تنازُع الرئيس الأمريكي والكونجرس على سلطات الحرب: خلفية الجدل الراهن وآفاقه

عمرو عبد العاطي | 04 فبراير 2020

أعاد أمر الرئيس دونالد ترامب باغتيال قائد فليق القدس التابع للحرس الثوري الإيراني قاسم سليماني، في الثالث من يناير الماضي (2020)، الجدل المحتدم بين الكونجرس والرئيس حول من له القول الفَصْل والنهائي في استخدام القوة العسكرية الأمريكية في الخارج، مجددًا، إلى صدارة المشهد السياسي الأمريكي، والذي تصاعد مع فوز الديمقراطيين بالأغلبية في مجلس النواب في انتخابات التجديد النصفي للكونجرس التي أجريت في السادس من نوفمبر 2018، حيث شرعوا في اتخاذ عديد من الإجراءات بمساعدة عدد من المشرعين الجمهوريين لاستعادة المؤسسة التشريعية سلطتها الدستورية في إعلان الحرب، والتفويض بتحريك القوات الأمريكية خارج أراضي الولايات المتحدة بعد سنوات من تنازلها عنهما لصالح الرئيس، الذي وسع من دوره في سلطات الحرب، وتوريط الجيش الأمريكي في نزاعات وصراعات دولية، كانت تكلفتها أعلى من عائداتها.

وفي أعقاب مقتل سليماني، والتخوف من أن يؤدي التصعيد المتبادل بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران إلى مواجهة عسكرية، قدم عدد من المشرعين الديمقراطيين مشاريع قوانين يدعمها عدد من الأعضاء الجمهوريين بالكونجرس تحد من سلطة الرئيس ترامب لتوريط واشنطن في حرب مع طهران. وفي الوقت ذاته يسعي الكونجرس بمجلسيه إلى فرض مزيد من الرقابة على العمليات العسكرية الجارية بموجب تفويضين سابقين من الكونجرس في عامي 2001 و2002 يخولان الرئيس جورج بوش (الابن) باستخدام القوة العسكرية الأمريكية في الخارج. في حين يطالب بعض المشرعين الديمقراطيين والمتنافسين للفوز ببطاقة الحزب الديمقراطي لخوض الانتخابات الرئاسية التي ستجري في نوفمبر المقبل، بإلغائهما.

الخلفية والسياق

يقوم النظام السياسي الأمريكي في جوهره على مبدأ "الرقابة والتوازن Check and Balance"، حيث يوزع الدستور الصلاحيات بين السلطات الثلاثة (التشريعية، التنفيذية، القضائية) على نحو لا يسمح لأي منها بالانفراد بصنع القرار الأمريكي. ولا تقوم العلاقة بينهما على الفصل بين السلطات فقط، وإنما هي علاقة مؤسسات منفصلة تتقاسم السلطات. وقد أوجد ذلك تنازعًا تاريخيًّا بين الرئيس والكونجرس حول كثير من الصلاحيات، ولا سيما سلطة إعلان الحرب، التي يعني بها إعلان الحرب أو الانخراط العسكري في نزاع خارجي، حيث ينص الدستور على أن للكونجرس سلطة إعلان الحروب، وكذلك سلطة "المَحْفَظَة"، أي توفير المخصصات المالية لشن الحرب (المادة الأولي/الفقرة الثامنة)، ولكنه في الوقت ذاته يقرر أن الرئيس هو القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة (المادة الثانية/الفقرة الثانية). ما يعني أنه المسئول عن تنفيذ قرار الحرب. بعبارة أخرى، إذا كان الكونجرس مسؤولًا عن الإعلان عن بداية الحرب وإنهائها، فإن الرئيس من يُديرها بمجرد التصريح بها.

على الرغم من وجود نص دستوري صريح بشأن ضرورة تفويض الكونجرس الرئيس بتحريك القوات الأمريكية خارج أراضي الولايات المتحدة، إلا أن هناك توافقًا في الآراء على أن تنفيذ قرار الحرب يسمح للرئيس أيضًا بتوجيه القوات العسكرية في أوقات الهجوم أو التهديدات الوشيكة، أي في حالة الدفاع عن النفس. لكن الممارسة الواقعية للحروب التي خاضها الرؤساء من الحزبين الديمقراطي والجمهوري تكشف أنهم استطاعوا الالتفاف على سلطة الكونجرس لإعلان الحروب بدون تفويض منه، أو غير مستندة لإجراءات دفاعية عن النفس.

وبعد سنوات من تنازل السلطة التشريعية عن سلطاتها الدستورية بإعلان الحرب إلى السلطة التنفيذية التي زجت بالقوات الأمريكية في عدد من النزاعات العسكرية في أعقاب الحرب العالمية الثانية، مرر الكونجرس في عام 1973 قانون سلطات الحرب لاستعادة دوره في قرار الحرب، وإلزام الرئيس بالحصول على تفويض منه قبل التدخل في نزاع خارجي أو أعمال عدائية محتملة.

وينص قانون سلطات الحرب على أنه في حال تم نشر القوات الأمريكية في الأعمال العدائية في الخارج، فإن على الرئيس إبلاغ الكونجرس بذلك في غضون 48 ساعة، وإذا لم توافق المؤسسة التشريعية رسميًّا على هذا الإجراء، يتوجب على الرئيس إعادة القوات إلى الأراضي الأمريكية في غضون 60 يومًا. ويمنح القانون الرئيس 30 يومًا إضافية إذا أمكن إثبات وجود "ضرورة عسكرية" لتمديد الانتشار. ويستثني قانون سلطات الحرب حالات معينة يمكن للرئيس استخدام القوة منفردًا بدون الرجوع للكونجرس، ومنها وجود إذن قانوني سابق يخوله بالتدخل العسكري خارجيًا، أو إعلان حالة الطوارئ لتعرص أراضي الولايات المتحدة أو قواتها المسلحة لهجوم.

ورغم استناد بعض الرؤساء الأمريكيين إلى قانون سلطات الحرب للرد على تهديدات ضد الولايات المتحدة ومواطنيها، كمحاولة استخدام الرئيس جيمي كارتر القوة العسكرية لتحرير الرهائن الأمريكيين بسفارة دولته بطهران في عام 1979، إلا أن غالبيتهم واقعيًّا شنَّوا أكثر من حرب بصورة منفردة دون الرجوع إلى الكونجرس، إما بالعمل على تشكيل تحالفات دولية أو استنادًا إلى قرارات من مجلس الأمن تخولهم خوض حرب خارج الأراضي الأمريكية. وكان آخر تلك الحروب مشاركة القوات الأمريكية في تحالف دولي قاد العلميات العسكرية ضد الزعيم الليبي معمر القذافي في عام 2011 دون موافقة الكونجرس. وقد سوَّغ الرئيس باراك أوباما مشاركة القوات الأمريكية بقرار الأمم المتحدة رقم 1973.

الجدل الراهن بشأن "سلطة إعلان الحرب"

تاريخيًّا كان هناك نقاش داخل الولايات المتحدة حول من له القول الفصل (الرئيس أم الكونجرس) في إعلان الحرب، وتحريك القوات الأمريكية للاشتراك في النزاعات الخارجية، لكنه خلال العقد الأخير أخذ منحى تصاعدياً بعد حربين مكلفتين ماليًّا وبشريًّا في أفغانستان (2001) والعراق (2003) بتفويض من المؤسسة التشريعية، لكنهما لم تُحقِّقا الاستقرار والأمن في الدولتين، بل زادتهما هشاشة. وقد تعامل الرئيس الديمقراطي أوباما والجمهوري ترامب مع تفويضي عامي 2001، و2002 على أنهما "شيك على بياض" لشن حروب خارجية، وتمديدهما لتسويغ استخدام القوة العسكرية الأمريكية في الخارج استنادًا عليهما.

بيد أن هذا الجدل ازداد حدة في ظل حالة الاستقطاب السياسي التي تشهدها الولايات المتحدة منذ فوز الرئيس ترامب في الانتخابات الرئاسية التي أجريت في نوفمبر 2016، والمخاوف المتصاعدة من أن يؤدي التصعيد المتبادل بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران في أعقاب انسحاب واشنطن من الاتفاق النووي لعام 2015، وتبنِّي استراتيجية "الضغوط القصوى"، واغتيال قائد فليق القدس "سليماني" أوائل هذا العام إلى حرب في الشرق الأوسط يرفضها المشرعون ومعظم الأمريكيين بدون الحصول على تفويض من الكونجرس، وفي وقت يتصاعد فيه الحديث عن تراجع أهمية المنطقة لكون التحدي الرئيس للولايات المتحدة تمثله القوى التعديلية في النظام الدولي (روسيا والصين)، وتحديهما للمصالح والقيادة الأمريكية للنظام الراهن.

ينقسم النقاش الدائر راهنًا داخل الأوساط الأمريكية حول استخدام الرئيس القوة العسكرية في الخارج بدون الرجوع إلى الكونجرس، الذي يسعي لاستعادة دوره وسلطاته الدستورية، لتقويض انفراد السلطة التنفيذية بقرار استخدام القوة العسكرية في الخارج، وإشراك القوات الأمريكية في النزاعات والصراعات الخارجية من دون الحصول على تفويض من المؤسسة التشريعية إلى تيارين رئيسين:

يرى التيار الأول أنه ليس من حق الرئيس استخدام القوة العسكرية خارجيًّا بدون موافقة الكونجرس، ويدعو إلى فرض مزيد من القيود على سلطته، ولا سيما بعد إشراك الرئيس السابق أوباما والحالي ترامب اشراك القوات العسكرية الأمريكية في أعمال عدائية في الخارج بدون موافقة الكونجرس. ويجادل أنصار هذا التيار أن استخدام الرئيس ترامب للقوة العسكرية في الشرق الأوسط لا يأتي مُتَّسقًا مع تفويض الكونجرس للرئيس السابق بوش الابن في عام 2001 الذي منحه سلطة استخدام القوات العسكرية لمحاربة الأفراد والمنظمات المسؤولة عن التخطيط لهجمات الحادي عشر من سبتمبر 2001 أو تيسيرها، وكذلك لإيواء الإرهابيين أو تدريبهم، وكذلك تفويض عام 2002 باستخدام القوة العسكرية ضد العراق لحماية الأمة الأمريكية من التهديدات التي شكلها العراق. وقد استند الرئيس ترامب على تفويض عام 2002 لتسويغ اغتيال قاسم سليماني، بالإضافة إلى سلطة الرئيس الدستورية لتنفيذ الأعمال العسكرية للدفاع عن الولايات المتحدة ومواطنيها.

وقد سَوَّغ عديدٌ من مسؤولي الإدارة الأمريكية، وفي مقدمتهم الرئيس ترامب، اغتيال سليماني على أنه عمل دفاعي، حيث هَدَف اغتياله وفق بيان وزارة الدفاع الأمريكية (البنتاجون) إلى حماية الجنود والمواطنين الأمريكيين في العراق وفي الشرق الأوسط، ولا سيما بعد استهداف كتائب "حزب الله" والميلشيات الموالية لإيران قواعد عسكرية تضم جنودًا ودبلوماسيين أمريكيين، وكذلك السفارة الأمريكية في المنطقة الخضراء.

لكن معارضي تسويغ الإدارة الأمريكية بأن اغتيال سليماني كان ضمن سلطة الرئيس الدستورية وفق المادة الثانية من الدستور، يرون أن المادة تطبق في ظروف محدودة للغاية، وهي الهجوم الوشيك، وهذا لم يكن متوفرًا في حالة اغتيال قائد "فيلق القدس". ويشيرون إلى أن التهديد الذي كان يمثله سليماني وإيران على مصالح الولايات المتحدة وجنودها ومواطنيها في المنطقة ليس وليد اليوم، ما يعني أن أمام الرئيس متسعٌ من الوقت للحصول على تفويض من الكونجرس قبل استخدام القوة العسكرية في الخارج.

أما التيار الثاني فيري أن من حق الرئيس استخدام القوة العسكرية خارجيًا لحماية الأمن القومي الأمريكي ومصالح الولايات المتحدة وصون أمن مواطنيها في الخارج، حتى وإن لم يحصل على تفويض من الكونجرس، وتستند حجج هذا التيار على رفض مزاعم مشرعي الكونجرس بأن القوات الأمريكية تشارك في أعمال قتالية عدائية خارج الأراضي الأمريكية، ولا سيما في الأعمال القتالية الدائرة في اليمن، أو التي تؤثر عليها. ويؤكد أنصار هذا التيار على أن استخدام إدارة الرئيس ترامب للقوة العسكرية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط يأتي متفقًا مع تفويضي الكونجرس للرئيس بوش لمكافحة الإرهاب في الخارج، وحماية المصالح والأمن القومي الأمريكي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط.

ومنذ إقرار قانون سلطات الحرب في عام 1973 ومعظم الرؤساء الأمريكيين يرونه انتهاكًا غير دستوري للصلاحيات التي يمتلكها الرئيس بموجب الدستور، وكونه قائدًا عامًا للجيش الأمريكي. واتساقًا مع هذا الاتجاه يري الرئيس ترامب أن مشاريع القوانين التي يناقشها الكونجرس التي تقوض حقه في استخدام القوة العسكرية خارجيا يُعد تدخلًا في سلطته الدستورية بصفته القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة. وكذلك إضعاف قدرات القوات العسكرية الأمريكية على إدارة الاشتباكات العسكرية بكفاءة وفاعلية والانسحاب بطريقة منظمة في الوقت المناسب.

