صندوق التنمية الوطني الإيراني: تقدير حجم المدخرات، والسيناريوهات المتوقعة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 27 مايو 2020

ثمة اختلاف كبير في تقدير حجم مُدّخرات صندوق التنمية الوطني الإيراني، وتتسع فجوة هذا الاختلاف بشكل أكبر بين المصادر الداخلية والخارجية. وقد أوردت تقارير صادرة في العام 2018 عن صندوق النقد الدولي أن مدخرات الصندوق بلغت 91 مليار دولار، لكن تقارير أخرى صدرت عن نفس المنظمة، أشارت في عام 2019 إلى أن حجم مدخرات الصندوق يبلغ 85.5 مليار دولار. بينما تبدو تقديرات المصادر الداخلية مختلفة تمامًا؛ ففي حين تعلن مصادر في الصندوق إلى أن الحكومة دفعت 170 مليار دولار حتى العام 2013 للصندوق، فإن مركز البحوث التابع للبرلمان الإيراني أكد في تقرير في العام 2014 أن الحكومة السابقة كنست مدخرات الصندوق، وأن مدخراته في ذلك العام لم تتجاوز 17 مليار دولار، وهو ما تؤيده أرقام صادرة عن الصندوق. هذا فيما أشارت مصادر رسمية إلى أن مدخرات الصندوق انخفضت إلى نحو 22 مليار دولار في سبتمبر 2013، ثم إلى نحو 12 مليار دولار في أكتوبر 2017.

ولعلّ عدم الشفافية في حيثيات عمل الصندوق، ومصادره، وغموض آليات تحققها، وكيفية إدارتها، تعدُّ من أهم الأسباب التي ينشأ عنها هذا الاختلاف الشاسع في تقدير حجم المدخرات؛ إذ تشير الأخبار إلى فشل عدة محاولات برلمانية لمراقبة الصندوق، والتحقيق في حساباته. لكن من الواضح أن النظام الإيراني يفضل استمرار هذه الضبابية التي تحكم حالة الصندوق الذي يلعب دورًا لافتًا في صمود إيران بوجه الضغوط الاقتصادية الناجمة عن العقوبات؛ مما يجعل من المستحيل معرفة اللحظة التي ينهار فيها الاقتصاد الإيراني، بسبب عدم معرفة حجم المصادر التي يستند عليها للصمود بوجه الضغوط. ولذلك، يبدو من المهم جدًا تقدير حجم المدخرات الواقعية التي يتضمنها الصندوق، وحجم الحصة التي يمكن للنظام استخدامها من تلك المدخرات في الأوقات الحرجة.

ما هو "صندوق التنمية الوطني" الإيراني؟

صندوق التنمية الوطني الإيراني هو صندوق ثروة سيادية شكلته حكومة الرئيس الإيراني الأسبق محمود أحمدي نجاد في عام 2010، بعد أن قامت بحلّ "صندوق الادّخار القومي"، وهو تجربة مماثلة قامت بها حكومة الرئيس محمد خاتمي في عام 1998. ويشكل صندوق التنمية الوطني مدخرًا سياديًا لادخار الفائض من مبيعات النفط السنوية، بغية استخدامها في الأعوام التي تقل فيها الإيرادات النفطية، وبغية استخدامها في تحريك القطاع الاقتصادي الخاص، وبعض القطاعات البنيوية. وكان القانون الداخلي للصندوق، استنادا إلى بنود البرنامج الخماسي للتنمية، يقضي أن تقوم الحكومة بإيداع 20 بالمئة من مجموع مبيعات النفط السنوية على الصعيد الدولي والداخلي في الصندوق، على أن يتم إضافة 3 بالمئة إلى هذه النسبة كل عام، وذلك في سبيل خفض الاستناد على النفط في الموازنة العامة، وادخار فائض المبيعات؛ إلا أن الحكومات لم تُبدِ التزامًا كبيرًا بزيادة هذه النسبة، مما جعلها في بعض الأحيان تتوقف عند 20 بالمئة.

ويتكفل الصندوق بـعدة وظائف أهمها: "منح قروض إلى القطاع الخاص"، و"ضخ منح مالية في المشاريع التنموية البنيوية"، ويمكن "استخدام مصادره في دعم الموازنة العامة في حال حدوث عجز" ناجم عن المبيعات النفطية أو أي عجز تراه الجهات المعنية بالصندوق سببًا في سده من مصادر الصندوق، على أن يكون للبرلمان أو للقائد الأعلى الحق في استخدام مصادر الصندوق في المحورين الأخيرين، بينما يكون الحق في المحور الأول من نصيب إدارة الصندوق.

وأشار وزير الخارجية الأمريكي، مايك بومبيو، مؤخرًا إلى الصندوق في معرض حديثة عن أزمة كورونا في إيران؛ حيث أكد أن "إيران ليست بحاجة إلى مساعدات دولية لمكافحة فيروس كورونا، لأنها تمتلك مصادر عدة، منها صندوق تنمية ضخم، تبلغ قيمة مدخراته نحو 90 مليار دولار". وكان الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني طلب في رسالة إلى القائد الأعلى الإيراني من أن يستعين بنحو مليار دولار من مصادر الصندوق لدعم القطاع الصحي في وجه الفيروس الذي يعصف بالبلاد.

مجمل هذه الأحداث أعادت إلى السطح سؤالًا يبدو في غاية الأهمية عن طبيعة هذا الصندوق، وحجم مدخراته الحقيقي، خصوصًا وأنه يلعب دورًا رئيسًا في سد ثغرات الموازنة العامة (يقدر حجم تعويل موازنة العام الجاري على مصادر الصندوق بما بين 3 و7 مليارات دولار في عدة سيناريوهات، مشكلة نحو 7 حتى 16.5 بالمئة من حجم الموازنة العامة، بينما كان حجم التعويل على مصادر الصندوق خلال العام الماضي نحو 18 بالمئة). كما يلعب الصندوق دورًا بارزًا في دعم قطاعات سيادية منها القطاع العسكري.

حجم إيرادات الصندوق المتوقعة

طيلة عشر سنوات على تدشين صندوق التنمية الوطني، اختلفت نسبة الإيداعات التي كلفت مشاريع الموازنة الحكومة بعزلها لصالح صندوق التنمية الوطني، وفق حالة الاقتصاد، ومبيعات النفط، ووفق سياسات الحكومة في التعامل مع مصادر الصندوق؛ فبينما كانت النسبة وفق مشروع الموازنة عند 20 بالمئة في عام 2010 و2011 فإنها كانت عند 23 بالمئة في عام 2012، وعند 26 بالمئة في 2013، وعند 28 بالمئة في 2014. لكن النسبة انخفضت مجددًا إلى 20 بالمئة خلال عامي 2015 و2016، قبل أن تشهد ارتفاعا إلى 30 بالمئة في 2017، و32 بالمئة في عام 2018، لتستقر في العام الفائت والعام الجاري عند 20 بالمئة. أما على صعيد الإيرادات الناجمة عن مبيعات النفط الداخلية، فإن مشاريع الموازنة خلال العقد الماضي أطلقت يد الحكومة في استخدام حصة الصندوق في تنمية برنامجها لترشيد الدعم.

وتبين متابعة مبيعات النفط الإيرانية خلال العقد الماضي أن إيران باعت نحو 620.5 مليار دولار من النفط بين عامي 2010 و2019، لتكون حصة صندوق التنمية الوطني عند 147.5 مليار دولار، بناء على معدل حصة الصندوق السنوية طيلة هذا العقد. ويضاف إلى ذلك نحو 8.5 مليار دولار (نصف ما تبقى في حساب صندوق الادّخار القومي قبل حله) ليكون المجموع عند 156 مليار دولار. إلا أن هذه الحسابات لا تأخذ بالحسبان بعض المعطيات التي من شأنها أن تخفض التقديرات بخصوص ممتلكات صندوق التنمية الوطني؛ إذ تشير الأرقام إلى أن الحكومة استنفدت بموجب بند في مشروع الموازنة حصة الصندوق خلال عامي 2015 و2019 على أقل تقدير. هذا بينما تشير الأرقام الرسمية الصادرة عن الصندوق أن مجموع مدّخرات الصندوق في عام 2011 كانت أقل من 100 مليون دولار؛ مما يعني أن الحكومة استخدمت نحو 25 مليار دولار من مصادر الصندوق في عامي 2010 و2011. هذا وتشير مصادر في مركز البحوث التابع للبرلمان الإيراني أن مجموع ما بقي في الصندوق عند تسلم الرئيس روحاني سدة الحكم كانت عند 16 مليار دولار فقط.

ويعني كل ذلك أن مجموع مداخيل الصندوق في أفضل حالاته يتراوح بين 96.02 مليار دولار و119.82 مليار دولار.

