الطاقة

قضية متخصصة

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 19 مايو 2020

    تأثير السياسات النفطية للولايات المتحدة وروسيا في مستقبل أسواق النفط

    أثّرت السياسات النفطية للدول الكبرى في سوق النفط على شكل السوق واستجابته للمتغيرات المحيطة به، ففي الوقت الذي ساهمت فيه السياسة الروسية في الدخول بحرب أسعار مع السعودية في شهر مارس 2020 بما أدى إلى الهبوط الحاد لأسعار النفط الخام، فإن السياسة الأمريكية غيّرت توجهاتها على المدى القصير في سبيل الحفاظ على صناعة النفط الصخري الأمريكية عبر الدفع نحو وقف حرب الأسعار بين السعودية وروسيا وإتمام اتفاق "أوبك بلس" الجديد، المُبرَم في 12 أبريل. ويدلل ذلك على أن هناك تشابكات كثيرة في المصالح بين هذه الدول، بما أدى إلى وجود اتفاق حول بعض السياسات، بالرغم من التعارض في الأهداف الخاصة بهذه الدول في سوق النفط.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 10 مايو 2020

    تقييمات أسواق النفط المستقبلية والاستثمارات الحالية في قطاعي النفط والغاز

    واجهت أسواقُ النفط أكبرَ أزماتها على الإطلاق في العصر الحديث، حيث أثرت الأبعاد السلبية لأزمة فيروس كورونا وأزمة حرب الأسعار بين السعودية وروسيا على قطاع النفط بشكل كبير فيما يتعلق بالأسعار والاستثمارات القائمة والمستقبلية، فقد أصابت هذه الأزمات القطاع بالشلل، فالصدمة غير مسبوقة لأسواق الطاقة العالمية سواء على مستوى سرعة الانتشار أو حجم التأثير، في الوقت نفسه تسبب تفشي وباء كورونا في انهيار الطلب العالمي على الغاز الطبيعي المسال وأربك الإنتاج الصناعي. وفيما يتعلق بالاستثمارات في قطاع النفط فإن أحد التأثيرات الأساسية لأزمة عرض النفط اليوم هو إعلان الشركات الكبرى في مجال النفط تخفيض النفقات الرأسمالية وخاصةً في مجال استكشاف وتطوير الحقول الجديدة، فأسعار النفط المنخفضة، سوف تترجم إلى أسعار نفط أعلى في المستقبل، إذا توقفت الاستثمارات في الحفر والتنقيب والإنتاج. تهدف الورقة إلى إجراء تقييم للوضع الحالي والاستثمارات الحالية في قطاعي النفط والغاز، وتوقُع السيناريوهات المستقبلية التي يمكن أن تواجه قطاع النفط بعد الضربات القاسية التي تلقاها خلال الفترة الماضية، وما الذي يمكن أن تعنيه تلك الصدمة الكبيرة في أسواق الطاقة على مستقبل صناعة الوقود الأحفوري؟ وهل يمكن أن تمثل نهاية الاعتمادية المستمرة على النفط؟

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 27 أبريل 2020

    مواقف الدول المؤثرة على الصعيد الدولي في أسعار النفط: المحددات والسيناريوهات المحتملة

    دخلت السعودية في حرب أسعار مع روسيا في شهر مارس 2020 بعد رفض روسيا تجديد اتفاق خفض الإنتاج (اتفاق أوبك+) بقيم خفض إضافية لمواجهة أزمة نقص الطلب على النفط الناتجة عن تراجع الاستهلاك العالمي، واستخدمت السعودية ورقة إغراق السوق بالنفط الخام كأداة ضغط على كافة الأطراف المنتجة، وخاصةً روسيا؛ فالسعودية التي تستطيع التعامل بأسعار النفط المنخفضة لفترة محدودة بسبب حاجتها لسعر برميل قريب من مستوى الـ (60-80 دولاراً) لدعم خططها الاقتصادية، اختارت خيار الضغط على روسيا التي روجت لقدرتها التعامل مع أسعار النفط القريبة من 20 دولاراً لفترات طويلة، ولكن التجربة أثبتت عدم قدرة روسيا على الاستمرار، بعد أن عانت من الأسعار المنخفضة، كما تأثرت صناعة النفط الصخري الأمريكية، مما أكد أن خطوة إغراق السوق هي خطوة سلبية على جميع الأطراف.

Energy

Featured Topic

  • EPC | 19 May 2020

    The Impact of US and Russian Oil Policies on the Future of the Oil Markets

    The policies adopted by the leading countries in the oil market influence the shape of the market and how it responds to changes. In March 2020, Russian policy drew the country into a price war with Saudi Arabia, leading to a sharp drop in crude oil prices. In response, the USA changed its short-term approach in order to protect the US shale oil industry, by pushing for an end to the Russian–Saudi price war and the completion of the OPEC+ deal, which was concluded on April 12. The deal is evidence of the many overlapping interests that these countries share, which enabled them to reach a deal on a number of policies despite having different objectives for the oil market.

  • EPC | 10 May 2020

    Assessments of Future Oil Markets and Current Investments in the Oil and Gas Sectors

    Oil markets have experienced their biggest crisis in the modern age. The negative dimensions of the coronavirus crisis and the price war crisis between Saudi Arabia and Russia have greatly affected the oil sector in terms of prices and existing and future investments. Those crises have brought the sector to a standstill. On the one hand, the shock has been unprecedented for the global energy markets in terms of both the speed of its spread and the size of its impact. On the other hand, the spread of coronavirus has led to the collapse of global demand for liquefied natural gas (LNG) and disrupted industrial production. With regard to investments in the oil sector, one of the main effects of the oil supply crisis today is the announcement by major companies in the oil sector of reducing capital expenditures, particularly in the area of exploration and development of new oilfields. Low oil prices will be translated into higher oil prices in the future if investments in drilling, exploration and production are halted. This paper aims to assess the current situation and investments in the oil and gas sectors and predict the future scenarios that can face the oil sector after the heavy blows it received during the past period. It poses the questions: what could this major shock in the energy markets mean for the future of the fossil fuel industry? and could it amount to the end of continuous reliance on oil?

  • EPC | 27 Apr 2020

    Positions of Countries Internationally Influencing Oil Prices: Determinants and Potential Scenarios

    Saudi Arabia went to a price war with Russia in March 2020 after Russia refused to renew the deal to cut production (the OPEC+ deal) with further cuts to counter the crisis of demand shortage as a result of the decline in global consumption. Saudi Arabia resorted to dumping the market with crude oil to pressure all producers, particularly Russia. Capable of dealing with low oil prices for a limited period due to its need of a barrel price close to the 60-80 dollar level to support its economic plans, Saudi Arabia opted to pressure Russia which had claimed to be capable of accommodating oil prices close to 20 dollars for long periods. However, experience has demonstrated that Russia is incapable of going on after having suffered from low prices. US shale oil industry was also affected, which confirmed that the step of dumping the market was a negative one for all parties.