نُذُر صراع إقليمي في الجنوب السوري: القوى الفاعِلة واحتمالات التصعيد

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 19 أكتوبر 2020

يشهد الجنوب السوري صراعاً متعدد المستويات تنخرط فيه أطرافٌ عديدة، ورغم المحاولات التي تبذلها الأطراف في إدارة الصراع لمنع انتشاره على نطاق أوسع، إلا أن كثافة استخدام الجنوب السوري صندوق رسائل للأطراف باتت تهدد الترتيبات الهشّة في منطقة تنطوي على تناقضات كثيرة وتتمتع بموقع استراتيجي مهم.

تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوءَ على تطورات المشهد في جنوب سوريا، ودينامياتها، واحتمالاتها.

المشهد الحالي في الجنوب السوري: تفاعلاته وديناميّاته

يشكل الموقع الجغرافي لجنوب سوريا أهمَّ أسباب الصراع في المنطقة وعليها، حيث تحاذي المنطقة كلاً من إسرائيل والأردن، وتتصل بلبنان عبر سلسلة جبال الحرمون، كما تُعتبر بوابة لدول الخليج العربية من معبر نصيب. وقد دفع موقعها الجغرافي الكثيرَ من اللاعبين الإقليميين والدوليين إلى الانخراط في الصراع الدائر، وذلك بالنظر إلى تأثر أمن هذه الأطراف بتطورات هذه المنطقة العسكرية والأمنية.

وقد راعت الترتيباتُ التي أشرفت روسيا على صناعتها في جنوب سوريا في عام 2018 الحساسيةَ الإقليمية، كما اضطرت روسيا إلى إشراك أكثر من طرف مباشرة بهذه الترتيبات، كالأردن وإسرائيل والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وفرضت هذه الترتيبات على إيران الابتعاد عن الحدود مع الأردن وإسرائيل إلى مسافة 80 كيلومتراً، وهو ما ثبت أن روسيا لم تستطع الإيفاء به، رغم الإعلان عن انسحاب إيران من المنطقة، إلا أن النشاط الإيراني أخذ أشكالاً عديدة.

وقد أنتجت الترتيبات الروسية واقعاً أمنياً يوصف بالهش في منطقة الجنوب، وتحديداً في درعا والقنيطرة، في ظل تحوّل الصراع إلى صراع أمني تنخرط فيه أطراف عديدة، محلية وإقليمية، وفي ظل استقطاب روسي إيراني حاد لهذه الأطراف، ورقابة إسرائيلية دائمة لتحركات ميليشيات إيران وأذرعها في خاصرتها الأمنية على طول الحدود مع درعا والقنيطرة.

واضطرت روسيا، في سبيل مراعاة تفاهماتها مع الأطراف الإقليمية، إلى إجراء ترتيبات للفصائل المسلحة في درعا، تقضي باحتفاظ بعض هذه الفصائل بأسلحتها الخفيفة وهياكلها، ومنع قوات النظام والميليشيات الإيرانية من الدخول إلى مناطق هذه الفصائل، وتحديداً درعا البلد وطفس، كما شكّلت اللواء الثامن التابع للفيلق الخامس، في بصرى الشام، بقيادة أحمد العودة، قائد فصيل "شباب السُّنة" سابقاً، وذلك لموازنة قوّة الميليشيات الإيرانية في المنطقة.

وفي السويداء، وانطلاقاً من وضع المحافظة المختلف حيث تعيش أقلية درزية في وسط سني، ووجود مخاطر من "داعش" الذي يتموضع على حدود المحافظة في البادية السورية، تشكّلت عشرات الفصائل والميليشيات بهدف الدفاع عن المحافظة، وأصبحت لها الكلمة العليا في السيطرة الأمنية، مع اختلاف ولاء هذه الميليشيات ومرجعيتها؛ فبعضها ليس على علاقة جيدة بالنظام السوري ويدعو إلى تحييد السويداء عن الصراع السوري، مثل فصيل "رجال الكرامة"، في حين أن جزءاً كبيراً من ميليشيات السويداء يتبع للأجهزة الأمنية السورية، كما استقطبت إيران وحزب الله اللبناني جزءاً من هذه الميليشيات المنخرطة في إطار "قوات الدفاع الوطني".

وقد أوجدت هذه الأوضاع بؤراً خارجة عن سيطرة النظام، لكنها في الوقت نفسه مَحمية بضمانات روسية ورقابة إسرائيلية، وقد سعى النظام وإيران إلى الالتفاف على هذه الأوضاع، من خلال استقطاب آلاف عناصر الفصائل المسلحة، أو من يُطلق عليهم "عناصر التسويات" عبر أجهزة النظام، وتحديداً المخابرات الجوية والفرقة الرابعة القريبتين من إيران، فضلاً عن نشاطات "حزب الله" في تجنيد العناصر ضمن "سرايا العرين 313". 1

في المقابل ينشط أحمد العودة في استقطاب الشباب، وقد أعلن مؤخراً عن نيته تشكيل جيش حوران موحد وتحت راية واحدة، وأعلن أن قوام هذا الجيش سيبلغ أكثر من عشرين ألف عنصر، وهو مخصص لمحاربة أعداء الشعب السوري، والمقصود هنا إيران وحزب الله.2

