مع احتدام المواجهات بين أذربيجان وأرمينيا في إقليم ناغورني قره باغ المتنازع عليه في أواخر سبتمبر 2020، أحجمت روسيا في البداية عن إطلاق تصريحات أو تحركات سريعة تجاه هذا التطور، لكن اشتداد المعارك واتساع رُقعتها دفعا موسكو إلى التحرك وإجراء اتصالات نشطة مع طرفي الصراع الأذري والأرميني، إضافة إلى تركيا، وأيضاً مع أطراف دولية فاعلة، مثل فرنسا التي تشارك في رئاسة مجموعة مينسك.

تُلقي هذه الورقة الضوءَ على تطور الموقف الروسي من جولة الصراع الأخيرة الدامية بين أذربيجان وأرمينيا حول إقليم ناغورني قره باغ، وتُحلِّل أهم الهواجس الروسية المرتبطة بهذا النزاع، وأبرز محددات موقف موسكو من الأزمة وتداعياتها.

من التحفُّظ إلى الانخراط

على الرغم من مُسارَعة موسكو إلى تنشيط قنوات الاتصال العسكرية والدبلوماسية مع طرفي النزاع، لكنّ رد الفعل الرسمي لوزارة الخارجية الروسية الذي تمثل بدعوة الطرفين إلى "ضبط النفْس ووقف النار والعودة إلى الحوار" بدا متحفظاً وتقليدياً في ظروف بدت غير عادية. فالمواجهات الحاصلة لم تقف عند حدود اشتباكات حدودية محدودة، كما جرى في مرات عدة خلال السنوات الماضية؛ إذ يبدو المشهد الحالي أقرب إلى "حرب حقيقية آخذة في الاتساع" وفقاً لوصف معلّقين روس لفتوا النظر إلى أن هذه الحرب تجري مع كل ما يصاحبها من فرض للأحكام العرفية والتعبئة (في أذربيجان)، وإعلان حالة التأهب القصوى وطلب الاحتياط (في أرمينيا وإقليم ناغورني قره باغ).

وقالت المتحدثة باسم الخارجية الروسية، ماريا زاخاروفا، في 29 سبتمبر، إن موسكو رصدت مقدمات التصعيد بشكل جيد خلال الأسابيع الماضية، من خلال التقارير الكثيرة التي تحدثت عن تعزيزات تقوم بها تركيا في أذربيجان. لكنْ برغم ذلك، بدا أن موسكو لا تُريد التَّسرُّع بإعلان موقف، ويتعلق السبب بشكل واضح في تدنِّي قدرة روسيا حالياً على التدخل بشكل أقوى، لدواعٍ قانونية وأخرى سياسية.

فمن الناحية القانونية، لا يوجد أساس للتدخل الروسي بشكل فاعل ومباشر في الصراع، كون أرمينيا قد أعلنت أنها لن تطلُب مساعدة منظمة معاهدة الأمن الجماعي؛ ففي حين أن أرمينيا عضوٌ في المنظمة إلا أن إقليم ناغورني قره باغ الانفصالي ليس عضواً فيها، ما يعني أنه على المستوى الشكلي فإن أرمينيا نفسها لم تتعرض لاعتداء خارجي يُلزِم بلدان المعاهدة بالتدخل.

لكن الأسباب السياسية أكثر أهمية من البُعد القانوني الشكلي؛ فهناك أولاً الأسباب المتعلقة بوضع أرمينيا الداخلي والخلاف السياسي فيها. فقبل اندلاع الحرب بأيام، اُعتقِلَ زعيم أكبر حزب معارض، وهو "أرمينيا المزدهرة"، غاجيك تساروكيان، بتهمة شراء الأصوات. ومع أنه مُتهم بعمليات فساد رسمياً، لكن كثيرين في موسكو رأوا أن الأساس الحقيقي وراء استهدافه أنه يوصف بأنه "عميل الكرملين". ومع أن رئيس الوزراء الأرميني الحالي نيكول باشينيان حافظَ على خطوط اتصال مع الكرملين منذ وصوله الى السلطة قبل عامين من خلال ثورة شعبية، لكنه لم يُخفِ انفتاحه على إقامة علاقات متوازنة بين روسيا من جانب والغرب من جانب آخر؛ ما يعني أن المخاوف الروسية تزايدت من أن تكون أرمينيا قد بدأت تَخرج تدريجياً من تحالفها الأساسي مع روسيا. وهنا، رأى البعض في أن إشعال جبهة ناغورني قره باغ من جانب تركيا مفيدٌ للروس جزئياً لأنه يُعيد يرفان مجدداً إلى أحضان الكرملين.

وثانياً، تخوضُ روسيا الآن حرباً باردةً واسعة مع أوروبا على خلفية الأزمة في بيلاروسيا وقضية تسميم المعارض الروسي أليكسي نافالني، وهي تنتظر نتائج الانتخابات الأمريكية في نوفمبر المقبل لتحديد القدرة على فتح حوار مع واشنطن حول قضايا التسلح والأمن الاستراتيجي وملفات خلافية أخرى، لذلك تبدو قدراتها محدودة على الانخراط النشط في صراع آخر ليس مفيداً لها. وقد وجدت موسكو الآليةَ المناسبة للتحرك عبر إحياء "مجموعة مينسك" (التي ترعى بتفويض من منظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا وقفَ إطلاق النار في ناغورني قره باغ منذ العام 1994)، وعملت على استصدار بيان رئاسي ثلاثي (روسي-أمريكي-فرنسي) عن المجموعة، فقد دعا البيانُ الأطرافَ المتصارعة إلى وقف إطلاق النار، والعودة إلى طاولة الحوار.

عامل المرتزقة

برز عنصر آخر في الصراع الأذري-الأرميني زاد من قلق موسكو؛ إذ تبادل الطرفان الأرميني والأذري اتهامات باستقدام مرتزقة من سوريا وبلدان أخرى إلى ساحة القتال. وكانت تقارير روسية عدة تحدثت مؤخراً عن وصول مجموعات من السوريين التركمان المدعومين من أنقرة إلى أذربيجان في إطار تعزيز الوجود التركي العسكري هناك. وفي المقابل، قال فاجيف دارجاهلي المسؤول في وزارة دفاع أذربيجان إنه "وفقاً للمعلومات الاستخباراتية الواردة، فإن بين خسائر العدو العديد من المرتزقة من أصل أرمني من سوريا ومختلف دول الشرق الأوسط".

وتَحوَّل هذا الموضوع إلى عنصر محرك أساسي لتنشيط روسيا خطواتها مع إبراز تحذير الرئيس الأرميني أرمين سركيسيان من مخاطر نشوء "سوريا جديدة" في جنوب القوقاز. لذلك عقد مجلس الأمن القومي الروسي اجتماعاً برئاسة فلاديمير بوتين في 29 سبتمبر 2020، ركَّز على موضوع إرسال تركيا مرتزقة إلى المنطقة، ومخاطر تحوُّل الصراع إلى جبهة مواجهة مفتوحة طويلة الأمد، مع دخول عامل التدخلات الخارجية بشكل يفاقم الموقف. وبعد الاجتماع مباشرة بدأت الاتصالات الروسية مع فرنسا وتركيا والولايات المتحدة، فضلاً عن طرفي الصراع المباشرين تتخذ أبعاداً أكثر نشاطاً.

القلق الروسي من الوجود العسكري التركي

في الأثناء، تابعت موسكو معطيات حول تعزيز تركيا وجودها العسكري المباشر في أذربيجان، وذكرت تقارير إعلامية روسية أنه بعد المناورات الأذرية-التركية التي جرت في يوليو وأوائل أغسطس الماضيين، أبقت أنقرة جزءاً من جيشها في أذربيجان، بما في ذلك طائرات "إف-16" مع جزءٍ من قوات الأفراد، بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من الطائرات من دون طيار التركية. وتم تأكيد هذه الاستنتاجات بشكل غير مباشر من قبل عالم السياسة التركي، والخبير البارز في شبكة الخبراء التحليلية "أنقرة-موسكو"، إنجين أوزر، الذي نَقَلَت عنه وسائل الإعلام قوله إن "الجيش التركي موجود بالفعل في إقليم ناخيتشيفان بأذربيجان، فلماذا لا نعطيه وضعاً رسمياً، إذ لا توجد عقبات قانونية أمام ذلك". ولفتت وسائل إعلام روسية إلى أن الرئيس الأذري إلهام علييف ناقش مع نظيره التركي رجب طيب أردوغان إنشاء قاعدة عسكرية تركية في ناخيتشيفان (أو نَخجَوان) وإنشاء قاعدة عسكرية أخرى في شبه جزيرة أبشيرون.

من جهتها، سعت موسكو إلى احتواء مثل هذه التطلعات. وبعد أن اتصل الرئيس الأذري إلهام علييف بالرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين، مُعرِباً عن عدم رضاه بسبب إمداد يريفان بتقنيات عسكرية روسية، توجَّه وزير الدفاع الروسي سيرغي شويغو إلى باكو، وأعلن هناك أن الطائرات سلَّمت إلى أرمينيا "موادَ بناء للقاعدة العسكرية الروسية"، وأن الاتحاد الروسي لا يقوم بأعمال عدائية ضد أذربيجان. لكنْ من غير المعروف ما إذا كان الوزير قد نجح في إقناع باكو.

ويبقى العنصر البارز أن موسكو كانت تتوقع التطورات الجارية في ناغورني قره باغ، فقد رصدت مقدماتها خلال الأسابيع الماضية، وعشية التصعيد في ناغورني قره باغ أجرت فحصاً مفاجئاً للجاهزية القتالية للمنطقة العسكرية الجنوبية، حيث تقع قاعدة غومري العسكرية الروسية في أرمينيا. وصدرت تقارير عدة في موسكو في الفترة الماضية تحدثت عن تعزيزات تقوم بها تركيا في أذربيجان تزامناً مع تأخير الجانب الأرميني تنفيذ الاتفاقات التي تم التوصل إليها سابقاً، وهي عودة خمس مناطق (من أصل سبع محتلة) حول ناغورني قره باغ إلى سيطرة باكو، والتي كان ينبغي أن تكون نقطةَ الانطلاق لمزيد من الخطوات نحو تسوية نهائية.

وأشار مجتمع الخبراء العسكريين الروس إلى اهتمام بلادهم بحقيقة أن تركيا، الدولة العضو في حلف الناتو والتي تمتلك أكبر جيش في الحلف بعد الولايات المتحدة، تُعزِّز وجودها العسكري في منطقة جنوب القوقاز. ويرى هؤلاء الخبراء أن احتمال ظهور وجود عسكري مُعزز لتركيا في أذربيجان، علاوة على موضوع المسلحين السوريين الموالين لتركيا، يزيدان من التصعيد ويفاقمان الوضع بشكل خطر بالنسبة إلى روسيا.

وفي وقتٍ لاحق، أكد وزير الخارجية الروسي سيرغي لافروف أن بلاده تُشارِك في الجهود الدولية لتهيئة الظروف لتسوية الأزمات والصراعات المختلفة، بما في ذلك الصراع في ناغورني قره باغ. وأضاف "نحن لا نخلق سيناريوهات لحل المشكلة، لكننا نخلق الظروف التي تسمح لهم بالتوصل إلى اتفاق. وعكف الجانبان على صياغة الوثائق الأولى على مدى السنوات الـ 18 الماضية. لقد تم إنجاز الكثير. إنهم يُنشئون أساساً يعكس مبادئ ميثاق الأمم المتحدة ووثيقة هلسنكي النهائية بشأن الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا، وكذلك المعايير المحددة التي يجب الاتفاق عليها حتى تتم التسوية".

آفاق التحركات الروسية إزاء النزاع

قاد احتدام الموقف عسكرياً واتساع رقعة المواجهات بين أرمينيا وأذربيجان مع تصاعد عمليات استهداف المدن في عمق الأراضي لدى الجانبين المتصارعين، إلى تكثيف نداءات التهدئة ووقف إطلاق النار، وبدا أن الخيارات المطروحة أمام روسيا تتركز، حتى الآن، في القبول بالنتائج التي قادت إليها المواجهات خلال أسبوع، في تثبيت محتمل لتمكُّن باكو من استعادة السيطرة على القرى السبع المحاذية للإقليم المتنازع عليه، في مقابل التوصل الى وقف للقتال.

