أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء

إيجازات

  • حمدي بشير | 01 سبتمبر 2020

    مخاطر تمدُّد تنظيم "داعش" في جنوب أفريقيا

    تواجه جنوب أفريقيا خطر تمدُّد تنظيم "داعش" بعد تصاعُد هجماته في موزمبيق المجاورة. وقد هدد التنظيم جنوب أفريقيا بفتح جبهة قتال فيها في حال انخراطها عسكرياً ضده، لا سيما بعد إرسالها قوات خاصة لدعم جهود مكافحة الإرهاب في موزمبيق، وهو ما يثير العديد من التساؤلات حول محفزات "داعش" للتمدد في جنوب أفريقيا، ومخاطر هذا التمدد والسيناريوهات المحتملة لمكافحته.

  • حمدي بشير | 09 أغسطس 2020

    تنامي تهديد تنظيم "داعش" في القارة الأفريقية: الأسباب والمخاطر والاحتمالات

    تشهد القارة الأفريقية تنامياً في تهديد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) منذ بداية العام 2020، حيث كثفت التنظيمات المبايعة له من هجماتها ومواجهاتها المباشرة مع قوات مكافحة الإرهاب في غرب وجنوب القارة، وهو ما يثير العديد من التساؤلات حول عوامل وأسباب تنامي هذا التهديد، ومخاطره واحتمالاته المستقبلية.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 03 أغسطس 2020

    المشهد السياسي في كوت ديفوار في ظل الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة

    أُعلن في جمهورية كوت ديفوار (ساحل العاج) يوم 8 يوليو 2020 عن وفاة رئيس الحكومة أمادو غون كوليبالي، الذي كان المرشح الأبرز لخلافة رئيس الجمهورية الحالي الحسن واتارا في الانتخابات المقرر عقدها في أكتوبر 2020. وقد شكل رحيل كوليبالي المفاجئ لحظةَ تحول كبرى في المشهد السياسي في هذا البلد الذي يشكل محور منطقة غرب أفريقيا اقتصادياً واستراتيجياً، بما يقتضي استشراف آفاق الوضع السياسي في ساحل العاج في أفق الانتخابات الرئاسية المقررة بعد ثلاثة شهور.

  • حمدي بشير | 28 يوليو 2020

    التوجهات العسكرية الفرنسية الجديدة لمكافحة الإرهاب في منطقة الساحل: الدوافع والفرص والتحديات

    تعددت المبادرات الفرنسية العسكرية لمكافحة الإرهاب في منطقة الساحل الأفريقية، لكنها لا تزال تواجه تحدي تصاعد الهجمات وتمدد نفوذ التنظيمات الإرهابية. وفي هذا السياق، اجتمعت فرنسا مع مجموعة الساحل الخماسية في قمة "باو" في يناير الماضي. وبعدها أعلنت ثلاث عشرة دولة، في 27 مارس 2020، تأييدها تشكيل قوات عسكرية أوربية خاصة لدعم عمليات مكافحة الإرهاب في المنطقة، وهو ما يثير العديد من التساؤلات حول الدوافع والفرص والتحديات المرتبطة بهذه التوجهات الفرنسية الجديدة.

  • حمدي بشير | 31 مايو 2020

    تصاعُد نشاط تنظيم داعش في موزمبيق في ظل تفشي وباء كورونا: المخاطر والسيناريوهات المحتملة

    تشهد مقاطعة كابو ديلجادو في شمال موزمبيق تصاعداً في هجمات تنظيم "داعش" منذ مارس الماضي، في وقت تحشد الحكومة جهودها ومواردها لمكافحة وباء كورونا ومواجهة تداعياته المحتملة. ويُثير ذلك العديد من التساؤلات حول حدود سيطرة التنظيم وقدرته على التوسُّع، والتحديات التي تواجه الحكومة لمكافحة الإرهاب، والمخاطر المحتملة لتمدد التنظيم الإرهابي في موزمبيق والبلدان المجاورة، والسيناريوهات الممكنة لجهود مكافحته.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 09 أغسطس 2018

    الانتخابات ومستقبل النظام السياسي في زيمبابوي

    بعد حكم روبرت موغابي الذي دام 40 عامًا، أجريت انتخابات عامة في زيمبابوي في 30 يوليو 2018 لانتخاب رئيس جديد وأعضاء مجلسي البرلمان.

SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA

Briefs

  • Hamdi Bashir | 01 Sep 2020

    Risks of Islamic State Expansion in South Africa

    South Africa faces the threat of the expansion of Daesh (Islamic State, IS) organisation after the escalation of its attacks in neighbouring Mozambique. The organisation has threatened South Africa to open a front therein in case South Africa engages militarily against the organisation, especially after South Africa sent special forces to support efforts to combat terrorism in Mozambique. This raises many questions about Daesh's incentives for expansion in South Africa, the risks of this expansion, and the possible scenarios to combat it.

  • ​Hamdi Bashir | 09 Aug 2020

    Rising Threat of the Islamic State in Africa: Reasons, Risks and Possibilities

    The African continent has witnessed a growth in the threat posed by the Islamic State (IS) since the beginning of 2020. Organizations that pledge allegiance to the IS have intensified their direct attacks and confrontations with the counter-terrorism forces in the west and south of the continent. This raises many questions about the factors and causes of this growing threat, its risks and future possibilities.

  • EPC | 03 Aug 2020

    Côte d’Ivoire’s Political Landscape as the Presidential Elections Loom

    On July 8, 2020, the Republic of Côte d’Ivoire (also known as the Ivory Coast) announced the death of Prime Minister Amadou Gon Coulibaly, who was the favorite to succeed President Alassane Ouattara in the elections scheduled for October 2020. Coulibaly’s sudden death marks a major turning point in the political landscape of West Africa’s economic and strategic hub, and calls for an assessment of the political horizon in Côte d’Ivoire in the run-up to the presidential elections.

  • Hamdi Bashir | 28 Jul 2020

    New French Military Tendencies to Combat Terrorism in the Sahel Region: Motivations, Opportunities and Challenges

    Despite France’s many military counter-terrorism initiatives in the African Sahel, terrorist attacks and the influence of terrorist groups continue to rise. On March 27, 2020, nearly two months after the heads of State of France and the Group of Five for the Sahel (G5 Sahel) assembled at the Pau Summit to address this ongoing challenge, 13 States announced their support for the creation of a special European military force to support counter‑terrorism operations in the region. This has raised many questions about the drivers, opportunities, and challenges involved in the new French strategy.

  • Hamdi Bashir | 31 May 2020

    Rising IS Activity in Mozambique in Light of the Spread of Coronavirus: Risks and Possible Scenarios

    Cabo Delgado province in northern Mozambique has been witnessing an escalation in attacks by Islamic State (IS) since March 2020 at a time when the government is mobilizing its efforts and resources to fight the corona epidemic and counter its possible consequences. This raises a number of questions about the limits of control by IS and its capacity to expand, the challenges facing the government in combating terrorism, the possible risks of the expansion by the terrorist organization in Mozambique and neighbouring countries, and the possible scenarios for the efforts of combating IS.

  • EPC | 09 Aug 2018

    General Elections and the Future of the Political System in Zimbabwe

    Following Robert Mugabe’s 40-year rule, general elections were held in Zimbabwe on July 30, 2018 to elect a new president and the members of both houses of parliament.