تعليق الخبراء

جو بايدن والشرق الأوسط: حدود الاستمرارية والتغيير في سياسات الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 30 ديسمبر 2020

جو بايدن والشرق الأوسط: حدود الاستمرارية والتغيير في سياسات الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة

بإعلان فوز الديمقراطي جو بايدن، ثارَ جدلٌ واسعٌ في منطقة الشرق الأوسط حول طبيعة السياسات والتوجهات التي ستعتمدها الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة إزاء قضايا المنطقة وأزماتها الساخنة، واتجاهات علاقتها المستقبلية مع دولٍ مثل إيران وتركيا. وكان ملتقى أبوظبي الاستراتيجي السابع، الذي عقد جلساته في الفترة 9-11 نوفمبر الفائت بمشاركة عدد من الخبراء الاستراتيجيين والباحثين المتميزين على المستوى العالمي، قد ناقش في إحدى جلساته الانعكاسات المحتملة لفوز جو بايدن على الشرق الأوسط، وفيما يلي أهم الخلاصات التي طرحها الخبراء المشاركين في هذا الشأن.

بول سالم

بول سالم

في اعتقادي أن عملية الانتقال السياسي من إدارة دونالد ترامب إلى إدارة جو بايدن ستأخذ بعض الوقت (ربما ستة أشهر)، ولذا ينبغي التريث حتى نرى المخرجات والنتائج النهائية للانتخابات وانعكاساتها المؤسسية، لاسيما فيما يخص تركيبة مجلس الشيوخ المقبل، ومن سيُهيمن عليه من الحزبين الرئيسين، لأن ذلك مهم في إدراك ما قد يُمثِّله من قيود أو فُرص بالنسبة للسياسة الخارجية لإدارة الرئيس بايدن.

ومهما يكن الأمر، من المُرجَّح ألا يكون الشرق الأوسط في صدارة أولويات الإدارة الجديدة؛ فهي ستُعطي تدبير الشأن الداخلي الأولوية القصوى، إذ تمر البلاد بأسوأ وباء منذ قرن من الزمان، وتشهد أيضاً كساداً اقتصادياً هو الأسوأ منذ عقود.

لكن، وبشكل عام، يمكن القول إن للولايات المتحدة اهتمام مستمر ودائم بالشرق الأوسط، لعدة أسباب أولها اقتصادي يتمثل بشكل أساسي في قطاع الطاقة، وهناك أيضاً تركيز على قضية أسلحة الدمار الشامل وتحدي انتشارها، ومشكلة الإرهاب والتي تمثل التهديد الأول للأمن القومي الأمريكي، وتشكل تهديداً عالمياً كذلك. ولدى أمريكا عدد من العلاقات الرائعة في المنطقة، تمتد من المغرب وحتى عُمان، وهي لن تتخلى عن هذه العلاقات المثمرة. ورغم أن الولايات قد تركِّز بصورة أكبر على تحدي الصعود الصيني، وقضايا من قبيل الأمن السيبراني وأمن الفضاء ومكافحة التغير المناخي، وغيرها، إلا أن الشرق الأوسط سيبقى حاضراً في أجندة اهتمام الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة. ومع هذا، هناك إدراك متمايز في صفوف السياسيين الأمريكيين ضمن الحزبين الرئيسينِ أنه لم يعد ثمة حماسة للقيام بمغامرات كبرى في هذه المنطقة من العالم، إذ لا توجد إمكانية سهلة للفوز هناك. والفارق الكبير المُحتَمل في توجهات إدارة بايدن بالنسبة للشرق الأوسط سيكون حول إيران، إذ لن تكون توجهاتها تجاه هذا الملف مُطابِقة لسياسة إدارة ترامب.

وبالنسبة للعلاقة الأمريكية مع دول الخليج، أعتقد أنه لن يكون هناك نفس الدفء الذي حكم هذه العلاقة مع الرئيس ترامب وإدارته، لكن فريق بايدن عليه أن يُشكِّل ديناميات هذه العلاقة. وبطبيعة الحال، فإن الشراكات مع أبرز الدول الخليجية، والمرتبطة بالطاقة والاقتصاد والأمن في المنطقة، ستظل موجودة في ظل إدارة بايدن، ولن تتأثر بشكل كبير.

أما بالنسبة لإسرائيل، ستظل العلاقات الاستراتيجية قائمة، رغم أن رغبة نتنياهو الشديدة في فوز ترامب على خصمه الديمقراطي قد تُلقي بظلالها على علاقة حكومته وعلاقته الشخصية مع الرئيس بايدن، وأركان إدارته في واشنطن. والمؤكد أن بايدن سيُرحِّب باتفاقيات التطبيع التي رعتها إدارة ترامب، والتي شكلت إنجازاً لهذا الأخير، لكن مسألة عكس السياسات الخاصة بترامب فيما يتعلق بالتعاون مع الفلسطينيين واستئناف العلاقة مع السلطة الفلسطينية، وتشجيع الجانبين الإسرائيلي والفلسطيني على استئناف المفاوضات، وإعادة فتح مكتب التمثيل الفلسطيني في واشنطن، سيكون مُرجَّحاً وسيُعطي نتائج مختلفة.

وستظل قضية الحرب على الإرهاب مُهمَّة لإدارة بايدين، كما كان الأمر في ظل إدارة ترامب وسلفه أوباما، وستعطيها الإدارة الجديدة تركيزاً مستمراً، وسترغب في أن يكون الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في العراق وسوريا وأفغانستان مُنصبَّاً على هذه القضية دون سواها.

 

بول سالم، رئيس معهد الشرق الأوسط في واشنطن.

ستيفن كوك

ستيفن كوك

يبدو أننا سنرى الكثير من الاستمرارية في التوجهات الأمريكية نحو منطقة الشرق الأوسط، فيما يتعلق بالعلاقات والأسلوب المتَّبع مع المنطقة، رغم التأرجح الذي حكم سياسات الإدارات الأمريكية المتعاقبة خلال السنوات الماضية تجاه المنطقة وقضاياها، لاسيما إدارة الرئيس ترامب. ففي ما يخص المسألة الإيرانية وملف الاتفاق النووي، ستكون هناك تغييرات مهمة في توجهات الإدارة الجديدة، إذ سننتقل من سياسة الضغوط القصوى إلى إعادة التفاعل مع إيران ومحاولة إعادة الاعتبار للاتفاق النووي أو التفاوض على اتفاق جديد.

وبالنسبة لإسرائيل، أعتقد أن الرئيس بايدن سيُرحِّب بالاتفاق الإبراهيمي للسلام، وسيجد رئيس الوزراء نتنياهو وسيلة للعمل معه. ووفقاً لذلك، لن نرى علاقة فيها تعارُض بين إدارة بايدن وحكومة نتنياهو مثلما كان الوضع عليه في ظل إدارة أوباما.

والدولة الأخرى التي سيكون هناك تغيُّر معها، هي تركيا. فالرئيس بايدن يرغب في إعادة التركيز على ضرورة أن يسود حكم القانون في تركيا، وأنه لابد أن يكون هناك فواصل بين السلطات داخل هذا البلد. وكانت وزارة العدل الأمريكية منذ نهاية عهد أوباما تُحقِّق بشأن أنشطة بنك خلق التركي وتحايله على العقوبات المفروضة على إيران، علاوة على الأنشطة غير القانونية الأخرى المتصلة بنشاط البنك والتي كان وكلاء أترك يقومون بها، بمن فيهم أعضاء في الحكومة التركية ذاتها. وقد فرملت إدارة ترامب مسار هذا التحقيق إلى درجة التجميد، لكن من الواضح أن إدارة بايدن ستمضي قُدُماً في هذا المسار، وقد أخبر بايدن، عندما كان نائب رئيس، الرئيس أردوغان بأنه لن يستطيع التدخل في هذه القضية، وأن التحقيقات بشأنها ستتواصل. والأمر الثاني يتصل بمسألة منظومة إس-400 الصاروخية الدفاعية التي اشترتها تركيا من روسيا؛ فطالما تواصل تركيا نشر هذه المنظومة سيكون هناك إمكانية كبيرة لأن تفرض إدارة الرئيس بايدن عقوبات على الحكومة التركية، رغم أن هذا التوجه قد يُثير جدلاً كبيراً في واشنطن.

ومن شبه المؤكد أن الأتراك متوترون وقلقون إزاء ما سيحدث في ظل إدارة بايدن، لاسيما فيما يخص موضوع استمرار التحقيق في قضية بنك خلق، ومسار علاقات تركيا الجيوسياسية مع كلٍّ من إيران وأمريكا. وإذا كان من مصلحة الولايات المتحدة أن تكون على علاقة جيدة مع تركيا، فإن على الإدارة الجديدة أن تتأقلم وتتكيف مع هذا الأمر. ولكن الواقع يُخبرنا بأن هناك الكثير من القضايا التي لا تتفق فيها واشنطن مع أنقرة، من قبيل سياسات تركيا وتحركاتها في البحر المتوسط، وفي سوريا، وطريقة تفاعلها مع إيران وروسيا، وطريقة مواجهتها شركاء الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة، وحقيقة أن تركيا من أكبر الدول الرجعية في المنطقة، وسِجلّها في مجال حقوق الإنسان ازداد سوءاً في ظل اعتقال الآلاف من المعارضين.

أما إيران، فإن التغيُّر الحاصل في الإدارة يمثل أمراً جيداً بالنسبة لها، إذ سيُقدِّم لها بعض الإعفاءات من العقوبات، وستجلب إدارة بايدن الإيرانيين إلى طاولة المفاوضات، والدفع من ثمَّ بسياسات جديدة في المنطقة. غير أن الصفقة الجديدة التي ستعقدها إدارة بايدن مع طهران قد تُفضي إلى نتائج مُزعزِعة للمنطقة، كما هو حال سياسة إدارة ترامب.

 

ستيفن كوك، زميل بحث أقدم في مجلس العلاقات الخارجية في واشنطن.

وليام ويتشسلر

وليام ويتشسلر

سوف تتعامل إدارة بايدن مع شرق أوسط مُتغير، يختلف عن ذلك الذي تعاملت معه إدارتا أوباما وترامب، ومن الناحية الاستراتيجية يظل أقوى العوامل المؤثرة على مسار الأحداث في هذه المنطقة هو مفهوم الانسحاب الأمريكي منها، ببعده الأشمل والأكبر. وهذا المفهوم لم تؤكده إدارة ترامب بشكل رسمي لكنه كان مفهوماً كلما تحدَّث عن المنطقة، ويُمثِّل فوز بايدن أمراً جيداً للشرق الأوسط، باعتبار أن استمرار ترامب لولاية ثانية كان سيُصعِّد الموقف في المنطقة. فبايدن شخص مؤسسي، على الطراز القديم، وينتمي إلى جيل أكبر سناً يرغب في أن تبقى مصالح أمريكا في الشرق الأوسط باقية كما هي.

ومن المتغيرات التي تستحق أن نُركِّز عليها في مسار علاقات الولايات المتحدة بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط، مسألة "التغيُّر في السوق"، والتي تسارعت تطوراتها في السنوات الخمسة عشر الأخيرة، إذ أصبحت بعض دول المنطقة تعزز تعاملاتها مع الولايات المتحدة، وأدركت هذه الدول أنها بحكم اعتمادها على علاقات جيدة مع أمريكا فإنه من الأفضل لها أن تكون هذه العلاقة مبنيَّة على أساس متين من المصالح والأهداف والقيم والمخاطر المشتركة. وأعتقد أن إدارة بايدن ستُراعي هذا الأمر في توجهاتها المقبلة تجاه الشرق الأوسط.

وفي رأيي، أنه لا تزال ثمة فرص للدبلوماسية مع إيران في ظل إدارة بايدن، وهناك نوافذ مفتوحة يمكن استغلالها، لكن من غير المتوقع أن تتم العودة للاتفاق النووي السابق، لأن الظروف الجيوسياسية قد تغيرت منذ ذلك الحين. وفي هذا الإطار، تجد إدارة بايدن نفسها أمام فرصتين، أولهما إمكانية العمل على خفْض التصعيد والصراعات في المنطقة، والثانية توثيق التحالف مع الأصدقاء الخليجيين. لكن إذا حاولت إيران أن تمارس أعمالاً انتقامية تستهدف شخصيات محسوبة على إدارة ترامب خلال فترة إدارة جو بايدن، فإن الأخيرة ستردّ بقوة على إيران.

وبالنسبة لملف الصراع الفلسطيني-الإسرائيلي، أعتقد أن حلَّ الدولتين هو الحل الوحيد لهذا الصراع، وربما تُمثِّل اتفاقية السلام الإبراهيمية تقييماً جديداً لإمكانيات السلام في المنطقة؛ فهي تُلغي فكرة الضم والذي لو حصل فإن تأثيراته ستكون كارثية. كما أن هذه الاتفاقية ستكون مفيدة بمرور الوقت، وستكون مهمة ومُلهِمة للأجيال المقبلة، وعلى قادة الخليج أن يكونوا أكثر انخراطاً وتفاعلاً مع قضية السلام الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية، بعكس ما كان حاصلاً في الماضي. ومع أن نتنياهو لن يكون بمقدوره الاعتراف بأن مسألة ضم الأراضي الفلسطينية قد خرجت من طاولة المفاوضات، لاسيما في حال استمرت فاعلية الاتفاق الإبراهيمي للسلام، إلا أن هذا عملياً هو ما تحقَّق بفعل الاتفاقات الأخيرة.

 

وليام ويتشسلر، مدير مركز رفيق الحريري وبرامج الشرق الأوسط في مجلس الأطلسي بواشنطن.

Experts' Comments

Biden and the Middle East: Limits of Continuity and Change in Policies of the New American Administration

EPC | 30 Dec 2020

Biden and the Middle East: Limits of Continuity and Change in Policies of the New American Administration

With the announcement of the Democratic nominee, Joe Biden’s victory, an extensive debate has started in the Middle East on the nature of policies and approaches of the new American administration towards the region’s issues and crises and trajectories of its future relations with countries like Iran and Turkey. The 7th Abu Dhabi Strategic Debate, which was held November 9-11, 2020 with the participation of a number of strategic experts and distinguished world researchers, discussed in details in one of its panels the potential consequences of the outcomes of Biden’s victory on the Middle East. The following are key conclusions presented by participating experts on this issue.

Paul Salem

Paul Salem

I think that the process of political transition from the Trump administration to the Biden administration will take some time (maybe 6 months). Therefore, we should wait and see the final outcomes of elections and its institutional consequences, especially in terms of the formation of the next Senate and which party will have control over it. This is important in order to realize the restrictions or opportunities this might represent for the Biden administration’s foreign policy.

Any way, it is likely that the Middle East will not be a top priority for the new American administration. The Biden administration would prioritize taking care of domestic issues. The US is going through the worst pandemic in a century and the worst economic contraction since the Great Depression of the 1930s.

However, we can argue that the US has a continuous and lasting interest in the Middle East for several reasons. The first reason is economic, notably the energy sector. There is also focus on the issue of weapons of mass destruction and the challenge of their proliferation. In addition, there is the problem of terrorism which is the first threat for US national security and global security as well. The US enjoys a number of remarkable ties in the region extending from Morocco to Oman. Washington will not relinquish these fruitful relations. Although, the US might focus more on the challenge of rising China, cyber and space security, and climate change, the Middle East will remain present in the agenda of interest of the new American administration. Still, there is a bipartisan realization among American politicians that there is no great enthusiasm for big adventures in this part of the world because there is no possibility for an easy victory there. The likely huge difference in Biden’s approach towards the Middle East will be on Iran. His approach on this issue will be different than that of the Trump administration.

As for the US ties with GCC countries, I believe they will lack the warmth that governed these ties with Trump and his administration. As such, Biden’s team would have to figure out the dynamics of those relations. There is no doubt, however, that partnership for economic, energy, security and political reasons with the main Gulf countries will remain and is not going to be greatly affected.

The strategic relations would remain between the US and Israel. However, Netanyahu’s strong desire for Trump to defeat his Democratic rival might overshadow the relationship of the Israeli government and Netanyahu’s personal relationship with Biden and his team in Washington. There is no doubt that Biden would welcome the normalization agreements sponsored by the Trump administration which was an achievement for the latter. However, retracting Trump’s policies related to cooperation with the Palestinians, resuming ties with the Palestinian Authority, encouraging Israelis and Palestinians to resume talks, and reopen the Palestinian representative office in Washington would be likely and would give different outcomes.

The issue of war on terrorism would remain key for the Biden administration as it was for his two predecessors, Trump and Obama. The new administration would sustain focus on this issue and would like the American military presence in Iraq, Syria and Afghanistan remain focused on this issue only.

 

Paul Salem, president of The Middle East Institute.

Steven Cook

Steven Cook

The tendency is to see a lot more continuity in the American approach towards the Middle East in terms of relations and style, despite significant swings that governed policies of the successive American administrations in recent years towards the region and its issues, especially the Trump administration. With regard to Iran and the nuclear deal, there would be important changes in the approach of the new administration. It would shift from the “maximum pressure” towards re-engaging with Tehran and efforts to re-enter or re-negotiate the 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action, known commonly as the Iran nuclear deal.

As for Israel, I think Biden would welcome the Abraham Accords and Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu would find a way to work with him. That said, we would not see a conflicting relationship between the Biden administration and Netanyahu’s government as it was the case during the Obama administration.

Turkey would be another country that would see changes. Biden wants to refocus on the need for the rule of law in Turkey. He would also like to see separation of powers in this country.

Since the end of the Obama administration, the U.S Department of Justice has been investigating the activities of Turkey’s Halkbank and its attempts to evade Iran sanctions, not to mention other illegal activities perpetrated by the bank with the involvement of some cabinet members in Turkey. The Trump administration tried to slow down and even freeze these investigations. However, the Biden administration apparently will go ahead with these legal procedures. President-elect Biden, when he was vice-president, told Turkish President, Erdogan that he would not be able to meddle in this issue, and that investigations in this regard would continue. The second thing has to do with S-400 missile defense system that Turkey bought from Russia. As long as Ankara goes ahead with its plans to deploy that system, it is more likely that the Biden administration will impose sanctions on the Turkish government although such a step would raise much controversy in Washington.

It is almost certainly that Turks now feel anxious and worried about what will happen to their relations with the U. S under the Biden administration particularly with regard to the resumption of investigations on Halkbank case, and the trajectory of Turkey’s geopolitical relations with Iran and the U. S. If it is in the interest of the U.S to have good relations with Turkey, the new administration in Washington should adjust to this reality. However, in reality there are many issues that Washington and Ankara do not agree on including Turkey’s policies and moves in the Mediterranean and Syria, interaction with Russia and Iran, and Ankara’s confrontation with U.S partners in the region. Moreover, Turkey is one of the biggest revisionist powers in the region as its record in human rights has recently worsened with the arrest of thousands of opposition members.

As for Iran, a new U.S administration in Washington will be a good thing for Tehran. The Biden administration will waive some of the sanctions imposed on Tehran, bring Iranians back to the negotiation table, and push for new policies in the region. However, the deal that Biden will conclude with Iran may have destabilizing effects on the region as was the case with Trump’s policy towards Tehran.

 

Steven Cook, Senior Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations in Washington D.C.

William F. Wechsler

William F. Wechsler

The Biden administration will be dealing with an evolving Middle East that is different from the one that both administrations of Obama and Trump have dealt with. Strategically, the widespread perception of American withdrawal from the Middle East, will remain the most influential factors affecting the course of events in the region in its both holistic and broader dimensions. This perception has not been officially confirmed by the Trump administration, however, it was implied from the speech of the U.S President in every occasion he talked about the region. Biden’s victory in the U.S Presidential elections is a good thing for the Middle East, as a second term for Trump in office would escalate tensions in the region. Biden is an institutional person who belongs to the older age and desires to preserve the U.S interests in the Middle East exactly as they were.

One of the variables that deserves more focus in the U.S relations with the region is the issue of “Change in Market” which has witnessed rapid developments over the last fifteen years. Regional countries have started to enhance their dealings with the U.S after they realized that given their dependence on good relations with the U.S, there is a need to build these ties on a solid foundation of common interests, goals, values and threat perceptions. I believe that the Biden administration will consider this in the U.S future policy trends in the Middle East.

In my opinion, there is still a diplomacy chance under the new U.S administration that should be seized to solve the crisis with Iran. However, the return to the nuclear deal signed with Iran in 2015 seems unlikely as geopolitical circumstances have significantly changed since then. In this context, the Biden administration will have two chances: It can either de-escalate conflicts in the region or enhance its alliances with GCC friends. However, in case Iran seeks retaliation against the U.S through targeting some figures affiliated with Trump camp during Biden’s Presidency, the U.S will respond vigorously.

As far as the Israeli-Palestinian conflict is concerned, I believe that the two-state solution is the only valid solution to this problem. Perhaps, the “Abraham Agreements” represent a new assessment of peace potentials in the region as they came to stop the annexation of the Palestinian lands, which would have had catastrophic consequences otherwise. These agreements will prove beneficial for all parties over the course of time, and will be of great value and inspirational to future generations. GCC leaders need to be more engaged and more active than ever in the Israel-Palestinian peace process. While Netanyahu will not be able to recognize that annexation of the Palestinian lands issue is no longer on the negotiation table, particularly if the “Abraham Agreements” continue to bear fruit, this in practice is the outcome of these agreements.

 

William Wechsler, Director of the Rafik Hariri Center and Middle East programs at the Atlantic Council in Washington D.C.