مقتدى الصدر والسعي إلى رئاسة الوزراء في العراق

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 11 يناير 2021

قبل سبعة أشهر على الموعد المحدد للانتخابات البرلمانية المبكرة، في يونيو 2021، دشَّن التيار الصدري حملتَه الانتخابية بالكشف عن سعيه إلى الفوز بأغلبية مقاعد البرلمان المقبل وبالتالي امتلاك الحق بتسمية رئيس الوزراء، عبر سلسلة من المواقف المنسقة لزعيم التيار مقتدى الصدر وكبار مساعديه، التي تفاعلت معها الأوساط السياسية والشعبية بمزيج من الحذر والتشكيك، نظراً لما سوف يُحدثه ذلك من تغييرات جذرية في خريطة توزيع النفوذ بين القوى الشيعية الرئيسة، وفي الموازين السياسية العراقية تالياً.

التطلع نحو القيادة  

مع قاعدة شعبية واسعة، وجناح مسلح عقائدي كبير، لم يجد مقتدى الصدر أيَّ صعوبة في فرض نفسه لاعباً أساسياً على الساحة السياسية في عراق ما بعد عام 2003، وتحوّله إلى ما يشبه "صانع الملوك" الذي يتعين على رؤساء الحكومات المتعاقبة نيل مباركته، على الرغم من تقلب آرائه وتناقض مواقفه؛ إذ يشارك في مؤسسات الحكم ويرفع راية المعارضة لها في الوقت نفسه، ويسمي ممثليه في الحكومة في حين يتنصل من المسؤولية عن سوء أدائهم وفسادهم، ويطالب بفرض سلطة القانون ويُقيم سلطةً موازية له في الآن معاً، ويدعو إلى حصر السلاح بيد الدولة إلا أنه يرفض نزع سلاح ميليشياته. 

لذا فإن كشف الصدر عبر حساب صالح محمد العراقي (حساب تويتر وهمي يُعتقد بأنه عائد لزعيم التيار الصدري) عن نيته السعي إلى مضاعفة حجم كتلته البرلمانية في الانتخابات البرلمانية المبكرة، من أجل الظفر بحق تسمية المرشح لرئاسة الحكومة، وما أعقبها من إقامة صلاة الجمعة في ساحة التحرير في 27 نوفمبر الماضي، وسط حضور جماهيري كبير، ثم دعوته إلى "ترميم البيت الشيعي"؛ تؤشر جميعها إلى حصول تحول جذري في مقاربة الصدر لدوره السياسي باتجاه السعي إلى امتلاك السلطة المباشرة بدلاً من الاستمرار في محاولة التحكم بها.

المزايا والمعوقات     

رغم أن قيادات التيار الصدري سبق أن روجت في الانتخابات السابقة، وفي سياق تحفيز قواعدها الشعبية على الاقتراع بكثافة، إمكانية الفوز بأكثر من مئة مقعد في مجلس النواب (من إجمالي 329 مقعداً)، إلا أن الوضع الحالي الذي أفرزه قانون الانتخابات الجديد على أساس الدوائر المتعددة (دائرة لكل أربعة مقاعد)، وفوز أصحاب الأصوات الأعلى بغض النظر عن القائمة الانتخابية التي ترشحوا عنها أو مجموع أصوات مرشحيها أو الفائض من أصوات المرشحين الفائزين، أقنع مقتدى الصدر ومستشاريه بأن الانتخابات المبكرة هي فرصة التيار للانقضاض على حكم العراق، ولاعتبارات عدة أهمها:

  1. القاعدة الجماهيرية الكبيرة والصلبة للتيار الصدري التي نجحت بصورة كبيرة في حفاظ التيار على الحصة الأكبر من مقاعد البرلمان في الانتخابات الأخيرة في مايو 2018.
  2. نضج تجربة الماكنة الانتخابية التي أنشأها التيار، وأثبتت فاعليتها في الانتخابات البرلمانية السابقة، من خلال تقسيم الدوائر الانتخابية إلى قطاعات، واختيار المرشح الأفضل للتنافس والدعاية في كل قطاع.
  3. تركُّز جمهور التيار بكثافة في مناطق معينة تحوَّل معظمها إلى مراكز ثقل الدوائر الانتخابية الجديدة، لاسيما في العاصمة بغداد، التي تضم العدد الأكبر من المقاعد (69 مقعداً موزعة على 17 دائرة)، في مقابل توزع جمهور القوى والأحزاب الشيعية الأخرى على نطاق أوسع، لاسيما غريمه "ائتلاف دولة القانون" الذي اعتمد فوز ما بين 4 و10 من نوابه في الانتخابات السابقة على الفائض من أصوات زعيم الائتلاف نوري المالكي. 
  4. الهيمنة الأمنية لـ "سرايا السلام"، الجناح المسلح للتيار الصدري، على معظم أحياء جانب الرصافة من بغداد، الذي يضم 9 دوائر انتخابية من إجمالي دوائر العاصمة، سوف تعطي لمرشحيه أفضلية في الحركة على الأرض، ونشر دعاياتهم وعقد مؤتمراتهم الانتخابية على حساب المنافسين، هذا على فرض عدم لجوئه إلى أساليب التضييق والترهيب. 
  5. النفوذ الإداري لأتباع التيار على المكاتب الفرعية لمفوضية الانتخابات التي درجت على استخدام موظفين محليين، غالباً ما يأتون بتزكية من الحزب أو القوة المهيمنة على المنطقة، وهو ما يشكل عنصرَ قلق على نزاهة التنافس على 34 مقعداً برلمانياً، ظهرت أولى ملامحه بتكثيف فرق المفوضية الجوالة عمليات تحديث بيانات الناخبين الصدريين منزلياً، ورغم أنه إجراء قانوني إلا أنه لن يتوافر بهذه السهولة للأحزاب المنافسة.
  6. التوقعات بانخفاض نسبة التصويت بشكل أكبر مما كان عليه في انتخابات عام 2018، يعد عنصراً حاسماً في حسابات التيار، الذي ستتضاعف قيمة كل صوت من أصوات مؤيديه، وهو الأمر الذي يبدو أن الصدريين يعوّلون عليه بقوة.
  7. تقلُّص عدد القوى المرشحة للمنافسة بجدية على المركز الأول، بعد تفكك ائتلاف النصر بزعامة حيدر العبادي وعجزه عن مأْسسة بقايا حلفائه في كيان واضح المعالم، وتنامي التنافس داخل تحالف الفتح بين كتائب "حزب الله" و"عصائب أهل الحق".

وفي المقابل، هناك بعض التعقيدات التي تواجه تيار الصدر في تطلعاته السياسية الجديدة، منها:

  1. يرى بعض أتباع الصدر أن الأخير أفقد التيار الكثير من رموزه وقياداته على مر السنوات، من خلال معاقبتهم وإقصائهم، مثل المعاون الجهادي، أبو دعاء، ورئيس كتلته البرلمانية السابق ضياء الأسدي، ونائب رئيس الوزراء الأسبق بهاء الأعرجي وغيرهم كثير، الأمر الذي قد يؤثر في قدرة التيار على جذب الناخبين الذين لا يجدون في مرشحي الصدر الكثيرَ من الشخصيات المعروفة أو ذات الخبرة.
  2. مشاركة الكثير من أتباع الصدر في الاحتجاجات الشعبية التي بدأت في أكتوبر 2019، وتشكيلهم قواعد انتخابية تدعو إلى اختيار شخصيات تنتمي لساحات الاحتجاج مثل الشيخ أسعد الناصري.
  3. افتقار التيار إلى قواعد لعب جديدة، فدعوة الإصلاح السياسي على سبيل المثال باتت العنوان الرئيس لقوى الاحتجاجات الشعبية، ودور "المقاومة الاسلامية" تستغله القوى الشيعية المنافسة للصدر، مثل ميليشيات "العصائب" و"كتائب حزب الله".

الحسابات الانتخابية 

وفقاً لقانون الانتخابات البرلمانية الجديد، فإن التيار الصدري سينزل في قرابة 43 دائرة من أصل 45 دائرة انتخابية ذات أغلبية شيعية أو تضم عدداً كبيراً من السكان الشيعة تتوزع على 13 محافظة هي: بغداد (17 دائرة)، والبصرة (6 دوائر)، وكربلاء والنجف وميسان وواسط والديوانية (3 دوائر لكل منها)، وبابل وديالى (4 دوائر لكل منهما)، وذي قار (5 دوائر)، والمثنى (دائرتان)، فضلاً عن دائرة واحدة في كلٍّ من صلاح  الدين ونينوى التي تضم 11 دائرة لا يملك الصدريون فرصة لانتزاع أيٍّ من مقاعدها بسبب الهيمنة الفعلية لفصائل الحشد الولائية في الأقضية والنواحي الشيعية فيها.

ويُنافس التيار الصدري على الفوز بما بين 163 إلى 178 مقعداً في مواجهة مجموعتين من الخصوم: المجموعة الرئيسة تضم "الفتح" بزعامة هادي العامري، و"عراقيون" بزعامة عمار الحكيم، و"دولة القانون" بزعامة نوري المالكي. أما المجموعة الثانوية فتضم "النصر" بزعامة حيدر العبادي، و"تيار المرحلة" المقرب من رئيس الوزراء مصطفى الكاظمي، والحركات والأحزاب الجديدة المنبثقة عن "ثورة تشرين" والشخصيات العامة وزعماء العشائر.