وعكس اقتراح موسكو إدخال قوات فصل روسية بين المتحاربين بدعم من مجموعة مينسك، قناعة روسية بأن هذا الحل الذي سارعت يرفان لإعلان المواقفة عليه قد يشكل عنصر ضمان لوقف النار وإطلاق عملية المفاوضات مجدداً. وفي حال وافقت باكو وأنقرة على هذا الاقتراح، يكون الطرفان قد حققا "انتصاراً" جزئياً يحتاجه الرئيس إلهام علييف داخلياً بقوة، وتكون موسكو ضمنت في الوقت ذاته عدم انزلاق الموقف لمواجهة أوسع تمنح مبررات اضافية لتوسيع عمليات الزج بالمقاتلين الأجانب في المنطقة، كما يعفيها من التدخل المباشر في أعمال عسكرية، خصوصاً إذا طلبت أرمينيا حماية مباشرة من موسكو في حال اتساع جبهة المواجهات ووصولها إلى مناطق في العمق الأرمني. وهذا الحل المؤقت يرتبط بموافقة أنقرة بالدرجة الأولى، وقد تكون موسكو مضطرة لخوض مفاوضات صعبة مع الجانب التركي في هذا المجال.  

استنتاجات

ساهم تبدُّل الوضع السياسي داخل أرمينيا خلال العام الأخير، وتعدُّد مشكلات روسيا الخارجية حالياً في تقليص قدرات موسكو على التحرك العاجل لوقف التصعيد الأذري-الأرميني، وفي الوقت ذاته برز حضور "مرتزقة" جُلِبوا من سوريا والشرق الأوسط لدى طرفي النزاع، باعتباره عاملاً جديداً فاقَمَ من خطورة المسألة، خصوصاً أنه يكشف عن احتمال تَحوُّل المواجهات الحالية إلى بؤرة حرب ساخنة لفترة طويلة.

ومع هذا، فقد أظهر اقتراح موسكو إدخال قوات فصل بين المتحاربين بدعم من مجموعة مينسك، أن روسيا تعطي الأولوية لمسار فصل القوات المتحاربة، وإطلاق مسار التفاوض بين أرمينيا وأذربيجان. وفي حال وافقت باكو وأنقرة على هذا الاقتراح، والذي سبق ليريفان القبول به، يكون الطرفان قد حققا "انتصاراً" جزئياً، وضمنت موسكو بذلك عدم انزلاق الموقف إلى مواجهة مفتوحة ومن ثمَّ توسيع عمليات استجلاب المرتزقة الأجانب إلى المنطقة، كما يُعفيها من التدخل العسكري المباشر في أتون الصراع.  

أحدث الإيجازات

With the intensification of the confrontations between Azerbaijan and Armenia in the disputed Nagorno-Karabakh region in late September 2020, Russia initially refrained from making quick statements or moves with regard to this development. However, the intensification and expansion of the battles prompted Moscow to move and make active contacts with both the Azerbaijani and Armenian sides of the conflict, in addition to Turkey, and also with international actors, such as France, which co-chairs the Minsk Group.

This paper sheds light on the development of the Russian position regarding the bloody round of conflict that broke out on 27 September 2020 between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region, and analyses the most important Russian concerns related to this dispute, and the most prominent determinants of Moscow's position on the crisis and its repercussions.

From conservatism to engagement

Despite Moscow’s haste to activate military and diplomatic channels of communication with the two parties to the conflict, the official response of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which was to “call on all sides to show maximum restraint, achieve a cease fire and return to the negotiating table”, appeared conservative and traditional in circumstances that seemed unusual. The confrontations that took place were not confined to limited border clashes, as was the case several times during the past years. The current scene appears closer to a "real war that is widening" according to the description of Russian commentators who drew attention to the fact that this war is taking place with all that accompanies it in terms of imposing martial law and mobilisation (in Azerbaijan), and declaring a state of maximum alert and calling the reserves (in Armenia and Nagorno-Karabahk).

On 29 September 2020, Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said that Moscow has been monitoring the preludes of the escalation well during the past weeks, through the numerous reports that spoke of Turkey's reinforcements in Azerbaijan. Nevertheless, it seemed that Moscow did not want to rush to announce a position. The reason is clearly related to Russia's current declining capability to intervene in a stronger fashion for legal and political reasons.

