العودة إلى آليات الاتفاق النووي: المحاولات الأمريكية لمنع حصول إيران على حق التسلُّح بموجب الاتفاق

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 20 مايو 2020

من المقرر أن يشهد أكتوبر المقبل نقطة نهاية الحظر المفروض على تجارة الأسلحة التقليدية مع إيران بموجب البند الخامس من الملحق الثاني للاتفاق النووي، والذي يقضي بمنع جميع البلدان من التجارة بهذه الأسلحة مع إيران، على أن يستمر هذا الحظر لخمسة أعوام بعد يوم تطبيق الاتفاق النووي؛ حيث تنتهي الأعوام الخمسة في أكتوبر 2020. وقد بدأت المناورات السياسية من جانب مختلف أطراف الاتفاق تتكاثر هذه الأيام، إذ تبدو المواقف متعارضة بين الإدارة الأمريكية وشركاء الاتفاق فيما يتعلق بإنهاء الحظر المفروض علي إيران.

كان هذا البند إلى جانب بنود أخرى (منها البند الثالث من الملحق الثاني) من أهم الأسباب في قرار الإدارة الأمريكية الانسحاب من الاتفاق النووي. وقد عاد إلى الواجهة الآن، بعد أن تحدثت مصادر أن الإدارة الأمريكية تبحث عن طرق قانونية وفق الاتفاق النووي (وآلية فضّ الخلاف المطروحة في الاتفاق) لمنع إيران من الحصول على هذا المكتسب، ممّا أثار جدلًا واسًعا لدى مختلف الأطراف.

أهمية البند الخامس من الملحق الثاني للاتفاق النووي

اعتبرت الحكومة الإيرانية، على لسان مختلف مسؤوليها، ومن ضمنهم الرئيس حسن روحاني، البند الخامس من الملحق الثاني من الاتفاق النووي واحدًا من أهم إنجازاتها، ونقطة قوّة لصالح إيران في الاتفاق النووي. وعلى هذا الأساس استندت الحكومة في محاولتها إقناع القوى المُحافِظة، مثل الحرس الثوري، ومؤسسة بيت القائد خامنئي بالالتزام بالاتفاق، على الرغم من انسحاب الإدارة الأمريكية منه. وبالفعل فإن البند يكتسب أهمية واضحة في تغيير موازين القوى، والتأثير على المشهد السياسي الأمريكي والإقليمي على حد سواء، بحيث:

  1. يفتح البند أمام إيران إمكانية شراء وبيع مختلف الأسلحة التكتيكية، من مقاتلات ودبابات ومدفعيات ثقيلة وطائرات عمودية مقاتلة وسفن بحرية وأنظمة صواريخ، وفق قائمة منظمة الأمم المتحدة للأسلحة التقليدية. وقد أظهرت إيران رغبتها في الحصول على بعض أنواع هذه الأسلحة مع انتهاء صلاحية هذا البند، معظمها من روسيا والصين؛ إذ كان القائد السابق لبحرية الجيش قد أشار إلى رغبة إيران في شراء مقاتلات "سوخوي 30"، وإنشاء مصنع لدبابات "تي-90" الروسية، وصواريخ أرض-جو، وأرض-أرض. أما بالنسبة للصواريخ الباليستية، فإن الملحق الثاني من الاتفاق النووي، والذي أكده القرار 2231 الصادر عن مجلس الأمن، شدد على أن إيران ممنوعة من تجربتها حتى أكتوبر من عام 2023. وبينما يشكك كثيرون في أن تستطيع إيران الحصول على مثل هذه الأسلحة التقليدية، ليس بسبب وجود معارضة دولية لذلك فحسب، وإنما بسبب الضيق الذي تعانيه على صعيد المصادر المالية اللازمة لمثل هذه الصفقات التي تقدر مصادر أن تبلغ كلفتها نحو 8 مليارات دولار، إلا أن إيران التي أظهرت عزمًا متواصلًا للحصول على هذه الصفقة على مرّ الأعوام الماضية يمكن أن تحل مشكلة السيولة اللازمة لمثل هذه الصفقات عبر سُبُل بديلة؛ منها إشراك الصين وروسيا في تطوير حقول النفط، أو عبر الاستناد إلى مصادر البنك المركزي الإيراني من العمولة لدى بنوك هذين البلدين؛ مما يفتح أمامها الإمكانية اللازمة للحصول على تلك الأسلحة.
  2. يمكن اعتبار هذا الأمر نكسة عامة للإدارة الأمريكية التي تواجه انتخابات رئاسية في غضون شهر على انتهاء صلاحية البند المذكور. وستعمل هذه النكسة على تكثيف الهجوم الديمقراطي على قرار ترمب الانسحاب من الاتفاق النووي، بوصفه قرارًا لم يؤد إلى خضوع إيران لمفاوضات شاملة، بل على العكس حرم الولايات المتحدة من استخدام إمكانات الاتفاق لردع التسلح الإيراني. هذا في حين أن انتهاء صلاحية البند الخامس، يمثل نكسة من حيث أنها تعيد أية مفاوضات مستقبلية بين إيران والولايات المتحدة إلى نقطة الصفر.
  3. في حين استطاعت الضغوط الاقتصادية الناجمة عن العقوبات الأمريكية بشكل خاص، وتصعيد اللهجة الأمريكية حيال إيران تحت إدارة ترمب بوجه عام، كبح جماح القوات العسكرية الإيرانية في الخليج وبحر عمان بشكل كبير، وخَفْض وتيرة تحديث السلاح البحري والجوي في هذا البلد، فإن قائمة الأسلحة التي نشرتها مصادر مقربة من روسيا وإيران (من ضمنها طائرات "سوخوي 30" وطائرات "ياك 130" الحربية، ومروحيات "ميل مي-8"، و"مي-17"، ودبابات "تي-90"، ونظام "باستيون" (Bastion) الصاروخي المضاد للسفن المستخدم لصواريخ "بي-800 أونيكس"، وغواصات وفرقاطات روسية حديثة) يمكن أن يخل بهذا التوازن، ويمنح إيران اليد العليا في مياه الخليج وبحر عمان، لينعكس بشكل سلبي على أمن دول الخليج.

