تأثير أزمة كورونا على الاقتصاد الألماني

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 13 يوليو 2020

تركت جائحة كورونا أثراً عميقاً في الاقتصاد الألماني، فقد تسببت عملية الإغلاق، المحلية والعالمية، بسبب الجائحة في تحطيم القواعد الأساسية الثلاث التي يرتكز عليها الاقتصاد الألماني، وهي: الاستهلاك الداخلي، والاستثمارات الألمانية الداخلية والخارجية، والتصدير. ورغم العديد من برامج الحزم والمساعدات المالية التي ضخّتها حكومة المستشارة الألمانية أنغيلا ميركل في القطاعات المتعثرة لتحقيق الاستقرار، فإن الاقتصاد الألماني لن يتعافى من تلك الآثار للجائحة قبل نهاية 2022، بحسب البنك الاتحادي الألماني (Bundesbank).

واقع الاقتصاد الألماني في ظل الجائحة

1. الاقتصاد الألماني يدخل مرحلة الانكماش

يتوقع صندوق النقد الدولي أن يُمنى الاقتصاد الألماني بانكماشٍ بنسبة 6,9% خلال هذا العام، وقد سجل قبل عملية الإغلاق بسبب جائحة كورونا، أي في الربع الأول من هذا العام، نمواً وصل إلى 2.2٪. وكانت ألمانيا قد فرضت قيوداً بسبب جائحة كورونا في 22 مارس، أي أنها اتخذت قرار الإغلاق متأخرة مقارنة بدول أوروبية أخرى؛ ما أدى الى تقليل الأضرار التي لحقت بالناتج المحلي الإجمالي في ألمانيا خلال الربع الأول. كما سارعت برلين إلى تخفيف القيود بشكل مبكر، وسمحت بفتح المحلات التجارية واستئناف الإنتاج الصناعي وعودة مباريات الدوري الألماني.

ويرى البنك الاتحادي الألماني أن الناتج المحلي الإجمالي سينخفض بنسبة 7.1% في العام الجاري، لكن يتوقع أن يعود الاقتصاد الألماني إلى تسجيل أرقام إيجابية بداية من عام 2021.

2. أسوأ انخفاض مسجل للإنتاج الصناعي

كشف مكتب الإحصاءات الألماني أن الإنتاج الصناعي انخفض منذ تنفيذ الإغلاق بسبب جائحة كورونا بـ25.3%، وهو أسوأ أداء منذ اعتماد مبدأ التحليل وفق الفترات الزمنية عام 1991. وانخفض إنتاج الصناعة في ألمانيا بـ17.9% خلال أبريل الماضي، مقارنة بالشهر الذي سبقه، بينما كان شهر مارس قد شهد تراجعاً بـ 8.9%، قياساً بما كان عليه الحال في عام 2019.

ويشكل تراجع الإنتاج الصناعي بهذه الدرجة ضربةً حقيقية للسياسة الألمانية على المستويين الداخلي والخارجي؛ إذ تُعتبر الصناعات الألمانية أداةً فاعلة في السياسة الخارجية الألمانية، كما أن اللوبيات الصناعية تلعب دوراً قوياً في تشكيل الخارطة السياسية الداخلية واتجاهات الناخبين.

3. أكبر تراجع للصادرات في تاريخ ألمانيا

تكمن قوة الاقتصاد الألماني في قوة صادراته، لكن الواقع الجديد الذي أفرزته جائحة كورونا وعملية الإغلاق التي اعتمدتها معظم دول العالم، جعل هذه القوة مصدرَ ضعف كبيراً؛ فقد تراجعت الصادرات الألمانية منذ عملية الإغلاق بسبب كورونا إلى أدنى مستويات لها على الإطلاق، حيث انخفضت قيمة الصادرات بنسبة 31.1% في شهر أبريل من العام الجاري مقارنة بالشهر نفسه من السنة الماضية، أي بقيمة 75.7 مليار يورو، بحسب ما أورده مكتب الإحصاء الاتحادي الألماني، ليكون هذا التراجع أكبر انخفاض في شهر مقارنة بالشهر نفسه من العام السابق منذ بدء إحصاءات التجارة الخارجية في عام 1950. وبالمقارنة مع شهر مارس 2020، انخفضت الصادرات بنسبة 24.0%.

4. قلق من ازدياد نسب البطالة

يُعتبر خفض نسبة البطالة إلى أدنى مستويات لها منذ توحيد المانيا أحد أهم الإنجازات الداخلية التي حققتها المستشارة الألمانية أنغيلا ميركل على المستوى الاقتصادي خلال15 عاماً الماضية، حتى أنْ ألمانيا كانت في أمسّ الحاجة إلى مئات الآلاف من العمالة المتخصصة. لكنْ مع بداية تكشف آثار كورونا على الاقتصاد الألماني، ظهرت بيانات أولية تشير إلى ارتفاع غير مسبوق في عدد العاطلين عن العمل، فقد ذكر مكتب الإحصاء، بداية شهر يونيو، أن معدل البطالة في الاقتصاد الألماني سجل 6.1% في نهاية شهر مايو الماضي، مقابل 5.8% المسجلة في الشهر السابق له. وبحسب البيانات ارتفع عدد الأشخاص العاطلين عن العمل بمقدار 238 ألف شخص في شهر مايو ليصل إلى 2.813 مليون شخص، بينما تقدمت الشركات بأكثر من 11 مليون طلب استفادة من إعانات البطالة الجزئية لموظفيها اعتباراً من مارس الماضي.

أهم القطاعات الاقتصادية المتضررة

وفقاً لإحصاءات معهد ليبنيز للأبحاث الاقتصادية(IWH) ، فإن شهر مايو سجل ارتفاعاً كبيراً في عدد الشركات التي تقدمت بطلب إعلان إفلاسها، وأكد المعهد أن عدد الطلبات وصلت إلى 1,019 طلباً في ألمانيا، موضحاً أن خمس شركات منها تُوظف أكثر من 10,000 شخص. وبحسب توقعات معاهد الاقتصاد في ألمانيا، فإن عدد الشركات التي ستعلن إفلاسها سيصل حتى عام 2021 إلى نحو 29,000 شركة. وتبقى الشركات الناشطة في مجال الصناعات والخدمات هي الأكثر تضرراً جراء التبعات الاقتصادية لأزمة كورونا.

أما أهم القطاعات المتضررة فهي كالآتي:

  • صناعة السيارات الألمانية: هي الخاسر الأكبر في ألمانيا، فقد وصل انخفاض صادرات هذا القطاع في أبريل من هذا العام بنسبة 73.6% مقارنة بالشهر نفسه من العام الماضي؛ ما يعني انخفاض حجم صادرات السيارات والمركبات من 19 مليار يورو إلى أقل من خمسة مليارات يورو.
  • صناعات الهندسة الميكانيكية: تأثر هذا القطاع بشكل كبير بآثار جائحة كورونا، إذ سجلت الصادرات المتعلقة به تراجعاً بنسبة 29.6% في أبريل من هذا العام مقارنة بالشهر نفسه من العام الماضي.
  • قطاع السفر والسياحة: يشهد هذا القطاع أزمة كبيرة نتيجة عملية الإغلاق والتحذير من السفر الذي أطلقته السلطات الألمانية؛ إذ من المتوقع أن تنخفض المبيعات إلى نحو 10.8 مليارات يورو مع نهاية يونيو، بحسب رابطة صناعة السياحة الألمانية.

ومع ذلك، فإن بعض الصناعات الألمانية شهد ارتفاعاً في الانتاج والتصدير أثناء فترة كورونا، فقد زاد تصدير المنتجات الصيدلانية، أي الأدوية، بنحو 10% خلال الربع الأول من هذا العام مقارنةً بالعام الماضي.

برامج الإنعاش الاقتصادي

أقرت الحكومة الألمانية خطةَ إنعاش تاريخية تتمثل بسلسلة إجراءات بقيمة 130 مليار يورو لتحفيز اقتصادها، تتضمن الإجراءات التالية:

  • خفض مؤقت للضريبة على القيمة المضافة من 19% إلى 16% حتى 31 ديسمبر 2020.
  • تحمّل الدولة الفدرالية ديون حكومات محليّة.
  • تشجيع استخدام التكنولوجيا والتقنيات الصديقة للبيئة.
  • تخصيص معونات تصل إلى 6,000 يورو لكل شخص يشتري سيارة كهربائية جديدة.
  • تخصيص2.5  مليار يورو لإنشاء محطات شحن السيارات الكهربائية.
  • خفض كلفة الكهرباء للأفراد.
  • تقديم إعانات للأسر بقيمة 300 يورو لكل طفل.

وكانت الحكومة الألمانية قد ضخت، وبشكل عاجل أثناء الأسبوع الأول من عملية الإغلاق، نحو45 مليار يورو في السوق على شكل منح لمساعدات أصحاب المهن الحرة لتجاوز تبعات كورونا على نشاطهم التجاري أو الصناعي؛ إذ تراوحت الاستفادة لكل شخص ما بين 9,000 و15,000 يورو، الأمر الذي ساعد في تطبيق عملية الإغلاق، وإحداث نوع من استقرار السوق.

كما بدأت الحكومة الألمانية في دراسة برامج إنقاذ للشركات الكبرى، مثلما هو الأمر بالنسبة لشركة لوفتهانزا التي ستحصل على مساعدة إجمالية قدرها 9 مليارات يورو.

 مخاوف من تغلغل المال الأجنبي في القطاعات الاقتصادية الاستراتيجية

في ظل تراجع الأداء الاقتصادي، والعجز الذي تعيشه العديد من الشركات الألمانية، تخشى الحكومة الاتحادية الألمانية من أن تضطر العديد من شركات إلى بيع أصولها للمستثمرين الأجانب، وبشكل خاص للمستثمرين الصينين المهتمين أكثر بالسيطرة على بعض الصناعات الحساسة في ألمانيا ودول أوروبية أخرى. لذا، يسارع المشرِّعون في ألمانيا إلى وضع قوانين وضوابط جديدة أكثر صرامة تهدف إلى تقليل إمكانية سيطرة الشركات الأجنبية من خارج الاتحاد الأوربي على الشركات والمؤسسات المتعثرة، وخاصة تلك التي تنشط في مجالات استثمارية استراتيجية. فقد صوت البرلمان الألماني "بوندستاغ" في 18 يونيو 2020 على قانون يتيح إمكانية فحص الاستثمارات الأجنبية بدقة لمعرفة أصولها، وتريد الحكومة الألمانية من وراء هذا القانون معرفة من يقف وراء المستثمرين المحتملين، لمنع أي استحواذات لها خلفيات سياسية.

وأوضح وزير الاقتصاد الألماني بيتر ألتماير أمام البرلمان أنه لا ينبغي فقدان الشركات والتقنيات الحساسة في قطاعات بعينها، وعلى رأسها قطاع الصحة، مشيراً إلى أنه ينبغي أن يصبح الاستحواذ الخارجي على الشركات المهمة أكثر صعوبة من الناحية الاستراتيجية. وأضاف الوزير الألماني: "ليس كل الراغبين في الاستثمار لديهم نوايا صادقة بالقدر نفسه".

المال الصيني ومحاولة اقتحام الصناعات المتطورة والحساسة

المحاولات الصينية لشراء شركات أو أسهم في الشركات الألمانية ليست بالجديدة؛ إذ حذرت الحكومات الألمانية في العديد من المناسبات من طموحات الصين للاستثمار في الشركات الألمانية ذات التكنولوجيا المتطورة، أو في الشركات التي تنشط في القطاعات الاستراتيجية كالصحة، وتوليد ونقل الطاقة، والمياه، والاتصالات.

ففي عام 2016، استحوذ مستثمرون صينيون على مصنع الروبوتات Kuka في أوغسبورغ، الذي يزود شركات السيارات بالروبوتات المُنتجة. ولم تستطع السلطات الألمانية، بما فيها وزارة الاقتصاد، وقف عملية الاستحواذ لعدم تعارضها مع مفهوم مصالح الاستثمارات الاستراتيجية، والمتمثلة بقطاعات الاتصالات والكهرباء والماء. لكن وزير الاقتصاد آنذاك زيغمار غابرييل دعا إلى وضع قيود صارمة لمنع استحواذ الشركات الاجنبية على التكنولوجيا الألمانية.

وفي عام 2018، عارضت حكومة المستشارة أنغيلا ميركل وبشدة محاولة شركة صينية مملوكة للدولة شراء 20% من أسهم شركة "هيرتس 50" البرلينية، لتخوفها من حصول بيجين على ورقة اقتصادية مهمة تمس أحد المجالات الاقتصادية الحيوية، والتي يمكن استعمالها ورقة للضغط السياسي.

وبشكل عام، فإن سعي المستثمرين الصينيين إلى اقتحام أهم الصناعات الألمانية ليس جديداً، إذ تسيطر بيجين على 5% من أسهم شركة صناعة السيارات دايملر، و8.5% من أسهم شركة تصنيع الماكينات الدقيقة (Heidelberger Druckmaschinen)، بالإضافة إلى العديد من الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة، مثل Ballard Power Systems وBiotest وGrammer وManz وTom Tailor وKION، وغيرها.

والجدير بالذكر أن الاستثمارات الصينية في ألمانيا وصلت في عام 2018 إلى 10 مليارات يورو، لكنها تراجعت خلال السنة الماضية بنسبة 85%، وذلك لعدة أسباب أهمها تباطؤ الاقتصاد الصيني، بالإضافة إلى تشديد الاجراءات الألمانية المتعلقة بإتمام الصفقات.

إجراءات أوروبية جديدة تتعلق بالاستثمارات الأجنبية

تعمل ألمانيا بالتنسيق مع فرنسا وإيطاليا على المستوى الأوروبي، وذلك منذ 2017، لتغيير الإطار القانوني الأوروبي المتعلق بمراجعة الاستثمارات المباشرة والقادمة من مستثمرين من خارج الاتحاد الأوروبي. ويهدف هذا التنسيق إلى تحسين التعاون بين الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي في مجال التدقيق في الاستثمارات الأجنبية، مع إعطاء مساحة أفضل أمام المُشرِّعين على المستوى الوطني لدراسة سبل تحقيق تلك الأهداف.

وقد أقر البرلمان الأوربي في 19 مارس 2019 قواعدَ أوروبية لفحص الاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة؛ إذ أُنشئت آلية تعاون تتمكن من خلالها دول الاتحاد الأوروبي والمفوضية الأوروبية من تبادل المعلومات ومناقشة المخاوف المتعلقة باستثمارات محددة، وبالتالي فقد وضعت لأول مرة آلية على مستوى الاتحاد الأوروبي لتنسيق فحص الاستثمارات الأجنبية التي من المحتمل أن تؤثر في الأمن والنظام العام للاتحاد والدول الأعضاء فيه، كما تتيح القواعد الجديدة لهيئة الاتحاد الأوروبي التنفيذية إصدار الرأي عندما يشكل الاستثمار تهديداً للأمن أو النظام العام لأكثر من دولة أوروبية، أو عندما يقوّض مشروعاً أو برنامجاً يهم الاتحاد الأوروبي بأكمله.

كما أصدرت المفوضية الأوروبية في مارس 2020 مبادئ توجيهية لضمان اتباع نهج قوي على مستوى الاتحاد الأوروبي في فحص الاستثمار الأجنبي في وقت الأزمات الصحية العامة أو أثناء الضعف الاقتصادي المرتبط بها. والهدف منها ما يلي:

  • الحفاظ على شركات الاتحاد الأوروبي والأصول الحيوية، لاسيما في مجالات مثل الصحة، والبحوث الطبية، والتكنولوجيا الحيوية، والبنى التحتية الضرورية للأمن العام.
  • الموازنة بين تقييد الاستثمارات الاجنبية داخل الاتحاد دون تقويض انفتاح الاتحاد الأوروبي على الاستثمارات الأجنبية.
  • مطالبة الدول الأعضاء بإنشاء آلية فحص متكاملة تتوافق مع قانون الاتحاد الأوروبي والالتزامات الدولية، لمعالجة حالات الاستحواذ من قبل المستثمرين الأجانب التي قد تشكل خطراً على الأمن أو النظام العام في الاتحاد الأوروبي.
  • تُعطي التوجيهات الجديدة للدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي إمكانية تقييد حرية حركة رأس المال.

وبموجب هذه القواعد والمبادئ التوجيهية، أقر البرلمان الألماني في يونيو 2020 قانوناً يتيح إمكانية فحص الاستثمارات الاجنبية بدقة ومعرفة أصولها، كما شرع "البوندستاغ" في تعديل قانون التجارة الخارجية والقوانين المتعلقة بها، تماشياً مع لوائح الاتحاد الأوروبي والقواعد الجديدة المتخذة في ظل ما أفرزته جائحة كورونا.

تبعات أزمة كورونا على المشهد السياسي في ألمانيا

وضعت أزمةُ كورونا العديدَ من المسؤولين السياسيين في ألمانيا أمام اختبار حقيقي قد يحدد بوضوح مستقبل منصب المستشارية الذي تشغله أنغيلا ميركل منذ 15 عاماً. كما سيوضح هذا الاختبار خارطةَ القوى السياسية (الأحزاب) التي يمكن أن تسيطر على البرلمانات المحلية في المقاطعات الألمانية تمهيداً للانتخابات البرلمانية التي ستكون في خريف عام 2021.

فقد كشفت نتائج استطلاع للرأي في ألمانيا أجريت نهاية شهر مايو 2020، زيادةَ شعبية التحالف المسيحي الذي تنتمي إليه المستشارة أنغيلا ميركل، والحزب الليبرالي، ما يرجح إمكانية ظهور تحالفات سياسية جديدة خلال الاستحقاقات الانتخابية القادمة. فقد حصل التحالف المسيحي، المكون من الحزب المسيحي الديمقراطي، والحزب المسيحي الاجتماعي البافاري، على 40% من الأصوات التي تم استطلاعها، أي بارتفاع وصل إلى نقطتين مئويتين، بينما ارتفعت شعبية الليبيراليين لتصل إلى 8%. كما أظهرت النتائج استقرار شعبية الحزب الاشتراكي الديمقراطي عند 16%، والخضر عند 15%، فيما تراجعت شعبية حزبي "البديل من أجل المانيا" اليميني الشعبوي، وحزب اليسار بنقطة لكل منهما ليحصلا على 9% و7% على الترتيب. وتعود هذه النتائج إلى طريقة تعاطي التحالف الحكومي الحاكم في المانيا والحكومات المحلية مع جائحة كورونا، حيث وُصف النموذج الألماني في محاربة الوباء بأنه نموذج ناجح.

وعلى صعيد الحزب المسيحي الديمقراطي الذي تتزعمه ميركل، فقد ظهرت بعض الأسماء التي يمكنها أن تكون مُرشَّحة لمنصب المستشارية خلفاً لميركل التي لا تنوي الترشح مرة أخرى، ومن أبرز هذه الأسماء فردريش ميرتس، وهو اقتصادي وحقوقي ترأس سابقاً الكتلة البرلمانية السابقة للتحالف المسيحي، ويُعتبر من المناوئين لسياسات ميركل داخل حزبه، ويبدو حالياً وكأنه في معركة لرئاسة الحزب ومن ثمّ الترشح لمنصب المستشارية. أما الشخصية الثانية داخل حزب ميركل فهو أرمين لاشيت، رئيس وزراء ولاية شمال الراين ويستفاليا، الذي أثار الجدل بسبب أسلوب إدارته لأزمة الوباء.

أما أبرز الشخصيات التي ظهرت على رأس الحزب المسيحي الاجتماعي البافاري، وهو الحليف الأصغر لحزب ميركل، فهو ماركوس زودر رئيس وزراء ولاية بافاريا، الذي لمع نجمه بقوة في إدارة ولايته لأزمة كورونا، إلى درجة أن صحفاً ألمانية لقّبته بقيصر كورونا؛ إذ يُرشحه بعض الأوساط السياسية لمنصب المستشارية، بالرغم من نفيه المؤقت لوجود طموحات له في المنصب.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

  • رغم النموذج الناجح لألمانيا في إدارة أزمة كورونا، إلا أن الأزمة تركت أثراً عميقاً في الاقتصاد الألماني، إذ يُتوقع أن يُمنى الاقتصاد الألماني بانكماشٍ بنحو 6,9% خلال هذا العام، كما انخفض الإنتاج الصناعي بنحو 25.3%، وتراجعت الصادرات الألمانية بنسبة 31.1%، فضلاً عن ارتفاع معدل البطالة إلى 6.1%. ومع ذلك، يُتوقع أن يعود الاقتصاد الألماني لتسجيل أرقام إيجابية بداية من عام 2021.
  • أكثر القطاعات الألمانية التي تضررت هي صناعة السيارات الألمانية، وصناعات الهندسة الميكانيكية، وقطاع السفر والسياحة، في حين أن قطاع المنتجات الصيدلانية والأدوية حقق معدلات ربح متميزة.
  • تخشى الحكومة الألمانية من أن تضطر العديد من الشركات إلى بيع أصولها للمستثمرين الأجانب وبشكل خاص للمستثمرين الصينين المهتمين أكثر بالسيطرة على بعض الصناعات الحساسة في ألمانيا؛ لذا أقر البرلمان الألماني في يونيو 2020 قانوناً يتيح إمكانية فحص الاستثمارات الأجنبية بدقة ومعرفة أصولها، لمنع أي استحواذات لها خلفيات سياسية.
  • وضعت أزمة كورونا العديد من المسؤولين السياسيين في ألمانيا أمام اختبار حقيقي قد يحدد بوضوح مستقبل منصب المستشارية الذي تشغله أنغيلا ميركل، كما سيوضح هذا الاختبار خارطة القوى السياسية التي يمكن أن تسيطر على البرلمانات المحلية في المقاطعات الألمانية تمهيداً للانتخابات البرلمانية التي ستكون في خريف عام 2021.
  • كشفت نتائج استطلاع الرأي في ألمانيا زيادة شعبية التحالف المسيحي الذي تنتمي إليه المستشارة أنغيلا ميركل، والحزب الليبرالي، ما يرجح إمكانية ظهور تحالفات سياسية جديدة خلال الاستحقاقات الانتخابية المقبلة.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Impact of Coronavirus Crisis on German Economy

EPC | 13 Jul 2020

The coronavirus crisis has deeply affected the German economy. Both local and global lockdowns due to the pandemic have resulted in the destruction of the three main foundations of the German economy, namely domestic consumption, internal and external German investments, and exports. Despite the numerous financial packages and assistance programmes injected by the government of Chancellor Angela Merkel into faltering sectors to achieve stability, the German economy will not recover from the effects of the pandemic before the end of 2022, according to the German Federal Bank (the Deutsche Bundesbank).

The reality of the German economy in light of the pandemic

1- The German economy enters a phase of contraction

According to the expectations of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the German economy will shrink by 6.9 percent in 2020. Prior to the lockdown because of the coronavirus pandemic, that is in the first quarter of 2020, the German economy recorded a growth of up to 2.2 percent. Germany had imposed restrictions because of the coronavirus pandemic on 22 March 2020, which means that it delayed in taking the lockdown decision compared to other European countries, which reduced the damage sustained by the German gross domestic product (GDP) during the first quarter of 2020. In addition, Germany has rushed to ease the restrictions at an early stage, permitting the opening of commercial stores, the resumption of industrial production, and the return of matches of the German League (the Bundesliga).

The Bundesbank estimates that the GDP will shrink by 7.1 percent in 2020 but that the German economy will resume recording positive figures in early 2021.

2- Worst decline recorded in industrial production

The Federal Statistical Office of Germany has revealed that industrial production declined by 25.3 percent since the lockdown due to the coronavirus pandemic, which is the worst performance since the adoption of the principle of analysis by time periods in 1991. Industrial production in Germany declined by 17.9 percent in April 2020 compared to the previous month, while March 2020 witnessed a decline by 8.9 percent compared to the same time in 2019.

Such a decline in industrial production constitutes a real blow to the German policy both internally and externally. German industries are considered an effective tool of German foreign policy. Besides, industrial lobbies play a strong role in mapping internal politics and voter inclinations.

3- Largest decline in exports in German history

The strength of the German economy lies in the strength of its exports. However, the new reality generated by the coronavirus pandemic and the lockdown adopted by most countries in the world has transformed this strength into a source of significant weakness. German exports have declined to their lowest levels ever since the lockdown because of the coronavirus. According to the German Federal Statistical Office, the value of exports declined by 31.1 percent in April 2020 compared to the same month in the previous year, that is by 75.7 billion euros. This decline is the largest in a particular month compared to the same month a year earlier since the inception of foreign trade statistics in 1950. Compared to March 2020, exports declined by 24.0 percent.

4- Concern about the rise in unemployment rates

The reduction of unemployment rates to their lowest level since the unification of Germany is considered one of the most important domestic achievements by German Chancellor Angela Merkel at the economic level over the last 15 years. While Germany is in urgent need of hundreds of thousands of specialized workers, with the start of the emergence of the effects of the coronavirus on the German economy, initial data have emerged indicating an unprecedented increase in the number of unemployed. The Statistical Office has mentioned, at the beginning of June 2020, that the unemployment rate in the German economy recorded 6.1 percent at the end of May 2020 compared to 5.8 percent in the previous month. According to data, the number of unemployed increased by 238 thousand people in May 2020 to 2.813 million people, while companies submitted more than 11 million applications to benefit from the partial unemployment subsidies for their staff as of March 2020.

Main affected economic sectors

According to the statistics of the Halle Institute for Economic Research (IWH), in May 2020, a significant increase was recorded in the number of companies applying for the declaration of bankruptcy. The Institute underlined that the number of applications reached 1,019 in Germany, indicating that five of those companies employ more than 10,000 people. According to the estimates of economic institutes in Germany, the number of companies to declare their bankruptcy till 2021 will reach nearly 29,000. Companies active in the fields of industries and services continue to be the most affected as a result of the economic consequences of the coronavirus crisis.

The main affected sectors are the following:

  • German automotive industry is the biggest loser in Germany. The decline in this sector’s exports in April 2020 has reached 73.6 percent compared to the same month in the previous year. This amounts to a decline in the exports of cars and vehicles from 19 billion euros to less than five billion euros.
  • Mechanical engineering industries: this sector has been greatly affected by the coronavirus pandemic. Relevant exports declined by 29.6 percent in April 2020 compared with the same month in the previous year.
  • The travel and tourism sector: this sector is experiencing a significant crisis as a result of the lockdown and travel warnings launched by the German authorities. According to the Association of the German Tourism Industry, sales are expected to decline to nearly 10.8 billion euros by the end of June 2020.

Nevertheless, some German industries have witnessed an increase in production and exports during the period of coronavirus. Exports of pharmaceutical products, i.e. medicines, have increased by nearly 10 percent during the first quarter of 2020 compared to the previous year.

Economic recovery programmes

The German government has approved a historic recovery plan that provides for a series of actions worth 130 billion euros to stimulate its economy, including the following:

  • Temporary cuts in value-added tax (VAT) from 19 percent to 16 percent until 31 December 2020.
  • Assumption by the federal government of debts of local governments.
  • Encouraging the use of eco-friendly technology and techniques.
  • Allocating aid of up to 6,000 euros to every person who buys a new electrical car.
  • Allocating 2.5 billion euros to the construction of electric car charging stations.
  • Reducing the electricity cost for individuals.
  • Providing subsidies to families worth 300 euros per child.

During the first week of the lockdown, the German government had urgently injected nearly 45 billion euros into the market in the form of grants to assist the self-employed in overcoming the consequences of the coronavirus for their commercial or industrial activity. Individual benefit ranged between 9,000 and 15,000 euros, which helped in implementing the lockdown and creating a degree of market stability.

The German government has also started to study rescue programmes for major companies, as in the case of the airline Lufthansa which will receive a total assistance worth nine billion euros.

Fears of the penetration of foreign capital into strategic economic sectors

In light of the decline of economic performance and the distress experienced by many German companies, the German federal government fears that many companies will have to sell their assets to foreign investors, especially Chinese investors who are more interested in taking over some sensitive industries in Germany and other European countries. That is why German legislators have been quick to develop new, more stringent laws and controls with the aim of reducing the possibility of control by foreign companies from outside the European Union (EU) over faltering companies and establishments, particularly those active in areas of strategic investment. On 18 June 2020, the German Parliament (the Bundestag) voted on a law that would enable the scrutiny of foreign investments to identify their origins. The German government aims from this law to identify the backers of potential investors to prevent any acquisitions with a political background.

German Economy Minister Peter Altmaier explained before Parliament the necessity of maintaining sensitive companies and technologies in particular sectors, mainly the health sector. He indicated that the external acquisition of important companies should be made more strategically difficult. The German Minister added: “not everybody with the desire to invest has the same true intentions”.

Chinese capital and the attempt to penetrate advanced and sensitive industries

The Chinese attempts to buy German companies or shares therein are not new. On several occasions, German governments have warned against Chinese aspirations to invest in German companies with advanced technology or companies active in strategic sectors such as health, energy generation and transfer, water, and communications.

In 2016, Chinese investors took over the Ausburg-based Kuka robotics factory which supplies automotive companies with the produced robots. The German authorities, including the Ministry of Economy, could not prevent the acquisition since it did not contradict the concept of strategic investment interests, embodied in the communications, electricity and water sectors. However, the then Minister of the Economy Sigmar Gabriel called for imposing stringent constraints to prevent the acquisition by foreign companies of German technology.

In 2018, the government of Chancellor Angela Merkel strongly opposed the attempt by a state-owned Chinese company to purchase 20 percent of the shares of the Berlin-based company 50Hertz for fear that Beijing would acquire an important economic card that affects one of the vital economic fields and that can be used as a means of political pressure.

In general, attempts by Chinese investors to penetrate the most important German industries are not new. Beijing controls 5 percent of the shares of the automotive company Daimler, 8.5 percent of the shares of the precision mechanical engineering company Heidelberger Druckmaschinen, in addition to many small and medium companies, such as Ballard Power Systems, Biotest, Grammer, Manz, Tom Tailor, KION, etc.

It is worth mentioning that Chinese investments in Germany have reached 10 billion euros in 2018, although they declined by 85 percent in 2019. This is attributable to several reasons, mainly the slowdown of the Chinese economy, in addition to the tightening of German procedures with regard to the finalization of deals.

New European procedures with regard to foreign investments

Since 2017, Germany has been working in coordination with France and Italy at the European level to change the European legal framework related to the review of direct investments pertaining to non-EU investors. This coordination aims at improving cooperation between EU member states in the area of scrutinizing foreign investments and providing national legislators with a better opportunity to study ways of achieving those goals.

On 19 March 2019, the European Parliament adopted European rules to scrutinize foreign direct investments (FDI). A cooperation mechanism was established to enable EU countries and the European Commission (EC) to exchange information and discuss fears pertaining to specific investments. Consequently, a new mechanism at the EU level was developed for the first time to coordinate the scrutiny of foreign investments that are likely to affect security and public order in the EU and its member states. Thew new rules would also allow the EU executive Commission to issue opinion when the investment constitutes a threat to security or public order in more than one European country, or when it undermines a project or programme of importance to the EU as a whole.

In March 2020, the EC also issued guidelines to ensure the adoption of a strong approach at the EU level in scrutinizing foreign investment at the time of public health crises or during the associated economic weakness. The aims of the guidelines are as follows:

  • Preserving EU companies and vital assets, particularly in areas such as health, medical research, biotechnology, and infrastructure necessary for public security.
  • Striking a balance between constricting foreign investments within the EU and avoiding undermining the EU openness to foreign investments.
  • Demanding that member states establish an integrated scrutiny mechanism in line with EU law and international obligations to deal with acquisitions by foreign investors that could constitute a threat to EU security or public order.
  • The new guidelines enable EU member states to constrict the free movement of capital.

Under those rules and guidelines, in June 2020, the German Parliament approved a law that enables the scrutiny of foreign investments and the identification of their origins. The Bundestag also initiated the amendment of the foreign trade law and associated laws, in line with EU regulations and new rules developed in light of the consequences of the coronavirus pandemic.

The impact of the coronavirus crisis on the political scene in Germany

The coronavirus crisis has put many political officials in Germany under a real test that could clearly determine the future of the Chancellorship post that has been occupied by Angela Merkel for 15 years. That test will also set out the map of the political powers (parties) that could take control of local parliaments in preparation for the parliamentary elections scheduled for the autumn of 2021.

The results of an opinion poll carried out in Germany in late May 2020 have revealed an increase in the popularity of the Christian Union, to which belongs Chancellor Angela Merkel, and of the Liberal Party. This increases the likelihood of the emergence of new political alliances during the next elections. The Christian Union, comprising the Christian Democratic Party and the Christian Social Union in Bavaria garnered 40 percent of the votes surveyed, i.e. recording an increase of 2 percentage points, while the popularity of the Liberals increased to 8 percent. The results also showed the stable popularity of the Social Democratic Party of Germany at 16 percent, and the Greens at 15 percent, while the popularity of the populist, right-wing Alternative for Germany and of the Left Party decreased by one point each, to 9 percent and 8 percent respectively. Those results are attributable to the way the governing Union in Germany and the local governments have dealt with the coronavirus pandemic where the German model in fighting the epidemic was described as successful.

At the level of the Merkel-led Christian Democratic Party, some names have emerged who could be candidate for the post of Chancellor after Merkel who does not intend to run for another term. One of the leading names in this respect is Friedrich Merz, an economist and lawyer who had previously led the former parliamentary group of the Christian Union. He is one of the opponents of Merkel’s policies within his party, and currently appears to be engaged in a battle to win the party leadership and subsequently run for the position of Chancellor. The second name within Merkel’s party is Armin Laschet, Minister-President of North Rhine-Westphalia who has caused controversy because of the way he managed the epidemic crisis.

The most prominent figure that emerged at the top of the Christian Social Union in Bavaria, the small ally of Merkel’s party, is Markus Söder, Minister-President of the state of Bavaria who became widely renowned for the way his state managed the coronavirus crisis, so much so that some German newspapers called him the Corona Kaiser. Some political circles nominate him for the post of Chancellor despite his temporary denial of having aspirations for the post.

Conclusions

  • Despite Germany’s successful model in managing the coronavirus crisis, the crisis has left a deep impact on the German economy which is expected to contract by nearly 6.9 percent in 2020. Industrial production also declined by nearly 25.3 percent. German exports declined by 31.1 percent while the unemployment rate rose to 6.1 percent. Nevertheless, the German economy is expected to return to recording positive figures starting from 2021.
  • The German sectors most affected are the automotive industry, the mechanical engineering industries, and the travel and tourism sector. The pharmaceutical products and medicines sector has achieved outstanding profit rates.
  • The German government fears that many companies may have to sell their assets to foreign investors, particularly Chinese investors more interested in taking control of some sensitive industries in Germany. Consequently, in June 2020, the German Parliament adopted a law that enables scrutinizing foreign investments and identifying their origins to prevent any acquisitions with a political background.
  • The coronavirus crisis has placed many political officials in Germany under a real test that may clearly determine the future of the Chancellorship post currently assumed by Angela Merkel. The test will also set out a map of the political powers that can control the local parliaments in German states in preparation for the parliamentary elections scheduled for autumn 2021.
  • The results of an opinion poll in Germany have revealed the growing popularity of the Christian Union to which Chancellor Angela Merkel belongs, together with the Liberal Party. This increases the likelihood of the emergence of new political alliances during the next elections.

Latest Featured Topics