شرق أفريقيا

إيجازات

  • سمير رمزي | 09 سبتمبر 2020

    تأجيل الإعلان عن إقامة علاقات رسمية بين السودان وإسرائيل عقب زيارة بومبيو للخرطوم: الدوافع والدلالات

    لم تُفلِح زيارة وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو إلى الخرطوم، والذي وصلها في 25 أغسطس 2020 قادماً من تل أبيب، في دفع الحكومة السودانية نحو اتخاذ خطوات جديدة نحو التقارُب مع إسرائيل، وذلك رغم الحماس الذي أبداه رئيس مجلس السيادة السوداني والقائد العام للقوات المُسلحة الفريق أول عبد الفتاح البُرهان تجاه هذه القضية في فبراير 2020، إبان لقائه المُفاجئ في العاصمة الأوغندية كمبالا مع رئيس الحكومة الإسرائيلية بنيامين نتنياهو، بترتيب أمريكي، في أول وآخر لقاء مُعلَن بين قيادات البلدين حتى سبتمبر 2020.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 08 سبتمبر 2020

    اتفاق جوبا للمصالحة الوطنية السودانية: النتائج والآفاق

    وقّعت الحكومةُ الانتقالية السودانية في 31 أغسطس 2020 اتفاقَ سلام مع حركات التمرد المسلحة، بما اعتبرته السلطات الحاكمة في الخرطوم إعادةَ تأسيس للدولة السودانية وإنهاء لمسار الحرب الأهلية الطويلة التي انفجرت منذ عقود في المناطق الجنوبية والغربية السودانية. تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على بنود اتفاقية السلام، وتحاول استشراف آفاق الاتفاقية وانعكاساتها على الوضع السياسي السوداني.

  • حمدي بشير | 09 يونيو 2020

    تصاعُد نشاط حركة الشباب في كينيا: المخاطر والسيناريوهات

    تشهد كينيا تنامياً ملحوظاً في نشاط حركة "شباب المجاهدين" الصومالية. ففي أبريل الماضي، قتلت الحركة ستة من الجنود في شمال شرق البلاد. وقَبْلها، وتحديداً في شهر يناير، شنَّت هجوماً على قاعدة جوية أمريكية. وبرغم الضربات الأمريكية المتواصلة لمعاقلها، ما تزال الحركة تُصعِّد من عملياتها، خاصةً في الجزء الشمالي الشرقي.

  • أيمن شبانة | 25 مارس 2020

    اتفاق السلام في جنوب السودان واحتمالات انفاذِه

    في 13 مارس 2020 أصدر سلفاكير ميارديت رئيس دولة جنوب السودان قراراً جمهورياً بتعيين أعضاء حكومة "الوحدة الوطنية الانتقالية"، وفقاً لاستحقاقات اتفاق السلام. وهو التطور الذي فتح أبواب الجدل بين من يراه خطوة حقيقية لانفاذ اتفاق السلام واستعادة الأمن والاستقرار، في مقابل من يعتبره مجرد استجابة للضغوط الخارجية، وشراء للوقت، وتأجيل لصدام وشيك قد تنتكس بسببه البلاد إلى حالة الحرب الأهلية الشاملة.

  • أيمن شبانة | 11 مارس 2020

    السودان: الجدل حول محاكمة عُمَر البشير والسيناريوهات المحتملة

    يعيش السودان حالة من الجدل والترقُّب على المستويين الرسمي والشعبي منذ الإعلان عن احتمالية تسليم الرئيس السابق عُمَر البشير وعددٍ من أعوانه إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في لاهاي. وتركَّزت الخلافات بين مؤيدي هذا التوجه ومعارضيه في ثلاث نقاط أساسية هي: مدى صدق نوايا السلطة الانتقالية في تسليم البشير بالفعل، وجدوى هذه الخطوة لضمان سيادة القانون وتحقيق العدل، ودورها في ضمان الانتقال السلمي صوب بناء النظام السياسي الجديد وإحلال السلام في البلاد.

  • عدنان موسى | 25 فبراير 2020

    الانتخابات البرلمانية وآفاق التغيير السياسي في إثيوبيا

    على الرغم من النجاحات الملموسة التي حققها رئيس الوزراء الإثيوبي آبي أحمد على صعيد السياستين الداخلية والخارجية منذ تسلمه السلطة في ابريل 2018، إلا أنه ما يزال يواجه العديد من التحديات التي يُمثِّل بعضها تهديداً مباشراً لاستمراريته ومستقبله في الحكم، فضلاً عن زعزعة استقرار الدولة الإثيوبية نفسها؛ لاسيما مع اقتراب عقد الانتخابات البرلمانية في البلاد في أغسطس 2020، وما يرتبط بها من ترتيبات ومساعي لإعادة تشكيل موازين القوى الراهنة في الداخل الإثيوبي، ما جعل المشهد يكتسي مزيداً من الغموض حول مستقبل السلطة الحاكمة في أديس أبابا، وآفاق عملية التغيير السياسي وحدودها هناك.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 30 يناير 2020

    مخاطر تمدُّد تنظيم "داعش" في السودان

    أعلنت أجهزةُ الأمن السودانية في ديسمبر 2019 إحباطَ عملية تسلل لعناصر إرهابية عبر الحدود مع تشاد، وقامت بتسليمهم للحكومة التشادية. وجاءت هذه التطوَّرات بعد إعلان الحكومة الانتقالية، التي تم تنصيبها في سبتمبر 2019، إغلاقَ الحدود مع دول الجوار، لاسيما ليبيا وأفريقيا الوسطى، وقد جاء ذلك عقب تحذيرات من جهات داخلية وخارجية من تمدد "داعش" في السودان، في وقتٍ تواجه فيه الحكومة العديد من التحديات السياسية والاقتصادية والأمنية، يأتي على رأسها قضية رفع اسم السودان من القائمة الأمريكية للدول الراعية للإرهاب.

  • أيمن شبانة | 15 ديسمبر 2019

    "تفكيك" نظام الإنقاذ في السودان: التدابير والتداعيات

    في 28 نوفمبر 2019 اعتمدت السلطة الانتقالية في السودان ثلاثة قوانين، تستهدف تفكيك بنية نظام الإنقاذ الوطني وإزالة التمكين، وإتاحة الحريات العامة، وتحقيق العدل، الأمر الذي ما آثار جدلاً واسعاً بين مؤيد يعتبرها ضرورة لتأمين عملية الانتقال السياسي وبناء الدولة الجديدة، ومعارض يرى عدم أولويتها مقارنة بالاستحقاقات والتحديات الأخرى، ويخشى من تداعياتها على استقرار البلاد ومستقبلها في ظل الصدام المحتمل بين السلطة الانتقالية وقوى الثورة المضادة، بما يستوجب التريث والحذر.

East Africa

Briefs

  • ​Hamdi Bashir | 22 Oct 2020

    Security Arrangements and Incorporation of Armed Movements in Sudan’s Military Establishment: Chances, Challenges and Scenarios

    On 3 October 2020, the Sudanese transitional government signed a peace agreement with the armed factions affiliated to the Revolutionary Front. The agreement comprised eight protocols, the most prominent of which are the security arrangements and the integration of the armed movements into a unified Sudanese army. However, this agreement was signed amidst the boycott of many armed movements, especially the Sudan Liberation Army, Abdul Wahid al-Nur’s Wing (SLA-AW), and the Sudan People's Liberation Movement-North (SPLM-N) (Abdel Aziz al-Hilu's Wing). This raises many questions about the future of the integration of the armed movements into the Sudanese army.

  • Samir Ramzy | 09 Sep 2020

    Postponing the Announcement of Establishing Official Ties between Sudan and Israel after Pompeo’s Visit to Khartoum: Motivations and Connotations

    During his recent visit to Khartoum on August 25, 2020, US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo had hoped to push the Sudanese government toward a rapprochement with Israel, but he left empty‑handed. This comes despite the earlier enthusiasm displayed by General Abdel Fattah al‑Burhan, Chair of the Sudanese Sovereign Council and Commander-in-Chief of the Sudanese Armed Forces, at the surprise meeting with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu in Kampala, Uganda, in February 2020. That meeting, arranged by the USA, is the only public meeting held between the heads of the two countries to date.

  • EPC | 08 Sep 2020

    Juba Accord for National Reconciliation in Sudan: Outcomes and Prospects

    On 31 August 2020, the Sudanese transitional government signed a peace agreement with the armed insurgency movements, in what was considered by the ruling authorities in Khartoum a re-establishment of the Sudanese state and an end to the course of the long civil war that erupted decades ago in the southern and western regions of Sudan.

  • Hamdi Bashir | 09 Jun 2020

    Increasing Activities of Al-Shabab Movement in Kenya: Risks and Scenarios

    The Somali-based Harakat al-Shabaab al-Mujahideen (Al-Shabaab) organization has been dramatically expanding its activities in Kenya since the start of the year. In January the group attacked a US airbase, and in April it killed six soldiers in the northeast of the country. Despite continued US strikes against the group’s strongholds, Al-Shabaab has continued to step up its operations, especially in northeastern Kenya.

  • Ayman Shabana | 25 Mar 2020

    The Peace Deal in South Sudan and Prospects of Implementation

    On 13 March 2020, Salva Kiir Mayardit, the President of South Sudan, issued a presidential decree to appoint members of the Transitional Government of National Unity in accordance with the terms of the peace deal. This development paved the way for the debate between those who see it as a real step towards the implementation of the peace deal and the restoration of security and stability and those who consider it a mere response to external pressures, an attempt to buy time, and the deferral of an imminent clash because of which the country could relapse into overall civil war.

  • Ayman Shabana | 11 Mar 2020

    Sudan: Controversy Regarding Omar Al-Bashir’s Trial and Likely Scenarios

    Sudan has been caught in a deep controversy at the official and popular levels following the announcement that former President Omar al-Bashir and a number of his aides might be handed over to the International Criminal Court (ICC) in The Hague. The debate between the opponents and proponents of the potential move focus on three main talking points: The extent to which the transitional authority’s intentions to hand over Al-Bashir were truthful; the feasibility of this step in ensuring the rule of law and justice; and its role in ensuring a peaceful transition towards building a new political order and bringing peace to the country.

  • Adnan Mousa | 25 Feb 2020

    Parliamentary Elections and Prospects of Political Change in Ethiopia

    Despite the tangible successes Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed achieved at the domestic and foreign policies’ levels since he took office in April 2018, he still faces numerous challenges. Some of these challenges pose a direct threat to his future in power, as well as Ethiopia's stability, especially as the country prepares for parliamentary elections in August 2020. This has made the Ethiopian political scene more ambiguous about the future of the ruling elite in Addis Ababa, and the prospects and limits of any political change.

  • EPC | 30 Jan 2020

    The Risks of "Islamic State" Expansion into Sudan

    On December 6, 2019, the Sudanese security agency announced that it had thwarted an attempt by terrorist elements to enter the country across the border with Chad, and the individuals in question had been handed over to the Chad government . This occurred after the Sudanese transitional government, which was formed in September 2019, announced the closure of the borders with neighboring countries, in particular Libya and the Central African Republic , in response to warnings by internal and external parties that Islamic State was heading for Sudan , at a time when the government was already facing multiple political, economic, and security challenges, in particular its inclusion on the US list of State sponsors of terrorism.