تداعيات مقتل سليماني على النفوذ الإيراني في سوريا

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 27 يناير 2020

يُشكِّل غياب قائد فيلق القدس في الحرس الثوري الإيراني قاسم سليماني إرباكاً للنفوذ الإيراني في سوريا، وذلك لعلاقته العضوية بالترتيبات التي جرت في هذا البلد، منذ استلام بشار الأسد السلطة في عام 2000.

دور سليماني في منعطفات السياسة السورية

اهتم قاسم سليماني بالساحة السورية منذ بداية استلامه مهامه قائداً لفيلق القدس، واستثمر وفاة الرئيس حافظ الأسد ليؤسس نمطاً مختلفاً من العلاقة بين إيران وسوريا، وتشير المصادر إلى أن سليماني "تولّى مع قوة عسكريَّة تحت قيادته تأمين انتقال سلس لمقاليد الحكم إلى بشار الأسد". وبذلك أسَّس سليماني لدينامية جديدة في علاقات البلدين، انتقلت فيها إيران من الطرف الذي يتلقى المساعدة من سوريا، عبر كسر عزلتها السياسية وخاصة في المنطقة العربية، إلى الطرف الذي يُقدِّم المساعدات الأمنية عبر دعم النظام ومساعدته أمنياً وعسكرياً.

وتطورت هذه العلاقة مع احتلال أمريكا للعراق، حيث أخذ سليماني يشرف على تنسيق الجهود الاستخباراتية والعسكرية السورية-الإيرانية لمواجهة تداعيات الوجود الأمريكي في العراق ومحاربة هذا الوجود، وتولَّى سليماني تسهيل وجود تنظيم القاعدة عبر مساعدات لوجستية من دمشق التي فتحت حدودها لعبور العناصر المتشدّدة في العراق.

ولاحقاً تبدَّت هذه العلاقة بشكل أكثر وضوحاً في مواجهة القوى الاستقلالية في لبنان، خلال 2004 و2005، عبر حملة الاغتيالات التي شنها الثلاثي السوري-الإيراني-حزب الله ضد خصومهم السياسيين. وكان سليماني في نفس الوقت قد عزَّز علاقته مع قيادات حزب الله اللبناني، منهم عماد مغنية ومصطفى بدرالدين وزعيم الحزب حسن نصر الله. وقد شهدت هذه المرحلة تغلغلاً إيرانياً في جميع مفاصل الدولة السورية، عسكرياً وأمنياً واقتصادياً، كما زادت ظاهرة التشيع وأصبحت علنية في كثير من المناطق السورية.

وتذكر مصادر عديدة أن تدخُّل إيران في سورية، بعد الثورة، كان نتيجة إصرار سليماني على إنقاذ بشار الأسد من السقوط، منتصراً في ذلك على تيار داخل النظام الإيراني كان يفكر في استبدال الأسد، وكان لسليماني دور مؤثر في مسار الأحداث السورية عبر العديد من السياسات والمحطات:

  • ساعد سليماني "في تنظيم استجابة النظام الوحشية لهجمات المعارضين داخل دمشق والتهديدات بقلب نظام الحكم"، وذلك في الأشهر الأولى من الثورة السورية.
  • وساعد في صياغة الاستراتيجيات العسكرية للنظام السوري، حيث تُنسَب له سياسات الحصار والتجويع، وسياسات تشويه الثورة.
  • يُعتبَر سليماني مهندس خطوط الدفاع عن دمشق، وقد أقام نسقاً دفاعياً مكوناً من ثلاثة أطواق جعلت مهمة المعارضة مستحيلة في اقتحام دمشق وإسقاط النظام، وقد ساهم هذا الأمر كثيراً في احتفاظ الأسد بشرعية الحكم انطلاقاً من سيطرته على العاصمة.
  • بعد تطوُّر الأحداث، أصبح سليماني مقيماً في دمشق وبدأ يدير المعركة بنفسه بحسب تقارير استخباراتية أمريكية. وبحسب مسؤولين أمريكيين، فقد كان سليماني يدير معركة بقاء الأسد من دمشق، محاطاً بقادة متعددي الجنسيات الذين يديرون الحرب، بينهم قادة من جيش نظام الأسد، وميليشيا حزب الله اللبناني، وممثلون عن الميليشيات الشيعية في العراق.
  • وظَّف سليماني شبكة علاقاته الإقليمية في حدثين كان لهما تأثيرهما البارز في مسارات المشهد السوري:
  • استدعى سليماني معظم الأصول التي بناها منذ أن سيطر على فيلق القدس، سواء مقاتلي حزب الله، أو الميليشيات الشيعية من كل المنطقة، وجميع الأموال والمواد التي يمكن استخدامها، وقد ساهم ذلك بشكل أساسي في تحويل ثورة الشعب السوري إلى صراع طائفي لصالح توسيع النفوذ الإيراني.
  • استخدام نفوذه على العراق للسماح باستخدام الأجواء العراقية في نقل ما يحتاجه الأسد من جنود وعتاد إلى سوريا من إيران عبر العراق طول 8 سنوات من الحرب.

مزايا يصعب تكرارها في أيّ بديل لسليماني

تميَّز سليماني في إدارته للملف السوري بامتلاك مزايا يصعب وجودها في أي شخص يحل مكانه، بعض تلك المزايا تأسَّس نتيجة ظروف موضوعية، وبعضها صنعتها التجارب وخبرات المواقف التي عايشها على مدار أكثر من أربعة عقود محارباً على الجبهات، أكثر من نصفها قائداً لفيلق القدس:

  • الكفاءة في إدارة التفاصيل، وقد خاض سليماني الكثير من المعارك الصغيرة، في العراق ومع حزب الله، والمعارك ذات الاتساع العميق، مثل الحرب السورية، وكان يشرف بشكل مباشر على أدق التفاصيل العملياتية واللوجستية.
  • بناؤه شبكة علاقات واسعة، وبشكل شخصي، مع أغلب الفاعلين في الأرض، فبالإضافة لعلاقاته مع مختلف التشكيلات العسكرية والأمنية السورية، أسَّس سليماني الجزء الأكبر من الميليشيات الرديفة في سورية.
  • قدرته على إلهام مقاتلي الفصائل في الميدان، وتوظيف العامل الديني من خلال تعمُّده الظهور بمظهر بسيط متقشف.
  • معرفته باللغة العربية ساعدته على كسب القادة المحليين وبناء شبكة دعم للأسد.
  • موقعه في بنية النظام الإيراني، بوصفه الرجل الثاني، ساعد على تأمين الموارد المطلوبة لإدارة المعارك في سورية، دون الاضطرار للمرور بالأقنية البيروقراطية الإيرانية، وهذه ميزة لن يحصل عليها أي قائد يخلفه ولن يصل إلى مكانة قاسم سليماني والمؤثرة.

التداعيات الميدانية المحتملة

يضيف مقتل سليماني تعقيداً إلى جملة التعقيدات التي تواجه نفوذ إيران في المنطقة، على ضوء القلاقل في لبنان والعراق والضربات التي تتلقاها في سورية. وبحسب المعطيات المتوفرة عن طريقة إدارة سليماني للنفوذ الإيراني في سورية، فالتقدير أن تُصَاب مفاصل هذا النفوذ بالخلل في المرحلة المقبلة نتيجة الارتباك في إدارتها، وذلك لعدة أسباب:

  • سيؤثر مقتل سليماني على تسيير عمل القوات والميليشيات الإيرانية، نتيجة الصلة المباشرة التي بناها مع تلك المجموعات.
  • بنى سليماني قوة الميليشيات في سوريا، "34" ميليشيا، ومن الصعب إدارة غيره لها. وقد لعب على مدار السنوات الماضية دور المنسق والمشرف العام بين هذه والميليشيات والقيادتين الإيرانية والسورية.
  • شكّل سليماني الميليشيات في سوريا بشكل فضفاض، يشبه إلى حد بعيد بنية العصابات، التي غالباً ما تكون الجوانب المالية والاقتصادية أو العسكرية أو الأمنية مركَّزة بشكل كبير في شخصية القائد.
  • أدار سليماني الملف السوري بطريقة غير مؤسسية غلب عليها الطابع الشخصي، وأراد الاحتفاظ لنفسه بأسرار هذه الإدارة، وقد كشفت زيارة بشار الأسد محتوى هذه الإدارة، عبر إصرار سليماني على حضور كافة جلسات الأسد مع خامنئي وروحاني.
  • بموت سليماني تضيع خريطة طريقة إدارة الشبكة التي صنعها، فهو بحكم المنافسة بين الأجهزة الأمنية وحرصه على الاحتفاظ بسر هذه الإدارة، لم يؤسس لجيل قيادي من داخل فيلق القدس يخلفه، بل تؤشر خريطة علاقاته إلى أنه كان يُقرّب منه عناصر غير إيرانية، عراقية ولبنانية وأفغانية وباكستانية، وتوزعت أسراره بين هؤلاء، حسب الحاجة العملانية ومقتضيات تسيير الأمور، والإيراني الوحيد الذي كان يثق به، ويعتبر "صندوقه الأسود" هو حسين بور جعفري، من مدينته قرمان، قُتِل معه في بغداد.

