلاتها وانعكاساتها على العلاقات التركية الروسية، والملف السوري بالإجمال.

التصعيد السوري-الروسي-الإيراني

 بدأت القوات العسكرية السورية، والميليشيات الإيرانية الحليفة لها، بدعم جوي روسي، هجوماً على مناطق سيطرة المعارضة في شمال غرب سوريا، في ديسمبر 2019، وكان الهدف المعلن تحرير الطريق الدولي "إم 5" الذي تم الاتفاق على تسليمه للحكومة السورية ضمن اتفاق سوتشي الموقَّع بين روسيا وتركيا في عام 2018، وهو الاتفاق الذي قضى بتشكيل منطقة منزوعة السلاح حول الطريق الدولي، إلا أن تركيا لم تنفذ الاتفاق، بالنظر إلى سيطرة هيئة تحرير الشام (جبهة النصرة سابقاً) على غالبية المنطقة المشمولة بالاتفاق.

وتَركَّز الهجوم "الثلاثي" على ريف إدلب الجنوبي والجنوبي الشرقي، وريف حلب الجنوبي الغربي المجاور، حيث يمر الطريق الدولي "إم 5" الذي يصل مدينة حلب بالعاصمة دمشق، ويعبر مدناً رئيسة عدة من حماة وحمص وصولاً إلى الحدود الجنوبية مع الأردن.

وشهدت العملية تغييراً في المعادلة الاستراتيجية بعد سيطرة القوات السورية على مدينة معرة النعمان في ريف إدلب الجنوبي في 29 يناير 2020، ثم سيطرتها في 8 فبراير على سراقب التي تُشكل نقطة التقاء بين الطريق الدولي "إم 5" والطريق الدولي "إم 4" الذي يربط بين الساحل والشرق السوري، إضافة إلى قربها من مركز مدينة إدلب، فضلاً عن أن السيطرة عليها تُهدّد بعزل مناطق سيطرة المعارضة، وخاصة في أريحا وجسر الشغور وجبل الزاوية.

وقد دفعت هذه التطورات تركيا إلى إرسال تعزيزات عسكرية لوقف تقدم القوات السورية وحلفائها، وبناء أربع نقاط مراقبة شمال سراقب لم يتم الاتفاق عليها مع الطرف الروسي، الذي اتفق مع الأتراك سابقاً على بناء 12 نقطة مراقبة. وقد استهدفت القوات السورية نقاط المراقبة التركية في سراقب ما أدى إلى مقتل 6 جنود، وردت تركيا بقصف مواقع القوات السورية في أكثر من مكان.

ومع تقدم القوات السورية في مناطق ريفي إدلب وحلب، قامت تركيا بتعزيز مواقعها بإرسال تعزيزات عسكرية، بلغت حسب إحصاءات المرصد السوري لحقوق الإنسان أكثر من 1400 آلية عسكرية، شملت معداث ثقيلة كالدبابات وعربات مدفعية، ونشر نحو ستة آلاف جندي، في مواقع بين سراقب ومركز مدينة إدلب، في سيرمين ومطار تفتناز ومعسكرات المسطومة وطلائع البعث. وقامت القوات السورية باستهداف مطار تفتناز وقتل خمس جنود أتراك، على خلفية محاولات فصائل المعارضة، مدعومة بقوات المشاة التركية، استعادة بعض المناطق التي سيطرت عليها قوات النظام في سراقب.

فشل المفاوضات الروسية-التركية

أرسلت روسيا، في 8 فبراير، وفداً تفاوضياً برئاسة نائب وزير الخارجية السفير سيرغي فيرشينين، وبرفقته ألكسندر لافرنتييف المبعوث الخاص للرئيس الروسي إلى سوريا، وترأس الوفد التركي نائب وزير الخارجية السفير سادات أونال، وقد عرض الوفد الروسي اتفاقاً محدَّثاً يرتكز على إعادة رسم منطقة خفض التصعيد خلف الطرق الدولية، لكن الوفد التركي رفض العرض، وغادر الوفد الروسي دون تحقيق أي نتيجة.

وعلى وقع تصاعد العمليات بين تركيا والقوات الروسية، عاد الوفد الروسي في 10 فبراير، ولم ينتج عن اللقاء الثاني أي تفاهم، حيث رفض الوفد الروسي المطالب التركيّة المتعلّقة بانسحاب القوات السورية إلى خلف نقاط المراقبة على حدود اتفاق "سوتشي"، مؤكّداً أن العمليات العسكرية في إدلب ستستمر إلى "حين القضاء على الإرهاب".

خريطة السيطرة

 انحسرت مناطق سيطرة المعارضة في شمال غرب سوريا التي تضم نحو ثلاثة ملايين سوري، بعد التمدد الأخير لقوات النظام، فقد خسرت المعارضة ما نسبته 35% (نحو 600 كلم مربع) من المناطق التي كانت خاضعة لسيطرتها خلال العملية العسكرية الأخيرة. ومع تزايد المؤشرات على توسع القوات السورية نحو جبل الزاوية وجسر الشغور بريف إدلب الشمالي الغربي، فإن قسماً كبيراً من مناطق إدلب مُهدد بالسقوط، إلى جانب ما تبقى من ريف اللاذقية الشمالي.

أما في أرياف حلب المتصلة بإدلب، فإن القوات السورية تقترب من بسط سيطرتها على كامل ريف حلب الجنوبي، فيما تتجه أنظار ها إلى ريف حلب الغربي، وذلك لزيادة تأمين نطاق مركز مدينة حلب. وتُعتبر جبهات حلب من الجبهات الاستراتيجية للمعارضة، حيث يشكل وجودها فيها نقطة قوة، بسبب قربها من مركز مدينة حلب، ويَعتبرها البعض خاصرة رخوة للنظام.

وتُعد العديد من هذه المناطق ذات أهمية استراتيجية، إما لأنها تشكل عقدة مواصلات، مثل سراقب، او لاحتوائها على تلال ومرتفعات، مثل العيس في ريف حلب، وتكمن أهميتها في كونها تسهل عمليات السيطرة على مناطق أخرى، وتجعل الكثير منها ساقطاً عملانياً.

ورغم وجود نقاط مراقبة تركية في هذه المناطق، إلا أن أغلبها، ونتيجة الحصار، أصبح بلا فاعلية عسكرية، ويأتي إنشاء تركيا للمزيد من نقاط المراقبة بهدف رفع سقف التفاوض مع روسيا لمنعها من اجتياح مركز مدينة إدلب.

دوافع وأهداف روسيا

يمكن القول إن ما دفع روسيا إلى التصعيد العسكري في ريفي إدلب وحلب مجموعة من العوامل، من أهمها:

  1. فشل الوساطة الروسية بين تركيا والنظام السوري التي قامت بها روسيا، عبر جمع رؤساء المخابرات في البلدين (حقان فيدان وعلي مملوك) في 13 يناير في موسكو، بهدف فتح قنوات للعلاقات بينهما. ويُشكل الهجوم على مناطق إدلب محاولة لإجبار تركيا على التعاون مع النظام أمنياً وعسكرياً، لتنسيق علاقات الجيشين على خطوط التماس.
  2. فقدان التعاون الروسي والتركي في سوريا ضرورته بعد أن استنفد بوتين كل فوائده، ولم يعد لتركيا فائدة مهمة في سوريا بنظر روسيا، بعد تراجع مناطق الاشتباك والقتال في سوريا إلى ما يقارب 2%، وتحديداً فيما تبقى من إدلب. ولطالما اعتبرت روسيا التنسيق بين الطرفين في سوريا مرحلياً تُمليه ساحات الاشتباك، فالطرفان لديهما حسابات متناقضة ورؤى مختلفة حول طبيعة الحل العسكري في إدلب، ومستقبل الحل السياسي في عموم سوريا.
  3. استغلال روسيا حالة العزلة التي تعيشها تركيا، ومناخ العداء من قبل أطراف كثيرة، وهو ما يجعلها بموقف ضعيف وبحاجة دائمة إلى روسيا، الأمر الذي يجعل روسيا ترفض التعامل الندي التركي، وتُجبرها على تقديم تنازلات مؤلمة في سوريا. ويؤشر على هذا الأمر انقطاع الاتصالات بين بوتين وأردوغان، وجميع الاتصالات التي جرت بينهما منذ أشهر كانت بطلب ومبادرة وإلحاح من أردوغان.

وتهدف روسيا من التصعيد الميداني في شمال غرب سوريا إلى تحقيق الآتي:

  1. استباق بوتين لنضوج تفاهمات تركية-أمريكية قد تشكل ضغطاً عليه في سوريا، وبالتالي يسعى عبر الهجوم على مناطق نفوذ تركيا في إدلب إلى إضعاف أوراقها وتحويلها بلا فائدة في أي تفاهمات أمريكية.
  2. إلزام تركيا بقبول سوتشي جديد يأخذ في الاعتبار التحولات الميدانية والعسكرية، ومنها ضرورة سحب نقاط المراقبة التركية من المنطقة.
  3. الضغط باتجاه إلْزام قوى المعارضة السورية بقبول الوضع الميداني والعسكري الجديد لترجمته وتجييره إلى طاولة مفاوضات سياسية جديدة تلزم بقبول الحد الأدنى.

دوافع وأهداف تركيا

أما بالنسبة إلى تركيا، فإن ما دفعها إلى الرد على التصعيد الروسي-السوري، ما يأتي:

  1. اعتقاد تركيا أن تصرفات روسيا في سوريا تنطوي على قدر كبير من عدم احترام لها كضامن، وخاصة مسألة قضم المناطق وعدم احترام الهدن بين الطرفين، الأمر الذي يُحرج تركيا ويظهرها بمظهر الضامن الذي لا يمتلك أياً من أوراق القوة.
  2. ارتباك السياسة الخارجية التركية التي تحاول إظهار تركيا على أنها قوى مهيمنة في الإقليم، فيما هي تتعرض لإهانات متواصلة من جانب روسيا في سوريا، الأمر الذي سيكون له انعكاساته في ملفات أخرى وخاصة ليبيا؛ فتركيا الضعيفة والمهانة في سوريا، لن تتعامل معها القوى الإقليمية والدولية لا في ليبيا ولا في صراعاتها في البحر المتوسط بشكل جدي.
  3. تُشكل قضية اللجوء رعباً لدى حكومة حزب العدالة والتنمية، واحتمال دخول أعداد كبيرة من السوريين لتركيا نتيجة العمليات العسكرية في إدلب، سيزيد من ارتباك الحكومة في إدارة ملف اللاجئين الذي سبب لها أزمات داخلية، في ظل بيئة داخلية تركية رافضة للجوء السوري. وحتى الآن نزح نحو 586 ألف شخص من مناطق التصعيد في إدلب وحلب في اتجاه مناطق لا يشملها القصف قرب الحدود التركية، وفق الأمم المتحدة، وتعد موجة النزوح هذه بين الأكبر منذ اندلاع النزاع العام 2011.

وتتمثل أهداف الطرف التركي في الآتي:

  1. تقوية يد تركيا في المفاوضات المقبلة، وإجبار الروس على العودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات، خصوصاً أن خطوات تركيا تأتي عقب الإعلان عن فشل مفاوضات منع تقدم النظام في إدلب، ونعْي مسار أستانا، كما أتت بعد مقررات اجتماع مجلس الأمن القومي التركي قبل أيام الذي أكد على اتخاذ إجراءات أوسع لحماية المدنيين في إدلب.
  2. فرض بعض الشروط على روسيا، وخاصة ما يتعلق الأمر بمنطقة نفوذ جديدة على الشريط الحدودي شمال محافظة إدلب، بما يخلق اتصالاً برياً يمتد من ريف حلب الشمالي، ومنطقة عفرين، وصولاً إلى أبعد ما يمكن غرباً.
  3. نقل الأزمة إلى داخل سوريا، عبر اتخاذ القرار بمنع عبور قوات النظام السوري لغرب الطرق الدولية، وتشكيل ما يشبه منطقة آمنة (عسكرية) عريضة واسعة في المنطقة؛ الأمر الذي قد يدفع روسيا إلى القبول بتشكيل منطقة آمنة على الشريط الحدودي.

الدور الأمريكي

يؤشر اندفاع تركيا وجرأتها في التصادم مع روسيا إلى وجود دور أمريكي مساند، فمن المعلوم أن تركيا كانت في السابق تحاسب أي فصيل يتجاوزها، خوفاً من الاصطدام بروسيا، وقد استندت روسيا على الخوف التركي لقضم مساحات واسعة من مناطق المعارضة، والتحلل من جميع تفاهماتها مع تركيا، لكن ما الذي تغير.

وتؤكد مصادر المعارضة السورية دخول الأمريكيين على خطّ الصراع في إدلب، ومحاولتهم سحب تركيا من تفاهماتها مع روسيا، واستعادة التنسيق معها بشكل أكبر في ما يخصّ شمال غرب سوريا. وهنا من المهم الإشارة إلى فحوى الرسالة التي حملها الممثل الأمريكي للشأن السوري، جيمس جيفري إلى أنقرة، وذلك على خلفية هجوم روسيا وحلفائها المستمر على إدلب، فقال جيفري: "لقد أوضحنا لأردوغان عدة مرات بأن جهوده لعقد صفقات مع الروس في شمال شرق سوريا وشمال غرب سوريا، لن تجدي نفعاً، وأنا بنفسي قلت له: لا يمكنك الوثوق ببوتين. وها هو بنفسه يرى نتائج ذلك الآن ".

يرجع سبب الاهتمام الأمريكي إلى وجود مصلحة أمريكية في إلْهاء الروس في إدلب أطول وقت ممكن ليتسنى ترتيب إجراءاتهم شرق الفرات، ولإقناع الروس أنهم طرف مؤثر في أي مستقبل للصراع وتسويته في سوريا ويجب عدم تجاوزهم.

وبالرغم من تصريحات وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو التي أدان فيها التصعيد السوري-الروسي-الإيراني وأكد حق تركيا في الرد على مقتل جنودها الستة، إلا أن محللين أتراك يعتبرون أنه لا يمكن الرهان على الأمريكيين، وأن لا معطيات صلبة عن موقف أمريكي داعم لتركيا في سوريا، وأن انقرة تستفيد من الموقف الأمريكي المنتقد لروسيا ونظام الأسد، إلا أنها تتعامل بحذر مع طبيعة هذا الدعم.

السيناريوهات المحتملة بالنسبة لمستقبل الصراع في شمال غرب سوريا

السيناريو الأول: توصُّل الطرفين إلى تفاهمات جديدة بشروط محدثة، وقد كشفت وسائل الإعلام التركية أن الرئيس بوتين اقترح على أردوغان أثناء المكالمة الهاتفية التي جرت بينهما بطلب من أردوغان، رسم خطوط تماس جديدة، وفصل المعتدلين عن المتطرفين في شمال غربي سوريا. ورغم ممانعة تركيا، ومطالبتها بانسحاب قوات النظام من المناطق التي احتلتها مؤخراً، إلا أن هذا الخيار يبدو مناسباً لأنه سيُظهر تركيا بمظهر الطرف المؤثر الذي اضطُرت روسيا لأخذ موقفه في الاعتبار.

وبالنسبة لروسيا، فإنها تفضل سياسة القضم بالتدريج، وهي لا ترغب في الدخول في معركة دامية في إدلب في الوقت الراهن، لحاجتها إلى تثبيت مواقعها التي سيطرت عليها، كما تدرك أن إدلب بعد شبه الحصار الذي بات مطبقاً عليها، وانكشاف خطوط دفاعها، أصبح وضعها هشاً.

هذا السيناريو هو الأكثر قرباً للتطبيق، وخاصة مع بدء الطرفين، روسيا وتركيا، محادثات سياسية لإيجاد حل للأزمة؛ ما يعني وجود قابلية لتقبل الحلول الوسط بينهما.

السيناريو الثاني: إكمال القوات السورية الهجومَ بدعم روسي؛ إذ تؤشر التحركات العسكرية إلى أن روسيا ليست في صدد إنهاء عملية إدلب والخضوع للابتزاز التركي. وما يشجع روسيا على استكمال هذا المسار، حقيقة انهيار فصائل المعارضة وهزيمتها تحت ضربات القوات السورية المدعومة روسياً، وهي بنظر الروس فرصة لا يجوز تفويتها مع احتمال تغير المعطيات، إذا صدقت التحليلات التي تقول بإمكانية دخول الولايات المتحدة على خط مساعدة الفصائل المسلحة.

ويدعم هذا السيناريو الأطراف العسكرية والمخابراتية الروسية، التي تضغط على بوتين لإنهاء الملف السوري وتحجيم دور تركيا إلى أبعد الحدود، وهي أطراف تُكن العداء لتركيا منذ حرب الشيشان التي دعمت فيها تركيا المتمردين الشيشانيين في حربهم مع روسيا.

السيناريو الثالث: دخول الجيش التركي إلى إدلب وضم أجزاء واسعة منها، على غرار ما حدث في عفرين ومناطق شمالي سوريا، وذلك استباقاً لسيطرة الأسد على هذه المنطقة، ويعزز هذا الاحتمال التجهيزات التركية الكبيرة في مناطق الحدود السورية، وحديث تركيا المتكرر عن إقامة منطقة آمنة.

هذا السيناريو محتمل في حال فشل المفاوضات مع روسيا في الوصول إلى حل يأخذ مصالح تركيا في الاعتبار، ورغم أنه يشكل مخاطرة نظراً لأن احتمالية الصدام مع روسيا ستكون كبيرة في هذه الحالة، إلا أن تركيا ستجد نفسها مضطرة للإقدام عليها بذريعة الحفاظ على أمنها القومي الذي سيتهدد نتيجة موجات اللجوء الكبيرة نتيجة تقدم قوات الأسد.

خلاصات واستنتاجات

يُدير الطرفان الروسي والتركي لعبة معقدة وقاسية في سوريا. فبالنسبة لتركيا، تبدو خياراتها أكثر صعوبة، نظراً لفارق القوّة بينها وبين روسيا، بالإضافة إلى ذلك ترتبط تركيا بعلاقات اقتصادية مهمة مع روسيا، التي تعتبر المورّد الأكبر للطاقة، غير أن تركيا مجبرة على إبراز الصلابة في هذه المواجهة للحفاظ على هيبتها كقوّة إقليمية، لذا فإن خياراتها تنحصر بين مواصلة إرسال مزيد من القوات وخوض القتال، أو قبول الهزيمة وتحمل تداعياتها المتمثلة بلجوء مئات آلاف السوريين إلى تركيا. وتتمثل تفضيلات تركيا بإقامة منطقة آمنة في إدلب تشمل مركز المدينة إلى الحدود التركية، والحفاظ على العلاقات مع روسيا وخاصة في مجال الطاقة.

أما بالنسبة لروسيا، فإنها أمام خيارات ضاغطة في سوريا، وهي ترى أن المشكلة أبعد من تركيا، وتتعلق بوضع روسيا كلاعب دولي في مواجهة لاعبين كبار بحجم الولايات المتحدة، وبنفس القدر تواجه روسيا خيارات ليست سهلة في تصعيد التوتر مع تركيا، وخاصة مع تطور العلاقات الثنائية الاقتصادية والتجارية وحتى العسكرية، والتي جعلت روسيا تدرك أن تركيا رصيدٌ مهم واختراقٌ لا غنى عنه للجبهة الغربية المعادية لروسيا. وتقع خيارات روسيا بين الاستمرار في التصعيد وإنهاء ملف إدلب، والتفرغ لمناطق شرق الفرات، التي باتت تحتل أولوية أساسية بالنسبة لروسيا، أو انتظار الحسم لظروف أخرى، والاتفاق مع تركيا على ترتيبات جديدة. وتفضل روسيا إنهاء الحرب السورية، وإجراء تسوية سياسية تأخذ في الاعتبار وضعها كأقوى طرف فاعل في الأزمة السورية.

 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Russia-Turkey Tension in Northwestern Syria: Causes and Trajectories

EPC | 13 Feb 2020

Russian-Turkish relations are put to a hard test these days. The escalating tension between the two sides in Syria's Idlib province and the countryside of Aleppo threatens to undermine bilateral cooperation and coordination on more than one front in war-ravaged Syria. Recent military developments have brought about a dangerous shift in the rules of engagement between the two parties, and have opened the door for potential direct confrontation. This is particularly true as both countries embrace contradictory positions in justifying their actions. On the one hand, Turkey believes that the Russia-backed Syrian army onslaught on Idlib and the countryside of Aleppo will push about a million Syrians to Turkey's borders, threatening Turkish national security. In turn, Russia is sticking to the implementation of the Sochi Agreement, which obliges Turkey to dismantle extremist organizations, as well as Turkey's lack of commitment to handing over control over international roads to the Assad regime.

This paper highlights the military developments taking place in Idlib and the countryside of Aleppo, and their impact on the Syrian conflict. It also tries to explore the trajectories of these developments and their implications for Turkish-Russian relations in particular and the Syrian issue in general.

Syrian-Russian-Iranian Escalation

In December 2019, Syrian regime forces and their allied Iranian militias launched, under Russian air support, an offensive on opposition-held areas in northwestern Syria. The stated objective was to liberate the international road (M5) that had been agreed to be handed over to the Syrian government as part of the Sochi Agreement signed between Russia and Turkey in 2018. This agreement provided for the establishment of a demilitarized zone around the international road, but Turkey did not implement the agreement, given the fact that the Hayat Tahrir al-Sham (formerly Al-Nusra Front) retained control over the majority of the area covered by the agreement.

