تداعيات مقتل سليماني على الصراع الإيراني الأمريكي في العراق

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 26 يناير 2020

قامت الولايات المتحدة باغتيال قائد قوة القدس الإيراني الجنرال قاسم سليماني، ونائب رئيس الحشد الشعبي أبو مهدي المهندس، في 3 يناير 2020، وهي العملية التي جاءت عقب حصول سلسلة من أحداث التصعيد بين الطرفين، بدأت في 26 ديسمبر 2019 بقيام ميليشيا "كتائب حزب الله في العراق" بإطلاق صواريخ كاتيوشا على معسكر "K1" الأمريكي في محافظة كركوك أدت إلى مقتل "متعاقد" أمريكي، وردت واشنطن عليها بقصف معسكر الميليشيا في مدينة القائم الحدودية وقتل حوالي 40 من عناصرها، لتقوم مليشيات الحشد الشعبي يوم 31 ديسمبر 2019 بمحاصرة السفارة الأمريكية في بغداد ومحاولة اقتحامها قبل أن تقرر الانسحاب بعد أن هَدَّد رئيس الوزراء المستقيل عادل عبد المهدي بترك منصبه شاغراً في حاول أنصار الحشد الاعتصام أمام السفارة.

تتناول هذه الورقة تداعيات حوادث التصعيد الأخيرة بين إيران والولايات المتحدة في العراق، والسيناريوهات المحتملة للصراع بين الطرفين خلال الفترة المقبلة.

لماذا قُتِلَ سليماني الآن؟

أوضحت وزارة الدفاع الأمريكية (البنتاغون) أن استهداف سليماني إثر خروجه برفقة المهندس من مطار بغداد الدولي، بعد وصوله من سوريا، جاء لحماية الأمريكيين في العراق، ووفقاً لوزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو فإن الجنرال الإيراني كان يخطط لإعادة محاصرة السفارة الأمريكية من جديد واحتلالها بواسطة عناصر ميليشيات الحشد الشعبي، وأكد في تصريحات لمحطة CNN في 3 يناير الجاري أن "سليماني كان يعتزم أيضاً القيام بعمليات ضد المصالح الأمريكية والإقليمية".

تتميز عملية قتل سليماني بأنها المرة الأولى التي تستهدف فيها واشنطن قيادات أو مصالح إيرانية بصورة مباشرة في العراق منذ عام 2003، ويبدو أن هذه العملية الأمريكية غير المسبوقة جاءت أساساً رداً على خطوة محاصرة السفارة الأمريكية ببغداد، فقد أثارت هذه الخطوة الإيرانية غير المحسوبة نقطةً حساسة في ذاكرة المسؤولين الأمريكيين، فجعلتهم يستعيدون حادثة اقتحام السفارة الأمريكية بطهران واحتجاز الدبلوماسيين فيها عام 1979، ثم عملية الهجوم على القنصلية الأمريكية ببنغازي وقتل السفير الأمريكي فيها عام 2012.   

ويمكن تلخيص الرسائل الأمريكية من وراء تلك العملية بالآتي:

1. ردع إيران وإيقاف مسلسل استهداف المصالح والأصول الأمريكية الذي بدأ منذ فترة في منطقة الخليج بإسقاط الطائرة المسيرة الأمريكية في 20 يونيو 2019.

2. إفهام قادة إيران بتغيير قواعد اللعبة في المنطقة؛ ما يعني أن الولايات المتحدة ستنظر إلى أي عمل عدائي تجاهها صادر من وكلاء إيران بأنه عمل عدائي "إيراني"، ما يعني أن الرد سيكون ضد إيران نفسها.

3. إنهاء مسيرة شخصية إرهابية ساهمت في تعزيز النفوذ الإيراني في العراق وسوريا ولبنان واليمن.

4. إنذار قادة الميليشيات العراقية بإظهار أن استهدافهم من قبل الجيش الأمريكي أمر أسهل بكثير من قتل الشخصية العسكرية الأهم في إيران، والقائد الفعلي لميليشيا الحشد الشعبي، وهو الجنرال قاسم سليماني.