From a legal point of view, there is no basis for effective and direct Russian intervention in the conflict, considering that Armenia has announced that it would not seek the assistance of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO). While Armenia is a member of the organization, the separatist Nagorno-Karabakh region is not a member thereof. This means that at the formal level, Armenia itself has not been subjected to external aggression that obliges the treaty countries to intervene.

However, the political reasons are more important than the formal legal dimension. First, there are reasons related to Armenia's internal situation and the political dispute therein. A few days before the outbreak of the war, the leader of the largest opposition party, namely Prosperous Armenia, Gagik Tsarukyan was arrested on charges of vote buying. While he is officially accused of corrupt transactions, many in Moscow saw that the real basis behind his targeting is that he is described as a "Kremlin agent". While the current Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan has maintained lines of communication with the Kremlin since he came to power two years ago through a popular revolution, he did not hide his openness to establishing balanced relations between Russia on the one hand and the West on the other hand. This means that Russian fears have increased that Armenia is gradually departing from its basic alliance with Russia. Here, some saw the ignition of the Nagorno-Karabakh front by Turkey was beneficial to the Russians in part because it brings Yerevan back into the arms of the Kremlin.

Secondly, Russia is now fighting a large-scale cold war with Europe against the backdrop of the crisis in Belarus and the issue of poisoning the Russian opposition figure Alexei Navalny. It awaits the results of the US elections in November 2020 to determine the ability to open a dialogue with Washington on the issues of armaments, strategic security and other controversial files. Therefore, its capabilities seem limited to become actively involved in another conflict that is not beneficial to it. Moscow has found the appropriate mechanism to move through the reactivation of the Minsk Group (which, pursuant to the mandate of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), has been sponsoring a ceasefire in Nagorno-Karabakh since 1994), and has worked on issuing a tripartite presidential statement (Russian-US-French) on behalf of the Group. The statement called on the conflicting parties to declare a ceasefire and return to the dialogue table.

The mercenaries factor

Another factor has emerged in the Azerbaijani-Armenian conflict that heightened Moscow's anxiety. Both the Armenian and Azerbaijani sides exchanged accusations of bringing over mercenaries from Syria and other countries to the battlefield. Several Russian reports have recently talked about the arrival of groups of Turkmen Syrians supported by Ankara to Azerbaijan within the framework of strengthening the Turkish military presence there. On the other hand, Vagiv Darjahli, an official in the Azerbaijani Defence Ministry, said that "according to the received intelligence information, among the enemy's losses are many mercenaries of Armenian origin from Syria and various countries of the Middle East".

This issue has turned into an essential driving factor for Russia to reactivate its steps, highlighting the Armenian President Armen Sarkissian's warning of the dangers of the emergence of a "new Syria" in the southern Caucasus. Therefore, on 29 September 2020, the Russian National Security Council held a meeting headed by Vladimir Putin, which focused on the issue of dispatch by Turkey of mercenaries to the region, and the risks of the conflict turning into a long-term open confrontation front, with the introduction of the factor of foreign interventions in a way that exacerbates the situation. Immediately after the meeting, Russian contacts with France, Turkey and the US, as well as the two direct parties to the conflict, began to take on more active dimensions.

Russian concern over the Turkish military presence

Meanwhile, Moscow followed up reports on Turkey's strengthening of its direct military presence in Azerbaijan. Russian media reports stated that after the Azerbaijani-Turkish manoeuvres that took place in July and early August 2020, Ankara kept part of its army in Azerbaijan, including F-16 fighter jets, with part of the military personnel, as well as a group of Turkish drones. These conclusions were indirectly confirmed by the Turkish political scientist and the prominent expert of the Ankara-Moscow expert-analytical network  Engin Özer, who was quoted by the media as saying that "the Turkish army is already in the Nakhchivan region of Azerbaijan, so why not give it an official status? There are no legal obstacles to this". Russian media reported that the Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev discussed with his Turkish counterpart Recep Tayyip Erdoğan the establishment of a Turkish military base in Nakhchivan and the establishment of another military base in the Absheron Peninsula.

For its part, Moscow has sought to contain such aspirations. After the Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev called Russian President Vladimir Putin, expressing his dissatisfaction over the supply of Yerevan with Russian military technologies, Russian Defence Minister Sergey Shoygu went to Baku and announced that the planes delivered to Armenia "construction materials for the Russian military base", and that the Russian Federation does not carry out hostile actions against Azerbaijan. However, it is not known whether the minister succeeded in convincing Baku.

The prominent element remains that Moscow was anticipating the current developments in Nagorno-Karabakh. It monitored their preludes during the past weeks. On the eve of the escalation in Nagorno-Karabakh, it conducted a surprise examination of the combat readiness of the southern military region, where the Russian Gyumri military base is located in Armenia. Several reports were issued in Moscow in the last period, referring to Turkey's reinforcements in Azerbaijan, which coincided with the Armenian side’s delay in implementing the agreements previously reached, namely the return of five regions (out of seven occupied) around Nagorno-Karabakh to Baku’s control, which should have been the starting point for further steps towards a final settlement.

The community of Russian military experts indicated their country's interest in the fact that Turkey, the NATO member state with the largest army in the alliance after the US, is strengthening its military presence in the South Caucasus. Those experts believe that the possibility of the emergence of an enhanced Turkish military presence in Azerbaijan, in addition to the issue of the Syrian militants loyal to Turkey, increase the escalation and exacerbate the situation dangerously for Russia.

Subsequently, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov confirmed that his country is participating in international efforts to create conditions for resolving various crises and conflicts, including the conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh. "We are not creating scenarios for resolving the problem,” he added, “but we create conditions that will allow them to come to terms themselves. The two sides have been drafting the first documents over the past 18 years. Much has been done. They create a foundation that reflects the principles of the UN Charter and the Helsinki Final Act on Security and Cooperation in Europe, and also the specific parameters that must be agreed upon for the settlement to take place”.

Prospects for Russian actions with regard to the conflict

The intensification of the military situation and the widening of the confrontations between Armenia and Azerbaijan, together with the escalation of the targeting of cities in the depths of the territories of the two conflicting sides, have led to the intensification of calls for calm and a ceasefire. It seems that the options before Russia were concentrated, so far, in accepting the results that the confrontations led to over a week, in a possible confirmation of Baku's ability to regain control of the seven villages bordering the disputed region, in exchange for a cessation of fighting.

Russia's proposal to introduce Russian separation forces between the belligerents, with the support of the Minsk Group, reflected Russia's conviction that this solution, which Yerevan hastened to announce its agreement to, could constitute a factor for ensuring a ceasefire and the renewed launch of the negotiations process. If Baku and Ankara agree to this proposal, the two sides will have achieved a partial "victory" that is strongly needed at home by President Ilham Aliyev. At the same time, Moscow will have ensured that the situation does not slide into a broader confrontation that provides additional justifications for expanding the introduction of foreign fighters into the region. It would also exempt it from direct intervention in military actions, especially if Armenia requests direct protection from Moscow in the event that the front of confrontations widens, reaching areas in the Armenian depth. This temporary solution depends on Ankara's approval in the first place. Moscow may be forced to get involved in difficult negotiations with the Turkish side in this respect.

Conclusions

The change in the political situation inside Armenia during the past year and Russia's current multiple foreign problems have contributed to reducing Moscow's capability to move urgently to stop the Azerbaijani-Armenian escalation. At the same time, the presence of "mercenaries" brought over from Syria and the Middle East to the two parties to the conflict emerged as a new factor that exacerbated the seriousness of the issue, especially since it reveals the possibility of the current confrontations turning into a hotbed of war for a long time.

Nevertheless, Moscow's proposal to introduce separation forces between the belligerents, with the support of the Minsk Group, showed that Russia gives priority to the path of separating the belligerent forces and the launch of the negotiation path between Armenia and Azerbaijan. In the event that Baku and Ankara agreed to this proposal, which Yerevan had previously accepted, then the two sides will have achieved a partial "victory", and Moscow will have ensured that the situation would not slide into an open confrontation, thus expanding the process of bringing over foreign mercenaries to the region. It would also save Moscow direct military intervention in the raging conflict.

Latest Briefs