نزاع الأسد-مخلوف: خلفياته وأبعاده

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 18 مايو 2020

يشكّل النزاعُ الحاصل بين رئيس النظام السوري بشار الأسد ورجل الأعمال الأكبر في سوريا، رامي مخلوف، متغيراً جديداً في سياسة النظام السوري وطريقة تعاطيه مع المشاكل التي تحصل داخل الدائرة الضيقة لصنع القرار. ورغم أن رامي مخلوف ليس له صفة سياسية، ولا مكانة محدّدة ضمن تراتبية السلطة السورية، إلا أنه لم يكن خافياً أنه بالإضافة إلى عامل القرابة الذي يجمعه بالرئيس الأسد، فإنه يمثل مركزاً اقتصادياً قوياً، لعبت سياسة النظام دوراً كبيراً في وصوله لهذا المكانة، ما يجعل ارتباطه بمنظومة الحكم السوري ارتباطاً عضوياً. وما يثبت ذلك أن رامي مخلوف استفاد بدرجة كبيرة من التحوّل الاقتصادي الذي حصل في سوريا في عهد الأسد الابن، أي الانتقال من الاقتصاد المخطّط إلى اقتصاد السوق، والذي استلزم صدور مئات المراسيم الرئاسية لتجهيز البنية القانونية والسياسية له.

تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على خلفيات النزاع الحاصل بين الرجلين، وموقف روسيا منه بوصفها اللاعب الأكثر تأثيراً في السياسات السورية.

تسجيلات مخلوف: الخلفية والأهداف

يتمثل الخلاف الظاهر بين مخلوف والأسد بمطالبة "الهيئة الناظمة للاتصالات والبريد" مخلوف بأن يدفع "مبالغ مستحقة لخزينة الدولة تبلغ 233 مليار ليرة سورية" (334 مليون دولار)، بدل تهرب ضريبي وإخفاء أرباح عن سنوات سابقة، كانت تنبغي مشاركتها مع الحكومة من اتفاق تقاسم عائدات ضمن شركة "سيريتل" للاتصالات التي يملكها مخلوف والتي تعد أكبر مشغل للهواتف المحمولة في سوريا؛ بالإضافة إلى إعادة التوازن للترخيص الممنوح لشركة سيريتل، بعد أن قام رامي مخلوف في عام 2015 بنقل ترخيص الشركة من "بي أو تي" إلى رخصة بالتعاقد مع "الهيئة العامة للاتصالات" الحكومية، وهذا العقد خفّض حصة الحكومة من 60% من الأرباح إلى 20%، وتطالب الحكومة بفارق أرباح التشغيل عن السنوات الخمس الماضية.

جاءت هذه المطالبة في ظل الأزمة الاقتصادية التي يمر بها النظام، وهو ما دفعه إلى إجبار رجال الأعمال على دفع الأموال بذريعة "محاربة الفساد"، وقد أصدر النظام قراراً بالحجز الاحتياطي على ممتلكات رامي مخلوف، الأمر الذي أجبره على إجراء تسوية مالية مع مديرية الجمارك بخصوص قضية شركة "آبار بتروليوم"، لكن قرار الحجز على الشركة لم يُرفع، وتبع ذلك صدور قرار من "الهيئة الناظمة للاتصالات والبريد" بضرورة تسديد شركة "سيريتل" المبلغ المشار إليه أعلاه.

حصلت هذه التطورات في سياق مسار من التغيرات في هيكلية النخبة الاقتصادية السورية قادته زوجة الأسد، أسماء الأخرس، التي ترأست "لجنة مكافحة غسيل الأموال"، وكانت وراء إصدار الكثير من قرارات الحجز الاحتياطي على أموال رجال الأعمال السوريين، وقد رأى مخلوف في هذه التطورات مقدمةً لانتزاع أمواله وإخراجه من المشهد الاقتصادي كليةً، وهو ما دفعه إلى إطلاق تسجيلاته المصورة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي.

في التسجيل الأول، المنشور في مطلع مايو الجاري، حاول مخلوف الظهور بمظهر رجل أعمال لديه إشكالات مع المؤسسات الضريبية، دون أي بُعد سياسي، وتمحور خطابه في هذا التسجيل حول نقطتين أساسيتين: الأولى، الاعتراض على مراجعة الدولة لعقود تمت بموافقة الطرفين (العقد الموقع عام 2015)، مُعتبراً أن الدولة لا حق لها في هذه الأموال، واتهمها بالتراجع عن اتفاق تم توقيعه منذ سنين. وهدد بنشر الوثائق التي تؤكد عدم أحقية الدولة بأموال الشركة. والنقطة الثانية هي التأكيد أن شركاته من أهم دافعي الضريبة، وأهم رافدي الخزينة بالسيولة. غير أن مخلوف أكد أنه سيقوم بدفع هذا المبلغ مهما كان، مشترطاً أن يكون وفق آلية لا تُضر بالشركة، وأن يتم توزيع هذا المبلغ للفقراء والمحتاجين كهدية من الرئيس بشار الأسد.

يتضح من التسجيل الأول أن مخلوف أراد توجيه رسالة مباشرة إلى الأسد للتدخل في حل الأزمة بينه وبين مَن يعتقد أنه يقف وراء هذه الإجراءات ضده، الذي لابد من أن يكون جهة ما في القصر وفي الغالب أسماء الأسد وربما ماهر الأسد؛ ما يعني أن قنوات التواصل بين الطرفين كانت مقطوعة وأنه لم يستطع الوصول له. لكن مخلوف حاول الإيحاء بأن مشكلته مع الدولة والمؤسسات وليست مع النظام، وقد أراد بذلك الاشتراك باللعبة التي يقوم بها النظام معه، لإدراكه أن ذلك يُرضي الأسد، ويمنح مخلوف هامشاً من المناورة والاعتراض.

غير أن الأسد لم يستجب لرسالة مخلوف، وازدادت الضغوط عليه، ما دفعه إلى الخروج بتسجيل مصور ثانٍ بعد يومين، كشف فيه عن تطورات وصفها بـ"الخطيرة"، وقال إن ظهوره الجديد وتوجيهه هذه الرسالة، سببه استمرار التجاوزات والتهديدات التي وجهتها الأجهزة الأمنية له ولشركاته.

ولوحظ في التسجيلين الثاني والثالث أن رامي مخلوف تجاوز حالة الحذر التي ظهرت في التسجيل الأول، فبعد تأكيده دوره في حماية النظام من خلال دعمه الأجهزة الأمنية التي انتقد اعتقالها موظفين من شركاته، أرسل تهديدات مبطنة "في حال استمرت هذه الحالة" عبر تأكيده أن "الموضوع حساس وأكبر مما يُتصور"، وقال: "نحن أمام تفاصيل لن نكون قادرين على السيطرة عليها إذا ما استمرت الضغوط علينا والتي أصبحت غير مقبولة ولا إنسانية". وبلغت ذروة تهديدات مخلوف، في هذا التسجيل، عندما اعتبر أنه "ستكون هناك أيام صعبة وأنا جاهز لها"، وأنه "في حال استمر الأمر على هذا النحو سيكون الأمر خطيراً"، مؤكداً أنه لن يرضخ للضغوط ولن يتنازل عن إدارة شركاته وأمواله التي اعتبرها "جني العمر"، وأنه "مؤتمنٌ عليها في ابتلاء إلهي" له.

وكان لافتاً في هذين التسجيلين قيام مخلوف بنقل الاتهام من مؤسسات الدولة إلى المحيطين ببشار الأسد الذين يقفون خلف هذه "التدخلات والممارسات التي باتت مخيفة وقذرة" على حد صفه، مخاطباً إياه بالقول: "لا تصدق من حولك.. لا تسمح لهم بخرق الدستور والتعدي على القانون". وبتحليل سياق الأحداث، يتضح أن مخلوف كان يصوّب على أسماء الأسد، التي تؤكد التقارير أنها تقف خلف تحجيم آل مخلوف وإخراجهم من المشهد الاقتصادي، في حرب يخوضها الطرفان ضد بعضهما، دفعت بمخلوف إلى تسريبه للصحافة الروسية خبر شراء أسماء الأسد لوحة فنية بقيمة 30 مليون دولار، ما دفع هذه الأخيرة إلى رفع سقف الضغط على مخلوف انتقاماً منه.

ورغم أن مخلوف حاول الظهور بمظهر المُستجدي، الذي يطلب النصرة من بشار، إلا أن الوقائع وسياق التطورات تدلل على وجود صراع بين الطرفين سبق ظهوره بكثير، ولم تأت قرارات النظام ضد مخلوف بشكل مفاجئ، بل هي خطة ممنهجة بدأت منذ وقت طويل، من خلال تفكيك الأذرع العسكرية لمخلوف (ميليشيا البستان) التي شكّلها أثناء الحرب، وحل الذراع السياسة له (الأمانة العامة للحزب السوري القومي الاجتماعي)، وكذلك انتزاع "جمعية البستان" التي كانت تُعتبر واجهة أعماله الخيرية للوصول إلى البيئة المؤيدة في الساحل وأحزمة الفقر حول دمشق وحمص.

ويُدرك مخلوف أن القرارات التي اتُخذت بحقه هي قرارات سياسية، تتجاوز المبالَغ المعلن عنها، والتي لم يحتجّ على دفعها، وإنما على السياق وآليات التحصيل، وما سيأتي بعدها، وخروجه العلني كان نتيجةً شعوره أنه مُقْدم على مرحلة مصيرية، لم يعد ينفع معها التورية، لذا عمل على رمي أوراقه، أو ما يعتقد أنها أوراق في مواجهة الأسد.

ولم يكن خافياً أن مخلوف سعى إلى مخاطبة روسيا والطائفة العلوية، فقد حاول الاستفادة من الحملة الإعلامية الروسية التي أشارت إلى أن الأسد لا يسيطر على الأمور في سوريا، وحاول ترسيخ ذلك عبر الإشارة إلى "أطراف أخرى" تتخذ قرارات بحقه دون علم الأسد ومشاركته، كما حاول هدم ما يقوم بشار بتسويقه عن القانون والمؤسسات من خلال إبدائه عدم الثقة بالنظام، ومطالبة الأسد استلام الأموال بنفسه التي سيدفعها مخلوف للنظام كضرائب وصرفها على المستحقين.

وحاول مخلوف تصوير الخلاف على أنه خلاف طائفي، وأن المقصود من هذه الإجراءات هو "الفقراء"، وهو مصطلح يطلقه العلويون على أنفسهم، واستخدم مخلوف لغة التلميح للإيحاء بأن هناك طرفاً سُنياً يريد السيطرة على السلطة والثروة، وأن المستهدف من ذلك العلويون، أو البيئة المؤيدة للأسد.

تكشف هذه المحاولات سعي مخلوف إلى خلق شبكة أمان قوية من الطائفة التي تشكّل في هذه المرحلة أهمَّ مكّون في سوريا بعد هزيمة الأكثرية السنية، وضعف وتهميش الطوائف الأخرى، وربما بنى تقديراته تلك على مساحة التأثير التي يعتقد أنه يملكها في وسط مجتمعات الساحل نتيجة ما تقدّمه جمعية البستان من مساعدات للجرحى والفقراء وعائلات قتلى الجيش والأمن، وكذلك شكوى هذه البيئة من انهيار الأوضاع الاقتصادية وأثرها السلبي البالغ عليهم.

الأسد وتحوّلات ما بعد الحرب

يندرج الخلاف بين مخلوف والأسد في إطار التحولات التي يسعى نظام الأسد موضعتها في سياق مشهد سوريا المستقبلي، وذلك بالنظر إلى حاجة المرحلة المقبلة لديناميات مختلفة تُمكّن نظام الأسد من عبور هذه المرحلة لضمان استمراره واستقراره.

لقد أنتجت مرحلة الحرب مراكزَ قوى، عسكرية وأمنية واقتصادية، وصلت إلى حد تحوّل هذه القوى إلى فواعل مؤثّرة تستمد شرعيتها من واقع قوّتها وسيطرتها وقدرتها على تأمين الخدمات للبيئات الموجودة فيها، مقابل تهميش المركز الذي تراجع أداؤه وتقلصت فعاليته بدرجة كبيرة، سواء على صعيد حفظ الأمن والحماية للسكان، أو تأمين الخدمات والرعاية لهم، وهي أمور تولت التشكيلات الأمنية، والقوى الاقتصادية، الصاعدة والقديمة، تأمينها بفعالية أكبر، شرط الولاء لها وتكريس سلطاتها.

وقد كشفت نهاية الأعمال القتالية عن مشهد فوضوي يهدّد استقرار السلطة المركزية، وتنبهت القيادة الروسية له؛ ما دفعها إلى تحفيز الأسد إلى إعادة هيكلة الأجهزة الأمنية والمؤسسة العسكرية، عبر عمليات دمج وتسريح الكثير من الميليشيات العسكرية. وفي المجال الاقتصادي، وعند بدء الحديث عن إعادة الإعمار، وفي ظل انهيار العُملة المحلية، وإقرار قانون "قيصر" الأمريكي الذي يفرض عقوبات مشدّدة على نظام الأسد وعلى المتعاملين معه، برزت الحاجة إلى تغيير البنية الاقتصادية، وتغيير عقيدتها من اقتصاد الحرب إلى اقتصاد الإعمار، بعد أن تبين أن النخبة الاقتصادية، التي يقف مخلوف على رأسها، بنيةٌ معطوبة نتيجة العقوبات الاقتصادية الدولية ضدها، ونظرة السوريين السلبية لها، بالإضافة لإدراك الأسد أن هذه النخبة، التي نشأت وتطورت في ظروف شاذة، يصعب إعادة تأهيلها كقوّة تشغيلية للمرحلة المقبلة.

وبالرغم من الاعتقاد السائد بأن الخلاف مع مخلوف سيرتد على الأسد بأضرار معنوية، وقد يؤثر في استقرار النظام، فإن الأسد ذاهب باتجاه تحويل التحدي إلى فرصة، ويبدو أنه خطّط مسبقاً لذلك، ومن المؤشرات على ذلك ما يأتي:

  • يساعد خلاف الأسد مع مخلوف على تقوية يد الأسد في إزاحة مراكز القوى التي تَشكّلت خلال مرحلة الحرب وتعزّزت أدوارها، وخاصة داخل البيئة المؤيدة، وإعادة تركيز مصادر القوّة في القصر الجمهوري وتحت إشرافه، ولا شك في أن هذه الأزمة، التي يراقبها جميع السوريين، ستجعل جميع الشخصيات ومراكز القوى تُعيد حساباتها، ما دام الأسد لم يراعِ أكثر شخصية مقربة له.
  • يثبت الأسد أنه حريص على أموال الدولة، وأنه رجل دولة وليس راعياً لمافيا كما صوّره الإعلام الغربي مؤخراً، وبذلك يحقّق الأسد مكاسب على الصعيد الداخلي، وقد جاء ردّه "غير المباشر" على مخلوف بتأكيده، خلال لقائه بـ"المجموعة الحكومية لمكافحة كورونا" والمؤلفة من وزارات ومؤسسات الدولة، "ضرورة إعادة دور الدولة كلاعب على مستوى الاقتصاد وضابط للسوق". وعلى المستوى الدولي، تُعزّز هذه الإجراءات روايةَ النظام بأن كل ما جرى ويجري في سوريا، من حروب وقرارات وسياسات، إنما هو من صنع الدولة وبما يتفق مع مصالحها.
  • يلاقي الأسد الموقف الروسي، الذي برز مؤخراً في الحملة التي شنتها وسائل الإعلام الروسية عليه، وكان رامي مخلوف وثروته في صلب هذه الحملة، كما يُرسل الأسد رسالة إلى روسيا أنه قادر على إدارة البلاد وفرض سلطاته على الجميع، بعد أن اتهمه الإعلام الروسي بالخضوع لمراكز القوى التي تتلاعب في البلاد لتحقيق مصالحها الخاصة.
  • تغير التوازنات، فقد أسست وفاة والدة بشار الأسد، أنيسة مخلوف، ومرض محمد مخلوف وانتقاله إلى روسيا، بدايةَ مرحلة تراجع آل مخلوف في القصر، وحلول مرحلة أسماء الأسد، التي لعبت دوراً مهماً في الوصول إلى هذه الحال. وبالرغم من ذهاب بعض التحليلات إلى التشكيك بقدرة أسماء الأسد على إحداث هذه التحوّلات في بيئة النظام المركبة، ورد الدور الأساسي إلى روسيا التي شكّلت الغطاء الأساسي لمجمل التحولات التي أجراها الأسد في البنى العسكرية والأمنية والاقتصادية، إلا أن ذلك لا يُخفي أثر أسماء في هذه التحولات. وتظهر فعالية زوجة الرئيس من خلال دورها في إيجاد منافسين وبدائل لمخلوف في المجال الاقتصادي، فبعد أن بقي لفترة طويلة الجهة التي تسيطر على العطاءات والوكالات والتوكيلات أصبح أقارب أسماء الأسد يسيطرون على جزء من قطاع الخدمات الأساسية، وقد تم منح عقد إصدار البطاقات الذكية لشراء المواد الأساسية، مثل الأرز والغاز والشاي والسكر وزيت الطعام، لشركة تكامل التي يملكها ابن خالة أسماء، مهند الدباغ، وقد تسرَّب أن رامي مخلوف هو من فضح أمر الشركة للصحافة الروسية، ما اضطُر النظام إلى إلغاء العقد.

موقف روسيا

يطرح الخلافُ بين الأسد ومخلوف السؤالَ عن دور روسيا وموقعها في هذا الخلاف، وذلك لتوافر عدد من المعطيات التي تجعل مثل هذا السؤال مشروعاً:

أولاً، تزامن اشتداد حدّة الخلاف بين الأسد ومخلوف مع الحملة الإعلامية الروسية ضد الأسد، وظهرت تساؤلات عما إذا كان مخلوف قد الْتقط إشارات معينة من هذه الحملة تجعله يرفع سقف تحديه للأسد ويرفض التنازل له. ومن جهة أخرى فإن بدء ظهور الخلاف إلى العلن في صيف 2019 كان نتيجة طلب روسيا سداد ثلاثة مليارات دولار دين لها على نظام الأسد، ورفض مخلوفُ طلب بشار الأسد منه بدفع المبلغ، الأمر الذي دفع الأسد إلى إصدار قرارات بالحجز الاحتياطي على بعض شركات مخلوف.

ثانياً، وجود رغبة لدى النخبة المالية الروسية في السيطرة على الاقتصاد السوري والاستيلاء على حصة رامي مخلوف، الذي تصفه تقارير عدة بأنه يسيطر على 60 بالمئة من الاقتصاد السوري. وقد ورد في الحملة الإعلامية التي شنتها المنافذ الروسية أن الأسد لا يسيطر على "عشيرة مخلوف" التي تسيطر بدورها على الاقتصاد وتُعيق عمليات إصلاحه.

ثالثاً، تصمت روسيا "الرسمية" عن الخلاف الجاري بين الأسد ومخلوف، أما على الأرض، فقد ذكر المرصد السوري لحقوق الإنسان أن الشرطة العسكرية الروسية شاركت قوى الأمن السوري في حملة الاعتقالات لمديرين في شركة سيريتل وجمعية البستان، التابعتين لرامي مخلوف.

ولا يشكّل رامي مخلوف، بحد ذاته، أهميةً تُذكر لروسيا، لسببين رئيسيَن: فمخلوف ليس شخصية سياسية وعسكرية لها وزن ضمن المنظومة السورية، كما أنه لا حيثية له داخل الطائفة العلوية، وهو رغم ثروته الكبيرة إلا أن روسيا تعلم أن آل الأسد شركاء بهذه الثروة. وهذا ما يجعل روسيا تصطف إلى جانب الأسد في هذا الخلاف وتفضّله على مخلوف، بل تصبح جزءاً من الحملة التي تُدار ضد مخلوف، وذلك للأسباب التالية:

  • من مصلحة روسيا شق صف النظام السوري وإضعاف الأسد، الذي يشتكي الكرملين من عناده، بحسب تقرير وكالة بلومبيرغ، فإضعاف دائرة النظام الضيقة (النواة الصلبة) تجعل الأسد أكثر مرونة تجاه طلبات روسيا، السياسية والاقتصادية.
  • تأتي الحملة على مخلوف وسط ترتيبات قامت بها روسيا للسيطرة على مفاصل الاقتصاد السوري وإبعاد الشخصيات المعاقَبة دولياً، والتي تشكّل عقبةً في فتح الاقتصادات الدولية على الاقتصاد السوري.
  • تسعى روسيا إلى دفع الولايات المتحدة إلى التراجع عن تنفيذ "قانون قيصر" أو التساهل في تطبيقه، وكذلك تشجيع رجال أعمال، سوريين وعرب، للاستثمار في سوريا إذا تمّت إزاحة مخلوف، الذي كان يبتز المستثمرين ويفرض مشاركتهم عنوّة في مشاريعهم أو أرباحهم داخل سوريا.

وتُشكّل الحملةُ على مخلوف تفصيلاً ضمن مشهد أوسع تعمل روسيا على صناعته في سوريا، حيث تنصبّ الجهود الروسية على تجهيز نظام الأسد لمرحلة تحولات كبيرة، تستطيع من خلالها تقديم نظام الأسد، إقليمياً ودولياً، بصيغة جديدة، وهذا يتطلب منها تشذيب هذا النظام، عبر إزاحة وتحييد الأجنحة والقضايا التي تعيق إعادة تأهيل الأسد، وقد يدفعها ذلك إلى إجراء تغييرات في مجالات أمنية وعسكرية، والهدف من كل ذلك إحداث معادلة تستطيع من خلالها روسيا الحفاظ على نظام الأسد، وتلبية بعض المطالب الدولية. ويشكّل تخفيض سقف المطالب الإقليمية والدولية تجاه نظام الأسد حافزاً لروسيا للقيام بهذه المهمة.

الاستنتاجات

يَعبر نظامُ الأسد مرحلةَ تحوّل يراها ضرورية للولوج إلى المرحلة المقبلة، التي لها استحقاقاتها ومتطلباتها، ويستلزم الخروج من هذه المرحلة صناعةَ سياق متكامل وإعادة هندسة جميع أجهزة الدولة، العسكرية والأمنية والاقتصادية، وقد تساوق هذا المسار، أو ربما جاء، بتوجيهات روسية تهدف إلى تقديم نظام الأسد بقالب جديد غير الذي عرفه العالم به خلال مرحلة الحرب. والأرجح أن مخلوف، الذي حاول مقاومة هذه التغيرات، سيضطر للرضوخ لها، وسيُقْدم على تسوية مع النظام لن تكون لمصلحته، إدراكاً منه بضعف أوراقه في هذه المواجهة، ولأن مسار التحوّل أكبر منه.

 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Al-Assad-Makhlouf Dispute: Background and Dimensions

EPC | 18 May 2020

The current dispute between the president of the Syrian regime Bashar al-Assad and Syria’s top businessman Rami Makhlouf constitutes a new variable in the policy of the Syrian regime and its way of dealing with the problems that erupt within the narrow circle of decision making. While Rami Makhlouf is not a political figure and has no specific position within the Syrian power hierarchy, it is no secret that in addition to being a relative of Assad, he represents a strong economic centre that owes its status to the significant role played by the regime policy. This makes him organically linked to the Syrian ruling system. This is evidenced by the fact that Rami Makhlouf benefitted a lot from the economic transformation that occurred in Syria under Assad the son’s presidency, that is the shift from planned to market economy which required the issuance of hundreds of presidential decrees to rehabilitate the legal and political structure accordingly.

This paper sheds light on the background of the dispute between the two men and Russia’s position thereon in its capacity as the most influential player in Syrian policies.

Mahklouf’s posts: background and objectives

The apparent disagreement between Makhlouf and Assad is attributed to the claim made by the Syrian Telecommunications and Post Regulatory Authority against Makhlouf for the payment of amounts due to the state treasury worth 233 billion Syrian liras (334 million dollars) for tax evasion and concealing profits belonging to previous years that should have been shared with the government based on a revenue-sharing agreement within the Makhlouf-owned Syriatel Mobile Telecom company, the largest mobile phone operator in Syria, in addition to restoring balance to the licence granted to Syriatel after Makhlouf transferred, in 2015, the company’s licence from a Build, Operate and Transfer (BOT) basis to a licence contracted with the government’s Syrian Telecommunications Establishment. That contract reduced the government’s share in profits from 60 percent to 20 percent. The government is demanding the difference in operating profits for the last five years.

This claim came amidst the economic crisis experienced by the regime, which made it force businessmen to pay money on the pretext of “combating corruption”. The regime issued a decision on the precautionary seizure of Rami Makhlouf’s assets which forced him to reach a financial settlement with the Customs Directorate over the case of Abar Petroleum Company. However, the seizure decision of the company was not lifted and was followed by the decision of the Telecommunications and Post Regulatory Authority mandating the payment by Syriatel of the aforementioned amount.

These developments took place in the context of a path of changes in the structure of the Syrian economic elite led by Assad’s wife, Asma al-Akhras, who headed the Anti-Money Laundering Commission and was behind many of the precautionary seizure decisions of the assets of Syrian businessmen. Makhlouf saw in those developments an introduction to dispossess him of his assets and drive him out of the Syrian economic scene completely. This drove him to post his video recordings on the social media platforms.

In the first recording, posted in the beginning of May 2020, Makhlouf attempted to appear as a businessman who has problems with the tax authorities without any political dimension. His discourse in that recording focused on two main points: first, his objection to revision by the State of mutually agreed contracts (the contract signed in 2015). He considered that the State has no right in those funds, accusing it of reneging on a deal that was signed years ago. He threatened to publish the documents confirming that the State is not entitled to the company’s funds. The second point is underlining that his companies are among the leading taxpayers and providers of liquidity to the Treasury. However, Makhlouf confirmed that he would pay that amount anyway, provided that this is done according to a mechanism that would not harm the company and that the amount be distributed among the poor and needy as a gift from President Bashar al-Assad.

It is clear from the first recording that Makhlouf wanted to send a direct message to Assad to intervene in solving the crisis between Makhlouf and those who he thinks are behind the measures taken against him who must be someone in the Palace, most probably Asma al-Assad, and perhaps Maher al-Assad. This means that contact channels between both sides were severed and that he could not reach Assad. Yet Makhlouf tried to imply that his problem is with the State and institutions and not with the regime. By this, he wanted to take part in the game that the regime is playing with him, knowing that this would satisfy Assad and give Makhlouf a margin for manoeuvre and rejection.

However, Assad did not respond to Makhlouf’s message who came under increasing pressure. This made him post another video two days later in which he disclosed what he described as “serious” developments. He said that the reason for his renewed appearance and sending this message is the continued violations and threats by security agencies to him and his companies.

It was noticed in the second and third recordings that Makhlouf has gone beyond the state of caution that appeared in the first recording. After underlining his role in protecting the regime through his support of the security agencies which he criticized for arresting two of his company officials, he sent implicit threats “in case this situation persists” by underlining that “the subject is sensitive and goes beyond what is perceived”. He said, “We’re faced with details that we shall not be able to control if the pressures which are put on us persist and which have become unacceptable and inhumane”. Makhlouf’s threats peaked in this recording when he considered that “there are hard days ahead, and I’m ready for them” and that “if things go on as they are, this will be serious”. He underlined that he will not give in to pressure and will not give up managing his companies and assets which he considered the “harvest of a lifetime”, asserting that “they are entrusted to him under a divine ordeal”.

What is noteworthy about those two recordings is that Makhlouf shifted the accusation from State institutions to those surrounding Bashar al-Assad who stand behind those “violations and practices that have become scary and nasty”, as he described them. He addressed Assad saying, “Don’t believe those surrounding you. Don’t allow them to violate the Constitution and the law”. Upon analysis of the context of events, it is clear that Makhlouf was targeting Asma al-Assad who, according to reports, stands behind downsizing the Makhloufs and driving them out of the economic scene in a war fought by both sides that has driven Makhlouf to leak to the Russian press the news that a painting was bought for 30 million dollars by Asma al-Assad, which made her increase the pressure on Makhlouf in retaliation.

While Makhlouf tried to appear as a panhandler, who requests support from Bashar, the facts and the context of developments indicate the existence of a conflict between the two sides that long preceded its emergence. The regime’s decisions against Makhlouf did not come out of the blue; rather, they are the product of a systematic plan that started long ago, through the dismantling of Makhlouf’s military arms (Al-Bustan militia) which he formed during the war, disbanding his political arm (the General Secretariat of the Syrian Social Nationalist Party), as well as dispossessing him of the Al-Bustan Association which served as the window of his charity work to access the supportive environment in the Coast and the poor belts around Damascus and Homs.

Makhlouf is aware that the decisions taken against him are really political and beyond the announced amounts which he did not object to paying. In fact, he objected to the context and collection mechanisms and what will follow. His public appearance was due to his feeling that he is heading towards a crucial stage where insinuation is no longer worthwhile. So, he tended to deploy his resources, or what he thinks are resources, in the face of Assad.

It is no secret that Makhlouf sought to address Russia and the Alawite sect. He attempted to benefit from the Russian media campaign that indicated that Assad is not in control of the situation in Syria. He tried to establish this by reference to “other sides” taking decisions about him without Assad’s knowledge and participation. He also attempted to undermine what Assad attempts to promote in terms of the law and institutions through expressing his lack of confidence in the regime and requesting Assad to receive personally the funds he is going to pay to the regime as tax and spend them on those who deserve them.

Makhlouf sought to depict the disagreement as a sectarian one, showing that those targeted by the measures are “the poor”, a term that the Alawites use to refer to themselves. Makhlouf resorted to allusion to insinuate that a Sunni side seeks to take control of power and wealth and that the targeted are the Alawites or the pro-Assad community.

These attempts reveal Makhlouf’s endeavour to create a strong safety network of the sect that currently constitutes the most important component in Syria after the defeat of the Sunni majority and the weakening and marginalization of the other sects. Perhaps he based his assessments on the extent of the influence he thinks he has within the Coast communities as a result of the aid offered by the Bustan Association to the injured, the poor and the families of those killed from the army and security services, as well as the complaint by those communities of the collapse of the economic conditions and the consequent extremely negative impact on them.

Al-Assad and the post-war shifts

The disagreement between Makhlouf and Assad is part of the shifts that Assad seeks to establish in the context of Syria’s future landscape, considering that the upcoming stage requires different dynamics that would enable the Assad regime to get through this stage to safeguard its continuity and stability.

The war stage has produced military, security and economic centres of power that went as far as transforming into influential actors that draw their legitimacy from their de facto strength, control and capability to secure services to the environments in which they exist in return for marginalizing the centre whose performance has declined and whose effectiveness has greatly receded, whether in terms of maintaining security and protecting the population or providing them with services and care. Those needs were more effectively met by the security structures and economic powers, both emerging and old, on the condition of loyalty to them and establishing their powers.

The end of hostilities has revealed a chaotic landscape that threatens the stability of the central authority. Being aware of this, the Russian leadership had to prompt Assad to re-structure the security services and the military establishment through the integration and dismissal of many military militias. In the economic domain, with the start of discussion on reconstruction, and in light of the collapse of the local currency and the enactment of the US Caesar Act whereby stringent sanctions are imposed on the Assad regime and dealers with it, the need arose for changing the economic structure and changing its doctrine from a war economy to a reconstruction economy, after it was found out that the economic elite, led by Makhlouf, is a faulty one as a result of international economic sanctions against it and the Syrians’ negative opinion of it, in addition to Assad’s awareness that this elite, which emerged and developed under abnormal circumstances, is hard to rehabilitate as an operational force for the upcoming stage.

Despite the prevailing belief that the disagreement with Makhlouf will be morally detrimental to Assad and might affect the stability of the regime, Assad is heading towards transforming the challenge into an opportunity and seems to have planned for this beforehand. There are indications of this, mainly:

  • The disagreement between Assad and Makhlouf helps to enhance Assad’s capability to remove the power centres that have emerged and played increasing roles during the war stage, particularly within the supportive communities, and to re-establish power sources in the presidential palace and under his supervision. Doubtlessly, this crisis, which is observed by all Syrians, will make all names and power centres rethink, seeing that Assad did not consider his closest name.
  • Assad proves that he cares for public funds and that he is a statesman and not a mafia godfather as he was recently depicted by western media. Thus, Assad would achieve gains at the domestic level. His “indirect” response to Makhlouf came by underlining, during his meeting with the government team tasked with confronting the coronavirus and made up of ministries and State institutions, “the need to restore the State’s role as an economic player and a market regulator”. At the international level, these measures enhance the regime’s account that the wars, decisions and policies experienced in Syria are produced by the State and agree with its interests.
  • Assad responds to the Russian position, which has recently emerged in the campaign launched against him by Russian media outlets, and which had Rami Makhlouf and his wealth at its heart. Assad also sends a message to Russia that he is capable of running the country and imposing his authority on all, after he was accused by the Russian media of giving in to power centres that manipulate the country to achieve their own interests.
  • Change of balances. The death of Bashar al-Assad’s mother Anisa Mahklouf and the illness of Mohamed Makhlouf and his movement to Russia mark the beginning of the decline of the Makhlouf family in the Palace, and the advent of the stage of Asma al-Assad who played an important role in arriving at this state of affairs. While some analyses cast doubt on Asma al-Assad’s capability to bring about those shifts in the regime’s complicated environment, attributing the main role to Russia that provided the main cover to most of the shifts carried out by Assad in the military, security and economic structures, this does not hide Asma’s impact in those shifts. The effectiveness of the President’s wife is manifested through its role in creating rivals and alternatives to Makhlouf in the economic domain. After Makhlouf remained for a long period the name that controls the tenders, agencies and dealerships, a portion of the basic services sector is now controlled by relatives of Asma al-Assad. The contract to issue the smart cards to buy basic commodities, such as rice, gas, tea, sugar and cooking oil, was granted to Takamol company, which is owned by Asma’s cousin Muhannad al-Dabbagh. It was leaked that Rami Makhlouf is the one who leaked the company’s name to the Russian press which obliged the regime to cancel the contract.

Russia’s position

The disagreement between Assad and Makhlouf raises the question about Russia’s role and position in this disagreement. This question is justified by the existence of several facts, as follows:

First, the aggravation of the disagreement between Assad and Makhlouf coincided with the Russian media campaign against Assad, and questions were raised about whether Makhlouf received certain signs from this campaign that made him raise his challenge level against Assad and refuse to concede to him. On the other hand, the disagreement started to be a public issue in the summer of 2019 as a result of the demand by Russia of a debt repayment of 3 billion dollars owed to it by the Assad regime. Makhlouf declined Assad’s request that Makhlouf repay the amount, which drove Assad to issue the precautionary seizure decisions of some of Makhlouf’s companies.

Second, the existence of a desire by the Russian financial elite to control the Syrian economy and acquire the share of Makhlouf who, according to several reports, controls 60 percent of the Syrian economy. It was mentioned in the media campaign launched by the Russian outlets that Assad does not control “Makhlouf’s tribe” which in turn controls the economy and hampers its reform.

Third, “official” Russia turns a blind eye to the current disagreement between Assad and Makhlouf. On the ground, however, according to the Syrian Observatory for Human Rights, the Russian military police joined the Syrian security services in the campaign to arrest managers of Syriatel company and Bustan Association, both of which are owned by Rami Makhlouf.

Rami Makhlouf himself is of little importance to Russia, for two main reasons: Makhlouf is not a political and military name of weight within the Syrian system. Neither is he a prominent figure within the Alawite sect. Despite his enormous wealth, Russia knows that the Assad family is a partner to this wealth. That is why Russia stands by Assad in this disagreement and favours him to Makhlouf. In fact, Russia becomes part of the campaign run against Makhlouf, for the following reasons:

  • Russia has interest in cracking the Syrian regime and weakening Assad whose obstinacy is a cause of complaint by the Kremlin, according to a Bloomberg Agency report. Weakening the regime’s narrow circle (hard nucleus) would make Assad more flexible to Russia’s political and economic demands.
  • The campaign against Makhlouf comes amidst Russian arrangements to control the joints of the Syrian economy and exclude the internationally sanctioned names which constitute an obstacle to opening up international economies to the Syrian economy.
  • Russia seeks to drive the US to give up implementing the Caesar Act or to implement it leniently, and to encourage businessmen, both Syrian and Arab, to invest in Syria in case of removing Makhlouf which used to blackmail investors and force his participation in their projects or profits inside Syria.

The campaign against Makhlouf is part of a wider landscape that Russia strives to create in Syria. Russia’s efforts focus on rehabilitating Assad for a stage of significant shifts through which it can present the Assad regime, regionally and internationally, in a new format. This requires it to trim that regime by displacing and neutralizing wings and issues that hinder the rehabilitation of Assad. This might even force Russia to make changes in the security and military domains, with the overall aim of creating an equation through which it can maintain the Assad regime and meet some of the international demands. Easing the regional and international demands towards the Assad regime constitutes an incentive for Russia to carry out this task.

Conclusions

The Assad regime is passing through a transition stage that it considers necessary to proceed to the next stage that has its own commitments and requirements. Exiting this stage requires the formulation of an integrated context and re-engineering all military, security and economic government agencies. This path coincides with, or perhaps follows, Russian directives that aim to present the Assad regime in a new mould that differs from the one known by the world during the war stage. Makhlouf, who resisted those changes, will most probably have to concede to them and seek a settlement with the regime that will not be in his interest, knowing that he is the weaker side in this confrontation and that the transition path overpowers him.

Latest Featured Topics