أقالَ الرئيسُ التركي رجب طيب أردوغان في نوفمبر الماضي صهره وزير المالية برات البيرق بشكل مُهين على نحو أدى إلى أزمة سياسية داخل الحزب الحاكم وخسارة أردوغان ذراعه اليمنى فيه، إذ قدَّم أردوغان صهره كبش فداء معلناً فشل سياساته الاقتصادية. وسيكون لهذا الأمر تبعاته السلبية على تماسُك الحزب الحاكم بعد عملية تصفية الرجال المحسوبين على صهر أردوغان، وسيؤدي إلى زيادة نفوذ القوميين داخل الحزب وفي مؤسسات الحكم.

أزمة استقالة البيرق

في 7 نوفمبر 2020، أقال الرئيس أردوغان، بشكل مفاجئ، محافظ البنك المركزي التركي، مراد أويصال، دون إبداء أسباب، وعيَّن مكانه مستشاره الاقتصادي ناجي أغبال. وجاءت هذه الخطوة دون علم أو تنسيق مع وزير المالية برات البيرق صهر الرئيس أردوغان، وتم الكشف لاحقاً عن أن قرار الإقالة جاء بعد اجتماع عقده أردوغان مع أويصال وناجي أغبال في القصر الرئاسي استعرض خلاله الوضع الاقتصادي والمالي، وجاءت الأرقام التي قدمها أويصال مخالفة لتلك التي قدمها أغبال، خصوصاً فيما يتعلق باحتياطات البنك المركزي من النقد الأجنبي.

وقد احتج البيرق على هذه الخطوة، التي تعني إعلان فشله في إدارة الاقتصاد وتحويل جزء من صلاحياته المتعلقة بالبنك المركزي لصالح أغبال. وسارع البيرق إلى تقديم استقالته عبر حسابه على انستغرام بعد بلوغه معلومات عن نية الرئيس أردوغان إعفاءه من منصبه، حيث أمر أردوغان بإغلاق حساب البيرق على تويتر. واختفى البيرق عن الأضواء بعد هذه الاستقالة حتى اليوم. فيما لم يرد أي تعليق من أردوغان والرئاسة على استقالة البيرق لمدة 72 ساعة كاملة تم فيها إخفاء الخبر عن الإعلام الموالي لأردوغان، وحتى قناة الجزيرة القطرية، لحين صدور بيان من القصر الرئاسي أكد "قبول طلب البيرق إعفاءه من منصبه". وبعدها خرج أردوغان ليؤكد أن على تركيا "أن تتجرع الدواء المرّ من أجل إنقاذ الاقتصاد التركي"، مشيراً إلى سماحه أخيراً للبنك المركزي برفع أسعار الفائدة من جديد من أجل إنقاذ سعر الليرة التركي الذي تهاوى إلى 8.5 ليرات للدولار الواحد.

وتشير هذه الأزمة إلى اعتراف صريح من أردوغان بفشل سياساته الاقتصادية، فعلى الرغم من محاولة تحميل أردوغان لصهره البيرق مسؤولية ما وصل إليه الوضع الاقتصادي، إلا أن جميع الخبراء الاقتصاديين يؤكدون أن المسؤول الأول هو أردوغان الذي كان يرفض أي نقاش حول ضرورة رفع سعر الفائدة البنكية، وأن البيرق كان ينفذ هذه السياسة، لكنه أخفى عن أردوغان حقيقة الوضع المالي كي لا يظهر وكأنه فشل في التوفيق بين رغبة أردوغان وإنقاذ الاقتصاد التركي.

كما سيكون لهذه الأزمة انعكاس سياسي خطير على حزب العدالة والتنمية الحاكم، خصوصاً أن أردوغان كان يمهد "لتوريث البيرق زعامة الحزب من بعده"، إنْ هو قرر التخلي عن زعامة الحزب والاكتفاء بمنصب رئيس الجمهورية. وكان البيرق قد دخل في تنافس وصراع سياسي مع خصمه في الحزب وزير الداخلية سليمان صويلو، المحسوب على التيار القومي، من أجل السيطرة على أجنحة الحزب ومؤسسات الدولة. فالبيرق كان يتولى أمور القضاء في الخفاء، ويشل حركة وزير العدل عبد الحميد غول، ويتدخل أيضاً في تعيينات أجهزة الأمن وقيادات الحزب. وعليه فإن خروج البيرق من الصورة، يعني صعوداً مهماً لوزير الداخلية صويلو الذي لا يثق به أردوغان، ويَعتبره مفروضاً عليه من قبل حليفه القومي دولت باهشلي.

وعلى الرغم من التحالف الحاصل حالياً بين أردوغان وباهشلي، فإن كليهما لا يثق في الآخر، ويعلمان أن تحالفهما مصلحي، فيما يحاول كل طرف الاستحواذ قدر الممكن على أجهزة الدولة، إذ يُعيّن أردوغان الإسلاميين ومُنتسبي الطرق الدينية في أجهزة الدولة والقضاء والأمن كي يضمن ولاءهم، فيما يُنافسه القوميون من خلال الوزير صويلو في هذه التعيينات. لذا سارع الرئيس أردوغان إلى تعيين عدد من القوميين في حزبه من الموالين له وليس للحزب القومي في مناصب مهمة وحساسة، كمستشارين له، بينهم وزير الداخلية الأسبق إفكان آلا، ولطفي علوان وزيراً للمالية. وهذان الاثنان كانا وزيرين في حكومة أحمد داود أوغلو السابقة، وهما أيضاً من المقربين لداود أوغلو. وتم تسريب أخبار من القصر الجمهوري أن أردوغان حالَ بذلك دون احتمال انشقاقهما وانضمامهما إلى حزب المستقبل الذي يتزعمه داود أوغلو. وقد أكد أحمد داود أوغلو هذه التسريبات في تصريح لاحق قائلاً "إن أردوغان يعرف مع مَن نتواصل في حزبه ويدرك الخطر الذي يواجهه".

وعليه فإن على أردوغان الآن إعادة ترتيب وضع البيت الداخلي لحزبه بعد مغادرة البيرق، إذ لا يمكنه الوثوق بالرجال الذين عينهم البيرق، وبالفعل فقد بدأت الإقالات تلاحق عدداً من رجال البيرق في العديد من مؤسسات الدولة، مثل البورصة والبنك المركزي. ومن المستبعد بعد هذه الأزمة أن يعود البيرق إلى أي منصب سياسي في المدى المنظور، بل إنه من المتوقع أن تشمل عملية إعادة ترتيب البيت الداخلي سرهات البيرق شقيق برات البيرق، والمسؤول حالياً عن الذراع الإعلامية الأقوى للحزب الحاكم.

وجاء توقيت أزمة إقالة البيرق متوافقاً مع فوز المرشح الديمقراطي للرئاسة الأمريكية بايدن، ما يعني خسارة أردوغان لدعم الرئيس ترامب، واحتمال تفعيل الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة العقوبات التي عرقل ترامب دخولها حيز التنفيذ بسبب شراء تركيا لصواريخ "أس-400"، ومن ضمن عقوبات "كاتسا" المقترحة "التحقيق في مدخرات وممتلكات أردوغان وعائلته حول العالم". كما أن قضية بنك الخلق التركي المتهم بالتحايل على العقوبات الأمريكية على طهران سيُعاد النظر فيها وستُفتح من جديد في نيويورك في مارس المقبل، وهي القضية التي تمس أردوغان وعدداً من وزرائه القدامى وبرات البيرق نفسه. وكل هذه الاحتمالات على الأغلب دفعت أردوغان إلى إعادة حساباته وتغيير توجهاته السياسية من أجل التواؤم مع السياسة الأمريكية الجديدة للرئيس المنتخب جو بايدن التي ستركز على حقوق الإنسان والحريات والديمقراطية. 

كما جاءت أزمة إقالة البيرق في وقت تصاعد فيه الخلاف الصامت بين أردوغان وحليفه القومي، بعد زيادة سيطرة القوميين على جهاز الأمن والقضاء بشكل بات يهدد أردوغان وسلطته على هذين الجهازين، ومع مطالبة القوميين بالسيطرة على جهاز المخابرات من خلال المطالبة بتغيير هاكان فيدان، وتعيين شخص آخر من الحزب القومي. ومنذ تلك الأزمة بدأت الصحف الموالية لأردوغان –على غير العادة– تتجاهل أخبار وصور الحليف القومي دولت باهشلي في إصداراتها. بل إن أردوغان رفض السفر إلى شمال قبرص مع حليفه القومي في طائرة واحدة، وبدأ نواب حزب العدالة والتنمية يتحدثون بصوت أعلى عن "خطر" استمرار التحالف مع حزب الحركة القومي الذي بات يفرض سياساته على الحكومة، ويثبت أقدامه في أجهزة الدولة على حساب الحزب الحاكم.

أزمة أردوغان مع الحليف القومي واحتمال تغيير السياسات الداخلية والخارجية

بعد أزمة إقالة البيرق حاول الرئيس أردوغان الظهور كمن يريد فتح صفحة جديدة في سياساته والتحول إلى الديمقراطية من جديد من خلال الوعد بإصلاحات اقتصادية وديمقراطية جذرية على حد قوله، فقد وعد أردوغان منتصف نوفمبر بالبدء بإصلاحات كبيرة وجذرية في ملفَّي الاقتصاد والقضاء، كما صرّح مخاطباً القضاة في تركيا "عليكم بتحكيم ضميركم ورفض أي إملاءات توجه إليكم في القضايا التي تنظرون فيها"، وتبعه وزير العدل عبدالحميد غول مؤكداً بدء العمل على تعديل دستوري وقانوني من أجل "ضمان نزاهة القضاء"، وحمّل الوزيرُ القضاةَ مسؤولية جميع التجاوزات والمخالفات القضائية التي حصلت سابقاً، قائلاً إنه ستتم محاسبة القضاة الذين رفضوا الانصياع لأحكام المحكمة الدستورية، مع العلم بأن جميع هذه القضايا كانت تمس معارضين سياسيين أكراد أمر أردوغان شخصياً بوضعهم في السجن، وعلى رأسهم الزعيم الكردي صلاح الدين دميرطاش الذي حكمت المحكمة الدستورية بإخلاء سبيله ورفضت المحكمة الجزائية تنفيذ هذا الحكم بشكل مخالف للدستور ولم يتحرك أحد لتغيير هذا الوضع سابقاً.

وقرأت أحزاب المعارضة التركية تصريحات أردوغان المفاجئة هذه على أنها نية مُبيَّتة للتخلص من شريكه القومي الذي بات يشكل خطراً عليه، وإجراء إصلاحات ديمقراطية ولو محدودة من أجل خطب ود الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة. وعليه سارع زعماء أحزاب المعارضة إلى إجراء لقاءات ثناية من أجل الخروج بوجهة نظر مشتركة حول ضرورة ما يجب إجراؤه من إصلاحات، وتنسيق المواقف بين الأحزاب استعداداً لبحث أردوغان عن شريك جديد في الحكومة بديل من الحزب القومي. وفي هذا الإطار، أجرى زعيم حزب المستقبل أحمد داود أوغلو لقاءات مع زعيمي حزبي الشعب الجمهوري الأتاتوركي والجيد القومي المعارضين، وبعدها طلب لقاء الرئيس أردوغان كي يعرض عليه "خريطة خروج من الوضع الحالي بالتعاون مع المعارضة"، لكن مدير مكتب أردوغان رد على داود أوغلو قائلاً "إن الرئيس يرفض مناقشة أي اقتراح يتعلق بتغيير نظام الحكم الرئاسي والعودة إلى نظام الحكم البرلماني، وأن أردوغان قد يقبل لقاءه في حال كانت لديه اقتراحات لتعديل النظام الرئاسي الحالي فقط".

ويبدو واضحاً من خلال تسريبات وتصريحات زعماء المعارضة التركية، أنهم يرون أردوغان حالياً في مأزق كبير يبحث عن مخرج له، إذ إن الاقتصاد يواجه أزمة كبيرة لا يمكن حلها إلا من خلال اللجوء إلى صندوق النقد الدولي، كما أن تركيا على أعتاب أزمة كبيرة مع الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة بسبب سياسات أردوغان الداخلية والخارجية ذات الطابع القومي، وأكثر من يدرك ذلك هو أحمد داود أوغلو الذي يتمتع بعلاقة ممتازة مع أعضاء الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة بسبب عمله معهم سابقاً أثناء توليه وزارة الخارجية التركية في عهد الرئيس السابق باراك أوباما. وتدرك المعارضة أن أردوغان يشعر بأنه بات محاصراً من قبل القوميين الذين لا يثق بهم وهم لا يثقون به، وأن شعبية أردوغان وحزبه لا تسمح له بدخول انتخابات جديدة دون حليف سياسي قوي بديل عن القوميين. وعليه فإن المعارضة ترى أن الفرصة باتت سانحة من أجل تقديم عرض لأردوغان يخلصه من هذا المأزق مقابل العودة إلى نظام الحكم البرلماني. ويتمثل هذا العرض باقتراح إجراء تعديل دستوري تعود فيه تركيا إلى نظام الحكم البرلماني، وتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية من كافة الأحزاب ما عدا الحزب القومي، وتتولى هذه الحكومة إجراء جميع الإصلاحات السياسية والاقتصادية المطلوبة من أجل إعادة مسار تركيا إلى الديمقراطية، وتوسيع الحريات، واستعادة العلاقات الجيدة مع الجوار والغرب، أي العودة بتركيا إلى سياسات عام 2006.

لكن المعارضة ما زالت منقسمة حول دور الرئيس أردوغان في هذا السيناريو المستقبلي المطروح، بين داود أوغلو ووزعيمة الحزب الجيد ميرال أكشنار اللذين لا يمانعان ببقاء الرئيس أردوغان في منصب الرئيس لكن بصلاحيات محدودة، وبين حزب الشعب الجمهوري وزعيمه كيليجدار أوغلو الذي يرى أن أردوغان بدأ يفقد مصداقيته وأن الوقت ليس في صالحه وأن عليه أن يخسر الانتخابات القادمة من أجل إجباره على التخلي عن السلطة. فيما يستشف الرئيس أردوغان موقف المعارضة هذا، ويحاول ربما التفاوض من مركز القوة للحصول على دعم سياسي من المعارضة مقابل التخلص من شريكه القومي، وإجراء إصلاحات سياسية واقتصادية محدودة، وبقائه في الحكم كرئيس بصلاحيات واسعة وفق النظام الرئاسي الحالي، مع توزيع بعض المهمات الوزارية على المعارضة.

خلاصة وتوقعات

جاءت أزمة استقالة وزير المالية التركي برات البيرق بالتزامن مع تصاعد الخلاف الصامت بين الرئيس أردوغان وحليفه القومي. وفي ضوء التطورات الأخيرة، من المتوقع أن يبدأ أردوغان العمل على ترتيب أوضاع البيت الداخلي لحزبه أولاً، والشروع في إضعاف سيطرة القوميين في أجهزة الدولة، واللعب على الوقت من أجل الضغط على المعارضة للحصول على أفضل عرض منهم قبل تخليه عن القوميين - إن حدث - وتغيير سياسات تركيا الداخلية والخارجية، وهو ينتظر أيضاً الإشارات التي ستأتي من واشنطن ومدى رغبة الحليف الأمريكي في أن يسير أردوغان في هذا الطريق مقابل إغلاق ملف تهمة المشاركة في التحايل على العقوبات الأمريكية المفروضة على إيران.

أحدث الإيجازات

In November 2020, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan sacked his son-in-law, Finance Minister Berat Albayrak, in a humiliating manner that led to a political crisis within the ruling party and Erdogan's loss of his right arm therein. Erdogan offered his son-in-law as a scapegoat, declaring the failure of his economic policies. This matter will have negative repercussions for the cohesion of the ruling party after the process of liquidating the figures affiliated with Erdogan's son-in-law, and will lead to an increase in the influence of the nationalists within the party and in the government institutions.

Albayrak's Resignation Crisis

On 7 November 2020, President Erdogan abruptly dismissed the governor of the Turkish Central Bank (TCMB) Murat Uysal, without giving reasons, and appointed instead his economic adviser Naci Agbal. This step came without the knowledge of or in coordination with Finance Minister Berat Albayrak, President Erdogan’s son-in-law. It was later revealed that the dismissal decision came after a meeting held by Erdogan with Uysal and Naci Agbal in the presidential palace during which he reviewed the economic and financial situation. The figures provided by Uysal were contrary to those presented by Agbal, especially with regard to the TCMB's foreign exchange reserves.

Albayrak protested this step, which means declaring his failure to manage the economy and transferring part of his powers related to the TCMB to Agbal. Albayrak was quick to submit his resignation through his Instagram account after receiving information about President Erdogan's intention to dismiss him from his post, as Erdogan ordered the closure of Albayrak's Twitter account. After this resignation, Albayrak disappeared from the limelight to this day. No comment was made by Erdogan or the presidency on Albayrak's resignation for a full 72 hours, during which the news was hidden from the pro-Erdogan media, and even from the Qatari Al-Jazeera channel, until a statement was issued by the presidential palace affirming the “acceptance of Albayrak's request to be released from his post”. Afterwards, Erdogan went out to assert that Turkey "must take the bitter medicine in order to save the Turkish economy", indicating that he has finally allowed the TCMB to raise interest rates again in order to save the Turkish lira whose value collapsed to 8.5 liras per dollar.

This crisis indicates Erdogan's explicit admission of the failure of his economic policies. While Erdogan tried to hold his son-in-law Albayrak responsible for the state of the economy, all economic experts assert that the prime responsibility lies with Erdogan who used to reject any discussion about the need to raise the bank interest rate, and that Albayrak was implementing this policy, although he concealed from Erdogan the reality of the financial situation in order not to appear as if he had failed to reconcile Erdogan's desire with saving the Turkish economy.

This crisis will also have a dangerous political impact on the ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP), especially since Erdogan was preparing to "bequeath Albayrak the leadership of the party after him", if he decides to give up the party leadership and settle for the position of President of the Republic. Albayrak had been engaged in a political competition and conflict with his opponent in the party Interior Minister Suleyman Soylu, who is affiliated with the nationalist movement, in order to control the party’s wings and state institutions. Albayrak was secretly handling the judiciary, paralysing Justice Minister Abdulhamit Gul, and also interfering in appointments of the security services and party leaders. Therefore, Albayrak’s exit from the picture amounts to an important rise for Interior Minister Soylu, whom Erdogan does not trust, considering him as someone imposed on him by his nationalist ally Devlet Bahceli.

Despite the current alliance between Erdogan and Bahceli, both of them do not trust each other. They know that their alliance is built on interests, even as each side seeks to acquire as much as possible of the state apparatus. While Erdogan appoints Islamists and followers of religious groups in the state, judiciary and security establishments to ensure their loyalty, the nationalists compete with him through Minister Soylu for those appointments. That is why, President Erdogan was quick to appoint a number of nationalists in his party, who were loyal to him and not to the nationalist party, in important and sensitive positions, as advisers to him, including the former Minister of the Interior Efkan Ala, and Lutfi Elvan as Minister of Finance. These two were ministers in the previous government of Ahmet Davutoglu. They are also close to Davutoglu. News was leaked from the Republican Palace that Erdogan thus prevented them from defecting and joining Davutoglu's Gelecek (Future) Party. Ahmet Davutoglu confirmed those leaks in a later statement, saying, "Erdogan knows with whom we communicate in his party and is aware of the danger he faces".

Accordingly, Erdogan must now rearrange the internal situation of his party after Albayrak’s departure, as he cannot trust the figures appointed by Albayrak. Indeed, the dismissals began to pursue a number of Albayrak's figures in many state institutions, such as the Stock Exchange and the TCMB. After this crisis, it is unlikely that Albayrak would return to any political position in the foreseeable future. Indeed, the process of rearranging the internal affairs is expected to extend to Serhat Albayrak, brother of Berat Albayrak, who is currently responsible for the strongest media arm of the ruling party.

The timing of Albayrak's dismissal crisis coincided with the victory of the US Democratic presidential candidate Biden. This amounts to Erdogan's loss of the support of President Trump and the possibility of the activation by the new US administration of the sanctions whose implementation was hindered by Trump due to Turkey's purchase of the S-400 missiles. Among the proposed sanctions of the Countering America's Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA) is the "investigation of the savings and property of Erdogan and his family around the world". Furthermore, the case of the Turkish Halk Bank, which is accused of circumventing US sanctions on Tehran, will be reconsidered in New York in March 2021. That case affects Erdogan and a number of his old ministers, in addition to Berat Albayrak himself. All those possibilities have most likely prompted Erdogan to reconsider his calculations and change his political orientations in order to cope with the new US policy of President-elect Joe Biden, which will focus on human rights, freedoms and democracy.

The crisis of Albayrak’s dismissal came at a time of escalation in the silent dispute between Erdogan and his nationalist ally, after the nationalists increased control over the security and judiciary apparatus in a way that has come to threaten Erdogan and his authority over those two establishments. It also coincided with the nationalists' demand to control the intelligence services by demanding the removal of Hakan Fidan and the appointment of another person from the Nationalist Party. Since that crisis, the pro-Erdogan newspapers began – unusually – to ignore the news and pictures of the nationalist ally Devlet Bahceli in their publications. Indeed, Erdogan refused to travel to Northern Cyprus with his nationalist ally in one plane. AKP Members of Parliament (MPs) began to speak louder about the "danger" of the continuing alliance with the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP), which has come to impose its policies on the government and establish its presence in the state apparatus at the expense of the ruling party.

