أعلن الرئيس دونالد ترامب في 26 سبتمبر الجاري عن ترشيحه القاضية المحافظة إيمي كوني باريت لعضوية المحكمة العليا الأمريكية خلفاً للقاضية الليبرالية المتوفية روث بادر غينسبورغ، ليُثير بذلك معركة محتدمة داخل مجلس الشيوخ ذو الأغلبية الجمهورية، في ظل معارضة الديمقراطيين الشديدة لترشيحه قاضية لشغل المنصب الشاغر بالمحكمة خلال الاستحقاق الانتخابي، باعتبار أن ذلك من حق الرئيس الفائز في الانتخابات المقبلة. 

ويُضفي الصدام المتصاعد على المقعد الشاغر بالمحكمة بُعداً جديداً على السباق الرئاسي المشتعل بين الرئيس الساعي للفوز بولاية رئاسية ثانية، والمرشح الديمقراطي جو بايدن، قبل ما يزيد قليلاً عن شهر من إجراء الانتخابات الرئاسية، في ظل استمرار معاناة الولايات المتحدة من جائحة كوفيد-19، وتجاوز عدد الوفيات جراء الإصابة بالفيروس حاجز 200 ألف أمريكي، واستفحال أزمة الاقتصاد، وتنامي أعداد العاطلين عن العمل الذين أصبحوا يقدرون بالملايين، علاوةً على التوترات الحزبية المتزايدة.

ويتصاعد الجدل السياسي والانتخابي حول ترشيح الرئيس ترامب للقاضية المحافظة باريت لشغل المنصب الشاغر بالمحكمة العليا قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية؛ لكونها أعلى سلطة قضائية في الولايات المتحدة، وهي التي لها سلطة الفصل في النزاعات الدستورية والتشريعية، والقضايا الاجتماعية التي ينقسم حولها الأمريكيون، مثل: الإجهاض، وحقوق المهاجرين، وحق حمل السلاح. وللمحكمة أيضاً القول الفصل في النزاعات المتعلقة بنتائج الانتخابات الرئاسية، على غرار ما حدث في الانتخابات الرئاسية لعام 2000، والتي انتهت بفوز المرشح الجمهوري آنذاك جورج دبليو بوش.

تأييد جمهوري لشغل المنصب

على عكس القاعدة التي اتبعها الجمهوريون في مجلس الشيوخ خلال الانتخابات الرئاسية لعام 2016 عندما رفضوا تعيين الرئيس السابق باراك أوباما للقاضي ميريك جارلاند بالمحكمة العليا خلفاً للقاضي أنطونين سكاليا بعد وفاته قبل عشرة أشهر من موعد الانتخابات بحجة انتظار نتائجها، وأن الفائز فيها هو من يقوم بالترشيح، يؤيد الجمهوريون هذه المرة تولية القاضية باريت التي رشحها الرئيس الأمريكي لشغل المنصب الشاغر بالمحكمة بعد وفاة غينسبورغ، والموافقة على تعيينها قبل 3 نوفمبر المقبل؛ لأن المجلس أمامه الكثير من الوقت لإنهاء إجراءات الموافقة على القاضية، ورفض غالبيتهم تأجيل التصويت إلى ما بعد الانتخابات طالما يُسيطر حزبهم حالياً على البيت الأبيض ومجلس الشيوخ.

وقال السيناتور الجمهوري ليندسي جراهام، الرئيس الحالي للجنة القضائية بمجلس الشيوخ التي ستعقد جلسة استماع للقاضية باريت قبل الموافقة عليها، في مقابلة مع قناة "فوكس نيوز" (الموالية للرئيس الأمريكي) إنه واثق من وجود دعم جمهوري كاف لتأكيد مرشحة ترامب قبل 3 نوفمبر، لا سيما مع تمتع الحزب بالأغلبية داخل المجلس (53 مقعداً) مقابل 47 للحزب الديمقراطي. ويتم الموافقة على ترشيحات الرئيس لشغل مناصب عليها ومنها مرشحيه للمحكمة العليا بالأغلبية البسيطة (51 صوتاً).

وتتزايد فُرَص موافقة المجلس على تعيين القاضية باريت لشغل المنصب الشاغر بالمحكمة بعد وفاة غينسبورغ في ظل تأييد معظم الأعضاء الجمهوريين بالمجلس، وفي مقدمتهم السيناتور الجمهوري ميت رومني، أحد أبرز مُنتقدي الرئيس ترامب، والجمهوري الوحيد الذي صوَّت على عزل الرئيس بالمجلس في بدايات العام الجاري، والذي أعلن أنه لن يُعارِض تصويت مجلس الشيوخ على مُرشَّحة ترامب للمحكمة العليا قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية. وذلك رغم إعلان اثنين من الجمهوريين بالمجلس (السيناتور سوزان كولينز والسيناتور ليزا موركوفسكي) أنهما تُعارِضان قبول ترشيح ترامب قاضية لشغل المنصب الشاغر بالمحكمة العليا الأمريكية في هذا الوقت. لكن لا يوجد آخرون في الأفق على استعداد للوقوف في طريق أولوية الحزب العليا.

مخاوف الديمقراطيين وخياراتهم

تثير خطوات الرئيس الأمريكي وحزبه الجمهوري الحثيثة لتعيين قاضية مُحافِظة ستشغل منصبها مدى الحياة في المحكمة العليا قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية فزغ الديمقراطيين، لكونهم لا يستطيعون إيقاف تعيينها. ولهذا فإنهم ينتقدون، وفي مقدمتهم مُرشَّحهم للانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة، شروع الأعضاء الجمهوريين بمجلس الشيوخ في إجراءات الموافقة على القاضية باريت قبل موعد الانتخابات، بعد تخليهم عن الأسس التي حكمت موقفهم من ترشيح الرئيس أوباما قاضٍ لشغل منصب شاغر بالمحكمة خلال الانتخابات الرئاسية لعام 2016. فبعد دقائق من إعلان الرئيس ترامب عن مرشحته للمنصب، دعا جو بايدن مجلس الشيوخ إلى عدم البتّ في تعيين القاضية باريت في المحكمة العليا قبل الاستحقاق الرئاسي، وقبل أن يختار الأمريكيون رئيسهم وأعضاء الكونجرس المقبل.

ويتخوَّف الديمقراطيون من أن تعزز موافقة مجلس الشيوخ ذي الأغلبية الجمهورية على تعيين القاضية المحافظة من سيطرة المحافظين لمدة عقد كامل أو أكثر على المحكمة العليا، وهو الأمر الذي سيكون له تداعيات مهمة على القضايا الاجتماعية والدستورية التي ستنظر فيها، لاسيما تلك التي يدعمها الديمقراطيون ويُعارضها التيار المحافظ مثل قضية حق المرأة في الإجهاض، وبرنامج أوباما كير للرعاية الصحية، وقضية حمل السلاح المنصوص عليه في الدستور، ومعارضة القوانين التي تفرض قيوداً عليه.

وفي ردٍّ على الخطوة الديمقراطية، قالت رئيسة مجلس النواب خلال لقاء تليفزيوني "لدينا خياراتنا. لدينا سهام في جُعبتنا، والتي لَسْتُ على وشك مناقشتها الآن". ومن تلك الخيارات شروع المجلس في إجراءات عزل المدعي العام وليام بار (وزير العدل)، أو السعي إلى عزل ترامب مرة أخري باعتبار ذلك تكتيكاً لتأخير دعم مجلس الشيوخ لمرشحة ترامب للمحكمة العليا.

وقد هدَّد بعض الديمقراطيين بخيار زيادة عدد أعضاء المحكمة (9 قضاة حالياً) في المستقبل كرد انتقامي، على الرغم من أن مرشحهم الرئاسي، جو بايدن، كان قد أبدى رفضه في الماضي لفكرة "تعبئة المحكمة". ويُشير بعض التقارير الأمريكية إلى أن زعيم الأقلية الديمقراطية في مجلس الشيوخ تشاك شومر اقترح خلال الاتصال مع زملائه الديمقراطيين الانفتاح على فكرة توسيع المحكمة.

تَصدُّر مستقبل المحكمة العليا الاستحقاق الانتخابي

في أعقاب وفاة القاضية الليبرالية روث بادر غينسبورغ وضعَ فريق الحملة الانتخابية لإعادة انتخاب ترامب المنصب الشاغر بالمحكمة العليا في قلب الحملة. وقد تجلى ذلك في هتافات مؤيدي الرئيس "املأ المقعد" في تجمعٍ حاشدٍ في ولاية أوهايو.

وتُحقق قضية ملْء المنصب الشاغر في مرحلة الاستحقاق الرئاسي مصلحتين للرئيس الأمريكي، أولهما تحوُّل النقاش الانتخابي بعيداً عن فشل قيادة ترامب للعديد من القضايا التي تتقدم أجندة الناخبين الأمريكيين مثل التعامل مع جائحة كورونا، وتدهور الأوضاع الاقتصادية، وارتفاع معدلات البطالة إلى مستويات غير مسبوقة، وهي تؤثر على فرص فوزه بولاية رئاسية ثانية. وهذا ما أشار إليه المرشح الديمقراطي، حيث قال إن الرئيس "لا يريد أبداً التحدث عن القضية المطروحة، ويحاول دائماً تغيير الموضوع".

بينما تتمثل المصلحة الثانية في الحفاظ على أصوات الناخبين المحافظين الذين سينظرون إلى تلك الانتخابات على أنها فرصة لزيادة سيطرة القضاة المحافظين على المحكمة، والذين يصل عددهم الآن 5 قضاة مقابل 3 قضاة ذوي توجه ليبرالي بعد وفاة غينسبورغ، ولا سيما بعد تعيين ترامب قاضيين محافظين بشدة في المحكمة العليا خلال فترة ولايته، وهما: نيل جورسوش وبريت كافانو.

وقد يخاطر ترامب من خلال تركيزه على قضية تعيين قاضية مُحافِظة جديدة بالمحكمة العليا بفقدان أصوات الناخبين في الولايات المتأرجحة الرئيسة الذين لا تحتل قضية المحكمة أولوياتهم الانتخابية في ظل تزايد أهمية القضايا المتعلقة بالتهديد المباشر لجائحة كوفيد-19 والتعافي الاقتصادي البطيء، بالنسبة لهم.

وفي مقابل مساعي الرئيس ترامب لتعيين قاضية محافظة بالمحكمة قبل الانتخابات في نوفمبر، يدعو التقدميون في الحزب الديمقراطي المُرشَّح بايدن إلى تبنِّي حملته الانتخابية إجراء إصلاحات بالمحكمة العليا، بما في ذلك زيادة عدد القضاة بها، لكنه يقاوم حتى الآن تبنِّي هذا التغيير الكبير، إذ يشعر بالقلق من أن تؤدي مثل تلك الاقتراحات إلى تفاقم الانقسامات داخل الولايات المتحدة في وقت تشهد البلاد حالة غير مسبوقة من الاستقطاب، أقلُّه منذ الحرب الأهلية. وقد فاز بايدن خلال الانتخابات التمهيدية للحزب على المرشحين الذين دعموا إحداث تغييرات كبيرة في المحكمة، ومن بينهم بيت بوتيجيج الذي اقترح زيادة عدد مقاعد المحكمة إلى 15 قاضياً. وهذا النهج قد يدفع المرشح الديمقراطي إلى خسارة الجناح اليساري في حزبه، والذي يريد بشدة منع ترامب من منح التيار المحافظ أغلبية كبيرة في المحكمة العليا. بينما يري بعض الديمقراطيين، ومنهم بايدن نفسه، أن قضية المحكمة ليست القضية التي تشغل بال ناخبي الطبقة العاملة الذين يحاولون الوصول إليهم، والفوز بأصواتهم في نوفمبر المقبل.

خلاصة واستنتاجات

فرضت وفاة القاضية الليبرالية روث بادر غينسبورغ قضية مستقبل المحكمة العليا على السباق الانتخابي المحتدم بين المرشحين الجمهوري والديمقراطي، إذ يُركز ترامب الساعي للفوز بولاية رئاسية ثانية على معركة المحكمة لتوحيد الحزب الجمهوري وتنشيط قاعدته والمحافظين للتصويت له في نوفمبر المقبل، بينما يريد بايدن أن تكون الانتخابات استفتاء على الرئيس الأمريكي وفشله في السيطرة على وباء خطير أودى بحياة 200 ألف أمريكي أو معالجة قضايا الرعاية الصحية.

ويأتي تصدُّر الجدل حول مستقبل المحكمة العليا الاستحقاق الانتخابي في وقت يُتوقَّع أن تحسم المحكمة في نزاع يُرجَّح أن تشهده الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة كما حدث في انتخابات عام 2000، في حال كانت نسب فوز أيٍّ من المُرشَّحين ضئيلة مقارنة بما حصل عليه الآخر، لا سيما في ظل عدم اعتراف الرئيس ترامب الصريح بأنه سيكون هناك انتقال سلمي للسلطة في حال خسارته الانتخابات، وتكرار تصريحاته عن التزوير الذي ستشهده الانتخابات مع تزايد التصويت من خلال البريد بسبب الجائحة.

