آسيا الوسطى

موقف روسيا من تجدُّد الصراع الأذري-الأرمني حول إقليم ناغورني قره باغ

مع احتدام المواجهات بين أذربيجان وأرمينيا في إقليم ناغورني قره باغ المتنازع عليه في أواخر سبتمبر 2020، أحجمت روسيا في البداية عن إطلاق تصريحات أو تحركات سريعة تجاه هذا التطور، لكن اشتداد المعارك واتساع رُقعتها دفعا موسكو إلى التحرك وإجراء اتصالات نشطة مع طرفي الصراع الأذري والأرميني، إضافة إلى تركيا، وأيضاً مع أطراف دولية فاعلة، مثل فرنسا التي تشارك في رئاسة مجموعة مينسك.

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 05 أكتوبر 2020
المُصالحة الأفغانية-الأفغانية: التعقيدات والتوقعات

بعد توقيع اتفاق السلام بين حركة "طالبان" الأفغانية والولايات المتحدة في 29 فبراير الماضي، توقع معظم المراقبين انحسار العنف في البلاد وتشكيل أرضية للمفاوضات بين الأفغان، لكن حتى الآن لم يحدث تقدم ملموس في مسار عملية المصالحة بين الأطراف الأفغانية، لاسيما عملية الحوار بين حكومة الرئيس أشرف غني وحركة طالبان بشأن القضايا محل التفاوض.

أحمد دياب | 08 يونيو 2020

قضية متخصصة

استعراض الكل
جولة المفاوضات الأفغانية-الأفغانية: الفُرَص والمخاطِر والسيناريوهات المحتملة

في 12 سبتمبر 2020، وغداة الذكري التاسعة عشرة لهجمات 11 سبتمبر على برجي مركز التجارة العالمي في نيويورك عام 2001، انطلقت في الدوحة، المفاوضات الأفغانية-الأفغانية المباشرة بين حكومة الرئيس أشرف غني وحركة طالبان. وهذه المفاوضات تمثل المرحلة الثانية من مشروع السلام الأفغاني، بعد نحو 6 أشهر من التوقيع على اتفاقية الدوحة بين واشنطن وطالبان في 29 فبراير 2020، والتي تهدف إلى إنهاء الحرب التي مزَّقت البلاد منذ نحو عشرين عاماً.

​أحمد دياب| 15 سبتمبر 2020
مستقبل الصراع الإقليمي على أفغانستان بعد الانسحاب الأمريكي

في ظل الحقائق والأوضاع المعقدة التي ستترتب على الانسحاب الأمريكي من أفغانستان، تلوح في الأفق توجهات وسياسات دولية وإقليمية مستجدة بشأن مستقبل هذا البلد؛ فمن المتوقع أن تكون محادثات السلام بين حركة "طالبان" والحكومة الأفغانية معقدة وطويلة الأمد، وقد تستغرق سنوات. وفي حال عدم التوصل لتسوية سياسية بين الحكومة الأفغانية والحركة، فإن الانسحاب الأمريكي يمكن أن يُفجِّر حرباً أهلية واسعة النطاق، تدعم بعض أطرافها قوى إقليمية ودولية، مثل روسيا والصين، اللتان تمتلكان مصالح سياسية واقتصادية وأمنية تلتقي أحياناً وتتعارض أحايين أخري في أفغانستان. كما أن لدولٍ مُجاورة مثل إيران وباكستان والهند مصالحها المتضاربة أيضاً. ومعروف ما للهند وباكستان من نفوذ على الجهات الأفغانية، كما أن لكل منهما آليات ووسائل للتأثير على سير الأوضاع في هذا البلد.

أحمد دياب| 27 يوليو 2020

سيناريوهات

استعراض الكل
مستقبل حكومة عمران خان في ظل استمرار احتجاجات تحالف "الحركة الديمقراطية الباكستانية"

شَهدَت مدن باكستانية عدة مؤخراً احتجاجات ومسيرات حاشدة ضد حكومة رئيس الوزراء عمران خان، نظمها تحالف "الحركة الديمقراطية الباكستانية" المُعارِض، وهو مزيجٌ من 11 حزباً وتياراً مدنياً ودينياً، يتقدمها حزب "الشعب الباكستاني" بزعامة بيلاوال بوتو-زرداري، وحزب "الرابطة الإسلامية الباكستانية" بزعامة نواز شريف، وحركة "باختون تحفوز"، بقيادة محسن دوار وجمعية "علماء الإسلام" بقيادة مولانا فضل الرحمن. ويُخطِّط التحالف لتنظيم مزيد من المسيرات والاحتجاجات في جميع أنحاء البلاد قبل "مسيرة طويلة حاسمة" إلى إسلام أباد في يناير 2021. تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على حوافز الاحتجاجات ضد حكومة عمران خان في باكستان، والقيود التي تواجهها الحركة الاحتجاجية، والسيناريوهات المحتملة لمستقبل حكومة خان في ظل المشهد السياسي القائم في البلاد.