The tripartite agreed focused on the southern and southeastern countryside of Idlib, and the adjacent southwestern countryside of Aleppo, where the international road "M5", which links the city of Aleppo with the capital Damascus, passes through several main cities, including Hama and Homs, down to the southern border with Jordan.

The operation took a strategic shift after the Syrian regime forces took control of the city of Maarat al-Numan in the southern countryside of Idlib on January 29, 2020, and then on February 8, they controlled Saraqib, which connects both the "M5" and "M4" highways linking Syria's east with its Mediterranean coast. The city of Saraqib is also distinguished by its proximity to the city center of Idlib, and the fact that taking control over Saraqib threatens to isolate opposition-held areas, especially in Ariha, Jisr Al-Shughour and Jabal Al-Zawiya.

These developments have prompted Turkey to send military reinforcements to stop the advancement of the Syrian forces and their allies, and to build four observation points north of Saraqib that have not been agreed upon with the Russians, who had previously agreed with the Turks to build 12 observation points. The Syrian forces targeted the Turkish observation points in Saraqib, killing 6 Turkish soldiers. In turn, Turkey responded by bombing the positions of the Syrian forces in more than one location.

As the Syrian forces continued to advance in Idlib and Aleppo countryside, Turkey strengthened its positions by sending military reinforcements. According to the Syrian Observatory for Human Rights, Turkey dispatched more than 1,400 military vehicles, including tanks and artillery batteries. It has also deployed about 6,000 soldiers, in locations between Saraqib and Idlib city center, in Sirmin, Taftanaz Airport, Al-Mastumah and Tala'a Al-Baath camps. The Syrian forces targeted Taftanaz airport and killed five Turkish soldiers, after armed opposition groups, supported by Turkish infantry forces, attempted to retake some areas held by the regime forces in Saraqib.

The Failure of Russian-Turkish Negotiations

On February 8, Russia sent a negotiating delegation headed by Deputy Foreign Minister Sergey Vershinin, accompanied by Alexander Lavrentiev, the Russian President's special envoy to Syria, to negotiate with Turkey. At the table, the Turkish delegation was headed by Deputy Foreign Minister Ambassador Sedat Onal. The Russian delegation offered an updated agreement based on redrawing the de-escalation zone behind international highways, but the Turkish delegation rejected the offer, and the Russian delegation left without achieving any result.

As escalation between Turkish and Russian forces continued to mount on the ground, the Russian delegation returned on February 10 for another round of talks which also hit a dead-end. The Russian delegation rejected the Turkish demands regarding the withdrawal of the Syrian forces behind the observation points as provided for in the "Sochi" Agreement, stressing that the military operations in Idlib will continue until "the elimination of terrorism."

Map of Control

A large chunk of opposition-controlled areas in northwestern Syria, which are home to about three million Syrians, has been lost to Syrian regime forces. The opposition lost 35% (about 600 square kilometers) of areas that were under its control until the recent military operation. With the increasing indications that the Syrian forces have advanced towards Jabal Al-Zawiya and Jisr Al-Shughour in the northwestern countryside of Idlib, a large swathe of Idlib is now threatened with collapse, along with the rest of the northern Latakia countryside.

In Aleppo’s countryside, which is connected to Idlib, the Syrian forces are close to extending their control over the entire southern countryside of Aleppo, while their sights are turning to the western countryside of Aleppo, in order to further boost the security of the city center of Aleppo. The Aleppo fronts are of strategic importance to the opposition, which sees these areas a strength given their proximity to the center of the city, and some consider them a vulnerable point in the regime's control.

Many of these areas are of strategic importance, either because they constitute a crossroads for transportation, such as Saraqib, or because of their strategic hills and highlands, such as Al-Eis in the countryside of Aleppo. The importance of these areas lies in the fact that they pave the way for controlling other regions, and render many of them fallen militarily.

Although Turkish observation posts exist in these areas, most of them, as a result of the blockade, have become ineffective in military terms. In the same context, Turkey wants to establish more observation points with the aim of raising the ceiling of negotiations with Russia to prevent the latter from invading the city center of Idlib.

Russia's Motives and Goals

It can be said that what prompted Russia to escalate military operations in the countryside of Idlib and Aleppo is a set of factors, the most important of which are:

  1. The fact that the Russian mediation between Turkey and the Syrian regime that Russia undertook, by bringing together the intelligence chiefs of the two countries (Hakan Fidan and Ali Mamluk) on January 13 in Moscow, with the aim of opening two-way channels, failed. The attack on the Idlib region constitutes an attempt to compel Turkey to cooperate with the Syrian regime, both on security and military issues, and establish coordination between the two armies on the front lines.
  2. The fact that Russia believes its coordination with Turkey in Syria is no longer relevant or important after the war in Syria has become limited to only 2 percent of Syrian territory, particularly what is left of Idlib. Russia has always considered coordination between the two parties in Syria interim necessitated by the battlefields. The two countries maintain contradictory and different visions about the nature of the military solution in Idlib, and the future of the political solution throughout Syria.
  3. The fact that Russia is taking advantage of Turkey's current isolation and hostility with many parties, which puts Ankara in a weak position and in constant need of Russia. These facts also pushed Russia not to deal Turkey as an equal party and to force it to make painful concessions in Syria. This is evidenced by the interruption of communications between Putin and Erdogan, and the fact all the contacts that took place between the two leaders months ago were at the request of Erdogan.

By pursuing military escalation in northwestern Syria, Russia seeks to achieve the following:

  1. Russian President Putin seeks to preempt any Turkish-American understandings that may put pressure on him in Syria, and thus strives, by attacking Turkey's spheres of influence in Idlib, to weaken its bargaining chips and render them useless in any understanding with the U.S.
  2. Force Turkey to accept a new Sochi agreement that takes into account field and military transformations, including the need to withdraw Turkish observation points from the region.
  3. Press the Syrian opposition forces to accept the new field and military reality and use it at a new political negotiation table that requires the parties to accept the minimum.

Turkey’s Motives and Goals

As for Turkey, what prompted it to respond to the Russian-Syrian escalation is the following:

  1. Turkey believes that Russia’s actions in Syria involve a great deal of disrespect for it as a guarantor, especially land seizure and lack of respect for the agreements between the two parties, which embarrasses Turkey which appears as a guarantor who does not possess any power card.
  2. The fact that Turkey is running a confused foreign policy trying, on the one hand, to introduce Turkey as a dominant power in the region, but on the other hand, it continues to receive non-stop rebuffs from Russia in Syria. This matter will have repercussions on other issues, especially Libya. Turkey, which is weak and humiliated in Syria, will not be dealt with by regional and international powers neither in Libya nor in its conflicts in the Mediterranean seriously.
  3. The asylum and refugee issue is "terrifying" for the AKP government. The potential inflow of large numbers of Syrian refugees to Turkey as a result of the military operations in Idlib will exacerbate the Turkish government's confusion in managing the refugee issue which has already had its toll on the Turkish internal front and stirred anti-refugee sentiment. So far, about 586,000 people have been displaced from the de-escalation areas in Idlib and Aleppo towards areas not targeted by the ongoing operations near the Turkish border, according to the United Nations. This wave of displacement is among the largest since the outbreak of the conflict in 2011.

Turkey seeks to achieve the following:

  1. Strengthen its position in any upcoming negotiations, and to force the Russians to return to the negotiating table. These Turkish steps come after the talks designed to halt the Syrian regime's forces advancement in Idlib have failed and the fact the Astana Track is now a matter of the past. They also underline the decisions taken by the Turkish National Security Council a few days ago, which called for broader measures to protect civilians in Idlib.
  2. Impose some conditions on Russia, especially with regard to a new area of influence on the border strip north of Idlib province, to create a land connection that extends from the northern countryside of Aleppo, to the Afrin region, and as far as possible to the west.
  3. Throw the crisis back to Syria, by taking the decision to prevent the Syrian regime forces from crossing international roads to the west, and establish a broad and safe (military) zone in the region, which could push Russia to accept the establishment of a safe zone on the border strip.

U.S. Role

Turkey's rush and audacity to clash with Russia indicates a supportive U.S. cover. It is well known that Turkey used, in the past, to keep its allies under check, fearing a clash with Russia. But Russia has utilized the Turkish fear to bite off large swaths of opposition areas, and to break down all of its understandings with Turkey.

Syrian opposition sources confirm a U.S. involvement in the conflict in Syria and that the U.S. is trying to push Turkey to abandon its understandings with Russia, and to restore U.S.-Turkey coordination in northwestern Syria. Here, it is important to note the message that James Jeffrey, the US special representative for Syria, delivered to Ankara, against the backdrop of Russia and its allies' ongoing onslaught on Idlib. Jeffrey said: "We have made it clear to him [Erdogan], however, that his efforts to try to work deals with the Russians in the northeast, in the northwest, all the way to President Erdogan – we, including I, have told him you cannot trust Putin, and he’s seeing the results of that right now."

