الشرق الأوسط

إيجازات

  • د. ابتسام الكتبي | 24 سبتمبر 2020

    معاهدة السلام الإماراتية - الإسرائيلية: هل تكون «مُغيّر اللعبة»؟

    يمكن القول إن معاهدة السلام بين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإسرائيل، التي تمَّ التوقيع عليها رسمياً في البيت الأبيض في 15 سبتمبر (أيلول) 2020، مثَّلت تحولاً استراتيجياً مهماً، وتغيّراً أساسياً في قِيَم الصراع.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 31 أغسطس 2020

    تركيا وإيران وأزمات المياه في سوريا والعراق

    دقّ انخفاض منسوب المياه في نهري دجلة والفرات، ناقوس الخطر في سوريا والعراق من أزمة مياه تطال البلدين، اللذان يعانيان من أزمات سياسية واجتماعية وحروب لا يوجد أفق لنهايتها. وقد تحوّلت الأنهار، التي كانت تمثل شرايين حياة للبلدين إلى مجرد مستنقعات، مع قيام تركيا وإيران بعمل إنشاءات مائية أسهمت في تخفيض تدفق مياه الأنهار بدرجة كبيرة.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 21 أغسطس 2020

    معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية وآفاق التعاون الاقتصادي والفني الإقليمي

    من المتوقع أن تؤسس معاهدة السلام المعلنة في 13 أغسطس الجاري (2020) بين دولة الإمارات وإسرائيل لعلاقات قوية بين الجانبين في مجالات نوعية مثل الاقتصاد والتجارة، والطب والصحة، والتكنولوجيا بشكل عام، وتكنولوجيا الاتصالات بشكل خاص، فضلاً عن التعاون في مجالات تقنية وفنية أخرى، وهو ما سيمثل منطلقاً وفرصةً لتوسيع آفاق التعاون على هذا الصعيد وتعزيز التقارب بين دول المنطقة والقوى المُحبَّة للسلام فيها.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 20 أغسطس 2020

    أبعاد ودلالات تشكُّل بيئة أمنية واستراتيجية جديدة بعد معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية

    ​مثَّلت معاهدة السلام المبرمة بين دولة الإمارات وإسرائيل في الثالث عشر من أغسطس الجاري (2020) تحولاً استراتيجياً في مسار العلاقات العربية-الإسرائيلية. والتداعيات الاستراتيجية لهذا الاتفاق سوف تتجاوز مسار العلاقات الثنائية بين البلدين، لتؤثر على الواقع الاستراتيجي في إقليم الشرق الأوسط ككل، بل ليس من المبالغة القول بأنها ستؤثر في الواقع الاستراتيجي القائم في أقاليم أخرى مجاورة مثل إقليم جنوبي آسيا.

  • مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 13 أغسطس 2020

    الاتفاق الإماراتي-الإسرائيلي: الدوافع والمكاسب للقضية الفلسطينية والمنطقة

    ​شكّل الإعلان عن الاتفاق الإماراتي-الإسرائيلي في 13 أغسطس 2020 لحظةَ تاريخية غير مسبوقة منذ خمسة وعشرين عاماً، بحسب ما قاله الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب الذي أشرفت إدارته على الوصول إلى هذا الاتفاق.

Middle East

Briefs

  • Dr. Ebtesam al-Ketbi | 24 Sep 2020

    Emirati-Israeli peace agreement: Could it be a game-changer?

    It is safe to say that the new peace agreement between the UAE and Israel, officially signed at the White House on September 15, 2020, represents an important strategic shift, and a fundamental turning point for the long-running conflict between Arabs and Israel.

  • EPC | 31 Aug 2020

    Turkey, Iran and Water Crises in Syria and Iraq

    The falling levels of the Tigris and Euphrates rivers warn of an impending water crisis in Syria and Iraq, two countries engulfed in war and economic and political crises with no end in sight. The rivers – once the lifeblood of the two countries – have been reduced to swamps since Turkey and Iran constructed hydropower facilities that have considerably reduced the flow of the rivers. The situation has repercussions as dire as those of the wars in Syria and Iraq, in particular for demographic change and the destruction of the economy, since agriculture remains a major contributor to the GDP of both countries.

  • EPC | 21 Aug 2020

    Emirati-Israeli Peace Treaty and Prospects of Regional Economic and Technical Cooperation

    The peace treaty announced on 13 August 2020 between the UAE and Israel is expected to establish strong relations between the two sides in qualitative areas such as the economy, trade, medicine, health, and technology in general, and communications technology in particular, as well as cooperation in other technical fields. This will constitute a starting point and an opportunity to expand the horizons of cooperation in this regard and to strengthen the rapprochement between the countries of the region and the peace-loving powers therein.

  • EPC | 20 Aug 2020

    Dimensions and Significance of the Formation of a New Security and Strategic Environment After the UAE-Israeli Peace Treaty

    The peace treaty concluded between the UAE and Israel on 13 August 2020 constituted a strategic shift in the course of Arab-Israeli relations. The strategic repercussions of this agreement will go beyond the course of bilateral relations between the two countries, to affect the strategic reality in the Middle East region as a whole. Indeed, it would not be an exaggeration to say that they would affect the existing strategic reality in other neighbouring regions such as South Asia.

  • EPC | 13 Aug 2020

    The UAE-Israel Agreement: Motives and Gains for the Palestinian Issue and the Region

    ​The announcement of the UAE-Israel agreement on 13 August 2020 constituted an unprecedented historic moment for twenty-five years, according to US President Donald Trump whose administration oversaw reaching this agreement.