الشرق الأوسط

معاهدة السلام الإماراتية - الإسرائيلية: هل تكون «مُغيّر اللعبة»؟

يمكن القول إن معاهدة السلام بين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإسرائيل، التي تمَّ التوقيع عليها رسمياً في البيت الأبيض في 15 سبتمبر (أيلول) 2020، مثَّلت تحولاً استراتيجياً مهماً، وتغيّراً أساسياً في قِيَم الصراع.

د. ابتسام الكتبي | 24 سبتمبر 2020
تركيا وإيران وأزمات المياه في سوريا والعراق

دقّ انخفاض منسوب المياه في نهري دجلة والفرات، ناقوس الخطر في سوريا والعراق من أزمة مياه تطال البلدين، اللذان يعانيان من أزمات سياسية واجتماعية وحروب لا يوجد أفق لنهايتها. وقد تحوّلت الأنهار، التي كانت تمثل شرايين حياة للبلدين إلى مجرد مستنقعات، مع قيام تركيا وإيران بعمل إنشاءات مائية أسهمت في تخفيض تدفق مياه الأنهار بدرجة كبيرة.

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 31 أغسطس 2020

قضية متخصصة

استعراض الكل
معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية: الانعكاسات الإقليمية والاستراتيجية المتوقَّعة

شكَّل التوقيعُ الرسمي على معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية في البيت الأبيض، في 15 سبتمبر 2020، "لحظةً تاريخيةً فارِقة"، بحسب وصف الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب الذي رعت إدارته الوصول إلى هذه المعاهدة. وسوف تبدأ وفقاً لذلك علاقاتٌ دبلوماسية كاملة بين أبوظبي وتل أبيب، وستنخرط وفود إماراتية وإسرائيلية مشتركة في توقيع اتفاقيات ثنائية في مجالات الاستثمار والسياحة والاتصالات والتكنولوجيا والرعاية الصحية والبيئة والموانئ والطيران المدني. وهذه أول معاهدة سلام عربية مع إسرائيل برعاية أمريكية منذ زهاء 25 عاماً، أي منذ توقيع الأردن على معاهدة "وادي عَرَبَة" في 1994، وتُمثِّل تتويجاً لمسار طويل من التقارب بين الجانبين العربي والإسرائيلي.

مركز الإمارات للسياسات| 16 سبتمبر 2020
مشروع "المَشرِق الجديد": الفُرص والتحديات والمسارات المحتملة

يُعد مشروع "المشرق الجديد" الذي طرحه رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي، حدثاً نوعياً في واقع المنطقة التي تشهد انقسامات وتجاذبات بين الأطراف المختلفة، وهو ما يؤشر إلى طبيعة التحديات التي تواجه المشروع والصعوبات التي قد تعترض مساره. ورغم العنوان الاقتصادي للمشروع إلا أنه ينطوي على أبعاد سياسية واستراتيجية، لكن السؤال المطروح هو: هل أطرافه قادرة، أو عندها الرغبة والإرادة، في تحويل المشروع إلى مشروع جيوسياسي قادر على إثبات حضوره في معادلات المنطقة وتوازناتها؟ تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على المشروع المشار إليه، وتوضح فرصه والتحديات التي تواجهه والمسارات المتوقعة له.

مركز الإمارات للسياسات| 07 سبتمبر 2020

سيناريوهات

مشاركة حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي في الانتخابات البرلمانية الأردنية: الدلالات والسيناريوهات المحتملة

أعلن حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي في الأردن (الذراع السياسي لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين) في 21 سبتمبر 2020، مشاركته في الانتخابات البرلمانية المقرر عقدها في 10 نوفمبر المقبل، وفقاً لبيان صادر عنه تلاه نائب الأمين العام وائل السقا. وتُحلِّل هذه الورقة دلالات مشاركة حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي في الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة، والتحديات التي يواجهها سواء من داخله أو في البيئة المحيطة به، والسيناريوهات المحتملة لتكتيكات الحزب خلال المرحلة المقبلة.

