العراق

سيناريوهات

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 09 ديسمبر 2020

    جو بايدن وتحديات الاستراتيجية الأمريكية في العراق

    شكَّل العراق أحد أهم الأجندة الغائبة عن سباق الانتخابات الأمريكية هذا العام، وذلك على عكس الانتخابات السابقة التي كان فيها، وتحديداً منذ عام 2003، حاضراً بقوة في المناظرات الرئاسية، أو حتى في تصريحات المرشحين. ويمكن إرجاع هذا الغياب إلى أن العراق قد يمثل قضية سياسة خارجية ثانوية بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة في المرحلة المقبلة، وأن شؤون الشرق الأوسط الأخرى، بما في ذلك الاتفاق النووي الإيراني والصراع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني، تُمثِّل مخاوف أكثر إلحاحاً، وهو ما يطرح تساؤلاً حول مدى أهمية العراق للإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة بقيادة الرئيس جو بايدن. وهذه الورقة محاولة لإلقاء الضوء على طبيعة النهج الذي سيتعامل به الرئيس بايدن مع الملف العراقي، وخيارته المستقبلية.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 02 سبتمبر 2020

    هل ستُجرى حقاً الانتخابات المبكرة في العراق؟

    فاجأ رئيسُ الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي مختلف القوى السياسية حين أعلن في 31 يوليو الماضي عن عقد الانتخابات المبكرة في السادس من يونيو 2021. ومنذ الإعلان يقود الكاظمي معركةً سياسية خفية مع الكتل الكبرى في البرلمان العراقي حول الانتخابات المبكرة. تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على دوافع الكاظمي لتحديد موعد الانتخابات المبكرة، ومواقف القوى السياسية من هذه الخطوة، وآفاق عقد الانتخابات المبكرة.

  • محمد الحديثي | 24 أغسطس 2020

    زيارة الكاظمي إلى واشنطن ومستقبل العلاقات العراقية-الأمريكية

    اكتسبت زيارة رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أهميةً كبيرةً في سياق العلاقات العراقية-الأمريكية، بالنظر إلى طبيعة المتغيرات الكبرى التي تشهدها المنطقة وموقع العراق في إطار هذه التحولات، إلى جانب مكانة العراق في المُدْرَك الاستراتيجي الأمريكي ودوره في توازنات القوى الاقليمية والدولية؛ ففي الوقت الذي تتزايد مظاهر الصراع الأمريكي-الإيراني في المنطقة تبرز الساحة العراقية باعتبارها الأكثر سخونة لهذا الصراع وانعكاساته، وإلى جانب ذلك فإن استمرار حالة عدم الاستقرار السياسي في العراق مرتبطٌ باستمرار الدور الإيراني في هذا البلد والسعي الأمريكي المتواصل لتقليصه والحد من تأثيراته.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 27 مايو 2020

    حكومة الكاظمي في العراق: التحديات وفرص النجاح

    نجح مصطفى الكاظمي في تشكيل الحكومة العراقية الجديدة بعد سبعة أشهر من أزمة سياسية تفجرت إثر اندلاع الاحتجاجات المناهضة لحكومة عادل عبد المهدي المستقيل تحت ضغط الشارع. وتُواجه الكاظمي جملةُ تحديات سياسية واقتصادية وأمنية صعبة، والأهم إدارة أزمة التوتر الأمريكي-الإيراني في البلاد؛ فهل ستنجح حكومة الكاظمي في مواجهة هذه التحديات؟

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 28 مارس 2020

    تكليف عدنان الزرفي بتشكيل الحكومة العراقية وفُرص النجاح

    عقب انتهاء المهلة القانونية للكتل السياسية لتقديم مرشح لرئاسة الوزراء في 19 مارس 2020، ودخول العراق رسمياً مرحلة الفراغ الدستوري، أقدم رئيسُ الجمهورية برهم صالح على تكليف محافظ النجف الأسبق والنائب عن ائتلاف "النصر" عدنان الزرفي بمهمة تشكيل الحكومة المؤقتة، وهو ما سارعت بعض الأحزاب المقربة من طهران إلى الاعتراض عليه بشدة، رغم مشاركتها سلفاً في مشاورات "اللجنة السباعية" التي تمثلت فيها الكتل البرلمانية الرئيسية؛ ما يضع علامات استفهام على إمكانية فشل الرئيس المكلف في الفوز بثقة البرلمان كما حصل مع المكلّف السابق محمد علاوي. تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على كواليس تكليف الزرفي، ومواقف القوى السياسية من تكليفه، وفرص نجاح تكليفه.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 09 مارس 2020

