تعليق الخبراء

السياسات الأمريكية في ظل إدارة بايدن: أيُّ نظام عالمي ينتظرنا؟

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 20 ديسمبر 2020

السياسات الأمريكية في ظل إدارة بايدن: أيُّ نظام عالمي ينتظرنا؟

مثَّلت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية الأخيرة إحدى المحطات الفارقة في العام 2020، وقد أضفى التنافس الشديد بين المرشحين مزيداً من الإثارة على هذا الحدث، وجعل العالم يترقب مآلاته عن كثب. وبإعلان فوز الديمقراطي جو بايدن، أخذت الأنظار تترقب تشكيلة فريقه السياسي، وترنو بحذر إلى طبيعة السياسات التي ستعتمدها الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة داخلياً وخارجياً. وكان ملتقى أبوظبي الاستراتيجي السابع، الذي عقد جلساته في الفترة 9-11 نوفمبر الفائت بمشاركة عدد من الخبراء الاستراتيجيين والباحثين المتميزين على المستوى العالمي، قد ناقش في إحدى جلساته، وباستفاضة، الانعكاسات المحتملة لنتائج الانتخابات الأمريكية على النظام الدولي وقواه الصاعدة (لاسيما الصين)، وفيما يلي أهم الخلاصات التي طرحها الخبراء المشاركين في هذا الشأن.

كيشور محبوباني

كيشور محبوباني

يمكن القول بداية إن معظم دول العالم سعيدة بانتخاب جو بايدن رئيساً للولايات المتحدة؛ فالسنوات الأربع لعهد الرئيس ترمب كانت مُنهِكَة لجزءٍ كبيرٍ من دول العالم نتيجة لمحاولتها مواكبة سياسات ترمب التي اتَّسمت بالتقلُّب. وقد جاء انتخاب جو بايدن في وقت تعاني الولايات المتحدة خلاله من أزمة داخلية، ومن إشكالات في النظام السياسي، ولذا ستواجه إدارة بايدن مجموعة من التحديات الداخلية التي ستوليها الأولوية، وفي مقدمتها معالجة التداعيات الصحية والاقتصادية لجائحة كورونا.

وفيما يخص سياسة الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة تجاه الصين، المنافسة الأبرز للولايات المتحدة على الصعيد العالمي، فإن إدارة العلاقة مع الصين سيكون التحدي الأكبر لإدارة بايدن على صعيد السياسة الخارجية. وهناك عوامل ثلاثة بنيوية تدفع الإدارة الديمقراطية للاستمرار في سياسة التنافس مع الصين، هي: أن القوة الأولى في النظام الدولي تصادم القوة الناشئة تاريخياً، ووجود إجماع بين الحزبين الديمقراطي والجمهوري على أن الصين لن تصبح دولة ديمقراطية على غرار الولايات المتحدة، والعامل الثالث معنوي يتصل بدور الصين في جائحة كورونا. وفي الوقت نفسه هناك أسباب تدفع الإدارة الأمريكية إلى التعاون مع الصين، أهمها اشتراكهما في مواجهة جائحة كورونا، وفي التعامل مع التحديات العالمية الأخرى مثل تغير المناخ.  

ومن المرجح أن تستمر إدارة بايدن في سياسة التنافس مع الصين، وإن كان بحدة أقل من إدارة ترمب، لكن من المهم أن يجد البلدان مسارات للتفاهم والتوافق بحيث لا تخرج المنافسة عن نطاق السيطرة. وفي هذا الإطار، أعتقد أنّ بايدن إذا عاد إلى اتفاقية الشراكة التجارية عبر المحيط الهادي التي تضم 15 دولة، فإنّ هذا سيُغير قواعد اللعبة في منطقة جنوب شرقي آسيا، إذ إنه سيُعيد التأثير الأمريكي في المنطقة مقابل النفوذ الصيني، ومن المهم أن تركز الولايات المتحدة على الحضور الاقتصادي وليس العسكري في المنطقة، فهذا أكثر جدوى وفاعلية.

ومع أن الصين تتطلع إلى لعب دور عالمي، لكنها في تصوِّري لا ترغب في أن تحل محل الولايات المتحدة، كما أنها لا تسعى إلى تغيير النظام الدولي في الفترة الحالية، وعلى الأقل حتى العقدين المقبلين. والمفارقة أن الصين تعتقد أنَّه كلما انخرطت الولايات المتحدة أكثر في شؤون العالم، وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط تحديداً، فإن هذا سيُمثّل هدية للصين.

 

كيشور محبوباني، زميل بحث متميز في معهد آسيا للبحوث التابع لجامعة سنغافورة الوطنية.

كليف كويتشان

كليف كويتشان

في البداية لا يمكن إغفال أن الولايات المتحدة مُنقسمة على نفسها، وتُعاني أزمة داخلية، والتعامل مع هذه الأزمة ينطوي على تحدٍّ لإدارة بايدن، والسؤال المطروح هو: هل يستطيع بايدن التغلُّب على حالة الانقسام الداخلي، فضلاً عن مواجهة أزمة كورونا وتجديد القوة الأمريكية؟

من وجهة نظري، لا أعتقد أن وصول بايدن إلى سدة البيت الأبيض سيُغير قواعد اللعبة الدولية، وباعتقادي أن بايدن سيكون رئيساً ضعيفاً، وستكون يداه مكبلتين في حال فاز الجمهوريون بالأغلبية في مجلس الشيوخ، فضلاً عن أنه سيكون رئيساً لولاية واحدة بسبب كبر سنه. والمسألة المثيرة للقلق التي برزت في عهد ترمب، والتي قد تستمر مستقبلاً، هي مصداقية الولايات المتحدة؛ فترمب انقلب على الالتزامات والاتفاقات الدولية التي عقدها سلفه أوباما، والسؤال هو: ماذا سيحدث للاتفاقات التي سيعقدها بايدن من بعده؛ فأكثر من 71 مليون أمريكي صوتوا لترمب ما يعني أن الحالة الترمبية مازالت قائمة في الولايات المتحدة.   

ومع أن الرئيس بايدن سيتبع نهجاً خارجياً مختلفاً عن نهج ترمب، وسيكون أكثر انخراطاً في الشأن العالمي وأكثر تعاوناً مع الحلفاء، وسيعمل على بناء الجسور مع القوى الأخرى في العالم، لكن يجب أن نعرف أيضاً أن بايدن ليس مثالياً فهو مِنْ أتباع السياسة الواقعية. وصحيحٌ أن الولايات المتحدة هي القوة الأولى عالمياً في مجال القدرات العسكرية والاقتصادية والقوة الناعمة، لكن العالم الآن متعدد القطبية، وتوجد منافسة شرسة بين الولايات المتحدة والصين، سيما في المجال الاقتصادي، ولا شك في أن الصين تنفَّست الصُّعداء بانتخاب بايدن، وبإمكانها التوصل إلى تفاهمات مع البيت الأبيض رغم حالة التنافس بين القوتين الكبريين.

وفيما يخص سياسة إدارة بايدن تجاه روسيا، فإن العلاقات الأمريكية-الروسية في الفترة الماضية لم تكن جيدة على الإطلاق، وخاصة في ظل الخلافات حول ملف أوكرانيا والتدخل الروسي في الانتخابات الأمريكية لعام 2016 ومحاولات النظام الروسي قتل مُعارضيه. ومن الواضح أن إدارة بايدن ستستمر في مواجهة روسيا، وسيشوب العلاقة بينهما التوتر، وقد تتجه إدارة بايدن إلى فرض المزيد من العقوبات على قادة روسيا، وبخاصة أن طاقم إدارة بايدن له موقف صلب تجاه موسكو، لكن ذلك لا يعني الوصول إلى حالة القطيعة بين البلدين بالضرورة.

 

كليف كويتشان، رئيس مجلس إدارة مجموعة "أوراسيا".

ريتشارد فونتين

ريتشارد فونتين

أثبتت الانتخابات الأخيرة أن هناك قسماً كبيراً من الشعب الأمريكي (الذين صوتوا لترمب وهُم نحو 47%) غير راضٍ عن سياسات الولايات المتحدة وأدائها الاقتصادي، وسيكون بايدن أمام تحدي صياغة سياسات تجذب نصف الشعب نحوه، ومع أنه صرّح بأنه سيجمع كل الأمريكيين إلا أنه سيكون من الصعب عليه إعادة التناغم في سياسات خلافية مثل التجارة والهجرة والضرائب وغيرها. وهنا، أتفق مع الرأي الذي يقول بأن أولى أولويات إدارة بايدن ستكون التعامل مع جائحة كورونا، وستعمل إدارة بايدن على تبنّي مقاربة مختلفة للأزمة.

وتجدُر الإشارة هنا إلى أن رغم كون معظم الفريق العامل مع بايدن قد عمل في إدارة أوباما، لكن لا يُتوقع أن تكون توجهات إدارة بايدن مُطابِقَة لتوجهات إدارة أوباما، إذ تُدرك إدارة بايدن أن العالم تغيَّر في السنوات الأربع الماضية وكذلك مواقف الدول؛ لذا سنشهد اختلافات في إدارة بايدن عن إدارة أوباما.

على صعيد السياسة الخارجية، من الواضح لنا جميعاً أن إدارة بايدن ستتبنى نهجاً مختلفاً عن إدارة ترمب، إذ ستعود الإدارة الأمريكية إلى النهج المتعدد الأطراف، وإلى الالتزامات العالمية، سواء من خلال الرجوع إلى اتفاق باريس لتغير المناخ، وإعادة المساهمة المالية لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، كما أنها ستُصلِح ما أفسده ترمب مع الحلفاء في الناتو، وفي أوروبا. وقد ينفّذ بايدن ما دعا له من إقامة مؤتمر للزعماء الديمقراطيين في العالم لبحث سبل مواجهة التحديات العالمية.

غير أن الأولوية للسياسة الخارجية في إدارة بايدن ستتركز في الصين، وفي هذا السياق من المهم ملاحظة أن فريق بايدن مُنقسِم حول مقاربة العلاقة مع الصين: هل تكون تنافسية تعاونية أم تنافسية بحت؟ ومع أن إدارة بايدن قد تتراجع عن القرارات الحادة لإدارة ترمب تجاه الصين، وبخاصة في مجالات التجارة والرسوم الجمركية، إلا أن حالة التنافس ستطغى على العلاقة بين الطرفين، وبخاصة أن هناك اختلافات كبيرة بين واشنطن وبيجين حول كثير من القضايا، ومنها قضية التكنولوجيا على سبيل المثال.

وفي تصوّري أن الصين تؤيد الاستقرار وترغب في الحفاظ على جوانب من النظام الدولي، لكنها في الوقت نفسه تواصل مساعيها لفرض نفوذها في جنوب شرقي آسيا؛ ففي الآونة الأخيرة رأيناها تبرز عضلاتها على الدول المعارضة لها، كما حصل في المناوشات الحدودية مع الهند، أو النزاع الحدودي مع اليابان، أو التوتر مع أستراليا، أو حتى فَرْض القبضة الأمنية على هونغ كونغ.

ومع أني أتفق مع الرأي القائل بأن تعددية الأطراف فكرة جذابة، ورغم أن إدارة بايدن ستدعم هذا التوجه، لكنها لا تمثل الحل الوحيد لمشاكل النظام الدولي، وللتحديات التي يواجهها العالم. إذ إن تبنّي النهج المتعدد الأطراف لا يعني أن إدارة بايدن ستذهب إلى الأمم المتحدة ومجلس الأمن لحل الأزمات وقضايا الخلاف مع القوى الأخرى، ولنتذكر هنا أن مجلس الأمن لم يستطِع حتى الآن إصدار بيان واحد حول أزمة وباء كورونا بسبب التنافس الأمريكي-الصيني.

 

ريتشارد فونتين، الرئيس التنفيذي لمركز الأمن الأمريكي الجديد في واشنطن.

Experts' Comments

U.S. Policies Under the Biden Administration: What Kind of World Order Awaits Us?

EPC | 20 Dec 2020

U.S. Policies Under the Biden Administration: What Kind of World Order Awaits Us?

The 2020 American Presidential election was a milestone. The intense competition between the candidates added more excitement to this event and made the world watch its outcome closely. By announcing the victory of the Democratic nominee, Joe Biden, the focus was shifted towards the formation of his administration awaiting cautiously the domestic and foreign policies of the new American administration. The 7th Abu Dhabi Strategic Debate, which was held November 9-11, 2020 with the participation of a number of strategic experts and distinguished world researchers, discussed in details in one of its panels the potential consequences of the outcomes of US elections on international order and rising powers, especially China. The following are key conclusions presented by participating experts on this issue.

Kishore Mahbubani

Kishore Mahbubani

We can argue that most world countries are happy for electing Joe Biden as US President. The four years of President Donald Trump’s era were exhausting for a large number of world countries as a result of their efforts to cope with Trump’s inconsistent policies.

Biden’s election came at a time when the US is suffering from an internal crisis and problems in its political system. Therefore, his administration will face a number of internal challenges, notably dealing with the health and economic repercussions of the COVID-19 pandemic.

As for the new American administration’s policy towards China – the key competitor for the US at the global level- management of relations with Beijing will be the biggest challenge for the Biden administration at the foreign policy level. There are three structural factors that push the Democratic administration to continue the competitive policy with China. These factors are: Historically, the first power in international order clashes with the rising power; a bipartisan consensus in the US that China will not be a democratic country like the US; and the third factor is a moral one related to China’s role in the Coronavirus pandemic. At the same time, there are reasons that push the American administration to cooperate with Beijing, notably their joint confrontation of the Coronavirus pandemic and dealing with other global challenges such as climate change.     

It is likely that the Biden administration will continue the competitive policy with China, albeit less intense than the Trump administration. It is important, however, that the two countries find means for understanding and agreement to prevent competition from getting out of control. In this sense, I think if Biden rejoins the Trans-Pacific Partnership, which includes 15 countries, this will be a game-changer in South-East Asia region because it will bring back American influence in the region in face of China’s influence. It is important that Washington focusses on economic, not military, presence in the region because it is more feasible and effective.

Although China is looking to play a global role, it does not seek to replace the US. China is also not a revisionist country now or in the coming two decades at least. It is ironic that China believes that as long as Washington is involved in world affairs and the Middle East, in particular, this represents a gift to Beijing.

 

Kishore Mahbubani is a Distinguished Fellow at the Asia Research Institute at the National University of Singapore.

Cliff Kupchan

Cliff Kupchan

First of all, we cannot ignore that the US is internally divided and suffers from an internal crisis. Dealing with this crisis poses a challenge to the Biden administration. The question is: Can President-elect Biden overcome the American internal division, deal with the Coronavirus crisis and renew American power?

I do not think that the arrival of Biden to the White House will change the rules of the international game. I think Biden will be a weak president with tied hands due to the Republican majority in the US Senate. Biden will also be a one-term president due to his old age. The issue that raises concern and came up during Trump’s presidency and might continue in the future, is the credibility of the US. Trump has turned his back to international commitments and agreements signed by his predecessor Barack Obama. The question is: what will happen to agreements which Biden will sign after he leaves office. More than 71 million Americans have voted for Trump, which means Trumpism still exists in the US.

While President-elect Biden is likely to follow a foreign policy approach different from that of his predecessor, will be more involved in global affairs and more cooperative with U.S allies and build bridges with other world powers, we should bear in mind that Biden is not an idealist but rather a political realist. It is quite true that the U.S is the most powerful nation globally in military and economic fields, as well as, in soft power domain, multilateralism has never been obvious in the world than today. There is a fierce competition now between the United States and China particularly in economic area and undoubtedly Beijing breathed a sigh of relief following the election of Biden. China can still reach understandings with the White House despite the competition between the two global powers.

As far as the US-Russian relations is concerned, they were not good at all in the past period of time particularly given the differences between the two sides over several issues including the conflict in Ukraine, the alleged Russian intervention in the U.S Presidential elections of 2016, and attempts by the Russian regime to assassinate opposition members. Obviously, the Biden administration will continue its confrontation with Russia and the relationship between the two countries will be tense. The Biden administration might impose more sanctions on Russian leaders, especially with Biden’s team already adopting a tough stand towards Moscow. This, however, does not mean the point of estrangement between the two countries.

 

Cliff Kupchan, Chairperson of Eurasia Group.

Richard Fontaine

Richard Fontaine

U.S elections proved that a large segment (47%) of American people is not satisfied with Washington’s policies and economic performance. President-elect Joe Biden will face the tough challenge of shaping policies that appeal to a half of the people in the U.S even though he pledged to bring the country together. He will have a difficult time in restoring harmony to controversial policies such as trade, immigration and taxes. The first priority for the Biden administration will be dealing with the Coronavirus pandemic by adopting a different approach to the crisis.

It is worth to note here that even though most of Biden’s team has been involved in the Obama’s administration, it is unlikely that the tendencies of both administrations will be identical. The Biden administration realizes that the world has changed over the past four years as well as the positions of countries. Therefore, we will likely see differences in the way both administrations run their own business.

In foreign policy, the Biden administration will adopt a different approach from that of President Trump and go back to the multilateral approach and global commitments such as the Paris Agreement on climate change, and reintroduce Washington’s contribution in World Health Organization. It will try to fix the damage Trump caused in the U.S relations with NATO and other European allies. Biden may deliver on his promise of hosting a conference for world democratic leaders to discuss and find ways to face global challenges.

However, the priority of American foreign policy during Biden’s era will be dealing with China, although Biden’s team is divided over the way to deal with Beijing and whether it should be a cooperative competition or mere competition. While the Biden administration may backtrack on the unilateral measures taken by the Trump administration towards China in terms of trade tariffs, competition will dominate over the relationship between the two countries due to the current controversial issues between Beijing and Washington including technology transfer as an example.

Even though China supports stability and wishes to keep some aspects of the global order, it continues its endeavors to enhance its influence in South East Asia. Recently, it has been noted that Beijing has stretched its muscles and has taken an aggressive stance on multiple fronts, entering into violent border clash with India, escalating border dispute with Japan and tensions with Australia and tightening its grip on Hong Kong.

While multilateralism sounds such an appealing notion, and while Biden’s administration is likely to support this tendency, it is not the only solution to the problems of the global order and to the challenges the world is facing now. Multilateralism does not necessarily mean that the Biden administration will go to the United Nations and U.N Security Council to solve crises and resolve conflicts with other powers, and let’s remember that the UN Security Council has not yet been able to issue one statement on Covid-19 pandemic because of the U.S-China competition.

 

Richard Fontaine, CEO of the Center for a New American Security in Washington.