تركيا وإيران وأزمات المياه في سوريا والعراق

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 31 أغسطس 2020

دقّ انخفاض منسوب المياه في نهري دجلة والفرات، ناقوس الخطر في سوريا والعراق من أزمة مياه تطال البلدين، اللذان يعانيان من أزمات سياسية واجتماعية وحروب لا يوجد أفق لنهايتها. وقد تحوّلت الأنهار، التي كانت تمثل شرايين حياة للبلدين إلى مجرد مستنقعات، مع قيام تركيا وإيران بعمل إنشاءات مائية أسهمت في تخفيض تدفق مياه الأنهار بدرجة كبيرة، الأمر الذي ينذر بتداعيات خطيرة توازي من حيث أثارها السلبية، التداعيات التي سببتها الحروب للبلدين، وخاصة لجهة التغيير الديمغرافي وتدمير العملية الاقتصادية، إذ لا زالت الزراعة في البلدين تسهم بنسبة عالية في حاصل ناتجهما القومي.  

أساس المشكلة

يرجع أساس مشكلة انخفاض تدفق مياه نهري دجلة والفرات إلى تنفيذ تركيا مشروع "غاب"، الذي تضمن بناء مجموعة من السدود على نهري الفرات ودجلة، بهدف مضاعفة حجم الأراضي المروية في منطقة الأناضول وتأمين طاقة كهربائية من السدود. وتحتاج سلسلة السدود هذه إلى ملئها سنوياً، وفي سنوات الجفاف تستهلك تركيا غالبية مياه النهرين، على حساب حصص كُلٍّ مِنْ سوريا والعراق.

وقامت تركيا مؤخراً بإغلاق بوابات عبور مياه الفرات إلى سوريا، ما أدى إلى انخفاض منسوب المياه إلى حد كبير، حيث لم تتجاوز نسبة المياه المتدفقة 200 متر مكعب في الثانية، "خلافاً للاتفاقية السورية التركية للعام 1987، التي تنص على أن تضخ تركيا المياه بمعدل 500 متر مكعب في الثانية، ويحصل العراق على 60% منها".

على الجانب الإيراني، أَقرَّت الحكومة عام 2011 مشروعاً لبناء 152 سداً، يقع بعضها على نهري سيروان والزاب الأسفل، اللذان يشكلان روافد لنهر دجلة، بعد دخولهما للعراق من محافظة السليمانية، وقامت إيران في السنوات الأخيرة بقطع مياه النهرين بالكامل في فصل الصيف، مما أثر بشكل كبير على المخزون المائي لسدِّي دربنديخان ودوكان في محافظة السليمانية، وكذلك على المواطنين والزراعة في حوض النهرين.

وزاد من نكبة نهر دجلة تحويل تركيا المياه إلى سد أليسو، مما أدى إلى انخفاض حصة العراق من مياه النهر إلى 50 بالمئة، وحسب التقديرات، سيُحرَم 696 ألف هكتار من الأراضي الزراعية العراقية من المياه، ويُخفِّض الوارد المائي بمقدار 11 مليار متر مكعب. وتفيد التقارير الدولية أن العراق خسر في السنوات العشر الأخيرة نحو 80% من المياه المتدفقة إليه من إيران بعد قطعها نحو 35 رافداً رئيساً، وذلك وفقاً للجنة الزراعة والمياه النيابية العراقية، إذ أشارت اللجنة إلى أن المتبقِّي من الروافد الإيرانية 7 فقط، وأن إيران بصدد بناء نواظم وسدود جديدة في السنوات المقبلة، على الرغم من أن لدى العراق وإيران اتفاقاً أُبرِمَ في الجزائر عام 1975 يتضمن بروتوكولاً خاصاً بالمياه.

الأُطُر الناظمة للعلاقات المائية بين تركيا وسوريا والعراق

لا تعترف تركيا بأن الفرات ودجلة نهرين دوليين، وإنما تعتبرهما نهرين عابرين للحدود، إذ تستخدم تركيا في خطابها مصطلح "المياه العابرة للحدود"، بدلاً من "الأنهُر الدولية"، بما يتبع ذلك من خضوعهما للسيادة المطلقة للدولة التركية، ويبيح لها ذلك حقّ التصرف في كمية المياه التي تمنحها للدول المتشاطئة الأخرى، في حين تستخدم هي ما تشاء لسد حاجتها من مياه النهرين، وهو ما اعتبره بعض الخبراء بمثابة "تتريك للنهرين".

واضطرت تركيا في عام 1975، وبناءً على وساطة لجنة البنك الدولي، باعتبار أن البنك هو الممول الرئيس للإنشاءات المائية على السدود النهرية، إلى تقسيم حاجات البلدان الثلاثة بنسبة الثلث لكل منها على متوسط الوارد السنوي، لكن تركيا نقضت هذا الاتفاق وعقدت مع سوريا في عام 1987 بروتوكولاً منحها 50 في المائة من واردات النهر الوسطية السنوية لتعبئة خزان سد أتاتورك لغاية نهاية عام 1993، ثم تعود حصة تركيا إلى نسبة الثلث.

إلا أن هذه الاتفاقيات بقيت مؤقتة، وترتبط بدرجة كبيرة بالعوامل السياسية المحيطة بالبلدان الثلاثة، والتطورات الميدانية التي تشهدها، حيث تعتبر تركيا الحلقة الأقوى في هذه القضية كونها تسيطر على منابع أبرز الموارد المائية التي تغذِّي سوريا والعراق (الفرات، ودجلة).

استراتيجية تركيا المائية

تعتمد تركيا في إدارة مشكلاتها المائية مع جوارها العربي على مبدأ فرض الأمر الواقع، مُستثمرة في ذلك حالة الضعف التي تنتاب كلاً من سوريا والعراق، وعدم قدرتهما على أكثر من الاعتراض اللفظي، نظراً لفارق القوّة بين الطرفين، وباعتبار تركيا عضواً في الحلف الأطلسي.

وكانت القيادات التركية قد صرَّحت سابقاً أن من حق بلادهم استثمار الثروة المائية، كما تستثمر الدول العربية الثروة النفطية، ما يُؤشر على طموح تركيا بمبادلة مياه نهري دجلة والفرات بنفط وغاز سوريا والعراق. وقد طرحت تركيا في وقت سابق فكرة تحويل المياه إلى سلعة وبيعها إلى إسرائيل (مشروع أنبوب السلام)، غير أنها لم تجد من يموّل هذا المشروع، وقد اشترت إسرائيل بالفعل كميات من المياه التركية تم نقلها بعبوات بلاستيكية من خلال السفن إلى إسرائيل.

وتستخدم تركيا مسألة المياه سلاحاً للإبتزاز والضغط على سوريا والعراق لتحقيق مكاسب سياسية وأمنية؛ فلم تُفعِّل تركيا اتفاقها مع سوريا إلا بعد التوقيع على اتفاق أمني في سبتمبر 1992 تمنع سوريا بمقتضاه أنشطة حزب العمال الكردستاني في سوريا ولبنان، وملاحقة القوات التركية للحزب داخل سوريا.

ويؤخذ على حكومات سوريا والعراق عدم الرد على تركيا بنفس أسلحتها، إذ يستورد العراق من تركيا بما يعادل 20 مليار دولار، وما يعادل 10 مليارات دولار من إيران، وهذه الميزة، إن أرادت الحكومة العراقية استغلالها، فإنها يمكن أن تَستغِل الاقتصاد ورقة ضغط لتُجبر تركيا وإيران على الالتزام بالمعاهدات والاتفاقات الموقعة سابقاً. وكانت سوريا تمثل ممر تركيا إلى العالم العربي، ومنح النظام السوري لتركيا الكثير من المزايا الاستثمارية في سوريا، في مرحلة ما قبل الثورة، ورغم ذلك لم يُحسِن استثمار هذه الأوراق لتحقيق وضع متوازن في مسألة مياه نهر الفرات.

تداعيات أزمة المياه

توقع المحلل الاستراتيجي الأمريكي روبرت كابلان في كتابه المعنون "انتقام الجغرافيا" الصادر عام 2013 أن يؤثر نقص المياه في سوريا والعراق على الاستقرار السياسي والمجتمعي في البلدين، لدرجة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تفككهما وتحوُّلهما إلى ولايات تابعة لتركيا وإيران.

وبالفعل شكلت أزمات المياه في سوريا والعراق عامل عدم استقرار، إذ تشير الكثير من الدراسات إلى أن أزمة الجفاف التي حصلت في سوريا أعوام 2008 و2009، والتي أدت إلى نزوح أكثر من مليون شخص من المناطق الشرقية في سوريا إلى درعا ودمشق، كانت أحد مُسبِّبات ثورة 2011، ولا تختلف عن ذلك أحداث العراق التي بدأت في البصرة وامتدت إلى محافظات وسط العراق 2018 نتيجة النقص الهائل في مياه الشرب بعد قيام إيران بقطع روافد نهر دجلة.

ويتوقع الخبراء أن تُؤدي أزمات المياه في سوريا والعراق إلى تغيير الكثير من ملامح البلدين المعروفة اليوم، وخاصة على صُعُد التوزُّع السكاني وأساليب الإنتاج وأنماط الاستهلاك، الأمر الذي من شأنه إدامة حالة عدم الاستقرار لآجال طويلة، وربما انتقال هذه الحالة إلى دول الإقليم الأخرى نتيجة اضطرار أعداد كبيرة من سكان البلدين إلى الهجرة بعيداً عن أرض الموات.

خلاصة

من شبه المؤكد أن تركيا وإيران لن تتراجعا عن سياساتهما المائية تجاه الجوار العربي، نتيجة إدراكهما عدم وجود عواقب على هذه السياسات، وبالعكس تشكل أزمات المياه في سوريا والعراق مداخل مهمة لزيادة نفوذ وتأثير تركيا وإيران في هذين البلدين، وخاصة أن المياه، أو "الذهب الأزرق" كما يُطلِق عليه البعض، سيكون قضية العقود المقبلة الأهم، ومَن يتحكم بصنبور المياه ستكون له قدرة على التحكم بالتوجهات السياسية للدول المنكوبة بالفقر المائي. 

أحدث الإيجازات

The falling levels of the Tigris and Euphrates rivers warn of an impending water crisis in Syria and Iraq, two countries engulfed in war and economic and political crises with no end in sight. The rivers – once the lifeblood of the two countries – have been reduced to swamps since Turkey and Iran constructed hydropower facilities that have considerably reduced the flow of the rivers. The situation has repercussions as dire as those of the wars in Syria and Iraq, in particular for demographic change and the destruction of the economy, since agriculture remains a major contributor to the GDP of both countries.  

Root of the problem

The root cause of the dwindling flow of the Tigris and the Euphrates is Turkey’s Southeastern Anatolia Project, known by its Turkish acronym GAP, in which Turkey has built a series of dams along the two rivers with the aim of doubling the amount of irrigable land in the Anatolia region and generating hydroelectric power. The dams must be filled annually, and in years of drought, Turkey uses the majority of the water from both rivers, at the expense of Syria and Iraq.

Turkey recently cut off the Euphrates water supply to Syria, significantly reducing the water level. The flow rate has not exceeded 200 m³ per second since then, in violation of the 1987 agreement between Syria and Turkey which stipulates that Turkey must release water to Syria at a rate of 500 m³ per second, 60% of that water being allocated to Iraq.

In 2011, the Iranian Government approved a project to build 152 dams, some lying on the Sirwan and Lower Zab rivers, which flow into the Tigris in the Iraqi governorate of Sulaymaniyah. In recent years, Iran has completely cut off both rivers in the summer, which has had a major impact on water reserves in the Darbandikhan and Dukan dams in Sulaymaniyah and on people and agriculture in the two river basins.

The Tigris disaster has been exacerbated as Turkey has taken to diverting water to the Ilisu dam, which has halved Iraq’s share of the river’s flow. According to estimates, 696,000 hectares of Iraqi agricultural land will be deprived of water, and water resources will be reduced by 11 billion m³. International reports state that in the last decade, Iraq has lost around 80% of its water flow from Iran after the latter cut off some 35 main tributaries. This is according to the Iraqi parliamentary committee on agriculture and water resources, which indicated that only seven tributaries from Iran remain and that Iran will be building new dams in the coming years, despite the 1975 Algiers Accord concluded between the two countries, which includes a protocol on water.

Frameworks governing water relations between Turkey, Syria, and Iraq

Turkey does not recognize the Euphrates and Tigris as international rivers, declaring them instead to be “transboundary waters” subject to the absolute sovereignty of Turkey. This “Turkification” of the two rivers, as described by some experts, gives Turkey the right to decide freely how much water it allocates to other riparian States, taking what it wants to meet its own needs.

An agreement brokered in 1975 by the World Bank, the main financier of water constructions on river embankments, forced Turkey to divide the needs of the three countries evenly against the average annual water flow. However, Turkey reneged on this agreement and signed a protocol with Syria in 1987 that granted Turkey 50% of the average annual river inflow in order to fill the reservoir of the Ataturk Dam until the end of 1993, when Turkey’s share would return to a third.

Despite this, these agreements have remained temporary and are largely governed by political factors in the three countries and by developments on the ground; Turkey holds the upper hand as it controls the headwaters of the Euphrates and the Tigris, which are Syria and Iraq’s most important water sources.

Turkey’s water strategy

The power differential between the Turkey and its two Arab neighbors, in addition to its NATO membership, have allowed Turkey to manage its water issues with Syria and Iraq through faits accomplis, exploiting the weakness of Syria and Iraq and their inability to do more than verbally object.

Turkish leaders have previously stated that their country has the right to its water resources just as Arab countries have the right to their oil resources, which indicates Turkey’s ambition to exchange the waters of the Tigris and Euphrates for Syrian and Iraqi oil and gas. Earlier, Turkey had proposed the idea of ​​commodifying water and selling it to Israel (the Peace Pipeline) but did not find a project funder. Meanwhile, Israel is buying Turkish water shipped in plastic containers.

Turkey has long used water as a weapon to blackmail and pressure Syria and Iraq in order to achieve political and security gains. It did not activate its water agreement with Syria until the two countries signed a security agreement in September 1992, under which Syria agreed to prevent the activities of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party in Syria and Lebanon and to allow Turkish forces to pursue the party inside Syria.

The Syrian and Iraqi governments have thus far failed to respond to Turkey in kind. Iraq imports the equivalent of $20 billion in goods from Turkey and $10 billion from Iran; if the Iraqi Government wished, it could use this economic trump card to force Turkey and Iran to abide by previously signed treaties and agreements. Before the revolution, Syria was Turkey’s gateway to the Arab world, and the Syrian regime granted it many investment benefits; despite this, Syria did not properly leverage the situation to achieve a balance in the Euphrates water issue.

Repercussions of the water crisis

In his 2013 book The Revenge of Geography, American strategic analyst Robert D. Kaplan predicted that water shortages in Syria and Iraq would have such an impact on political and societal stability in the two countries that it could lead to their disintegration and transformation into States belonging to Turkey and Iran.

Indeed, the water crisis in Syria and Iraq have driven instability. Many studies indicate that the 2008–2009 drought in Syria, which led to the displacement of more than one million people from the eastern regions of Syria to Dara’a and Damascus, was one of the causes of the 2011 revolution. Likewise, the unrest that began in Basra and spread to the governorates of central Iraq in 2018 was sparked by the massive shortage of drinking water after Iran cut off the tributaries of the Tigris.

Experts anticipate that the water crisis in Syria and Iraq will considerably reshape the two countries, especially in terms of population distribution, production methods, and consumption patterns, which would perpetuate long-term instability. This situation may spread to other countries in the region, as large numbers of Syrians and Iraqis are forced to migrate from newly created wastelands.

Conclusion

Turkey and Iran will almost certainly not retreat from their water policies toward their Arab neighbors, as they have realized that there are no consequences for their actions. On the contrary, the water crisis is significantly increasing Turkey and Iran’s influence over both Syria and Iraq, especially as the shortage of “blue gold” will be the prime issue of the coming decades, and whoever controls the tap will control the political orientations of countries afflicted by water poverty.

Latest Briefs