شرين محمد | 30 سبتمبر 2020

الإصدارات

استعراض الكل
الكتاب السنوي لمعهد ستوكهولم لأبحاث السلام الدولي لعام 2019: التسلّح ونزع السلاح والأمن الدولي-الملخص

يُعدّ الكتاب السنوي لمعهد ستوكهولم لأبحاث السلام الدولي مصدراً موثوقاً به ومستقلاً للبيانات والتحليلات الُمتعلّقة بالأسلحة ونزع السلاح والأمن الدولي. ويقدّم الكتاب استعراضاً عاماً للتطوّرات في مجالات الأمن الدولي والأسلحة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 27 أكتوبر 2019
احتمالات نشوب حرب بين إسرائيل وحزب الله وتداعياتها على المشهد الإقليمي

يأخذ السجال الحربي بين حزب الله وإسرائيل مظاهر عديدة، كمؤشر على التوتر المتزايد بينهما، وإمكانية خروجه عن

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 25 مايو 2017

استعراض وحدات البحث

تحديد نطاق البحث

Middle East

Brief

View All
How President Biden Can Tackle the Middle East’s Biggest Problems

Nine joint recommendations from leading think tanks in the United States, United Arab Emirates, and Israel.

Kirsten Fontenrose, Ebtesam Al-Ketbi, and Udi Dekel | 01 Feb 2021
Israeli Political Landscape: Controversy of Early Elections and Continuing Defections in the Right-Wing Camp

​Israel is heading towards holding early elections, the fourth in less than two years, after the failure of the Likud and Kahol Lavan (Blue and White) parties to reach a settlement on the state’s budget, which would prevent the Israeli Knesset (parliament) from dissolving itself. Meanwhile, Gideon Saar’s split from Likud reversed the political balance in Israel, constituting a threat to Netanyahu’s renewed rise to power, especially after Water Resources Minister Zeev Elkin, who is close to Netanyahu, resigned and joined Saar.

EPC | 12 Jan 2021

Featured Topic

View All
The Emirati-Israeli Peace Treaty: Potential Regional and Strategic Implications

The formal signing of the UAE-Israel peace treaty at the White House on 15 September 2020 marked a "historic moment", according to the description of US President Donald Trump, whose administration sponsored reaching this treaty. Accordingly, full diplomatic relations would begin between Abu Dhabi and Tel Aviv, and joint UAE and Israeli delegations would be involved in signing bilateral agreements in the fields of investment, tourism, communications, technology, civil aviation, health care and the environment. This is the first US-sponsored Arab-Israeli peace treaty in nearly 25 years, that is, since Jordan signed the Wadi Araba treaty in 1994. It constitutes the culmination of a long path of rapprochement between the Arab and Israeli sides.

EPC| 16 Sep 2020
The “New Levant” Project: Likely Opportunities, Challenges and Trajectories

The "New Levant (Mashreq)" project, proposed by Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi, is a qualitative event in the reality of the region that has been witnessing divisions and tensions between the various parties. This indicates the nature of the challenges facing the project and the difficulties that may block its path. Despite its economic title, the project entails political and strategic dimensions. However, the question being raised is: do its parties have the capability, desire and will to transform the project into a geopolitical project that is capable of proving its presence in the region's equations and balances? This paper sheds light on the aforementioned project, and clarifies its opportunities, challenges and expected paths.

EPC| 07 Sep 2020

Scenarios

Participation of Islamic Action Front in Jordan’s Parliamentary Elections: Significance and Likely Scenarios

​On 21 September 2020, the Islamic Action Front (IAF, Jabhat al-Amal al-Islami) party in Jordan (the political arm of the Muslim Brotherhood) announced its participation in the parliamentary elections scheduled to be held on 10 November 2020, according to an IAF statement that was read by the IAF Deputy Secretary-General Wael al-Sakka. This paper analyses the implications of the IAF’s participation in the upcoming parliamentary elections, the challenges it faces, both from within it and in the surrounding environment, and the possible scenarios for the IAF’s tactics during the next phase.

Shereen Mohammed | 30 Sep 2020

Publications

View All
The US between al-Qaeda and the Islamic State: Is it Possible that Washington Will Back al-Qaeda

The Saudi ASharq al-Awsat newspaper last month published a supplement entitled the Entanglements of Terror. In it, Saudi researchers and others try to sketch out the characteristics of the Islamist terror organizations and the phenomenon of the so-called modern Islamist terrorism in the region.

EPC | 01 Dec 2014
Israeli Think Tanks’ Assessments of Arab Gulf States’ Military Capabilities and Map of Balances in Light of a Shifting Strategic

Currently, there is an unprecedented arms race by countries in the Arabian Gulf, mainly motivated by Iran’s nuclear project and Arab Gulf States might turn into frontline states in any future war with Iran.

EPC | 01 Dec 2014

Browse Research Units

Filter your Search by: