شرق آسيا

قضية متخصصة

  • محمد فايز فرحات | 09 سبتمبر 2020

    الخريطة السياسية في اليابان بعد شينزو آبي

    في 28 أغسطس 2020 أعلن رئيس الوزراء الياباني شينزو آبي Shinzō Abe استقالته من منصبه كرئيس للحكومة ورئيس للحزب الحاكم في اليابان، ليفتح المجال أمام المنافسة على رئاسة الحزب الليبرالي الديمقراطي الحاكم والذي يرأسه آبي منذ عام 2012. وبالنظر إلى تمتُّع الحزب بالأغلبية البرلمانية، فمن غير المتوقع أن يواجه المرشح الفائز أية عقبات برلمانية تَحوْل دون توليه منصب رئيس الحكومة، الأمر الذي يعني تولي المرشح الفائز الفترة المتبقية من حكومة آبي حتى إجراء الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة المقرر عقدها في أكتوبر 2021. لكن هذه الفترة ستمثل في النهاية فترة انتقالية لحين إجراء الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة، وستترك ملامحها على الخريطة السياسية والحزبية في اليابان بعد عام 2021.

  • أحمد دياب | 26 أغسطس 2020

    حلف الناتو واستراتيجية "الاحتواء الجديدة" تجاه الصين: المحركات والتحديات والاحتمالات

    شكَّل الاتحاد السوفيتي السابق التحدي الأبرز للغرب والولايات المتحدة تحديداً على الصعيدين الأيديولوجي والعسكري، منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية وحتى سقوط جدار برلين في نوفمبر 1989، لكن منذ تلك اللحظة بدأت الدوائر الاستراتيجية تُرشِّح الصين لتكون هي الخطر الذي يهدد مستقبل القوة الأميركية في العالم، وقد تواترت على مدى أكثر من عام مطالب الأمين العام لحلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو)، ينس ستولتنبرغ، بضرورة أن يضطلع التحالف بدور سياسي أكبر في الشؤون العالمية، وحتى لمساعدة دول المحيطين الهندي والهادئ على التنافس مع صعود الصين.

  • محمد فايز فرحات | 09 يونيو 2020

    "الإندو-باسيفيك" بوصفهِ مَسْرحاً جديداً للسياسات الدولية وتأثيره في منطقة الخليج العربي

    تتناول هذه الورقة صعود مفهوم "الإندو-باسيفيك" باعتبارهِ مَسْرحاً جديداً لتفاعلات السياسة الدولية، وتَعرِض أهم المحركات التي وقفت وراء تطور هذا المفهوم وأبعاده وتداعياته الأمنية والسياسية والاستراتيجية حاضراً ومستقبلاً. كما تُحلل طبيعة الملامح العامة للسياسات الإقليمية والدولية في منطقة "الإندو-باسيفيك"، ومدى تأثيرها الحاصلة والمحتملة في منطقة الخليج العربي.

  • محمد فايز فرحات | 13 مايو 2020

    أزمة "كوفيد-19" بين الولايات المتحدة والصين: المخاطر والتداعيات المحتملة

    رغم أن العلاقات الصينية- الأمريكية قد غلب عليها الطابع الصراعي منذ وصول إدارة دونالد ترامب في يناير 2017، لكن الأزمة الراهنة التي بدأت في التشكل بين البلدين على خلفية أزمة فيروس "كوفيد-19"، ربما تكون الأكثر خطورة في تاريخ العلاقات بين البلدين، كونها تنطوي على مخاطر بناء تكتل دولي ضد الصين إذا نجحت الولايات المتحدة في تحميل الصين مسؤولية النشأة المُخلَّقة (المصطنعة) للفيروس و"تراخيها المقصود" في تحذير دول العالم من عواقب هذا المرض، وإقناع أكبر عدد ممكن من الدول بهذه الفرضية، الأمر الذي سيكون له تداعياته الاستراتيجية الخطيرة على الصين في أكثر من مستوى.