خريطة السيطرة

تكشف خرائطُ السيطرة في جنوب سوريا المشهدَ الصراعي الدائر في المنطقة، حيث تتقاسم أطراف الصراع السيطرة على هذه المناطق وفق الشكل الآتي:

  • تسيطر فصائل المعارضة على أجزاء من مدينة درعا، أي درعا البلد وطفس، في الريف الغربي، سيطرةً كاملة، وهي محمية بالضمانة الروسية، وتحتفظ الفصائل في هذه المناطق بهيكليتها وأسلحتها الخفيفة.
  • يسيطر اللواء الثامن، التابع للفيلق الخامس، بقيادة أحمد العودة، على بصرى الشام، ويفرض سيطرته على المناطق القريبة.
  • يسيطر حزب الله على بعض مناطق اللجاة ومناطق ريف درعا الشرقي من خلال الميليشيات التي صنعها في تلك المناطق من أبناء القرى، وتشهد هذه المناطق صراعات حادة مع قوات أحمد العودة.3
  • تشهد مناطق شمال درعا، التي تتصل بريف القنيطرة، أي الحارة وجاسم وإنخل، صراعا بين الأجهزة الأمنية السورية، بدعم من "حزب الله"، والفصائل السورية المنحلة التي لا تزال تعمل بنشاط في تلك المناطق.4
  • تسيطر الفرقة الرابعة على ريف درعا الغربي وحوض اليرموك، وهي منطقة محاذية للأردن وإسرائيل، وينشط "حزب الله" في هذه المناطق.
  • تتوزع السيطرة في القنيطرة وريفها بين قوات النظام السوري وأجهزته الأمنية و"حزب الله" الذي أسس ميليشيات محلية تتبع له.
  • تتوزع السيطرة في السويداء وريفها بين أجهزة النظام والميليشيات المحلية، وخاصة "الدفاع الوطني" القريبة من إيران و"حزب الله"، وقوات "الكرامة" التي يتم تصنيفها كمعارضة للنظام.
  • تعمل جميع هذه التشكيلات ضمن خطوط تماس متداخلة إلى حد بعيد، ولا توجد أطر اتفاق واضحة لتنظيم الحركة والعمل، والتفاهمات التي عقدتها الأطراف فيما بينها تُعد هشة وغير نهائية، حيث يطالب النظام السوري، المدعوم من إيران و"حزب الله" في هذه المناطق، بفرض السيطرة المطلقة على اعتبار أنها جزء من الدولة التي يحكمها، فيما تسعى الأطراف الأخرى، خصوصاً الميليشيات في السويداء وفصائل المعارضة في درعا، إلى نوع من الاستقلال في إدارة شؤون المناطق التي تسيطر عليها.
  • في ظل عجز جميع الأطراف على الحسم (المعارضة بسبب ضعفها، والنظام المكبل بالتفاهمات الروسية والرقابة الإسرائيلية) تندلع في الجنوب حربٌ أمنية شرسة تعبّر عن نفسها من خلال عمليات الاغتيال المكثفة. وقد أشار تقرير لـ"المرصد السوري لحقوق الإنسان" إلى أن أعداد الهجمات ومحاولات الاغتيال في درعا بلغت خلال الفترة الممتدة من يونيو 2019 وحتى أواخر سبتمبر 2020 إلى أكثر من 698 هجوماً واغتيالاً، فيما وصل عدد الذين قُتلوا إثر تلك العمليات خلال الفترة ذاتها إلى 460 فرداً؛ منهم 126 مدنياً، و210 من قوات النظام والمسلحين الموالين لها والمتعاونين مع قوات الأمن، و79 من مقاتلي الفصائل ممن أجروا "تسويات ومصالحات" وباتوا في صفوف أجهزة النظام الأمنية، و23 من الميليشيات السورية التابعة لحزب الله اللبناني والقوات الإيرانية، بالإضافة إلى 22 من الفيلق الخامس.5

أوضاع الفاعلين ومواقفهم

روسيا: إدارة الصراع الداخلي والتوازنات الإقليمية

تُعتبر منطقة جنوب سوريا مسؤوليةً روسية بامتياز؛ فعلى عاتقها وقَعت مسؤولية ترتيب الصيغة الحالية، والتي أنتجت عودة سيطرة نظام الأسد إلى المنطقة، وتفكيك معظم الفصائل المسلحة فيها، فضلاً عن الالتزام بإبعاد إيران وميليشياتها عن الحدود الإسرائيلية والأردنية. وانطلاقاً من هذه المسؤولية تنخرط روسيا بين الفينة والأخرى في قضايا محلية؛ مثل تسوية المشاكل التي تبرز بسبب الاعتقالات التعسفية، أو إدارة التوترات بين قوات النظام ومجموعات المعارضة السابقة.6

بيد أن الدور الروسي لا يبدو أنه يلقى ترحيباً من النظام، الذي يعتقد أن من حقه السيطرة الكاملة على منطقة الجنوب، كما تتهم المعارضةُ روسيا بالتخلي عن الْتزاماتها ومحاباة النظام على حساب ضماناتها للمعارضة، وفي الوقت نفسه فقدت إسرائيلُ الثقة بقدرة أو رغبة روسيا في مواجهة النفوذ الإيراني في جنوب سوريا، لذا اعتمدت على جهودها في محاربة هذا الوجود عبر استهداف المواقع التي تُديرها إيران وميليشياتها، وخاصة في ريف السويداء والقنيطرة.

تتعاطى روسيا مع هذا الواقع من منظور أن هذا الوضع هو أفضل ما يمكن تحقيقه وسط التناقضات الهائلة بين مواقف ومصالح اللاعبين المتعددين، وتسعى إلى تطوير آليات لضبط هذه التناقضات، والسيطرة على الصراعات الحاصلة في المنطقة، ومن بين أهم آلياتها زيادة فعالية "الفيلق الخامس" لتحقيق التوازن مع قوات النظام والميليشيات الإيرانية، فضلاً عن التنسيق المستمر مع إسرائيل لضبط الحدود مع سورية.

نظام الأسد: مساعٍ دائمة للسيطرة على الجنوب

يحاول نظام الأسد التفلّت من الالتزامات التي يفرضها الجانب الروسي عليه، كما أنه لا يرتاح إلى الوضعية التي تشكل روسيا فيها عازلاً بينه وبين المجتمعات المحلية في الجنوب، ويرغب في إدارة هذه العلاقة بشكل مباشر من خلال أجهزته ومؤسساته، كما يرغب في الاستفادة من ورقة ضبط الجنوب وبيعها لإسرائيل، لا أن تستفرد روسيا بعوائد هذه الورقة.

ويعمل النظام من خلال أجهزته على اختراق المجتمعات المحلية عبر وسطاء من الأعضاء السابقين في حزب البعث، وضباط متقاعدين، وأعيان محليين، ومخاتير، وموظفي دولة كالمحافظين السابقين؛7 إذ يقوم هؤلاء بالترويج بأن النظام، رغم كل مساوئه، يبقى أفضل من الفوضى في ظل انعدام البدائل الأخرى، ومن جهته يحاول النظام تدعيم شرعية وجوده من خلال تقديم الخدمات للمجتمعات المحلية، من إعادة الكهرباء والماء والوقود، رغم أن الأزمة الاقتصادية التي تمر بها سورية تقيّد قدرة النظام في هذا الأمر.

وبموازاة ذلك، يفرض النظام سيطرةً عسكرية وأمنية مشدّدة على المناطق غير الخاضعة للضمانات الروسية، حيث تنتشر "الفرقة الرابعة" وأجهزة الأمن، كما يحاول النظام الاستفادة من الصراع الروسي الإيراني لزيادة انتشاره ونفوذه.

إيران: اللعب على التناقضات المحلية

أدى الضغط الروسي، مترافقاً مع رقابة إسرائيلية دائمة، واعتراض أردني على استمرار الانتشار الإيراني، إلى محاولة إيران البحث عن آليات جديدة لدعم نفوذها في جنوب سوريا، وتتميز هذه الآليات بخطورتها وإمكانية تفجيرها للأوضاع في هذه المنطقة كما يأتي:

  • استقطاب قادة سابقين في فصائل المعارضة، في قرى حوران الشرقية، ودعمهم بالمال والسلاح في صناعة تشكيلات عسكرية يكون ولاؤها لإيران و"حزب الله"، ومع أن هذه التشكيلات لا تزال صغيرة إلا أن كثافة انتشارها، وقدرة إيران على تمويلها، تُنذر باحتمالات تحوّلها إلى قوّة تهدّد الاستقرار في تلك المنطقة. ويبدو أن هدفها الأساسي هو قوات "أحمد العودة" التي تعَّرضت في الآونة الأخيرة لأكثر من حادثة تفجير واغتيال لقادتها، وهو ما دفع العودة إلى المطالبة بإخراج إيران وميليشياتها من كامل حوران.8
  • اللعب على الوتر الطائفي بين السُّنة والدروز، حيث تشجع إيران ميليشيات درزية يأتي على رأسها "ميليشيا الدفاع الوطني" من أجل استهداف قوات أحمد العودة، والقيام بعمليات الخطف والاعتقال ضد أشخاص من درعا، وكان آخر هذه الجولات القتال الذي دار بين الميليشيات وقوات أحمد العودة على الحدود بين بصرى الشام في درعا والقريا في السويداء، والذي سقط خلاله أكثر من 15 عنصراً من السويداء، وتهدف إيران بدرجة كبيرة إلى استعادة بصرى الشام، التي تعد "أكبر معقل للشيعة في درعا".9

إسرائيل: مطاردة الوجود الإيراني

لا تُعتبر إسرائيل فاعلاً مباشراً في ملف الجنوب السوري، وذلك لافتقارها إلى الأدوات المحلية والحضور المباشر على الأرض؛ فإسرائيل موجودة من خلال تفاهمات ضمنية مع روسيا تقضي بإبعاد إيران وميليشياتها عن الحدود، لكن يبدو أن الطرفين، الروسي والإسرائيلي، لم يتوصلا بعدُ إلى تعريف شامل للوجود الإيراني، كما أن إيران استغلت هذه الإشكالية بتنويع مظاهر وجودها من خلال:

  • إدماج بعض ميليشياتها ضمن هياكل "الفرقة الرابعة"، مثل ميليشيا " لواء الحسين"، وقد كشف أهالي حوض اليرموك عن وجود عناصر من "حزب الله" بين صفوف قوات الفرقة الرابعة في مناطقهم التي تقع على تماسٍ مباشر مع حدود الجولان، وتحديداً في معسكر "الجزيرة" الذي استهدفته إسرائيل مؤخراً.10
  • تشكيل ميليشيات من أبناء المنطقة يديرها "حزب الله"، وذلك في مناطق قريبة من الحدود في درعا والقنيطرة.
  • أمام هذه الوقائع، تجد إسرائيل نفسها في حِل من أي التزامات تجاه روسيا في جنوب سوريا، وتعمل على إزالة المخاطر الأمنية عبر الهجمات التي تشنها على مواقع في درعا والقنيطرة والسويداء. لكن يبدو أن هذه الغارات لا تحقّق أهدافها بدرجة كبيرة؛ فبالرغم من إيقاع الخسائر بإيران إلا أن الأخيرة تَعتبر أن هذه الخسائر محتملة في سبيل تنفيذ استراتيجيتها بالتمدد في جنوب سوريا، وتَحوّلها إلى لاعب أساسي في تفاعلات هذه المنطقة ذات الموقع الاستراتيجي المهم.

نقطة التحول في الصراع الروسي-الإيراني

تشكّل معارك السويداء التي اندلعت في أواخر شهر سبتمبر الفائت بين ميليشيات تدعمها إيران والفيلق الخامس، الذي يعتبر أداةَ روسيا العسكرية الأساسية في سوريا، نقطةَ تحوّل في الصراع الروسي-الإيراني في جنوب سوريا، حيث جرى الصدام بشكل مباشر بين وكلاء الطرفين في الجنوب، وكان الصراع قبل ذلك يتخذ شكل العمليات المجهولة الفاعل، ويقتصر في الغالب على التفجيرات والاغتيالات.

ينطوي هذا التحوّل على معانٍ عديدة، أبرزها رغبة إيران في خلط الأوراق بوجه روسيا في الجنوب وإفهامها أنها طرف من الصعب إزالته بالنظر إلى انخراطها في النسيج الاجتماعي للمنطقة، وايصال رسالة إلى روسيا بأن إيران قادرة على تفجير الترتيبات الروسية في جنوب سوريا.

ويتمثل الدافع الأساس للسلوك الإيراني بالغضب من التصرفات الروسية التي تسعى إلى تضييق الخناق على النفوذ الإيراني، ليس في جنوب سوريا فحسب ولكن في شرق سورية ووسطها، كما يتمثل بما تَعتبره إيران تواطؤاً روسياً مع إسرائيل وفسح المجال لها لضرب قواعدها ومرتكزاتها في جنوب سوريا، بالإضافة إلى انحياز روسيا للسُّنة في حوران على حساب الشيعة والقبول بإخراجهم من بصرى الشام.

ومن جهتها تركت روسيا قوات "الفيلق الخامس"، وهي أكثر تنظيماً وتسليحاً من الميليشيات الإيرانية، تنقضّ على حلفاء إيران؛ ما جعل الأخيرة تَعتبر هذا التصرف مقصوداً من قبل روسيا التي كان بإمكانها إيقاف وكلاءها ومنعهم من سحق ميلشيا "الدفاع الوطني" في معركة بلدة القريّا التابعة لمحافظة السويداء.11

وتذهب الترجيحات إلى أن ما حصل في السويداء لن ينتهي عند هذا الحد، واحتمالات تطوره إلى حرب بين المحافظتين الجارتين، درعا والسويداء، أمر محتمل في ظل حالة الاستنفار الحادة التي تعيشها مجتمعات المحافظتين، فقد ثبت أن الدروز، بكافة اتجاهاتهم السياسية، وقفوا خلف فصائلهم المسلحة، كما بات أحمد العودة يمثل قطباً يستقطب شرائح واسعة من مجتمع درعا، الذي يشعر بمخاطر الوجود الإيراني ويفضّل التعاون مع الروس وأدواتهم لإخراج إيران وميليشياتها من جنوب سوريا.12

الخلاصة والاستنتاجات

من غير المحتمل تغيُّر الأوضاع للأفضل في الجنوب السوري في المستقبل المنظور؛ إذ ترجح أغلب المؤشرات استمرار التصعيد بين الأطراف المختلفة، وانتظار جولات عنف قادمة، وإذ يُصر النظام السوري، ومن خلفه إيران و"حزب الله"، على تغيير المعادلات التي صنعتها روسيا، فإن الطرف الآخر، ممثلاً بفصائل المعارضة والفيلق الخامس، ومن خلفهما روسيا، يُبدون مقاومةً واضحة، ويرفضون التنازل عما يعتبرونه حقّاً منحته لهم التسويات التي صاغتها القوى الدولية والإقليمية، كما تعتبر هذه الأطراف أنها قوى شرعية بفضل تأييد شرائح واسعة لها في جنوب سورية.

