الولايات المتحدة

إيجازات

  • أحمد دياب | 08 سبتمبر 2020

    العامل الديني في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية: أبعاد التوظيف وحدود التأثير

    تعتبر الولايات المتحدة الأكثر تديناً بين الدول الغربية المتقدمة، وبحسب دراسة لمؤسسة غالوب عام 2016، فإن 80% من الأمريكيين يُعرِّفون أنفسهم بأنهم "متدينون". وعلى الرغم من أن السياسة الأمريكية تقوم على مبدأ الفصل التام بين الكنيسة والدولة، إلا أن تأثير المتدينين واضح في اختيار الرؤساء، وها هو يلعب دوراً مهماً في الحملات الانتخابية الممهدة لسباق الخريف الرئاسي. لكن إلى أي مدى سيكون العامل الديني مؤثراً وفاعلاً في حسم نتيجة الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة؟

  • عمرو عبد العاطي | 02 سبتمبر 2020

    دَعْم جُمهوريين بارزين للمرشَّح الديمقراطي جو بايدن، وأثره في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية

    رغم سيطرة الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب - إلى حد كبير - على الحزب الجمهوري، وعلى ولاء أهم قادته ومناصريه، إلا أن عدداً من المسؤولين البارزين في إدارات جمهورية سابقة (رونالد ريجان، وجورج بوش الأب، وجورج بوش الابن)، وحتى بعض الذين خدموا في إدارة ترامب أعلنوا مؤخراً تأييدهم لمرشح الحزب الديمقراطي، ونائب الرئيس السابق، جو بايدن، وشرعوا في العمل من أجل فوزه في الانتخابات الرئاسية المقررة في 3 نوفمبر المقبل، لأنهم يعتقدون أن انتخاب ترامب لفترة رئاسية ثانية سيضُر بالأمن القومي الأمريكي.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 24 أغسطس 2020

    مواقف النخب السياسية الأمريكية من معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية

    ركَّزت مواقف النخبة السياسية الأمريكية من المعاهدة بين دولة الإمارات وإسرائيل، على بحث مكاسب الأطراف الثلاثة (الإمارات والولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل) منها، وتداعياتها على الأمن والاستقرار في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، وعملية السلام الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية التي تشهد جموداً منذ عقود، وأخيراً احتمالات أن تحذو دول عربية أخرى حذو الإمارات في تطبيع علاقاتها مع إسرائيل.

  • عمرو عبد العاطي | 16 أغسطس 2020

    اختيار كامالا هاريس وفُرَص فوز جو بايدن في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية لعام 2020

    بعد حملة من التدقيق والفحص لسجلات أكثر من اثني عشرة مُرشَّحة للمنصب، أعلن المرشَّح الديمقراطي جو بايدن في 11 أغسطس الجاري اختياره للسيناتور عن ولاية كاليفورنيا، ومنافسته السابقة بالانتخابات التمهيدية للحزب، كامالا هاريس نائبةً له، حيث كانت أقل المرشحات للمنصب عيوباً وضعفاً.

  • عمرو عبد العاطي | 18 يوليو 2020

    تراجُع الدعم الجمهوري لترامب في انتخابات 2020 الرئاسية: الأسباب والانعكاسات

    صَوَّت الجمهوريون في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي، باستثناء السيناتور ميت رومني، في بداية العام الجاري ضد عزل الرئيس دونالد ترامب، ولكن مع قُرْب موعد الانتخابات الرئاسية المقررة في 3 نوفمبر المقبل، لا يبدو أن جميع الجمهوريين باتوا يصطفُّون خلف الرئيس الساعي للفوز بفترة رئاسية ثانية، إذ إن الانتقادات التي أخذت تُوجَّه له من أعضاء حزبه فاقت في كثير من الأحيان تلك التي يُوجِّهها خصومه الديمقراطيون.

  • عمرو عبد العاطي | 29 يونيو 2020

    قرار الرئيس ترامب تخفيض القوات الأمريكية في ألمانيا: الدوافع والتداعيات

    بعد تسريبات نشرتها صحيفة "وول ستريت جورنال" الأمريكية في 5 يونيو 2020 استناداً إلى تصريحات لمسؤول في الحكومة الأمريكية قال فيها إن الرئيس دونالد ترامب أَمَرَ وزارة الدفاع بخفض عدد الجنود الأمريكيين الموجودين على أراضي ألمانيا بواقع 9500 جندي من إجمالي عدد 34500 جندي يتمركزون هناك، ذَكَر الرئيس الأمريكي في منتصف يونيو الجاري أن بلاده ستخفض عدد جنودها المتمركزين في ألمانيا إلى 25 ألف جندي، مُعتَبِراً أن الوجود العسكري الأمريكي هناك تترتب عليه تكلفة هائلة تتحملها واشنطن من دون مقابل.

  • عمرو عبد العاطي | 18 مايو 2020

    تأثير جائحة كوفيد-19 في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية

    تشكل جائحة كوفيد-19 تحدياً غير مسبوقٍ للانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية، إذ جاءت في منتصف الخطوة الأولى من ثلاث خطوات مخطط لإجرائها، وهي اختيار كل حزب مرشحه لها من خلال الانتخابات التمهيدية أو المجامع الانتخابية، ما دفع بعض الولايات لتأجيل انتخاباتها التمهيدية للصيف؛ على أمل أن تكون الظروف أفضل حالاً ليذهب الناخبون إلى صناديق الاقتراع.

  • محمد قواص | 22 أبريل 2020

    أبعاد الجدل الأمريكي-الصيني حول فيروس كورونا وتداعياته المحتملة

    غيَّرت الرواية التي صدرت عن الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب حول أصول ظهور فيروس كورونا مسار القصة التي قدمتها الصين حول ظروف نشوء الفيروس. وما بين نسخة واشنطن ونسخة بكين حول واقعة علمية يُفتَرَض ألا تخضع لاجتهاد، استعر الجدل، السياسي تارة والعلمي تارة أخرى، حول ما إذا كان الفيروس تطور بشكل طبيعي أم تم تخليقه بأيد بشرية داخل مختبر في الصين.

United States

Briefs

  • Ahmed Diab | 08 Sep 2020

    Significance and Impact of Employing Religion in the American Presidential Election

    The US is considered the most religious among developed Western countries. According to a 2016 Gallup study, 80 percent of Americans define themselves as "religious". While the US policy is based on the principle of complete separation between church and state, the influence of religious people is clear in the choice of presidents, and it plays an important role in the election campaigns leading up to the autumn 2020 presidential race. However, to what extent would the religious factor be influential and effective in determining the outcome of the upcoming presidential elections?

  • Amr Abdelatty | 02 Sep 2020

    Prominent Republicans Support Biden: Impact on Presidential Elections

    Despite President Donald Trump largely having control over the Republican Party and the loyalty of his staff, a number of prominent officials from the Republican administrations of Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, and George W. Bush, and even some of those who have served under Trump, have announced their support for Democratic Party candidate and former Vice-President Joe Biden. They have started working to achieve a victory for Biden in the presidential elections scheduled for November 3, 2020, as they see Trump’s re-election as a threat to national security.

  • EPC | 24 Aug 2020

    Position of American Political Elites on the Emirati-Israeli Peace Treaty

    The positions of the US political elite on the treaty between the UAE and Israel have focused on examining the gains of the three sides (the UAE, the US and Israel) from it, its implications for security and stability in the Middle East region and the Palestinian-Israeli peace process which has been stagnant for decades, and finally the possibilities that other Arab countries would follow the example of the UAE in normalizing their relations with Israel.

  • Amr Abdelatty | 16 Aug 2020

    The Choice of Kamala Harris and Joe Biden’s Chances of Winning 2020 U.S Presidential Elections

    After a campaign of scrutiny and examination of the records of more than a dozen female candidates for the position, Democratic candidate Joe Biden announced on 11 August 2020 that he has chosen the Senator for California and his former rival in the Party’s primaries Kamala Harris as his deputy, as she was the candidate for the position with the fewest flaws.

  • Amr Abdulatty | 18 Jul 2020

    Drop in Republican Support for Trump during 2020 Presidential Elections: Causes and Consequences

    In early 2020, Republicans in the US Senate – with the exception of Senator Mitt Romney – voted not to impeach President Donald Trump. As the scheduled date of the next presidential elections (November 3, 2020) approaches, however, not all Republicans appear to be ready to line up behind their president, who is seeking a second term. Criticism of Trump from within the Republican Party has often outstripped that from his Democratic opponents.

  • Amr Abdelatty | 29 Jun 2020

    President Trump’s Decision to Reduce US Troops in Germany: Motives and Implications

    After leaks published by the US newspaper The Wall Street Journal on 5 June 2020 based on statements by a US government official in which he said that President Donald Trump has ordered the Defense Department to reduce the number of US troops present in Germany by 9,500 soldiers out of a total of 34,500 soldiers stationed there, in mid-June 2020, the US President said that his country will reduce the number of its soldiers stationed in Germany to 25 thousand. He considered that the US presence there incurs enormous costs that are borne by Washington in return for nothing.

  • Amr Abdelatty | 18 May 2020

    The Impact of Covid-19 Pandemic on the Upcoming U.S Presidential Elections

    The COVID-19 pandemic constitutes an unprecedented challenge for the US presidential elections. It coincides with the middle of the first of three scheduled steps to hold them, namely the choice by each party of a candidate through the primary elections or caucuses. This has led some states to delay their primary elections till the summer, in the hope that circumstances will get better for voters to go to the polls.

  • Mohamad Kawas | 22 Apr 2020

    Significance of the US-Chinese Controversy about Coronavirus and its Potential Consequences

    US President Donald Trump’s account of the origins of the coronavirus has changed the path of China’s account of the circumstances of the emergence of the virus. Amidst the versions of both Washington and Beijing of a supposedly non-disputable scientific incident, controversy, political at times and scientific at others, has raged over whether the virus has developed naturally or was man-made inside a laboratory in China.