  • محمد فايز فرحات | 26 أبريل 2020

    سلاسل التوريد وأزمة "كوفيد-19": المشكلات الراهنة والاتجاهات المستقبلية المحتملة

    نتج عن تركُّز أزمة "كوفيد-19" في الصين، خلال الفترة من ديسمبر 2019 وحتى فبراير 2020، توقُّف العديد من هذه السلاسل عن العمل، ما أدى إلى توقف عدد من الشركات الكبرى -سواء داخل الصين أو خارجها- عن الإنتاج، الأمر الذي أثار في حينه التساؤلات حول جدوى الاعتماد على سلاسل التوريد الصينية. لكن مع اتساع رقعة انتشار الفيروس وانتقاله إلى أوروبا والولايات المتحدة ومعظم الأقاليم الأخرى، اتخذت مشكلة سلاسل التوريد طابعاً عالمياً أكثر من كونها مشكلة صينية، ومن ثمّ انتقل السؤال من جدوى الاعتماد على سلاسل التوريد الصينية إلى مناقشة مشكلة سلاسل التوريد بشكل عام.

  • محمد فايز فرحات | 19 مارس 2020

    الخبرة الصينية في مواجهة "كورونا" المُستَجَد: عوامل النجاح وأوجه الضعف، والدروس المُستفادة

    ظهر فيروس كورونا المُسْتَجَد، كما بات معروفاً، داخل إحدى المدن الصينية (ووهان) في ديسمبر 2019، وتنامت معدلات الإصابة به والوفاة بسببه بشكل سريع، الأمر الذي حدا بالسلطات الصينية إلى إعلان حالة الطوارئ القصوى في العديد من مقاطعات البلاد لمواجهة الانتشار السريع للمرض. وبفعل الطريقة المتشددة التي اعتمدتها الحكومة الصينية في إدارة أزمة تفشي الفيروس، أخذت معدلات الإصابة والوفاة في التراجع منذ الثلث الأخير من فبراير 2020 على نحو ملحوظ، ووصل هذا التراجع حد الإعلان عن عدم تسجيل أي إصابات جديدة محليّة المصدر بالفيروس في 19 مارس الجاري. تُلقي هذه الورقة الضوء على بعض جوانب الخبرة الصينية في مواجهة تفشي فيروس كورونا المُستَجَد، وكيف نجحت في إدارة واحدة من أخطر الأزمات الصحية التي واجهتها البلاد في تاريخها المعاصر واحتواء آثارها، وما هي أبرز أوجه الضعف التي تخللت هذه العملية، وما الذي يُمكِن للعالم أن يتعلَّمه من ذلك كله.

  • محمد فايز فرحات | 13 فبراير 2020

    الصين وأزمة "كورونا": كشف حساب أوَّلي للتكاليف الاقتصادية والسياسية

    تطورت أزمة تفشِّي فيروس "كورونا" في الصين بسرعة لافتة للنظر، ولم يعد التعاطي مع هذه الأزمة همَّاً محلياً صينياً وحسب، بل اتخذ طابعاً عالمياً متزايداً، بالنظر لخصائص هذه النسخة الجديدة من الفيروس، والعوامل التي ساعدت على انتشار المرض وتوسُّع نطاق تفشِّيه في مدى زمني قصير نسبياً، وطبيعة المخاوف التي أثارها لدى مؤسسات المجتمع الدولي وبين عموم الناس العاديين في أماكن مختلفة من العالم.

East Asia

Featured Topic

  • Mohamed Fayez Farahat | 09 Sep 2020

    Japan’s Political Map after Shinzo Abe

    On 28 August 2020, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe announced his resignation from his post as head of government and head of the ruling party in Japan, thus opening the way to competition for the leadership of the ruling Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), which has been chaired by Abe since 2012. Given that the party has parliamentary majority, the winning candidate is not expected to face any parliamentary obstacles that would prevent him from assuming the post of prime minister. This means that the winning candidate would take over the remaining term of Abe’s government until the next parliamentary elections scheduled for October 2021.

  • Ahmed Diab | 26 Aug 2020

    NATO and the “New Containment” Strategy Towards China: Motives, Challenges and Possibilities

    The former Soviet Union posed the most prominent challenge to the West and the US in particular at the ideological and military levels, since World War II until the fall of the Berlin Wall in November 1989. However, from that moment on, strategic circles began to nominate China as the threat that would endanger the future of US power in the world. For more than a year, NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg has demanded that the alliance assume a greater political role in world affairs, and even help countries in the Indian and Pacific oceans compete with the rise of China.

  • Mohamed Fayez Farahat | 09 Jun 2020

    Indo-Pacific as a New Theater for International Policies and its Impact on the Arabian Gulf Region

    This paper deals with the rise of the concept of the Indo-Pacific as a new theatre for the interactions of international politics. It portrays the main drivers of the development of this concept and its security, political and strategic dimensions and implications, both at present and in the future. It also analyzes the nature of the general features of regional and international policies in the Indo-Pacific region and the extent of its actual and potential impact on the Arabian Gulf region.

  • Mohamed Fayez Farahat | 13 May 2020

    Covid-19 Crisis between the U.S and China: Risks and Potential Repercussions

    While the Chinese-US relations have been characterized by a conflictual nature since the arrival of the Donald Trump administration in January 2017, the current crisis, that had started to take shape between both countries in light of the COVID-19 virus crisis, is perhaps the most serious in the history of the relations between both countries. It involves the risks of building an international anti-China bloc if the US manages to hold China responsible for the synthetic (artificial) origin of the virus and its “intentional laziness” in warning countries of the world of the consequences of this disease and to convince the largest number possible of countries of this assumption. This would have serious strategic implications for China at more than one level.

  • Mohamed Fayez Farahat | 26 Apr 2020

    Supply Chains and the COVID-19 Crisis: Current Problems and Potential Future Trends

    The concentration of the COVID-19 crisis in China, during the period from December 2019 till February 2020, has resulted in the disruption of many of those chains. This has resulted in the disruption of production in a number of major companies, both inside and outside China. This has then resulted in questions being raised about the feasibility of relying on Chinese supply chains. However, with the further spread of the virus and its extension to Europe, the US and most other regions, the supply chain problems have gained a global rather than a Chinese nature. Thus, the question of the feasibility of reliance on Chinese supply chains has shifted to the discussion of the supply chain problem in general.

  • Mohamed Fayez Farahat | 19 Mar 2020

    China’s Experience in Confronting COVID-19: Factors of Success, Aspects of Weakness and Lessons Learned

    Coronavirus, or COVID-19 as it has come to be known, first appeared in a Chinese city (Wuhan) in December 2019. Infections and deaths because of the virus grew at an increasing pace, which led the Chinese authorities to declare top-level emergency in many of the country’s provinces to counter the rapid spread of the disease. As a result of the tight method adopted by the Chinese government in managing the virus spread crisis, rates of infection and death began to fall remarkably starting from the third quarter of February 2020. So much so that no new infections of local origin were recorded on 19 March. This paper sheds light on some aspects of the Chinese experience in countering the spread of coronavirus, how China succeeded in managing and containing the impacts of one of the most dangerous health crises which the country has faced in its contemporary history, the most salient vulnerabilities relevant to this process, and what the world can learn from all this.

  • Mohamed Fayez Farahat | 13 Feb 2020

    China’s Coronavirus Crisis: Economic and Political Costs

    The outbreak of the novel Coronavirus in China has developed strikingly fast, making the response to this crisis not an exclusive Chinese responsibility, but rather a global duty. This is due to the characteristics of this new strain of the virus, the factors that helped the spread of the disease in a relatively short period of time, and the concerns it stirred at the international level and among ordinary people in different parts of the world.