زيارة الكاظمي لإيران: السيادة العراقية مقابل المساعدة الاقتصادية

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 03 أغسطس 2020

قام رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي بزيارة إيران في 21 يوليو 2020، وهي أول زيارة خارجية له بعد توليه منصبه، وجاءت إثر تأجيل زيارته التي كانت مقررة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية بسبب دخول العاهل السعودي، الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز، المستشفى. وتأتي زيارة الكاظمي لطهران في سياق ديناميكية سياسية عراقية مختلفة عن السابق، ترتكز على تحقيق السيادة العراقية ومطالبة إيران بضبط الفصائل الموالية لها في العراق في مقابل استمرار لعب العراق دور الرئة الاقتصادية لإيران.

التوجُّس الإيراني من الكاظمي

للمرة الأولى بعد العام 2003 تجد إيران نفسها أمام تحدٍّ كبير في مواجهة حكومة عراقية جاءت بها تطورات سياسية واجتماعية داخلية مستندة إلى احتجاجات شعبية واسعة غيّرت وجه العملية السياسية، كان أحد مظاهرها الرفض الشعبي الواسع للهيمنة الإيرانية، وتحميلها جزءاً كبيراً من مسؤولية الفوضى وتراجع الدولة العراقية على مدى العقدين الماضيين.

يُعد الكاظمي مُناهِضاً صريحاً للنفوذ الإيراني في بلاده ولاختلال التوازن في العلاقات بين البلدين، وارتكز برنامجه الحكومي على أهداف تعزيز السيادة العراقية واستعادة هيبة الدولة وحصر السلاح بيد الدولة، واستهل حكمه باعتقال عناصر من "كتائب حزب الله في العراق"، أقوى الميليشيات الولائية في البلاد والتي تَعتبر نفسها الجسم الرئيس لما يسمى "محور المقاومة" الشيعية، وهو المحور الذي يتهم الكاظمي صراحةً بالتورط في مقتل قائد الحرس الثوري السابق قاسم سليماني ونائب رئيس هيئة "الحشد الشعبي" وقائد "كتائب حزب الله" أبو مهدي المهندس.

عملياً، بدأ الفريق العراقي الموالي لإيران بإزعاج الكاظمي؛ سياسياً عبر قيام تحالف "الفتح" بزعامة هادي العامري وائتلاف "دولة القانون" بزعامة نوري المالكي بجمع تواقيع لاستدعائه في البرلمان؛ وأمنياً عبر إعلان الفصائل المسلحة صراحةً رفضها الكاظمي وسعيها إلى إحراجه وإثبات أنه لا يملك أي سلطة وذلك من خلال قصف المنطقة الخضراء بصواريخ الكاتيوشا، والقيام بعمليات اغتيال واختطاف واستعراض للقوة في الشوارع.

في هذه الظروف استقبلت إيران الكاظمي، مدركةً أنها تواجه رئيسَ وزراء مختلفاً عمن سبقه، مدعوماً بقاعدة شعبية وسياسية واسعة، ومستنداً إلى سياسة خارجية جديدة تلوذ بالمحيط العربي والخليجي، ولهذا كان خيار الكاظمي زيارة المملكة العربية السعودية أولاً قبل إيران؛ ما أثار سخط الأخيرة التي أوفدت إلى بغداد وزير خارجيتها محمد جواد ظريف في 19 يوليو، في زيارة وصفتها الدوائر السياسية العراقية بالغريبة والمفاجئة؛ إذ كان من المقرر أن يزور الكاظمي طهران بعد زيارة السعودية مباشرة، فلماذا ترسل مسؤولاً رفيع المستوى إلى العراق بينما رئيس وزرائه سيزورها بعد ثلاثة أيام؟

مضامين زيارة الكاظمي

كان التوتر والندية عنوان زيارة الكاظمي لطهران؛ فقد استقبلته إيران بينما يقود فريقها العراقي حملةً سياسية وإعلامية واسعة ضده، في حين اتخذ الكاظمي موقفاً حذراً في تصريحاته ومواقفه بعيداً عن المجاملات التي عادة ما يستخدمها المسؤولون العراقيون لدى زيارتهم طهران، وتقصَّد الكاظمي وضعَ شارة العلم العراقي على سترته طوال فترة لقاءاته مع المسؤولين الإيرانيين، وبينهم القائد الأعلى علي خامنئي.

وأظهرت زيارة الكاظمي عُمقَ الأزمات التي تواجه إيران، والانقسامَ الأكثر وضوحاً بين التيار الإصلاحي الذي يمثله الرئيس حسن روحاني ووزير خارجيته جواد ظريف، والتيار المتشدد الذي يقوده خامنئي ورئيس مجلس الشورى (البرلمان) محمد باقر قاليباف، فيما يتعلق بالسياسة إزاء حكومة الكاظمي. وتَبدى من الزيارة المعطيات الآتية:

  1. تفيد مصادر سياسية قريبة من الكاظمي رافقته أثناء الزيارة أنه تحدث صراحةً عن المساعدة الاقتصادية التي يقدمها العراق لإيران، وحجم الضغوط التي تواجه بغداد بسبب هذا الموقف واقترابها من حافة الهاوية في الخضوع لعقوبات اقتصادية قد تُودي بالعراق إلى الانهيار. وبسبب ذلك فإنه يجب على إيران أن تدعم توجه الحكومة العراقية لتعزيز سلطة الدولة، وضبط الفصائل الموالية لها، ورفع يدها عن إجراءات الحكومة الإصلاحية الأخيرة، وبينها مراجعة قوائم أعداد "الحشد الشعبي" لكشف آلاف الأسماء الوهمية التي تتسلم مرتبات كبيرة، وإلغاء مزدوجي الرواتب من فئات معتقلي رفحاء والسجناء والشهداء السياسيين الذين يشكلون عملياً جمهورَ القوى السياسية والفصائل العراقية الموالية لإيران.
  2. عرض الكاظمي على الإيرانيين مقترحاً للتوسط بينهم وبين الولايات المتحدة، يتناول على الأقل الملفات العراقية المختلف عليها بين طهران وواشنطن، بشرط أن تتخذ إيران خطوات مشجعة في تخفيف سياساتها التدخلية في العراق والمنطقة.
  3. قال الكاظمي في مؤتمره الصحفي مع روحاني إن "الشعب العراقي توّاق لعلاقات تعاون مع إيران وفق خصوصية كل بلد، ووفق مبدأ عدم التدخل في الشؤون الداخلية"، فيما ركز روحاني على رغبة حكومته الشديدة في "زيادة حجم التبادل التجاري بينهما إلى 20 مليار دولار سنوياً"، وإعادة فتح المنافذ الحدودية مع العراق لاستئناف الصادرات التي توقفت بسبب جائحة كورونا، والتي تشكّل مورداً لا يُستهان به لإيران، فيما لم يُعطِ الكاظمي وعوداً كبيرة في هذا الصدد، بل أبلغهم صراحةً أن الوضع الاقتصادي في العراق هو الآخر ليس على ما يرام، وأن العراق يدرك جيداً أن الميزان التجاري يميل إلى مصلحة إيران وقد ساهم ذلك في تخفيف حدة أزمتها الاقتصادية، وأن أي وعود بتعزيز التعاون التجاري ستكون مقرونةً من جانب إيران بدعم مساعي العراق في مواجهة الدولة العميقة والفصائل المسلحة المنفلتة في العراق.
  4. كان لقاء الكاظمي بعلي خامنئي ورئيس البرلمان محمد باقر قاليباف كلٍّ على حدة، متشنجاً؛ إذ لم يُخفِ خامنئي استياءه من التطورات السياسية الأخيرة في العراق، خلال تطرقه لحادثة قتل قاسم سليماني، وتهديده بأن "بلاده ستوجه ضربة لأمريكا رداً على قتل سليماني"، وموجهاً اللوم إلى رئيس الحكومة العراقية عندما قال له: "لقد قتلوا ضيفك في بيتك"، ومشدداً على "ضرورة إخراج القوات الأمريكية من العراق"، وهو أمر لا تتفاعل معه حكومة الكاظمي، بل إن الكاظمي وقبل أسبوعين من زيارته طهران الْتقى كينيث ماكينزي، قائد القيادة المركزية الأمريكية، وأبلغه أن وجود القوات الأمريكية والتحالف الدولي في العراق خاضعٌ لحاجة العراق في مكافحة الإرهاب، لا وفق إجراءات سياسية قد يفرضها البعض.
  5. رفَض الكاظمي لقاء قائد فليق القدس الإيراني إسماعيل قاءاني الذي كُلِّف بإدارة ملف العراق خلفاً لقاسم سليماني، وفيما أكد موقع "آوا توداي" الإيراني المعارض ذلك أيضاً، كشف الموقع أن خامنئي حاول التأثير في الكاظمي بهدف إقناعه بتحويل 6 مليارات دولار من أموال إيران المجمدة في العراق، والتي يتعلق معظمها ببيع الكهرباء والغاز الإيراني إلى العراق من خلال البنوك الصينية، لكن الكاظمي قال: إنه لا يستطيع العمل من خلال البنوك الصينية خوفاً من العقوبات الأمريكية.