يري ترامب وأعضاء إدارته أن محاولات الكونجرس لتقويض سلطة الرئيس في تحريك الجنود الأمريكيين في الخارج أو استخدام القوة العسكرية ضد خصوم الولايات المتحدة يقوض من جهود الإدارة لمنع انتشار التنظيمات الإرهابية والمتطرفة مثل تنظيمي "القاعدة" و"داعش"، ناهيك عن أنه يشجع السلوك الإيراني الخبيث في اليمن، ودور طهران الإقليمي المزعزع للاستقرار والأمن في الشرق الأوسط، ويزيد من جرأة خصوم الولايات المتحدة لتهديد مصالحها واستهداف مواطنيها وجنودها المنتشرين حول العالم. وقد أشار الرئيس ترامب في رسالته التي تضمن قراره باستخدام حق الفيتو ضد القرار المشترك لمجلسي النواب والشيوخ لسحب القوات الأمريكية المقاتلة في اليمن إلى أن هذ القرار يحد من سلطته لحماية حياة أكثر من 80 ألف أمريكي يقيمون في بعض دول التحالف، لأن الحوثيين يستخدمون بدعم من إيران الصواريخ، وطائرات بدون طيار، والقوارب المتفجرة لاستهداف مناطق مدنية وعسكرية في مناطق يقصدها المواطنون الأمريكيون.  

محاولات الكونجرس لاستعادة سلطته الدستورية

منذ فوز الديمقراطيين بالأغلبية في مجلس النواب في انتخابات التجديد النصفي للكونجرس لعام 2018، وهم يعملون بقوة في إطار معارضتهم للسياسة الخارجية للرئيس ترامب، على استعادة المؤسسة التشريعية سلطتها الدستورية بإعلان الحرب، أو التفويض بمشاركة القوات الأمريكية في النزاعات والصراعات الخارجية. وتتمثل أبرز جهود الكونجرس في هذا الشأن فيما يلي:

أولاً، تقديم مشاريع قوانين إلى مجلسي الكونجرس (مجلس النواب والشيوخ) تقوض من قدرة الرئيس على استخدام القوة العسكرية بدون الرجوع إلى الكونجرس، وتدعو إلى سحب القوات الأمريكية من مناطق النزاع في الخارج. وبالفعل مرر المشرعون الأمريكيون في أبريل 2019 مشروع القانون المشترك (S.J. Res. 7) لسحب القوات الأمريكية من المشاركة في الأعمال القتالية الدائرة في اليمن أو التي تؤثر عليها. وقد مرَّره مجلس الشيوخ في 13 مارس 2019 بموافقة 54 سيناتورًا مقابل رفض 46 آخرين، ومجلس النواب في 4 أبريل 2019 بموافقة 247 نائبًا مقابل رفض 175 نائبًا.

ومع تخوف كثير من المشرعين الأمريكيين من انخراط الولايات المتحدة في حرب مع إيران لا يرغبون فيها بدون موافقتهم في أعقاب مقتل قائد فليق القدس قاسم سليماني والتصعيد الأمريكي-الإيراني المتبادل منذ مايو 2019 في إطار استراتيجية "الضغوط القصوى" الأمريكية، واستراتيجية المقاومة الإيرانية لها، بدأ مجلسا الكونجرس في مناقشة عديد من مشاريع القرارات التي قدمها أعضاء ديمقراطيين، وتحظي بتأييد من بعض المشرعين الجمهوريين لتقويض سلطة الرئيس لشن عمل عسكري ضد إيران.

ثانياً، استناداً على سلطة "المَحْفَظَة" التي يملكها الكونجرس قدمت مشاريع قوانين تحظر على الإدارة الأمريكية إنفاق أي أموال لشن عمل عسكري خارجي بدون موافقة الكونجرس، أو بما يتوافق مع قانون سلطات الحرب لعام 1973. ونظراً لأن تكلفة الحرب مرتفعة، فإن عدم قدرة السلطة التنفيذية على تمويل الحرب أو عمل عسكري يُقوِّض من فرصتهما.

ثالثاً، العمل على إلغاء تفويض عام 2001 و2002 اللذين مُنحا مباشرة لإدارة الرئيس السابق بوش، لاستخدام القوة العسكرية خارجيًّا بدون الرجوع إلى الكونجرس. وفي ظل الصعوبة التي تواجه المشرعين الديمقراطيين لإلغاء التفويضين طرح البعض فرض مزيد من الرقابة على استخدام الرئيس للقوة العسكرية بموجبها، في حين يطرح أخرون إصدار تفويض جديد للرئيس باستخدام القوة العسكرية ولكن محدد المهمة والوقت، ولا يكون بدون سقف زمني كالتفويضين السابقين، اللذين اعتمد عليهما الرئيس الأمريكي السابق أوباما والحالي ترامب في تسويغ استخدام القوة العسكرية في الشرق الأوسط.

الصعوبات التي تواجه مساعي الكونجرس

تتمثل أبرز الصعوبات والإشكاليات التي تواجه المؤسسة التشريعية لاستعادة سلطتها الدستورية التي تنازلت عنها للرئيس منذ سنوات، والتي جعلته ينفرد بقرار الحرب وتحريك القوات العسكرية في الخارج بدون إذن من الكونجرس، في صعوبة تمرير مشروع قانون مُلزِم يحد من قدرة الرئيس على استخدام القوة العسكرية بدون الرجوع إلى الكونجرس، حيث يحتاج تمرير أي من المشاريع التي تفرض مزيد من القيود على سلطة استخدام الرئيس للقوة العسكرية في الخارج الأغلبية البسيطة داخل مجلسي الكونجرس، ولكن الرئيس لديه سلطة استخدام حق النقض ضدها، ولعدم ضمان تصويت ثلثي أعضاء الكونجرس على مشروع القانون لتخطي فيتو الرئيس لا يصبح قانونًا.

وهذا ما حدث مع مشروع القانون المشترك الذي مرره مجلسي الكونجرس في أبريل 2019 الذي يدعو لسحب القوات الأمريكية من المشاركة في الأعمال القتالية الدائرة في اليمن، أو التي تؤثر عليها، حيث تم تمريره بالأغلبية البسيطة من المجلسين، ولكن ترامب استخدم في السادس عشر من الشهر ذاته حقه الدستوري (الفيتو) في معارضة القرار، ولعدم تأييد ثلثي المشرعين لمشروع القرار، فإنه لم يمر ويصبح مُلْزمًا للرئيس.

وعلى الرغم من عدم نجاح الكونجرس بتخطي فيتو الرئيس على القرار المشترك، إلا أنه يَحْمِل رسالة للرئيس ترامب بأن المؤسسة التشريعية، وليس هو، مَنْ يملك حق إعلان الحرب، والتفويض بإرسال القوات الأمريكية للمشاركة في القتال خارج أراضي الولايات المتحدة.

وكثيرًا ما يتخطى الرؤساء سلطة الكونجرس في إعلان الحرب والتفويض بتحريك القوات الأمريكية في الخارج بالاستناد إلى أن استخدامهم القوة العسكرية بصورة منفردة جاء ردَّاً على تهديدات ضد الولايات المتحدة أو أحد مواطنيها، وأن استخدام القوة العسكرية لا يُشكل حربًا بالمعني الدستوري، وأن أعمالهم العسكرية لا ترقى في الواقع إلى "الأعمال العدائية" التي يحددها القانون. وبدلًا من السعي للحصول على موافقة الكونجرس قبل استخدام القوة العسكرية، أو توريط القوات الأمريكية في نزاع خارجي، يميل كثير من الرؤساء على التصرف بصورة منفردة مع تشكيل فريق من المستشارين القانونين للدفاع عن تصرف الرئيس المنفرد وعدم التزامه بما ينص عليه الدستوري الأمريكي وقانون سلطات الحرب لعام 1973.

وبالإضافة إلى ما سبق، فإن قانون سلطات الحرب لعام 1973 يتضمن ثغرتين رئيستين تمنحان الرئيس الأمريكي فرصة لتنفيذ عمليات عسكرية خارجية بدون موافقة الكونجرس. تتمثل أولاهما في أنه إذا قام بعمل عسكري منفرد فإنه يبلغ الكونجرس في غضون 48 ساعة، ويمكنه بدء وتنفيذ العلميات العسكرية لمدة 90 يوماً بدون موافقته. أما الثغرة الثانية، فهي إن الرئيس يمكنه خوض حرب دون إبلاغ الكونجرس أو استشارته كما يتطلب الدستور وقانون سلطات الحرب، من خلال تشكيل تحالفات دولية أو استناداً إلى قرارات من مجلس الأمن تخول الولايات المتحدة بخوض حرب خارج أراضيها.

الخلاصة

إن التنازع بين الرئيس والكونجرس على سلطة الحرب تاريخي، وإن كانت السلطة التشريعية في كثير من الأوقات قد تنازلت عن حقها الدستوري لصالح السلطة التنفيذية، لينفرد الرئيس بقرار الحرب. ولكن مع اخفاقات تلك الحروب في تحقيق أهدافها، وارتفاع تكلفتها، يسعى الكونجرس إلى استعادة دوره الدستوري في إعلان الحرب أو السماح بانخراط القوات العسكرية الأمريكية في الأعمال القتالية في الخارج.

وعلى الرغم من محاولات الكونجرس بمجلسيه المتكررة راهنًا لاستعادة سلطته الدستورية بإعلان الحرب، أو التفويض بمشاركة القوات الأمريكية في النزاعات والصراعات الخارجية، فإن كثيرًا منها تواجه صعوبات وإشكاليات عدة، بما يجعل الرئيس حتى وقتنا هذا هو من له القول النهائي، ولاسيما في ظل تردد السلطة القضائية في الفصل في النزاعات بين الرؤساء الأمريكيين والكونجرس فيما يتعلق بسلطة الحرب.

 

* باحث مصري متخصص في الشؤون الأمريكية.

 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Dispute between US President and Congress regarding War Powers: Background and Horizons

Amr Abdel-Aty | 04 Feb 2020

President Donald Trump’s order to assassinate Qasem Soleimani, commander of the Quds Force of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard, on January 3, 2020 has reignited debate between Congress and the President as to who should have the final say in the use of US military power abroad. The debate escalated when the Democrats won a majority in the House of Representatives in the congressional mid-term elections on November 6, 2018, following which they have taken various steps, with the support of several Republican lawmakers, to restore the constitutional power of the legislature to declare war and to control the movement of US troops abroad. For many years, these powers have been relinquished to successive presidents, who have expanded their office’s war powers and have embroiled the US army in international conflicts that have ended up costing more than they were worth.

In the aftermath of Soleimani’s death, and in the light of fears that escalation between the United States and Iran could lead to a military confrontation, a number of Democratic lawmakers submitted bills, backed by several Republican members of Congress, aimed at limiting President Trump’s authority to implicate Washington in a war with Tehran. At the same time, both chambers of Congress have sought to impose more control over military operations launched pursuant to the two congressional mandates issued in 2001 and 2002, which authorized President George W. Bush Jr to use US military power abroad. Some Democrats vying to run as the Democratic candidate in the November 2020 presidential elections have called for these mandates to be cancelled.

Background and context

The US political system is, at heart, based on the principle of checks and balances, whereby the Constitution distributes powers between the three branches (legislative, executive, and judicial) in such a way as to prevent any of one of them from making a unilateral decision. The relationship between these three branches is based not simply on the separation of powers, but rather on the concept of separate institutions that share powers. This has created a historical conflict between the President and Congress regarding many areas of authority, in particular the authority to declare war, i.e. the ability to declare war or order military engagement in a foreign conflict. The Constitution provides that Congress has the power to declare war, as well as “authority over the pursestrings”, meaning the authority to allocate funds to wage war (art. 1, sect. 8). At the same time, however, the Constitution stipulates that the president is the commander-in-chief of the armed forces (art. 2, sect. 2). This means that the President is responsible for implementing the decision to go to war. In other words, if Congress is responsible for declaring the start and end of a war, then the president is responsible for managing the war once it has been authorized.

Although there is an explicit provision in the Constitution underscoring that Congress must be able to control the president’s ability to deploy troops outside US territory, there is consensus that the authority to implement a decision to go to war allows the president to direct military forces at times of attack or imminent threat, such as for the purpose of self-defense. In reality, previous experience of wars fought by Democrat and Republican presidents alike reveals that they were able to circumvent Congress’s authority to declare war, without requiring the authorization of Congress and without resorting to self-defense provisions.

Years after the legislature ceded its constitutional authority to declare war to the executive branch, which has embroiled US troops in numerous military conflicts since World War II, in 1973 Congress passed the War Powers Act to restore its role in the decision to wage war and to force the president to obtain a mandate from Congress before interfering in an external conflict or possible hostilities.

The Act provides that, in the event that US forces are deployed to engage in hostilities abroad, the president must inform Congress within 48 hours, and if the legislature does not formally approve such action, the president must return the troops to US territory within 60 days. The Act grants the president an additional 30 days if there is a “military necessity” to extend the deployment. The Act excludes certain situations in which the president can unilaterally order the use of force without first having to consult Congress, including situations in which the president has prior legal authorization to order military intervention abroad or where a state of emergency has been declared in response to an attack against US territory or armed forces.

Although some US presidents have relied on the War Powers Act to respond to threats against the United States and its citizens, such as when President Jimmy Carter attempted to use military force to free American hostages held at the US embassy in Tehran in 1979, in reality most presidents have, on more than one occasion, unilaterally made the decision to go to war without consulting Congress, either by forging international alliances or by relying on UN Security Council resolutions authorizing them to go to war outside US territory. Most recently, US forces participated in an international coalition that led military operations against Libyan Prime Minister Muammar al-Gaddafi in 2011 without the approval of Congress. President Barack Obama referred to Security Council resolution 1973 (2011) to justify the participation of US troops.