سُبُل استخدام مصادر الصندوق

بينما تشير دوائر الصندوق إلى أن مجموع القروض والمنح والمساعدات التي قدمها الصندوق طيلة العقد المنصرم (2010 – 2019) بلغت 111 مليار دولار، فإن متابعة الأخبار وتحليل مشاريع الموازنة تظهر أن الأهم من بين كل تلك القروض والمنح هي تلك التي تم تقديمها ما بين عامي 2015 و2019، لأنها لم يتم استرجاعها للصندوق، بموجب قوانين الصندوق التي تمنح فرصة تتسع لسبعة أعوام على الأقل قبل استنفاد القروض.

  • تشير الأرقام إلى أن حكومة روحاني استنفدت بإذن من البرلمان أو بإذن من القائد الأعلى نحو 33.02 مليار دولار من مدخرات الصندوق ضمن برامج دعم للموازنة، أو لمختلف القطاعات البنيوية والعسكرية والصحية، أو لمعالجة الأزمات التي وقعت خلال الأعوام الثلاثة الماضية (2017 -2019) وذلك خلال 11 جولة من استخدام مصادر الصندوق على مدار هذه الأعوام. فيما تشير مشاريع الموازنة العامة إلى أن الحكومة حصلت على منحتين رياليتين من الصندوق (مقابل المنح بالدولار) مجموعهما 70 ألف مليار تومان، تعادلان نحو 11.25 مليار دولار من مدخرات الصندوق؛ ليكون المجموع نحو 44.27 مليار دولار.
  • إضافة إلى ذلك، تشير معطيات الصندوق إلى أن إدارته قررت تقديم نحو 37.2 مليار دولار من القروض إلى القطاع الخاص خلال الأعوام الخمسة الماضية، لم يحن موعد استرجاعها حتى الآن بموجب آجال العقود. هذا فيما بلغ مجموع القروض الريالية (مقابل القروض بالدولار) التي منحها الصندوق، طيلة الأعوام الخمس الماضية نحو 46.2 ألف مليار تومان؛ مما يعادل نحو 6.7 مليار دولار. هذا إلى جانب نحو 500 مليون دولار من القروض المترسبة التي لم يتم استرجاعها من الأعوام الفائتة؛ مما يجعل مجموع القروض التي قدمها الصندوق للقطاع الخاص خلال العامين المنصرمين نحو 43.9 مليار دولار.
  • إلى جانب ذلك، تشير معطيات الصندوق الرسمية أن صندوق التنمية الوطني رصد نحو 6.06 مليار دولار من أرصدته خلال عامي 2018 و2019 لما أطلق عليه بالاستثمار الدولاري في البنوك؛ مما يعني منحها لمستوردي البضائع، بوصفها ضمانا لهم في البنوك الدولية، دون أن يذكر تفاصيل عن عودتها إلى الصندوق.

يبين مجموع ذلك أن حكومة روحاني استخرجت ما بين 88.17 و94.23 مليار دولار من مصادر الصندوق خلال العامين الماضيين، في إطار برامجها التنموية، ودعم الاقتصاد، وسد عجز الموازنة العامة، ومنح قروض للقطاع الخاص في مشاريع كبرى. ويجعل هذا مما تبقى من مصادر في الصندوق بين 25.59 و19.53 مليار دولار.

الاستنتاجات العامة

  1. يشكل صندوق التنمية الوطني واحدًا من أهم المصادر التي تستند إليها مختلف مؤسسات النظام السياسي في إيران من أجل دعم الاقتصاد، ودعم المشاريع البنيوية، والتنموية في البلاد. كما أنه شكل خلال الأعوام الأخيرة واحدًا من أهم المصادر التي تستند عليها الحكومة في موازنتها العامة، بصفتها مصدرًا من مصادر الموازنة العامة، ومصدرًا من أهم مصادرها في سد العجز.
  2. يلعب صندوق التنمية دورًا كبيرا في دعم صمود الاقتصاد الإيراني أمام الضغوط الناجمة عن العقوبات، بوصفه مصدرًا رئيسًا من المصادر التي يمكن أن يستند عليه الاقتصاد الإيراني. ورغم أن الحكومة ومؤسسات النظام تحاول التظاهر بعدم اللجوء إلى مصادر الصندوق في هذا الإطار، فإن ملاحظة المعطيات تبين أن الحكومة لجأت 13 مرة خلال الأشهر الخمس والعشرين الماضية إلى مصادر الصندوق لاستنفاد أكثر من 44 مليار دولار من مصادره لسد الثغرات الناجمة عن ضغوط العقوبات في جسد اقتصادها المتهالك.
  3. تحول الضبابية التي تحكم البيانات الحكومية حول مدخرات الصندوق، دون معرفة حجم مدخراته بشكل دقيق. والملاحظ في الأمر أن الجهات الرسمية في إيران تفضل استمرار هذه الضبابية من خلال الابتعاد عن الإعلان الرسمي لحجم مدخرات الصندوق، والتوجه نحو إظهار بيانات وتصريحات متناقضة بهذا الشأن. وأغلب الظن أن الضبابية والتعارض في التصريحات الرسمية حول حجم مدخرات الصندوق خطوات مرسومة تهدف إلى تضليل الجهات الدولية بشأن حجم المدخرات الحقيقي للصندوق.
  4. بالنظر إلى الهوة الشاسعة بين تقديرات المنظمات الدولية عن حجم مدخرات الصندوق، والبيانات الصادرة عن إدارة الصندوق، فإن رصدًا دقيقًا للأرقام، وللنظام الداخلي للصندوق، تظهر أن الأرقام الصادرة عن المؤسسات الدولية، ورغم إصابتها فيما يتعلق بحجم إيرادات الصندوق، إلا أنها ستظل أرقامًا مبالغًا بها، لأنها لا تأخذ بالحسبان استنفاد مصادر الصندوق في دعم البرنامج التنموية، ودعم الموازنة من جهة، كما أنها لا تأخذ بالحسبان أن حوالي 43.9 مليار دولار من مصادر الصندوق، لا يمكن الاستناد إليها، لأنها تبقى مصادر مقفلة بموجب قوانين الصندوق، التي ترصد هذه المبالغ في أرصدة البنوك، لقاء قروض للقطاع الخاص، حتى حين استنفاد تلك القروض. وإذا أخذنا بالحسبان هاتين النقطتين، فإن كلا من المصادر الفعلية، والمصادر المتاحة للصندوق، ستكون أقل بكثير مما تذكره تلك المصادر الدولية، وهي أقرب إلى مواقف صادرة عن مسؤولين في إدارة هذا الصندوق السيادي.
  5. أخيراً، وفي حال استمرت العقوبات المفروضة على إيران لعام آخر، إلى جانب تطورات اقتصادية أخرى أهمها انخفاض أسعار النفط، والضغط الناجم عن تفشي فيروس كورونا، وفي حال حاولت الحكومة سد حاجاتها في الموازنة العامة، ودعم القطاع الخاص بنفس الوتيرة السابقة، فإنه من المتوقع جدًا ألا تكفي المصادر المتبقية من صندوق التنمية الوطني لسد الحاجة (مما يمكن اعتباره سببًا من أسباب مقاومة القائد الإيراني الأعلى في وجه طلبات الحكومة باستنفاد مصادر الصندوق)؛ ما يجعلنا أمام صندوق فارغ (نتيجة عدم إيداع مبالغ جديدة فيه أثر انخفاض مبيعات النفط، واحتمال تكرار تجربة العام الماضي في استنفاد مصادر الصندوق بشكل كبير في سد العجز في الموازنة).

السيناريوهات

السيناريو الأول: لجوء النظام إلى الصندوق؛ يفترض أن تلجأ الحكومة إلى مصادر الصندوق خلال العام الجاري لسد عجز الموازنة، وللقيام ببعض المشاريع التنموية، كما تلجأ المؤسسات الثورية إلى مصادره لدعم قطاعات سيادية؛ منها القطاع العسكري، والقطاع النووي. وفي حال افترضنا أن التوقعات بشأن نسبة العجز توقعات واقعية، فإن ذلك يعني أن الحكومة ستضطر إلى استخدام 10 حتى 15 مليار دولار من مصادر الصندوق، لسد العجز، ولسد بعض الثغرات الأخرى في الموازنة العامة. وفي حال افترضنا ذلك، فإن السيناريو يتوقع توقف العمل ضمن مشاريع بنيوية وسيادية على صعيد النفط، والبتروكيماويات، والثروة المائية، والزراعية، خلال العام الجاري، والعام الذي يليه، كما يتوقع انخفاض مصادر الصندوق إلى أقل مما يمكن استخدامه في دعم الاقتصاد، والحكومة خلال العام المقبل (أقل من 10 مليارات دولار).

السيناريو الثاني: معارضة خامنئي، والبرلمان، للجوء الحكومة إلى الصندوق؛ وهو السيناريو الذي ترجحه التطورات أكثر من غيره، ويفترض أن تقاوم مؤسسات الثورة، والمؤسسات السيادية، والتشريعية، لجوء الحكومة إلى مصادر الصندوق لسد عجز موازنتها. وفي هذا الإطار سيقاوم القائد الأعلى الإيراني منْح الإذن للحكومة، باستخدام مصادر الصندوق، إلا في بعض القطاعات السيادية الحساسة، مثل القطاع العسكري، كما يقاوم البرلمان منْح الحكومة رخصة التصرف في مصادر الصندوق، وهما خطوتان متوقعتان تماماً في ظل مناورة خامنئي الأخيرة في مقاومة طلب الحكومة في اللجوء إلى مصادر الصندوق لدعم القطاع الصحي، كما في ظل هيمنة المحافظين على البرلمان؛ مما يجعله معارضا لقرارات الحكومة على هذا الصعيد. وعلى مستوى الحكومة، فإن السيناريو يتوقع أن تتوجه الحكومة نحو خطوات بديلة لسد العجز في الموازنة، عبر بيع المزيد من الأوراق، وعبر استنفاد طاقة البورصة، وأخيراً عبر سياسة تقشف تحرم القطاع الخاص من نسبة كبيرة من القروض من الصندوق، والضغط على المدينين للصندوق، بإعادة الديون إليه. وفي هذا الحال يمكن افتراض أن الحكومة تستطيع الإبقاء على مصادر الصندوق على ما هي عليه، حتى نهاية العام الجاري، دون أن يعني ذلك احتمال ارتفاع مصادره بأي حال من الأحوال، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الاحتمالات الناجمة عن سياسة التقشف التي ستتخذها الحكومة، واحتمال عدم كفاءة البورصة الإيرانية في توفير مصادر نقدية جديدة، تحتاج الحكومة إليها في سد العجز في موازنتها.

السيناريو الثالث: رفع مصادر دخل الصندوق؛ ويفترض السيناريو أن تستطيع الحكومة رفع مصادر الصندوق خلال العام الجاري، وذلك من خلال أداء ديون مترتبة على عاتقها، ومنها حصة الصندوق من مبيعات النفط الداخلية خلال عامي 2018 و2019، والضغط على القطاع الخاص لأداء ديون تقع على عاتقه، إلى جانب التوقف عن استنفاد مصادر الصندوق خلال العام الجاري، وفق السيناريو الثاني. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، يبقى هذا السيناريو ضعيفًا في ظل التطورات الاقتصادية، واستمرار العقوبات المفروضة على إيران، وانخفاض أسعار النفط؛ ما يجعل الحكومة غير قادرة على رفع مصادر الصندوق، كما يجعل القطاع الخاص غير قادر على إعادة ديونه إلى صندوق التنمية الوطني.

وبشكل عام يمكن القول إن المنافسة ستكون بين السيناريو الأول الذي يدعمه الواقع، متمثلًا في سلوكيات الحكومة، وتطورات واقعية على الصعيد الاقتصادي، منها الضغوط الناجمة عن العقوبات، والضغوط الناجمة عن انخفاض أسعار النفط، وأزمة كورونا؛ مما يجعل الحكومة مضطرة للجوء إلى مصادر الصندوق، لضمان الصمود في وجه العاصفة، والسيناريو الثاني مدعوماً بإرادة الحكومة، ورغبتها في الاعتماد على مصادر أخرى (متمثلة في استنفاد طاقة سوق الأسهم في بيع أصول حكومية غير مربحة، وفي بيع المزيد من الأوراق المالية) لدعم موازنتها العامة؛ إلا أن خطواتها تبقى غير مضمونة، ومرشحة للإخفاق، كما تترك أثراً اقتصاديًا واجتماعيًا بالغًا على جسد المجتمع الإيراني، ومع ذلك، لا يمكن استمرارها في المحصلة لفترة طويلة من الزمن.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