ومع سيطرة الحزب الجمهوري على الأغلبية بمجلس الشيوخ (53 مقعداً) وصعوبة انضمام 4 أعضاء جمهوريين بالمجلس إلى الأعضاء الديمقراطيين الـ 47 لمعارضة تعيين القاضية المحافظة إيمي كوني باريت، يُتوقَّع أن يتم الموافقة على شغلها المنصب بعد جلسات استماع قوية قبل موعد الانتخابات الرئاسية في نوفمبر المقبل، أو قبل أداء الفائز اليمين الدستورية في 20 يناير 2021.

* باحث متخصص في الشؤون الأمريكية.

أحدث الإيجازات

On 26 September 2020, President Donald Trump announced his nomination of conservative judge Amy Coney Barrett for membership of the US Supreme Court to succeed the deceased liberal judge Ruth Bader Ginsburg, thus provoking a fierce battle in the Republican-majority Senate, in light of the strong opposition of Democrats to Trump’s nomination of a judge to fill the vacant position in the Court during the electoral process, considering that this right belongs to the winning president in the upcoming elections.

The escalating clash over the vacant seat on the Court adds a new dimension to the intensifying presidential race between the President who seeks to win a second presidential term and the Democratic candidate Joe Biden, just over a month before the presidential elections, even as the US continues to suffer from the Covid-19 pandemic, the increase in the number of deaths due to infection with the virus to exceed the marker of 200 thousand Americans, the worsening economic crisis, the growing number of unemployed people who are now estimated in the millions, in addition to the increasing partisan tensions.

The political and electoral debate is escalating over President Trump's nomination of conservative Judge Barrett to fill the vacant position on the Supreme Court prior to the presidential elections, considering that the Court is the highest US judicial authority, having the power to adjudicate constitutional and legislative disputes and social issues on which Americans are divided, such as abortion, immigrant rights, and the right to bear arms. The Court also has the final say on disputes related to the results of the presidential elections, as was the case with the 2000 presidential elections, which ended with the victory of the then Republican candidate George W. Bush.

Republican support for the assumption of the post

In contrast to the rule followed by the Republicans in the Senate during the 2016 presidential elections when they refused the appointment by former President Barack Obama of Judge Merrick Garland on the Supreme Court to succeed Judge Antonin Scalia after his death ten months before the date of the elections on the pretext of the need to wait for the results of the elections and for the winner to carry out the nomination, this time, the Republicans support the designation of Judge Barrett, who was nominated by the US President to fill the vacant position on the Court after Ginsburg’s death, and the approval of her appointment before 3 November 2020, because the Senate has ample time to finalise the judge’s approval process. The majority of the Republicans refused to postpone voting until after the elections as long as their party currently controls the White House and the Senate.

Republican Senator Lindsey Graham, the current Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee that will hold a hearing with Judge Barrett before she is approved, said in an interview with Fox News (which is close to the US President) that he was confident that there was enough Republican support to confirm Trump’s candidate before 3 November 2020, especially that the party has a majority in the Senate (53 seats) versus 47 for the Democratic Party. The President’s nominations to occupy higher positions, including his candidates for the Supreme Court, are approved by a simple majority (51 votes).

The chances are increasing that the Senate would approve the appointment of Judge Barrett to fill the vacant position on the Court after Ginsburg’s death in light of the support of most of the Senate’s Republican members, mainly Republican Senator Mitt Romney, one of President Trump’s most prominent critics and the only Republican in the Senate to have voted to remove the President from office in early 2020, announcing that he would not oppose the Senate’s vote on Trump’s Supreme Court nominee before the presidential election, despite the announcement by two Senate Republicans (Senators Susan Collins and Lisa Murkowski) that they oppose accepting Trump’s nomination of a judge to fill the vacant position on the US Supreme Court at this time. However, there does not seem to be others who are willing to stand in the way of the party’s highest priority.

The concerns and options of the Democrats

The relentless steps taken by the US President and his Republican Party to appoint a conservative judge who would serve for life on the Supreme Court prior to the presidential elections have caused panic among the Democrats because they cannot stop her appointment. That is why, headed by their candidate for the upcoming presidential elections, they criticise the initiation by the Senate’s Republican members of the procedures for approving Judge Barrett prior to the election date, having abandoned the grounds that ruled their position on President Obama’s nomination of a judge to fill a vacant position on the Court during the 2016 presidential elections. Minutes after President Trump’s announcement of his candidate for the position, Joe Biden called on the Senate to refrain from deciding on the appointment of Judge Barrett to the Supreme Court prior to the presidential elections, and before Americans choose their next president and congressmen.

Democrats are concerned that the approval by the Republican-majority Senate to appoint the conservative judge would tighten the control of the conservatives for a decade or more over the Supreme Court, which would have important implications for the social and constitutional issues it would consider, especially those that are supported by the Democrats and opposed by the conservative trend, such as the issue of women’s right to abortion, the Obama Care programme for healthcare, the issue of carrying weapons stipulated in the Constitution, and opposition to laws that impose restrictions thereon.

In response to the Republican move, the Speaker of the House of Representatives said during a television interview, "We have our options. We have arrows in our quiver that I am not about to discuss right now". Among those options is the House’s initiation of procedures to remove Attorney General William Barr (Minister of Justice), or seek to impeach Trump once again as a tactic to delay the Senate's support for Trump’s candidate for the Supreme Court.

Some Democrats have threatened with the option of increasing the number of the Court’s members (presently nine judges) in the future in retaliation, although their presidential candidate Joe Biden had previously rejected the idea of ​​"court packing". Some US reports indicate that the leader of the Democratic minority in the Senate Chuck Schumer indicated during a communication with his fellow Democrats that he is willing to consider ​​expanding the court.

The Supreme Court’s future tops the election campaign

In the wake of the death of liberal Judge Ruth Bader Ginsburg, the campaign team for Trump’s re-election placed the vacant Supreme Court position at the centre of the campaign. This was evidenced by the chants of the President’s supporters: "Fill That Seat" at a rally in the state of Ohio.

The issue of filling the vacant post at the stage of the presidential elections achieves two interests for the US president, the first being to shift the electoral debate away from Trump’s failure to manage many issues that top the agenda of the American voters, such as dealing with the coronavirus pandemic, the deterioration of the economic conditions, and the rise in unemployment rates to unprecedented levels. These affect Trump’s chances of winning a second presidential term, which was referred to by the Democratic candidate when he said that the President "never wants to talk about the issue at hand and he always tries to change the subject".

The second interest is to consolidate the votes of conservative voters who would see this election as an opportunity to increase the control of conservative judges over the Court, their number presently being five judges versus three liberal-minded judges after Ginsburg’s death, especially after Trump appointed two deeply conservative judges to the Supreme Court during his tenure, namely Neil Gorsuch and Brett Kavanaugh.

By focusing on the appointment of a new conservative judge to the Supreme Court, Trump may risk losing the votes of voters in key swing states for whom the Court issue is not on top of their electoral priorities in light of the increasing importance to them of the issues related to the direct threat of the Covid-19 pandemic and the slow economic recovery.

In response to President Trump’s efforts to appoint a conservative judge to the Court ahead of the elections in November 2020, progressive members of the Democratic Party call on candidate Biden to adopt in his campaign the introduction of reforms to the Supreme Court, including increasing the number of its judges. However, he has so far resisted embracing this major change. He is concerned that such proposals would exacerbate divisions within the US at a time when the country is experiencing an unprecedented state of polarisation, at least since the Civil War. Biden has won during the party primaries over the candidates who supported introducing major changes to the Court, including Pete Buttigieg who proposed increasing the number of court seats to 15 judges. This approach could lead the Democratic candidate to lose his party’s left wing which desperately wants to prevent Trump from granting the conservative trend a large majority in the Supreme Court. On the other hand, some Democrats, including Biden himself, argue that the Court issue is not the one that preoccupies working-class voters whom they try to reach and whose votes they seek to win in November 2020.

Conclusion

The death of the liberal judge Ruth Bader Ginsburg imposed the issue of the Supreme Court’s future on the raging race between the Republican and Democratic candidates. While Trump, who seeks to win a second term, focuses on the Court battle to consolidate the Republican Party and revitalise his base and conservatives to vote for him in November 2020, Biden wants the elections to be a referendum on the US President and his failure to control a serious epidemic that has killed 200,000 Americans, or to address health care issues.

The intensifying controversy over the future of the Supreme Court comes at a time when the Court is expected to resolve a dispute that is likely to be witnessed by the 2020 presidential elections, as had been the case in the 2000 elections, in case any of the candidates wins by a narrow margin, especially in light of President Trump’s failure to admit expressly that there would be a peaceful transfer of power in the event he loses the elections, and his repeated statements about the fraud that will be witnessed by the elections with the increase in mail-in voting due to the pandemic.

With the Republican Party controlling the majority in the Senate (53 seats) and the unlikelihood that four Senate Republicans would join the 47 Democrats to oppose the appointment of conservative Judge Amy Coney Barrett, it is expected that her assumption of the post would be approved after strong hearings prior to the presidential elections in November 2020, or before the winner is sworn in on 20 January 2021.

* Researcher in US Affair.

Latest Briefs