Erdogan's crisis with the nationalist ally and the possibility of changing domestic and foreign policies

After the crisis of Albayrak’s dismissal, President Erdogan has tried to appear as someone who wanted to open a new page in his policies and convert to democracy again by promising radical economic and democratic reforms, as he put it. In mid-November 2020, Erdogan promised to initiate major and fundamental reforms at the economic and judicial levels. Addressing the judges in Turkey, he said, “You have to base your judgements on your conscience and reject any dictates directed to you in the cases you look into”. He was followed by the Minister of Justice Abdulhamit Gul who confirmed the start of work on a constitutional and legal amendment in order to “ensure the integrity of the judiciary”. The minister held the judges responsible for all previous judicial excesses and violations, saying that judges who refused to obey the rulings of the Constitutional Court will be held accountable, given that all those cases were related to Kurdish political opponents who were ordered to be put in prison by Erdogan himself, mainly the Kurdish leader Selahattin Demirtas, whose release was ordered by the Constitutional Court, although the Criminal Court refused to implement this ruling in violation of the constitution, even as no one acted to change this situation before.

The Turkish opposition parties read those surprising statements by Erdogan as a deliberate intention to get rid of his nationalist partner who has become a threat to him, and to carry out democratic reforms, albeit limited, in order to woo the new US administration. Thus, the leaders of the opposition parties rushed to hold bilateral meetings in order to come up with a common view on the reforms that need to be undertaken, and to coordinate positions among the parties in preparation for Erdogan's search for a new partner in the government in place of the Nationalist Party. In this context, the leader of the Future Party Ahmet Davutoglu held meetings with the leaders of the opposition Ataturkist Republican People's Party (CHP) and the nationalist Good (Iyi) Party. He requested a meeting with Bahceli in order to present to him a “map of the exit from the current situation in cooperation with the opposition”. However, Bahceli's office director responded to Davutoglu, saying that "Bahceli refuses to discuss any proposal related to changing the presidential system of government and returning to the parliamentary system of government, and that Bahceli may accept to meet him in case he has proposals to amend the current presidential system only".

It seems clear through the leaks and statements of the Turkish opposition leaders that they see that Erdogan is currently in a great dilemma looking for a way out, as the economy is facing a major crisis that can only be solved through resorting to the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Besides, Turkey is on the threshold of a major crisis with the new US administration due to Erdogan's domestic and foreign policies of a nationalistic character. Ahmet Davutoglu is the person most aware of this, given that he has an excellent relationship with members of the new US administration due to his previous work with them during his tenure as the Turkish Foreign Minister during the era of former President Barack Obama. The opposition is aware that Erdogan feels that he has become surrounded by the nationalists whom he does not trust and who do not trust him, and that the popularity of Erdogan and his party would not allow him to enter new elections without a strong political ally in place of the nationalists. Therefore, the opposition believes that the opportunity is now ripe to present to Erdogan an offer to get rid of this impasse in exchange for the return to the parliamentary system of government. This proposal is based on introducing a constitutional amendment whereby Turkey would return to the parliamentary system of government, and the formation of a national unity government from all parties except the Nationalist Party. This government would undertake all the political and economic reforms required in order to restore Turkey's path to democracy, expand freedoms, and restore good relations with the neighborhood and the West, that is return Turkey to the policies of 2006.

However, the opposition is still divided over President Erdogan’s role in this future scenario, between Davutoglu and the leader of the Good Party Meral Aksener, who do not object to the stay of President Erdogan in the position of president, albeit with limited powers, on the one hand, and the CHP and its leader Kılıcdarolu, who believes that Erdogan has started to lose his credibility, that time is not in Erdogan’s favour, and that Erdogan has to lose the next elections in order to be forced to give up power, on the other hand. Meanwhile, President Erdogan perceives this position of the opposition, and perhaps would try to negotiate from a position of power to obtain political support from the opposition in exchange for getting rid of his nationalist partner, carry out limited political and economic reforms, and remain in power as a president with wide powers in accordance with the current presidential system, with the distribution of some ministerial tasks to the opposition.

Conclusion and expectations

The crisis of the resignation of the Turkish Finance Minister Berat Albayrak came in conjunction with the escalation of the silent dispute between President Erdogan and his nationalist ally. In the light of the recent developments, Erdogan is expected to start working on arranging the internal affairs of his party first, weakening the control of the nationalists within the state apparatus, and playing for time in order to pressure the opposition to get the best offer from them before he abandons the nationalists – if he does abandon them – and changing Turkey's domestic and foreign policies. He also awaits the signals that will come from Washington and the extent of the US ally’s desire that Erdogan proceed along this road in exchange for closing the file of being accused of taking part in circumventing the US sanctions imposed on Iran.

Latest Briefs