وبناءً على هذه المعطيات، يمكن تقدير مجالات التأثر التي سيتركها غياب سليماني على الساحة السورية في الآتي:

  • قواعد الارتكاز التي بناها سليماني في سوريا، وخاصة مشروع بناء قاعدة البوكمال وتحضير المنطقة كمشروع مواز لطريق إيران إلى البحر المتوسط، وقد حظيت هذه المنطقة باهتمام خاص من قبل سليماني لاستراتيجية موقعها وحاكميته كجسر اتصال بين العراق وسوريا. ويعتبر هذا مشروع سليماني الخاص بكل تفاصيله.
  • مشروع السيطرة على حلب، حيث تملك إيران أكبر قواعدها العسكرية في سوريا، "جبل عزان"، كما شكّل سليماني أحد أكبر مليشياته في سورية "لواء الباقر" وميليشيات "كفريا والفوعة" التي تسيطر على جزء كبير من حلب الشرقية، وتقوم بإجراء تغييرات ديمغرافية لتغيير تركيبة المدينة السكانية وربطها بمنطقة نبل والزهراء القريبة، ويُواجِه الوجود الإيراني في حلب اعتراض من قوى محلية "ميليشيات تتبع الأجهزة الأمنية وما يسمى ميليشيات أل بري" بالإضافة إلى تضييق روسي على هذه الميليشيات، وقد استطاع سليماني حماية هذا التواجد بعلاقاته الخاصة ونفوذه، ومن المرجح أن يؤثر غيابه بدرجة كبيرة على تطورات حلب المستقبلية.
  • مشروع التشيّع في جنوب البلاد، في القنيطرة ودرعا، وبناء قوّة موالية لإيران في هذه المنطقة، وكان سليماني يشرف على أدق تفاصيل سير الأمور في هذه المنطقة. صحيح أن حزب الله هو من يتولى في الظاهر التجنيد والتدريب واستقطاب العناصر، إلا أن ذلك كله يحصل تحت إشراف ومتابعة سليماني الذي نسج علاقات خاصة مع فعاليات المنطقة، ويشكل هو نفسه الضمانة لهؤلاء للالتحاق بالمشروع الإيراني وتأييده.
  • التنسيق بين الميليشيات وعلاقات التعاون بينها وضبط نزاعاتها، فالعلاقة بين كثير من مكونات هذه القوى تنطوي على توترات وشهدت صراعات أكثر من مرّة، وللتدليل على ذلك الصراعات بين ميليشيا "الدفاع الوطني" و"حزب الله" في القلمون وفي البوكمال، وتتنوع مصادر الصراع وأسبابها بين هذه المكونات، كالخلاف على مناطق النفوذ، والغنائم، والسيطرة على طرق التهريب والتجارة، وخاصة في المناطق الحدودية بين سورية والعراق ولبنان، وكان لوجود قاسم سليماني تأثير كبير في ضبط هذه الصراعات وادارتها، لما يتمتع به من مكانة رمزية وثقل أمني وعسكري.
  • إدارة أصول إيران في سوريا، ففيلق القدس يملك أصولاً عديدة في سوريا، وحضوراً ملموساً في معظم مفاصل العمل العسكري فيها، وخاصة في المطارات العسكرية بريف حمص وسط سوريا، ومطار حماة العسكري، ومطار النيرب بحلب، وفي هذه المناطق يتقاسم فيلق القدس إدارة هذه المواقع مع روسيا بإشراف قاسم سليماني شخصياً. ويتواجد فيلق القدس في قطع عسكرية مهمة بمنطقة الكسوة في ريف دمشق، حيث تُدار من الأخيرة أغلب عمليات المليشيات الإيرانية في الجنوب السوري، وتتقاسم روسيا مع الفيلق إدارة هذه المنطقة التي تقع في نطاق سيطرة الفرقة الأولى التي توليها روسيا أهمية خاصة وعملت على إعادة هيكلتها، ولا يبدو أن روسيا راضية عن تواجد الفيلق في هذه القاعدة لأن وجوده يعطي مبرراً لإسرائيل لاستهدافها، وهو ما حصل أكثر من مرّة، ويكاد غالبية نشاط إيران في هذه المنطقة يقع في نطاق عمل الفرقتين الأولى، والتاسعة في الصنمين، حيث منطقة "مثلث الموت" و"تلال فاطمة"، التي تشهد حضوراً إيرانيا كبيراً. وثمة تقدير بأن غياب سليماني عن المشهد، الذي كان يملك علاقات خاصة مع القيادات الروسية العليا، سيؤثر على الوجود الإيراني في هذه المنطقة. بالإضافة لذلك، يملك فيلق القدس حضوراً بارزاً في غرف العمليات العسكرية المركزية بالعاصمة دمشق، مثل هيئة الأركان، وآمرية الطيران، ومناطق متفرقة بدمشق القديمة (قرب المراقد)، وبالقرب من مقام السيدة زينب بجنوبي دمشق. وفي غالبية هذه المناطق يوجد نزاع بين روسيا والقوّة الإيرانية، كما يمارس فيلق القدس في هذه المناطق نشاطات تتعدى سوريا إلى الأمن الإقليمي، وخاصة الإسرائيلي، وقد كشفت إسرائيل عن وجود مصنع لتطوير الطائرات المسيّرة في عقربا "بالقرب من السيدة زينب"، وكان قاسم سليماني يشرف على تفاصيل هذه النشاطات.
  • ميدانياً أيضاً، يأتي غياب سليماني في ظل منهجية إسرائيلية في استهداف الميليشيات الإيرانية، ودخول أمريكي على الخط، الأمر الذي سيربك النفوذ الإيراني في سوريا، وسيعيق من عمليات تموضعه في أكثر من مكان، وخاصة في شرق سوريا، حيث تؤكد التقارير أن بعض ميليشيات إيران انسحبت من بعض المواقع وقامت بعملية انتشار وسط بساتين المنطقة، وأكد أكثر من مصدر أن سليماني الذي كان عائداً من دمشق ليلة مقتله في بغداد، طلب من القيادة السورية نشر قواتها في البوكمال، ربما بهدف التغطية على ميليشياته التي باتت هدفاً دائماً للأمريكيين، ولإدراكه أن قوات نظام الأسد سترافقها قوات روسية، الأمر الذي من شأنه إخراج هذه المنطقة من دائرة الاستهداف الأمريكي.
  • التنسيق الأمني التركي-الإيراني؛ فقد ربطت بين قاسم سليماني وحقان فيدال "رئيس الاستخبارات التركية" علاقات تنسيق وتعاون، سواء في الملفات المباشرة بين البلدين، أو في الساحة السورية، ويوصفان بأنهما مهندسي الحلول الاستخبارية في سوريا، وخاصة على صعيد نقل "الجهاديين" من مناطق مختلفة وتجميعهم في إدلب. كما كان لسليماني وفيدال دور مهم في التنسيق والتخطيط لمحادثات استانة في 2017، ومن شأن مقتل سليماني إرباك علاقة التعاون والتنسيق بين الطرفين وخاصة أنها كانت مرتبطة بشخص سليماني كقائد ميداني مؤثر له الكلمة العليا على الميليشيات الشيعية التي تقاتل في سوريا.