Current controversy over “power to declare war”

There has long been debate within the United States as to whether the president or Congress should have the final say in declaring war and mobilizing US troops to participate in external conflicts. This debate has intensified over the past decade, however, after the 2001 Afghanistan and 2003 Iraq wars, which were costly both financially and in terms of human lives. While these wars were mandated by the legislature, they did nothing to achieve stability and security in either country, but rather increased their vulnerability. Democratic President Obama and Republican President Trump both treated the 2001 and 2002 mandates as a “blank check” to launch foreign wars, and they extended the mandates to justify the use of military abroad.

This controversy has been fueled by the political polarization witnessed in the United States since President Trump’s victory in the November 2016 presidential elections and by the growing fears that the escalating tensions between the United States and Iran since Washington’s withdrawal from the 2015 nuclear agreement, in accordance with its strategy of “extreme pressure”, and the assassination of Quds Force Commander Qasem Soleimani earlier this year could lead to a war in the Middle East that has not been authorized by Congress and to which most lawmakers and US citizens would be opposed. At the same time, there is growing talk of the idea that the Middle East region is declining in importance, given that the main challenge facing the United States now lies in the revisionist powers within the international system (Russia and China) and the threat that they pose to US interests and leadership under the current system.

Current debate in the United States is divided into two camps on the question of whether the president should be able to use military force abroad without first consulting Congress, which wants to restore its constitutional role and powers in war decisions in order to prevent the executive branch from making unilateral decisions regarding the use of military force abroad and to prevent US forces from engaging in conflicts abroad without first obtaining a mandate from the legislature:

One side of the debate argues that the president does not have the right to use military force abroad without congressional approval. Those on this side of the debate are calling for more restrictions on the president’s powers, in particular in the light of the decisions taken by former President Obama and current President Trump to engage US military forces in hostilities abroad without the approval of Congress. They argue that President Trump’s use of military force in the Middle East does not comply with the congressional mandate granted to former President George Bush Jr in 2001, which authorized him to use military force against the individuals and organizations responsible for planning and facilitating the attacks on September 11, 2001, and for harboring or training terrorists, nor the 2002 mandate authorizing him use military force against Iraq in order to protect the United States against the threat that it posed. In justifying the assassination of Qasem Soleimani, President Trump relied on the 2002 mandate and on the president’s constitutional authority to take military action to defend the United States and its citizens.

Several US officials, led by president Trump, justified the assassination as an act of defense. According to a statement by the Pentagon, Soleimani was assassinated in order to protect US troops and citizens in Iraq and the Middle East, particularly as the Hezbollah Brigades and other militias loyal to Iran had been targeting military bases at which US troops and diplomats were stationed, as well as the US embassy in the Green Zone.

Rebutting the claim that the president had the authority to order the assassination of Soleimani pursuant to article 2 of the Constitution, opponents argue that the article applies only in very limited circumstances, namely in the event of an imminent attack, which was not the case with Soleimani. They also argue that the threat that Soleimani and Iran posed to US interests, troops, and citizens in the region was not new, meaning that the president had ample time to obtain a mandate from Congress before using military force abroad.

On the other hand, however, supporters of the president’s actions argue that the president has the right to use military force abroad in order to protect the United States’ national security, its interests, and its citizens abroad, even where he has not obtained a congressional mandate. They reject claims by members of Congress that US troops are participating in hostilities outside US territory, in particular hostilities taking place in or affecting Yemen. They assert that President Trump’s use of military force in the Middle East complies with the congressional mandates granted to President Bush in order to combat terrorism abroad and protect US interests and national security in the Middle East.

Since its adoption in 1973, the War Powers Act has been viewed by most US presidents as an unconstitutional violation of the powers granted to the president, as commander-in-chief of the US army, by the Constitution. Similarly, President Trump believes that the bills under discussion by Congress aimed at curbing his right to use military force abroad would interfere in his constitutional authority as supreme commander of the armed forces and would weaken the ability of US military to manage military clashes effectively and efficiently and to withdraw in an orderly and timely manner.

President Trump and members of his administration argue that attempts by Congress to undermine the president’s authority to control the movement of US troops abroad and to use military force against US opponents undermines the administration’s efforts to combat the spread of terrorist and extremist organizations such as Al-Qaida and Islamic State, not to mention encouraging Iran’s malicious behavior in Yemen and its role in undermining stability and security in the Middle East and embolden opponents of the United States to threaten US interests and to target US citizens and troops around the world. In his letter vetoing the joint decision of the House of Representatives and the Senate to withdraw US combat troops stationed in Yemen, President Trump stated that such a decision limited his authority to protect the lives of more than 80,000 US citizens living in countries involved in the coalition, as Iranian-backed Houthis were using missiles, drones, and bomb boats to target civilian and military areas within zones designated for US citizens.  

Attempts by Congress to restore its constitutional powers

Since winning a majority in the House of Representatives in the 2018 congressional mid-term elections, the Democrats have been working vigorously, as part of their opposition to President Trump’s foreign policy, to restore the constitutional authority of the legislature to declare war and to authorize US troops to engage in external conflicts. The most important efforts taken to that end are as follows:

First, the Democrats have submitted bills to both chambers of Congress (the House of Representatives and the Senate) aimed at undermining the president’s ability to use military force without consulting Congress, and calling for the withdrawal of US troops from conflict areas abroad. In April 2019, US lawmakers passed a joint bill (S.J.Res.7) to withdraw US troops from hostilities taking place in or affecting Yemen. On March 13, 2019, the Senate adopted the bill by 54 votes to 46, and on April 4, the House of Representatives adopted it by 247 votes to 175.

As many US lawmakers are worried that the United States may find itself engaging in an unwanted war with Iran without the consent of Congress, following the assassination of Soleimani and the escalation of US–Iranian tensions since May 2019 as a result of the United States’ strategy of “maximum pressure” and Iranian resistance, both chambers of Congress have begun to discuss the bills submitted by Democratic members, which are supported by several Republicans, aimed at limiting the president’s authority to take military action against Iran.

Second, drawing on the “authority over the pursestrings” held by Congress, bills have been submitted to prohibit the US administration from spending any money on military action abroad without the approval of Congress or where not provided for by the 1973 War Powers Act. As the cost of war is high, the executive branch’s inability to finance a war or military action would prevent it from taking place.

Third, Democrats are making efforts to cancel the 2001 and 2002 mandates granted directly to the Bush administration, which authorized President Bush to use military force abroad without consulting Congress. As they are facing difficulties in achieving this, some Democrats have proposed imposing greater control over the president’s use of military force pursuant to those mandates. Alternatively, others have proposed issuing a new mandate to allow the president to use military force in accordance with strictly defined purposes and time limits, as the two previous mandates were not time-limited, thereby allowing President Obama and President Trump to use them to justify military action in the Middle East.

Obstacles faced by Congress

The biggest difficulties that the legislature is facing in its attempts to restore the constitutional authority that it ceded to the president many years ago, thereby authorizing the president to unilaterally take the decision to go to war or to deploy military forces abroad without the permission of Congress, is the difficulty of passing a binding law that would limit the president’s ability to use military force without consulting Congress. While any such bill would need to be adopted only by a simple majority in both chambers of Congress, the president has the right to veto the bill. Congress must then vote by a two-thirds majority to override the president’s veto if the bill is to become law.

This was the case in April 2019 when both chambers of Congress approved the joint bill calling for the withdrawal of US troops from hostilities taking place in or affecting Yemen. While the bill was passed by a simple majority in both chambers, on April 16 President Trump used his constitutional power of veto to oppose the decision. As the bill did not receive the support of two thirds of lawmakers, it was not adopted and therefore did not become binding.

Although Congress did not succeed in overriding the president’s veto, it nonetheless sent a message to President Trump that it was the legislature, and not he, that was authorized to declare war and to mandate US troops to participate in combat outside the United States.

Many presidents have overridden Congress’s authority to declare war and to mandate the deployment of US troops abroad, on the grounds that they were authorized to unilaterally order the use of military force in response to threats against the United States or any of its citizens, that the use of military force does not constitute a war in the constitutional sense, and that their military actions fell short of being “hostilities” as defined by the law. Instead of seeking congressional approval before using military force or implicating US troops in a foreign conflict, many presidents have instead taken unilateral action and have formed a team of legal advisers to defend their actions and their failure to adhere to the provisions of the Constitution and the 1973 War Powers Act.

Furthermore, the 1973 War Powers Act contains two major loopholes that allows the president to take military action abroad without the approval of Congress. First, the president can unilaterally conduct military action for 90 days without the approval of Congress, provided that he informs Congress of such action within 48 hours of its launch. Second, the president can go to war without informing or consulting Congress as required by the Constitution and the War Powers Act if he forms an international alliance or if he is implementing a Security Council resolution that authorizes the United States to go to war outside its territory.

Conclusion

The conflict between the president and Congress over war powers is historic. On more than one occasion, the legislature has ceded its constitutional rights to the executive branch so that the president can unilaterally take the decision to go to war. As such wars have failed to achieve their goals and have cost the United States dearly, Congress is attempting to restore its constitutional role in declaring war and in authorizing US military forces to engage in hostilities abroad.

In spite of repeated attempts by current members in both chambers of Congress to restore that authority, they have faced numerous obstacles. As a result, the president still retains the final say on all such decision, particularly given the reluctance of the judiciary to rule on disputes between presidents and Congress regarding war powers.

 

* Egyptian researcher specializing in US affairs.

 

Latest Featured Topics