ورغم توقع استمرار التصعيد، إلا أن توقعات خروجه عن السيطرة، وخاصة بين الفاعلين الخارجيين، تبقى منخفضة، ذلك أن إيران ستفضّل اتباع سياسة التغلغل الهادئ وهي سياسة تجيدها وتكسب من خلالها، حيث تراهن على تعب الأطراف الأخرى، وتَغيّر أولوياتها، كما يراهن نظام الأسد على تأكل قوّة معارضيه في الجنوب وانهيارها مع الزمن تحت ضغط حاجة المجتمعات المحلية إلى الخدمات التي تقدمها الدولة. ولا يمنع ذلك من حصول موجات عنف بين الحين والآخر، كلما وجد أحد الأطراف نفسه تحت ضغط حصار الأطراف الأخرى، بما يهدّد مصالحه ونفوذه، والمقصود هنا بالدرجة الأولى إيران.

وتبقى احتمالات اندلاع حرب إقليمية بين إسرائيل وإيران منخفضة، بسبب عدم وجود إيراني ظاهر للعيان، وانعدام الرغبة الإيرانية في محاربة إسرائيل بشكل مباشر، والأرجح استمرار الضربات الإسرائيلية، بين حين وآخر، لمواقع يتم الاشتباه بوجود نشاط إيراني فيها.

ويبقى موضوع الصراع بين محافظتي درعا والسويداء هو الخطر الأكثر إلحاحاً، نظراً للطبيعة العشائرية للمجتمعين، والاختلافات المذهبية، ومن المرجح سيادة أنماط من الانتقام والتصعيد بينهما في ظل وجود مصلحة لأطراف الصراع الآخرين باستمرار هذا الخلاف؛ إذ يراهن نظام الأسد على استثمار النزاع بين المحافظتين لاستعادة نفوذه المفقود، كما تراهن إيران على تحجيم السُّنة والقضاء على أحمد العودة وقواته.13

الهوامش

  1. سمير السعدي، ""اللواء 313" والتدخل اﻹيراني في درعا"، موقع المدن، 11 نوفمبر 2017.
  2. "درعا.. "أحمد العودة" يعلن عن تشكيل عسكري في منطقة حوران"، موقع بلدي نيوز، 23 يونيو 2020.
  3. "حرب حزب الله على أهل "حوران".. مواجهة مواربة للقوة الروسية"، موقع 24، 21 يونيو 2020.
  4. "بالخرائط.. مواقع إيران وحزب الله شمال درعا"، مؤسسة نبأ الإعلامية، 8 مايو 2020.
  5. "صراع روسي-إيراني جنوب سوريا... و"سيطرة ظاهرية" للنظام"، الشرق الأوسط، 4 أكتوبر 2020.
  6. أرميناك توكماجيان، "كيف تحوّل جنوب سوريا إلى برميل بارود إقليمي"، مركز كارنيغي للشرق الأوسط، 5 أكتوبر 2020.
  7. المصدر السابق.
  8. "درعا تحت التسوية التوصيف والسيناريوهات الممكنة"، مركز جسور للدراسات، 11 مايو 2020.
  9. "أحمد العودة يتّهم إيران بإشعال الفتنة بين درعا والسويداء"، تلفزيون سوريا، 3 أكتوبر 2020.
  10. "مروحيات إسرائيلية تقصف ريف درعا"، عنب بلدي، 1 مايو 2020.
  11. سوسن مهنا، "تصفية حسابات روسية-إيرانية في محافظتي السويداء ودرعا السوريتين"، إنديبندنت عربية، 9 أكتوبر 2020
  12. أرميناك توكماجيان، مصدر سابق.
  13. "جنوب سوريا: "نزاع بين الأشقاء" أم عنف مدبر؟"، ترجمة زين الحمصي، أورينت نت، 8 أكتوبر 2020.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Portents of a Regional Conflict in Southern Syria: Influential Powers and Likelihoods of Escalation

EPC | 19 Oct 2020

Southern Syria is witnessing a multi-layered conflict involving a number of sides. In spite of attempts by the parties concerned to manage the conflict in order to prevent it from spreading into a broader arena, the intensification of messages passing between the sides has begun to threaten the fragile arrangements in a geostrategically important region fraught with numerous contradictions.

This paper highlights the developments taking place in southern Syria, their dynamics, and the potential outcomes.

The current outlook in southern Syria: interactions and dynamics

The geographical location of southern Syria is at the root of the conflict in the region. Adjacent to both Israel and Jordan and extending into Lebanon over the Mount Hermon range, this region is regarded as the gateway to the countries of the Arabian Gulf via the Nasib Border Crossing. Its location has prompted many regional and international players to intervene in the ongoing conflict, as their security has been affected by military and security developments in this region.

Regional sensitivity was taken into account when drawing up the arrangements for southern Syria in 2018. Russia oversaw the process, in which it found itself forced to involve several other parties, including Jordan, Israel, and the United States. As part of these arrangements, Iran was enjoined to withdraw to a distance of 80 km from the Jordanian and Israeli borders; Russia was unable to enforce this, however, despite the announcement of Iran’s withdrawal from the area, and Iranian activities took on numerous forms. 

Russian arrangements have produced a security situation in the southern region which is markedly fragile, specifically in Daraa and Al-Quneitra. The conflict has transformed into a fight for control over security, drawing in a number of sides, both local and regional, as a result of the severe Russo–Iranian polarization among these parties and Israel’s constant surveillance of the movements of Iran’s militias and armaments within the buffer zone along its border with Daraa and Al-Quneitra.

In keeping with the agreements entered into with regional players, Russia was forced into arrangements with armed factions in Daraa, allowing some to retain their light arms and combat structures and preventing regime forces and Iranian militias from entering the areas controlled by these factions, in particular Daraa al-Balad and Tafas. Likewise, the Eighth Brigade was established under the Fifth Assault Corps in Busra al-Sham, led by the former commander of the “Sunni Youth” faction Ahmad al-Oda, to serve as a counterweight to Iranian militias in the region.

The situation is more nuanced in Al-Suwayda Governorate, a Sunni-majority area that is home to a Druze minority and is endangered by the presence of Islamic State encampments in desert areas along its borders. Dozens of factions and militias have been formed to defend the governorate; they have the last word on security matters, despite their differences in allegiance and level of authority. Several of them, such as the “Rijal al-Karama” (Men of Dignity) faction, are not on good terms with the Syrian regime and are calling for Al-Suwayda’s neutrality in the Syrian conflict, while a larger portion are affiliated to the Syrian security services. Iran and Lebanese Hezbollah have likewise attracted a large number of militias affiliated with the pro-government militia known as the “National Defense Forces”.

This state of affairs has brought into being pockets beyond the reach of the regime which are simultaneously protected by Russian guarantees and Israeli surveillance. The regime and Iran have sought to circumvent this situation by attracting thousands of armed factions – referred to as “settlement elements” – through the regime’s agencies, in particular the Iran-allied air force intelligence and Fourth Division, in addition to Hezbollah-led efforts to recruit elements from among the Saraya Al-Areen 313 Brigades.[1]

Meanwhile, Ahmed al-Oda has been active in attracting young fighters, and has recently announced his intention to form a unified army for the Hawran region comprising more than 20,000 members under a single banner, dedicated to fighting the “enemies of the people”, namely Iran and Hezbollah.[2]

Map of control

There is an ongoing struggle for control over southern Syria, with each party to the conflict dominating specific areas:

  • Factions belonging to the opposition exercise total control over Daraa al-Balad and Tafas to the west of Daraa city, which are protected by Russian guarantee, with factions in these areas retaining their structures and light weapons.
  • The Eighth Brigade, affiliated to the Fifth Assault Corps and commanded by Ahmad al-Oda, controls Busra al-Sham and nearby areas.
  • Hezbollah controls some areas of Lajat and the eastern outskirts of Daraa through locally formed militias, which often engage in fierce clashes with al-Oda’s forces.[3]
  • Areas of northern Daraa near to Al-Quneitra (namely Al-Harah, Jasem, and Injal) are witnessing clashes between the Syrian Security Forces, supported by Hezbollah, and disbanded Syrian factions still active in those areas.[4]
  • The Fourth Division controls the countryside of west Daraa and the Yarmuk Basin, adjacent to Jordan and Israel. Hezbollah is also active in these areas.
  • The control of Al-Quneitra and the surrounding areas is divided between the Syrian regime forces, its security agencies, and Hezbollah, which has created local militias under its command.
  • Control of Al-Suwayda and its rural areas is divided between the regime’s agencies and local militias, especially the pro-Iran National Defense Forces and Hezbollah, and the anti-regime Rijal al-Karama.
  • All these formations operate within lines which broadly overlap, in the absence of a clear framework agreement to regulate movement. Agreements entered into by the parties are fragile and inconclusive, which is why the Syrian regime, supported locally by Iran and Hezbollah, is calling for absolute control to be imposed over these areas, which it sees as a part of the Syrian State. Meanwhile other parties, especially the militias in Al-Suwayda and the opposition factions in Daraa, are seeking some kind of autonomy over the areas under their control.
  • A fierce security war marked by an increasing number of assassinations has broken out in the south, due to the inability of any of the sides to pronounce a definitive victory (for the opposition, this is a result of its weakness, while the regime is hobbled by Russian agreements and Israeli surveillance). The Syrian Observatory for Human Rights reported that more than 698 attacks and assassination attempts were carried out in Daraa between June 2019 and the end of September 2020, resulting in 460 deaths, including 126 civilians, 210 members of the government forces and armed elements loyal to them, 79 fighters belonging to factions responsible for “settlement and reconciliation” operations who had remained in the ranks of the regime’s security agencies, 23 members of Syrian militias affiliated to Hezbollah and Iranian forces, and 22 members of the Fifth Assault Corps.[5]

The status of actors and their positions

Russia: Management of internal conflict and regional equilibrium

Southern Syria is considered first and foremost to be Russia’s responsibility. It assumed responsibility for putting in place the current arrangements, which returned control over the area to the Assad regime, and for dismantling most of the region’s armed factions, as well as undertaking to enforce the withdrawal of Iran and its militias from the Israeli and Jordanian borders. On the strength of this responsibility, Russia occasionally intervenes in local issues, such as settling problems arising from arbitrary arrests or managing tensions between regime forces and former opposition groups.[6]

The regime, however, does not seem to welcome this Russian role, believing as it does that it is entitled to total control over the southern region. By the same token, Russia is accused by the opposition of forsaking its commitments and favoring the regime at the expense of assurances made to the opposition. At the same time, Israel has lost faith in Russia’s ability or desire to confront Iranian influence in southern Syria, and has therefore taken it into its own hands to target locations run by Iran and its militias, especially in areas around Al-Suwayda and Al-Quneitra.