The U.S. has an interest in distracting the Russians in Idlib as long as possible, so it can finalize the necessary arrangements in the east of the Euphrates, and to convince the Russians that they are an influential party in any future settlement in Syria.

Despite US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo's condemnation of the Syrian-Russian-Iranian escalation and his assertion of Turkey's right to respond to the killing of its six soldiers, Turkish analysts believe that the Americans cannot be relied upon, and that there are no solid facts of a U.S. support to Turkey in Syria. However, the analysts point out that Ankara may utilize a U.S. position critical of Russia and the Assad regime, but it must deal with caution with this kind of support.

The Conflict in Northwestern Syria: Future Scenarios

The First Scenario: The two countries agreeing on new understandings under updated terms. In this context, Turkish media outlets have revealed that President Putin suggested to Erdogan during a phone conversation made at the request of Erdogan, to draw new lines of contact, and to separate the moderates from the extremists in northwestern Syria. Despite Turkey's reluctance, and its demand for the withdrawal of the Syrian regime forces from the areas they occupied recently, this option seems appropriate because it will introduce Turkey as the influential party that Russia was forced to take into consideration.

As for Russia, it favors a policy of a gradual land control and it does not seek to enter a bloody battle in Idlib at the present time, because it needs to secure the positions that it controlled. It also realizes that Idlib, now under a semi-blockade from all sides, and the exposure of its defense lines, has become fragile.

This scenario is the most likely, especially as the two sides, Russia and Turkey, begin political talks to find a solution to the crisis, which means there is a possibility for compromises.

The Second Scenario: The Syrian forces pressing ahead with the Idlib offensive under Russian support. Military movements on the ground indicate that Russia is not about to end the attack on Idlib and submit to Turkish blackmail. What encourages Russia to continue to go down this road is the fact that the opposition factions collapsed and were defeated under the Russian-backed Syrian strikes. This, for the Russians, is an opportunity not to be missed given the possibility that the U.S. might join the conflict and extend a helping hand to the armed factions of the Syrian opposition.

This scenario is further supported by the fact that Russian military and intelligence services continue to pressure Putin to end the Syrian conflict and minimize Turkey's role as much as possible. Those official maintain hostility to Turkey since the Chechen war, in which Turkey supported the Chechen rebels in their war with Russia.

The Third Scenario: The Turkish army entering Idlib and annexing large parts of it, similar to what happened in Afrin and northern Syria, in an effort to preempt the Assad's control of this area. This prospect is supported by the large Turkish reinforcements on the borders with Syria, and Turkey's repeated demand for a safe zone in that area.

This scenario is possible if negotiations with Russia fail to reach a solution that takes Turkey's interests into consideration. Although it poses a gamble, given that the possibility of a clash with Russia will be significant in this case, Turkey will find itself compelled to take it under the pretext of preserving its national security, which will be threatened by the major waves of asylum as a result of the Assad forces advance into Idlib.

Conclusions

The Russian and Turkish sides are entangled in a complex and hard game in Syria. For Turkey, its options appear more difficult, given the difference in the balance of power with Russia. In addition, Turkey has important economic ties with Russia, which is Turkey's largest energy supplier. But still, Turkey finds itself required to show strength in this confrontation to maintain its prestige as a regional power. Therefore, Turkey's options are limited to continuing to send more troops and fight or accept defeat and bear the repercussions of hundreds of thousands of Syrian refugees crossing the borders to Turkey. Accordingly, Turkey is pursuing the establishment of a safe zone in Idlib that includes the city center near the Turkish border, and, at the same time, seeks to maintain relations with Russia, especially in the energy domain.

As for Russia, it faces pressing options in Syria. Moscow believes that the problem is not about Turkey, but rather about Russia's standing as an international player vis-a-vis super powers like the United States. Equally, Russia could not easily and conveniently escalate with Turkey, given the fact that bilateral ties, whether economic or military, have evolved, a fact that made Russia aware that Turkey is an important asset and an indispensable partner that can be used to penetrate the anti-Russian Western front. Russia's options include continuing the escalation and ending the Idlib battle in order to move to another priority region, the east of the Euphrates, or strike an agreement with Turkey on new arrangements. Russia prefers ending the Syrian war and making a political settlement that takes into account its status as the strongest actor on the Syrian arena.

 

Latest Featured Topics