نتائج انتخابات البرلمان المصري وتأثيراتها المحتملة في أدائِه وعلاقته المستقبلية بالحكومة

عمرو هاشم ربيع | 20 يناير 2021

عَقَدَ البرلمان المصري المنتخب أولى جلساته في 12يناير2021، وذلك بعد عدة أسابيع قُضيت في اختيار نواب البرلمان، اُختُتِمَت بتعيين الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي 5% من أعضاء البرلمان.

تُلقي هذه الورقة الضوء على مدى نزاهة انتخابات البرلمان المصري، ودلالات النتائج التي حصدتها الأحزاب والقوى السياسية، والظواهر الجديدة في تلك الانتخابات، وأثر ذلك كله في طبيعة علاقة المجلس بالحكومة مستقبلاً.

مدى نزاهة الانتخابات

ترتبط نزاهة الانتخابات بالعديد من الأمور المتصلة بالتدخل المادي أو المعنوي أو كليهما، من قبل أطراف العملية الانتخابية، للتأثير في مجمل هذه العملية. ويمكن القول بدايةً إن الأساليب السابقة التي كان يتم بها تزوير إرادة الناخبين من تلاعب في تقسيم الدوائر وسجلات الناخبين وأعمال الاقتراع والفرز وغيرها، إبان العهود السابقة لم يعد لها وجود اليوم في مصر، وهو أمرٌ يُحسَب للدولة وللجهة القائمة على إدارة الانتخابات. فقد أثمرت عملية تقسيم الدوائر في انتخابات 2020 رغم صعوبتها الجمة في مصر، بسبب عدم تناسق التوزيع السكاني مع الرقعة الجغرافية، عن تقسيم أكثر رقياً وعدالة ونزاهة، وهو أمر يحسب بالـتأكيد للحكومة وللتشريع الذي قدمته للبرلمان ليسنه في هذا الصدد.

ومن ناحية أخرى، كان للرقابة على نزاهة العملية الانتخابية من خلال مؤسسات المجتمع المدني المصرية والدولية أثرها المهم في متابعة الحدث ومدى سلامته قبل وأثناء وبعد عملية الاقتراع، وهي جميعها رغم ملاحظاتها الكثيرة لم تشكك في النزاهة العامة للعملية الانتخابية. لكن الأمر بدا فقط مقلقاً بسبب الإجراءات والاشتراطات الكثيرة والمانعة من قبل الهيئة الوطنية للانتخابات لكثير من المؤسسات التي كانت ترغب في المتابعة.    

مقابل هذا، ظهر بعض النكوص الذي اعتبر البعض أنه ينال من النزاهة، إذ تم استخدام وسائل بدت مشروعة فقط من حيث الشكل، وذلك عبر آليات للتحكم في شكل وحجم العضوية في مجلس النواب، من خلال تشريع يتيح نظاماً انتخابياً هو النظام الأغلبي عبر القائمة المطلقة والأسلوب الفردي، بنسبة 50% لكل منهما. وأسلوب القائمة المطلقة، الموجود في أربعة نظم سياسية فقط حول العالم، يسمح بإضافة الأصوات التي حصلت عليها القائمة/القوائم التي نالت 49% إلى القائمة التي نالت 51% أو أكثر، ما يعتبره كثيرون أمراً مانعاً للمعارضة من التمثيل.

وإضافة للتشريع، بدا التدخل في سير إجراءات التقدم للترشيح أمراً مهماً في تلك الانتخابات، لأن ترتيب التقدم للترشيح يترتب عليه تحديد أولوية كتابة المرشحين في ورقة الاقتراع. وقد لاحظ البعض من المتابعين للعملية الانتخابية وجود تدخل لإبراز مرشحي مستقبل وطن في أولوية الترشيح، وبالتالي في ورقة الاقتراع، ويذكر هؤلاء أنه ضمن الـ284 مقعداً المطلوب انتخابها بالشق الفردي كانت أولوية الأسماء للمنتمين لحزب مستقبل وطن 227 مرة، يليه حزب الشعب الجمهوري بمقدار 34 مرة.

علاوة على ذلك، سعى بعض المرشحين للتلاعب في إرادة الناخبين باستغلال عوزهم الاقتصادي والاجتماعي، من خلال دفع مبالغ مالية كبيرة للمقترعين أمام اللجان الانتخابية، وهو أمر لم تستطع إدارة الانتخابات أن توقفه.

دلالات المشاركة في الاقتراع

تعد المشاركة في الاقتراع في الانتخابات واحداً من أهم المؤشرات الدالة على شرعيتها، أي مقبولية الناخبين لها ورضاهم عنها. وتحتاج المشاركة في التصويت حتماً لعديد الإحصاءات الخاصة بعدد الناخبين الذين يحق لهم التصويت، والمقترعين، والأصوات الصحيحة والباطلة على مستوى الدوائر الفردية، ومستوى كل قطاع من القطاعات الأربعة في نظام القوائم، كما على مستوى المحافظات المختلفة. لكن هذه البيانات لم تعلنها الهيئة الوطنية للانتخابات، كما كانت تفعل اللجنة العليا للانتخابات في السابق، ما يجعل تحليل المشاركة منقوصاً بعض الشيء.

لكن وفقاً لما هو متاح من معلومات وبيانات أعلنتها الهيئة الوطنية، فإن نسبة المشاركة في الاقتراع في تلك الانتخابات كانت محدودة. فقد قاربت تلك النسبة نظيرتها في انتخابات 2015، إذ تراوحت نسبة المشاركة في الاقتراع في محافظات مصر التي قسم فيها التصويت على مرحلتين، لكل منهما جولة أولى وجولة إعادة، ما بين 22-29% وفق البيانات المعلنة من إدارة الانتخابات في الانتخابين، مما يشير إلى تقارب المزاج العام من عملية الاقتراع في المرتين. ويختلف هذا المزاج عما كان سائداً في عمليات الاقتراع التي جرت في الانتخابات البرلمانية عام 2012، والتي كانت في مجلس النواب (الشعب وقتئذ) نحو 60%، وانتخابات مجلس الشيوخ (الشورى وقتئذ) 12.5%. وإجمالاً، فإن تبايُن النسب عادة ما يرتبط بدرجة آمال المواطنين من البرلمان، وأيضاً بسلطات الكيان المنتخب، وهو ما يمكن تلمُّسه بين انتخابات الشعب وانتخابات الشورى.

مقابل المشاركة هناك العزوف عن الانتخابات، والمشاركة لكن بإبطال الصوت، وهناك تفسيرات عديدة لكل ذلك، إذ يبدو أن المشكلات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لها نصيب وافر في تبرير مسألة عزوف الناخبين عن المشاركة في الاقتراع. وبعبارة أخرى، تبدو أمور من قبيل ارتفاع معدلات البطالة، وارتفاع أسعار السلع والخدمات، والحاجة لمزيد من الدخل المكتسب، وارتفاع نسبة الفقر، وبقاء نسبة من المجتمع من الأميين، أسباباً للعزوف عن المشاركة. وإذا أضيف إلى ما سبق المستجد المهم الذي طرأ عام 2020، وهو باء كوفيد-19، ستكتمل الصورة عن أسباب العزوف. وبالنسبة لإبطال الصوت الذي وصلت نسبته إلى نحو 25% خاصة في انتخاب القوائم، فإن ذلك يعود إلى رفض الناس لهذا النوع من الانتخاب، أي المعتمد على أسلوب القوائم المطلقة.

أما على صعيد المشاركة في البرلمان، وهو أمرٌ يعتمد على نتائج الاقتراع، فيلاحظ أنه من بين 36 حزباً (من جملة نحو 104 أحزاب)، إضافة إلى المستقلين الذين شاركوا في الترشح للانتخابات، فاز 12 حزباً فقط إضافة إلى المستقلين، ما يعني أن البرلمان قد يتَّسِم بالتنوع من الناحية الشكلية، لكنه من حيث مضمون تلك المشاركة، يتسم بالخلل، وهو ما ستوضحه الورقة لاحقاً.

حصاد الأحزاب والقوى السياسية ودلالاته

بعد أن أعُلنت نتائج الانتخابات منذ أيام قليلة، تبين أن هناك الكثير من الأمور التي يمكن أن تُقرَأ من واقع تلك النتائج، أهمها:

1. مُثِّل في البرلمان 12.5% من الأحزاب السياسية الموجودة على الساحة المصرية. وهذا التمثيل يتسم بالقلة، ويمكن تفسيره، بما يرد دائماً على لسان جميع المسؤولين الرسميين وغير الرسميين، وهو ضعف النظام الحزبي في مصر. فرغم وجود 104 أحزاب، إلا أن مصر ليس بها هذا الكم الكبير من القضايا المختلف عليها، إذ لا يُعرَف عملياً سوى أربعة تيارات إيديولوجية وسياسية فقط، هي الليبرالية واليسارية والإسلامية والوسط. وعلى أية حال، فإن هذا العدد الممثل من الأحزاب (بالانتخاب) في برلمان 2020، يبقى أقل من العدد الذي كان قائماً في برلمان 2015، إذ مُثِّل في ذلك البرلمان 19 حزباً سياسياً علاوة على المستقلين.

# يضم هذا العدد بعض الحزبيين الذين تقدموا للترشيح في الشق الفردي كمستقلين وفازوا في الانتخابات.
* ينقص هذا العدد مقعد واحد، يخص المقعد الفردي بدائرة دير مواس بالمنيا، وذلك بسبب طعون على المشاركين في الانتخابات. 
المصدر: بيانات عام 2015 مأخوذة من محمد أبو ريدة، "التركيبة السياسية والاجتماعية لأعضاء مجلس النواب 2015"، في: عمرو هاشم ربيع (محرر)، انتخابات مجلس النواب 2015، القاهرة: مركز الدراسات السياسية والاستراتيجية بالأهرام، 2016. وبيانات عام 2020 جمعها الباحث من واقع بيانات الهيئة الوطنية للانتخابات، وبعض المواقع الإلكترونية.

 

2. في البرلمان الذي انتهت ولايته، والذي كانت فيه نسبة الفردي إلى القائمة المطلقة 21% إلى 79%، كان هناك حزب سياسي واحد، وهو حزب المصريين الأحرار، يُضارع في تمثيله 7 أحزاب ممثلة في ذات البرلمان. أما في برلمان 2020، الذي يتسم بالمساواة بين شقي الفردي والقائمة، وإمعاناً في هشاشة البناء الحزبي في مصر، كان هناك حزب واحد هو حزب مستقبل وطن، يُضارِع تمثيله ضعف تمثيل الـ12 حزباً سياسياً الأخرى في البرلمان المنتخب، إذ يبلغ عدد ممثليها 156 نائباً، في حين يبلغ عدد ممثلي مستقبل وطن وحده 315 نائباً. وقد تعرَّض حزب المصريين الأحرار اليوم لانشقاق كبير مسَّ وجوده. ومن الجدول رقم (1) يلاحظ أيضاً أن هناك أحزاباً كانت مُشارِكة في برلمان 2015، وخرجت اليوم صفر اليدين، وأحزاب أخرى شاركت في البرلمان الحالي ولم تكن موجودة في برلمان 2015، ويرجع هذا لانضمامها إلى القائمة المطلقة المسماة "القائمة الوطنية من أجل مصر"، وهي قائمة ضمَّ من قام بإعدادها هذه الأحزاب. وجدير بالذكر أن من ضمن المنضمين أحزاب الإصلاح والتنمية والمصري الديمقراطي الاجتماعي والعدل، والتي كانت من أشد مُعارضي نظام القائمة المطلقة، لكنها انضمت لها نتيجة شكها الكبير في فوزها عبر المشاركة في الشق الفردي. وقد عُرِف إبان الانتخابات أن من ينضم إلى القائمة الوطنية، سيفوز حتماً، بسبب قُرب القائمة من الدولة، ولدعايتها الكبيرة إبان الحملة الانتخابية.

3. زيادة تمثيل الأحزاب السياسية في برلمان 2020 إلى 476 مقعداً (بعد إضافة 2 من المعينين من الحزبيين) بعدما كان 243 مقعداً في برلمان 2015، أي أن نسبته زادت من 42.78% إلى 80%. وكان يُفترض أن يكون هذا الارتفاع مدعاة للحديث عن تطور سياسي حقيقي، لولا أنه تطور شكلي في الواقع، ليس فقط بسبب هيمنة حزب واحد على ناصية العمل البرلماني، بل الأهم والأكثر تأثيراً أنه تطور لا يوازيه تطور مماثل للنظام الحزبي في مصر، من خلال وجود هياكل وأبنية حزبية متماسكة، لها مردود في الشارع، وعضوية راسخة، ومقرات، ودورة معلومات، ونظم راسخة لاتخاذ القرار، وتداول للسلطة داخلها، وأيديولوجيات وبرامج ولوائح تنظيمية، وأطر للحوكمة.       

4. كان المستقلون الذين مُثِّلوا بـ 119 مقعداً (بعد إضافة 26 من المعينين من المستقلين)، أبرز ضحايا التمثيل في برلمان 2020. فبداية، انخفضت حصتهم وفق قانون الانتخاب من 79% من عدد المنتخبين جبراً إلى 50%. وثانياً، انخفض وجودهم في القائمة المطلقة التي فازت في الانتخابات (القائمة الوطنية من أجل مصر) من 74 مترشحاً إبان انتخابات عام 2015 إلى 22 مترشحاً فقط عام 2020. وثالثاً، نازع الحزبيون وجود المستقلين في المقاعد المخصصة للترشيح على الشق الفردي. وكل ما سبق يُعد عوامل مهمة حَدَّت من تمثيل المستقلين في برلمان 2020. وقد حدث كل ذلك رغم إدراك كافة القوى السياسية وكافة مؤسسات الدولة والمجتمع في مصر أن عدد المستقلين يُضارع أكثر من 95% من عدد المصريين إجمالاً.  

5. من ناحية النوع الاجتماعي، نالت عضوية البرلمان 162 سيدة، من إجمالي عدد المقاعد البالغ اليوم 595 مقعداً (تبقَّى مقعد واحد لم ينتخب بعد)، وذلك بنسبة 27.2%. ومن هؤلاء 142 سيدة من شق القوائم حُكْماً، و6 من الشق الفردي، و14 من المعينات. وبذلك يكون هذا العدد هو الأكبر في تاريخ البرلمان المصري منذ دخول السيدات للبرلمان عام 1956. ومن المسيحيين، نال العضوية 33 نائباً، منهم 24 من شق القوائم حُكْماً، و3 من المنتخبين من الشق الفردي، و6 من المعينين. وجدير بالذكر أن فئتي السيدات والمسيحيين هما دوماً أقل الفئات انتخاباً في البرلمان المصري، طالما لا توجد كوتا تُمثِّلهما، وهو ما يتضح في العدد المنتخب منهما في الشق الفردي، الذي لا يتضمن أية كوتا انتخابية لهما، بعكس القوائم التي خصص القانون لها حداً أدنى لوجودهما، وهو ذات العدد المذكور آنفاً.    

الظواهر الجديدة في الانتخابات البرلمانية الأخيرة

تمثلت أولى الظواهر الجديدة في الانتخابات في إجراء الاقتراع لهذا العدد الكبير من المؤهلين للتصويت وسط أزمة وباء كورونا المستجد، ما أدى ضمن أمور أخرى إلى عزوف الكثيرين عن التصويت.

الظاهرة الثانية، زيادة عدد النواب المنتخبين للمرة الثانية، والذين ترشحوا في الشقين الفردي والقوائم. فمن بين 596 نائباً في برلمان 2015 ترشَّح 368 نائباً، ويعتبر هذا العدد كبيراً للغاية، ورغم أن عدداً كبيراً من النواب القدماء المترشحين بالشق الفردي لم يحالفه الحظ، إلا أن نواب القوائم، وجميعهم ترشحوا على القائمة الوطنية من أجل مصر، فازوا في الانتخابات بفوز القائمة، ويبلغ عدد هؤلاء 44 نائباً.

الظاهرة الثالثة، ظهور كم كبير للغاية من المرشحين من أقارب نواب قدماء، أو أقارب مترشحين في ذات البرلمان، أو أقارب أعضاء بمجلس الشيوخ الذي جرى انتخابه منذ شهرين. وهذه الظاهرة تُنبئ بانتقال عملية توريث المهن في مصر، إلى توريث المناصب والمراكز السياسية.

الظاهرة الرابعة، البطلان الكثيف للصوت عند الاقتراع، والذي تراوح في مرحلتي الانتخاب بجولتيها في الشقين الفردي والقائمة ما بين 6-24%، وهي نسب كبيرة تنم عن عدم الرضا عن المرشحين أو النظام الانتخابي.

الظاهرة الخامسة، بروز الأحزاب الجديدة مثل مستقبل وطن والشعب الجمهوري، بوصفها رائدةً للمشهد السياسي المصري، خاصة فيما حصدته من مقاعد، مقابل سقوط الأحزاب العتيقة وعلى رأسها الوفد والتجمع. ويمكن القول إنه لولا القوائم التي مُثِّل فيها هذان الحزبان، لكانت نسبة وجودهما ضحلة للغاية.

الظاهرة السادسة، كثرة استخدام المال الانتخابي في الانتخابات، ليس فقط إبان الاقتراع من المرشحين للناخبين، بل والأهم من قِبَل المرشحين إلى الأحزاب التي وضعتهم على قوائمها إبان مرحلة الترشح.    

آفاق أداء البرلمان ودوره السياسي والتشريعي في مصر

أولاً: في الجوانب والأدوار التمهيدية

1. تشكيل لجان المجلس الـ 25؛ يتوقع أنه ستكون هناك أغلبية كبيرة من مكاتب تلك اللجان (الرئيس والوكيلين وأمين سر اللجنة) من حزب مستقبل وطن، وسيكون القليل من هؤلاء من الأحزاب الأخرى الموالية لمستقبل وطن، ما سيسهل من تسيير عديد الإجراءات داخل اللجان طوال عمل البرلمان.  

2. البرلمان وتشكيل الحكومة الجديدة: يعد تشكيل حكومة جديدة في مصر أمراً طبيعياً يحدث بعد انعقاد الجلسات الأولى للبرلمان الجديد، ومن المرجح أن يقوم الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي بإعمال الدستور وتكليف أحد الأشخاص لتشكيل الحكومة، والأرجح أن يكون ذلك من التكنوقراط، بل والأرجح أن يكون معظم وزراء الحكومة من التكنوقراط أيضاً. وبعبارة أخرى، من المستبعد أن يقوم الرئيس بتفعيل الخيار الدستوري الثاني، ويقوم بتكليف أحد زعماء حزب الأغلبية في البرلمان بتشكيل تلك الحكومة؛ فمستقبل وطن رغم الأغلبية التي حصل عليها، يظل حزباً وليداً يفتقد للكوادر وللخبراء القادرين على تشكيل الحكومة، كما أنه ما نال الأغلبية البرلمانية إلا بمساعدة كبيرة من قبل الكثيرين من خارجه.

ثانياً: في الأدوار التشريعية والرقابية

تشريعياً، ونتيجة وجود نواب أكثر من 50% منهم من حزب واحد هو حزب مستقبل وطن، سيُسهل هذا الأمر بالتأكيد على الحكومة إنجاز الكثير من الأمور دون إزعاج. وإذا علمنا بأن بعض مشروعات القوانين المطلوب سنَّها في الفترة المقبلة هي من القوانين المكملة للدستور، والتي يتطلب سَنَّها أغلبية الثلثين، فإن هذا الأمر أيضاً يبدو غير مُزعجاً لها بسبب التحالف المتوقع بين مستقبل وطن (317 مقعداً بعد إضافة المعينين)، والشعب الجمهوري (50 مقعداً)، ومصر الحديثة (13 مقعداً).

إضافة إلى ذلك، ستفتح الحكومة العديد من الملفات الساخنة والشائكة لتمريرها عبر سنّ قوانين كثيرة، تحدَّث عنها الدستور الحالي، ولم ينظمها في قوانين جديدة، وفي مقدمتها قانون تحرير إيجارات المساكن القديمة المثير للجدل، وقانون المحليات.

ومن الناحية الرقابية، من غير المتوقع إن يقوم النواب بإثارة طلبات رقابة مزعجة للحكومة، بسبب محدودية المعارضة، وطبيعة النظام الانتخابي الذي أتي بنواب يمثلون المحليات أكثر من تمثيلهم للأمة المصرية. ومن هنا يُتوقَّع أن تقتصر الرقابة على الأسئلة وطلبات الإحاطة الموجهة لأبناء الدائرة الانتخابية الضيقة، خاصة مع غياب المجالس المحلية المنوط بها هذا الدور منذ أكثر من عقد من الزمان.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Results of Egyptian Parliamentary Elections: Potential Impact on its performance and Future Relationship with Government

Amr Hashem Rabea | 20 Jan 2021

The elected Egyptian Parliament held its first session on 12 January 2021, after several weeks were spent in selecting the Members of Parliament (MPs), which culminated in the appointment by Egyptian President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi of 5 percent of the MPs.

This paper sheds light on the extent of integrity of the Egyptian parliamentary elections, the significance of the results obtained by the political parties and trends, the new phenomena in those elections, and the impact of all this on the nature of Parliament’s relationship with the government in the future.

The integrity of the elections

Election integrity is linked to multiple matters related to material or moral intervention, or both, by the parties to the electoral process to influence the overall process. It can be said initially that the previous methods by which the will of the voters used to be falsified, such as manipulating the division of districts, voter registers, polling and counting proceedings, etc., during previous eras, no longer exist in Egypt today, which is a matter to the credit of the State and the body in charge of managing the elections. The process of dividing districts in the 2020 elections, despite its great difficulty in Egypt due to the inconsistency of the demographic distribution with the geographical area, resulted in a more elegant, fair and impartial division, which is certainly to the credit of the government and the legislation that it submitted to Parliament for enactment in this regard.

On the other hand, monitoring the integrity of the electoral process by Egyptian and international civil society institutions had an important impact on following up the event and the extent of its integrity before, during and after the voting process, all of which, despite their numerous remarks, did not question the general integrity of the electoral process. However, the matter only seemed to be worrying due to the many and prohibitive procedures and requirements by the National Elections Authority (NEA) for many institutions that wanted to follow up the event.

On the other hand, some setbacks appeared, which were considered by some as undermining the integrity, given that methods were used that seemed legitimate only in terms of form, through mechanisms to control the shape and size of membership in the Egyptian House of Representatives (EHR), through legislation that allows an electoral system that is the majority system through the absolute list and individual candidacy, based on 50 percent each. The absolute list system, which exists in only four political systems around the world, allows adding the votes obtained by the list/lists that received 49 percent to the list that received 51 percent or more, which is considered by many to be a matter that prevents the opposition from representation.

In addition to the legislation, intervention in the process of running for candidacy appeared to be an important matter in those elections because the order of candidacy determines the priority of appearance of the candidate names on the ballot paper. Some observers of the electoral process noticed an intervention to highlight the candidates of Mostaqbal Watan (Future of the Homeland, Nation’s Future) in the priority of nomination, and therefore in the ballot paper. Those observers say that among the 284 seats to be elected by individual candidacy, name priority given to those affiliated with the Mostaqbal Watan Party was 227 times, followed by 34 times for the Republican People’s Party (El-Shaab el-Gomhouri).

Moreover, some candidates sought to manipulate the will of the voters by exploiting their socio-economic impoverishment, by paying large sums of money to voters in front of the electoral committees, something that the NEA was unable to stop.

Significance of participating in the polls

Participation in voting in the elections is one of the most important indicators of their legitimacy, that is, the voters’ acceptance thereof and their satisfaction therewith. Participation in voting inevitably requires numerous statistics on the number of eligible voters, actual voters, and valid and invalid votes at the level of individual candidacy districts and at the level of each of the four sectors of the list system, as well as at the level of the different governorates. However, this data was not announced by the NEA, as used to be done by the Supreme Elections Committee (SEC) in the past, which makes the analysis of participation somewhat incomplete.

However, according to the available information and data announced by the NEA, the rate of participation in the polls in those elections was limited. This percentage was close to that of the 2015 elections. The rate of participation in the polls in the governorates of Egypt, in which the voting was divided into two stages, each with a first round and a run-off round, ranged between 22 and 29 percent according to the data announced by the NEA in both elections. This indicates that the general mood towards the polling process converged both times. This mood differs from that which prevailed in the polls that took place in the parliamentary elections in 2012, which was in the EHR (the People’s Assembly at that time) nearly 60 percent, and in the Senate elections (the Shura (Consultative) Council at that time) 12.5 percent. In general, the variation in percentages is usually related to the degree of citizens' expectations from Parliament, and also to the powers of the elected entity, which can be discerned in the difference between the People's Assembly elections and the Shura Council elections.

In addition to participation, the elections were also characterised by lack of interest in the elections as well as participation while nullifying the vote. There are many explanations of all this, given that the economic and social problems apparently have a large share in justifying the issue of lack of interest by the voters in participation in the vote. In other words, matters such as high unemployment rates, high prices of goods and services, the need for more earned income, high poverty rates, and the continued illiteracy of a proportion of the society appear to be reasons for the reluctance to participate. With the addition of the important new development that emerged in 2020, namely Covid-19, to the above, the picture would be complete about the reasons for the reluctance. As for the vote invalidation, which reached nearly 25 percent, especially in the list election system, it is attributable to the people's rejection of this type of election, that is, the one based on the absolute list system.

As for participation in Parliament, which depends on the results of the polls, it is noted that out of 36 parties (out of nearly 104 parties), in addition to the independents who participated in running in the elections, only 12 parties won in addition to independents. This means that while Parliament may be characterised by diversity in terms of form, in terms of content, that participation is defective, which will be explained later in the paper.

Outcomes and significance for the political parties and trends

After the election results were announced a few days ago, it became clear that many things could be inferred from those results, the most important of which are the following:

1. 12.5 percent ​​of the political parties in the Egyptian arena were represented in Parliament. This constitutes a low representation, and can be explained by what is always referred to by all those in charge, official and non-official alike, namely “the weakness of the party system in Egypt”. Despite the existence of 104 parties, Egypt does not have too many disputed issues, given that only four ideological and political currents are known in practice, namely the liberal, the leftist, the Islamic, and the centre. In any case, this number of represented parties (by election) in the 2020 Parliament remains less than the one that existed in the 2015 Parliament, given that 19 political parties were represented in that Parliament in addition to the independents.

# This number includes some party members who applied for the individual candidacy as independents and won the elections.
* This number is less one seat, pertaining to the individual seat in the Deir Mawas district in Minya, due to appeals against participants in the elections.
Source: Data for 2015, taken from Mohammad Abu Raida, “The Political and Social Composition of Members of the House of Representatives 2015”, in: Amr Hashim Rabie (Editor), Elections of the House of Representatives 2015, Cairo: Al-Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies, 2016. The 2020 data were collected by the researcher from the data of the NEA, and some websites.

2. In the outgoing Parliament, in which the percentage of individuals to the absolute list was 21 percent to 79 percent, there was one political party, namely the Free Egyptians Party, whose representation was equivalent to that of seven parties represented in the same Parliament. On the other hand, in the 2020 Parliament, which is characterised by equivalence between the individual candidacy and the list system, and in confirmation of the fragility of the party structure in Egypt, the representation of one party, namely the Mostaqbal Watan, was twice that of the other 12 political parties in the elected Parliament, given that the number of their MPs is 156, whereas the number of the Mostakbal Watan MPs alone is 315. Today, the Free Egyptians Party has suffered a major split that has affected its existence. Based on Table 1, it is also noticed that there are parties that participated in the Parliament of 2015 and came out empty-handed today, and other parties that participated in the current Parliament and were not present in the Parliament of 2015. This is due to the fact that they joined the absolute list called The National List for Egypt, whose compiler brought those parties together. It is noteworthy that the joining parties included the Reform and Development Party, the Egyptian Social Democratic Party, and the Justice Party. These were among the most vocal opponents of the absolute list system, but they joined it as a result of their great doubt about their victory by participating through the individual candidacy. It was known during the elections that whoever joins the National List would inevitably win because of the List's closeness to the State and given its great publicity during the election campaign.

3. The increase in the representation of political parties in the 2020 Parliament to 476 seats (after adding 2 party appointees) after it was 243 seats in the 2015 Parliament, meaning that its percentage increased from 42.78 percent to 80 percent. This rise was assumed to be reason for talk about a real political development, had it not been, in fact, a formal development, not only because of the domination of one party over parliamentary action, but because, which is more important and influential, it is a development that is not paralleled by a similar development of the party system in Egypt through the existence of coherent party structures with an impact on the street, solid membership, headquarters, information course, well-established decision-making systems, transfer of power within parties, ideologies, programmes, regulations, and governance frameworks.

4. Independents, who accounted for 119 seats (after adding 26 appointed independents), were the most prominent victims of representation in the 2020 Parliament. Initially, their share according to the election law decreased from 79 percent of the number of those mandatorily elected to 50 percent. Secondly, their presence in the absolute list that won the elections (the National List for Egypt) decreased from 74 candidates during the 2015 elections to only 22 candidates in 2020. Third, the party candidates contested with the independents for the seats designated for the individual candidacy. All of the above are important factors that have limited the representation of independents in the Parliament of 2020. All this happened despite the awareness by all the political actors and all public and civil society institutions in Egypt that the number of independents is equivalent to more than 95 percent of the total number of Egyptians.