Russia deals with this reality by regarding this state of affairs as the best it can achieve given the enormous differences in the positions and interests of the various players, and seeks to develop mechanisms with which to overcome such divisions and gain control over conflicts taking place in the region. One of the most important mechanisms is to enhance the effectiveness of the Fifth Assault Corps as a counterweight to regime forces and Iranian militias, in addition to continuous coordination with Israel in controlling its border with Syria.

The Assad regime: Continuing efforts to control the south

The Assad regime is trying to circumvent commitments imposed upon it by Russian. It is not comfortable with the status quo, in which Russia forms a buffer between itself and local communities in the south, seeking instead to manage its relationship with them directly through its own agencies and institutions. The regime also wants to feel the benefits – currently enjoyed entirely by Russa – of controlling the south and the advantage that this gives over Israel.

The regime operates through its agencies to infiltrate local groups by means of intermediaries, including former members of the Baath Party, retired officers, local notables, mayors, and State employees, such as former governors.[7] These intermediaries promote the idea that the regime, despite all its failings, is better than chaos, given the lack of alternatives. For its part, the regime tries to shore up its legitimacy in the region by providing services to local groups and restoring electricity, water, and fuel supplies, although it is limited in its power to do so by Syria’s ongoing economic crisis.

At the same time, the regime is imposing strict military and security control over areas not subject to Russian guarantees in which the Fourth Division and its security agencies are deployed. It is also seeking to take advantage of the Russian–Iranian conflict to build its military presence and its influence.

Iran: Playing on local disagreements

Pressure from Russia, coupled with permanent Israeli surveillance and Jordanian objections to ongoing Iranian deployment, have pushed Iran to search for new ways to enhance its influence in southern Syria, each of which carry their own risks and the potential to lead to escalation:

  • Iran is attempting to attract former opposition faction leaders in the villages of eastern Hawran, which it is then supporting with money and weapons to create military units with allegiance to Iran and Hezbollah. Although these units are still small, their intensive deployment and Iran’s ability to finance them augurs their potential transformation into a force capable of threatening the area’s stability. Their main focus would appear to be forces affiliated to Ahmad al-Oda, which have recently been the target of an increasing number of bombings and assassinations. This has prompted al-Oda to demand the removal of Iran and its militias from Hawran altogether.[8]
  • Playing the Sunni–Druze sectarian card, Iran is encouraging Druze militias, led by the National Defense Forces, to target Ahmad al-Oda’s forces and to kidnap and arrest individuals from Daraa. More than 15 people were killed in the latest round of fighting between these two sides, at the border between Busra al-Sham in Daraa and villages in Al-Suwayda. Iran’s main aim is to retake Busra al-Sham, which it considers to be “the biggest Shiite stronghold in Daraa”.[9]

Israel: Driving out the Iranian presence

 Israel is not considered to be directly involved in southern Syria, due to its lack of local resources and direct presence on the ground. Nonetheless, it is making its presence felt through implicit agreements with Russia, which require the removal of Iran and its militias from areas near the Israeli border; it would appear, however, that Russia and Israel are yet to arrive at an all-encompassing definition of what constitutes an Iranian presence. Furthermore, Iran has exploited this problem by diversifying its presence in various ways:

  • Certain militias, such as the Imam Hussein Brigade, have been merged with the Fourth Division. Residents of the Yarmouk Basin have revealed the presence of Hezbollah elements among the ranks of the Fourth Division forces in their areas, which are directly contiguous with the Golan borders, and specifically in Camp al-Jazeera, which has recently been targeted by Israel.[10]
  • Iran has established militias of local men, run by Hezbollah, in areas in close proximity to Daraa and Al-Quneitra.
  • Confronted with this state of affairs, Israel feels that it has been released from any obligations towards Russia in southern Syria, and is instead attempting to remove security risks by launching attacks on positions within Daraa, Al-Quneitra and Al-Suwayda. However, these raids seemed to have done little to achieve their goals. Iran considers these losses bearable in the interest of pursuing its expansionist strategies in southern Syria and becoming a major player in this strategically important region.

Turning point in the Russo–Iranian conflict

The battle of Al-Suwayda, which broke out in late September between Iranian-backed militias and the Fifth Assault Corps, considered to be Russia’s main military resource in Syria, represents a turning point in the conflict between Russia and Iran in southern Syria, where direct clashes have been taking place between their proxy forces. Previously, the conflict had taken the form of effective covert operations and was restricted mainly to bombings and assassinations.