    ماذا بعد اعتذار محمد علاوي عن عدم تشكيل الحكومة العراقية؟

    عادت الأزمة السياسية في العراق إلى المربع الأول، بعد اعتذار رئيس الوزراء المكلَّف محمد توفيق علاوي عن عدم تأليف الحكومة في الأول من مارس الجاري، ثم تهديد رئيس حكومة تصريف الأعمال عادل عبد المهدي بلجوئه إلى خيار "الغياب الطوعي" في حال عدم إيجاد بديل له، فيما لا تزال الكتل السياسية غيرة متفقة على مرشَّح يمكن أن يملأ الفراغ السياسي الحاصل ويُرضي الشارع الغاضب.

IRAQ

Scenarios

  • EPC | 09 Dec 2020

    Biden and Challenges to the American Strategy in Iraq

    ​Iraq constituted one of the most important agenda items that were absent from the US election race in 2020, in contrast to previous elections in which it was, specifically since 2003, strongly present in the presidential debates or even in the statements of the candidates. This absence can be attributed to the fact that Iraq may constitute a secondary foreign policy issue for the US in the coming stage, and that other Middle Eastern affairs, including the Iranian nuclear agreement and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, constitute more urgent concerns. This raises a question about the extent of Iraq’s importance for the new US administration led by President Joe Biden. This paper is an attempt to shed light on the nature of the approach with which President Biden will deal with the Iraqi issue, and his future options.

  • EPC | 02 Sep 2020

    Will Iraq Really See Early Elections?

    Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi took the political elites by surprise on July 31, 2020 when he announced that early elections would be held on June 6, 2021. He has since been leading a hidden political battle with the largest parliamentary blocs over the early elections. This paper sheds light on al-Kadhimi’s motives for bringing the elections forward, the stances of the political elites regarding the move, and the prospects for the early elections.

  • Muhammad al-Hadithi | 24 Aug 2020

    Al-Kadhimi’s Visit to Washington and the Future of Iraqi-American Relations

    The visit of Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi to the US has gained great importance in the context of Iraqi-US relations, given the nature of the major changes taking place in the region and Iraq’s position within the framework of those shifts, as well as Iraq’s position in the US strategic perception and its role in the regional and international balances of power. At a time when the manifestations of the US-Iranian conflict in the region are increasing, Iraq emerges as the hottest arena of this conflict and its repercussions. Besides, the continued state of political instability in Iraq is linked to the continuation of the Iranian role in Iraq and the US continuous efforts to reduce that role and limit its effects.

  • EPC | 27 May 2020

    Al Kadhimi’s Government in Iraq: Challenges and Chances of Success

    Mustafa al-Kadhimi managed to form the new Iraqi government after a seven-month political crisis that broke out after the outbreak of the protests against the government of Adel Abdul-Mahdi who resigned under street pressure. Al-Kadhimi faces a number of difficult political, economic and security challenges and, most importantly, managing the crisis of US-Iranian tension in the country. So, will the Kadhimi government succeed in facing those challenges?

  • EPC | 28 Mar 2020

    Designation of Adnan al-Zurfi to form the Iraqi government and the chances of success

    Following the elapse on 19 March 2020 of the statutory period given to the political blocs to nominate a prime minister and Iraq’s entry into a stage of constitutional vacuum, President Barham Saleh designated former Najaf governor and member of the Nasr Alliance Adnan al-Zurfi to form the provisional government. This was soon strongly rejected by some parties close to Teheran, in spite of their previous participation in the consultations of the seven-member committee in which the main parliamentary blocs were represented. This raises questions about the possible failure of the prime minister-designate to obtain Parliament’s confidence, similar to the previous designate Mohammed Allawi. This paper sheds light on the behind-the-scenes circumstances of the designation of al-Zurfi, the positions of political blocs vis-à-vis his designation, and the chances of success of his designation.

  • EPC | 09 Mar 2020

    Mohammed Allawi Fails to Form Government in Iraq: What’s Next?

    Iraq's several-month long political stalemate is now back to square one after Iraqi Prime Minister-designate Mohammed Allawi withdrew his candidacy for the post on March 1st. Soon after the announcement, Iraq's caretaker Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi threatened a "voluntary absence" if no alternative to his government is found. Meanwhile, political blocs remain at loggerheads over a candidate who can fill the political vacuum and calm an angry street.