National Development Fund of Iran: Savings Estimation and Expected Scenarios

EPC | 27 May 2020

There is a significant disagreement in the estimation of the savings size of the National Development Fund of Iran (NDFI). The gap of this disagreement gets even wider between internal and external sources. According to reports released by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in 2018, the Fund’s savings stand at 91 billion dollars. However, according to other reports released by the same institution in 2019, the size of the NDFI’s savings is 85.5 billion dollars. Estimates of internal sources appear to be completely different. While sources in the NDFI have announced that the government paid it 170 billion dollars as of 2013, the Research Centre of the Iranian Parliament underlined in a 2014 report that the former government sweeped the NDFI’s savings which, in that year, did not exceed 17 billion dollars. This is supported by figures released by the NDFI. On the other hand, official sources have indicated that the NDFI’s savings fell to nearly 22 billion dollars in September 2013, and subsequently to 12 billion dollars in October 2017.

This wide disagreement in savings estimates is perhaps attributable to the lack of transparency in the workings of the NDFI and its resources, the uncertainty about the mechanisms of their materialization, and the manner they are run. News refer to the failure of several parliamentary attempts to monitor the Fund and investigate its accounts. However, it is clear that the Iranian regime favours the continuity of the uncertainty surrounding the state of the Fund which plays a remarkable role in Iran’s resilience in the face of the economic pressures resulting from the sanctions. This makes it impossible to know the moment the Iranian economy will collapse since the size of the resources upon which it relies to show resilience in the face of pressures is also unknown. Therefore, it seems extremely important to estimate the size of the Fund’s real savings and the size of the share of those savings that the regime can use at critical times.

What is the National Development Fund of Iran?

The National Development Fund of Iran (NDFI) is a sovereign wealth fund that was established by the government of former Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad in 2010 after it dissolved the National Savings Fund. It is similar to another experience carried out by the government of President Mohammad Khatami in 1998. The NDFI constitutes a sovereign savings fund to save the surplus of yearly oil sales with a view to using them in years of low oil revenue, and to activate the private economic sector and some infrastructure sectors. Based on the five-year development programme, the Fund’s internal law foresees the deposit by the government of 20 percent of the total yearly international and domestic oil sales in the Fund, with an increase of 3 percent every year, in order to reduce reliance on oil in the general budget and save the sales surplus. However, governments did not show real commitment to increasing this percentage which made it sometimes stop at 20 percent.

The Fund carries out several functions, mainly: “giving loans to the private sector” and “injecting financial grants in infrastructure and development projects”. The Fund’s resources can also be “used in supporting the general budget in case of a deficit” resulting from oil sales or any deficit that needs to be closed using the Fund’s resources according to the Fund’s competent authorities. While Parliament and the Supreme Leader have the right to use the Fund’s resources for the last two functions, the Fund’s administration decides with respect to the first function.

The US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo recently referred to the Fund while talking about the corona crisis in Iran. He underlined that “Iran does not need international assistance to fight coronavirus as it possesses several resources, including a huge Development Fund whose savings are worth nearly 90 billion dollars”. Iranian President Hassan Rouhani had requested in a letter to the Iranian Supreme Leader to use nearly one billion dollars from the Fund’s resources to support the health sector in the face of the virus that is hitting the country.

All those events have led once again to raise a question that seems extremely important about the nature of that Fund and the real size of its savings, especially that the Fund plays a principal role in closing the general budget gaps (the size of reliance by this year’s budget on the Fund’s resources ranges between 3 and 7 billion dollars in several scenarios, accounting for between 7 percent and 16.5 percent of the general budget compared to last year when that reliance stood at nearly 18 percent). The Fund also plays a prominent role in supporting sovereign sectors, including the military sector.

The Fund’s expected revenue

Over the ten years since the inception of the NDFI, different percentages of deposits were mandated in the draft budgets for allocation by the government to the NDFI based on the state of the economy, the oil sales and government policies in dealing with the Fund’s resources. While the percentage based on the draft budget was 20 percent in 2010 and 2011, it was 23 percent in 2012, 26 percent in 2013, and 28 percent in 2014. However, the percentage declined again to 20 percent in 2015 and 2016 before rising to 30 percent in 2017 and 32 percent in 2018 to stabilize last year and in the current year at 20 percent. As far as the revenue from internal oil sales is concerned, draft budgets over the last decade allowed the government to use the Fund’s share in developing its programme to rationalize support.

Upon examining the Iranian oil sales over the last decade, it is noticed that Iran sold nearly 620.5 billion dollars’ worth of oil between 2010 and 2019, making the NDFI share at 147.5 billion dollars, based on the Fund’s average yearly share over the decade. With the addition of nearly 8.5 billion dollars (half of the remainder in the account of the National Savings Fund before its dissolution), the total would be 156 billion dollars. However, those calculations do not take into account some data that would reduce the estimates pertaining to the NDFI’s assets. Figures show that the government had consumed under an item in the draft budget the Fund’s share in the years 2015 and 2019 at the very least. On the other hand, official figures released by the Fund indicate that the Fund’s total savings in 2011 were less than 100 million dollars. This means that the government used nearly 25 billion dollars of the Fund’s resources in 2010 and 2011. Furthermore, sources in the research centre of the Iranian Parliament indicate that the total of the remainder in the Fund when President Rouhani came to power was 16 billion dollars only.

All this means that the Fund’s total income at its best ranges between 96.02 billion and 119.82 billion dollars.

Means of using the Fund’s resources

While the Fund circles indicate that the total loans, grants and assistance offered by the Fund over the past decade (2010-2019) amounted to 111 billion dollars, a look into the news and analysis of draft budgets reveals that most important among all those loans and grants were the ones offered between 2015 and 2019 since they were not returned to the Fund as per the Fund’s laws which offer a chance of up to seven years at least before the loans are repaid.

  • Figures indicate that the Rouhani government has consumed, with permission from Parliament or the Supreme Leader, nearly 33.02 billion dollars from the Fund’s savings within the budget support programmes, for different infrastructure, military and health sectors, or to deal with the crises that took place over the last three years (2017-2019) through 11 rounds of use of the Fund’s resources over those years. On the other hand, draft general budgets indicate that the government obtained two rial grants from the Fund (against dollar grants) in the total of 70 trillion tomans, equivalent to nearly 11.25 billion dollars from the Fund’s savings, making the total nearly 44.27 billion dollars.
  • In addition, Fund data indicate that its administration decided to offer nearly 37.2 billion dollars in loans to the private sector over the last five years which have not yet reached maturity based on contract durations. On the other hand, the total rial loans (against dollar loans) given by the Fund over the last five years reached nearly 46.2 trillion tomans, equivalent to 6.7 billion dollars, in addition to nearly 500 million dollars in accumulated loans that have not been repaid from previous years. This makes the total loans given by the Fund to the private sector over the last two years nearly 43.9 billion dollars.
  • In addition, official Fund data indicate that the NDFI allocated nearly 6.06 billion dollars of its balances in 2018 and 2019 to the so-called dollar investment in banks. This means that they were given to importers of goods as guarantee for them in international banks. There was no mention of repayment of those debts to the Fund.

Based on all the above, the Rouhani government has withdrawn between 88.17 billion and 94.23 billion dollars from the Fund’s resources over the last two years within the framework of its development programmes, support for the economy, closure of general budget deficit, and offer of loans to the private sector in major projects. This makes the remainder of the Fund’s resources between 25.59 billion and 19.53 billion dollars.

General conclusions

  1. The NDFI constitutes one of the most important sources relied upon by different institutions of the political regime in Iran for supporting the economy and supporting infrastructure and development projects in the country. Over the last few years, it has also constituted one of the most important sources relied upon by the government in its general budget as one of the resources of the general budget and one of its most important sources in closing the deficit.
  2. The NDFI plays a significant role in supporting the resilience of the Iranian economy in the face of pressures resulting from the sanctions, as one of the main sources that can be relied upon by the Iranian economy. While the government and the regime’s institutions attempt to pretend that they do not resort to the Fund’s resources within this framework, upon examining the data, it has become clear that the government resorted 13 times over the last 25 months to the Fund to consume more than 44 billion dollars of its resources to bridge the gaps stemming from the pressures of sanctions on its ailing economy.
  3. The uncertainty surrounding government statements about the Fund’s savings prevents an accurate knowledge of the size of those savings. It is noticeable that the official quarters in Iran favour the continuity of this uncertainty by refraining from officially announcing the size of the Fund’s savings and tending to make contradictory statements in this respect. Most probably, the uncertainty and contradiction in official statements about the size of the Fund’s savings are calculated steps that aim to mislead international circles about the real size of the Fund’s savings.
  4. In view of the huge gap between the estimates of international organizations about the size of the Fund’s savings and the statements issued by the Fund’s administration, an accurate monitoring of the figures and of the Fund’s internal regulations reveals that the figures released by the international organizations, although correct in terms of the size of the Fund’s revenue, remain overestimated because they do not take into account the consumption of the Fund’s resources in supporting development programmes and supporting the budget. They also do not take into account that nearly 43.9 billion dollars of the Fund’s resources cannot be relied upon because they remain restricted resources under the Fund’s laws that deposit those resources in bank balances against loans to the private sector until those loans are repaid. Upon taking those two points into account, both the actual resources and the resources available to the Fund would be much lower than what is stated by the international sources, and are closer to the positions declared by officials in the administration of this sovereign fund.
  5. Lastly, in case the sanctions imposed on Iran persist for another year, in addition to other economic developments, mainly the decline in oil prices and the pressure resulting from the spread of coronavirus, and in case the government attempts to meet its needs in the general budget and support the private sector at the same previous pace, the remaining resources in the NDFI are not expected to meet the needs (which could be considered one of the reasons of the opposition by the Supreme Leader to government requests to use the Fund’s resources). This amounts to an empty Fund (because no new amounts are deposited in it as a result of the decline in oil sales and the possible repetition of last year’s experience in terms of largely depleting the Fund’s resources in closing the budget deficit).

