السياسات الإيرانية

الاتفاق الإيراني-الصيني وتداعياته الاستراتيجية

محمد فايز فرحات | 30 أغسطس 2020

خمسة وعشرين عاماً، وكلَّف الرئيس حسن روحاني وزير الخارجية محمد جواد ظريف اتخاذ الإجراءات التنفيذية للتوقيع على الاتفاق. ومنذ ذلك التاريخ ثارَ جدلٌ واسعٌ حول مضمون هذا الاتفاق، والدوافع الأساسية التي تقف ورائه، وتداعياته الاستراتيجية المتوقعة. ويرجع احتدام هذا الجدل إلى طبيعة المرحلة الراهنة في العلاقات الصينية-الأمريكية، والعلاقات الإيرانية-الأمريكية، من ناحية، وطبيعة الأوضاع الداخلية في إيران من ناحية ثانية، فضلاً عن وجود نماذج لشراكات استراتيجية صينية طويلة الأمد نسبياً مع دول أخرى على مسار "الحزام والطريق"، تبعها تحول هذه الدول إلى مراكز إقليمية أو نقطة ارتكاز صينية، والنموذج الأبرز هنا هو حالة الشراكة الصينية-الباكستانية، الأمر الذي يفتح المجال حول إمكانية محاكاة العلاقات الصينية-الإيرانية لهذا النموذج.

المزيد

الاتفاق العسكري السوري-الإيراني: الدلالات والتداعيات

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 05 أغسطس 2020

يُثير الاتفاقُ العسكري، الخاص بتطوير منظومة الدفاع الجوي السورية، المبرم بين إيران والنظام السوري في 8 يوليو 2020، العديدَ من الأسئلة حول توقيته وأهدافه ومدى قدرة التكنولوجيا الإيرانية على منافسة القدرات الروسية التي تُعتبر الطرف المسيطر على السماء السورية، بالإضافة إلى فعالية المنظومة في منع إسرائيل من ضرب الأهداف الإيرانية في سوريا. كما يُثير الاتفاق التساؤل عن انعكاساته على توازنات القوى القائمة في المنطقة، وأثره في حالة الإرباك التي يعيشها النظام الإيراني، واهتزاز صورته أمام الداخل والحلفاء الإقليميين نتيجة للهجمات التي تتعرض لها الأصول الإيرانية سواء في سوريا أو في داخل أراضيها.

المزيد

انفجارات المراكز العسكرية في إيران: الجهات المتَّهمَة وحدود الرد الإيراني

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 28 يوليو 2020

شهدت إيران خلال الشهر الماضي عدة انفجارات وحرائق طالت مراكز عسكرية (منها انفجار هزّ منطقة بارتشين العسكرية، وانفجار في منشأة نطنز النووية، وأنباء عن عدة انفجارات طالت مناطق عسكرية في شرق العاصمة طهران)، وأخرى صناعية (منها انفجار في مركز لإنتاج الطاقة في الأحواز جنوب غرب إيران، وشركة بتروكيماويات بالقرب من مشهد شمال شرق إيران، وحريقًا شب في مصنع جنوب العاصمة طهران)، ليتم طرح تساؤلات جدّية بشأن طبيعة هذه الأحداث، وتداعياتها، والأسباب التي تقف وراء كل منها.

المزيد

صندوق التنمية الوطني الإيراني: تقدير حجم المدخرات، والسيناريوهات المتوقعة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 27 مايو 2020

ثمة اختلاف كبير في تقدير حجم مُدّخرات صندوق التنمية الوطني الإيراني، وتتسع فجوة هذا الاختلاف بشكل أكبر بين المصادر الداخلية والخارجية. وقد أوردت تقارير صادرة في العام 2018 عن صندوق النقد الدولي أن مدخرات الصندوق بلغت 91 مليار دولار، لكن تقارير أخرى صدرت عن نفس المنظمة، أشارت في عام 2019 إلى أن حجم مدخرات الصندوق يبلغ 85.5 مليار دولار. بينما تبدو تقديرات المصادر الداخلية مختلفة تمامًا؛ ففي حين تعلن مصادر في الصندوق إلى أن الحكومة دفعت 170 مليار دولار حتى العام 2013 للصندوق، فإن مركز البحوث التابع للبرلمان الإيراني أكد في تقرير في العام 2014 أن الحكومة السابقة كنست مدخرات الصندوق، وأن مدخراته في ذلك العام لم تتجاوز 17 مليار دولار، وهو ما تؤيده أرقام صادرة عن الصندوق. هذا فيما أشارت مصادر رسمية إلى أن مدخرات الصندوق انخفضت إلى نحو 22 مليار دولار في سبتمبر 2013، ثم إلى نحو 12 مليار دولار في أكتوبر 2017.

المزيد

الموازنة العامة الإيرانية بين تباين الأرقام وواقع الانهيار

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 17 مايو 2020

أعلن الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني في 20 مارس 2020، بدء تطبيق الموازنة الإيرانية العامة للعام الإيراني الجاري (مارس 2020/مارس 2021)، لتكون أول موازنة عامة في تاريخ النظام الإيراني الجديد يتم تطبيقها دون مناقشتها في البرلمان. فبعد أن كان البرلمان الإيراني قد رفض مشروع الموازنة العامة في يناير الماضي، قام القائد الأعلى، علي خامنئي، بحذف دور البرلمان من عملية مناقشة الموازنة بداعي تعليق عمل البرلمان بسبب انتشار فيروس كورونا، ليكلف مجلس صيانة الدستور بمناقشة الموازنة العامة، وعرضها على الحكومة لتطبيقها. نتيجة ذلك، قام روحاني في اليوم الأخير من العام الإيراني الماضي، بإبلاغ الوزارات بمشروع الموازنة العامة، وسريان تطبيقها.

المزيد

حلقات الحَظْر على الاقتصاد الإيراني: التأثيرات والثغرات والسيناريوهات

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 20 أبريل 2020

يمكن النظر إلى العقوبات الأمريكية، ووضع إيران على اللائحة السوداء لمجموعة العمل المالي الدولية (FATF)، وجائحة كورونا، باعتبارها ثلاث حلقات منفصلة، لكنها متكاملة، تُضيِّق الخناق على الاقتصاد الإيراني، وتفرض عليه شكلًا من أشكال الحظر الشامل الذي يعزل إيران عن النظام الاقتصادي الدولي؛ إذ تعمل كل من هذه الحلقات على تعميق أثر الحلقات الأخرى، على الرغم من الاختلاف القائم حول حجم تأثير كل منها. تحاول هذه الورقة دراسة الحلقات الثلاث التي حظرت الاقتصاد الإيراني، وتسليط الضوء على الثغرات التي تركتها كل حلقة من حلقات الحظر، وتبين كيف أن المستويات الأخرى أسهمت إلى حد كبير إلى إغلاق هذه الثغرات والمنافذ التي كان الاقتصاد الإيراني يتنفَّس عبرها، وأخيرًا تُحدد الورقة المنافذ المتبقية أمام الاقتصاد الإيراني حتى الآن، وتبين ما إذا كانت هذه الثغرات تستطيع أن تكفل بقاء الاقتصاد الإيراني صامدًا لفترة أطول.

المزيد

الانتخابات البرلمانية في إيران: استراتيجيات القوى السياسية، وتداعيات فوز المُحافظين

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 17 فبراير 2020

تشهد الساحة السياسية في إيران عدة توجهات متناقضة على مختلف الجبهات مع اقتراب موعد الانتخابات البرلمانية؛ فعلى الصعيد الرسمي، شهدت الساحة مناوشات بين مجلس صيانة الدستور الذي يسيطر عليه المحافظون، والمكلف بتزكية المرشحين للبرلمان، وبين الحكومة التي اتهمت مجلس صيانة الدستور بعدم الحيادية، وإقصاء كل المرشحين الذين ينتمون إلى تيارات خارج الخط المحافظ. وعلى صعيد القوى السياسية، يبدو أن التوجه العام لدى الإصلاحيين هو الصمت إزاء الانتخابات، بعد أن تم إقصاء المئات من مرشحي التيار، بينما يشهد التيار المحافظ بوادر انقسام. وأما على الصعيد الشعبي، فلا يبدو أن الشارع يظهر اهتمامًا بأجواء الانتخابات، ولا يوجد حتى الآن ما يفيد بأن هناك استعدادات خاصة للاقتراع الشعبي المقبل؛ وهو ما أثار مخاوف النظام من تدني نسبة المشاركة الشعبية إلى حدود غير مسبوقة.

المزيد

توقعات المشهد الإيراني في عام 2020

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 03 فبراير 2020

من المرجح أن تشهد إيران خلال العامين المقبلين، ظروفاً سياسية واقتصادية صعبة؛ فهي تنتظر محطة انتخابات برلمانية في 2020، تتخللها احتمالات عودة الاحتجاجات. وستمرّ البلاد في انتقال سياسي من روحاني إلى رئيس آخر في 2021، وتتزايد احتمالات حدوث انتقال سياسي على مستوى القائد الأعلى. وبالنظر إلى خصوصية العلاقات الإيرانية-الأمريكية، فإن الفترة المتبقية من ولاية الرئيس ترمب تُعدُّ فترة مخاض وانتظار تترك أثرها على تشكيل الملامح الرئيسة لأية عملية سياسية مُقبِلَة في إيران.

المزيد

الحضور الإيراني في شرق أفريقيا: الأهداف والأدوات والآفاق

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 01 فبراير 2020

تولي إيران أهمية خاصة لدول إفريقيا الشرقية، وترى فيها ساحة واسعة وخصبة للقيام بنشاطات سياسية وعسكرية واقتصادية، ولا سيما الدول التي تطل على ساحل البحر الأحمر. وشكّلت القارة الإفريقية هدفاً ثابتاً في السياسية الخارجية الإيرانية منذ استقلال هذه الدول، وشمل الانفتاح الإيراني على إفريقيا أهدافاً اقتصاديةً أيضاً، في ظل وجود احتياطيات ضخمة من الموارد الطبيعية في شرق إفريقيا، ورأت إيران أن دول المنطقة مواتية لتسويق المنتجات الإيرانية، وتحقيق منافع اقتصادية. كما ابتكرت في إفريقيا سياسة البترول مقابل اليورانيوم، لضمان احتياطي كافٍ من المعدن المشعّ لمفاعلها النووي. وسعت إيران لتحقيق أهداف ثقافية ودينية، تضمنت التبشير بالمذهب الشيعي في دول شرق إفريقيا، خاصة المسلمة منها، من خلال افتتاح مراكز ثقافية، ودينية في عدة دول شرق إفريقية؛ حيث بات ذلك السمة الأساسية لحضورها في دول شرق إفريقيا التي تتميز بطابعها الاجتماعي المتدين.

المزيد

Iranian Policies

The Iranian-Chinese Agreement and its Strategic Repercussions

Mohamed Fayez Farahat | 30 Aug 2020

On 25 June 2020, the Iranian government approved a draft agreement for a comprehensive strategic partnership with China for a period of twenty-five years. President Hassan Rouhani assigned Foreign Minister Muhammad Javad Zarif to take the executive measures to sign the agreement. Since that date, a wide debate has arisen over the content of this agreement, the main motives behind it, and its expected strategic implications. The intensity of this controversy is attributable to the nature of the current stage in Sino-US relations and Iranian-US relations, on the one hand, and the nature of the internal conditions in Iran, on the other hand, as well as the existence of models for relatively long-term Chinese strategic partnerships with other countries on the "Belt and Road" path. This was followed by the transformation of those countries into regional hubs or a Chinese support point. The most prominent model in this context is the case of the Sino-Pakistani partnership, which opens the way for the possibility that the Sino-Iranian relations would simulate this model.

Read More

Syrian-Iranian Military Agreement: Significance and Ramifications

EPC | 05 Aug 2020

​The military agreement on the development of the Syrian air defence system, concluded between Iran and the Syrian regime on 8 July 2020, raises many questions about its timing and objectives and the extent of the capability of Iranian technology to compete with the capabilities of Russia that is the dominant party in the Syrian skies, in addition to the effectiveness of the system in preventing Israel from hitting Iranian targets in Syria. The agreement also raises a question about its repercussions for the existing balances of power in the region, its impact on the confusion experienced by the Iranian regime, and the shaking of its image at home and in front of the regional allies as a result of the attacks on Iran’s assets, whether in Syria or at home.

Read More

Explosions in Iranian Military Sites: Accused Parties and Extent of Tehran’s Response

EPC | 28 Jul 2020

In June 2020, Iran experienced a series of explosions and fires that extended to military sites (including an explosion that shook the Parchin military complex, an explosion at the Natanz nuclear facility, and news of a series of explosions that extended to military sites east of the capital Tehran) and industrial zones (including an explosion in a power plant in Ahwaz in southwest Iran, a petrochemical company near Mashhad in northeast Iran, and a fire that broke out in a factory south of the capital Tehran), thereby raising serious questions about the nature of those incidents, their consequences, and the causes behind each one of them.

Read More

National Development Fund of Iran: Savings Estimation and Expected Scenarios

EPC | 27 May 2020

There is a significant disagreement in the estimation of the savings size of the National Development Fund of Iran (NDFI). The gap of this disagreement gets even wider between internal and external sources. According to reports released by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in 2018, the Fund’s savings stand at 91 billion dollars. However, according to other reports released by the same institution in 2019, the size of the NDFI’s savings is 85.5 billion dollars. Estimates of internal sources appear to be completely different. While sources in the NDFI have announced that the government paid it 170 billion dollars as of 2013, the Research Centre of the Iranian Parliament underlined in a 2014 report that the former government sweeped the NDFI’s savings which, in that year, did not exceed 17 billion dollars. This is supported by figures released by the NDFI. On the other hand, official sources have indicated that the NDFI’s savings fell to nearly 22 billion dollars in September 2013, and subsequently to 12 billion dollars in October 2017.

Read More

Iran’s Budget between Discrepancy in Official Figures and the Reality of Collapse

EPC | 17 May 2020

On 20 March 2020, Iranian President Hassan Rouhani announced the start of the implementation of the Iranian general budget for the current Iranian year (March 2020/March 2021). Thus, it became the first general budget in the history of the new Iranian regime to be implemented without being debated in Parliament. After the Iranian Parliament had rejected the draft general budget in January 2020, the Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei dropped the role of Parliament in debating the budget owing to the suspension of Parliament’s activity as a result of the spread of coronavirus. The Guardian Council of the Constitution was tasked with debating the general budget and presenting it to the government for implementation. As a result, on the last day of the last Iranian year, Rouhani informed the ministries of the draft general budget and of its effect.

Read More

Rings of the Embargo Imposed on the Iranian Economy: Effects, Gaps and Scenarios

EPC | 20 Apr 2020

The US sanctions, placing Iran on the blacklist of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and the corona pandemic could be viewed as three separate, but integrated, rings that tighten controls on the Iranian economy and subject it to some kind of comprehensive embargo that isolates Iran from the international economic system. Each one of those rings serves to deepen the impact of the other two, despite the difference in the extent of the impact of each one. This paper seeks to examine the three rings of the embargo on the Iranian economy and shed light on the gaps created by each of the embargo rings, and shows how the other levels have greatly contributed to bridging those gaps and blocking the outlets through which the Iranian economy used to breathe. Finally, the paper determines the remaining outlets before the Iranian economy until now, and indicates whether those gaps could ensure the resilience of the Iranian economy for a longer period.

Read More

Iran’s Parliamentary Elections: Political Actors Strategies & Potential Fallout of Conservative Victory

EPC | 17 Feb 2020

Iran's political scene continues to heat up as the country gears up for the next parliamentary elections. On the official level, there have been verbal clashes between the conservative wing-held Guardian Council of the Constitution, which is charged with qualifying parliamentary candidates, and the government, which accused the Council of not being neutral and excluding all candidates who belong to political groups outside the conservative line. On the political groups’ level, the reformists keep mum on the elections after hundreds of reformist candidates have been disqualified from running in the forthcoming polls. On the other side, cracks have started to appear among the conservatives, otherwise known as the principlists. In the meantime, the grassroots remain relatively apathetic towards the electoral warm-up with no indications that there are above-average preparations for the next vote, sparking fear among regime's circles that the turnout might sink to unprecedented levels.

Read More

Iranian Scene Expectations for 2020

EPC | 03 Feb 2020

Over the next two years, Iran is likely to see harsh political and economic conditions; it is awaiting a parliamentary election station in 2020, punctuated by the prospect of a return to protests. The country will undergo a political transition from Rouhani to another president in 2021, and the likelihoods of a having a political transition at the level of the supreme leader are increasing. Iran is reeling under tough US sanctions and a deepening economic crisis, which spurs internal conflicts over power and resources. Given the peculiarity of Iranian-American relations, the remainder of President Trump's term is a period of labor and awaiting that leaves its impact on shaping the main features of any future political process in Iran.

Read More

Iranian presence in East Africa: Goals, Tools and Prospects

EPC | 01 Feb 2020

ran attaches special importance to eastern African countries. It conceives in this region a wide and fertile field for political, military and economic activities, particularly the countries bordering the Red Sea coast. Iranian interest in Africa magnified during the tenure of former President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, who placed the African continent on his foreign policy priorities, and put forward political, military and cultural goals for this issue. Due to the Western and American pressure on Iran over its nuclear program, Iranian foreign policy adopted a new strategy, through which it seeks to enhance relations with the countries of the African continent, with the aim of rallying African diplomatic support in the corridors of the United Nations and the Security Council to break the international economic sanctions imposed at the time.

Read More