التداعيات السياسية لمقتل سليماني

كان لسليماني أثر في صياغة توجهات السياسة السورية ومخرجاتها الإقليمية والدولية، منذ استلام بشار الأسد للسلطة، وقد أشرف على هندسة الأجهزة الأمنية، خاصة بعد الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق. وبغيابه عن المشهد يغيب ظله الثقيل عن صانع القرار السوري، ويقدر الخبراء أن يكون لهذا الأمر نتيجتان فوريتان:

- إن مقتل سليماني قد يحرر بشار الأسد أكثر من ذي قبل، فسليماني المتابع للملف السوري منذ وقت طويل كان يشكل ضغطاً على القرار السوري، ورحيله من الممكن أن يؤدي إلى تعقيد قدرة إيران في التأثير على الأسد في هذه الظروف.

- وقد يشكل مقتل سليماني حافزاً للأسد لإنهاء حالة اللعب على الحبال بين روسيا وإيران، واختيار روسيا بشكل نهائي بعد موت رجل إيران القوي والذي بقدر ما كان يشكل قيداً على خيارات الأسد، فإنه بنفس الوقت يشكل حماية من إمكانية تفكير روسيا باستبدال الأسد.

الموقف الروسي

بالرغم من أن روسيا لا تفضل انسحاب إيران بالمطلق من سوريا، لأنها لا ترغب في تحمّل أعباء الحرب على عاتق جنودها، وهي تعتقد أن معارك إدلب وأرياف حلب لن تكون سهلة بالنظر لأعداد المقاتلين الكبيرة وشراسة عناصر التنظيمات المتطرفة، إلا أن موت سليماني من شأنه إزاحة عبء ثقيل عن كاهلها، حيث يمكن لروسيا ضبط الوجود الإيراني في سوريا من خلال الجيش الإيراني والتخلص من فوضى الميليشيات الإيرانية العديدة، وهذا من شأنه حصر النفوذ الإيراني في أقنية معينة وتوسيع هامش النفوذ الروسي على المشهد السوري بدرجة أكبر.