Scenarios

First scenario: resort by the regime to the Fund: the government is assumed to resort to the Fund’s resources in the current year to close the budget deficit and carry out some development projects. Revolutionary establishments also resort to the Fund’s resources to support sovereign sectors, including the military and nuclear sectors. Assuming that the expectations regarding the deficit rate are realistic, this means that the government will have to use 10-15 billion dollars from the Fund’s resources to close the deficit and bridge some other gaps in the general budget. Upon this assumption, the scenario expects that work will halt in infrastructure and sovereign projects in the oil, petrochemicals, water resources and agriculture sectors both this year and next year. A decline is also expected in the Fund’s resources to below the level that can be used to support the economy and the government next year (less than 10 billion dollars).

Second scenario: opposition by Khamenei and Parliament to resort by the government to the Fund: this is the scenario most likely in light of the developments. Revolutionary, sovereign and legislative institutions are assumed to oppose the government’s resort to the Fund’s resources to close the deficit in its budget. Within this framework, the Supreme Leader will oppose giving the government permission to use the Fund’s resources, except in some sensitive sovereign sectors, such as the military sector. Parliament will also oppose authorizing the government to dispose of the Fund’s resources. These two steps are totally expected in light of Khamenei’s recent manoeuvre in opposing the government’s request to resort to the Fund’s resources to support the health sector, and also in light of the dominance of conservatives over Parliament, which makes it opposed to the government’s decisions in this respect. At the government level, the scenario expects that the government will tend to take alternative steps to close the budget deficit, through the sale of more securities, exhausting the stock exchange capacity and, lastly, implementing an austerity policy that would deprive the private sector of a large proportion of the Fund’s loans, and putting pressure on the Fund’s debtors to repay their debts. In this case, the government can be assumed to be able to maintain the Fund’s resources as they are until the end of the current year. This does not imply in any way that the Fund’s resources will increase, taking into consideration the possibilities resulting from the austerity policy that will be implemented by the government and the possible incompetence of the Iranian stock exchange in securing the new monetary resources needed by the government to close the gap in its budget.

Third scenario: increasing the Fund’s income sources: the scenario assumes that the government would be able to increase the Fund’s resources in the current year through repayment of due debts, including the Fund’s share in the internal oil sales for 2018 and 2019, and putting pressure on the private sector to repay its dates, in addition to refraining from depleting the Fund’s resources during the current year based on the second scenario. Nevertheless, this scenario remains weak in light of the economic developments, the continued sanctions imposed on Iran and the fall in oil prices which would make the government incapable of increasing the Fund’s resources. It would also make the private sector incapable of repaying its debts to the NDFI.

Generally speaking, it can be said that competition will be between the first scenario that is supported by the reality in terms of the government’s behaviour and real developments at the economic level, including the pressures stemming from the sanctions, the pressures stemming from the decline in oil prices, and the corona crisis, which would force the government to resort to the Fund’s resources to ensure resilience in the face of the storm, and the second scenario, supported by the government’s will and desire to rely on other sources (such as employment of the stock exchange capacity in the sale of non-profitable government assets and the sale of more securities) to support its general budget. However, those steps remain unguaranteed and liable to fail. They would also have a severe economic and social impact on the Iranian society. Eventually, however, those steps cannot be pursued for a long time.

Latest Featured Topics