المغرب العربي

مشروع الوساطة الجزائرية في الأزمة الليبية: الخلفيات والآفاق

أظهر الرئيس الجزائري عبد المجيد تبون حرصه على تقديم مشروع للحل السياسي التوافقي في ليبيا. وفي الأيام الأخيرة، بدأت تبرز ملامح هذا المشروع في ظل موقف إقليمي ودولي واسع ضاغط من أجل الحل السياسي، في الوقت الذي لا يزال مسار الصراع العسكري مفتوحاً. تعرض هذه الورقة لخلفيات المشروع الجزائري في ليبيا وتوجهاته الكبرى، وتحاول استشراف آفاقه المحتملة.

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 23 يونيو 2020
الصراع الأمريكي-الروسي الجديد حول ليبيا: الديناميات والتداعيات

تُلقي هذه الورقة الضوء على الصراع الأمريكي-الروسي المُستَجَد على ليبيا في ضوء المتغيرات الميدانية والتصريحات المتبادلة الأخيرة، وتُحلِّل ديناميات هذا الصراع ومحركاته الراهنة وأبعاده الاستراتيجية، مُستَشرفةً تداعياته المحتملة على مستقبل الأزمة الليبية وإمكانيات تسويتها.

محمد قواص | 07 يونيو 2020

قضية متخصصة

التداعيات القانونية والإقليمية والدولية للمذكرة البحرية الموقعة بين تركيا وحكومة الوفاق في ليبيا

أثارت مذكرة التفاهم حول "تحديد المجالات البحرية في البحر المتوسط"، التي وُقعت بين تركيا وحكومة الوفاق الليبية برئاسة فايز السراج في 28 نوفمبر 2019 في إسطنبول، ردودَ فعل غاضبة على الصعيدين المحلي الليبي والإقليمي. تعرض الورقة أهم ملامح هذه المذكرة، وبيان موقف القانون الدولي منها، وتنتقل لتحليل التداعيات القانونية والإقليمية والدولية المترتبة على إبرامها.

مركز الإمارات للسياسات| 25 ديسمبر 2019

سيناريوهات

"إعلان القاهرة" والاستجابة المصرية للتحولات في ليبيا: السيناريوهات المحتملة

تأتي مبادرة حل الأزمة الليبية التي أعلنها الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي في القاهرة في 6 يونيو 2020، بحضور المشير خليفة حفتر قائد الجيش الوطني الليبي والمستشار عقيلة صالح رئيس مجلس النواب الليبي، في سياق يتسم بدرجة عالية من الكثافة في الأحداث، سواء على مستوى التطورات الميدانية للصراع، أو على مستوى التعاطي الدولي مع التطورات، الذي يُعد الأكثر زخماً منذ مؤتمر برلين المنعقد في يناير 2020. ولا يحمل "إعلان القاهرة" طرحاً جديداً مقارنة بالطروحات المتداولة أو المدعومة دولياً بشأن التسوية السلمية للصراع، ويمكن القول إن الإعلان يستمد أهميته مما يعكسه بخصوص التعامل المصري مع التوازنات الجديدة الراهنة على الساحة الليبية. تسعى الورقة الحالية إلى استعراض هذه التوازنات الجديدة من وجهة نظر القاهرة، واستكشاف ملامح التجاوب المصري مع هذه التحولات وفق ما أظهره إعلان القاهرة، ثم يتم استعراض المحددات والحسابات الحاكمة لمواقف الأطراف الدولية الفاعلة، ومن ثمّ التطرق إلى أبرز سيناريوهات التسوية السلمية أو التصعيد العسكري انطلاقاً من هذا الإعلان.

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 15 يونيو 2020

استعراض وحدات البحث

تحديد نطاق البحث

Maghreb

Brief

View All
Algerian Mediation Project in the Libyan Crisis: Background and Prospects

Algerian President Abdelmajid Tebboune has shown his keenness to put forward a project for a consensual peaceful solution in Libya. In recent days, the features of this project began to come out amidst a broad regional and international situation that puts pressure for a political solution at a time when the path of the military conflict is still open. This paper sheds light on the background and major approaches of the Algerian project in Libya and attempts to explore its potential prospects.

EPC | 23 Jun 2020
The New Russian-American Struggle over Libya: Dynamics and Consequences

This paper examines the new US–Russian conflict over Libya in light of the variables on the ground and recent exchanges between the two sides. It also analyzes the dynamics, current drivers, and strategic dimensions of the conflict and explores the potential implications for the future of the Libyan crisis.

Mohamad Kawas | 07 Jun 2020

Featured Topic

Legal, regional, and international consequences of the maritime agreement signed between Turkey and the Government of National Accord in Libya

Local and regional actors have expressed their anger at the memorandum of understanding for the delimitation of maritime boundaries in the Mediterranean Sea which Turkey and the Government of National Accord in Libya, under the leadership of Faiz al-Siraj, signed on 28 November 2019 in Istanbul. This paper will examine the main features of the deal, its position with regard to international law, and the legal, regional and international consequences.

EPC| 25 Dec 2019

Scenarios

The “Cairo Declaration” and Egypt’s Response to Shifts in Libya: Likely Scenarios

The initiative to solve the Libyan crisis, which was announced by Egyptian President Abdul Fattah al-Sisi in Cairo on 6 June 2020 in the presence of Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar, commander of the Libyan National Army (LNA), and Chancellor Aguila Saleh, Speaker of the Libyan House of Representatives, comes in a context that is characterized by events of increased momentum, whether in terms of the field developments of the conflict or the international interaction with the developments, which is considered the highest in momentum since the Berlin Conference that was held in January 2020. The Cairo Declaration does not put forward a new proposition compared to the propositions in circulation or the ones internationally supported with regard to the peaceful settlement of the conflict. It can be said that the importance of the Declaration lies in what it reflects in terms of the Egyptian interaction with the current new balances in the Libyan arena. The present paper seeks to review those new balances from Cairo’s perspective, explore the features of the Egyptian response to those shifts based on what has been revealed by the Cairo Declaration, review the determinants and considerations governing the positions of international actors, and touch upon the most prominent scenarios of the peaceful settlement or military escalation based on this Declaration.

EPC | 15 Jun 2020

Browse Research Units

Filter your Search by: