تجددت في شهر مايو 2020 المواجهات بين الصين والهند في مناطق مختلفة على "خط السيطرة الفعلية" The Line of Actual Control الذي يحدد الحدود الصينية الهندية بشكل غير رسمي (بطول 3448 كيلو متر)، خاصة في منطقتي لاداخ Ladakh (5-6 مايو)، وسيكيم Sikkim بمنطقة ناكو لا Naku La (10 مايو).

وليست هذه المرة الأولى التي تحدث فيها مواجهات بين الجانبين، إذ تعد جزءاً من نزاع حدودي تاريخي بين الجانبين لم تتم تسويته حتى الآن حول عشرات المناطق عبر خط السيطرة، تتركز في مناطق لاداخ Ladakh، وهيماشال براديش Himachal Pradesh، وأوتاراخاند Uttarakhand، وسيكيم Sikkim، وأروناتشال براديش Arunachal Pradesh. ويحدث الصدام بسبب وجود خلافات بين الجانبين حول حقوق السيادة في هذه المواقع. ورغم أنه تم الاتفاق حول خط الحدود في بعض هذه المواقع (خاصة في منطقة الوسط على خط السيطرة)، لكن لم يتم تحديد هذه الحدود بشكل رسمي. وقد عُقِدَت حتى ديسمبر 2019 أكثر من عشرين جولة مفاوضات، لكنها ما نجحت في وضع نهاية للنزاع.

وتفاوتت أسباب هذه المواجهات تاريخياً بين قيام قوات أحد طرفي النزاع بالدخول إلى إحدى هذه المناطق المتنازع عليها، أو سعيه إلى تنفيذ بنية أساسية داخل هذه المناطق، بشكل يدفع الطرف الآخر إلى التدخل لوقف تنفيذها. ورغم أن هذه المواجهات اتسمت بالاستخدام المحدود للعنف، إلا أن هذا لا ينفي أهمية هذا النزاع وخطورته، وإمكانية تحوله إلى صدام عسكري ضخم، على نحو ما حدث في عام 1962، خاصة مع تقدم القدرات العسكرية لطرفي النزاع، من ناحية، والتطورات الاستراتيجية في منطقتي المحيط الهادئ والهندي، الأمر الذي يفرض الحاجة إلى فهم هذا النزاع ووضعه في سياقه العام الأكبر.  

مداخل ثلاثة لتفسير تجدُّد النزاع الحدودي

هناك مداخل عدة لتفسير تجدُّد النزاع بين الصين والهند، من أهمها المداخل التفسيرية الثلاثة الآتية:

المدخل الأول، النظر إلى الأزمة الراهنة على أنها مجرد فصل من فصول متكررة، ولا تحمل أية دلالات محددة فيما يتعلق بتوقيت حدوثها. ويستند هذا التحليل إلى أن النزاع الحدودي بين البلدين هو نزاع تاريخي يعود إلى ما يقرب من سبعة عقود، كان سببا في حرب مباشرة في عام 1962. ورغم توصل الطرفين إلى اتفاق ثنائي في عام 1993 (Agreement on the Maintenance of Peace and Tranquility)، إلا أنه لم يتضمن تسوية نهائية للنزاع أو ترسيماً رسمياً للحدود، بقدر ما تضمن تجميداً لهذا النزاع من خلال تأكيد التزام الطرفين "بالمشاورات السلمية والودية" لحل النزاع، والتخلي عن التهديد باستخدام القوة. كما التزم الطرفان بموجب الاتفاق باحترام خط السيطرة لحين تسوية النزاع نهائيا، وبحل أي مشكلات أو أزمات قد تنشأ عبر هذا الخط من خلال الحوار المباشر بين الجانبين.

المدخل الثاني، يتعلق بالمقولة التقليدية حول العلاقة بين الأزمات الداخلية واللجوء إلى إحياء أو افتعال المشكلات الخارجية بهدف تخفيف الضغط على الأنظمة الداخلية أو لفت الانتباه بعيداً عن المشكلات الداخلية. ووفقاً لهذه المقولة، ذهب بعض التحليلات إلى أن النظامين الصيني والهندي اتجها إلى إحياء هذا النزاع في هذا التوقيت بهدف تخفيف الضغوط الداخلية عليهما بسبب أزمة كورونا المستجد وما تبعها من تحديات داخلية.

لكن هذا التفسير يفتقد إلى الدقة. فمن ناحية، نجحت الصين إلى حد كبير في تجاوز أزمة كورونا، بعد سيطرتها بشكل كامل تقريبا على معدلات الانتشار والإصابة والوفيات، وبدء استئناف الحياة الطبيعية، بما في ذلك في مركز ظهور الفيروس (مدينة ووهان). أضف إلى ذلك، وجود أزمة خارجية مهمة يواجهها النظام الصيني مع الولايات المتحدة، بسبب الفرضية الأمريكية حول الطبيعة المخلقة لفيروس كورونا، والتوظيف الأمريكي لقضيتي هونغ كونغ وأقلية الإيغور الصينية المسلمة، الأمر الذي ينفي حاجة النظام الصيني إلى افتعال أو إحياء أزمة خارجية لتخفيف الضغوط الداخلية الواقعة عليه. ولا يختلف الأمر كثيراً بالنسبة للنظام الهندي؛ فرغم أن الهند تأتي في الترتيب التاسع عالمياً من حيث عدد الإصابات، وإجمالي حالات الوفاة، لكن يصعب القول بأن الأزمة الحدودية الراهنة هي جزء من محاولة للتخفيف من ضغوط داخلية، لأسباب تتعلق بطبيعة جائحة كورونا نفسها بوصفها أزمة عالمية، ومن ثمّ فإنها لا تعكس فشلاً محدداً للنظام السياسي الهندي. أضف إلى ذلك، أن تهديد الجائحة بات يتطلب تعبئة جميع القدرات الداخلية المتاحة للدولة (الاقتصادية، والمالية، والصحية، والإعلامية، إلخ) جنباً إلى جنب مع القدرات العسكرية اللوجيستية، الأمر الذي تنتفي معه الحاجة إلى تشتيت قدرات الدولة أو النظام السياسي بافتعال أزمة خارجية.

رغم أن المواجهات الحدودية بين الصين والهند اتسمت بالاستخدام المحدود للعنف، إلا أن هذا لا ينفي أهمية هذا النزاع وخطورته، وإمكانية تحوله إلى صِدام عسكري ضخم

المدخل الثالث، يتصل بالسياق العام للأزمة الصينية-الأمريكية؛ فرغم عدم ارتباط الأزمة الحدودية الصينية-الهندية الراهنة بالأزمة الصينية-الأمريكية ارتباطاً مباشراً لكن لا هذا لا يعني عدم وجود علاقة بين الأزمتين، ليس فقط بالنظر إلى العلاقات الاستراتيجية الأمريكية-الهندية، والدور الذي تحتله الهند في إطار الاستراتيجية الأمريكية لاحتواء الصين، لكن بالنظر أيضاً إلى التحولات الاستراتيجية المهمة التي تشهدها منطقة المحيطين الهادئ والهندي، واتجاه الهند -بالتنسيق مع كل من الولايات المتحدة واليابان وأستراليا - إلى التعامل مع هذه المنطقة باعتبارها وحدة استراتيجية واحدة ومسرح لاحتواء ومواجهة السياسات الصينية في هذه المنطقة الممتدة من السواحل الشرقية للمحيط الهادئ إلى السواحل الغربية للمحيط الهندي.

ووفقاً لهذا المدخل، يمكن فهم الأزمة الحدودية الراهنة في أكثر من اتجاه. فمن ناحية، هي رسالة صينية مقصودة وموجهة للولايات المتحدة بأنه في مواجهة التوظيف الأمريكي لأوراق عديدة - داخلية وإقليمية وعالمية- ضد الصين، فإن الأخيرة لن تتردد في استهداف حلفاء الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة. وهي رسالة موجهة للهند أيضاً، مفادها أن التحالف الهندي مع الولايات المتحدة، وتوسيع الدور الأمني للهند على حساب المصالح الصينية في منطقة المحيط الهادئ-الهندي بشكل عام، وداخل منطقة المحيط الهادئ، وبالقرب من المضايق البحرية، بشكل خاص، لن يمر دون تكلفة. وتمثل ورقة النزاع الحدودي بين البلدين ورقة ذات مغزى بالنظر إلى وجود خبرة صراعية طويلة بين البلدين حول هذه القضية. ومن ثمَّ، فإن التلويح بهذه الورقة يمثل ورقة ردع مهمة.

بجانب هذه الرسائل المهمة، هناك قلق هندي وصيني متبادل بشأن مشروعات البنية الأساسية التي يقوم بها كل طرف، سواء في مناطق النزاع المباشرة أو مناطق أخرى ذات صلة، والتي يمكن أن تغير من مسار الصراعات القائمة. من ناحية، هناك قلق هندي كبير من "الممر الاقتصادي الصين-باكستان"، والذي يتضمن عدداً من المكونات المهمة، خاصة أن بعض مكونات هذا الممر تتضمن بعض الأجزاء الواقعة تحت السيطرة الباكستانية من إقليم كشمير المتنازع عليه بين الهند وباكستان (منطقة جلجيت-بالتستان). ولا شك أن نجاح هذا الممر الاقتصادي في تعميق ربط هذه المناطق بالاقتصاد الباكستاني وبباقي الأقاليم الباكستانية، والاقتصاد الصيني، من شأنه أن يخلق واقعاً سياسياً وجيو-اقتصادياً يعزز من الموقف الباكستاني في الصراع حول إقليم كشمير، وخلق مصلحة لدى سكان هذه المناطق في الارتباط بالدولة الباكستانية. ويفسر ذلك إصرار الهند على تضمين وثيقة تأسيس "البنك الآسيوي للاستثمار في البنية التحتية" تحفظاً مفاده "أن تمويل المشروعات في المناطق المتنازع عليها يتطلب موافقة طرفي النزاع" (انضمت الهند إلى البنك في 11 يناير 2016). أضف إلى ذلك، المحاولات الصينية لربط بعض مناطق النزاع عبر خط السيطرة بالبنية الأساسية الصينية، على نحو ما حصل في أزمة منتصف عام 2017، عندما حاول الجيش الصيني شق طريق داخل منطقة "دوكلام" المتنازع عليها مع الهند.

وفي المقابل، هناك قلق صيني من النشاط الهندي عبر طول خط السيطرة الفاصل بين البلدين، في مجال بناء الطرق ومهابط الطائرات. ومن شأن التوسُّع الهندي في تطوير هذه البنية الأساسية بشكل عام، والعسكرية بشكل خاص، أن يعزز السيطرة الهندية على المناطق موضوع النزاع ويعمق ارتباطها بالبنية الأساسية الهندية. كما يعزز قدرة الهند على تعزيز قدرتها على التعبئة العسكرية في المناطق المتنازع عليها حال حدوث أي صدام. ويدعم هذا التحليل تأكيد قائد الجيش الهندي الجنرال م. كان نارافان M. M. Naravane في يناير الماضي سعي الهند إلى ما وصفه "إعادة التوازن" إلى نمط انتشارها واستراتيجيتها على طول الحدود الغربية والشمالية والشمالية الشرقية للتعامل مع أي تهديد قد ينشأ من باكستان أو الصين.

وفي ضوء هذه المعطيات، تصبح المناوشات العسكرية بين الطرفين في المناطق المتنازع عليها عبر خط السيطرة - حتى وإن كانت منخفضة الحدة وعلى فترات زمنية متباعدة نسبياً - أداة مهمة وأساسية لتأكيد حقوق السيادة في مواجهة الطرف الآخر.

مستقبل النزاع

سعت الصين والهند خلال العقود الأخيرة إلى تسوية العديد من نزاعاتهما الحدودية. فعلى سبيل المثال، قامت الصين بتسوية نزاعاتها الحدودية مع نيبال وميانمار وباكستان وأفغانستان. كما قامت الهند بتسوية معظم نزاعاتها الحدودية مع نيبال وبوتان. وفي عام 2015 قامت بتسوية نزاعها الحدودي مع بنجلادش. لكن رغم هذا التوجه، فإنه من غير المتوقع أن يشهد النزاع الحدودي بين الصين والهند تسوية تاريخية في الأفق المنظور. ويدعم هذا السيناريو عاملان رئيسان:

أولهما، يتصل بطبيعة التطورات الاستراتيجية الجارية في منطقتي المحيط الهادئ والهندي، واتجاه العلاقات الأمريكية-الصينية إلى مزيد من التأزم، الأمر الذي سيقود بدوره إلى مزيد من تعميق العلاقات الاستراتيجية بين الولايات المتحدة والهند، بشكل سينعكس بالتأكيد على مسار العلاقات الصينية-الهندية، وغلبة الطابع الصراعي عليها، خاصة في حالة امتداد الدور الأمني الهندي إلى منطقة بحر الصين الجنوبي والمضايق البحرية المرتبطة به، وتزايد احتمالات الاستقطاب، على خلفية تدشين حوار أمني رباعي بين الهند والولايات المتحدة واليابان وأستراليا، الأمر الذي قد يُدشِّن سباق تسلح في المنطقة. ومثل هذا السياق لا يدعم تسوية هذا النزاع بين الجانبين، بل قد يصبح أحد المجالات والمحفزات الأساسية للصراع.

ويتعلق العامل الثاني بطبيعة المراحل التنموية التي تمر بها كل من الصين والهند. فكلا البلدان يمران بمرحلة من الصعود الاقتصادي والعسكري. وخلال هذه المراحل الانتقالية تزداد توقعات كل طرف حول قوته الشاملة مستقبلاً، الأمر الذي يدفعه إلى تأجيل حسم هذا النوع من النزاعات لحين تغيُّر موازين القوى لصالحه، ورفض القبول بأية تسوية في هذه المرحلة تنطوي على تقديم بعض التنازلات.

ورغم عرض الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب خلال الأزمة الأخيرة التدخل لمساعدة طرفي النزاع على تسوية النزاع، لكن من غير المتوقع قبول الصين هذا العرض الأمريكي لأسباب عدة، أهمها أزمة الثقة الصينية-الأمريكية القائمة، فضلاً عن طبيعة العلاقات الاستراتيجية الأمريكية-الهندية، الأمر الذي يثير شكوكاً صينية حول حيادية الدور الأمريكي في أي وساطة بين طرفي النزاع. لكن العامل الأهم يتعلق بموقف الصين التاريخي في إدارة نزاعاتها الحدودية الخارجية، حيث تتمسك بآلية التسوية عبر المفاوضات الثنائية المباشرة بين طرفي النزاع ورفض أية شكل للتدويل أو الوساطة، ويمثل النزاع في بحر الصين الجنوبي مثالاً مهماً في هذا الإطار.

أحدث الإيجازات

In May 2020, China and India once again clashed at various points along the Line of Actual Control (LAC) that marks the unofficial border between the two countries (3,448 km in length), primarily in the Ladakh region (on May 5 and 6) and at Naku La in the Sikkim region (on May 10).

This is not the first time that the two sides have clashed in this way, however. The recent events are the latest installment in an unresolved historical border dispute over dozens of areas along the Line of Control, primarily Ladakh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh. The dispute is motivated by a difference in opinion regarding the sovereign rights of these areas. Although agreement on the boundary line has been reached for some areas (in particular around the center of the Line of Control), the border has not been formally defined. By December 2019, more than 20 rounds of negotiations had taken place without achieving an end to the conflict.

The reasons behind previous clashes have varied: one side would send troops into a disputed area or would attempt to build infrastructure there, and the other side would feel forced to intervene. Although minimal violence occurred this time, the significance of the recent clashes should not be overlooked, as the situation has the potential to escalate into a large-scale military conflict as happened in 1962, particularly as the military capabilities of both sides are increasing and as strategic developments are occurring in the Pacific–Indian region. It is therefore important to understand this conflict within the wider context.

Three approaches to explaining the renewed border dispute

There are several possible explanations behind the re-ignition of the India–China dispute, of which the following three are the most important:

The first approach is to look at the current crisis as simply part of a recurring chain of events, with no particular significance as regards its timing. This approach is based on the fact that the border dispute between the two countries is an historical dispute that dates back nearly seven decades and was the cause of an all-out war in 1962. Although the two sides concluded a bilateral peace agreement in 1993 (Agreement on the Maintenance of Peace and Tranquility along the Line of Actual Control in the India-China Border Areas), the agreement did not contain a final settlement for the conflict nor an official border demarcation. The agreement did serve to freeze the dispute, however, by setting out the commitment of both sides to enter into “peaceful and friendly consultations” and to refrain from making any threats of the use of force. The two parties also committed to respect the Line of Control until the conflict had been settled, and to resolve any problems or crises that might occur along the line through direct dialogue.

The second approach is based on the old idea that countries with internal problems often resort to reigniting or fabricating external problems in order to reduce pressure on domestic structures or draw attention away from domestic problems. In this regard, some analysts have suggested that the Chinese and Indian regimes have decided to reignite their historical dispute now in order to relieve the internal pressure on them caused by the coronavirus crisis and the related domestic challenges.

This interpretation is inaccurate, however. China has largely succeeded in overcoming the coronavirus crisis, having managed to gain almost complete control over outbreak, infection, and death rates. Life is beginning to return to normal in China, including at the epicenter of the epidemic (Wuhan). Furthermore, the Chinese regime must already contend with an external dispute with the USA, which has floated theories that the virus may have been manufactured in China and has criticized China’s treatment of Hong Kong and the Chinese Muslim Uighur minority; the Chinese government therefore does not need to fabricate or revive any other external crisis in order to relieve the internal pressure on it. The situation in India is similar. Although India is ninth in the world in terms of the number of infections and deaths from the virus, it seems unlikely that the recent border skirmishes were part of an attempt to alleviate internal pressure, as the coronavirus pandemic is a global crisis and therefore does not reflect a specific failing by the Indian government. Moreover, the government needs to mobilize all available resources, including economic, financial, healthcare, and media resources and its logistical military capabilities, if it is to overcome the pandemic. It therefore has no need to fabricate an external crisis that would require it to divert some of those capabilities.

The third approach looks at the situation within the wider context of the US–Chinese crisis. Although the Indo-Chinese border dispute is not directly related to the US–Chinese crisis, this does not mean that there is no connection between the two, not only with regard to strategic US–Indian relations and India’s role within the USA’s strategy to contain China, but also with regard to the important strategic developments taking place in the Pacific–Indian region. In coordination with the USA, Japan, and Australia, India has begun to treat this region (which stretches from the eastern shores of the Pacific Ocean to the western shores of the Indian Ocean) as a single strategic unit and a theater through which to contain and confront Chinese policies.

This approach provides a multifaceted understanding of the current crisis. On the one hand, China is deliberately showing the USA that it will not hesitate to target US allies in the region in response to the USA’s internal, regional, and international maneuvers against China. China is also sending the message to India that its alliance with the USA and the expansion of its security capabilities at China’s expense within the Pacific–Indian region in general, and in the Pacific Ocean and fjords in particular, will not be without cost. This border dispute is powerful card in China’s hand, as the two countries have come to blows numerous times over the matter. The threat of reigniting the issue therefore serves as a formidable deterrent.

In addition, China and India are each concerned that the other is carrying out infrastructure projects in zones of direct conflict and in other related regions that could change the course of the current conflict. India is highly concerned by the development of the China–Pakistan Economic Corridor. While the project includes a number of important components, most crucially for India the project extends into areas under Pakistani control in the disputed Kashmir region along the border with Pakistan (Gilgit-Baltistan region). By strengthening these regions’ ties with the Pakistani economy, other Pakistani provinces, and the Chinese economy, the project will change the political and geo-economic situation in such a way as to hand Pakistan the advantage in the conflict over Kashmir and give residents a reason to remain tied to the Pakistani State. For that reason, India insisted that the founding document of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank contain the reservation that “project financing in disputed areas requires the consent of both parties to the dispute” (India joined the Bank on January 11, 2016). In addition, China has attempted to connect some areas of conflict along the Line of Control to its infrastructure; such action provoked another crisis in mid-2017, when the Chinese army attempted to build a road through the disputed Doklam region.

Conversely, China is concerned by Indian efforts to build roads and airstrips along the Line of Control. In developing such infrastructure, in particular for military purposes, India will increase its control over the disputed areas and strengthen their connection to Indian infrastructure. It will also enable India to more quickly mobilize its military in disputed areas in the event of conflict. This analysis is supported by the statement made by General Naravane, the head of the Indian army, in January 2020, in which he said that India was seeking to “rebalance” its pattern of proliferation and its strategy along its western, northern, and northwestern borders in order to deal with potential threats from Pakistan or China.

In light of these facts, the military skirmishes between India and China in various disputed areas along the Line of Control — while insignificant in and of themselves and relatively infrequent — are an essential tool that each side is using to assert its sovereign rights over the other.

The future of the conflict

In recent decades, China and India have attempted to settle many of their other border disputes. For example, China has settled disputes with Nepal, Myanmar, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, and India has settled most of its border disputes with Nepal and Bhutan. In 2015, India even settled its border dispute with Bangladesh. Nonetheless, it is unlikely that China and India will reach an historical settlement to their border dispute any time soon. This conclusion is supported by the following factors:

First, we must take into account the nature of the strategic developments taking place in the Pacific and Indian regions and the deterioration in US–Chinese relations, which will lead to further strengthening in strategic relations between the USA and India. This, in turn, will have an impact on Chinese–Indian relations and will stoke further conflict, especially if India extends its security apparatus into the South China Sea and the connected straits. The two sides are likely to become more polarized given the launch of security dialogues between India, the USA, Japan, and Australia, which could ignite an arms race in the region. In this context, a settlement to the border dispute is unlikely; rather, it may become one of the primary areas and triggers of conflict.

Second, we must take into account the stage of development that both China and India are at. At the moment, both countries are becoming stronger economically and militarily. During such transitional stages, each side assumes that they will at some point become the stronger power, leading them to postpone the resolution of the conflict until the balance of power tips in their favor and to reject any settlement in which they would have to make concessions.

Although, during the most recent crisis, US president Donald Trump offered to intervene to help the parties settle the conflict, China is unlikely to accept this offer for several reasons, chiefly the current crisis of trust between it and the USA, and the nature of the USA and India’s strategic relationship, which has raised doubts in China’s mind about the USA’s neutrality in mediating between the two parties. However, the most important factor is China’s historical approach to managing its external border disputes. China has always pursued settlements through direct bilateral negotiations between the parties to the dispute and has rejected all international involvement or mediation, a prime example of this being China’s approach to the South China Sea conflict.

Latest Briefs