This shift has a number of implications, the most important of which is Iran’s desire to complicate matters for Russia in the south and to make it understand that its removal as a party to the conflict will be difficult; Iran is keen to send Russia the message that it is firmly embedded in the region’s social fabric and is able to torpedo Russia’s arrangements in southern Syria. The main motive behind Iran’s behavior is one of anger at Russian actions, which aim to constrain Iranian influence not only in southern Syria, but also in the eastern and central parts of the country. Iran also opposes what it regards as Russia’s collusion with Israel in allowing it to strike at Iranian bases and installations in southern Syria. Added to this is Russia’s siding with Sunnis in Hawran at the expense of the Shiites, and its acquiescence at their expulsion from Busra al-Sham.

For its part, Russia has allowed the Fifth Assault Corps – which is better organized and better armed than the Iranian militias – to attack Iranian allies. Iran sees these actions as deliberate, as Russia had the power to restrain its proxies and could have prevented them from crushing the National Defense Forces in the battle for Al-Qarya in Al-Suwayda Governorate.[11]

What happened in Al-Suwayda is unlikely to end there, and might well develop into a war between the neighboring governorates of Daraa and Al-Suwayda, given the state of high alert among both communities. The Druze, of whatever political stripe, have rallied firmly behind their armed factions. Similarly, Ahmad al-Oda has become a lodestar, attracting broad swathes of Daraa society concerned at the Iranian presence, who would rather cooperate with the Russians and their agents to expel Iran and its militias from southern Syria.[12]

Conclusions

It is unlikely that conditions in southern Syria will change for the better in the foreseeable future. Most indicators point to continued escalation between the different sides and to the prospect of future outbreaks of violence, given the Syrian government’s insistence, seconded by Iran and Hezbollah, on changing the game plan drawn up by Russia. Meanwhile, opposition factions and the Russian-backed Fifth Assault Corps are openly resisting and refusing to relinquish what they see as a right awarded to them in settlements drawn up by the international and regional powers. These parties also regard themselves a legitimate force, thanks to the support that they enjoy from broad segments of southern Syrian society.

Although escalation is expected to continue, there is little chance that it will get out of hand, especially among external actors, since Iran would prefer to pursue a policy of peaceful infiltration – a policy at which it is adept and from which it benefits – in its bid to wear down the other players and change their priorities. Likewise, the Assad regime is betting on its ability to erode the strength of the opposition in the south and bring about its gradual collapse, pressured by the need of local communities for services which only the State can provide. This will not, however, prevent occasional violent clashes from occurring whenever one of the parties – primarily Iran – finds itself blockaded by others that pose a threat to its interests and influence.

There is little likelihood of a regional war breaking out between Israel and Iran, due to the lack of a visible Iranian presence and Iran’s unwillingness to take on Israel directly. Instead, Israeli strikes will likely continue intermittently at locations where there is a suspected presence of Iranian activities.

The question of conflict between the governorates of Daraa and Al-Suwayda remains the most pressing danger, given the tribal nature and sectarian differences of these communities. In all likelihood, the patterns of retaliation and escalation between them are likely to predominate, given that other sides to the conflict have a vested interest in the continuation of such disputes; as the Assad regime is counting on exploiting the dispute between the governorates in order to reclaim its lost influence, so also is Iran counting on it to undermine the Sunnis and eliminate Ahmad al-Oda and his forces.[13]

References

[1] Samir al-Sa’adi, “اللواء 313" والتدخل اﻹيراني في درعا”, Al-Modon, November 11, 2017.

[2] “درعا.. "أحمد العودة" يعلن عن تشكيل عسكري في منطقة حوران”, Baladi News, June 23, 2020.

[3] “حرب حزب الله على أهل "حوران".. مواجهة مواربة للقوة الروسية”, 24, June 21, 2020.

[4] “بالخرائط.. مواقع إيران وحزب الله شمال درعا”, Nabaa Media Foundation, May 8, 2020.

[5] “صراع روسي-إيراني جنوب سوريا... و"سيطرة ظاهرية" للنظام”, Asharq Al-Awsat, October 4, 2020.

[6] Armenak Tokmajyan, “How Southern Syria Has Been Transformed Into a Regional Powder Keg”, Carnegie Middle East Center, July 14, 2020.

[7] Ibid.

[8] “درعا تحت التسوية التوصيف والسيناريوهات الممكنة”, Jusoor for Studies, May 11, 2020.

[9] “أحمد العودة يتّهم إيران بإشعال الفتنة بين درعا والسويداء”, Television Syria, October 3, 2020.

[10] “مروحيات إسرائيلية تقصف ريف درعا”, Enab Baladi, May 1, 2020.

[11] Sawsana Mehanna, “تصفية حسابات روسية-إيرانية في محافظتي السويداء ودرعا السوريتين”, Independent Arabia, October 9, 2020.

[12] Tokmajyan, “How Southern Syria Has Been Transformed”.

[13] “جنوب سوريا.. "نزاع بين الأشقاء" أم عنف مدبر؟”, Orient Net, tr. Zayn al-Hamdi, October 8, 2020.

 

Latest Featured Topics