الوساطة العراقية بين طهران وواشنطن

يدرك الكاظمي أن نجاحه في مهمته الصعبة في قيادة البلاد في هذا الظرف الاستثنائي يتوقف في جزء كبير منه على تبريد الصراع بين طهران وواشنطن، بل إن جزءاً كبيراً من نجاح سياسته الداخلية والشروع في اصلاح سياسي ومالي يعتمد على ذلك أيضاً، وفيما يُعد العراقُ ميدانَ هذا الصراع، فإنه الأكثر تأهيلاً للقيام بوساطة بين الجانبين، وحتى بين طهران ودول الخليج.

وعلى الرغم من ترحيب وزير الخارجية الإيراني جواد ظريف بالوساطة العراقية مع المملكة العربية السعودية، خلال وجوده في موسكو أثناء زيارة الكاظمي لطهران، وإعلان بعض القيادات الإيرانية عن ارتياحها لأي مبادرة عراقية بهذا الخصوص، إلا أن الجانب العراقي لم يَصدر عنه أي موقف أو تعليق بشأن فكرة الوساطة. ويمتلك العراق في هذا الصدد أوراقاً تفاوضية مهمة، كالآتي:

  1. يمكن للعراق التفاوض بين الطرفين حول القضايا المتعلقة بالعراق على أقل تقدير؛ إذ تسعى طهران إلى ضمان استقرار نسبي في العراق يضمن تدفق البضائع وزيادة صادراتها إليه طامحة ببلوغها 20 مليار دولار سنوياً، ومقابل ضمان استمرار التجارة بين البلدين تستطيع بغداد فرض شروط متعلقة بدور إيران في العراق، وأهمها ضمان عدم إثارة الولايات المتحدة وتهديدها داخل العراق، إذ إن جزءاً كبيراً من ضمان التبادل الاقتصادي بين طهران وبغداد مرتبطٌ بالإعفاءات الأمريكية الممنوحة لبغداد حول العقوبات المفروضة على طهران، وأن إلغاء هذه الإعفاءات التي تحرص واشنطن على تمديدها لفترات قصيرة، يعني توقف الصادرات الإيرانية إلى بغداد بنسب كبيرة.
  2. في المقابل فإن واشنطن تسعى إلى ضمان وجود عسكري لها في العراق، وتعزيز الشراكات السياسية والاقتصادية مع العراق، وأن تحقيق ذلك يتطلب تخفيف نبرتها تجاه طهران التي تدفع حلفاءها السياسيين والفصائل المسلحة إلى الضغط لطرد القوات الأمريكية من البلاد بشكل كامل، عبر إجراءات في البرلمان وعبر استهداف القواعد والمصالح الأمريكية في العراق. وبينما ستُستأنف نهاية الشهر الحالي الجولة الثانية من الحوار الاستراتيجي بين بغداد وواشنطن، فإن الوجود العسكري الأمريكي يمثل أولويةً لواشنطن، ولابد لبغداد من عرض تسوية حول قضية الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في العراق ضمن حزمة ملفات متعلقة بالجانب الإيراني.

الخلاصة والاستنتاجات

يَمر النفوذ الإيراني في العراق في أصعب حالاته، إلى جانب الأزمة الاقتصادية التي أوقفت الدعم المالي لأذرعها في العراق والمنطقة، كما أن شعوراً عراقياً، سياسياً وشعبياً، يتنامى بشكل قوي في التذمر من طهران ودورها في البلاد، ويهيئ هذا الوضع فرصةً جديدة لتحجيم نفوذ إيران؛ فللمرة الأولى تتفق الرئاسات العراقية الثلاث (الجمهورية والحكومة والبرلمان) على هذا الهدف، والذي يعززه حجم التذمر الشعبي المتصاعد ضد طهران.

ويحتاج العراق الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى إلى الدعم من المجتمع الدولي في مساعيه الراهنة، وفيما تدرك واشنطن هذه الفرصة، لم تُخفِ دعمها للفريق الحكومي العراقي في مقابل الحث على دعم مماثل من المحيط العربي والخليجي، وأفضل ما يمكن أن يُترجم هذا الدعم هو الاقتصاد؛ إذ إن الوضع الاقتصادي العراقي على حافة الانهيار بسبب التداعيات الاقتصادية لجائحة كورونا وتراجع أسعار النفط، وتقديم عروض اقتصادية وتجارية إلى العراق، مثل الاستثمار في حقول الغاز والربط الكهربائي والاستثمارات الأخرى، يعزز ارتباط العراق بدول الخليج.

وبسبب عمق الأزمة التي تواجه النظام الإيراني، فإن طهران لم تعد تعترض على حصول العراق على دعم من الولايات المتحدة والخليج، لإدراكها خطورة الوضع في العراق، وأن انهيار الاقتصاد العراقي سيؤدي إلى كارثة ليس للعراق وحده بل لإيران أيضاً، وكان لافتاً للنظر أن إيران لم تعترض على الربط الكهربائي بين العراق والسعودية، بينما رفضته قبل عامين خلال فترة حكومة عادل عبد المهدي.

ويمكن اعتبار حكومة الكاظمي فرصةً مهمة لتسجيل نقاط في المسعى الغربي والعربي/الخليجي لتحجيم نفوذ طهران في العراق؛ فالرجل ثبَّت قواعده وأعلن أهدافه في رفض الهيمنة الإيرانية، فيما سيكون هامش مناورة الإيرانيين في هذا الصدد محدوداً جداً، قياساً بما كانت تمتلكه من نقاط قوة خلال السنوات الماضية.

وستحدد الزيارات المرتقبة للكاظمي إلى كلٍّ من المملكة العربية السعودية والولايات المتحدة في شهر أغسطس الجاري، مسارات السياسة في العراق، وستلعب دوراً في منح الكاظمي الدعم الكافي لمواصلة جهود حكومته، أو التخلي عنه وجعل مساعيه مجرد محاولات بلا نتائج. وبينما يتصدر عنوان الدعم الاقتصادي في مجال الطاقة والاستثمارات عنوانَ الزيارة إلى السعودية، ستحدد الزيارة إلى واشنطن الوضعَ الأمني في البلاد عبر التوافق على دور القوات الأمريكية المقبل في البلاد.

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Al-Kadhimi’s Visit to Iran: Iraqi Sovereignty in Exchange for Economic Aid

EPC | 03 Aug 2020

On 21 July 2020, Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi paid a visit to Iran. This was his first external visit after he took office. It also came after he delayed a scheduled visit to Saudi Arabia due to the hospitalization of the Saudi King Salman Bin Abdulaziz. Kadhimi’s visit to Tehran comes in the context of an Iraqi political dynamism that is different from before. This dynamism focuses on establishing Iraqi sovereignty and demanding that Iran control its loyal factions in Iraq. In return, Iraq would continue to play the role of Iran’s economic lungs.

Iranian apprehension about Kadhimi

For the first time after 2003, Iran finds itself facing a major challenge in the face of an Iraqi government that was brought about by internal political and social developments based on widespread popular protests that have transformed the political process, one of the manifestations of which has been the wide popular rejection of Iranian hegemony and holding Iran responsible for the greater part of the chaos and the decline of the Iraqi state over the last two decades.

Kadhimi is an explicit opponent of the Iranian influence in his country and of the imbalance in relations between the two countries. His government programme was based on the goals of enhancing Iraqi sovereignty, restoring the authority of the state, and limiting the possession of weapons to the state. He started his rule by arresting operatives from the Hezbollah in Iraq Battalions, the strongest loyalist militias in the country. They consider themselves the backbone of the so-called Shiite resistance axis which expressly accuses Kadhimi of being involved in the killing of the former commander of the Revolutionary Guards Qasem Soleimani and the deputy chairman of the Popular Mobilization Committee (PMC) and commander of the Hezbollah Batallions Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis.

Practically, the pro-Iran Iraqi group started by disturbing Kadhimi, politically through the collection by the Fatah Alliance, led by Hadi al-Amiri, and the State of Law Coalition, led by Nouri al-Maliki, of signatures to summon Kadhimi to Parliament, and security-wise through the explicit announcement by the armed factions of their rejection of Kadhimi and their endeavours to embarrass him and prove that he is powerless through shelling the Green Zone with Katyusha rockets and the execution of assassinations, kidnappings and demonstration of power on the streets.

Under the circumstances, Iran received Kadhimi, knowing that it faces a different Prime Minister than earlier ones. He is supported by a wide popular and political base and adopts a new foreign policy that resorts to the surrounding Arab and Gulf regions. That is why Kadhimi chose to visit Saudi Arabia first before Iran. This outraged Iran which sent its Foreign Minister Mohammad Jawad Zarif to Baghdad on 19 July 2020 in a visit that was described by Iraqi and Western political circles as unexpected. Kadhimi was supposed to visit Tehran immediately after his visit to Saudi Arabia. So why would Iran send a high-level official to Iraq when its Prime Minister was going to visit Tehran three days later?

The messages of Kadhimi’s visit

Tension and parity were the title of Kadhimi’s visit to Tehran. Iran received him at a time when its Iraqi team has been running a wide political and media campaign against him while he was being cautious in his statements and positions, distancing himself from the compliments that Iraqi officials usually pay during their visits to Tehran. Kadhimi was keen to wear the badge of the Iraqi flag on his suit throughout his meetings with the Iranian officials, including the Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei.

Kadhimi’s visit revealed the depth of the crises facing Iran and the clearer division between the reformist trend represented by President Hassan Rouhani and his Foreign Minister Jawad Zarif on the one hand, and the hard-line trend led by Khamanei and the Speaker of the Consultative Assembly (Parliament) Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf on the other, with regard to the policy towards Kadhimi. The visit revealed the following facts:

1. According to political sources close to Kadhimi that accompanied him during the visit, he spoke frankly about the economic assistance provided by Iraq to Iran, the volume of pressure facing Baghdad due to this position, and Baghdad’s approach to the brink of the abyss in being subject to economic sanctions that could lead to Iraq’s collapse. That is why, Iran must support the Iraqi government’s approach to strengthening the state’s authority, controlling the pro-Iran factions, stopping their interference in the government’s recent reformist measures, including the review of the lists of numbers of PMC operatives to reveal the thousands of fake names that receive large salaries, and deleting the receivers of double salaries from the categories of the Rafha detainees and political prisoners and martyrs who practically constitute the audience of Iraqi political forces and pro-Iran factions.

2. Kadhemi presented to the Iranians a proposal to mediate between them and the US, dealing at least with the disputed Iraqi files between Tehran and Washington, provided that Iran takes encouraging steps to reduce its interventionist policies in Iraq and the region.

3. Kadhemi said in his press conference with Rouhani that “the Iraqi people is eager for cooperative relations with Iran based on the privacy of each country, and according to the principle of non-interference in internal affairs”. On his part, Rouhani focused on his government’s strong desire to “increase the volume of trade exchange between the two countries to 20 billion dollars annually”, and reopen the border crossings with Iraq to resume the exports that were halted due to the Corona pandemic and which constitute a significant resource for Iran. Kadhemi did not offer great promises in this regard. Rather, he informed the Iranians explicitly that the economic situation in Iraq is also not good, and that Iraq is well aware that the trade balance is in favour of Iran, which has contributed to alleviating Iran’s economic crisis, and that any promises to enhance trade cooperation would be accompanied by Iran’s support of Iraq’s efforts to confront the deep state and the unruly armed factions in Iraq.

4. Kadhemi’s separate meetings with Ali Khamenei and Parliament Speaker Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf were jerky. Khamenei did not hide his dissatisfaction with the recent political developments in Iraq, during his discussion of the incident of the killing of Qasem Soleimani, and his threat that “his country will strike America in response to Soleimani’s killing”. He blamed the Iraqi Prime Minister when he said to him: “They killed your guest in your house”, stressing the “necessity of removing US forces from Iraq”. This is something that the Kadhemi government does not favour. Indeed, two weeks before his visit to Tehran, Kadhemi met Kenneth McKenzie, the commander of the US Central Command, and informed him that the presence of US troops and the international coalition in Iraq is subject to the need of Iraq in the fight against terrorism, not in accordance with political procedures that may be imposed by some quarters.

5. Kadhemi refused to meet the commander of the Iranian Quds Corps, Ismail Qaani, who was assigned the task of managing the Iraqi file as the successor of Qasem Soleimani. While this was also confirmed by the Iranian opposition website Avatoday, the website revealed that Khamenei tried to influence Kadhimi with the aim of convincing him to transfer six billion dollars from Iran’s frozen funds in Iraq, which mostly relate to the sale of Iranian electricity and gas to Iraq through Chinese banks, but Kadhemi said that he cannot work through Chinese banks for fear of US sanctions.

Iraqi mediation between Tehran and Washington

Kadhemi realizes that his success in his difficult task of leading the country under these exceptional circumstances depends largely on cooling the conflict between Tehran and Washington. Indeed, a large part of the success of his domestic policy and embarking on political and financial reform depends on that as well. While Iraq is the field of this conflict, it is the most qualified to mediate between the two sides, even between Tehran and the Gulf states.

Although Iranian Foreign Minister Jawad Zarif welcomed Iraqi mediation with Saudi Arabia while he was in Moscow during Kadhemi’s visit to Tehran, and although some Iranian leaders announced their satisfaction with any Iraqi initiative in this regard, the Iraqi side did not express any position or make any comment on the idea of mediation. Iraq has important negotiating cards in this regard, as follows:

1. Iraq can negotiate between the two parties on issues related to Iraq at the very least. Tehran seeks to ensure relative stability in Iraq that would ensure the flow of goods and increasing Iran’s exports to Iraq, aspiring to reach 20 billion dollars annually. In return for ensuring continued trade between the two countries, Baghdad can impose conditions related to Iran's role in Iraq, most importantly ensuring that the US is not provoked and threatened inside Iraq. A large part of ensuring economic exchange between Tehran and Baghdad is linked to the US exemptions granted to Baghdad with regard to the sanctions imposed on Tehran. The elimination of those exemptions, which Washington is keen to extend for short periods, means the suspension of Iranian exports to Baghdad in large proportions.

2. On the other hand, Washington seeks to ensure its military presence in Iraq and promote political and economic partnerships with Iraq. Achieving this requires reducing its tone towards Tehran, which drives its political allies and armed factions to press for the expulsion of US forces completely from Iraq through procedures in Parliament and by targeting US bases and interests in Iraq. While the second round of the strategic dialogue between Baghdad and Washington will resume in late August 2020, the US military presence is a priority for Washington, and Baghdad must offer a settlement on the issue of the US military presence in Iraq within a package of files related to the Iranian side.

Conclusions

Iranian influence in Iraq is passing through its most difficult stage, along with the economic crisis that has stalled financial support for Iran’s arms in Iraq and the region. Besides, there is a strongly growing Iraqi political and popular feeling of discontent with Tehran and its role in the country. This situation creates a new opportunity to limit Iran’s influence. For the first time, the three Iraqi presidencies (the President, the government, and Parliament) agree on this goal, which is reinforced by the scale of mounting popular discontent against Tehran.

Iraq now needs more than ever the support of the international community in its current endeavors. While Washington realizes this opportunity, it has not hidden its support for the Iraqi government team in return for urging similar support from the Arab and Gulf region. This support can best be reflected in the economy. The Iraqi economic situation is on the verge of collapse due to the economic repercussions of the Corona pandemic and the decline in oil prices. Providing economic and trade offers to Iraq, such as investment in gas fields, electrical networking and other investments, would strengthen Iraq’s association with the Gulf states.

Because of the depth of the crisis facing the Iranian regime, Tehran no longer objects to the support that Iraq would get from the US and the Gulf. Tehran knows that the situation in Iraq is serious and that the collapse of the Iraqi economy will lead to a catastrophe not only for Iraq but for Iran as well. Remarkably, Iran did not object to the electrical networking between Iraq and Saudi Arabia, although it had rejected it two years ago during the period of Adel Abdul Mahdi’s government.

The Kadhemi government could be considered an important opportunity to score points in the Western and Arab/Gulf endeavor to limit Tehran’s influence in Iraq. Kadhimi has established his position and announced his goals of rejecting the Iranian hegemony. The margin of maneuvering for the Iranians in this regard will be very limited compared to the strengths it had over the past years.

Kadhemi’s expected visits to Saudi Arabia and the US in August 2020 will determine the political paths in Iraq and play a role in giving Kadhemi enough support to continue his government’s efforts, or abandoning him and making his endeavors remain as merely attempts without results. While economic support in the field of energy and investments leads the topics of the visit to Saudi Arabia, the visit to Washington will determine the security situation in the country by agreeing on the next role of the US forces in the country.

Latest Featured Topics