5. In terms of gender, parliament membership was won by 162 women, out of the total number of 595 seats today (one seat remains unelected), with a rate of 27.2 percent. Of these, 142 women belonged to the lists category by default, 6 belonged to the individual category, and 14 were appointed. Thus, this number is the largest in the history of the Egyptian parliament since the entry of women into parliament in 1956. Among the Christians, there were 33 MPs, of whom 24 belonged to the list category by default, 3 were elected through individual candidacy, and 6 were appointed. It should be noted that the two categories of women and Christians are always the lowest electoral groups in the Egyptian Parliament, considering that there is no quota to represent them, which is evident from the number elected from among them in the individual category, which does not include any electoral quota for them, unlike the lists for which the law has allocated a minimum threshold for the two categories, which is the same number mentioned above.

New phenomena in the recent parliamentary elections

The first new phenomenon in the elections was the conduct of the vote for this large number of eligible voters in the midst of the coronavirus epidemic crisis, which led, among other things, to the abstention of many people from voting.

The second phenomenon was the increase in the number of MPs elected for the second time who ran under both the individual candidacy and list systems. Of the 596 MPs in the 2015 Parliament, 368 MPs ran for the new Parliament, which is considered a very large number. While a large number of old MPs who ran under the individual candidacy were unlucky, the list MPs, 44 in number, all of whom ran under the National List for Egypt, won the elections through the List’s victory.

The third phenomenon was the emergence of a very large number of candidates who are relatives of old MPs, relatives of candidates in the same Parliament, or relatives of members of the Senate that was elected two months ago. This phenomenon predicts a shift from the succession of jobs in Egypt to the succession of political offices and positions.

The fourth phenomenon was the massive number of invalid votes during the polls, which ranged in the two stages of the election under both individual candidacy and list systems between 6 percent and 24 percent, which are large percentages indicating dissatisfaction with the candidates or the electoral system.

The fifth phenomenon was the emergence of new parties such as Mostaqbal Watan and the Republican People’s Party, as pioneers of the Egyptian political scene, especially in terms of the number of seats they obtained, as opposed to the fall of the old parties, mainly the Wafd and the Tagammu. It could be stated that had it not been for the lists in which those two parties were represented, their presence would have been extremely weak.

The sixth phenomenon was the frequent use of electoral money in the elections, not only during the polls by the candidates for the voters, but more importantly by the candidates for the parties that put them on their lists during the candidacy stage.

Prospects for Parliament's performance and its political and legislative role in Egypt

First: in the preliminary aspects and roles

1. The formation of the EHR’s 25 committees: a large majority of the offices of those committees (the chairman, the two deputies, and the secretary of the committee) is expected to be from the Mostaqbal Watan Party, while a few of them would be from the other parties loyal to Mostaqbal Watan, which would facilitate the conduct of many procedures within the committees throughout the work of Parliament.

2. Parliament and the formation of the new government: the formation of a new government in Egypt is a normal event that takes place after the first sessions of the new Parliament. President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi is likely to act pursuant to the Constitution and assign someone to form the government, who is more likely to be a technocrat. Indeed, most government ministers are also likely to be technocrats. In other words, the President is unlikely to act according to the second constitutional option by assigning a leader of the majority party in Parliament to form that government. Despite the majority it obtained, Mostaqbal Watan remains a fledgling party that lacks the cadres and experts capable of forming a government. Besides, it only won the parliamentary majority with the great help of many from outside it.

Second: in the legislative and oversight roles

Legislatively, as a result of the presence of MPs more than 50 percent of whom are from one party, namely the Mostaqbal Watan, this matter will definitely facilitate the government’s accomplishment of many tasks without being disturbed. Considering that some of the bills to be enacted in the period ahead are complementary to the Constitution whose enactment requires a two-thirds majority, this matter also apparently would not bother it because of the expected alliance between Mostaqbal Watan (317 seats after adding those appointed), Republican People’s Party (50 seats ), and Modern Egypt (13 seats).

In addition, the government will raise many hot and thorny issues in order to have them approved through the enactment of many laws referred to by the current Constitution that were not regulated by new laws, mainly the controversial law on the liberalisation of old housing rents and the Local Administration Law.

In terms of oversight, MPs are not expected to raise annoying oversight requests for the government due to the limited opposition and the nature of the electoral system that brought in MPs who represent the local constituencies more than they represent the Egyptian nation. Hence, oversight is expected to be limited to questions and requests of information directed at the people of the narrow electoral districts, especially in the absence of the local councils that have been tasked with this role since over a decade.

Latest Featured Topics