آفاق الأزمة السياسية في مالي

مركز الإمارات للسياسات | 26 يوليو 2020

تفاقمت الانتفاضةُ الاحتجاجية ضد نظام إبراهيم أبوبكر كيتا رئيس جمهورية مالي، التي تعيش أزمة سياسية عميقة ومتعددة الأوجه، في الوقت الذي تمحورت فيه حركة المعارضة الجديدة حول قيادة الإمام محمود ديكو، الذي يُعد من الشخصيات الدينية البارزة.

خلفيات الأزمة السياسية في مالي

وصل الرئيس الحالي إبراهيم أبوبكر كيتا إلى السلطة في 11 أغسطس 2013، في إطار أزمة سياسية حادة من أبرز سماتها: اندلاع تمرد الجماعات الانفصالية من الطوارق والعرب في شمال مالي في يناير 2012، وحدوث انقلاب عسكري في باماكو أطاح نظام أمادو توماني توري في 22 مارس 2012، وسيطرة الجماعات الأصولية المتطرفة على كامل شمال مالي في نهاية مارس 2012. وفي يناير 2013 تدخل الجيشُ الفرنسي لتحرير شمال مالي من الجماعات المتشددة، وبعد أسابيع من الحرب المتواصلة طردت القواتُ العسكرية الفرنسية العصابات الإرهابية من المدن الرئيسة، في حين لا يزال الصراع قائماً في المناطق الصحراوية البعيدة.

ومع أن الرئيس كيتا ساهم في الحياة السياسية بقوة منذ الثورة التي أسقطت حكم الجنرال موسى تراوري (مارس 1991)، حيث تولى وزارة الخارجية ورئاسة الوزراء ورئاسة البرلمان في عهد الرئيس ألفا عمر كوناري، إلا أنه فشل في انتخابات عامي 2002 و2007، وإن أصبح وجه المعارضة الأساسي في عهد الرئيس توماني توري.

وقد حظي كيتا بإجماع واسع في انتخابات 2013، حيث انعقد الأمل عليه في تحقيق هدف إعادة بناء الدولة وتوحيدها، إلا أن الأزمة السياسية تفاقمت منذ وصوله إلى السلطة؛ فمن ناحية لم ينجح في عقد المصالحة المنشودة مع حركات الشمال من العرب والطوارق رغم الاتفاق الموقَّع معها في يونيو 2015، ومن ناحية ثانية فشل في إعادة فرض إدارة الدولة ونشر الجيش في مدن الشمال الثلاث الكبرى (تمبكتو وغاو وكيدال).

ومنذ نهاية 2015 انتقلت الأزمة السياسية إلى وسط مالي، وتركزت في الصراع الدموي بين قبائل الدوغون والفولاني، ولم ينجح الجيش المالي الضعيف والمفكك في التدخل لحفظ الأمن، بل وُجهت اتهامات إلى حكومة كيتا بتسليح المليشيات القومية الموالية لها، ودخلت بعض التنظيمات الفلانية في تحالف قوي مع الجماعات الإرهابية العنيفة.

ووصلت الأوضاع الاقتصادية والمعيشية مستوىً قياسياً من التدهور بحسب تقارير المنظمات الدولية، والمتمثل بشيوع الفساد والرشوة وسوء الإدارة، إلى حد الانفجار الاجتماعي الذي بدت نذره القوية بعد انتخابات 2018، التي فاز فيها كيتا للمرة الثانية لكنه خرج من الحملة الانتخابية منهكاً وعاجزاً عن احتواء الازمات الاحتجاجية المتواصلة خلال السنتين الأخيرتين.

ومع أن الوجه السياسي الرسمي للمعارضة هو الوزير السابق "سومايلا سيسي"، الذي نافس كيتا منذ 2002 على تركة الرئيس كوناري، إلا أن المعارضة الحقيقية للنظام تمحورت حول تحالف غير مسبوق من المجتمع التقليدي الذي لا يزال يتحكم فيه إلى حد بعيد رجال الدين من مشايخ التصوف والنقابات ومنظمات المجتمع المدني. وبرزت فاعلية حلف المعارضة الجديد في مقاطعة الانتخابات التشريعية المنظمة في نهاية مارس 2020، والمؤجلة لمدة سنتين كاملتين، حيث كان الإقبال ضعيفاً، والنتائج مرفوضة من قطاع واسع من الطيف السياسي ومن المؤسسة القضائية. وزاد الوضع تردياً اختطاف الجماعات الإرهابية لزعيم المعارضة سومايلا سيسي الذي لا يزال في يدها. وهكذا اندلعت الموجة الاحتجاجية الحالية في 5 يونيو 2020، بعد انهيار محاولات التهدئة التي لجأ إليها الرئيس كيتا، وبعد التضحية برئيس حكومته عثمان مايغا الذي أقاله في أبريل 2020.

يقود الإمام محمود ديكو تحالفَ المعارضة المعروف باسم "تجمع القوى الوطنية"، والذي يُختصر اسمه بـ "M5"، أي حركة 5 يونيو، ويضم شبكةً واسعة من النشطاء السياسيين وممثلي المجتمع المدني والحركات الشبابية والنسوية. وأهم مطالب التجمع هي: إلغاء نتائج الانتخابات التشريعية، وحل المحكمة الدستورية، وتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية تشرف على حوار سياسي جامع وإدارة مرحلة انتقالية تُفضي إلى انتخابات تشريعية ورئاسية شفافة ونزيهة، في حين تذهب بعض مكونات المعارضة إلى المطالبة بالاستقالة الفورية للرئيس كيتا.

من هو الإمام ديكو؟

الإمام محمود ديكو، الذي يقود الحركة الاحتجاجية، مولود في مدينة تمبكتو الدينية الثقافية عام 1954، ودرس في معهد العلوم الإسلامية في موريتانيا وبعدها في المملكة العربية السعودية، وتأثر بالدعوة السلفية، وشارك في الثمانينيات في تأسيس "جمعية مالي للاتحاد وتقدم الإسلام ". وفي عام 2008 أصبح رئيس المجلس الإسلامي الأعلى في مالي، الذي أسسه الرئيس الأسبق ألفا عمر كوناري، وأناط به الجانب الأساسي من السياسة الدينية للدولة، وبقي في رئاسته حتى أبريل 2019.
ومع أنه كان دوماً قريباً من الرئيس الحالي إبراهيم أبوبكر كيتا، وأيد ترشحه للرئاسة عام 2002، وكان له دور فاعل في نجاحه في انتخابات 2013، إلا أنه بدأ يبتعد عنه تدريجيا منذ 2018، معتبراً أنه بدأ يحوّل العلمانية المالية إلى نظام مُعادٍ للدين والمؤسسة الدينية، رغم أنه لا يطالب بتطبيق الشريعة ولا تغيير النظام الدستوري العلماني.

ومع أن الإمام ديكو لم يكن في السابق يطمح للزعامة السياسية، وكان يقول إنه يكتفي بوظيفة الإمامة والتوجيه الديني، إلا أنه شكَّل في سبتمبر 2019 تجمعاً كبيراً باسم "تنسيق الحركات والروابط والمتعاطفين"، وهو شبكة واسعة تَدين له بالولاء، وأصبحت بالفعل تنظيمَ المعارضة الأساسي. وأول نشاط قام به الإمام ديكو بعد إنشائه الشبكة الجديدة هو تنظيم مهرجان حاشد في قصر الثقافة بالعاصمة باماكو في 29 فبراير 2020، دعا فيه أنصاره إلى استلام مصيرهم بأيديهم، كما دعا إلى تظاهرة كبرى يوم 6 مارس. وقد استدعت النيابة العامة الإمام ديكو إلى المحكمة، إلا أن أنصاره أحاطوا بها، فتم إلغاء الاستدعاء، واعتذرت الحكومة له رسمياً.

ولا شك في أن الإمام ديكو قد تحوّل إلى ورقة قوية في المشهد السياسي بعد حصوله علناً على دعم الشيخ محمد ولد حماه الله، المعروف بشريف نيورو، وهو شخصية صوفية من أصل موريتاني لها مئات آلاف الأتباع في مالي (فضلاً عن موريتانيا وساحل العاج وبوركينا فاسو). وهكذا أصبح الإمام ديكو في موقع قوي يسمح له بقيادة الحركة الاحتجاجية الراهنة التي أظهرت قدرةً جلية على تحريك الشارع بصفة مستمرة، رغم الخسائر البشرية التي زادت على 11 قتيلاً في صفوف المتظاهرين.

آفاق الحركة الاحتجاجية في مالي

في ضوء المعطيات الحالية، يمكن التنبؤ بثلاثة سيناريوهات مختلفة للوضع السياسي في مالي:

  1. سيناريو التوافق، الذي تسعي إليه المنظمات الإقليمية والدولية التي دخلت في وساطة متواصلة لتسوية الأزمة السياسية من خلال الحوار والتنازل المتبادل. وأبرز هذه المؤسسات هي المجموعة الاقتصادية لدول غرب أفريقيا (الإيكواس) والاتحاد الأفريقي والاتحاد الأوروبي، وقد أصدرت إعلاناً رسمياً يُدين العنف، ويدعو إلى إطلاق حوار سياسي بين الحكومة والمعارضة. ورغم فشل الوساطة التي قادها خمسة من رؤساء دول غرب أفريقيا، وهي النيجر والسنغال ونيجيريا وساحل العاج وغانا، في تقريب وجهات نظر الفرقاء في مالي ما استدعى إعلان "الإيكواس" عقد جلسة طارئة لبحث تطورات هذه الأزمة في 27 يوليو الجاري، إلا أن سيناريو التوافق ما يزال ممكناً، وبخاصة في ظل خطوات التهدئة المتخذة من قبل الطرفين، إذ أصدر الرئيس كيتا قراراً بتجميد المحكمة الدستورية، وإطلاق سراح زعماء المعارضة، وقبول مبدأ الحوار السياسي الجامع، وفي المقابل دعا زعيم المعارضة الإمام ديكو دعا إلى التهدئة، ورفَض تنحية الرئيس كيتا، مكتفياً بالمطالب الأخرى المتعلقة بالإصلاح السياسي، وإعادة تنظيم المسار الانتخابي، وتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية.
  2. سيناريو الانفجار، الذي ليس مستبعداً في حال تعثُّر الحوار السياسي وخروج الأوضاع الأمنية عن التحكم، بما يفتح الباب لانقلاب عسكري جديد يُفضي إلى مرحلة انتقالية تتلوها انتخابات رئاسية تشريعية، على غرار تجارب سابقة عرفتها مالي في 1992 و2012.
  3. مسار استمرار الأزمة ودخول البلاد في مسار انسداد سياسي طويل يستمر إلى نهاية عهدة الرئيس الحالي كيتا (2023)، نتيجة لغياب بديل سياسي ناجع، وعدم قدرة المعارضة على فرض التغيير عن طريق الشارع، وصعوبة تمرير حركة انقلابية عسكرية جديدة بالنظر إلى حجم الرفض الخارجي.

الخلاصة

  • تعود الأزمة السياسية الراهنة في مالي إلى إخفاق الرئيس إبراهيم أبوبكر كيتا في تحقيق هدف إعادة بناء الدولة وتوحيدها، وفرض الأمن والاستقرار، ومعالجة التدهور الاقتصادي والمعيشي. ومثّلت الانتخابات التشريعية في نهاية مارس 2020، التي قاطعتها المعارضة، الشرارة للاحتجاجات التي اندلعت في 5 يونيو الماضي.
  • يقود الإمام محمود ديكو تحالف المعارضة المعروف باسم "تجمع القوى الوطنية" الذي يضم شبكةً واسعة من النشطاء السياسيين وممثلي المجتمع المدني والحركات الشبابية والنسوية، ويُطالب التجمع بإلغاء نتائج الانتخابات التشريعية، وحل المحكمة الدستورية، وتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية تشرف على حوار سياسي جامع وإدارة مرحلة انتقالية تُفضي إلى انتخابات تشريعية ورئاسية شفافة ونزيهة، في حين تذهب بعض مكونات المعارضة إلى المطالبة بالاستقالة الفورية للرئيس كيتا.
  • تتفاوت السيناريوهات المحتملة للأزمة في مالي بين حدوث انقلاب عسكري، واستمرار الأزمة حتى نهاية عهدة الرئيس الحالي كيتا في عام 2023. والسيناريو المرجح هو التواصل إلى توافق بين الرئيس والمعارضة، لاسيما في ضوء مساعي مجموعة دول "الإيكواس" المستمرة لحل الأزمة.

أحدث الإيجازات

Protests escalated against the regime of Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, President of the Republic of Mali, which is experiencing a deep and multi-faceted political crisis even as the new opposition movement has centred around the leadership of Imam Mahmoud Dicko who is one of the leading religious figures.

Background of the political crisis in Mali

Incumbent president Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta came to power on 11 August 2013 in the aftermath of an acute political crisis whose main features were the outbreak of the insurgency by Tuareg and Arab separatist groups in northern Mali in January 2012, a military coup in Bamako that toppled the regime of Amadou Toumani Touré on 22 March 2012, and the control by extremist fundamentalist groups over the whole of northern Mali late March 2012. In January 2013, the French army intervend to liberate northern Mali from radical groups, and after weeks of continuous fighting, the French military troops drove the terrorist gangs out of the main cities, while the conflict is still ongoing in remote desert areas.

While President Keïta contributed strongly to the political life since the Revolution that toppled the rule of General Moussa Troaré (March 1991), assuming the positions of Minister of Foreign Affairs, Prime Minister and Parliament Speaker under President Alpha Omar Konaré, he failed in the elections of 2002 and 2007, although he became the main opposition figure under President Toumani Touré.

Keïta won a wide consensus in the 2013 elections as it was hoped that he would achieve the goal of rebuilding and uniting the country. However, since he came to power, the political crisis escalated. On the one hand, he could not materialize the desired reconciliation with the Arab and Tuareg movements in the north despite the agreement signed with them in June 2015. On the other hand, he failed to re-establish the rule of the state and deploy the army in the three major cities of the north (Timbuktu, Gao, and Kidal).

Since the end of 2015, the political crisis shifted to central Mali. It centred in the bloody conflict between the Dogon and Fulani tribes. The weak and disintegrated Malian army failed to intervene to keep security. Indeed, the Keïta government was accused of arming some nationalist militias loyal to it, and some Fulani organizations formed a strong alliance with violent terrorist groups.

According to the reports of international organizations, the economic and living conditions reached record levels of deterioration, in terms of the spread of corruption, bribery and mismanagement, approaching the threshold of social explosion whose strong omens appeared after the 2018 elections which were won for the second time by Keïta, although he came out of the electoral campaign exhausted and incapable of containing the continuous protest crises during the last two years.

While the opposition’s official political figure was the former minister Soumaïla Cissé, who competed against Keïta since 2002 for the heritage of President Konaré, the real opposition to the regime centred around an unprecedented alliance between the traditional community which continues to be largely controlled by clerics of Sufist sheikhs, and syndicates and civil society organizations. The effectiveness of the new opposition alliance was demonstrated in the boycott of the legislative elections organized in late March 2020 after having been delayed for two whole years. The turnout was weak and the results were rejected by a wide sector of the political spectrum and the judiciary. The situation became worse with the abduction of the opposition leader Soumaïla Cissé by terrorist organizations which continue to hold him. Thus, the current protest wave has erupted on 5 June 2020, after the collapse of the de-escalation attempts made by President Keïta and after he sacrificed his Prime Minister Ousmane Maïga whom he dismissed in April 2020.

Imam Mahmoud Dicko leads the opposition alliance known as the Rally of Patriotic Forces, referred to as M5, or June 5 Movement. It is a broad network that brings together political activists, representatives of the civil society, and youth and women movements. The main demands of the Rally are: the cancellation of the results of the legislative elections, the dissolution of the Constitutional Court, and the formation of a national unity government that would oversee holding an inclusive political dialogue and run a transitional period leading to transparent and fair legislative and presidential elections. On the other hand, some components of the opposition go as far as demanding the immediate resignation of President Keïta.

Who is Imam Dicko?

Imam Mahmoud Dicko, who leads the protest movement, was born in the religious and cultural city of Timbuktu in 1954. He studied in the Institute of Islamic Sciences in Mauritania and later in Saudi Arabia. He was influenced by the Salafist Movement and participated, in the 1980s, in the establishment of the Malian Association for the Unity and Progress of Islam (AMUPI). In 2008, he became the President  of the High Islamic Council of Mali, which was founded by the former President Alpha Omar Konaré, and assigned to it the fundamental aspect of the country’s religious policy. He remained President of the Council till April 2019. While he was always close to the current President Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, endorsed his nomination for president in 2002, and played an active role in his success in the 2013 elections, he started to gradually distance himself from Keïta since 2018, considering that Keïta started to transform Malian secularism into a regime that is hostile to religion and the religious establishment, although Dicko does not demand the implementation of the Sharia or changing the secular constitutional system.

While Imam Dicko did not previously aspire for political leadership, saying that he would be content with the role of Imam and religious guide, in September 2019, he established a large gathering called the Coordination of Movements, Associations and Sympathizers (CMAS), which is a broad network loyal to him that has actually become the main opposition organization. The first activity carried out by Imam Dicko after the establishment of the new network had been the organization of a crowded festival at the Palais de la Culture (Culture Palace) in the capital Bamako on 29 February 2020 at which he called on his advocates to take their destiny into their own hands. He also called for a major demonstration on 6 March 2020. The Office of the Prosecutor summoned Imam Dicko to appear in court but his advocates surrounded him. So, the summons was cancelled and an official apology was made to him by the government.

Doubtlessly, Imam Dicko has become a strong card in the political scene after he openly gained the support of Sheikh Mohamed Ould Hamahoullah, better known as the Sheriff of Nioro, which is a Sufist figure of Mauritanian origin with hundreds of thousands of followers in Mali (in addition to Mauritania, Côte d'Ivoire, and Burkina Faso). Thus, Imam Dicko became in a strong position that would allow him to lead the current protest movement that has demonstrated a clear capability of continuously moving the street despite the human losses which exceeded 11 victims among the protesters.

Prospects of the protest movement in Mali

In light of the current facts, three different scenarios could be predicted regarding the political situation in Mali:

1. The consensus scenario which is sought by the regional and international organizations that are engaged in a continuous mediation to settle the political crisis through dialogue and mutual concessions. Foremost among those institutions are the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the African Union (AU), and the European Union (EU). These have issued an official statement denouncing violence and calling for the launch of a political dialogue between the government and the opposition. Despite the failure of the mediation led by the presidents of five West African countries, namely Niger, Senegal, Nigeria, Côte d'Ivoire and Ghana, in converging the viewpoints of the protagonists in Mali, driving ECOWAS to announce holding an emergency session to discuss the developments of this crisis on 27 July 2020, the consensus scenario is still plausible, particularly in light of the de-escalation steps taken by both sides. President Keïta took a decision to freeze the Constitutional Court, release opposition leaders, and accept the principle of the inclusive political dialogue. In return, the opposition leader Imam Dicko called for de-escalation. He rejected the removal of President Keïta, settling for the other demands related to political reform, reorganization of the electoral process, and forming a national unity government.

2. The explosion scenario, which is not implausible in case political dialogue faltered and the security situation got out of control, thus opening the door to a new military coup that would lead to a transition phase followed by presidential and legislative elections, similar to previous experiences witnessed by Mali in 1992 and 2012.

3. The path of the persistence of the crisis and the entry by the country into a long-lasting political deadlock that would extend till the end of incumbent President Keïta’s term (2023) as a result of the absence of a feasible political alternative, failure by the opposition to impose the change through the streets, and the hardship of passing another attempted military coup in light of the amount of external rejection.

Conclusion

  • The current political crisis in Mali is attributable to the failure by President Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta to achieve the goal of rebuilding and uniting the country, enforcing security and stability, and dealing with the deterioration in the economy and living conditions. The legislative elections of late March 2020, which were boycotted by the opposition, constituted the spark of the protests that broke out on 5 June 2020.
  • Imam Mahmoud Dicko leads the opposition alliance known as the Rally of Patriotic Forces, which comprises a broad network of political activists, representatives of the civil society, and youth and women movements. The Rally demands the cancellation of the results of the legislative elections, the dissolution of the Constitutional Court, and the formation of a national unity government that would oversee holding an inclusive political dialogue and run a transitional period leading to transparent and fair legislative and presidential elections. However, some components of the opposition go as far as demanding the immediate resignation of President Keïta.
  • The potential scenarios for the crisis in Mali vary between consensus, a military coup, and the persistence of the crisis till the end of the term of incumbent President Keïta in 2023. The likely scenario is reaching a consensus between the President and the opposition, especially in light of the continuous endeavours by the ECOWAS group of countries to resolve the crisis.

Latest Briefs