5. تحقيق مكسب دعائي للرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب خلال العام الانتخابي، وكسب الرأي العام الأمريكي بالتزامن مع بدء الديمقراطيين في مجلس النواب بإجراءات محاكته بتهم "استغلال السلطة" و"عرقلة عمل الكونغرس".

ومع أن مقتل أبو مهدي المهندس في العملية الأمريكية جاء عرَضاً كونه يرافق الموكب الإيراني القادم من المطار إلى بغداد، إلا أنه لا يمكن غض الطرف عن النتائج العملية لغياب المهندس من الساحة؛ فشبكة العلاقات التي كونها خلال سنوات مع شيوخ عشائر ورجال أعمال وقادة كل الميليشيات العراقية سمحت له بأن يكون الشخص الوحيد القادر على التنسيق بين أطراف الحشد والحرس الثوري الإيراني والحكومة العراقية والجهات المؤثرة في معظم المدن العراقية، بالشكل الذي يصعب على أي شخصية عراقية أخرى أن تؤدي المهام التي كان يقوم بها، خصوصاً أن الخلافات والمنافسة بين الميليشيات العراقية كانت ستؤدي في كثير من المناسبات إلى اقتتال كبير فيما بينها. كما أن علاقاته بالأحزاب السياسية، السنية والشيعية، أدت إلى توسع نفوذ الحشد، وعرقلة مشاريع الحكومات العراقية المتعاقبة لهيكلته بوصفه "مؤسسة أمنية رسمية"، وبالتالي هناك صعوبة حقيقية في اختيار بديل للمهندس، رغم المعلومات التي تؤكد أن قائد "منظمة بدر" هادي العامري هو الذي سيشغل منصب المهندس الفعلي، أي أركان الحشد الشعبي. غير أن العامري المعروف بعزلته وعدم قدرته على تكوين علاقات واسعة وضعف شخصيته وإدارته السيئة في المناصب التي شغلها سابقاً، لن يكون بمقدوره ملء الفراغ الذي تركه المهندس.

الرد الإيراني "المحسوب"

سارع المرشد الإيراني علي خامنئي إلى تعيين بديل لقاسم سليماني على الفور، هو إسماعيل قاآني، لإظهار عدم تأثر الاستراتيجية الإيرانية بغياب القادة، وتركيزها على الأهداف التي حددتها في العراق وباقي دول المنطقة. وركزت تصريحات القادة الإيرانيين، على "الثأر" لمقتل سليماني، وأن إخراج القوات الأمريكية من العراق والمنطقة بأسرها، سيكون ثمن العملية الأمريكية.

إلا أن الرد الإيراني المباشر كان أقل بكثير من سقف تلك التصريحات؛ إذ قامت إيران في 8 يناير بإطلاق نحو 12 صاروخاً بالستياً على قاعدتي "عين الأسد" في محافظة الأنبار و"حرير" في محافظة أربيل، لم تُوقع أي إصابات في الجنود الأمريكيين، في عملية بدت وكأنها "محسوبة بدقة"؛ فقد أعلمت طهرانُ حكومةَ بغداد بالعملية قبل وقت قليل من القصف، لإدراكها أن الأخيرة ستقوم بإبلاغ واشنطن لأخذ الاحتياطات اللازمة لحماية الجنود الأمريكيين في القواعد في العراق.

عكسَ الردُّ الإيراني "المضبوط" عدمَ رغبة القيادة الإيرانية في التصعيد، وأنها تريد فقط الحفاظ على ماء الوجه، من خلال توجيه "صفعة إلى صورة الولايات المتحدة باعتبارها قوة عظمى"، بحسب تعبير المرشد الإيراني؛ فقد كانت طهران تخشى من رد الفعل الأمريكي، وبخاصة أن الرئيس ترامب جدد تهديده للقيادة الإيرانية بأن أي استهداف لأرواح أمريكيين يدفعه إلى قصف 52 هدفاً إيرانياً.

إلا أن النظام الإيراني اعتبر أن الرد الحقيقي على قتل سليماني يكمن في الساحة العراقية، من خلال تحقيق الآتي: 

1. دفْع الكتل السياسية العراقية الموالية لها إلى التحرك في البرلمان من أجل إقرار قانون إلغاء الاتفاق الأمني بين بغداد واشنطن، أو تشكيل حكومة عراقية كاملة الصلاحيات مُوالية لها تقوم بتنفيذ خطة إخراج القوات الأمريكية.

2. وعلى نحو مُوازٍ، تحريك الفصائل "الولائية" الوكيلة لها لاستهداف الوجود الأمريكي في العراق، على اعتبار أن هذه الفصائل ترد على قتل المهندس وعلى وضع قادة تلك الفصائل على لائحة الإرهاب، تطبقاً للوعود التي أطلقها قادة الميليشيات العراقية، ومن بينهم قيس الخزعلي قائد ميليشيا "عصائب أهل الحق"، حيث أعلن أن رد أتباعه سيكون بمعزل عن الرد الإيراني.

3. العمل على إنهاء الاحتجاجات الشعبية بأي طريقة، مُستغلةً الأحداث الأخيرة لتحميل المتظاهرين مسؤولية عدم استقرار الأوضاع والعمل لصالح الولايات المتحدة.

مسألة إخراج القوات الأجنبية

ضمن الردود على العملية الأمريكية بقتل سليماني والمهندس، صوّت مجلس النواب العراقي في جلسة استثنائية وبحضور رئيس الوزراء المستقيل عادل عبدالمهدي يوم 5 يناير الجاري على قرار "يُلزم" الحكومة العراقية "بإلغاء طلب المساعدة المقدم منها إلى التحالف الدولي لمحاربة تنظيم داعش"، و"العمل على إنهاء تواجد أي قوات أجنبية في الأراضي العراقية".

وجاء قرار مجلس النواب العراقي ضمن حلقة الردود "الاستعراضية" لإيران وأنصارها العراقيين، للاعتبارات الآتية:

1. لا يمتلك البرلمان حق إصدار القرارات كونه يختص فقط بتشريع القوانين ومراقبة عمل الحكومة؛ وعليه فإن القرار مع أنه صيغ بصيغة "الإلزام" إلا أنه من الناحية القانونية غير ملزم للحكومة.

2. كان لافتاً للنظر أن القرار لم يُشر صراحةً إلى الوجود "الأمريكي"، كما لم يشر إلى الاتفاقية الأمنية الموقعة بين بغداد وواشنطن عام 2008 التي تحمل اسم "الاتفاقية الأمنية بين الولايات المتحدة والعراق واتفاقية الإطار الاستراتيجي لعمل القوات الأمريكية في العراق". وبحسب الاتفاقية فإن القوات الأمريكية التي ستبقى في العراق بعد 31 ديسمبر 2011 تقتصر مهامها الأساسية على تدريب القوات العراقية، وتحولت هذه القوات إلى المهام القتالية ضمن أعمال "التحالف الدولي لمكافحة داعش" الذي تَشكل إثر طلب حكومة حيدر العبادي المساعدة الدولية للقضاء على "داعش". بمعنى أن إلغاء تفويض التحالف الدولي لمحاربة "داعش" لا يعني خروج القوات الأمريكية من العراق، لأن وجود تلك القوات تنظمه الاتفاقية الأمنية الموقعة بين الطرفية، ووفق المادة 30 من الاتفاقية يكون إلغاء الاتفاقية "بعد مرور سنة من تقديم أحد الطرفين من الطرف الآخر إخطاراً خطياً بذلك".

3. لا يتضمن الدستور العراقي أي نص لشرح آلية إنهاء الاتفاقات والمعاهدات. ورئيس الوزراء المستقيل لا يمتلك حق التفاوض أو تقديم طلب إنهاء الاتفاقات بموجب الدستوري العراقي؛ وعليه يحتاج إلغاء الاتفاقية الأمنية الموقعة مع واشنطن إلى حكومة كاملة الصلاحيات يمكن تتشكل بطريقتين: الأولى، بالانتخابات المبكرة مع استمرار حكومة عادل عبد المهدي، في سيناريو تروج له بعض الشخصيات داخل تحالف "البناء" إلا أنه صعب التحقق بسبب الرفض الشعبي والحاجة إلى وجود حكومة قوية قادرة على إدارة العملية الانتخابية؛ أما الطريقة الثانية فهي ترشيح شخصية جديدة يصوت عليها البرلمان تكون محل توافق وتأييد غالبية الأطراف العراقية.

ومع أن قرار البرلمان العراقي صدر بموافقة 170 نائباً، إلا أنه يمكن القول إن القرار لم يكن "وطنياً عراقياً" بل كان "طائفياً شيعياً"، باعتبار أن أغلب النواب الذين حضروا الجلسة كانوا يمثلون تحالفي الفتح وسائرون، في حين غاب عنها النواب الكرد والسُّنة، الذين يدعمون الوجود الأمريكي في البلاد لمواجهة تمدد النفوذ الإيراني.

وقد يكون حادث اغتيال سليماني نقطة تحول في ملف اختيار رئيس الحكومة الجديد؛ فالكتل السنية والأطراف الكردية، التي تمتلك تفاهمات مع تحالف "البناء"، ستعيد حساباتها ولن تقبل بسهولة ترشيح شخصية قد تعمل على إنهاء الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في البلاد، وقد تدّعي تأييد مطالب ساحات الاحتجاج، والشروط التي حددتها سابقاً للترشح لهذا المنصب. لكنها قد تختلف مع زعيم التيار الصدري، مقتدى الصدر، الذي أعرب -في تغريدة على موقع "توتير" في الخامس من الشهر الجاري - عن عدم رضاه على إجراءات البرلمان، واعتبر موقفه "هزيلاً لا يَفي أمام الانتهاك الأمريكي للسيادة العراقية"، وطالب بطرد السفارة الأمريكية من العراق، وتجريم التعامل مع واشنطن.

العقوبات الأمريكية

رغم معرفة واشنطن بعدم قانونية قرار البرلمان العراقي، وإدراكها أن معطيات سياسية عراقية عدة تقف عائقاً أما إخراج القوات الأمريكية من العراق، إلا أنها لوحت بفرض عقوبات على العراق في حال أصرت الحكومة العراقية على إخراج قواتها، وقال الرئيس دونالد ترامب إن "الولايات المتحدة لن تغادر العراق قبل أن يدفع تكلفة قواعدها العسكرية هناك"، وأضاف في تصريحات لصحفيين مرافقين له خلال عودته من ولاية فلوريدا "إذا أجبرت القوات الأمريكية على المغادرة، فسنفرض عقوبات كبيرة على العراق لم يروا مثلها من قبل ستكون عقوبات إيران بجوارها شيء صغير".

وهذا ما توقعه بالفعل رئيس الوزراء العراقي المستقيل عادل عبد المهدي، الذي أوصى البرلمان باتخاذ قرار إنهاء الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في العراق خلال كملته أمام البرلمان أثناء الجلسة الاستثنائية، مع علمه بوجود عواقب كبيرة لهذا القرار، إذ قال "إنْ سارت العملية (ويقصد إخراج القوات الأمريكية) تصادمياً ورآها البعض بشكل عدائي وليس تصويبي وتصحيحي؛ فقد تكون هناك كلف سياسية واقتصادية ونقدية وأمنية وفي العلاقات الدولية ليس فقط مع الولايات المتحدة بل مع الكثير من دول التحالف الدولي".

ويمكن فهم نفي وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية وجود مناقشات لفرض عقوبات على العراق، على أنه محاولة للتهدئة مع الحكومة العراقية بعدما وصلت رسالة ترامب إلى الأطراف السياسية والشارع العراق، وحتى لا يتم استغلال هذا الاحتمال من قبل الدول المتربصة بانهيار العلاقات بين بغداد وواشنطن مثل الصين وروسيا. فقد أكدت المتحدثة باسم الخارجية الأمريكية مورغان أورتاغوس في تصريح متلفز أنه "لا توجد نية أو مناقشات في وزارة الخارجية لفرض عقوبات على العراق"، مشيرة إلى أن "هناك صلة خاصة تربط العراق بأمريكا"، وأن "العراق حليف للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمشاكل قد تحدث بين الحلفاء". كما أن بعض حلفاء واشنطن، وأبرزهم بريطانيا رفضت يوم 7 يناير الجاري فكرة العقوبات على العراق وخسارته لصالح إيران في هذا التوقيت.