أحمد دياب | 23 نوفمبر 2020
تجدُّد الصراع الأذربيجاني-الأرمني حول ناغورني قره باغ: الأبعاد الجيوسياسية والسيناريوهات المحتملة

في 27 سبتمبر 2020، وبعد فترة وقف إطلاق نار غير حاسم استمرت نحو ثلاثة عقود، اندلعت مواجهات عسكرية بين أرمينيا وأذربيجان عبر وابلٍ من القصف المدفعي تخللها نشر للدروع الثقيلة على طول خط التماس الفاصل بين الدولتين حول إقليم ناغورني قره باغ المتنازع عليه والمناطق المجاورة لها، وتحوَّلت سريعاً إلى صراع عسكري محتدم بين الدولتين، وهو ما عزز المخاوف من حصول تداعيات محتملة مُزعزعة للاستقرار في منطقة القوقاز.

أحمد دياب | 04 أكتوبر 2020

استعراض وحدات البحث

تحديد نطاق البحث

Central Asia

Brief

View All
Russia’s Position on the Renewal of Conflict between Azerbaijan and Armenia over Nagorno-Karabakh

​With the intensification of the confrontations between Azerbaijan and Armenia in the disputed Nagorno-Karabakh region in late September 2020, Russia initially refrained from making quick statements or moves with regard to this development. However, the intensification and expansion of the battles prompted Moscow to move and make active contacts with both the Azerbaijani and Armenian sides of the conflict, in addition to Turkey, and also with international actors, such as France, which co-chairs the Minsk Group.

EPC | 05 Oct 2020
Reconciliation in Afghanistan: Complications and Prospects

Following the signing of the peace agreement between the Afghan Taliban and the USA on February 29, 2020, most observers expected the violence in the country to subside, paving the way for negotiations among the Afghan people. No tangible progress in the Afghan reconciliation process — particularly the dialogue between President Ashraf Ghani’s government and the Taliban — has been achieved thus far, however.

Ahmad Diyab | 08 Jun 2020

Featured Topic

View All
Intra-Afghan Round of Negotiations: Chances, Risks and Possible scenarios

On 12 September 2020, in the wake of the nineteenth anniversary of the September 11 attacks on the World Trade Center (WTC) towers in New York in 2001, direct intra-Afghan negotiations between the government of President Ashraf Ghani and the Taliban movement began in Doha. These negotiations constitute the second phase of the Afghan peace project, nearly six months after the signing of the Doha Agreement between Washington and the Taliban on 29 February 2020, which aims at ending the war that tore the country apart for nearly twenty years.

Ahmed Diab| 15 Sep 2020
Future of the Regional Struggle over Afghanistan after the American Withdrawal

In light of the facts and complicated conditions that will result from the US withdrawal from Afghanistan, new international and regional inclinations and policies are emerging regarding the future of that country. Peace talks between the Taliban Movement and the Afghan government are expected to be complicated and protracted, probably extending for years. In case a political settlement is not reached between the Afghan government and the Movement, the US withdrawal could lead to the eruption of a large-scale civil war, some of whose protagonists would be supported by regional and international powers such as Russia and China which have political, economic and security interests that converge at times and conflict at others in Afghanistan. Some neighbouring countries such as Iran, Pakistan and India also have conflicting interests. The influence of India and Pakistan over actors in Afghanistan is well known. Besides, the two countries have mechanisms and means to influence the state of affairs in Afghanistan.

Ahmed Diab| 27 Jul 2020

Scenarios

View All
The Resumption of Conflict between Azerbaijan and Armenia over Nagorno-Karabakh: Geopolitical Dimensions and Likely Scenarios

On 27 September 2020, after an inconclusive ceasefire period that lasted nearly three decades, military confrontations erupted between Armenia and Azerbaijan through a barrage of artillery shelling, during which heavy armour was deployed along the confrontation line separating the two countries regarding the disputed Nagorno-Karabakh region and its neighboring areas. The confrontations quickly turned into an escalating military conflict between the two countries, which reinforced fears of potential destabilising repercussions in the Caucasus.

​Ahmed Diab | 04 Oct 2020
What if the U.S. and Taliban Sign a Peace Agreement?

In a remarkable turn of events, the two parties to Afghanistan's 19-year conflict, the United States (U.S.) and the Taliban, decided to sit at the same table for direct talks aimed at nailing down a "peace deal". This qualitative shift is partly necessitated by massive human and material costs incurred by the two parties since 2001 without either of them being able to resolve the conflict militarily. Nor did the political system that was built in Afghanistan after the removal of the Taliban regime succeed in proving political or economic or security efficiency, which kept the Taliban alive and kicking to this day.

Mohamed Fayez Farahat | 20 Feb 2020

Browse Research Units

Filter your Search by: