خرجت بريطانيا من كتلة الاتحاد الأوروبي في 31 من يناير الماضي (2020)، ليبدأ الطرفان بذلك محادثات حول مرحلة جديدة من العلاقات بينهما، إلا أن الكثير من المسائل العالقة والتي ينتظر أن تناقش خلال الفترة الانتقالية التي تمتد حتى نهاية العام الجاري 2020، ستُحدِّد طبيعة هذه العلاقات وفيما إذا كانت ستُؤطَّر ضمن تعاون يؤدي إليه اتفاق يصبُّ في مصلحة الجانبين، أو خروج من المرحلة الانتقالية دون أي شكل من أشكال الاتفاق.

ويرى كثيرٌ من رجال السياسة والاقتصاد في بريطانيا ودول الاتحاد الأوروبي، أن إنهاء المرحلة الانتقالية بصيغة توافقية تُنظِّم العلاقة المستقبلية سيصُبُّ في مصلحة الطرفين، وأن الخروج من المرحلة الانتقالية دون أي صيغة اتفاق سيؤدي إلى إضرار بالمصالح الاقتصادية بالدرجة الأولى، كما سينعكس سلباً على التعاون في مجالات أخرى مثل المجال الأمني.

ما الذي سيَحدُث خلال المرحلة الانتقالية؟

عملياً، لا تزال بريطانيا داخل الاتحاد الأوروبي، ورغم الاحتفالات الصاخبة التي أقامها مناصرو "البريكست" مُعتَبرين يوم 31 يناير "يوم استقلال بريطانيا" واستعادة سيادتها بانعتاقها من تشريعات الاتحاد الأوروبي، إلا أن هذه التشريعات ستظل سارية المفعول طيلة مدة الفترة الانتقالية البالغة أحد عشر شهراً، والتي تنتهي في 31 ديسمبر 2020. فبريطانيا ستبقى خلال هذه المُدَّة داخل السوق الأوروبية المشتركة والاتحاد الأوروبي الجمركي، كما ستستمر بين الطرفين حرية التجارة وتنقل الأفراد دون الحاجة إلى تأشيرة، وسيحتفظ الأوروبيون خلال هذه المُدَّة بحق العمل والإقامة في المملكة المتحدة، وسيترتب على بريطانيا أيضاً المساهمة في ميزانية الاتحاد الأوروبي تقريباً بنفس القدر الذي كانت تساهم فيه قبل خروجها منه، كما ستظل قادرة على تلقي التمويل من برامج الاتحاد الأوروبي.

التغييرات الوحيدة حالياً خلال المدة الانتقالية، هي خروج بريطانيا من هيكلية المؤسسات السياسية للاتحاد الأوروبي والمقصود بذلك بشكل رئيس هو المجلس الأوروبي والمفوضية الأوروبية، كما أن النواب البريطانيين في البرلمان الأوروبي لم يعودوا أعضاء في هذا البرلمان، وهذا يعني أنه رغم فقدان بريطانيا حق التصويت في البرلمان الأوروبي إلا أن تشريعاته ستظل مُلزِمة لها خلال المرحلة الانتقالية، كما سيظل لمحكمة العدل الأوروبية (أعلى هيئة قضائية في الاتحاد) الكلمة الفَصْل في أي نزاع قانوني، وستظل أحكامها قادرة على إلغاء أي حكم صادر عن أي محكمة بريطانيا بما في ذلك المحكمة العليا، طوال المرحلة الانتقالية.

ويأتي على رأس أولويات التفاوض بين الجانبين خلال المرحلة الانتقالية التفاوض حول اتفاقية التجارة وشكل العلاقة التجارية المستقبلية لتجنب فرض تعريفات جمركية او قيود على حركة التجارة بين بريطانيا والاتحاد الأوروبي، حيث يمثل حجم التجارة بين المملكة المتحدة مع الإتحاد الأوروبي حوالي نصف حجم تجارتها الإجمالي (49% خلال عام 2018 وفقاً لدائرة التجارة الدولية البريطانية). وكان كلٌّ من الاتحاد الأوروبي وبريطانيا قد أعلنا أنهما يسعيان للتوصل إلى اتفاقية تجارة حُرَّة تتجنَّب فرض تعرفة جمركية أو تحديد حصص التجارة فيما بينهما.

وثمة مسائل أخرى سيكون على الجانبين التوصل إلى اتفاقيات بشأنها جنباً إلى جنب مع التوصل إلى اتفاقية العلاقة التجارية، وهي:

  • المسائل الأمنية وتشارك البيانات خاصة فيما يتعلق بمواضيع الإرهاب والهجرة.
  • مسائل تطبيق القانون وسريان بعض التشريعات أو التعاون الأمني في هذا المجال.
  • التشريعات المنظمة لقطاع الطيران والسلامة الجوية.
  • حرية الوصول إلى مناطق الصيد البحري.
  • مسائل تتعلق بأمن الطاقة مثل إمدادات الطاقة الكهربائية والغاز.
  • التراخيص والتشريعات الطبية.

ويتوجب على الحكومة البريطانية في منتصف فبراير أن تُحدِّد قائمة أهدافها وأولوياتها من المفاوضات المتعلقة بالاتفاقية التجارية المستقبلية مع الاتحاد الأوروبي، بينما سيكون على حكومة الاتحاد الأوروبي أن تُصدِر تفويضاً في اجتماع وزرائها المقرر في 25 فبراير الجاري 2020 يُعطي المفوضية الأوروبية الصلاحية القانونية لبدء المفاوضات مع بريطانيا في الأول من مارس المُقبل.

من المتوقع أن يكون جدول أعمال المفاوضات مزدحماً، وهو ما حذَّر منه الاتحاد الأوروبي بإشارته إلى أن المدة الانتقالية قد لا تكون كافية لإكمال المفاوضات والتوصل إلى اتفاقيات تشمل كل المسائل العالقة وخاصة التوصل إلى اتفاقية التجارة الحرة. وسيلتقي الجانبان خلال شهر يونيو المقبل لتقييم مقدار إحراز أي تقدم في مفاوضاتهما، وسيكون على بريطانيا في حال رغبت في تمديد المرحلة الانتقالية أن تقدم طلباً بذلك إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي في موعد أقصاه نهاية الشهر نفسه (30 يونيو 2020)، غير أن الحكومة البريطانية كانت قد أعلنت أنها لن تلجأ إلى تمديد المرحلة الانتقالية حتى في حال لم تتوصل إلى اتفاقية تجارة حرة مع الاتحاد الأوروبي.

ما بعد المرحلة الانتقالية: السيناريوهات المتوقعة

يكمن التحدي الأكبر في مفاوضات اتفاقية التجارة الشاملة بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وبريطانيا في الموائمة ما بين السماح للمملكة المتحدة بالاستفادة من ميزات السوق الأوروبية المشتركة والاتحاد الجمركي الأوروبي في مقابل سريان التشريعات الأوروبية الخاصة بالمنافسة التجارية على هذه الاتفاقية، وبالأخص التشريعات الناظمة لتكافؤ الفرص  (Level playing field)وتنظيم الدعم الحكومي للشركات الخاصة، بحيث يضمن الاتحاد الأوروبي أن لدى الشركات الأوروبية فرصَ منافسة عادلة مع مثيلاتها البريطانية في أي اتفاقية تجارية بين الطرفين. فعلى سبيل المثال، يريد الاتحاد الأوروبي أن يضمن أنه في حال بقاء السوق الأوروبية المشتركة مفتوحة أمام البضائع البريطانية بدون تعرفة جمركية، فإن هذا لن يؤدي إلى إغراق الأسواق الأوروبية بالبضائع البريطانية التي تكون متحررة من قيود المواصفات الأوروبية التي تفرضها تشريعات الاتحاد، وهذا يعني إخلالاً بمبدأ تكافؤ الفرص والمنافسة النزيهة.

وتشمل المجالات التي يصر الاتحاد الأوروبي على أن تُطبَّق عليها التشريعات الخاصة بمبدأ تكافؤ الفرص في حال الوصول إلى اتفاقية تجارية شامله مع بريطانيا، ما يأتي:

  • حقوق العمال.
  • النظام الضريبي.
  • حماية البيئة.  
  • الدعم الحكومي لقطاع الأعمال.