ويكاد أن يكون هناك شبه إجماع بين المراقبين على أن التيار الصدري سوف يجدد فوزه بالانتخابات المبكرة، وفق المعطيات المتوافرة حالياً، لكن الخلاف لا يزال قائماً حول حجم هذا الفوز.

ويرى مراقبون أن معظم نقاط القوة التي يعول عليها التيار الصدري تتضمن نقيضها أيضاً، لعدة أسباب أبرزها:

  1. وجود احتمال كبير بأن يتسبب نظام الدوائر الرباعية، في ظل تركز الكتلة الصدرية الناخبة في أحياء بعينها، في حرمان التيار الصدري من القدرة على التأثير في نتائج الانتخابات على مستوى المحافظة، كما حصل في الانتخابات الماضية، لاسيما في الأحياء ذات الطبيعة المدنية المنفتحة، والأحياء المختلطة طائفياً أو التي لا تزال تضم نسبةً من السكان المسيحيين أو الأكراد.
  2. محدودية الزيادة في عدد الأصوات التي جمعها التيار في انتخابات عام 2018 التي بالكاد تجاوزت 60 ألفاً زيادة على الـ 1.4 مليون صوت التي نالها في انتخابات عام 2014، بالرغم من زيادة عدد الناخبين العراقيين المسجلين بواقع 8%.
  3. الانشقاقات داخل الصف الصدري التي نتجت عن انقلاب الصدر على حركة الاحتجاج منذ شهر فبراير 2020، بعد رفض المتظاهرين تسمية محمد توفيق علاوي مرشحاً لرئاسة الوزراء بديلاً من عادل عبد المهدي، التي رد عليها الصدريون بمحاولة فض الاعتصامات، مما أوقع العشرات من القتلى والجرحى، الأمر الذي دفع قيادةً صدرية مهمة مثل الشيخ أسعد الناصري، إمام جمعة الناصرية، إلى إعلان خلع عمامته والالتحاق بالمتظاهرين، وسط أنباء عن اعتزال الكثير من عامة الصدريين بصمت أنشطة التيار، وهو ما  لوحظ بوضوح في صلاة الجمعة في ساحة التحرير التي سجلت تراجعاً في حجم الحشود رغم تسخير موارد الدولة من حافلات وعربات لنقل أنصار الصدر من مناطق العاصمة المختلفة وبقية المحافظات.
  4. دفع خصوم التيار، لاسيما الفصائل الولائية والأحزاب المقربة من إيران وعلى رأسها ائتلاف دولة القانون وحركة عطاء بقيادة فالح الفياض، إلى التكتل في قائمة واحدة، أو إنشاء آلية للتنسيق وتبادل الدعم، وبخاصة أنها تستهدف الجمهور ذاته من الأشخاص الأكثر تأثراً بالشعارات الطائفية.
  5. بروز مؤشرات على استعداد قطاع كبير من الناخبين، الذين قاطعوا الانتخابات الماضية، لممارسة نوع من التصويت العقابي ضد التيار الصدري، الذي أيقظت ممارسته القمعية بحق المتظاهرين أحداث عامي 2006 و2008. وفي هذا الصدد يبرز اسم تحالف "عراقيون" بزعامة عمار الحكيم، منفرداً أو بالتحالف مع ائتلاف النصر، كأحد البدائل الممكنة لمواجهة مشروع مقتدى الصدر، بفضل تنظيمه الحزبي الشبابي وماكنته الانتخابية المحكمة التي حصدت له 21 مقعداً برلمانياً بالرغم من افتقاره إلى القاعدة الشعبية والكاريزما، فضلاً عن شبهات الفساد واستغلال النفوذ التي تحوم حوله.

اللجوء إلى الطائفة 

في سياق سلسلة الدعوات المثيرة للجدل التي أطلقها منذ شهر فبراير، وهدفت جميعها إلى إنهاء حركة الاحتجاجات الشعبية طبقاً للصفقة التي عقدها مع إيران بعيد اغتيال قاسم سليماني وأبو مهدي المهندس مطلع عام 2020، مقابل الاعتراف به زعيماً لفصائل المقاومة الإسلامية في العراق ـــ وجّه زعيم التيار الصدري مقتدى الصدر في 2 ديسمبر 2020 دعوة إلى الكتل الشيعية بـ "الإسراع بترميم البيت الشيعي من خلال اجتماعات مكثفة لكتابة ميثاق شرف عقائدي وآخر سياسي" في تغريدة له على موقع تويتر، دون أن ينسى التعريض بالمتظاهرين الذي وصفهم بـ "ثلة صبيان لا وعي لهم ولا ورع تحاول … تشويه سمعة الثوار والإصلاح والدين والمذهب مدعومة من قوى الشر الخارجية ومن بعض الشخصيات في الداخل"، ما أثار موجةً عارمة من الانتقادات اللاذعة من قبل جمهور الحراك الاحتجاجي الذي رفع في المقابل لافتات تحمل شعار "البيت العراقي" في ساحات التظاهر، وأغرق صفحات التواصل الاجتماعي بسيل من المنشورات الساخرة من نكوص الصدر إلى الخندق الطائفي لغايات انتخابية بعد قرابة ثمانية أعوام من الاستثمار في شخصية الزعيم الوطني المتسامي فوق الانقسامات الطائفية، وممثل التيار "العراقي" الذي راهنت عليه بعض النخب الأكاديمية والصحفية والإعلامية وسوقت له كضد نوعي للتيار الطائفي الموالي لإيران.

ولم تُظهر الكتل السياسية الشيعية الرئيسة حماساً كبيراً لدعوة الصدر، على الأرجح خشية من أن تكون خطوةً أخرى في مسار محاولة فرض هيمنته على السياسات الشيعية، ولأن الدعوة اتسمت بالغموض وغياب الآلية والهدف الواضحين. ويمكن ملاحظة أن الدعوة لم تستثنِ أي طرف، بما فُسر على أنها تشمل رئيس الوزراء الأسبق، نوري المالكي، زعيم ائتلاف "دولة القانون" الذي يَعده الصدر من أبرر خصومه. ومع ذلك، لم تظهر بوادر كافية على أن الجليد قد انكسر بين الاثنين، وقد صدر عن حسين المالكي، صهر نوري المالكي وعضو ائتلافه، تصريحٌ يشير إلى أن القوى الشيعية اتفقت على إحياء اللجنة السباعية التي تضم ممثلين عنها من أجل "التهدئة والابتعاد عن التراشق الإعلامي قبل الانتخابات". لكن حتى الآن، لم تصدر تأكيدات من الأطراف الأخرى بهذا الشأن.

كذلك، لم يصدر عن تيار الحكمة بقيادة عمار الحكيم، الذي توترت علاقته السياسية بالصدر منذ انفراط عقد تحالف الإصلاح، ولا عن تحالف الفتح بزعامة هادي العامري مواقفَ واضحة استجابة لدعوة الصدر، لكن كتائب حزب الله، وهي تنظيم ميليشياوي لا يمتلك حتى الآن حزباً سياسياً يمثله، أعلنت في بيان صدر يوم 6 ديسمبر 2020 مساندتها دعوة الصدر، مُشيدة بمواقفه في "التصدي للانحرافات والدعوة إلى الدفاع عن ثوابتنا الإسلامية". ويبدو أن الكتائب تسعى منذ فترة إلى التأكيد على دور خاص ومستقل لها، ووجدت في دعوة الصدر فرصة أيضاً لتوفير غطاء آخر لضرب المحتجين "المدنيين"، خصوصاً أن بيانها استرسل بالإشارة إلى "الجهات المشبوهة" التي غررت بالشباب ودفعتهم "نحو تبني مظاهر فيها كثير من التجاوز على القيم الإسلامية وثوابت الدين."

ومن جهته. أصدر ائتلاف النصر بزعامة رئيس الوزراء الأسبق، حيدر العبادي، بياناً أعلن فيه الاستجابة لدعوة الصدر، لكنه ربطها بالبدء بحراك ممنهج لاعتماد ميثاق شرف وطني مُلزم لجميع القوى والفعاليات العراقية. ويبدو أن موقف العبادي مرتبط أيضاً بمحاولته إنعاش فرصه الانتخابية كممثل ذي مصداقية لتيار "الدولة" و"الاعتدال"، وهو ما يُسهم في تفسير إعلان العبادي في شهر ديسمبر الماضي استقالته من جميع المناصب القيادية في حزب الدعوة الإسلامية، داعياً إلى مراجعة نقدية لتجربة الحزب وتجديد قيادته وضخ الدماء الجديدة بمفاصله. ومن الواضح أن الفجوة الكبيرة بين المالكي والعبادي لعبت دوراً في هذا القرار، خصوصاً أن الأول مازال يسيطر على الجسم الأساسي لحزب الدعوة.

وفي إطار هذه الحراكات، أعلن تحالف "الفتح" عن دخوله الانتخابات ضمن قائمة موحدة، مع إضافة المجلس الأعلى الإسلامي العراقي له، وتشكيل هيئة قيادية تتكون من هادي العامري وقيس الخزعلي وأحمد الأسدي وهمام حمودي. كما تم اختيار هادي العامري أميناً عاماً للتحالف. وتأتي هذه الخطوة بعد تكهنات باحتمال انفراط عقد التحالف نتيجة للتنافسات البينية، لكن يبدو أن النظام الانتخابي الجديد الذي يتطلب التصويت للمرشحين الفرديين سيسمح للتحالف بالبقاء كإطار عام، وتنظيم توزيع الكتل التصويتية بين المرشحين وفق اتفاقات القوى السياسية في التحالف.

ومن اللافت أن ائتلافي "دولة القانون" بزعامة المالكي و"عطاء" بزعامة فالح الفياض، ورغم العلاقات الوثيقة التي تربطهما بـتحالف "الفتح"، لا يزالان يفضلان عدم الاندماج بهذا التحالف، خصوصاً مع ما يمكن أن يخلقه ذلك من صراع على زعامته. وفي المقابل، أكّد الناطق باسم التيار الصدري أن تياره يميل إلى عدم الدخول بتحالفات قبل الانتخابات، لأن طبيعة النظام الانتخابي الجديد لا تتطلب هكذا تحالفات.

الاستنتاجات والتوقعات 

إلى جانب أن مسألة اختيار رئيس الوزراء في العراق، خضعت دوماً لتوافقات داخلية بين ممثلي المكونات الاجتماعية حول تقاسم السلطة، وإقليمية بين النجف وطهران، ودولية بين طهران وواشنطن، ما جعل الفوز بأغلبية المقاعد التشريعية يشكل مجرد تفصيل هامشي فيها، فإن فوز الصدريين بقرابة ثلث مقاعد البرلمان، وثلثي المقاعد الشيعية، يبدو أمراً شبه مستحيل في ظل انفضاض عقد تحالفاتهم مع القوى المدنية (الشيوعيين والناشطين المدنيين) وقوى الاعتدال الشيعي (الحكيم والعبادي)، وعدم وجود مصلحة لإيران في توجيه حلفائها لتحويل دعوة مقتدى الصدر، الحليف المشاكس الوحيد الذي يمتلك عناصر قوته الذاتية، لترميم البيت الشيعي إلى تحالف حكومي يهيمن عليه، ويمنحه السيطرة على المؤسستين الأمنية والعسكرية.

لكن هل يريد الصدر فعلاً تنصيب رئيس وزراء صدري في حال فاز أتباعه بالمقاعد المئة، وهو الذي حرص دوماً على وضع مسافة بينه وبين المسؤولية المباشرة؟ الجواب على الأرجح هو لا، لعدة اعتبارات أهمها:

  1. تفضيل الصدر، المولع بتقمُّص دور المرشد الروحي المصون من النقد والمساءلة، التحكمَ في منح رئاسة الوزراء لمن يشاء وإزاحته عنها متى شاء، بما يعني سلب إرادة رئيس الحكومة والتحكم في قراراته دون الحاجة إلى تحمل تبعاتها السياسية.
  2. توظيف قوته البرلمانية للحصول على عدد من الوزارات والمئات من المناصب العليا والدرجات الخاصة، في إطار عملية التغلغل في مفاصل الدولة التي باشرها في عهد حكومة عادل عبد المهدي.
  3. عدم المغامرة بتنصيب رئيس وزراء صدري على المدى المنظور، لاسيما في ظل الأزمة الاقتصادية التي يتوقع لها أن تدوم سنين طويلة قادمة، وخسارة شرعية استخدام الشارع كورقة ضغط على خصومه، لصالح القوى السياسية والدينية والمجتمعية المناوئة، ولاسيما المدنية التي بات التنكيل بها معنوياً ومادياً الشغل الشاغل لزعيم التيار الصدري وأتباعه، تحت شعارات محاربة الانحلال الأخلاقي والفساد الاجتماعي والإلحاد والتعدي على الذات الإلهية. 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Muqtada al-Sadr’s Bid to Nominate Iraq’s Next Prime Minister

EPC | 11 Jan 2021

Seven months before the date set for the early parliamentary elections, in June 2021, the Sadrist Movement launched its electoral campaign by revealing that it seeks to win the majority of seats in the next parliament and thus have the right to name the Prime Minister. This came through a series of coordinated positions by the Movement’s leader Muqtada al-Sadr and his senior aides, and was met with a mixture of caution and skepticism on the part of the political and popular circles, given the radical changes that this would cause in the map of the distribution of influence between the main Shiite actors and, subsequently, in the Iraqi political balances.

Aspiring to leadership

Given a broad popular base and a large ideological armed wing, Muqtada al-Sadr did not find any difficulty in projecting himself as a major player on the political scene in post-2003 Iraq where he turned into something like a "kingmaker" whose blessing needs to be sought by the heads of successive governments, despite his fluctuating opinions and contradictory positions. Indeed, he participates in the ruling institutions and raises the banner of opposition to them at the same time; he names his representatives in the government while shirking responsibility for their poor performance and corruption; he simultaneously demands the imposition of the rule of law and establishes a parallel authority of his own; and he calls for confining the possession of weapons to the state but refuses to disarm his own militia.

Therefore, Sadr’s revelation through the account of Saleh Muhammad al-Iraqi (a fake Twitter account believed to belong to the leader of the Sadrist Movement) of his intention to seek to double the size of his parliamentary bloc in the early parliamentary elections in order to win the right to nominate a candidate for Prime Minister, the subsequent observance of the Friday prayers in the Tahrir (Liberation) Square on 27 November 2020 amidst a large congregation, and his call to "restore the Shiite House", all indicate a radical shift in Sadr’s approach to his political role towards the pursuit of direct power rather than continuing to seek to control it.

Advantages and obstacles

Although the leaders of the Sadrist Movement had previously promoted in previous elections, in the context of stimulating their popular bases to vote intensively, the possibility of winning more than a hundred seats in the Council of Representatives (COR) (out of a total of 329 seats), the current situation that emerged from the new election law on the basis of multiple constituencies (one district for every four seats) and the victory of those who garner the largest number of votes, regardless of the electoral list on which they ran, the total votes of its candidates, or the surplus votes of the winning candidates, have convinced Muqtada al-Sadr and his advisers that the early elections are the Movement’s opportunity to seize the rule of Iraq. This is attibutable to several considerations, the most important of which are the following:

1. The large and solid popular base of the Sadrist Movement, which largely enabled the Movement to maintain the largest share of parliamentary seats in the last elections in May 2018.

2. The maturity of the electoral mechanism that was established by the Movement and that has proved its effectiveness in previous parliamentary elections, by dividing the electoral districts into sectors, and the selection of the best candidate for competition and publicity in each sector.

3. The heavy concentration of the Movement’s constituents in certain areas, most of which have turned into the epicentres of the new constituencies, especially in the capital Baghdad which accounts for the largest number of seats (69 seats distributed over 17 constituencies), as opposed to the distribution of the constituents of the other the Shiite actors and parties on a larger scale, especially its rival the Dawlat al-Qanoun (State (Rule) of Law) Coalition where the victory of between 4 and 10 of its Members of Parliament (MPs) in the previous elections benefited from the surplus votes of the Coalition leader Nouri al-Maliki.

4. The security dominance of the Saraya al-Salam (Peace Companies), the armed wing of the Sadrist Movement, over most neighbourhoods of the Rusafa (also Rasafa) side of Baghdad, which includes 9 electoral districts out of the capital’s total constituencies, giving the Movement’s candidates the advantage of action on the ground, spreading their propaganda and holding their election rallies at the expense of the competitors, assuming that the Movement does not resort to the methods of harassment and intimidation.

5. The administrative influence of the Movement’s followers on the branch offices of the Electoral Commission, which is used to hiring local employees, often upon the recommendation of the dominant party or actor in the region. This would raise concerns about the fairness of the competition for 34 parliamentary seats, whose initial signs appeared in the intensification by the Commission’s mobile teams of the processes of updating the data of Sadrist voters at home. While this is a legal procedure, it would not be readily available for rival parties.

6. The expectations of a greater decline in the percentage of voters compared to the 2018 elections constitute a crucial element in the Movement’s calculations where the value of every vote of its supporters would be doubled, which seems to be strongly relied upon by the Sadrists.

7. The decline in the number of actors that are candidate to seriously compete for the first place after the disintegration of the Nasr (Victory) Coalition led by Haider al-Abadi, its failure to institutionalise the remnants of its allies in a well-defined entity, and the growing competition within the Fatah (Conquest) Alliance between the Kataib Hezbollah (Battalions of the Party of God) and Asaib Ahl al-Haq (Leagues of the Righteous).

On the other hand, there are some complications facing the Sadrist Movement in its new political aspirations, including:

1. Some of Sadr’s followers believe that he made the Movement lose many of its symbols and leaders over the years, by punishing and excluding them, such as the jihadist aide Abu Duaa, the former head of his parliamentary bloc Dhiaa al-Asadi, the former Deputy Prime Minister Bahaa al-Araji, and many others, which may affect the Movement’s ability to win over voters who do not see in Sadr’s candidates many known or experienced figures.

2. The participation by many of Sadr’s followers in the popular protests that began in October 2019, and their formation of electoral grassroots that call for the selection of personalities that belong to the protest squares, such as Sheikh Asad al-Nasiri.

3. The Movement’s lack of new rules of play. For example, the call for political reform has become the main slogan of the popular protesters, and the role of the Islamic Resistance is being exploited by the Shiite powers competing with Sadr, such as the militias of the Asaib and Kataib Hezbollah.

The electoral calculations

According to the new Parliamentary Elections Law, the Sadrist Movement will run in approximately 43 of the 45 constituencies with a Shiite majority or with a large number of Shiite population distributed over 13 governorates, namely: Baghdad (17 districts), Basra (6 districts), Karbala, Najaf, Maysan, Wasit and Diwaniyah (3 districts each), Babil and Diyala (4 districts each), Dhi Qar (5 districts), and Muthanna (2 districts), as well as one district in each of Salah al-Din and Nineveh, which comprise 11 districts with no chance for the Sadrists to wrest any of their seats due to the de facto dominance of the (pro-Iran) loyalist Hashd (Popular Mobilisation Committee, PMC) factions in the Shiite districts and sub-districts therein.

The Sadrist Movement is competing to win between 163 and 178 seats in the face of two groups of opponents: the main group includes the Fatah led by Hadi al-Ameri, the Iraqiyoun (Iraqis) led by Ammar al-Hakim, and the State of Law led by Nouri al-Maliki. As for the secondary group, it includes the Nasr led by Haider al-Abadi, the Marhala (Stage) Movement which is close to Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi, the new movements and parties that emerged from the October Revolution, public figures, and tribal leaders.

There is almost a consensus among observers that the Sadrist Movement will renew its victory in the early elections, according to the data currently available, although the disagreement continues about the size of that victory.

Observers believe that most of the strengths on which the Sadrist Movement relies house their opposite as well, for several reasons, the most prominent of which are the following:

1. It is highly probable that the four-district system, in the light of the concentration of the voting Sadrist bloc in certain neighbourhoods, would deprive the Sadrist Movement of the capability to influence the election results at the governorate level, as happened in the past elections, especially in neighbourhoods of an open urban nature and neighborhoods of mixed sects or that continue to house a proportion of Christian or Kurdish populations.

2. The limited increase in the number of votes garnered by the Movement in the 2018 elections, which barely exceeded 60,000 over the 1.4 million votes it won in the 2014 elections, despite the increase in the number of registered Iraqi voters by 8 percent.

3. The splits within the Sadrist ranks as a result of Sadr’s turn against the protest movement since February 2020, after the demonstrators refused to nominate Mohammad Tawfiq Allawi as a candidate for the premiership in place of Adel Abdul Mahdi, given that the Sadrists responded by seeking to disperse the sit-ins, which caused dozens of deaths and injuries. This prompted an important Sadrist leader, namely Sheikh Asad al-Nasiri, Imam of [the southern city of] Nasiriyah Friday, to announce stripping off his turban and joining the demonstrators, amid reports that many mainstream Sadrists have silently abandoned the Movement’s activities, which was clearly observed during the Friday prayers in Tahrir Square, which witnessed a decline in the size of the crowds despite deploying state resources, including buses and vehicles, to transport Sadr supporters from the capital's various regions and the rest of the provinces.

4. Driving the Movement's opponents, especially the loyalist factions and parties close to Iran, headed by the State of Law Coalition and the Ataa (Giving) Movement led by Faleh al-Fayyad, to cluster within one list, or establish a mechanism for coordination and exchange of support, especially that they would target the same audience of people most affected by sectarian slogans.

5. The emergence of indications that a large segment of the electorate, who boycotted the last elections, is ready to practise a kind of punitive voting against the Sadrist Movement, whose repressive practices against the demonstrators brought to mind the events of 2006 and 2008. In this regard, the name of the Iraqiyoun Coalition, led by Ammar al-Hakim, emerges, either alone or in alliance with the Nasr Coalition, as one of the possible alternatives to confront Muqtada al-Sadr's project, thanks to the former’s youth partisan organisation and well-built electoral mechanism that won it 21 parliamentary seats despite its lack of a popular base and charisma, let alone suspicions of corruption and abuse of influence that hover around it.

Resort to the sect

In the context of the series of controversial calls that he launched since February 2020, all aiming at ending the popular protest movement according to the deal he struck with Iran shortly after the assassination of Qasem Soleimani and Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis in early 2020, in exchange for recognition of him as the leader of the Islamic Resistance factions in Iraq, the leader of the Sadrist Movement Muqtada al-Sadr, on 2 December 2020, called in a tweet on Twitter on the Shiite blocs to "accelerate the restoration of the Shiite House through intensive meetings to draft doctrinal and political codes of honour", without forgetting to criticise the protesters whom he described as “a group of boys without awareness or piety who try ... to discredit the revolutionaries, reform, religion and sect, supported by the external forces of evil and some figures at home”. This sparked a wave of harsh criticism from the protest movement’s crowd, which raised banners with the slogan “the Iraqi House” in the demonstration squares, and caused the flooding of social media pages with a torrent of satirical posts about Sadr’s regression to the sectarian trench for electoral purposes after nearly eight years of investing in the personality of the national leader who transcends sectarian divisions and of the representative of the "Iraqi" Movement who was bet on by some academic, press and media elites and promoted as a discrete opposite of the pro-Iran sectarian movement.

The main Shiite political blocs did not show great enthusiasm for Sadr’s invitation, most likely for fear that it would be another step in the path of trying to impose his hegemony on Shiite policies, and because the call was characterised by ambiguity and the absence of a clear mechanism and goal. It is noteworthy that the invitation did not exclude any party. This was interpreted as including the former Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki, the leader of the State of Law Coalition, which is considered by Sadr as one of his most prominent opponents. However, there were not enough signs that things were back to normal between the two. Hussein al-Maliki, the son-in-law of Nouri al-Maliki and a member of his coalition, issued a statement indicating that the Shiite forces had agreed to revive the Seven-member Committee, which brings together representatives thereof, in order to "de-escalate and avoid the media bickering prior to the elections". However, so far, there have been no assurances by other parties in this regard.

Likewise, no clear stances in response to Sadr’s call were announced by the Hikmah (Wisdom) Movement led by Ammar al-Hakim, whose political relationship with Sadr has been strained since the dissolution of the Islah (Reform) Alliance, nor the Fatah Alliance led by Hadi al-Amiri. However, the Hezbollah Battalions, a militia organisation that does not yet have a political party to represent it, declared, in a statement issued on 6 December 2020, its support for Sadr's call, praising his stances in "confronting deviations and calling for the defence of our Islamic principles". It seems that the Battalions have for some time been seeking to establish a special and independent role for themselves, and have found in Sadr’s call also an opportunity to provide another cover for striking "civilian" protesters, especially that their statement went on to refer to the "suspicious parties" that have deceived the youth and pushed them "toward adopting manifestations that carry many violations against Islamic values ​​and fundamentals of religion”.

For its part, the Nasr Coalition, led by former Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi, issued a statement announcing response to Sadr's call, although linking it to starting a systematic movement to adopt a national honour code that would be binding on all Iraqi forces and actors. Abadi's position seems to be linked also to his attempt to revive his electoral chances as a credible representative of the "State" and "Moderation" Movement, which contributes to explaining Abadi's announcement in December 2020 that he has resigned from all leadership positions in the Islamic Dawa (Call) Party, calling for a critical review of the party's experience, renewing its leadership, and injecting new blood into its structure. It is clear that the large gap between Maliki and Abadi played a role in this decision, especially that the former continues to control the main body of the Dawa Party.

Within the framework of these movements, the Fatah Alliance announced that it would enter the elections within a unified list, with the addition of the Islamic Supreme Council of Iraq (ISCI) thereto, and the formation of a leadership body consisting of Hadi al-Amiri, Qais al-Khazali, Ahmed al-Asadi and Humam Hamoudi. Hadi al-Amiri was also chosen as Secretary-General of the Coalition. This step comes after speculation that the Coalition may break up as a result of intra-rivalries. However, it seems that the new electoral system that requires voting for individual candidates will allow the Coalition to survive as a general framework and organise the distribution of the voting blocs among the candidates according to the agreements of the political forces of the Coalition.

Interestingly, the State of Law Coalition led by Maliki and the Ataa led by Faleh al-Fayyad, despite their close ties to the Fatah Alliance, still prefer not to merge with this Alliance, especially in view of the struggle that this could create for its leadership. On the other hand, the spokesman for the Sadrist Movement emphasised that his Movement tends not to enter into alliances before the elections because the nature of the new electoral system does not require such alliances.

Conclusions and expectations

In addition to the fact that the issue of choosing the Prime Minister in Iraq has always been subject to an internal consensus among representatives of the social components on power-sharing, a regional consensus between Najaf and Tehran, and an international consensus between Tehran and Washington, which made winning the majority of legislative seats a mere marginal detail therein, the Sadrists’ win of nearly a third of the parliamentary seats and two-thirds of the Shiite seats seems to be almost impossible in the light of the dissolution of their alliances with civilian forces (communists and civil activists) and the forces of Shiite Moderation (Hakim and Abadi), and Iran's lack of interest in directing its allies to convert the call of Muqtada al-Sadr, the only quarrelsome ally with elements of self-power, for restoring the Shiite House into a government coalition that he would dominate and that would give him control over the security and military establishments.

However, does Sadr, who has always been keen on keeping a distance between himself and direct responsibility, really want to install a Sadrist prime minister in case his followers won the 100 seats? The answer is most probably no, due to several considerations, the most important of which are the following:

1. The fact that Sadr, who is fond of assuming the role of a spiritual guide who is protected from criticism and accountability, favours to control the allocation of the premiership to whomever he wants and dismiss him whenever he wants, which means stripping the Prime Minister's will and controlling his decisions without having to bear their political consequences.

2. Employing his parliamentary power to obtain a number of ministries and hundreds of senior positions and special ranks as part of the process of penetration into the structure of the state that he had started during the era of Adel Abdul Mahdi's government.

3. Refraining from the risk of installing a Sadrist Prime Minister in the foreseeable future, especially in the light of the economic crisis that is expected to last for many years to come, thereby losing the legitimacy of using the street as a pressure card on its opponents in favour of the opposing political, religious and societal forces, especially the civil ones whose abuse has become morally and financially the preoccupation of the leader of the Sadrist Movement and his followers, under the slogans of fighting moral decay, social corruption, atheism and blasphemy.

Latest Featured Topics