السيناريوهات المحتملة بشأن مستقبل الصرع الإيراني الأمريكي

1. سيناريو التصعيد: قد يتحقق هذا السيناريو إذا ما أقدمت إيران بصورة مباشرة أو عن طريق الميليشيات الموالية لها على عمل انتقامي ضد الأصول الأمريكية في العراق أو حتى المنطقة، أو نجحت في دفع السلطات العراقية إلى اتخاذ إجراءات قانونية سليمة لإنهاء الوجود الأمريكي في العراق، حينها سترد الولايات المتحدة بقوة على الجانب الإيراني، ما قد يُفضي إلى الدخول في مواجهة مفتوحة كبيرة. ومن العوامل المساعدة على تحقق هذا السيناريو:

‌أ. عدم وجود طرف عراقي رسمي مؤثّر يمكنه منع الميليشيات "الولائية" من العبث بأمن البلاد واستهداف المصالح الأمريكية.

‌ب. استمرار الخلاف بشأن طريقة وشروط التفاوض بين طهران وواشنطن حول الملف النووي الإيراني، واستمرار واشنطن في مسار تشديد العقوبات الأمريكية على المؤسسات الايرانية.

‌ج. رفض الولايات المتحدة مغادرة العراق، واستمرارها بإرسال التعزيزات العسكرية إلى المنطقة.

2. سيناريو التهدئة (مُرجَّح): بعد أن "استعرضت" طهران عضلاتها من خلال شن الهجوم الصاروخي على القواعد الأمريكية في العراق، فإن من مصلحتها توجيه أتباعها في العراق ولبنان وباقي دولة المنطقة بعدم استهداف المصالح الأمريكية خوفاً من الدخول في حرب لا تتحمل تكاليفها في الوقت الراهن؛ فهي تتعرض لعقوبات اقتصادية كبيرة تجعلها تفضل استمرار الوضع الراهن الذي يضمن لها بقاء نفوذها الإقليمي، وتطوير ترسانتها العسكرية. فضلاً عن أي حرب مع الولايات المتحدة قد تؤدي إلى إطاحة النظام الإيراني، وهذا أكثر ما يخشاه هذا النظام. ومن العوامل التي ترجح هذا السيناريو:

‌أ. إعلان وزير الخارجية الإيراني محمد جواد ظريف "انتهاء" ردّ طهران على مقتل سليماني بقصف قاعدتي "عين الأسد" و"حرير".

‌ب. إعلان الرئيس دونالد ترامب أن الضربة لم تحقق خسائر لقوات بلاده، ولم يتوعد بالرد على الصواريخ الإيرانية، واكتفى بفرض المزيد من العقوبات الاقتصادية.

‌ج. ستعتبر طهران أن قرار بغداد بإنهاء الوجود الأمريكي هو الرد الحقيقي على مقتل سليماني؛ ذلا من المتوقع أن تضاعف جهودها لطرد القوات الأمريكية من العراق من خلال ميليشياتها الشيعية بالوكالة.

‌د. تبدو معركة إنهاء الاحتجاجات الشعبية واختيار رئيس وزراء مُوالٍ لطهران، أهمَّ من الناحية الاستراتيجية من الدخول في حرب مفتوحة مع الولايات المتحدة.

‌ه. رغبة واشنطن في تجنُّب الحرب أثناء العام الانتخابي الحالي، ووجود معارضة قوية داخل مجلس النواب الأمريكي للإجراءات التصعيدية التي قام بها الرئيس ترامب، وهو ما جعل مجلس النواب يصوت في 9 يناير الجاري على قرار يهدف إلى تقييد قدرة الرئيس ترامب على شن عمل عسكري ضد إيران دون موافقة الكونغرس.

‌و. معارضة الكثير من الدول الأوروبية والصين وروسيا الحرب مع إيران في الوقت الراهن.

 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Impact of Soleimani killing on US–Iran conflict in Iraq

EPC | 26 Jan 2020

On January 3, 2020, the United States assassinated the head of the Iranian Quds Force, General Qasem Soleimani, and the deputy chief of the Popular Mobilization Forces, Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis. This operation followed a series of escalating incidents between the two sides, beginning on December 26, 2019 when the Hezbollah Brigades militia fired Katyusha rockets on the United States’ K1 military base in Kirkuk, killing an American contractor. Washington responded by bombing the militia’s base in the border town of Al-Qa’im, leading to the deaths of some 40 militia members. On December 31, 2019, the Popular Mobilization Forces attacked the US embassy in Baghdad and attempted to storm it. They retreated only in response to resigning Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi’s threats to leave his post vacant for as long as their supporters occupied the area in front of the embassy.

This paper will examine the repercussions of the recent escalations between Iran and the United States in Iraq and the possible conflict scenarios between the two sides that may emerge in the coming months.

Why kill Soleimani now?

The US Department of Defense (the Pentagon) have stated that they targeted Soleimani — who was killed upon exiting Baghdad International Airport, accompanied by Muhandis, following his arrival from Syria — in order to protect US citizens in Iraq. According to US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, Soleimani was planning to attack the US embassy again and to send members of the Popular Mobilization Forces to occupy it. In a statement to CNN on January 3, Pompeo asserted that Soleimani was also plotting to carry out operations against US and regional interests.

The killing of Soleimani was the first time that Washington has directly targeted Iranian leaders or interests in Iraq since 2003. It appears mainly to be a response to miscalculated Iranian plans to besiege the US Embassy in Baghdad, which triggered a sensitive area in the memory of US officials, recalling both the 1979 US embassy hostage crisis in Tehran and the 2012 attack on the US consulate in Benghazi in which the US ambassador was killed.   

Through the Soleimani operation, the United States aimed to:

1. Deter Iran from continuing its series of attacks against US interest and assets in the Gulf, which began with the downing of a US drone on June 20, 2019.

2. Force Iran to accept that the rules of play have changed in the region, meaning that the United States will view any hostile action towards it by Iranian agents as an “Iranian” hostile act and will direct any response against Iran itself.

3. End the terrorist career of a person who helped strengthen Iranian influence in Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, and Yemen.

4. Make Iraqi militia leaders realize that, while killing the most important military figure in Iran and the effective leader of the Popular Mobilization Forces was not difficult, it would be even easier to target them.

5. Achieve a publicity boost for US President Donald Trump during an election year, and win over public opinion at a time when Democrats in the House of Representatives are launching procedures against the President on the charges of abuse of power and obstructing Congress.

Although the killing of Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis, who was accompanying the Iranian procession from the airport to Baghdad, was accidental, the practical impact of his absence cannot be ignored. The network of relations that he formed over years with tribal leaders, businessmen, and Iraqi militia leaders enabled him to become the only person capable of liaising between the Popular Mobilization Forces, the Iranian Revolutionary Guard, the Iraqi government, and influential figures from many Iraqi cities. It will be difficult for any other Iraqi figure to replace him in his role, in particular given that the rivalries and differences between Iraqi militias often leads to significant infighting. Through his relations with Sunni and Shia political parties alike, he managed to expand the influence of the Popular Mobilization Forces and prevent successive Iraqi governments from restructuring it into an “official security agency”. Choosing who should replace Muhandis will therefore be very difficult. Sources say that the leader of the Badr Organization, Hadi al-Amiri, will replace Muhandis as the effective head of the Popular Mobilization Forces. However, given that Amiri is known for his isolation, his inability to form board relationships, his weak personality, and his poor management of positions that he previously held, he will be unable to fill the void left by Muhandis.

“Calculated” Iranian response

The leader of Iran, Ali Khamenei, quickly appointed Esmail Ghaani to replace Soleimani, in order to show that the Iranian strategy would not be affected by the absence of any of its leadership, and that Iran remains focused on achieving its goals in Iraq and the wider region. In statements to the press, Iranian leaders reiterated that Iran would seek “revenge” for Soleimani’s death, and that the price of the US operation would be the expulsion of all US forces from Iraq and the wider region.

In practice, however, Iran’s response has been far more muted. On January 8, Iran launched a dozen ballistic missiles at the Ain al-Assad base in Al-Anbar province and Harir base in Erbil province. There were no US casualties, however, in what appeared to be a “precisely calculated” response; Tehran informed the Baghdad government about the operation shortly before it took place, in the full knowledge that the information would reach Washington, thereby enabling them to take the precautions required to protect US soldiers on the bases.

This very precise response from Iran reflects the leadership’s unwillingness to escalate the situation and their desire to simply save face by “dealing a slap to the image of the United States as a superpower”, as Khamenei put it. Tehran was afraid of how the Americans would respond, particularly given that President Trump had repeated his threat that the United States would bomb 52 Iranian targets if American lives were attacked.

The Iranian regime’s real response to the killing of Soleimani is reserved for the Iraqi arena, however: 

1. Iran is forcing the political blocs loyal to it in Iraq to take steps to pass a law overturning the security agreement concluded between Baghdad and Washington and to form a fully competent government loyal to Iran that will implement its plan to expel US forces from the country.

2. In parallel, Iran is encouraging the “State” factions serving as its proxies to target US troops in Iraq, under the guise of retaliation for the killing of Muhandis and the inclusion of their leaders on the US list of terrorists. This aligns with the promises made by Iraqi militia leaders, including Qais al-Khazali, leader of Asaib Ahl al-Haq (League of the Righteous), who announced that his followers would respond independently from Iran.

3. Iran is suppressing all forms of public protest and is taking advantage of recent events to hold demonstrators responsible for the instability of the situation, claiming that they are working on behalf of the United States.

Expulsion of foreign forces

As part of its response to the US operation in which Soleimani and Muhandis were killed, on January 5, during an extraordinary session in the presence of resigning Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi, the Iraqi House of Representatives voted to “oblige” the Iraqi government to “revoke its request for assistance from the international coalition to combat Islamic State” and to “work to end the presence of all foreign troops in Iraqi territory”.

However, given the following facts, this decision serves merely to give Iran and its Iraqi elements the impression that the Iraqi House of Representatives is responding to the US operation:

1. The Iraqi Parliament is not authorized to issue decisions. Its duties are confined to writing legislation and monitoring the work of the government only. Therefore, although the decision was written to be obligatory in nature, it is not legally binding on the government.

2. The decision does not refer explicitly to the “American” presence nor to the Strategic Framework Agreement and the Security Agreement concluded between Baghdad and Washington in 2008 (Status of Forces Agreement). According to the agreement, the US forces destined to remain in Iraq after December 31, 2011, would focus primarily on training Iraqi forces and teaching them how to carry out combat missions as part of the work of the Global Coalition Against Daesh, which was formed in response to the request made by Haider al-Abadi’s government for international assistance to eliminate Islamic State. Revoking the mandate of the Global Coalition Against Daesh does not necessarily mean that US troops will leave Iraq, however, as their presence is regulated by the Status of Forces Agreement, article 30 of which stipulates that: “This Agreement shall terminate one year after a Party provides written notification to the other Party to that effect.”

3. The Iraqi Constitution does not provide for a mechanism for terminating agreements and treaties. The resigning Prime Minister is not entitled to negotiate or request the termination of agreements according to the Iraqi Constitution. To revoke the Status of Forces Agreement, therefore, a fully competent government is required, which may be formed in one of two ways: first, the government may continue under the leadership of Adel Abdul Mahdi while early elections are held. This scenario is supported by some figures within the Construction Alliance. It is unlikely to be realized, however, as it is rejected by the public, and as a strong government is required to oversee the election process. Second, Parliament may vote in a new leader on whom the majority of the political blocs are in consensus.

Although the parliamentary decision was approved by 170 MPs, it cannot be said to have the support of the country as a whole, as most of the representatives who attended the session belonged to the Fatah and Saeroun alliances, both of which are Shia groups. Conversely, Kurdish and Sunni representatives — who support the US presence in the country as a way of controlling Iranian influence — were notably absent.

The Soleimani assassination may prove to be a turning point in the process of choosing the next prime minister. Sunni and Kurdish blocs, which have understandings with the Construction Alliance, will reassess their standing and will be reluctant to accept a leader who may attempt to end the US military presence in Iraq or claim to support protesters demands and the conditions previously imposed for the nomination to the position. Conversely, the leader of the Sadrist Movement, Muqtada al-Sadr, tweeted on January 5 that he was dissatisfied with how Parliament was operating and that his position was “insufficient to combat the American violation of Iraqi sovereignty”. He called for the US ambassador to be expelled from Iraq and for it to become a crime to work with Washington.

US sanctions

Despite knowing that the decision of the Iraqi parliament is not legal, and that several political factors in Iraq stand in the way of the expulsion of US troops, Washington has suggested that sanctions may be imposed on Iraq if the government insists on expelling US forces. President Trump has said that the United States will not leave Iraq until the Iraqi government reimburses the United States for the cost of its military bases there. Speaking to reporters upon his return from Florida, he said that, if US forces were made to leave Iraq, the United States would “charge them sanctions like they’ve never seen before, ever. It’ll make Iranian sanctions look somewhat tame.”

Resigning Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi anticipated such a response, however. In his statement during the extraordinary session, he recommended that Parliament take the decision to end the US military presence in Iraq, even though he was aware that such a decision would have significant consequences. “If the process [to expel US troops] becomes confrontational and is viewed as hostile rather than corrective, there may be political, economic, financial, and security costs, and it may have an impact on international relations not only with the United States but with many countries belonging to the Global Coalition,” he said.

The US Department of State’s denial that there have been discussions about imposing sanctions on Iraq may be seen as an attempt to calm the Iraqi government following Trump’s comments, which were heard by politicians and the public alike. It may also be an attempt to prevent other countries that are awaiting the collapse of Washington–Baghdad relations, such as Russia and China, from exploiting the situation. In a televised statement, Department of State spokesperson Morgan Ortagus said that: “There is no intention or discussions in the Department of State to impose sanctions on Iraq”. She added that: “There is a special link between Iraq and America”, and that: “Iraq is a US ally, and problems may arise between allies.” On January 7, a number of other US allies, in particular the United Kingdom, rejected the idea of imposing sanctions on Iraq and of allowing Iraq to be lost to Iran at that time.

Possible scenarios for the US–Iran conflict

1. Escalation: The situation may escalate if Iran, either directly or through militia loyal to it, takes retaliatory action against US assets in Iraq or even the wider region or if it succeeds in forcing the Iraqi authorities to take proper legal measures to end the US presence in Iraq. The United States will respond in force against Iran to any such action, which could lead to a major confrontation. Factors contributing to this scenario include:

a. The lack of any effective official party in Iraq capable of preventing “State” militias from interfering in national security affairs or targeting US interests;

b. The continued dispute over the method and conditions for negotiations between Tehran and Washington concerning Iranian nuclear activities, and the continued tightening of US sanctions against Iranian institutions.

c. The US refusal to leave Iraq, and the continued arrival of US military reinforcements in the region.

2. De-escalation (most likely): Having flexed its muscles through the missile attacks against the two US bases in Iraq, Tehran is aware that it is in its interests to instruct its followers in Iraq, Lebanon, and the wider region not to target US interests, for fear that it may be drawn into a war it cannot afford to fight at this time. As Iran is subject to heavy economic sanctions, it is more likely to favor the maintenance of the status quo, thereby ensuring that it will be able to maintain its influence in the region and develop its military arsenal. Furthermore, a war with the United States may lead to the overthrow of the current Iranian regime, which is what the regime most fears. Factors contributing to this scenario include:

a. The Iranian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Javad Zarif, has announced that the bombing of the Ain al-Assad and Harir bases marked “the end” of Tehran’s response to the killing of Soleimani.

b. President Trump has announced that the strike did not lead to the loss of any US forces. He has not threatened to respond to the Iranian attacks, but rather has merely increased economic sanctions against Iran.

c. Tehran sees Baghdad’s decision to end the US presence in Iraq as the real response to the killing of Soleimani. It will likely increase its efforts to expel US forces from Iraq through its Shia militia proxies.

d. The struggle to end the popular protests and ensure that a pro-Tehran Prime Minister is chosen is strategically more important to Iran than engaging in open conflict with the United States.

e. Washington is keen to avoid entering into a war during the current electoral year. There is also strong opposition within the US House of Representatives to the escalatory steps taken by President Trump. As a result, on January 9, the House of Representatives approved a resolution to curb the President’s ability to take military action against Iran without the approval of Congress.

f. Many European countries, as well as China and Russia, oppose war with Iran at this time.

Latest Featured Topics