اتجاهات إقليمية

انتخابات مجلس النواب في مصر: الاستعدادات والتوقُّعات

عمرو هاشم ربيع | 06 أكتوبر 2020

قبل نحو أسبوع من الإعلان الرسمي من قبل الهيئة الوطنية للانتخابات في مصر عن نتيجة انتخابات مجلس الشيوخ في 16 سبتمبر 2020، دعت الهيئة الناخبين للإدلاء بأصواتهم في انتخابات مجلس النواب، وهو المجلس ذو الصلاحيات التشريعية والرقابية الواسعة، وممثل السلطة التشريعية في البلاد. وبعد إعلان نتيجة انتخابات مجلس الشيوخ بيوم واحد، أي في 17 سبتمبر 2020 أعلنت الهيئة فتح باب الترشيح لعضوية مجلس النواب. تُناقِش هذه الورقة الاستعدادات الجارية لعقد هذه الانتخابات التي أُعلِن جدولها الزمني في 10 سبتمبر الماضي؛ فتتطرق إلى أبرز صلاحيات هذا المجلس، ثم النظام الانتخابي له، والملامح العامة للحملات الانتخابية، وعلى رأسها ما جرى في عملية الترشيح على مقاعد المجلس، وما أسفرت عنه الترشيحات من تداعيات على صعيد الحياة الحزبية في مصر، ويٌكرَّس الجزء الأخير من الورقة للحديث عن أبرز التوقعات بشأن عمل المجلس المقبل والأجندات التي تقع على عاتقه إنجازها في ولايته التشريعية القادمة.

المزيد

انتخابات مجلس الشيوخ المصري لعام 2020: النتائج وتحديات الدور

عمرو هاشم ربيع | 27 سبتمبر 2020

جرت في مصر خلال شهري أغسطس وسبتمبر 2020 انتخابات مجلس الشيوخ، وأُعلِنت نتائج تلك الانتخابات في منتصف سبتمبر الجاري. وتُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على عودة مجلس الشيوخ للحياة السياسية في مصر والجدل الدائر حول أهميته، كما تعرض تشكيل هذا المجلس، ونظامه الانتخابي، والأطراف المشاركة في انتخاباته من مرشحين وناخبين وإدارة انتخابية، كما تُحلِّل أبرز نتائج انتخابات المجلس، وكيف بإمكان هذا الأخير أن يُثري الحياة السياسية في مصر في المستقبل القريب.

المزيد

معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية: الانعكاسات الإقليمية والاستراتيجية المتوقَّعة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 16 سبتمبر 2020

شكَّل التوقيعُ الرسمي على معاهدة السلام الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية في البيت الأبيض، في 15 سبتمبر 2020، "لحظةً تاريخيةً فارِقة"، بحسب وصف الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب الذي رعت إدارته الوصول إلى هذه المعاهدة. وسوف تبدأ وفقاً لذلك علاقاتٌ دبلوماسية كاملة بين أبوظبي وتل أبيب، وستنخرط وفود إماراتية وإسرائيلية مشتركة في توقيع اتفاقيات ثنائية في مجالات الاستثمار والسياحة والاتصالات والتكنولوجيا والرعاية الصحية والبيئة والموانئ والطيران المدني. وهذه أول معاهدة سلام عربية مع إسرائيل برعاية أمريكية منذ زهاء 25 عاماً، أي منذ توقيع الأردن على معاهدة "وادي عَرَبَة" في 1994، وتُمثِّل تتويجاً لمسار طويل من التقارب بين الجانبين العربي والإسرائيلي.

المزيد

جولة المفاوضات الأفغانية-الأفغانية: الفُرَص والمخاطِر والسيناريوهات المحتملة

​أحمد دياب | 15 سبتمبر 2020

في 12 سبتمبر 2020، وغداة الذكري التاسعة عشرة لهجمات 11 سبتمبر على برجي مركز التجارة العالمي في نيويورك عام 2001، انطلقت في الدوحة، المفاوضات الأفغانية-الأفغانية المباشرة بين حكومة الرئيس أشرف غني وحركة طالبان. وهذه المفاوضات تمثل المرحلة الثانية من مشروع السلام الأفغاني، بعد نحو 6 أشهر من التوقيع على اتفاقية الدوحة بين واشنطن وطالبان في 29 فبراير 2020، والتي تهدف إلى إنهاء الحرب التي مزَّقت البلاد منذ نحو عشرين عاماً.

المزيد

مشروع "المَشرِق الجديد": الفُرص والتحديات والمسارات المحتملة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 07 سبتمبر 2020

يُعد مشروع "المشرق الجديد" الذي طرحه رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي، حدثاً نوعياً في واقع المنطقة التي تشهد انقسامات وتجاذبات بين الأطراف المختلفة، وهو ما يؤشر إلى طبيعة التحديات التي تواجه المشروع والصعوبات التي قد تعترض مساره. ورغم العنوان الاقتصادي للمشروع إلا أنه ينطوي على أبعاد سياسية واستراتيجية، لكن السؤال المطروح هو: هل أطرافه قادرة، أو عندها الرغبة والإرادة، في تحويل المشروع إلى مشروع جيوسياسي قادر على إثبات حضوره في معادلات المنطقة وتوازناتها؟ تُسلِّط هذه الورقة الضوء على المشروع المشار إليه، وتوضح فرصه والتحديات التي تواجهه والمسارات المتوقعة له.

المزيد

توجُّه إسرائيل نحو ضم مناطق في الضفة الغربية: خيارات الضم وحدوده الجغرافية والسياسية

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 22 يونيو 2020

من المتوقع أن يُعلن رئيس الحكومة الإسرائيلي، بنيامين نتنياهو، كما وعد من قبل، عن ضم أجزاء من الضفة الغربية وغور الأردن في الأول من يوليو 2020، تطبيقاً لخطة السلام الأمريكية التي أعلن عنها الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب في 28 يناير 2020. وفضلاً عن أن عملية الضم تتطلب جهوداً لاحقة وطويلة، سياسية وقانونية واقتصادية، فإن الخطوة نفسها تُجابَه بتحديات عدة، إسرائيلية وإقليمية ودولية. تسلط هذه الورقة الضوء على المخطط الإسرائيلي بضم أجزاء من الضفة الغربية وغور الأردن، وإشكالاته، والمواقف المحلية والإقليمية والدولية منه، وتعرض الورقة أخيراً للسيناريوهات المحتملة للمشروع الإسرائيلي.

المزيد

Regional Trends

Elections of Egyptian House of Representatives: Preparations and Expectations

Amr Hashem Rabea | 06 Oct 2020

Nearly a week before the official announcement by the National Elections Authority (NEA) in Egypt of the results of the Senate elections on 16 September 2020, the NEA called on the electors to cast their votes in the elections for membership of the Egyptian House of Representatives (EHR), which has broad legislative and oversight powers and is the representative of the legislative authority in the country. One day after the results of the Senate elections were announced, that is, on 17 September 2020, the NEA announced the start of accepting candidacy applications for membership of the EHR. This paper discusses the ongoing preparations for holding those elections whose schedule was announced on 10 September 2020. It deals with the most prominent powers of the EHR, its electoral system, the general features of the electoral campaigns, chiefly what happened in the nomination process for the EHR seats, and the implications of the nominations for party life in Egypt. The last part of the paper is devoted to discussing the most prominent expectations concerning the work of the next EHR and the agendas it would undertake to achieve in its next legislative term.

Read More

2020 Egyptian Senate Elections: Outcomes and Challenges to its Role in Politics

Amr Hashem Rabea | 27 Sep 2020

Senate elections were held in Egypt during August and September 2020, and the results of those elections were announced in mid-September 2020. This paper sheds light on the return of the Senate to political life in Egypt and the controversy surrounding its importance, as well as the composition of this council, its electoral system, and the parties participating in its elections, including candidates, voters and the electoral administration. The paper also analyses the most prominent election results of the Senate and how it can enrich political life in Egypt in the near future.

Read More

The Emirati-Israeli Peace Treaty: Potential Regional and Strategic Implications

EPC | 16 Sep 2020

The formal signing of the UAE-Israel peace treaty at the White House on 15 September 2020 marked a "historic moment", according to the description of US President Donald Trump, whose administration sponsored reaching this treaty. Accordingly, full diplomatic relations would begin between Abu Dhabi and Tel Aviv, and joint UAE and Israeli delegations would be involved in signing bilateral agreements in the fields of investment, tourism, communications, technology, civil aviation, health care and the environment. This is the first US-sponsored Arab-Israeli peace treaty in nearly 25 years, that is, since Jordan signed the Wadi Araba treaty in 1994. It constitutes the culmination of a long path of rapprochement between the Arab and Israeli sides.

Read More

Intra-Afghan Round of Negotiations: Chances, Risks and Possible scenarios

Ahmed Diab | 15 Sep 2020

On 12 September 2020, in the wake of the nineteenth anniversary of the September 11 attacks on the World Trade Center (WTC) towers in New York in 2001, direct intra-Afghan negotiations between the government of President Ashraf Ghani and the Taliban movement began in Doha. These negotiations constitute the second phase of the Afghan peace project, nearly six months after the signing of the Doha Agreement between Washington and the Taliban on 29 February 2020, which aims at ending the war that tore the country apart for nearly twenty years.

Read More

The “New Levant” Project: Likely Opportunities, Challenges and Trajectories

EPC | 07 Sep 2020

The "New Levant (Mashreq)" project, proposed by Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi, is a qualitative event in the reality of the region that has been witnessing divisions and tensions between the various parties. This indicates the nature of the challenges facing the project and the difficulties that may block its path. Despite its economic title, the project entails political and strategic dimensions. However, the question being raised is: do its parties have the capability, desire and will to transform the project into a geopolitical project that is capable of proving its presence in the region's equations and balances? This paper sheds light on the aforementioned project, and clarifies its opportunities, challenges and expected paths.

Read More

Israel’s Inclination to Annex Parts of the West Bank: Annexation Options and its Geographical and Political Limits

EPC | 22 Jun 2020

As he promised earlier, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu is expected to announce the annexation of parts of the West Bank and the Jordan Valley in July 2020 in implementation of the US peace plan announced by US President Donald Trump on 28 January 2020. While the annexation process requires subsequent and extended political, legal and economic efforts, the move itself faces multiple Israeli, regional and international challenges. This paper sheds light on the Israeli scheme of annexing parts of the West Bank and the Jordan Valley, the problems related thereto, and the local, regional and international positions thereon. Eventually, the paper reviews the potential scenarios for the Israeli scheme.

Read More