وسيكون مطلوباً من بريطانيا في حال رغبت بعلاقات تجارية أفضل مع الاتحاد الأوروبي تطبيق تشريعات تكافؤ الفرص على أوسع نطاق ممكن، غير أن هذه التشريعات ستحدّ فعلياً من حرية التجارة البريطانية مع البلدان الأخرى، وهنا بالذات تكمن معضلة المفاوضات.

وهناك خياران مطروحان لتتم على أساسهما مفاوضات تطبيق تشريعات تكافؤ الفرص: الخيار الأول، يُعرَف بـ "شروط عدم التراجع" Non-regression clauses، الذي يعني عدم تغيير المعايير الحالية الملزمة للطرفين في بعض المجالات مثل حماية حقوق العمال وتشريعات الدعم الحكومي للأعمال وحماية المناخ، بينما يعرف الخيار الثاني باسم "التغيير المُحاذي/المتوازي" Dynamic alignment، ويعني أن أي تغيير في التشريعات والمعايير الأوروبية سيقابله تغيير في المعايير البريطانية، والعكس صحيح. ففي حال خفَّفت بريطانيا مثلاً من القيود المتعلقة بالمناخ والمفروضة على شركات صناعة السيارات، سيقابل الاتحاد الأوروبي ذلك بإجراءات أكثر حمائية تضمن حماية المنافسة للشركات الأوروبية التي تخضع لمعاييره الأكثر تشدداً في هذا المجال.

لكن من ناحية أخرى سيحرص كلا الجانبين قدر الإمكان على عدم انتهاء المدة الانتقالية دون التوصل إلى اتفاقية تجارية شاملة تُنظِّم العلاقة بينهما (رغم أن هذه الاحتمال يظل قائماً)، وذلك بسبب ما يدركه الطرفان من أن كل منهما يمثل مجالاً اقتصادياً حيوياً للطرف الآخر، وهو ما نص عليه الإعلان السياسي المؤطر لمحادثات ما بعد البريكست والذي تم الاتفاق بين الجانبين عليه في أكتوبر 2019.

ماذا لو تعثَّرت المفاوضات بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وبريطانيا؟

سيكون الطرفان أمام احتمالين: الأول، تمديد الفترة الانتقالية من سنة إلى سنتين كحد أقصى بشرط أن تتقدم بريطانيا بطلب التمديد قبل الـ 30 من يونيو 2020 وأن يوافق الاتحاد الأوروبي على هذا التمديد. لكن هذا الاحتمال يبدو مُستبعداً حالياً من قِبَل الحكومة البريطانية التي أعلنت أنها لن تلجأ للتمديد حتى في حال عدم التوصل إلى أي اتفاق من الجانب الأوروبي. ورغم أن تمديد الفترة الانتقالية قد يتيح فرصاً أكبر للجانبين للوصول الى مدى أوسع من الاتفاقيات، إلا أنه سيتسبب في استمرار حالة اللايقين واللاستقرار التي يعاني منها الاقتصاد البريطاني منذ ما بعد الاستفتاء على خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي، كما أنه سيؤثر على شعبية حكومة حزب المحافظين لدى قواعدها الشعبية الأكثر تشدداً تجاه الاتحاد الأوروبي والأكثر تحمُّساً للخروج منه بأقرب وقت ممكن.

الاحتمال الثاني، هو الخروج من الفترة الانتقالية دون أي اتفاقية مع الجانب الأوروبي، وعليه ستُنظَّم العلاقة التجارية بين الطرفين على أساس اتفاقية منظمة التجارة العالمية، ما يعني فرض تعرفة جمركية على البضائع البريطانية التي تدخل السوق الأوروبية المشتركة مما يؤدي إلى زيادة أسعارها مقارنة بالبضائع الأوروبية، وسيؤثر ذلك تماماً على قطاع الأعمال البريطاني وقطاع الخدمات وبالذات القطاع المصرفي، لكنه أيضاً سيُتيح لبريطانيا حرية عقد اتفاقيات تجارية أوسع مع الدول غير الأوروبية والبحث عن أسواق جديدة لمنتجاتها دون التقيد بمراعاة الجانب الأوروبي. كما سيؤثر بشكل ملحوظ على تعامل دول الاتحاد الأوروبي مع لندن كمركز عالمي للمال والأعمال، مما سينعكس سلباً أيضاً على هذه الدول، فضلاً عن أن الخروج دون التوصل إلى اتفاقية سيُنهي حرية حركة المتبادلة للأفراد والإقامة لمواطني الجانبين، وسيُقلِّل إلى الحد الأدنى من التعاون الأمني بين كل من بريطانيا والاتحاد الأوروبي.

خلاصة

يدرك الجانبان البريطاني والأوروبي أن التوصل إلى اتفاقية تُنظِّم العلاقات التجارية والمسائل الأخرى العالقة بينهما في مرحلة ما بعد البريكست، هو أمرٌ مهمٌ لكليهما، لكنهما لا يطرحان الوصول إليها كخيار حتمي مقابل أي ثمن، بل يُبقيان الباب مفتوحاً على احتمال اللاتفاق أيضاً.

 

أحدث الإيجازات

The United Kingdom (UK) officially left the European Union (EU) on January 31, 2020, after which the two parties will kick off talks on a new phase of bilateral relations. However, many of the outstanding issues, that are expected to be discussed during the transitional period which will last until the end of 2020, will determine the nature of these relations and whether they will be framed within a cooperation framework leading to a win-win deal, or exit from the transitional phase without a deal.

Many politicians and economists in the UK and the European Union believe that wrapping the transitional phase with a consensual formula that streamlines the future relationship will be in the interest of both parties. But at the same time, they warn that leaving the transitional stage without any form of agreement will harm economic interests in the first place. Additionally, the failure to reach an agreement will also negatively affect cooperation in other areas, such as the security field.

What will happen during the transition?

In practice, the UK is still part the European Union. Despite the tumultuous celebrations held by "Brexiteers", considering January 31 as "Britain's Independence Day" and the restoration of its sovereignty by emancipation from EU legislation, the legislation will remain biding for the duration of the eleven-month transitional period, which ends on December 31, 2020. The UK will remain, during this period, part of the European Single Market and the EU Customs Union. Freedom of trade and movement of individuals will also continue between the two parties without the need for a visa. During this period, the nationals of EU member states will reserve the right to work and reside in the UK. The UK will also have to contribute almost as much to the European Union budget as it did before the Brexit. It will also continue to be able to receive funding from EU programs.

The only effective changes during the transitional period are the UK's exit from the political structures of the EU, namely the European Council and the European Commission. Also, the British representatives in the European Parliament are no longer members in this parliament, and this means that although the UK lost the right to vote in the European Parliament, its legislation will remain binding on it during the transitional period. The European Court of Justice (the highest judicial body of the EU) will also have the final say in any legal dispute, and its rulings will still be able to overturn any ruling by any UK court, including the Supreme Court, throughout the transitional period.

In order to avoid imposing tariffs or restrictions on trade between the UK and the EU, negotiating a trade agreement and the form of future trade relationship are among the top priorities for negotiations between the two sides during the transitional period. In this regard, trade with EU accounts for about half of the UK's total trade at 49 percent in 2018, according to the UK Department for International Trade. Both the EU and the UK have announced that they are pursuing a free trade agreement that spares both sides imposing tariffs or setting trade quotas.

There are other issues that the two sides will have to settle, along with reaching a trade agreement, which are:

  • Security issues and information sharing, especially on terrorism and immigration.
  • Law enforcement issues and the applicability of some laws or security cooperation in this field.
  • Legislation regulating the aviation and air safety sector.
  • Free access to fishing grounds.
  • Energy security issues such as electric and gas power supplies.
  • Medical licenses and legislation.

By mid-February, the British government should set out a list of its goals and priorities in the negotiations for a future trade agreement with the EU. At the same time, the EU will have to issue a mandate at its ministerial meeting slated for February 25, 2020, giving the European Commission the legal authority to start negotiations with the UK on March 1st.

The negotiations agenda is expected to be busy; something the EU has warned of by indicating that the transitional period may not be sufficient to complete the negotiations and reach agreements that settle all outstanding issues, especially reaching a free trade agreement. The two sides will meet again next June to assess the progress made in their negotiations. The UK will, if it wishes to extend the transitional period, have to submit a request to do so to the EU no later than the end of the same month (June 30th, 2020), but the British government has announced that it will not resort to extending the transitional phase even if it does not reach a free trade agreement with the bloc.

Post-Transition Scenarios

The biggest challenge in negotiating a comprehensive EU-UK trade is reconciling between allowing the UK to take advantage of the European Single Market and the EU Customs Union and ensuring the applicability of European legislation on trade competition on this agreement. These laws particularly relate to ensuring a level playing field and controlling government subsidy for private companies. Through this, the EU aims to ensure European companies have fair competition opportunities with their UK counterparts in any bilateral trade agreement. For example, the EU wants to ensure that if the European Single Market remains open to UK goods without customs tariffs, this will not lead to dumping European markets with UK goods that will be free from the restrictions of European standards and legislation. Otherwise, this means a violation of the principle of level playing field and fair competition.

Areas that the EU insists on applying the legislation related to the principle of a level playing field in the event of reaching a comprehensive trade agreement with the UK, include the following:

  • Labor rights.
  • Taxation.
  • Environmental protection.
  • Government subsidy for the business sector.

The UK will be required in the event that it wants better trade relations with the EU to apply level playing field legislation as widely as possible, but these legislation will effectively limit the freedom of UK trade with other countries, and here lies the dilemma of negotiations.

There are two options on which the application of level playing field legislation would be negotiated: The “non-regression clauses,” which mean that the current standards binding on the two parties are not changed in some areas such as labor rights protection, government subsidy for business, and environmental protection. While the second option is known as "dynamic alignment", which means that any change in European legislation and standards will be matched by a change in UK standards, and vice versa. In the event that the UK, for example, relaxes climate restrictions on car manufacturers, the EU will meet this with more protective measures to ensure fair competition for European companies that are subject to its more stringent standards in this area.

On the other hand, however, both sides will ensure that the transitional period does not end without reaching a comprehensive trade agreement that regulates the relationship between them (although this possibility remains). This is due to the two parties ’realization that each of them represents a vital economic sphere of the other, as stipulated in the framed political declaration for the post-Brexit talks, which was agreed upon between the two sides in October 2019.

What if EU-UK negotiations falter?

The two parties will have two possibilities: The first, to extend the transitional period from one to two years at most, provided that the UK submits an extension request before the 30th of June 2020 and that the EU agrees to this extension. But this prospect seems currently unlikely for the UK government, which has announced that it will not resort to an extension even if no agreement is reached by the European side. Although extending the transitional period may provide greater opportunities for both sides to reach a broader range of agreements, it will keep the UK economy in a state uncertainty and instability it has already been experiencing since the referendum on the UK's exit from the EU. It will also harm the popularity of the Conservative British government among its most hardline anti-EU grassroots base favoring Brexit as soon as possible.

The second possibility is to get out of the transitional period without any agreement with the EU, and therefore the trade relationship between the two parties will be subject to the WTO agreement. This, of course, means imposing tariffs on UK exports to the European Single Market, which will lead to an increase in their prices compared to European goods. This will affect the British business and services sectors, particularly the banking sector, but it will also give the UK the freedom to conclude broader trade agreements with non-European countries and search for new markets without being bound by European legislation. It will also significantly affect the dealings of EU member states with London as a global hub for finance and business, which will also negatively harm these countries. In addition, leaving the EU without reaching an agreement will end the free movement of individuals and residence for citizens of both sides, and will minimize bilateral security cooperation.

Summary

The UK and EU realize that reaching an agreement that regulates trade relations and other pending issues in the post-Brexit era is important for both, but they do not offer access to such agreement as an inevitable option at any price, but rather keep the door open to the possibility of a no-deal Brexit as well.

 

Latest Briefs