كل ذلك من شأنه أن يقدم تفسيرًا لارتفاع وتيرة التحرك الأمريكي الذي بدأه وزير خارجية الولايات المتحدة منذ عدة أشهر للتصدي لهذا البند، لمنع إيران من إمكانية الحصول على أسلحة حديثة.

وإذا تركزت جهود الولايات المتحدة حتى الآن على دفع شركائها الأوروبيين باتجاه الانسحاب من الاتفاق النووي، بغية انهياره قبل أكتوبر المقبل (وهو ما حصلت بوادره حين أعلن الثلاثي الأوروبي أنه سينسحب من الاتفاق في حال استمرار تنصُّل إيران من التزاماتها بموجب الاتفاق، دون أن يترجم قولهم على صعيد الفعل) وعلى دفع البلدان الأوروبية نحو تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف، بوصفها منفذاً يتيح القضاء على فرص إيران في بلوغ أجل أكتوبر 2020، عبر إعادة كل العقوبات الدولية التي أنهاها القرار 2231 (وهو كذلك ما أظهرت البلدان الأوروبية تحركا باتجاهه، تحت وطأة الضغوط الاقتصادية الأمريكية قبل أن يتم تجميد هذا التحرك بفعل جهود ألمانيا وجهاز الاتحاد الأوروبي) فإن مجموعة مواقف الإدارة الأمريكية خلال الأسبوعين الماضيين تظهر تغييرًا في المنهجية؛ إذ من الواضح أن الإدارة الأمريكية تنوي هذه المرة استخدام موقعها في القرار 2231 (بوصفها أحد الموقعين على القرار)، وموقعها في مجلس الأمن من أجل رفع دعوى ضد إيران بانتهاك التزاماتها بموجب اتفاق أقرَّه قرار أممي (وإذا كان انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من الاتفاق يمنعها من تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف، فإن موقعها في القرار 2231 يخولها بالاعتراض على انتهاك إيران لالتزاماتها بموجب الاتفاق).

ورفض مسؤولون إيرانيون، منهم وزير الخارجية، محمد جواد ظريف، إمكانية استناد الإدارة الأمريكية إلى آلية فض الخلاف، وإمكانيات الاتفاق النووي الأخرى لطرح الموضوع، مؤكدًا أن الولايات المتحدة لم تعد شريكًا من شركاء الاتفاق، لتحق لها إمكانية الاستناد إلى آلية فض الخلاف. ووسط صمت صيني، فإن الموقف الروسي كان واضحًا في رفض إمكانية استناد الولايات المتحدة إلى هذه الآلية. أما على الصعيد الأوروبي، فإن منسق السياسة الخارجية في الاتحاد، جوزيب بوريل، رفض أن تكون الولايات المتحدة عضوًا في الاتفاق النووي، ممّا يمكنها من استخدام آلياته، إلّا أن الثلاثي الأوروبي أكّد أن الولايات المتحدة يمكنها طرح الموضوع في مجلس الأمن بوصفها عضوًا دائمًا في هذا المجلس، فيما أشار بومبيو إلى أن المقترح الأمريكي لا يهدف إلى العودة إلى الاتفاق النووي (وهو اتفاق مرفوض أمريكيًا، ويعاني مشاكل جمّة حسب قوله) وإنما يهدف إلى استخدام إمكانية القرار 2231 نفسه الذي تعدّ الولايات المتحدة أحد الموقعين عليه.

هذا في حين أشارت مصادر إلى أن الإدارة الأمريكية تعمل على رفع مشروع قرار إلى مجلس الأمن يقضي بتمديد فترة الحظر المفروض على مبيعات الأسلحة لإيران، ليتضح أن الولايات المتحدة تحاول اختبار عدة سيناريوهات متزامنة، لمنع إيران من الحصول على حقوق التجارة بالأسلحة في أكتوبر 2020.

ماذا يلوح في الأفق؟ الخطوات المتاحة للأمريكيين ومدى احتمال نجاحها

تبين متابعة المواقف على الجانب الأمريكي، أن إدارة ترمب تحاول تكثيف جهودها على عدة محاور بغية الحصول على طريقة لتجميد البند الخامس:

  1. تظهر المواقف الأمريكية في الآونة الأخيرة أن الولايات المتحدة حاولت إثارة موضوع مشاركتها في الاتفاق النووي؛ إذ أعلن مسؤولون أمريكيون أن الولايات المتحدة يحق لها العودة إلى طاولة الاتفاق النووي، لأن أي قرار لم يُنهِ مشاركتها في هذا الاتفاق. وفي حال الاقتناع باستمرار عضوية الولايات المتحدة في الاتفاق النووي، فإن ذلك يفتح أمامها إمكانية تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف، وإحالة ملف الانتهاكات الإيرانية لمجلس الأمن. وبموجب الاتفاق النووي والقرار 2231 الأممي، فإن عودة العقوبات في هذه الحالة لا يمكن أن يعارضه استخدام روسي أو صيني لحق النقض في مجلس الأمن. ورغم أن هذه الرؤية يمكن أن تجنب الولايات المتحدة مواجهة حق النقض الروسي أو الصيني المحتمل، إلا أنها تبدو مستبعدة في ظل إجماع أطراف الاتفاق النووي، بمن فيهم الأطراف الأوروبية، على أن الولايات المتحدة لم تعد من المشاركين في الاتفاق النووي بعد الإعلان الرسمي للانسحاب منه في مايو 2018.
  2. في ظل صعوبة الحل السابق، تركزت جهود إدارة الرئيس ترمب على التحرك باتجاه انتزاع قرار من مجلس الأمن، بوصفها عضوًا دائمًا فيه، يدين انتهاكات إيران للقرار 2231، ويعيد فرض العقوبات التي أكدتها قرارات أممية سابقة (من ضمنها القرارات 1737 و1747 و1835 و1929) أو يفرض عقوبات تؤجل البند الخامس من الاتفاق النووي، حتى أمد طويل. ووفق هذا التحرك فإن الولايات المتحدة، ورغم خروجها من الاتفاق النووي، تعتبر عضوًا موقعًا على القرار 2231 الصادر عن مجلس الأمن، ومن هذا المنطلق، يحق لها تقييم التزام الجانب الإيراني ببنود القرار 2231 (وليس ببنود الاتفاق النووي). ويؤكد مختلف الأطراف، ومنهم منسق السياسة الخارجية في الاتحاد الأوروبي، ومسؤولون أوروبيون آخرون، حق الولايات المتحدة في استخدام موقعها في كل من مجلس الأمن، والقرار 2231، لمحاولة انتزاع قرار من مجلس الأمن، يقوم بتمديد الحظر على تجارة الأسلحة مع إيران، كما يؤكد خبراء إيرانيون ذلك. وفي ظل التجارب الصاروخية التي قامت بها إيران في الفترة الماضية، وأهمها إطلاق قمر "نور" الصناعي، باستخدام صاروخ "قاصد" الباليستي (والذي يمكن اعتباره انتهاكًا للبند الثالث من المحلق الثاني للاتفاق النووي؛ إذ يقضي بمنع إيران من تجربة صواريخ باليستية في غضون ثمانية أعوام على تطبيق الاتفاق النووي) فإن المناخ الغربي يبدو منسجمًا مع الإرادة الأمريكية في انتزاع مثل هذا القرار. إلّا أن انتزاع قرار من مجلس الأمن بهذا الصدد، وخلافا لآلية فض الخلاف، يواجه خطر استخدام حق النقض، وهو أمر واردٌ جدًا في ظل الظروف الراهنة (إذ في ظل الصمت الصيني، فإن روسيا أعلنت بوضوح أنها لا ترى التجربة الإيرانية الأخيرة انتهاكا للقرارات الأممية).
  3. الطريقة الثالثة الذي جربتها الولايات المتحدة خلال الأشهر الماضية، هي دفع الجهات الأوروبية متمثلة في الثلاثي الأوروبي، وجهاز الاتحاد الأوروبي، باتجاه تصعيد الموقف، وتطبيق آلية فض الخلاف. وقد أخفقت هذه المحاولات الأمريكية التي استخدمت فيها ضغوطا اقتصادية بسبب مقاومة ألمانيا، والاتحاد الأوروبي؛ مما أدى إلى تجميد المحاولات الأمريكية. إلّا أن هذه الطريقة، ورغم المقاومة التي لقيتها، تبقى الطريقة الأكثر احتمالًا في تمديد الحظر على تجارة الأسلحة مع إيران، في ظل انخفاض احتمالات نجاح الحلّين السابقين.

الاستنتاجات العامة

أظهرت المحاولات الأمريكية خلال الفترة الماضية، وضوح الغاية المتمثلة في السعي نحو تمديد حظر تجارة الأسلحة مع إيران، وغياب المنهج الموحد لبلوغ هذه الغاية (نتيجة عدة أسباب منها تعدُّد المراكز المؤثرة على القرار الأمريكي حيال هذه القضية). واستنادًا إلى الإمكانات التي يقدمها الاتفاق النووي لكل الجهات، وإمكانات، ومحددات الولايات المتحدة بوصفها عضوًا في مجلس الأمن، يمكن الإشارة إلى النقاط التالية:

  • على الرغم من كل المحاولات الأمريكية لاستخدام الإمكانات التي يقدمها الاتفاق النووي، إلا أن احتمالات أن تستطيع الولايات المتحدة تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف، بوصفها عضوًا مشاركًا في الاتفاق النووي منعدمة، في ظل إجماع كامل بين أطراف الاتفاق على انسحاب الإدارة الأمريكية منه. ولذلك تبدو جهود الولايات المتحدة في تفسير القرار 2231، بما يتيح لها تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف استنادًا إلى القرار، وليس إلى الاتفاق غير مجدية أيضًا. وهو ما يدفع الإدارة الأمريكية إلى استخدام موقعها في مجلس الأمن، لاقتراح مشروع قرار على مجلس الأمن، يقضي بفرض حظر طويل الأمد على تجارة الأسلحة مع إيران. ولذلك، تحتاج الولايات المتحدة إلى الحصول على صوت أغلبية الأعضاء في مجلس الأمن شريطة ألا يواجه نقضًا من روسيا والصين. وإذا كانت الولايات المتحدة تستطيع الحصول على غالبية الأصوات في مجلس الأمن، إلا أنه من الواضح أن مثل هذا القرار سيواجه جدارًا روسيًا أو صينيًا.
  • في ظل استحالة صدور قرار أممي جديد، فإن إمكانات الاتفاق النووي، متمثلةً في آلية فض الخلاف، هي المنفذ الوحيد إلى تمديد أجل الحظر المفروض على تجارة الأسلحة التقليدية مع إيران، دون التعثر بعقبة حق النقض الروسي أو الصيني. ومن شأن ذلك، أن يقلب الموازين في كل الجهات؛ إذ ستحاول الإدارة الأمريكية دفع البلدان الأوروبية إلى البقاء ضمن الاتفاق النووي، بدلًا من محاولاتها السابقة دفعهم للخروج منه، وذلك على أمل أن تتمكن واشنطن من إقناع حلفائها الأوروبيين بتطبيق آلية فض الخلاف؛ بينما ستحاول إيران وروسيا دفع هذه البلدان نحو الخروج من الاتفاق النووي، دون أن يعني ذلك انهيار الاتفاق بكامله.
  • أظهر منحى التطورات أن الإدارة الأمريكية تحاول دفع البلدان الأوروبية نحو تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف. كما تظهر الوقائع إخفاق محاولاتها، بسبب مقاومة من داخل الاتحاد الأوروبي، تحول دون اتخاذ موقف موحد من الجانب الأوروبي. إلا أن ذلك لا يعني نهاية الآمال في استخدام هذا المنفذ؛ إذ لا يعتبر الاتفاق النووي الجهات الأوروبية الموقعة على الاتفاق جهة واحدة، بل يعتبرهم شركاء مستقلين. ويعني ذلك أن الولايات المتحدة، وإن فشلت في تعبئة الصوت الأوروبي كله، إلا أنها ما زالت قادرة على تحريك صوت أحد الأعضاء على الأقل، لضمان تطبيق آلية الزناد، فيما تبدو بريطانيا، هي الحليف الأقرب للعب مثل هذا الدور في ظل التقارب الواضح بين إدارة بوريس جونسون وإدارة ترمب. ورغم وجود صعوبات جمة أمام هذه الخطة (متمثلة في ضغوط من الشركاء الأوروبيين وروسيا والصين) إلا أن استخدام الورقة البريطانية تظل الورقة المتاحة الوحيدة التي يمكنها تمرير المطالب الأمريكية دون مواجهة عقبة حق النقض الروسي أو الصيني في مجلس الأمن.

السيناريوهات

منطلق السيناريوهات: تأتي مختلف السيناريوهات في ظل الاستنتاجات العامة التي عرضت في هذه الورقة، وانعكاساً لتلك الاستنتاجات، ويمكن تقسيمها إلى سيناريوهات ضعيفة، وأخرى أكثر احتمالاً. أما السيناريوهات الضعيفة، فهي تلك السيناريوهات التي تفترض أن الولايات المتحدة تستطيع انتزاع قرار جديد من مجلس الأمن، يفرض حظرًا طويل الأمد على تجارة الأسلحة مع إيران، أو تستطيع تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف (آلية الزناد) باعتبار واشنطن عضوًا موقعًا على القرار 2231. ورغم كل الجهود الأمريكية، إلا أن هذه السيناريوهات تبدو مستحيلةً في ظل إجماع على عدم مشاركة الولايات المتحدة في الاتفاق، وفي ظل احتمال استخدام حق النقض من جانب روسيا والصين، لإجهاض أي قرار جديد بهذا الشأن، إلا إذا استطاعت الولايات المتحدة إقناع البلدين باتخاذ موقف محايد ضمن التصويت المفترض، وهو ما يبدو احتمالاً بعيدًا. أما السيناريوهات الأكثر احتمالًا فهي:

السيناريو الأول: الولايات المتحدة تدفع بريطانيا نحو تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف؛ يتوقع هذا السيناريو أن تستطيع الولايات المتحدة تطبيق آلية فض الخلاف، ليس بنفسها، وإنما عبر شركائها الأوروبيين. وإذا كان احتمال أن تستطيع الولايات المتحدة تعبئة كل الأصوات الأوروبية وراء قرار تطبيق آلية الزناد صعبًا (رغم أنه ليس مستحيلاً، إذا أخذنا بالحسبان الظروف الناجمة عن التطورات الجديدة والضغوط الأمريكية) فإن لجوء الإدارة الأمريكية إلى حليفها الأقرب من بين الجهات الأوروبية المشاركة في الاتفاق، أي بريطانيا، يمكن أن يفتح الطريق أمام تطبيق الآلية. هذا السيناريو الذي يُجنِّب المشاركين عقبة حق النقض الروسي والصيني استناداً إلى آليات الاتفاق النووي وبنوده، ويفترض أن تقوم بريطانيا بالمطالبة بتطبيق الآلية، على أن تعود القرارات الأممية التي أنهاها القرار 2231 حاملةً معها عقوبات طويلة المدى على تجارة الأسلحة مع إيران. وفي ظل هذا السيناريو يمكن تصوُّر حلّ وسطي، يتمثل في خضوع كل من روسيا والصين لقرار تمديد الحظر على تجارة الأسلحة التقليدية مع إيران، لتجنُّب عودة كامل القرارات السابقة على القرار 2231.

السيناريو الثاني: تنجح إيران في إبقاء الاتفاق النووي حتى أكتوبر 2020؛ ويفترض أن تستطيع إيران المماطلة، وكسب مزيد من الوقت، وإبقاء الاتفاق النووي قائمًا حتى أكتوبر المقبل، لينتهي بعد ذلك الحظر على تجارة الأسلحة. بعدها تستطيع إيران وفق هذا السيناريو استخدام طرق مالية بديلة، والحصول على أسلحة روسية (وأخرى صينية) متطورة تستطيع أن تحدث تغييرًا ملموسًا في موازين القوى بين إيران ودول الخليج، خصوصًا أن العقود التي تحاول إيران الحصول عليها، تفترض حصول إيران على تقنيات متطورة لإنتاج الدبابات والطائرات. إلا أن هذا السيناريو الذي تحاول إيران تحقيقه جاهدةً، يواجه عدّة عقبات؛ منها ضغوط أمريكية، وأوروبية، واحتمال فرض عقوبات على روسيا في حال زودت إيران بتلك الأسلحة، كما أن العقوبات التي تحد من انتقال الأموال بين إيران والعالم، يمكن أن تشكل عقبة أخرى على طريق هذا السيناريو، لكنها لا تنهي احتمالاته.

السيناريو الثالث: سيناريو وسطي؛ يعتبر هذا السيناريو حلًا وسطًا للقضايا العالقة؛ إذ يفترض أن تتنازل إيران عن خطواتها التصعيدية المتمثلة في التنصل عن التزاماتها المنصوص عليها في الاتفاق النووي، مقابل التزام شركائها الأوروبيين بالاتفاق، والالتزام بتعويض إيران بقدر معقول عن خروج الولايات المتحدة من الاتفاق. ويمكن أن نفترض ضمن هذا السيناريو عودة الولايات المتحدة إلى الاتفاق النووي، مقابل تطوُّع إيراني بتأجيل فتح الأبواب أمام مبيعات السلاح. وقد ألمحت الحكومة الإيرانية إلى رغبتها بهذا السيناريو؛ ما دفع نوابًا في البرلمان الإيراني إلى المطالبة بجلسة مغلقة لمناقشة هذه الرغبة. ويواجه السيناريو عقبات بدوره تتمثل في احتمال معارضة تيارات محافظة، تخشى مناقشة ملف الأنشطة الصاروخية تحت يافطة هذا الحل، كما أنه يواجه معارضة أمريكية محتملة، بسبب تركه بعض القضايا عالقة، بما يتعارض مع رؤية الولايات المتحدة في تحقيق الحل الشامل. إلّا أنه يبقى سيناريو مرغوباً به من شركاء إيران في الاتفاق النووي، ومن جهات داخل النظام الإيراني.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Returning to the Mechanisms of the Nuclear Agreement: US Attempts to Prevent Iran from Obtaining the Right to Weapons under the Agreement

EPC | 20 May 2020

In October 2020, the ban on trade in conventional weapons with Iran imposed under article 5 of Annex II of the nuclear agreement — which prohibits all countries from trading in such weapons with Iran — will come to an end. The ban was scheduled to last for five years from the day that the agreement came into effect, ending in October of this year. The various parties to the agreement are ramping up their political maneuvers, however, as the US administration and the remaining parties to the agreement appear to hold incompatible positions regarding the end of the embargo.

Disagreement on this article, among others (including article 3 of Annex II), was one of the key factors in the US administration’s decision to withdraw from the nuclear agreement. The issue has now returned to the forefront. According to sources, the US administration is looking for legal avenues available to it under the nuclear agreement (and the dispute mechanism provided for therein) through which it could prevent Iran from obtaining conventional weapons, which has sparked widespread controversy among the parties to the agreement.

The importance of article 5 of Annex II of the nuclear agreement

According to various Iranian officials, including President Hassan Rouhani, the Iranian government considers article 5 of Annex II of the nuclear agreement to be one of its key achievements and a point in its favor. The Iranian government has therefore attempted to persuade conservative forces in the country, such as the Revolutionary Guard and Supreme Leader Khameini, to uphold the agreement despite the US withdrawal. The article clearly has important implications for the balance of power and for US and regional politics:

  1. Once the embargo has been lifted, Iran will be able to buy and sell various types of tactical weapons, including fighter jets, tanks, heavy artillery, combat helicopters, naval ships, and missile systems, according to the United Nations’ list of conventional weapons. Iran has indicated its desire to obtain some such weapons once the embargo is lifted, primarily from Russia and China; the former commander of the Iranian navy himself stated that Iran wished to purchase Sukhoi Su-30 fighter jets and to build a factory to produce Russian T-90 tanks and surface-to-air and surface-to-surface missiles. However, both Annex II of the nuclear agreement and resolution 2231 of the UN Security Council prohibit Iran from testing ballistic missiles until October 2023. Many observers doubt that Iran will be able to obtain such weapons, owing not only to international opposition, but also to the fact that Iran lacks the financial resources required to make such purchases, which sources have estimated to value around $8 billion. Nonetheless, in recent years Iran has proven its determination to complete such a deal, and it may be able to resolve its liquidity crisis through alternative means, including by partnering with China and Russia to develop its oil fields or by drawing on the stocks of currency held by the Central Bank of Iran in Chinese and Russian banks, which would allow it to purchase the desired weapons.
  2. The issue poses a general setback for the US administration, which must contend with presidential elections the month after the embargo expires. This setback will fuel Democratic criticism of Trump’s decision to withdraw from the nuclear agreement, on the grounds that the decision failed to push Iran into comprehensive negotiations, instead having merely deprived the USA of the ability to use the agreement’s provisions to deter Iranian armament. Once the embargo expires, any future negotiations between Iran and the USA will have to start again from square one.
  3. While economic pressure resulting from US sanctions in particular, and the escalation of US actions against Iran under the Trump administration in general, have managed to significantly curb Iranian military forces in the Gulf and the Sea of Oman and to reduce the pace of modernization of Iran’s naval and land arsenal, if Iran were to obtain the list of weapons published by sources close to Russia and Iran (which include Sukhoi Su-30 and Yak-130 fighter jets, Mil Mi-8 and Mil Mi-17 helicopters, T-90 tanks, the Bastion coastal defense missile system used with P-800 Oniks missiles, and modern Russian submarines and frigates) it could upset the status quo and give Iran the upper hand in the waters of the Gulf and the Sea of Oman, which would undermine the security of the Gulf States.

Such considerations would explain the rapid efforts launched several months ago by the US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo to address the issue of article 5 with a view to preventing Iran from obtaining modern weaponry.

Thus far, US efforts have focused on encouraging its European partners to withdraw from the agreement in order to force its collapse before October 2020, and while the three European States parties to the agreement announced that they would withdraw if Iran continued to ignore its obligations under the agreement, they have yet to take any concrete action. US efforts have also focused on encouraging the European States to implement the dispute resolution mechanism as a way of eliminating Iran’s chances of seeing the end of the embargo in October 2020, by returning to the international sanctions lifted by resolution 2231. Initially the European States seemed to be moving in this direction in response to US economic pressure, but such action was stymied by Germany and the European Union. Over the past two weeks, however, the US administration appears to have adopted a new tack. It has become clear that the US administration now intends to use its position as one of the signatories to resolution 2231 and as a member of the Security Council to bring a case against Iran for violating its commitments under an agreement approved by UN resolution. While the USA’s withdrawal from the agreement prevents it from triggering the dispute resolution mechanism, its position with regard to resolution 2231 authorizes it to object to Iran’s violation of its commitments under the agreement.

Iranian officials, including the Minister of Foreign Affairs Mohammad Javad Zarif, have rejected suggestions that the US administration could use the dispute resolution mechanism or other possibilities provided for under the agreement to address the issue, stressing that, as the USA is no longer party to the agreement, it is no longer entitled to use such mechanisms. While China has remained silent on the issue, Russia has also voiced clear opposition to the USA using the mechanism. Although EU representative for foreign affairs Josep Borrell also reiterated that the USA was no longer a member of the agreement and therefore could not use the mechanisms provided in it, the European trio have affirmed that the USA is entitled to raise the issue within the Security Council as it is a permanent member. Pompeo has indicated that the USA does not intend to return to the agreement, stating that the agreement contained serious flaws and that the USA could not accept it. According to Pompeo, the USA intends to instead make use of the options provided for by resolution 2231, to which it is a signatory.

Sources have also indicated that the US administration is attempting to bring a draft resolution before the Security Council to extend the ban on arms sales to Iran. It is therefore clear that the USA is simultaneously testing various options aimed at preventing Iran from obtaining arms trading rights in October 2020.

What is on the horizon? The options available to the USA and the likelihood of their success

Analysis of US positions on the issue shows that the Trump administration is intensifying its efforts on various fronts in order to achieve a freeze on article 5:

  1. The USA has attempted to raise the issue of its participation in the nuclear agreement, with US officials declaring that the USA is entitled to return to the agreement as no decision has yet been made to end its participation. If the United States were still considered party to the agreement, it could resort to the dispute resolution mechanism and could refer the issue of Iranian violations to the Security Council. In that event, according to the nuclear agreement and resolution 2231 neither Russia nor China could use their veto within the Security Council to oppose the return of sanctions. Although this would allow the USA to circumvent a potential Russian or Chinese veto, this outcome is unlikely to occur, given that the remaining parties to the agreement, including the European States, agree that the USA is no longer party to the agreement following the official announcement of its withdrawal in May 2018.
  2. Given those obstacles, the Trump administration has instead focused on using its position as a permanent member of the Security Council to pass a Security Council resolution condemning Iran’s violations under resolution 2231 and reimposing either the sanctions provided for in previous UN resolutions (including resolutions 1737, 1747, 1835, and 1929) or sanctions to postpone the implementation of article 5 for a significant period. Despite having withdrawn from the nuclear agreement, the USA remains a signatory to resolution 2231; as such, the USA is entitled to assess Iran’s implementation of the resolution’s provisions (but not those of the nuclear agreement). Various parties, including the EU representative for foreign affairs and other European officials, as well as Iranian experts, have confirmed that the USA is entitled to use its position in relation to the Security Council and resolution 2231 to attempt to push through a Security Council resolution to extend the arms embargo with Iran. Following Iran’s recent missile tests, most notably the launch of the Noor satellite using a ballistic Qased missile (which could be considered a violation under article 3 of Annex II of the agreement, which stipulates that Iran must not commit any ballistic missile tests for eight years following the implementation of the agreement), the Western powers seem to support the USA’s efforts to extract such a resolution from the Security Council. Unlike the dispute resolution mechanism, however, this tactic faces the risk of a Russian or Chinese veto, which is very likely under the current circumstances (while China has remained silent on the issue, Russia has made it clear that it does not view the recent Iranian tests as a violation of any UN resolutions).
  3. The third route that the USA has attempted to pursue in recent months is to push Europe, represented by the European trio and the European Union, into escalating the situation and implementing the dispute resolution mechanism. Thus far, attempts to use economic pressure to achieve that goal have failed, owing to resistance from Germany and the European Union, and the USA has subsequently put a hold on that tactic. Nonetheless, despite the resistance encountered, this method remains the most likely to achieve an extension to the arms embargo with Iran, given the slim likelihood that the previous two options will succeed.

General conclusions

Recent US efforts have shown that, while the USA is committed to achieving an extension to the arms embargo with Iran, it does not have unified approach to achieving that goal (for several reasons, including the fact that numerous bodies have an influence over US decisions on the issue). Given the capabilities offered by the nuclear agreement to all parties, and the capabilities and limitations of the USA as a Security Council member, the following conclusions can be drawn:

  • Despite US attempts to make use of the capabilities offered by the nuclear agreement, the chances of the USA being allowed to use the dispute resolution mechanism as a participating member of the agreement are non-existent, given the complete consensus among the remaining members on the fact of the USA’s withdrawal. US efforts to use an alternative dispute mechanism provided for under resolution 2231 also appear futile. Consequently, the US administration is attempting to use its position on the Security Council to propose a draft resolution that would impose a long-term ban on arms dealing with Iran. For the resolution to pass, the USA needs to win a majority of votes on the Council, and neither China nor Russia must exercise their veto. If the USA does win a majority of votes, the resolution will undoubtedly face opposition from either Russia or China.
  • Given the impossibility of getting such a resolution through the United Nations, the dispute mechanism provided for in the nuclear agreement remains the only avenue through which the Iranian arms embargo may be extended without facing a Russian or Chinese veto. This would tip the scales in all directions: while the US administration is likely to attempt to encourage the European States to remain in the agreement — as opposed to its previous efforts to encourage them to pull out of it — in the hope that it will be able to persuade its European allies to use the dispute mechanism, Iran and Russia will try to force the European States to withdraw from the agreement, while stopping short of allowing its complete collapse.
  • The US administration has already attempted to push the European States into implementing a dispute mechanism. Those attempts have failed, however, owing to resistance from within the European Union that prevented Europe from adopting a unified position. Nonetheless, there remains a glimmer of hope at the end of this avenue, given that, under the nuclear agreement, the European signatories are considered to be independent parties, rather than a single entity. Therefore, even though the USA failed to mobilize Europe as a whole, it may be able to convince at least one European party to the agreement to trigger the dispute mechanism. The United Kingdom appears to be the US ally most likely to take on that role, given the close relationship between the Johnson and Trump administrations. Although this plan faces many obstacles in the form of pressure from other European partners, Russia, and China, British cooperation remains the only way for the USA to get what it desires without having to face a Russian or Chinese veto in the Security Council.

Possible scenarios

Possible scenarios: These scenarios are based on the general conclusions drawn in this paper, and can be divided into two based on their likelihood of occurring. The less likely scenarios include those that assume that the USA is able to extract a new Security Council resolution imposing a long-term ban on arms trade with Iran or to trigger a dispute resolution mechanism as a signatory to resolution 2231. Despite the USA’s efforts, these scenarios seem highly unlikely, given the general consensus that the USA is no longer a member of the agreement and given that China or Russian may use their veto to thwart any new resolution on the matter unless the USA can persuade them to adopt a neutral position during such a vote, which seems unlikely to happen. The following scenarios are more likely:

Scenario 1: The USA pushes the United Kingdom into triggering the dispute resolution mechanism: In this scenario, the USA is able to use the dispute mechanism via one of its European partners. As it will be difficult (although not impossible, given recent developments and US pressure) for the USA to mobilize all the European parties to support the decision to trigger the dispute resolution mechanism, the US administration may rely instead on its closest ally among the European parties, namely the United Kingdom, to take the lead in that regard. This scenario, which circumvents the participation of the Russian and Chinese veto-holding partners, draws on the mechanisms provided for in the nuclear agreement. The United Kingdom would request the implementation of the dispute mechanism, even though the UN resolutions that were overruled by resolution 2231 carried longer-term sanctions for arms dealing with Iran. A compromise may therefore be reached, in which Russia and China agree to extend the ban on trade in conventional weapons with Iran in order to prevent a return to the implementation of all resolutions that preceded resolution 2231.

Scenario 2: Iran succeeds in preserving the nuclear agreement until October 2020: This assumes that Iran is able to delay proceedings enough to keep the agreement in place until October, at which point the embargo will be lifted. In this scenario, Iran would then be able to use alternative sources of finance to obtain advanced Russian (and Chinese) weapons that would enable it to substantially upset the balance of power between it and the Gulf States, particularly if it can obtain advanced technologies for manufacturing tanks and planes. Although Iran is working hard to this end, it faces a number of obstacles, including pressure from the USA and Europe and the possibility that sanctions may be imposed on Russia if it supplies Iran with such weapons. While the continued imposition of sanctions preventing financial transfers to and from Iran may pose another obstacle, it will not prevent this outcome entirely.

Scenario 3: Compromise: This scenario represents a compromise on the outstanding issues, in which Iran refrains from further escalating its actions to undermine its obligations under the nuclear agreement, in exchange for a commitment from its European partners to uphold the agreement and to provide Iran with reasonable compensation for the US withdrawal. In this scenario, the USA will likely return to the agreement in exchange for Iran voluntarily postponing its return to the arms trade. The Iranian government has indicated its support for this outcome, which has prompted some members of the Iranian parliament to call for a closed session to discuss the country’s approach. This scenario also faces a number of possible obstacles, namely opposition from among conservative forces that do not wish to be drawn into discussion of Iran’s missile activities. It also faces potential US opposition, as this outcome would leave a number issues outstanding, whereas the USA hopes to achieve a comprehensive solution. Nonetheless, this scenario remains the most desirable in the eyes of Iran’s partners in the nuclear agreement and in the eyes of the Iranian regime.

Latest Featured Topics