وعملياً، سيساهم غياب سليماني في إضعاف الموقف الإيراني تجاه روسيا في سوريا، وأول أمر ستطالب به روسيا إيجاد حل لمسألة الميليشيات العديدة في سوريا، ومعرفة من سيكون البديل عن سليماني في إدارة هذه الشبكة المعقدة.

وتؤشر زيارة الرئيس فلاديمير بوتين المفاجئة الأخيرة إلى سوريا، إلى رغبة روسيا في اتخاذ خطوات استباقية بشأن أي ترتيبات إيرانية محتملة، ومحاولة لزيادة التأثير الروسي في المسار السوري على خلفية غياب سليماني.

السيناريوهات

السيناريو الأول: تراجُع النفوذ الإيراني بدرجة كبيرة، واضطرار طهران إلى سحب الجزء الأكبر من ميليشياتها وتفكيك بعضها، والإبقاء على قوات محدّدة من خلال التنسيق مع الروس وحمايتهم، حيث تتداخل جملة معطيات للدفع بهذا السيناريو، كالظروف الاقتصادية الصعبة التي تمر بها إيران جرَّاء العقوبات الأمريكية، واستهداف ميليشياتها من قبل إسرائيل والولايات المتحدة، لتكتمل هذه المصاعب مع موت سليماني، الذي كان يدير شبكة النفوذ الإيراني بطريقة يصعب على غيره إدارتها بذات الكفاءة والكلفة. وهذا السيناريو الأكثر ترجيحاً، وإن كانت ملامحه ستتأخر بالظهور قليلاً لأن إيران لا تريد الظهور بمظهر المهزوم، ولكونها ستبحث عن صيغة مع روسيا لإجراء ترتيبات بشأن حماية ما تعتبره حقوقاً لها في الاقتصاد السوري.

السيناريو الثاني: التصادُم مع روسيا، نتيجة ارتباك خليفة سليماني في إدارة شبكة الميليشيات الإيرانية في سوريا، وعدم التقاطه حزمة التفاهمات التي توصل لها سليماني مع الضباط الميدانيين الروس، وهي في أغلبها تفاهمات فرضتها ظروف الواقع الميدانية، وقد أشارت صحيفة "سفابودنايا براسا" الروسية إلى قلق موسكو من قدرة بديل سليماني على إدارة شبكة الميليشيات في سوريا. واحتمالية هذا السيناريو تتأتى من الفارق الكبير بين القائد الجديد وسليماني الذي كان يملك القدرة على دمج السياسة بالحرب، وإتقان المفاوضات السياسية، وخاصة مع الطرف الروسي، واستطاعته تجنب الصدام معهم في أكثر من مرّة.

السيناريو الثالث: نشوب فوضى عارمة في سلوك الميليشيات الإيرانية في سوريا، نتيجة تعدُّد مصادر القرار في فيلق القدس وتضاربها، إذ من المحتمل اضطرار المرشد الإيراني علي خامنئي إلى تشكيل ما يشبه القيادة المشتركة لإدارة الفيلق والميليشيات، نظراً لأن بديل سليماني، "إسماعيل قاآني"، قد لا يكون قادراً على هذه المهمة، أو احتمال ظهور مراكز قوى جديدة بعد غياب سليماني عن المشهد تحاول فرض آرائها، ما يؤثر ليس فقط على أداء الميليشيات، بل على السياسة الإيرانية في سوريا والإقليم.

 

أحدث المواضيع المميزة

Repercussions of Soleimani’s Killing on Iran’s Influence in Syria

EPC | 27 Jan 2020

The absence of Al-Quds Force's Commander in the Iranian Revolutionary Guard, Qassem Soleimani, engenders some sort of confusion to Iran’s influence in Syria, and that is due to his organic relationship with the developments that have taken place in this country, since Bashar al-Assad came to power in 2000.

Soleimani’s Role in Syrian Politics Deflections

Qassem Soleimani showed interest in the Syrian arena from the beginning of taking over his duties as commander of Al-Quds Force. He, therefore, invested the death of President Hafez al-Assad to establish a different type of relationship between Iran and Syria. The sources indicate that Soleimani "with a military force under his command, took the responsibility of ensuring smooth transition of power to Bashar al-Assad." Thus, Soleimani established a new dynamism in the two countries’ relations, through which Iran moved from the party receiving assistance from Syria, by breaking its political isolation, particularly in the Arab region, to the party providing security assistance through  supporting the (Syrian) regime and assisting it in security and military terms.

This relationship developed with the U.S occupation of Iraq, where Soleimani played the role of overseeing coordination of the Syrian-Iranian intelligence and military efforts to confront the consequences of the American presence in Iraq. Meanwhile, Soleimani facilitated the presence of al-Qaeda through logistical assistance from Damascus, which opened its borders to the militant groups to cross into Iraq.

Later on, this relationship became more evident in encountering forces of independence in Lebanon during 2004 and 2005 and through an assassination campaign launched by the Syrian-Iranian-Hezbollah trio against their political opponents. In the meantime, Soleimani has strengthened his relationship with the leaders of the Lebanese Hezbollah, including Imad Maghniyeh, Mustafa Badreddine, and the leader of the party, Hassan Nasrallah. This stage has witnessed Iranian penetration in all components of the Syrian state at the military, security and economic levels. Besides, the phenomenon of Shiism increased and became public in many Syrian regions.

Several sources said that Iran's interference in Syria, after the revolution, was the result of Soleimani's insistence on saving Bashar al-Assad from falling down and he triumphed in this over a current within the Iranian regime that was considering replacing Assad. Soleimani had an influential role in the course of Syrian events through many policies and stations:

• During the first months of the Syrian revolution, Soleimani helped "organize the regime's brutal response to the opposition attacks inside Damascus and the threats to overthrow the regime".

• He helped shape the Syrian regime’s military strategies, as the policies of blockade, starvation, and distortion of the revolution were attributed to him.

• Soleimani is considered the architect of the defense lines around Damascus. He has established a defense system consisting of three hoops, which made it impossible for the opposition to storm into Damascus and topple the regime. This has contributed a great deal to Assad's retention of the legitimacy of his rule by keeping control over the capital.

• With the development of events and according to American intelligence reports Soleimani became a resident of Damascus and started to run the battle himself. According to U.S officials, Soleimani was running the battle for Assad's survival from inside Damascus and was surrounded by multinational commanders who were running the war. Amongst them were leaders of the Assad regime's army, the Lebanese Hezbollah militia, and representatives of Shiite militias in Iraq.

• Soleimani utilized his regional relations network in two events that have had a prominent impact on the tracks of the Syrian scene:

- He recalled most of the assets he had already built since he took control of Al-Quds Force, whether from Hezbollah fighters, or Shiite militias from all of the region, as well as all the money and materials that could be used. This has basically contributed to converting the Syrian people's revolution into sectarian conflict in favor of expanding Iran’s influence.

- He used his influence on Iraq to allow the use of the Iraqi airspace to transfer what Assad needs of soldiers and equipment from Iran to Syria via Iraq during the 8 years of war.

Traits difficult to replicate in any substitute to Soleimani

All along his management of the Syrian file Soleimani was characterized by possessing traits that are difficult to be found in any person who replaces him. Some of these advantages were established as a result of objective conditions, others were created by experiments and experiences of situations that he lived for more than four decades as a fighter on various fronts. More than half of this period he was commander of the Al-Quds Force:

Efficiency in managing details: Soleimani has fought many small battles, in Iraq and with Hezbollah, in addition to battles of deep breadth, such as the Syrian war, and he was directly overseeing the finest operational and logistical details.

Building a wide network of personal relationships with most of the actors on the ground and besides his relations with various Syrian military and security formations, Soleimani established the greatest part of the auxiliary militias in Syria.

• His ability to inspire faction fighters in the field, and to utilize the religious factor by deliberately appearing as a simple and austere character.

• His knowledge of Arabic helped him win local leaders and build a supportive network for Assad.

• His position in the structure of the Iranian regime, as the second man, helped him secure the resources needed to manage the battles in Syria, without being obliged to go through the bureaucratic channels in Iran. This is a privilege that will not be obtained by any leader  succeeding him and he will not reach Qassem Soleimani’s influential status.

Possible Field Repercussions

Given the unrest in Lebanon and Iraq and the strikes Iran is receiving in Syria, the killing of Soleimani adds complication to the host of complexities facing Iran's influence in the region. According to the available data on how Soleimani managed Iranian influence in Syria, it is predestined that the joints of this influence will be dilapidated in the next stage as a result of confusion in its management, for several reasons:

-The killing of Soleimani will affect the way of conducting the work of Iranian forces and militias, as a result of the direct link he has built with these groups.

- Soleimani has built the militia forces in Syria, "34" militias and it is difficult to find someone other than him to manage them. Over the past years, Soleimani played the role of coordinator and general supervisor of the relationship between these militias and the Iranian and Syrian leaderships.

- Soleimani formed the militias in Syria loosely, much like the structure of gangs, in which  financial, economic, military, or security matters are often largely centered in the leader’s personality.

- Soleimani managed the Syrian file in a non-institutional way predominated by a personal nature, and he wanted to keep the secrets of this management for himself. Bashar Al-Assad's visit revealed the tenor of this administration when Soleimani insisted to attend all of Assad's meetings with Khamenei and Rouhani.

- With Soleimani’s death, the roadmap he built to manage network is lost, because by virtue of the competition between the security services and his keenness to keep the secret of this management, he did not establish a leadership generation from within Al-Quds Force to succeed him. Rather, the map of his relations indicates that he was bringing closer to him non-Iranian elements, Iraqi, Lebanese and Afghan and Pakistani. His secrets were distributed amongst them, according to the operational needs and the requirements for running the affairs. The only Iranian he trusted, and was considered his "black box" was Hussein Pour Jaafari, from his city, Qaraman, who was killed with him in Baghdad.

Based on these points, the areas of vulnerability that Soleimani’s absence will leave on the Syrian scene can be shown as follows:

• The underpinning bases that Soleimani has built in Syria, especially the project of building Albukamal base and preparing the region as a project parallel to Iran's road to the Mediterranean. Soleimani gave special attention to this region due to its strategic location    as a bridge between Iraq and Syria. And this is considered Soleimani’s own project in all its details.

• The project to control Aleppo, where Iran has its largest military base in Syria, “Mount Azan”: Soleimani formed one of his largest militias in Syria, “The Al-Baqir Brigade” and the “Kafriya and Al-Foua” ​​militias that take control of a large part of eastern Aleppo, and are creating demographic changes in the city to link it to the nearby areas of Nebel and al-Zahra.  The Iranian presence in Aleppo faces opposition from local forces, “militias that follow the security services and the so-called Al Beri militias,” in addition to a Russian crackdown on these militias. Soleimani was able to protect this presence through his own connections and influence. It is likely that his absence will largely affect future developments in Aleppo.

• The Shiism project in the south of the country, in Quneitra and Daraa, and building a pro-Iranian force in this region: Soleimani was overseeing the finest details of how things proceed in this region. It is true that Hezbollah is apparently the party in charge of recruiting, training and attracting elements. However, all of this was taking place under the supervision and follow-up of Soleimani, who has cultivated special relations with the actors in the region, and he himself constitutes a guarantee for those to join and support the Iranian project.

• Coordination between the militias and relations of cooperation between them together with controlling their disputes: The relationship between many components of these militia forces implies tensions and has witnessed recurrent conflicts. This is demonstrated by the conflicts between the “National Defense” militia and “Hezbollah” in al-Qalamoun and Albukamal. The sources and causes of conflicts amongst these components vary; such as the dispute over areas of influence, spoils, and control of smuggling and trade routes, especially in the border areas between Syria, Iraq and Lebanon. The presence of Qassem Soleimani has had a great impact on controlling and managing these conflicts, because of his symbolic status and security and military clout.

• Managing Iranian assets in Syria:  Al-Quds Force has many assets in Syria, and a concrete presence in most of the components of military action there, especially in military airports in Homs countryside, central Syria, Hama Military Airport, and Nairab Airport in Aleppo. In these areas Al-Quds Force shares the management of these sites with Russia under the supervision of Qassem Soleimani personally. Al-Quds Force is deployed in significant  military sectors in Al-Kiswah region of Damascus rural areas, from which most of the Iranian militia operations are managed in southern Syria. Russia shares with Al-Quds force the administration of this region which falls under the control of the First Division to which Russia attaches special importance and has already restructured it. Russia seems to be dissatisfied with the presence of Al-Quds Force in this region because this gives an excuse to Israel to target it and this happened more than once. Almost all of Iran's activities in this region falls within the domain of the work of the First and Ninth divisions in the area of Alsanamein, where the "Triangle of Death" and " Fatima Hills " are located, and are witnessing a large scale Iranian presence. It is anticipated that the absence of Soleimani, who has had special relations with the Russian top leaders, will affect the Iranian presence in this region. In addition, Al-Quds Force has a prominent presence in the central military operations rooms of the capital, Damascus, such as the General Staff, the Air Force Commander, and separate areas in Old Damascus (near the shrines), and near the shrine of Sayyidah Zainab in southern Damascus. In most of these areas, there is a conflict between Russia and the Iranian force. In these areas, Al-Quds Force is also practicing activities that go beyond Syria to regional security, especially Israel’s security. Israel has unveiled a factory to develop drones in Aqraba area nearby " Sayyidah Zainab". Qassem Soleimani was overseeing details of these activities.

 • On the ground, too, Soleimani’s absence comes in light of an Israeli methodology in targeting Iranian militias and the U.S stepping forward on the line, which will confuse Iran’s influence in Syria, and obstruct its positioning in more than one place, especially in eastern Syria, where reports confirm that some Iranian militias have withdrawn from some locations and redeployed themselves in some orchards in the region. More than one source confirmed that Soleimani, who was returning from Damascus the night he was killed in Baghdad, asked the Syrian leadership to deploy its forces in Albukamal, perhaps with the aim of covering up his militias, which have become a permanent target for the Americans, and for his realization that the forces of Assad’s regime will be accompanied by Russian forces, which would lead to getting this area out of the U.S targeting circle.

• Turkish-Iranian security coordination: Qasim Soleimani and Hakan Vidal, head of the Turkish Intelligence enjoyed coordination and cooperation relations, whether in the direct files between the Iran and Turkey, or on the Syrian arena. They are described as the architects of intelligence solutions in Syria, especially in terms of transporting "jihadists" from different areas and grouping them in Idlib. Soleimani and Vidal also have had a significant role in coordinating and planning the Astana talks in 2017. Therefore, the killing of Soleimani is bound to would baffle the relationship of cooperation and coordination between the two parties, especially as this relationship was linked to Soleimani’s personality as an influential field commander who has the upper hand on the Shiite militias fighting in Syria.

Political Repercussions of Soleimani’s Killing

Since Bashar Al-Assad came to power, Soleimani has had an impact on shaping the Syrian policy trends and its regional and international outputs. He supervised the way of architecting Syrian security services, especially in the aftermath of American occupation of Iraq. With his absence , his heavy shadow is also absent from the Syrian decision-maker, and experts estimate that this situation would have two immediate results:

- The killing of Soleimani may liberate Bashar al-Assad more than before. Suleimani, who has been following up the Syrian file for a long time, was putting pressure on the Syrian decision, and his departure could complicate Iran's ability to influence Assad in the current circumstances.

- The killing of Soleimani may form an incentive for Assad to end the state of playing on the ropes between Russia and Iran, and to choose Russia once for all after the death of Iran's powerful man, who, as much as he was restricting Assad's options, he was, at the same time, providing protection against the possibility of Russia’s thinking of replacing Assad.

Russian Position

Although Russia does not favor Iran's absolute withdrawal from Syria, because it does not want to bear the burdens of war on its soldiers, and it believes that the battles in Idlib Aleppo rural areas will not be easy given the big numbers of fighters and the ferocity of the extremist organizations there, yet Soleimani’s death would remove the heavy burdens from its shoulders, as Russia can take control the Iranian presence in Syria through the Iranian army and get rid of the chaos caused by the numerous Iranian militias, and this would limit Iran’s influence to certain channels and expand the margin of Russian influence on the Syrian scene to a bigger degree.

In practice, Soleimani’s absence will contribute to weakening the Iranian position toward Russia in Syria, the first thing that Russia will demand is to find a solution to the issue of the numerous militias in Syria, and to know who will replace Soleimani to manage this intricate  network.

President Vladimir Putin's surprise visit to Syria indicates Russia's desire to take proactive steps regarding any possible Iranian arrangements  in Syria and an attempt by Russia to increase its influence in the Syrian track against the backdrop of Soleimani's absence.

The Scenarios

The first scenario: Large retraction in Iran’s influence; Tehran will be forced to pull out the largest part of its militia and dismantle some of them, and maintain specific forces through coordination with and protection by the Russians, as there a number of factors that come together to advance this scenario, such as the severe economic conditions that Iran is going through as a result of US sanctions, and the targeting of its militias by Israel and the United States, only to complete these difficulties with the death of Soleimani, who was running the Iranian influence network in a way that is difficult for anyone else to manage with the same competence and cost. This is the most likely scenario, although its features will be a little bit delayed because Iran does not want to appear as the defeated party, and because it will search for a formula with Russia to make arrangements regarding the protection of what it considers its rights in the Syrian economy.

The second scenario: Clashing with Russia, as a result of Soleimani successor’s perplexity in managing the Iranian militia network in Syria, and his failure to comprehend the package of understandings Soleimani had accomplished with the Russian field officers; most of these understandings were imposed by the field circumstances on the ground. The Russian newspaper "Svabodnaya Braasa" noted Moscow's concern about the ability of Soleimani's successor to run the militia network in Syria. The possibility of this scenario comes from the great disparity between the new leader and Soleimani who has had the ability to integrate politics with war and master political negotiations, especially with the Russian side, and was able to avoid clashing with them more than once.

 The third scenario: an outbreak of great chaos in the behavior of Iranian militias in Syria, as a result of contrasting decisions taken by several sources from within Al- Quds Force. It is probable that Iran’s Supreme Guide, Ali Khamenei, will be forced to form something similar to a joint leadership for Al-Quds Force and the militias, given that Soleimani’s alternative, “Ismail Qāni”,  may not be able to accomplish this task, or the possibility of the emergence of new power centers after Soleimani's absence trying to impose their viewpoints. This would affect not only militias’ performance , but also Iran’s policy in Syria and the region.

 

Latest Featured Topics